Skip to main content

Full text of "Commemorative biographical record of the upper lake region"

See other formats




NYPL RESEARCH LIBRARIES 



IllllllllllllllllilllllillllJliJIIilllllllJil 

3 3433 08254169 3 



,',, ;i;r; ';;,,; 



...;'V?.'-' 



V-ip''i;i; • 



|f;tfj;:y::''!|^r:':j''V^'::,! 



t •''r'.^'.i ■■,■■■'/•' 



11' 



J,' si'' , ■ 






1.1 ').■; 






^?-K-, '"i.;/; ■■;,,., v;i 



"K■^■'.-^■.■;''■v'■'.■^■ ■.:;::■:■■' 



'v!,.'n;U;i •';■;■ 








ill 


- 



)\ 



hn 



^' 



bW^tW^^'^W't' 



Digitized by the Internet Arciiive 

in 2007 witii funding from 

IVIicrosoft Corporation 



littp://www.arcliive.org/details/commemorativebioOOjlibe 



(^OTn-nnev^AD 



. -^N \J*> 






COMMEMORATIVE 



BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



OF THE 



UPPER LAKE REGION 

CONTAINING 

BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES OF PROMINENT AND REPRESENTATIVE 

CITIZENS AND MANY OF THE EARLY 

SETTLED FAMILIES 



ILLUSTRATED 



J. H. BEERS & CO. 

CHICAGO 
1905 






•J n-' 



l^-^l 



■ THE 

ASTOR. Lt^l-IOXAND 
T] i_D£N FOU >. D ATI O N ■- 
R I9IE 



PRKFACE 



HE importance of placing in book form biographical history of representative 
citizens — both for its immediate worth and for its vahie to coming genera- 



tions — is admitted by all thinking people; and within the past decade there 
has been a growing interest in this commendable means of perpetuating biography and 
family genealogy. 

That the public is entitled to the privileges afforded by a work of this nature 
needs no assertion at our hands ; for one of our greatest Americans has said that the 
histoi'y of any country resolves itself into the biographies of its stout, earnest and 
representative citizens. This merlium, then, serves more than a single purpose; while 
it perpetuates biography and family genealogy, it records history, much of which 
would be preserved in no other way. 

In presenting the Commemorative Biographical Record to its patrons, the pub- 
lishers have to acknowledge, with gratitude, the encouragement and support their enter- 
prise has recei\-ed, and the willing assistance rendered in enabling them to surmount the 
many unforeseen obstacles to be met with in the production of a work of this character. 
In nearly every instance the material composing the sketches was gathered from 
those immediately interested, and then submitted in typewritten form for cor- 
rection and revision. The volume, which is one of generous amplitude, is placed in the 
hands of the public with the belief that it will be found a valuable addition to the 
library, as well as an invaluable contribution to the historical literature of the Upper 
Lake Region. 

THE PUBLISHERS. 



INDEX 



PAGE 

Adams, George W 70 

Adams, James G 272 

Agen, Hon. James H 139 

Aiken, James H 490 

Alenius, Gustaf A 260 

Algeo, Frank 445 

Andersen, A. Norman 240 

Andersen, Hon. Peter A.. 358 

Anderson, Andrew A 408 

Anderson, Anton M 222 

Anderson, Carl 361 

Anderson, Charles E 451 

Anderson, J. A 257 

Anderson, John 327 

Anderson, Lars G 426 

Anderson, Ole 194 

Anderson, William 136 

Andresen, Charles A 428 

Andrew, W. W 547 

Andrews, Alfred S., D. D. S. 192 
Andrus, Adellin P., M. D.. . 70 

Angvick, Samuel 499 

Apollonia, History of 194 

Archibald, David 486 

Ardouin. William B 521 

Armitage, Thomas D 477 

Armstrong, James L 299 

Armstrong, Montague 543 

Armstrong, Thomas 542 

Arnold, Elmer H 265 

Arnold. John B. 303 

Ash. George 450 

Ashland County Public 

Schools 94 

Atkinson, James 178 

Auger, Patrick 245 

Aune. Ole 487 

Austria, William P., M. D.. . . 533 



Babcock, Isaac G.. M. D... 437 

Badgley, Thomas V 167 

Baeumle. Otto C 477 

Bailey, Samuel W 399 

Baker, Henry C 20 

Baker, James P 417 

Bannon, John 511 

Baribeau. Joseph 251 

Barry, Mahlon P 172 

Barry, Michael 26 

Bartlett, John E 30S 

Barton, Alonzo J 184 



PAGE 

Barton, Willard L 185 

Bates, Marcus W 8 

Bates, Mrs. Marie S 548 

Baxter, Thomas W 551 

Beaudoin, Magloire 335 

Beckwith, Capt. John C... 236 
Beebe, Loren W., M. D. . . . 234 

Bekken, Edward 441 

Bell, Currie G 352 

Bell, Merton J 60 

Bell, Capt. Thomas F 314 

Berger, Axel 218 

Bertrand, John C 287 

Bingham, James F 513 

Bingham Hardware Co., 

The 513 

Bischel, L. J 228 

Bishoflf, Edward A 430 

Blackadder, James 366 

Blackburn, D. W 130 

Blackburn, James 100 

Blackburn, William A 130 

Blount. Jane 462 

Blount. Matilda 462 

Blount, Stephen 462 

Boheim, Fred R 488 

Boland, William F 212 

Bone, Charles F 203 

Boots, Stephen E 546 

Borecky. Joseph 461 

Borum, T. W 510 

Bostwick, Col. Charles E 531 

Boswell, John O 250 

Bowerman. George G. 92 

Bowers. Edgar N 400 

Boyce. Samuel F 87 

Boynton, Orville L 254 

Bradley, Henry M 343 

Bradley, Sylvester 517 

Brainerd, Benjamin F 472 

Brandt, John 294 

Braun, George 286 

Brehm. Thomas 347 

Brennen. Lawrence I73 

Brooks Family 113 

Brooks, George L 113 

Brousseau, Harry 320 

Brower, George W 53i 

Brown, Addison C 183 

Brown. Charles P 363 

Bruce, Rusk County, History 

of 319 



Buckley, William 469 

Buflfalo, A. J 379 

Bugbee. Hon. Albert L 72 

Buol, F. A 439 

Burbey, Louis A 189 

Burg, Herman 501 

Burg, Philip N 370 

Burke. Matthew C 204 

Burnett, David 545 

Burnham, Guy M 288 

Burnham, Capt. Samuel E.. 91 
Byrns, John E 206 

Campbell, Alexander A.... 210 

Cannon, Dennis M 550 

Cannon, James H 235 

Card, Frank H 412 

Carlson, Anthon 309 

Carlson, George A 309 

Carnachan, George M., 

M. D 47 

Carpenter, Samuel P 383 

Carr, Warner S 206 

Cash. John L 442 

Catlin. Hon. Charles L.... 5 

Charbonneau, E 543 

Charles, Lewis P 221 

Charron, T. A.. M. D 228 

Chase, Albert S. 41 

Chase. Henry L 311 

Cheadle, Henry W 109 

Christie, Mrs. Annie 246 

Christie, James L 246 

Christie. James N 412 

Clapp, G. F 483 

Clark, Isaac A 195 

Clark, Jason D 520 

Clarke, Robert E 543 

Clausen. Lorenzo N 466 

Cleveland, Thomas J 533 

Cline, George D 133 

Clough. Solon H 121 

Clow, Harvey D 248 

Coburn, Capt. Richard G... 131 

Cole, Charles 249 

Cole, David H 504 

Collier, Tames 331 

Collins, Edward E., M. D.. . 95 

Comiskey, George 427 

Cook, George B 321 

Cooper, George C 162 

Corbett, Robert no 



INDEX. 



PAGE 

Costello, Augustus E., M. D. 

C. M 455 

Cowie, William J 323 

Cox, Joseph P., M. D 160 

Craig, John S 374 

Crandall, Rev. Horace B... 180 

Crisler, J. S 533 

Crocker Prof. Walter C 266 

Crve, Z. R 502 

Culligan, William E. 308 

Curr, James H. W 436 

Dahl, Edward A 538 

Dahlberg, Frank G 402 

Dahlstrom, Erick 386 

Dailey, Asa 459 

Dalrymple, William F 166 

Daly, James C 526 

Danel. Samuel C 380 

Danielson, Dan, Esq l6g 

Danielson, Peter 297 

Dash, Victor A 329 

Day Frank D 30 

Day, W. A., M. D 431 

De Fer, Joseph J 462 

Descent, Abraham G 32 

Descent, Frank C 503 

Desmond, Frank 304 

Dhooge, Frank S 511 

Diamond, John 394 

Dickerson. H. E 241 

Dirimple, Robert 371 

Dobie, David 62 

Dodd, John M., M. D 197 

Doenitz, August 174 

Dohearty, Frank P., M. D.. 164 
Doherty, Capt. Bernard.... 23 

Donald, .A.rchibald 344 

Doverv, Thomas 182 

Duff, S. K 512 

Dunlop, John 353 

Durgin, N. G. 317 

Dwyer, Patrick 296 

Eaton, Maj. Alfred S 143 

Eaton, Frank W 125 

Eaton, Guy A 315 

Ebmer, Alois 442 

Egbert, William J 283 

Eimon, Peter 172 

Ekstrom, Andrew 180 

Ellis, Edwin, M. D 16 

Ellis, William E., M. D 479 

Ellis, William H., M. D... 115 

Ely, Rev. Edmund F 12 

Engstrand, Theodore .Sio 

Engstrom, Charles J 453 

Erickson, Jacob E 341 

Erickson, Hon. Ole 327 

Ericson, Charles W 368 

Eva, Maj. Hubert V 216 

Evans, Richard C 126 

Evers, Thurston 340 

Fanning, William R 135 

Fawcett, John F. W 540 

Ferrell, Byron 168 

Fifield, Wis 371 



PAGE 

Fifield, Hon. Sam S 2 

Finney, George K 460 

Finstad, Herman J 247 

Fisher, W. W 527 

Follett, Erwin B 516 

Forsyth, George 384 

Foster, Aaron H 388 

Foster Family 388 

Fountain. Emery 73 

Eraser, Allen 425 

Frels, August 166 

French, Russell W 78 

Friedrichs, Ferdinand C 528 

Fritz, J. W 48.'^ 

Fry, John F. 378 

Fulcy, Hans P 155 

Fuller, William N 76 

Gaillardet, Louis P. L., M. D., 324 

Gamper, John 290 

Gates, Hon.. Irvin W 7 

Gates. Joel S 7 

Gay, Edward D 248 

Gearhart, Albert A 50 

Gearhart, Nathaniel A 96 

Gibson, Albert D., M. D... 413 

Giffin. George H 43 

Gill, Charles H 325 

Gill Family 325 

Gill, George H 354 

Gilstad, Nels C 461 

Glass. Edward B 49 

Glen Flora, Wis 148 

Gobar, G. G., M. D 493 

Gordon, Antoine 381 

Gordon, John 535 

Gordon, Michael 252 

Goss, Mrs. Ida M 449 

Grace, Harry H 491 

Graff, Edmund D 539 

Graff, Philip M 456 

Grafton, Guv A.. M. D 183 

Graham, William M 536 

Grasser, Peter 220 

Graves, Col. Charles H 279 

Gregory, Charles E 470 

Gridley, Elijah C 367 

Gridley, Mrs. Emma E 368 

Grimes, Benjamin F 348 

Gunniss, John T 376 

Gutekunst, Charles 232 

Habelt, Adolph 129 

Hacker. J. Winslow 67 

Haily, Hon. William E.... 99 

Hale, H. C 196 

Hamilton, Alexander R... 276 

Hammond. Gen. John H... 4 

Hand, F. B 411 

Hanley, John T 467 

Hannum Family 336 

Hannum, Henry, M. D 336 

Hanton, Edward L 179 

Harmon, George W 298 

Harper, Benjamin W 325 

Harris, Samuel F 332 



PACE 

Harrison, George W., B. S., 

M. D 239 

Harvey, Enoch W. B 208 

Hatch, William B 92 

Haven, Charles D 225 

Haven, Roland D 30 

Hayden, John J 58 

Hazard, Joseph T 409 

Heaverin, G. W 270 

Hedback, A. E., M. D 490 

Hein, John 232 

Hessey, Mark 291 

Heule, E. J 238 

Hibbard, John J 145 

Hibbard, William E 275 

Hickerson, Joel A 301 

Hill, E. W. 300 

Hill, Ichabod B 176 

Hill. John F 372 

Hoar, Steplien S 262 

Hoiflund, Daniel 405 

Holgren, Ernest P 426 

Hollenbeck, William H 153 

Holly, Floyd 188 

Holman, John H 14 

Holmes, Ira 401 

Hopdegard. Rev. Apollonius 123 

Hopkins, Albert N 82 

Hosmer, Matthew S., M. D.. . 38 

Houlton, William L 340 

Howenstine, William C. . . . 90 

Hubbard, Horace E 251 

Hudnall, Hon. George B... 29 

Hughes, George R 64 

Hummer, James S 222 

Humphrey, Charles M 237 

Hunter, John C 530 

Hunter. W. L 458 

Hurd, Robert L. 219 

Hurless, John IM 280 

Irish, Hon. W. H 59 

Isaacson, John A 274 

Jackson, Allen 453 

Jackson, Bennett B., B. A. . 295 

Jackson, William L 161 

Jacobs, John A 452 

Jacobson, John 548 

Jacobson, Marie S 548 

Jeffers, Truman G 273 

Jensen, A. M 482 

Jensen, James H 198 

Jensen, Jens J 393 

Johnson, Adolph 481 

Johnson, Bennie 187 

Johnson, Claus 550 

Johnson, H. C, M. D 40;^ 

Johnson, Helge 283 

Jones, John E 307 

Kane, George W 218 

Kanneberg. Paul 502 

Kauffman. O.J 514 

Kauppi, Charles 214 

Kellogg, Charles L 443 

Kellogg, William M 500 

Kendall, Hon. Howard C. . 22 



INDEX. 



PAGE 

Kennedy, Andrew E 398 

Kennedy, Mrs. Augusta 18 

Kent, Nat. A 233 

Kenyon, R. E 216 

Kern, William E 355 

King, B. M 238 

Kinne, William B 295 

Kline, William H 158 

Knoop, Albert 226 

Knutson, L. M 312 

Koehler, Hermann M 310 

Konkel, Joseph S. 434 

Kowalke, Ludwig . . . .• 497 

Kraenier, John 392 

Kuchli, Henry A 494 

Laberge, Ludger 553 

Ladysmith, Historical Sketch 

of 74 

LaLonde, David J 269 

Lambert, E. H 197 

LaRouge, Joseph 421 

Larson, Charles 159 

Larson, Lewis 433 

Lawler, Patrick H 418 

Leader, William J 175 

Leamon, George W 425 

Leinfelder, Stephen A., U. 

D., Ph. D 200 

Lenroot, Hon. Irvine L.... 202 

Leonard, Philander E 422 

Liberty, Peter 217 

Liedel, Henry A 374 

Light, William A 6l 

Lincoln, Merwin C 349 

Lindquist, Francis 4S1 

Lindsay, Joseph 87 

Linner, Rev. J. E 250 

Lippels, William H 520 

Lloyd, Evan E 447 

Lofstrom, Rev. Detlof .... 152 

Logan, John A 356 

Lord, Charles loi 

Lucia, William H 476 

Lucius, Joseph 84 

Lucius. Nicholas, Jr 79 

Lunt, Jonathan F 277 

Lutton, George W 518 

McCormick, Hon. Robert L. 27 
McCormick, Samuel C, 

M. D. 35 

McCormick, Hon. William 

L 29 

McCormick, William S.... Zl 

McCue, Mrs. Anne 200 

McCue, Edward 200 

McDonald, Hugh A 407 

McDougal, John T 227 

McGeorge, Andrew W 479 

McGonagle, William A.... 309 

McGuire, Peter H 446 

Mclntyre, Frank N 268 

McKay, Archibald 294 

McKenzie, John A 513 

McKie, John 515 

McKinnon, Mrs. Celia B... 332 



PAGE 

McLean, Robert B 144 

McLennan, D 538 

McNeill, Israel C 120 

McQuade, Mrs. Abbie E. . . 386 

Mc(Juade, Samuel C 385 

Mcquillan, Alexander 351 

McRae, Colin J 163 

Mackin, W. N 202 

MacLeod, Ronald J 474 

Maginnis, Charles P 106 

Maguire, Frank 423 

Malcolm, W. G., M. D ^2^ 

Maloney, David W 205 

Manning, Hon. VV. S 48 

Marchessault, J. .\rthur, 

M. D 381 

Marshall, James 85 

Marshall, William A 540 

Martens, Otto H 492 

Martin, William 309 

Mason, Grafton 520 

Mason, Tom 190 

Matchette, A. L 230 

Matchette, James A 230 

Mattoon, Edward 359 

Mattson, Ole 81 

Maurer, Henry 397 

Mead, Hon. Lewis H 124 

Meade, Patrick H 469 

Meehan, Frank J 377 

Merritt Family 11 

Merritt, Leonidas 11 

Merritt, Napoleon B 360 

Merritt, Samuel T 280 

Middlecoff, Hon. Jehu B... 25 

Miles, Partelow 271 

Miller, Fred W 58 

Miller, Robert 548 

Miller, Thomas M., M. D.. . 256 

iMills, Alexander R 297 

Mills, E. G 466 

Mills, Flenry 356 

Mills, Peter, Sr 306 

Mitchell, Robert C. 234 

Moir, John 497 

Moliter, Bernard 255 

Moller, John H 455 

Morgan, George F 547 

Morisset, Cleophas J 472 

Morris, Hon. Charles F 186 

Morrissey, John D 187 

Mowatt, Capt. David J 86 

Mowatt. David W 85 

Muck, Alwin A 156 

Mullaley, Patrick H 410 

Mungavin. Patrick J 170 

Munroe, F. E 354 

Murphy, John T 313 

Mvhre. Nels 506 

Myrland, A. J 45 

Nason, Rev. John H 170 

Nater, Gust 252 

Neef. William J 429 

Nelson, Adolphus P 215 

Nelson, C. S. 290 

Nelson, Nels 154 



PAGE 

Newburgli, Andrew G 370 

Newton, Capt. Henry W... 395 

Nichols, Arad F 470 

Nichols, Wilford H 519 

Norquist, Hon. Carl J 237 

Norton, William R 293 

Nye, Ray J 552 

Nyqvist, Matt 514 

Nystrum, Conrad E., M. D. 416 

Oakes, Silas P 230 

Obrien, H. Jefferson, M. D... 550 

O'Connor, W. F., M. D 329 

Ogilvie, William 553 

O'Hare, Charles G 447 

Oistad, Mrs. Carrie P 178 

Oistad, Michael N 177 

Okerstrom, Theodore N 507 

Olsen, Thorsten 278 

Olson, Andrew F 349 

Ol.son, Gilbert 182 

Olson, Olaf G. 498 

Osborn, Marion T 424 

Oscar, Nels M 537 

Oscar, Tobias A 537 

Otis, Edmund R 46 

Otis Family 46 

Otis, Robert T 376 

Otis, Theodore B 375 

Paddock, B. N 292 

Palmer Family 68 

Palmer, Lorin W 68 

Parker, Frank A 488 

Parsons, R. W 503 

Patten, James 35 

Patterson, James A., M. D... 135 

Pattison, Martm 112 

Patton, Robert B 259 

Paulson, Nels 431 

Peabody, John H 328 

Peck. DeWitt S 522 

Peck. Richard F 435 

Pederson. O, E 128 

Pelton, Hiram 97 

Penn. William 224 

Perrin, Chester F 463 

Perrin, Solon L 39 

Petersen, Arthur W 524 

Peterson, Alfred 547 

Peterson, Charles 471 

Peterson, Charles A 151 

Peterson, Fred 387 

Peterson, Hilma 131 

Peterson, John 394 

Peterson, Julius C 404 

Peterson, Peter J 131 

Pettingill, John A 162 

Peyton, B. Murray 51 

Philbrook, Amial E 13 

Philbrook Family 13 

Philbrook, Walter J 529 

Phillips. Thomas D 480 

Pink, Benjamin W 346 

Porter, Warren T 98 

Potter, L. A., M. D 211 

Pratt, Thomas A 103 



INDEX. 



PAGE 

Prince, Eugene F S^ 

Prophet, Mrs. John 465 

Piigh, Thomas E 158 

Queary, O. K 476 

Rakowsky, John G 439 

Randall, Capt. John R 541 

Rasmussen, Alexander 517 

Raynor, George A. 545 

Rea, William B 44 

Reedfors, Adolph 454 

Rene, J. Adelard, M. D 361 

Renter, LaFayette 330 

Riedel, H. E 505 

Rinehart, William T., M. D. 42 

Ripley, Byron 53 

Roberts, Hon. David E. . . 24 

Roberts, William G 521 

Robie, Capt. James D 56 

Robie, Mrs. Margaret E... 56 

Rodman, Nathaniel D 403 

Roehm, John C 41S 

Roethig, Herman 264 

Rolfe, Frederick P 475 

Rolfe, Furman 191 

Ross, H. R. T., M. D 440 

Rounsavell, Myron W 435 

Roussain, Eustace 420 

Roycraft, William 550 

Rusk County Schools 169 

Russell, Augustus S 108 

Russell, Henry A., M. D... 40 

Russell, Hugh, M. D 531 

Ryan, Hon. Andrew 357 

Ryan, John H 417 

Ryan, Hon. Michael W.... 37 
Ryerse, George H 420 

Sackett, Freeman W 198 

Sackett, George E 198 

Salter, Rev. Charles C 119 

Sang, David 243 

Savage, Peter J 489 

Saxton, Charles L 55 

Saxton, Horace 54 

Schmidt, John W 244 

Schoeller, Rev. Frederick 

W. 334 

Schuppert, William L 94 

Schwindt, Gabriel E 31 

Scobie, Henry H 267 

Scott, William W 281 

Scribner, Howard L 552 

Sealy, John E 132 

Segog, Byron G 35° 

Selden, George 527 

Sergeant, Marshal 209 

Seth, Rev. John E 18 

Sexton, Thomas H 149 

Seymour, Philip H 122 

Shattuck, George L 509 

Shaver, Charles A 345 

Shong, Edwin R 526 

Shong, John M 524 

Simonson, Lewis A 365 

Simpson, Charles B 523 

Smallwood Family I 



Smallwood, William H I 

Smith, Hon. Charles 6 

Smith, Delano 289 

Smith Dexter H., M. D... 179 

Smith, E. R 516 

Smith, Maj. George H 19 

Smith, Hansen E 45 

Smith, John 72 

Smith, Sarah A 73 

Smith, Vespasian, M. D.... 36 

Sparlin, Stonewall 448 

Sperry, Willis P., M. D 465 

Stanley, J. E 424 

Staples, LaFayette 398 

Stark, Charles A 157 

Stark, Henry M 528 

Stensrud, Charles 377 

Stensrud, Gilbert A 401 

Stephenson, W. L., M. D... 185 

Stevens, Frank P 134 

Stewart, Robert 255 

Stilson, J. Madison, M. D. .. 261 

St. Onge, Edmund J 415 

Stoufifer, David A 226 

Strandberg, W. 231 

Street, Carl E 438 

Strickland, W. W 543 

Strothman, Edward E. .... 147 

Stubbs, Jabez C 364 

Sullivan, James F 518 

Sullivan, William J 378 

Sullivan, William J., M. D. 428 

Swanson, Charles A 408 

Swanstrom, Hon. Eman- 
uel G 33 

Swenson, Ole 193 

Sykes, J. Henry 123 

Sykes, Robert 67 

Tait, William L 506 

Tarter, J. W., M. D 474 

Taylor, James H 152 

Taylor, Jared W 63 

Taylor, L. L., M. D 362 

Taylor, Matthew L 444 

TenBrook, William G 99 

Tennant, Col. Elmer E 56 

Thomas, Leander E 464 

Thompson, Frederick S. . . . 153 

Thompson, Joshua G 263 

Thompson, William 374 

Thoreson, Bersven 405 

Thoreson, Ole 276 

Thoreson, Hon. Simon .... 396 

Throndson, Sorian 409 

Tiffany, Edward L 458 

Tiffany, Mabel A 458 

Tmker, Jay L 440 

Todd, William H 496 

Tonne, William H 499 

Tostcvin, James F., Jr 318 

Trepania, Alfred 89 

Trepania, Joseph 88 

Tripp, Cyrus S 107 

Tripp, Winfield E. 104 

Trowbridge, John B., M. D., 
B. C. E 83 



PAGE 

True, H. W 150 

Tubbs, Sidney E 229 

Tuttle, W. L 244 

Tyler, D. F 21 

Tyler, Robert L 211 

Tyler, W. D 171 

Tyman, John 419 

Urquhart, Elias L 127 

Van Brunt, Walter 137 

Van Leuveri, Col. Henry C. 242 

Van Meter Family 77 

Van Meter, James H ^^ 

Van Ornum, Mrs. Cynthia 

C 224 

Van Ornum, Truman 223 

Van Wagner, Sands 205 

Vaughn, John H 134 

Vaughn, Samuel S 80 

Vinje, Hon. Aad J 10 

Voemastek, John J 291 

Wadsworth, Henry H., Ph. B. 103 

Wagner, William 485 

Walker, Thomas R 532 

Walker, Thomas W 482 

Walseth, Henry 457 

Wanzer, Hon. A 66 

Waseen, Peter 433 

Waterbury, Peter E 80 

Waterman, Leslie E 9 

Waterman, Sidney H 43 

Watkins, Willis W 332 

Watson, George C 478 

Weade, Calvin A 315 

Weed, Henry D 66 

Werner, O. E., M. D 432 

Weyerhauser, Wis 365 

Wheeler, Henry W 338 

White, Charles P 468 

White, H. J 28s 

White, Capt. Jarvis 165 

Wicker, Joseph W., D. 

V. S 387 

Wieland, Albert Ill 

Wieland, Mrs. Anna M.... 112 

Wiley, Abe 540 

Wilke, Rev, Otto J 108 

Wilkins, Frank L 334 

Wilkinson, G. B 524 

Williams Alfred 342 

Williams, C. H 85 

Williams, Fred W 406 

Williams, H. L 142 

Wisconsin State Fish 

Hatchery 122 

Withers, Wesley S 267 

Wray, John P 34 

Wynne, Athol 446 

Yates, Frederick T 382 

Young, G. D 427 

Zachau, August H 117 



THE I;EW YORK 

PUBLIC LIBRARY 



ASTOR, LENOX 
[TILDF.N fOUNDATIONsI 



BIOGRAPHICAL 




MALLW'OOD, AVILL- 
lAM HILLARY, lias 
for some years been 
engaged in the prac- 
tice of law at Duluth, 
and is one of the most 
esteemed members of 
the legal fraternity in 
that city. He has also 
been a prominent citizen of another commu- 
nity, having long been a resident of Kansas, 
where he took a conspicuous part in pul.)Iic 
affairs. 

Mr. Small wood was born Feb. 12, 1841, 
at Elizabethtown, Ky., son of Henderson 
and Ann (Gittings) Smallwood, and is de- 
scended on both sides from excellent Colon- 
ial ancestry. The records of the Small- 
wood family in England show that William 
Smallwood built Pewterer's Hall during the 
reign of Henry VH, and presented it to the 
city of London, and his portrait, represent- 
ing the presentation, was painted on the wall 
of the building in the time of Charles II : 
there was also a William Smallwood who 
was Dean of Litchfield. The motto of the 
Smallwood coat of arms is "Strength, An- 
tiquity and Longevity." 

Randall Smallwood, the first ancestor in 
America, came to Virginia about 1619, and 
later went with the second Lord Baltimore 
to Maryland, settling in Kent county. The 
family has been prominent in that state 
from early days. Benjamin Smallwood, 
great-grandfather of William H., was a 
captain in the Revolutionary war, being 
chief of staff under Gen. William Small- 
wood, the only major-general from Mary- 
1 



land, later a member of Congress, and 
founder of the order of the Cincinnati in 
^Maryland. Hezekiah Smallwood, grand- 
father of William H., served in the war of 
1812, enlisting from Kentucky in the Mis- 
sissippi Riflemen under Gen. Jackson, and 
took part in the battle of New Orleans. 
William Owens, another great-grandfather 
on the paternal side, and a veteran of the 
Revolution, was an early settler in Ken- 
tucky, where many members of his family 
have been prominent. He was a member 
of the first State Senate, and took a promi- 
nent part in organizing the State. 

The Gittings family, to wliich Mr. Small- 
wood belongs on the maternal side, has also 
been prominent in Maryland from the very- 
early days, and claims many men of note 
among its members. James Gittings, great- 
grandfather of Mrs. Ann (Gittings) Small- 
wood, was secretary of the War Committee 
of the Continental Congress during; the 
American Revolution. Her father, James 
Gittings, was in the Mississippi Riflemen in 
the war of 1812. John S. Gittings, a cousin 
of ]\[rs. Smallwood, entertained President 
Lincoln at breakfast in Baltimore while that 
gentleman was en route to his inauguration, 
and took him thence in his private car to 
Washington, Mr. Gittings having been pres- 
ident of the Baltimore & Ohio railroad at 
that time. 

William H. Smallwood moved wilh his 
parents to Missouri, and received the princi- 
pal part of his education at the St. Joseph 
(Mo.) Academy. He enlisted at Wathena, 
Kans., under the first call for volunteers, in 
Company A, ist Kansas V. I., and served un- 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRy\P}IICAL RECORD 



der (jen. Lyon. Witli lliis command he took 
part in the battle of Wilson's Creek, where 
the regiment lost 200 men. In the spring of 
1862 he was appointed recruiting ofificer, as 
such raising a company of colored troops, 
and Aug. 13, 1862, he was appointed captain 
of Company G, ist Kansas Colored In- 
fantry, later known as the 79th United 
States Colored Troops, mustered into the 
Union service March 2, 1863, Capt. Small- 
wood having Ijeen on active duty mean- 
Avhile, his commission dating from Aug. 10, 
1862. The regiment served in Missouri, 
Indian Territory and Arkansas until the 
close of the war. Capt. Smallwood par- 
ticipated in the engagements at Jenkin's 
Ferry (where the total loss was 3,500 men, 
the' Union loss alone being 1,200), Cabin 
Creek, Honey Springs, Prairie D'Ann, Ark., 
Poison Springs (April 18, 1864), Fort 
Smith, and a number of skirmishes. At the 
battle of Poison Springs about seven hun- 
dred' Confederates were killed and Small- 
wood lost half of his com])any in killed and 
wounded. He received special mention in 
the ofificial reports for meritorious conduct 
in this action. In Col. Fox's Book, "Three 
hundred best regiments" of the Civil war, 
both the regiments in which he served are 
given high rank for percentage of loss. He 
was continuously on the march, and in active 
service, while with both, and received sev- 
eral slight wounds in the performance of his 
duty. 

After the stu'render of Lee Capt. Small- 
wood resigned his commission, and began 
the study of law at Wathena, Kans., en- 
gaging also in settling officers' accounts. 
Within a few years he was elected to the 
Kansas Legislature, and later he was sent 
to the State Senate, being the youngest mem- 
ber in both these bodies. In 1870, when 
but twenty-nine years of age, he became 
secretary of State, and at the end of his 
term was re-elected, serving four years in 
that office. He received nearly forty-thou- 
sand majority at his last election, running 
ahead of every other candidate on the ticket, 
and receiving every vote in the town where 
he lived and where party lines were closely 



drawn. In the meantime he had been en- 
gaged in the publication of various news- 
papers, and in connection with John J. In- 
galls, S. S. Prouty, Capt. Henry King, 
James W. Steele, founded the Kansas Maga- 
::iiic at Topeka. In the fall of 1874 he was 
tendered the nomination for Congress, but 
declined, preferring to devote his time to 
newspaper work. Dr. Charles A. Logan 
.having resigned as minister to Chili, Mr. 
Smallwood was offered the position by the 
unanimous action of President Grant and 
the Kansas delegation in Congress, but de- 
clined, to enable Mr. Logan to withdraw his 
resignation, as his health improved. In 
1S76 Mr. Smallwood was appointed regis- 
ter of the United States Land Office at 
Vancouver, Wash., and while there made 
the address of welcome to Gen. Grant, who 
was then on his trip around the world, and 
with whom Mr. Smallwood liad been per- 
sonally friendly. The gathering on this 
occasion included many of the prominent 
men of the Pacific States. He was placed 
in nomination for governor of the State 
of Kansas in 1874, but was defeated in the 
Republican convention by a few votes. He 
was one of the men in charge of the cam- 
paign in which J. J. Ingalls was elected to 
the United States Senate for his first term. 

Since 1887 Mr. Smallwood has been a 
resident of Duluth, where he engages in the 
practice of law, and enjoys a deservedly 
high standing, in business and social circles. 

In 1878 Capt. Smallwood was married 
to Lou C. Shulock. They are the parents 
of three daughters and two sons. 

HON. SAM S. FIFIELD, ex-Lieuten- 
ant Governor of Wisconsin, and the present 
popular postmaster of Ashland, was born in 
Corinna, Maine, June 24, 1839, second of 
the six children born to Samuel S. and 
Naomi (Pease) Fifield, both members of 
prominent families in that State, and de- 
scendants of Revolutionary ancestors. Sam 
was but eight years of age when his mother 
died, and his boyhood was largely passed in 
the home of an uncle at Bangor, where he 
received a meager education in the public 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECOI^D 



schools. He was early in life thrown upon 
his own resources, and for five 3'ears was 
employed in various capacities. In 1853 
he went with his father and younger brother 
to Rock Island, 111., where they remained 
during the following winter. At the open- 
ing of spring the trio proceeded up the Alis- 
sissippi to Prescott, Wis. Here our subject 
was employed in clerical positions until 1859, 
when he accepted a position as apprentice 
on the Taylor's Falls Reporter. His stay at 
that point, however, was brief, as his health 
became impaired, and he gave up his situa- 
tion. Short as was this experience it suf- 
ficed to develop in him a taste for journalism, 
and after recovering his health, he accepted 
the position of foreman of the St. Croi.vian, 
a newspaper published at St. Croix Falls. 
Subsequently this plant was removed to 
Osceola Mills, Polk Co., Wis., where the 
Polk County Press was published. The fol- 
lowing year he purchased the paper, and be- 
came editor and proprietor. 

As a newspaper man j\Ir. Fifield soon ac- 
quired a prominent position and gained a 
widespread acquaintance through Wiscon- 
sin and the Northwest. He was a stalwart 
Republican, and during the Civil war his 
ringing editorials were a distinctive feature 
of his paper. Later he turned his energies 
and talents to attracting the attention of the 
public to the varied resources of northern 
Wisconsin. In 1871 the building of the 
Wisconsin Central Railroad was begun, and 
it was completed to Ashland in 1877. In 
1872 Mr. Fifield moved to that cit\' and 
established the Ashland Press. This was 
accomplished in copartnership with H. O. 
Fifield. It was issued as a weekly until 1886, 
when it became a daily, and in 1888 it was 
sold to its present owners. 

Since his retirement from the field of 
journalism he has become interested in local 
real estate and business enterprises. With 
the political history of Wisconsin Mr. 
Fifield's life has been closely interwoven. 
During his residence in Osceola, he held 
several local offices, and at Ashland he was 
the first chairman of the board of Super- 
visors. In 1870 he '\^-as assistant sergeant- 



at-arms of the State Assembly, and sergeant- 
at-arms in 1871 and 1872. In 1874 he was 
elected to the Assembly by a majority of 
550 over his opponent. In 1875-76 he was 
reelected by largely increased majorities. In 
the latter year he was chosen Speaker of the 
Assembly, and it is worthy of recording in 
that connection that politically the Assembly 
was a tie — that Mr. Fifield was the unani- 
mous choice of the Republican members for 
the Speakership and the deciding votes were 
cast by two Democrats who believed him to 
be best fitted for the office. In the fall of 
1876 he was elected State Senator to fill an 
unexpired term. In the fall of 1879 ^^^ was 
again elected Senator, and while a member 
of the Senate he was, in 1881, nominated 
for and elected to the office of Lieut.-Gov- 
ernor, running nearly 2,000 votes ahead of 
his party ticket. In 1883 he was re-elected 
to the same position, and by virtue of a con- 
stitutional amendment he remained in the 
office a year bej-ond the period for which he 
was elected. Since 1886 he has not been a 
candidate for any elective office. He was, 
however, in February, 1890, appointed post- 
master of Ashland, but upon the inaugura- 
tion of President Cleveland, whom he had 
strongly opposed during the campaign of 
March, 1893, tendered his resignation, 
though the same was not accepted and his 
successor appointed until November, of that 
year. In 1898 he was again appointed by 
President McKinley and re-appointed by 
President Roosevelt in 1902. Mr. Fifield is 
a forceful and trenchant writer, and since his 
retirement from journalism he has written 
interestingly on diverse subjects for various 
publications. And it may be added that his 
originality of thought and individuality of 
character are forcibly impressed upon his 
writings. 

As a relaxation from business cares, Mr. 
Fifield devotes considerable of his time m 
the summer months to cruising in his steam 
yacht "Stella." An association, of which 
he is president, established a camping spot 
on Sand Island, one of the Apostles group, 
where many pleasant weeks are passed dur- 
ing the heated term. Mr. Fifield'? residence 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOCiRAI^HICAL RECORD 



at y\shlan(l, is delightfully located, and from 
its windows and spacious lawn surrounding, 
a magnificent view is obtained of Chequa- 
megon Bay. His library and collection of 
portraits, and Lake Superior Scenery, are a 
credit to the taste of the owmer, and among 
the choicest and most complete in the State 
of Wisconsin. He is a prominent Mason, 
having been honored with the 33d degree 
in the Scottish Rite. 

Hon. Sam S. Fifield was married, Sept. 
20, 1863, at Prescott, Wis., to Stella Grimes, 
a lady of many attainments and noble quali- 
ties. She has been liberally educated, and 
in the struggles of the early days was a true 
heljimeet to her husband, for she was and is 
not only a writer of ability, but was capable 
of rendering practical assistance in the t_\po- 
graphical work of the newspaper office. She 
was one of the commissioners from Wiscon- 
sin to the World's Columbian Exposition, in 
1893. Few ladies in Wisconsin have a wider 
acquaintance throughout the State. 

GEN. JOHN HENRY HAABIOXD. 
The marvelous growth of the city of Supe- 
rior during the half-dozen years from 1886 
to 1892 formed one of the most remarkable 
episodes in the history of city building and 
attracted the attention of people throughout 
the western continent. The sudden develop- 
ment of an obscure frontier village into a 
modern city was not the result of chance. 
Though natural conditions and the growth 
of other great enterprises contributed much 
toward the upbuilding of a great city on or 
near this location, yet it might never have 
been an accomplished fact, and the end would 
certainly not have been attained in such an 
incredibly short period of time, but for 
the foresight and indomitable will and perse- 
verance displayed by Gen. Hammond. He 
was not the first to comprehend the natural 
advantages of Superior, but all previous 
efforts toward its development seem to have 
ended in practical failure and the discourage- 
ment of their promoters. In 1882 the town, 
which had been in existence for about three 
decades, and as early as 1837 had boasted 
a population of 2,500 souls, had shrunk to 



about li\e hundred people and projjerty \-aI- 
ues had diminished to almost nothing. It 
was about this time that Gen. Hammond 
first visited the Head of the Lakes. He had 
previously acquired some valuable experi- 
ence in city building at Chillicothe, Mo., and 
Clinton, Iowa, and had also been one of the 
chief promoters of the Manitoba & South 
Western railroad, of which he was president 
at the time of its sale to the Canadian Paci- 
fic Railway Co. He had recently become 
connected with men interested in the North- 
ern Pacific railroad and was not slow to 
appreciate the possibilities for a large city 
at the eastern terminus of that great trans- 
continental highway. After carefully look- 
ing over the situation at Duluth and Old 
Superior Gen. Plammond came to the con- 
clusion that neither afforded the most desir- 
able location for the building of the future 
city and turned his attention to the site since 
known as West Superior. This ground had 
once been occupied by a dense forest and at 
this time was an almost impenetrable swamp, 
encumbered by stumps and underbrush, and 
considered to be too low and wet for any 
practical use. Investigations, quietly begtm 
by Mr. Hammond, however, demonstrated 
the fact that there was ample fall for drain- 
age purposes and he at once began laying 
plans for the upbuilding of the town. Con- 
siderable delay was encountered in securing 
titles to the property, much of which was tied 
up in unsettled estates, and it was not until 
I-'ebruary, 1886, that the plat of the city was 
recorded and the sale of lots and erection of 
buildings actually began. 

Though Gen. Hammond was much ridi- 
culed for his lack of judgment in trying to 
build a city in the midst of a swamp, all the 
details of the enterprise were so carefully 
planned and ably executed that its success 
seemed to be assured from the start, and in- 
vestors and speculators were soon flocking 
thither from all points of the compass. In 
addition to his interests in the town site and 
the Northern Pacific Railroad Mr. Ham- 
mond became interested in the Eastern Rail- 
way of Minnesota, the Dulutji, South Shore 
& Atlantic Railway and the Lake Superior 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



Terminal & Transfer Railway. He organ- 
ized the Land & River Improvement Com- 
pany, which donated the right-of-way 
through the prospective city to each of these 
railroads, thereby securing ample transpor- 
tation facilities and the establishment of sta- 
tions and terminals in desirable locations. It 
is a well known fact that the arrangements 
for transferring freight at Superior are the 
most convenient to be found at any port on 
the great lakes. The Land & River Improve- 
ment Company carried on business on a mag- 
nificent scale, laying out miles of streets 
with paving, water mains, sewers and other 
conveniences, and erecting docks and mod- 
ern buildings at different points, as well as 
encouraging the location of numerous in- 
dustries which helped to build up the em- 
bryo city. Gen. Hammond was manager 
of the Land & River Improvement Company 
until failing health compelled him to retire 
from active business. He also made indi- 
vidual investments on a considerable scale 
and carried out many improvements on his 
own account. Hammond avenue, origin- 
ally named in honor of his family, will al- 
ways be associated with his memory in the 
minds of the citizens of Superior. 

John Heiu-y Hammond was born June 
30, 1833, on Chambers street, opposite the 
city hall park, in the city of Xew York, and 
died in St. Paul, Minn., April 30, 1 890. He 
was educated at the University of Virginia, 
•where he pursued a course in civil engineer- 
ing, and afterward went abroad and studied 
scientific horticulture in Spain and Switzer- 
land, giving special attention to grape cult- 
ure. In 1857 he went to California in com- 
pany with Gov. Stoneman and began experi- 
menting in grape culture in that State. When 
the Civil war began he went to Kentucky 
and enlisted. He soon became assistant ad- 
jutant-general on the staff of Gen. Sherman 
and won the confidence of that officer in a 
notable degree. His service in the army 
lasted from the fall of 1861 to January, 
1864, when he was discharged on account of 
disabilities contracted during the siege of 
Vicksburg. He was an honored member of 
the [Military Order of the Loyal Legion and 



of the Society of the Army of the Tennes- 
see. He was also prominent in the Masonic 
fraternity and numbered among his personal 
friends many of the most distinguished men 
of the nation. 

HON. CHARLES L. CATLIN. No 
record of this character would be complete 
without a suitable tribute to the memory of 
this useful and honored citizen of Superior, 
whose death occurred at Minneapolis June 
14, 1901. He was a citizen of Superior for 
nearly a score of years, during which time 
his influence was plainly marked upon the 
material, social and political interests of that 
city, and its citizens felt that his death was a 
public calamity. 

Mr. Catlin was born at Great Bend, Sus- 
quehanna Co., Pa., Feb. 26, 1842. His 
father, Francis P. Catlin, came to Wiscon- 
sin in 1845, and subsequently served for 
some time as register of the land office at 
Hudson. He was a brother of George Cat- 
lin, the distinguished artist, whose famous 
Indian Gallery is preserved in the Smithso- 
nian Institution at Washington, D. C. The 
Catlin family is one of ancient lineage, and 
among its members are many distinguished 
persons of past and present times. Among 
the earliest known of these is Reynold de 
Catlin, a follower of William the Conciueror, 
whose name is mentioned in the Doomsday 
Book. In the time of Queen Elizabeth, Sir 
Robert Catlin was Lord Chief Justice of the 
Queen's Bench. Memljers of the family 
came to New England as early as 1664, and 
Eli Catlin commanded a company in the 
Second Regiment from Connecticut in the 
Continental troops, while his son, Putnam, 
was fife major of the same regiment. Eli 
Catlin was the grandfather of Francis P. 
Catlin, and was a native of Litchfield, Conn. 
After the Revolution he became a prominent 
attornev at Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania. 

Charles L. Catlin came with his parents 
to Wisconsin, and acquired his early educa- 
tion in the public schools of Hudson. Dur- 
ing the session of 1861 he served as a page 
in the State Legislature, and in November 
of the same year enlisted in Company D, 2(1 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



Wisconsin Cavalry. After doing duty at the 
front for two years he was detailed as chief 
clerk of the draft-rendezvous at Madison, 
and subsequently became connected with the 
adjutant-general's office at Washington, con- 
tinuing in the military service until after 
the close of hostilities. In 1867 he was 
graduated from the Columbia College of 
law, and was admitted to practice in tiie 
State and United States courts, and in 1888 
to the Supreme court of the United States. 
He was private secretary to Caleb Cushing 
for two years, and altogether became quite 
familiar with public affairs at Washmg- 
ton. He returned to Hudson in 1876 and 
practiced law there for about live years. For 
a year or two more he was an assistant of 
Hon. John C. Spooner, then general solici- 
tor for the Omaha Railroad Company at St. 
Paul, and in 1884 he located in what was 
then the frontier village of Superior, becom- 
ing attorney for the Omaha Railroad Com- 
pany and the Land and River Improvement 
Company. Pie spent the following winter 
in Washington in the interest of that con- 
cern, which deriveil nuich benefit from his 
experience and acquaintance at the seat of 
government. In the spring of 1885 he be- 
came a member of the law firm of Catlin & 
Butler, which afterward became Catlin, But- 
ler & Lyons, his relation with this firm con- 
tinuing during the balance of his life, eac'i 
of the partners being well known in the 
legal and social circles of northern Wis- 
consin. 

Mr. Catlin's pulilic spirit and benevolent 
character were manifested in many ways. 
He secured the right-of-way into Superior 
for the Chicago, St. Paul, Minneapolis and 
Omaha railroad, was interested in several 
of the leading building enterprises of the 
city, and was one of the organizers of the 
Bank of Commerce, and president of that 
corporation for several years. Mr. Catlin 
was instrumental in securing a second draw- 
bridge on the Wisconsin side of St. Louis 
Bay. In i8g8 he represented his district in 
the General Assembly of the State. In every 
public position he was called to fill he strove 
to serve the best interests of the public, and 



he attracted a host of the warmest personal 
friends, who can testify to his many gener- 
ous, manly actions in private life. 

Fraternally ]Mr. Catlin was connected 
with the Masonic order, having been the 
first eminent commander of Superior Com- 
mandery. No. 25, K. T., which organiza- 
tion took charge of his funeral. He also 
belonged to the G. A. R. He was reared in 
the Presbyterian faith, but in recent years 
had become a Christian Scientist. 

]\Irs. Catlin was formerly Miss Mildred 
Perry, and three of her sons make their home 
with her in Minneapolis. She is a daughter 
of George W. Perry, one of the pioneer law- 
yers of Superior. 

HON. CHARLES S^^IITH, Judge of 
the Superior Court of Douglas county. Wis., 
and one of the most respected and influential 
citizens of Superior and vicinity, is a native 
of Hampton, N. H. His parents, Robert 
and Hannah (Marston) Smith, were both of 
English descent, and the former was a well- 
to-do New England farmer. 

Judge Smith passed his boyhood days at 
Salisbury, N. Y., where he attended the 
common schools, and there laid the founda- 
tion for the superior education he has since 
acquired. From the public schools he passed 
to Wesleyan University, jMiddletown, Conn., 
where for two years he pursued a classical 
course. Failing health compelled him to 
leave school and to seek a change of climate. 
Coming West, he located at Prescott, Wis., 
where he studied law with J. S. White, and 
was admitted to the Bar in 1869, practicing 
there and at River Falls, Wis. In 1870 and 
1 87 1 he was county superintendent of Pierce 
County, Wis. It was not until i8go that 
lie came to Superior, wdiere he rapidly rose 
to the front rank of the legal profession. He 
became a member of the law firm of Ross, 
Dwyer & Smith, one of the foremost in this 
section of the State. In the spring 01 1893 
he was elected first Judge of the Superior 
court for Douglas county, and has ever since 
filled that position with great credit not only 
to himself, but to the profession he so adorns. 
His judgment and integrity are unquestioned 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



by the citizens, who have learned to know his 
keen sense of justice and his great love of 
truth. His superior intellect and vast fund 
of general information early won the respect 
of his associates at the Bar, and this respect 
soon developed into honest esteem as the 
noble inherent characteristics of the man be- 
came known. His manner is simnle and un- 
affected, and he goes his way meeting each 
duty as it comes, and giving to his work care- 
ful study, applying his wisdom and learning 
to the needs of his fellowmen. In political 
affiliation he may be said to be an independ- 
ent Republican. He is a close student of ques- 
tions of the day, and ably speaks and writes 
in discussion of the same. His address upon 
the death of President McKinley will be long 
remembered by the large assemblage privi- 
leged to hear it. 

On Sept. 1 8, 1878, Judge Smith was 
married to Miss Mary Haw, of Hudson, 
Wis., a woman who has every excellence 
of intellect and heart. 

HON. IRVIN WILLARD GATES 
was for more than twoscore years one of the 
best known and most highly esteemed citi- 
zens of Superior. One of the pioneer teach- 
ers of that place, for nearly three decades 
he devoted the best energies of an active 
body and well disciplined mind to educa- 
tional work, therein aciiieving success which 
is amply attested by many of his former 
pupils, who are identified with important 
business and professional interests in that 
and other cities. 

Mr. Gates was born in Hancock, N. H., 
Feb. I, 1822, and died at Superior Sept. 23, 
1898. He was a son of Joel and Eliza 
(Whitcomb) Gates, and sprang of ancestors 
W'ho belonged to that sturdy class of New 
England pioneers whose traditional habits 
of industry and devotion to principle still 
characterize most of their descendants in 
various parts of the United States. His 
grandfather, Samuel Gates, enlisted in the 
Continental army from Rutland, Mass., and 
subsequently settled at Hancock. N. H., 
where he developed a fine farm, to the own- 
ership of which his son Joel succeeded. The 



latter served as justice of the peace and mem- 
ber of the Legislature and was a useful and 
influential citizen. 

Irvin W. Gates received an academic 
education in his native place, and at the age 
of sixteen years began teaching, following 
that profession for the greater part of his 
life. About 1843 he went to Troy, Ohio, 
where he taught for several years and after- 
ward conducted an academy at Logansport, 
Ind. In 1S57 he located at Superior, then a 
small village upon the e.xtreme frontier of 
civilization. He at once began teaching 
there and was identified with the public 
school system for about thirty years. Dur- 
ing a part of this time he also served as 
county superintendent. Although there was 
no accredited high school during his time, 
he taught most of the branches now included 
in the high school course, and taught them 
so thoroughly that his pupils were generally 
fitted for any ordinary position in business. 
While devoting himself chiefly to school 
work, Mr. Gates was also active in many 
other undertakings for the advancement of 
society. For over forty years he was an 
elder of the Presbyterian Church, endeavor- 
ing by precept and example to advance the 
cause of Christianity. He was the first pres- 
ident of the Free Library Board and helped 
to form the nucleus of the splendid public 
library which has since become the pride of 
the city. 

Politically Mr. Gates was a Republican, 
but gave little attention to the agitation of 
partisan questions. He was at one time ap- 
pointed judge of probate to fill a vacancy 
and hence became known to many people as 
Judge Gates, but he had little taste for offi- 
cial life. A few years after coming to Supe- 
rior he located a claim in what is now the 
pleasantest part of Central Park, and where 
his family still reside. When the city liegan 
to grow he subdivided and sold most of this 
tract, which is still known as Gates Addition, 
and contains many fine residences. As busi- 
ness interests increased during the years of 
rapid growth in Superior Mr. Gates became 
prominent in plans for the city's develop- 
ment, and was recognized as a public-spir- 



'8 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



ited man of remarkable business sagacity. 
But it was as a teacber that he was most 
conspicuous, as will be seen from the follow- 
ing extracts from a tribute to his memory 
written by one who bad been his pupil for 
a number of years. 

There has recently gone from us a man who 
de.serves jnorc than passing mention, liy reason m 
the wide and lasting influence which he exerted in 
this community in years gone by * * * I. W. 
Gates has undoubtedly been the instrument of more 
real and lasting benelit to the older settlers * * * 
than any other man. As a citizen, a church mem- 
ber, a Sunday-school superintendent, as a friend and 
neighbor, he was a man to be depended upon. But 
it is of his work as a teacher * * * that the writer 
wishes particularly to speak. Teaching first in the 
East End, then called Lower Town, and for many 
consecutive years in Central Park, known as Upper 
Town, a large number of the old residents or their 
children have received their schooling from him. 
His noble and inspiring influence upon the homes 
whicli he readied in that way is simply incalcula- 
ble. A man of strict integrity, filled with unusual 
love and devotion for his work, inspiring the admi- 
ration, respect and love of every one of his pupils, 
his ennobling influence permeated the entire com- 
munity like leaven, and no boy or girl ever went 
to him long enough to feel his power without being 
made better by it for all time * * * Progressive 
in his ideas, he reached far ahead of his time in his 
methods of leaching * * * when there were no 
inspiring conventions to attend, few educational 
journals of merit, and when his inspiration must 
come from the resources of his own soul. 

Mrs. Gates, formerly Miss Mary E. 
Wilder, of Keene, N. H., and two sons and 
two daughters, are still living in the city. 

MARCUS WHITMAN BATES is one 
of the many well known citizens of Duluth 
wliose patriotism was demonstrated more 
than forty years ago and who did not hesi- 
tate to shed their life blood for the preser- 
vation of their native land. He was born in 
Geauga county, Ohio, April 26, 1840, and 
bis parents, Abner Curtis and Laura W. 
(Baker) Bates, belonged to that sturdy class 
of pioneers who carved out homes from the 
wilderness of the "Western Reserve." His 
grandfather. Abner C. Bates, sprang of an 
old New England family and spent his life 
in Massachusetts. His widow, whose 
maiden name was Whitman, was a descend- 
ant of John Whitman, of Weymouth, Mass., 
and one of her brothers was the father of 



Marcus Whitman, the famous Oregon pio- 
neer, in whose honor the subject of this 
sketch was named. Mrs. Bates survived her 
husband some years and passed away in 
Ohio at an advanced age. 

Abner Curtis Bates, father of Marcus 
W., was a native of Cummington, Mass., but 
went to Ohio in early life. In 1845 '1^ located 
at Cleveland, where he built and operated a 
sawmill run by water-power. Later he lived 
in Allegan county, Mich., and died on a farm 
at Moline, in that State, at the age of eighty- 
three years. During the last forty years of 
his life he was afflicted with blindness, but 
bore his trials cheerfully. He was promi- 
nently identified with the Congregational 
church for the greater part of his life and 
had a useful and exemplary career. Mrs. 
Laura W. Bates was born in Ontario county, 
N. Y., and died at Moline in 1891, aged over 
eighty years. 

Marcus W. Bates is the oldest survivor 
of eight children born to his parents. He 
attended the public schools of his native 
State and went with the family to Michigan. 
Thence in 1857 he went to Minneapolis, 
where he spent about two years and attended 
Excelsior Academy (then just opened) for 
one term. In May, 1862, he enlisted in Com- 
pany B, 2 1 St Michigan Volunteer Infantry, 
and remained in the service until his dis- 
charge from hospital in New York City in 
May, 1865. During the early part of its 
service his regiment was a part of Sheridan's 
Division, of the 20th Army Corps, but after 
the battle of Chickamauga it became a part 
of the 14th Army Corps. He was almost 
constantly in active service and won several 
promotions by his gallantry, being succes- 
sively made quartermaster sergeant of the 
regiment, second lieutenant and first lieu- 
tenant, and at the close of the war he was in 
command of Company C. of the 21st Michi- 
gan. Among the engagements in which he 
participated were Perryville, Stone River, 
Chickamauga, Averysboro and Bentonville, 
in most of which the regiment suffered severe 
losses. The dreary New Year of 1863, 
which was passed amid the rain and sleet at 
Stone River, made an impression upon his 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



mind never to he erased. After the fall of 
Atlanta the regiment hecame a part of Sher- 
man's army, taking part in the famous march 
to the sea and the subsequent campaign 
through the Carolinas. At Bentonville this 
regiment, then reduced to 231 men, formed 
a part of Buell's Brigade, Carlin's Division. 
This brigade, numbering 630 men in all, oc- 
cupied a position on the extreme left of the 
Union lines and charged an entrenched divis- 
ion of ten thousand Confederates, driv- 
ing them from their works, but the enemy 
rallied and nearly surrounded the Federals, 
who were forced to fall back. In this atYair 
the 21st Michigan lost eighty-six men and 
five officers. Two hours later ^Ir. Bates was 
shot through the hip and remained in hos- 
pital at Davis Island until his discharge. It 
may indeed be said that no man in the 
service more truly deserved the honors ac- 
corded him. 

Upon the recovery of his health in 1866 
Mr. Bates engaged in the insurance business 
at Grand Rapids, Mich., and also organized 
the Grand Rapids Savings Bank, of which 
he was cashier for fi\-e years. He lived there 
until 1 89 1, when he located in Duluth, which 
has since been his home. He deals in real 
estate to a considerable extent, including 
timber and mining lands in St. Louis county 
and timber lands on the Pacific coast. 
Though not an active politician he supports 
the principles of the Republican party and 
takes a wholesome interest in all public ques- 
tions. He and his family are identified with 
Pilgrim Congregational church and he has 
filled a number of important positions in the 
Grand Army of the Republic and the Mili- 
tary Order of the Loyal Legion. 

Mr. Bates was married in 1861 to Mary 
E. Bisbee, daughter of Jared and Hannah 
Bisbee, of Moline, Allegan Co., Mich. Mr. 
Bisbee was a native of Cummington, Mass., 
where he was engaged in the manufacture of 
furniture, but about 1857 he settled on a 
farm in Allegan county, Mich., where he and 
his wife reached old age. The latter was 
born in Norwich, Conn. Mrs. Bates is a 
native of Hamilton county, Maine. She and 
her husband are the parents of one son. 



Marcus 1*"., a well known business man of 
Duluth, and two daughters, Mabel and 
-Mary. 

LESLIE EMERSON WATERMAN 
is one of the enterprising and successful 
business men of West Superior who have 
contributed largely toward the phenomenal 
upbuilding of that remarkable city. He is 
a native son of Wisconsin and a fair type of 
the class of citizens whose energy and fore- 
sight have developed the various industries 
for which that Commonwealth is famous. 

Mr. Waterman was born at Fisk Corners, 
Winnebago county, Nov. 9, 1849, and is a 
son of Joel and Belinda ( Joslyn) Waterman, 
natives of the Green Mountain State, who 
were among the early pioneers of Wiscon- 
sin. His grandfather, Abraham Waterman, 
was born in Rhode Island and came of Welsh 
ancestors. He w^as a veteran of the Revolu- 
tionary war, and his son Joel did military 
duty during the war of 1812. In 1842 the 
latter went to Illinois, whither he removed 
his family the following year, settling in 
McHenry county. Four years later he came 
to Wisconsin, locating in Winnebago county 
about the time that the first house was built 
in Oshkosh. He took up government land 
there and also engaged in merchandising and 
lumbering to some extent. In 1856 he be- 
came one of the pioneers of Chippewa Falls, 
where he did considerable logging and oper- 
ated a sawmill for some years. He and his 
sons also built the "Waterman Hotel" at 
that place, which was conducted by members 
of the family until 1883. In 1877 he re- 
signed his interests there and went to Fort 
Worth, Texas, wdiere he built another hotel 
and carried on the same until 1884, at which 
flate he sold and removed to Fayetteville, 
Ark., where he still owns a fine farm, though 
in recent years he and his wife have spent 
much of their time at Superior. Though 
they have reached the ages of eighty-four 
and seventy-eight years, respectively, they 
still enjoy a fair degree of health and are 
intelligent and entertaining people to meet, 
excellent examples of the contentment which 
results from the cultivation of industrious 



lO 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



habits and exemplary characters. Mr. Wat- 
erman was born at Royalton, Vt., and his 
wife at Waitsfield, in the same State. She 
is a daughter of Hooker Joslyn, who was 
born at Wethersfield, Vt., served in the war 
of 1812, and in 1847 removed to McHenry 
county, 111., where he died a few years later. 
His father, Joseph Joslyn, served in the 
Continental army. Lucia Davidson, who 
became the wife of Hooker Joslyn and the 
mother of Mrs. Waterman, was a native of 
Hartland, Vermont. 

Besides the subject of this notice. Mr. 
and Mrs. Joel Waterman are the parents of 
three daughters and one son, as follows : 
Lillian (Mrs. Charles George), of Superior; 
Jessie (Mrs. Robert Seymour), of the same 
place; Louisa Eugenia (Mrs. A. B. Mana- 
han), of Pasadena, Cal. ; and Luzerne, of 
Carleton, Neb. The posterity of this worthy 
couple also includes fourteen living grand- 
children. 

Leslie E. Waterman spent most of his 
boyhood at Chippewa Falls, where he became 
associated with his father in the hotel and 
afterward carried on the same in conjunction 
with his brother. He subsequently dealt in 
pine lands at that place and is still interested 
in that line of business. Since 1887 he has 
made his headquarters at West Superior, 
although he did not take up his residence 
here until two years later. Upon locating 
at this place he invested in real estate quite 
extensively and has given much attention to 
the improvement of his ])roperty. In 1892, 
in conjunction with W. E. McCord. he 
erected a substantial three-story brick build- 
ing which is one of the principal business 
blocks of the city. From time to time he 
has built a number of residences, and he still 
does a general real-estate business. It has 
been his policy to improve his city property 
as fast as practicable, thereby adding to the 
growth and general prosperity of the town. 
His excellent judgment and strict business 
integrity have caused him to be recognized 
as one of the foremost citizens of Superior. 
While taking a wholesome interest in all 
worthy public undertakings he does not con- 
cern himself with political agitation, but sup- 



ports the principles of the Kepubhcan party. 
He and his family are connected with the 
Presbyterian church. 

Mr. Waterman was married Sept. 30, 
i87(), to Miss Fannie Rossiter, who was burn 
at I-'ort Howard, Wis. Their only surviving 
child is a daughter named Lucile. 

HON. AAD JOHN VINJE, Judge of 
the Eleventh Circuit Court of Wisconsin, 
and one of the most learned members of his 
profession in this part of the country, is a 
native son of Norway, born at Voss Nov. 
10, 1857, son of John and Ingeborg (Klove) 
Vinje. The father, a farmer, died from in- 
juries received in an accident in February, 
1859. His widow, in 1865, married (sec- 
ond) Mons K. Vinje, who succeeded to the 
farm formerly occupied by John Vinje, and 
took his name therefrom. He is still living, 
and now makes his home in Marshall county, 
Iowa. One daughter, Ellen, was born of this 
second marriage. Of the children born to 
John and Ingeborg Vinje, David J. is a 
practicing attorney at Nevada, Iowa ; Julia, 
is the wife of A. H. Dahl, a merchant at 
Westby, Wis., and member of the Assem- 
bly ; Throstein J., a graduate of the Agricult- 
ural College in Norway, and an attorney in 
partnership with Col. L. J. Rusk, died at 
Viroqua, Wis., in 1879; Knudt died in 1883 
at Gilman, Iowa. Mrs. Ingeborg Vinje died 
at her home in Marshall county, Iowa, Jan. 
25, 1901, in her seventy-seventh year. 

Aad Klove, father of Mrs. Ingeborg 
Vinje, was a member of the Constitutional 
Convention of 181 4, which framed the fun- 
damental law of Norway. His son, David 
Klove, was a member of the Norwegian 
Storthing. The ancestry of this family has 
been traced to the sixteenth century in Den- 
mark, where the family belonged to the nobil- 
ity. A Lutheran ecclesiastic, Bishop Anders 
Anderson Riber, of Hardanger Parish, near 
Voss, settled there in the Sixteenth century, 
going there from Denmark. He married 
Katarina Helvik, of Galtung. of the Norwe- 
gian nobility, whose family has been traced 
from the fourteenth century, and their son, 
Laurits Vanheim, was born in 1658. From 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAl'TIICAL RECORD 



It 



Bishop Riber Judge Vinje is in the seventh 
generation. Rehitives of Katarina Heivik 
intermarried witli the famous Douglas fam- 
ily of Scotland. 

Judge Vinje came to America with his 
mother and stepfather in 1S69, and settled 
in JNIarshall county, Iowa. His education 
had been begun under private instructors in 
Norway, and he continued it in the public 
schools of Iowa, and in Iowa College, at 
Grinnell; in 1874-75 he attended the North- 
western University at Des Moines, and then 
taught school until tlie fall of 1878, when he 
entered the collegiate course of the Univer- 
sity of Wisconsin, graduating in 1884; two 
years meantime were lost in teaching. The 
family having lost considerable property in 
Iowa, it was necessary that the young man 
should acquire the means to pursue his stud- 
ies. In August, 1884. he received appointment 
as assistant to the State Librarian, contin- 
uing at that work until March, 1888. Dur- 
ing this time he took a law course, and was 
graduated in 1887. In 1888 he received the 
appointment of assistant Supreme court re- 
porter and filled that position for three 
years, when he resigned and came to Sup- 
erior to enter into a law partnership witn 
L. S. Butler, a partnership that led to the 
mutual edification of those interested until 
its dissolution, in January, 1895. Judge 
Vinje continued to practice his profession 
until the following August, when he was 
appointed to fill the vacancy as Judge of the 
Eleventh Circuit of Wisconsin. The follow- 
ing spring he was elected his own successor 
without opposition, and in the spring of 
1900 again re-elected without opposition. 
Many important questions have been heard 
and decided in his court. Among the more 
important cases he has been called upon to 
hear outside of his circuit may be mentioned 
the case of Harrigan vs. National Electric 
Manufacturing Company at Eau Claire, and 
the case of Potter vs. Necedah Lumber Com- 
pany, at Mauston. An average of four hun- 
dred cases a year is tried before him. 

In 1886 Judge Vinje was man led to 
Alice Idell Miller, of Oregon, Wis., daugh- 
ter of John C. and Adelia (Waite) Miller. 



She is highly educated, having attended the 
public schools of Oregon, and finished her 
education in a private school at Cambridge, 
jNIass. Four children have come to their 
home: Arthur Miller, born in 1888; David 
Ray, born in 1890; Janet, born in 1891 ; and 
Ethel, born in 1899. Although reared in the 
Quaker faith, Judge Vinje attends either 
the Unitarian or Congregational Churches. 
He is charitable to all and is ever ready to 
help in any good movement. A Republican 
in political principle, he has never cared for 
office, except the one he has attained through 
his professional kno .vledge. 

LEONIDAS JilERRITT, explorer, is- 
well known in mining circles as one of the 
band of brothers who discovered and devel- 
oped the Missabe Iron Range, having first 
evolved the now universally accepted Trough- 
Theory of Mineral Deposits. Born in Chau- 
tamjua county, N. Y., Feb. 20, 1844, he is 
now, though over sixty years old, hale and 
hearty, and resides at his old home, No. 
4601 Oneota street. Duluth, Minnesota. 

Thomas Merritt, his paternal grand- 
father, while yet a young man migrated 
from Connecticut and settled in western 
New York, and was married there, where in 
the year 1809 Lewis H. Merritt, the father 
of the Merritt brothers, was born. His ma- 
ternal grandfather, Enoch Jewett, lived at 
Deerfield, Mass., where Hepsibeth Jewett, 
mother of the Merritt brothers, was born. 
The family migrated to v.-estern New York 
about the year 1825, and there she was mar- 
ried to Lewis H. Merritt. In all ten chil- 
dren were born to them of whom eight boys 
lived to maturity. In 1850 the family re- 
moved to Warren county, Pa., where they 
engaged in the lumber and mill business. 
In the spring of 1855 they removed to Ash- 
tabula county, Ohio, where the older broth- 
ers attended school at Grand River Institute, 
the father coming west and stopping awhile 
on Connors Point, now West Superior, Wis. 
As soon as the treaty with the Indians ced- 
ing the lands on the north shore of Lake Su- 
perior was accomplished, he definitely lo- 
cated at Oneota, now Duluth. in the then 



12 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



Territory of Minnesota, where he was joined 
by the whole family in the fall of 1856. He 
settled on what is now the corner of 45th and 
Oneota street, and he and two others, H. W. 
Wheeler and Mr. Crozier, were the first set- 
tlers in that section. Here the Merritt boys 
g-rew up with the country and employed 
themselves by turns in the most promising 
occupations, becoming lumbermen, sailors 
and finally timber and mineral explorers. 

Lewis H. Merritt, now dead man^• years, 
and Hepsibeth Merritt, still living in Duluth 
at the advanced age of ninety-three, were 
both well known among the first settlers at 
the Head of the Lakes for their good works 
in those old days. Lewis H., as carpenter, 
builder and lumberman, is still often spoken 
of by the old settlers as being an honest, up- 
right, active citizen, always interested in the 
upbuilding of the community in which he 
lived, ever alert to advance educational and 
religious interests. He helped to organize 
the first church in northern Minnesota, and 
school district No. i owes to him its organ- 
ization and its first schoolhouse more than 
to any other. Few, however, outside of his 
own family, knew of his wide knowledge of 
the natural resources tributary to the Head 
of the Lakes. He lived to see his boys grown 
to manhood, and to his example and teach- 
ings they owe all that has enabled them to 
take such an active part in the developments 
which he had shown them were possible. Of 
the eight brothers, five are still living. Je- 
rome, the eldest, was an educator, and has 
been dead some years. Napoleon, a well 
known business man, resides in Duluth. Lu- 
cien, a Methodist preacher, after whom the 
oldest Methodist church in Duluth is named, 
died some four years ago. Leonidas, ex- 
plorer, and Alfred, capitalist, reside in Du- 
luth. Lewis, capitalist, is residing in Pasa- 
dena, Cal. Cassius, in his day a well known 
explorer and all around business man, died 
in 1894. Andrus, the youngest, lives in 
Duluth and is now promoting an important 
iron industry. 

Leonidas Merritt, the subject proper of 
this sketch, was educated in the public schools 
and at Grand River Institute, Austinburg, 



Ohio. He was twelve years old when the 
family joined the father at Oneota, where 
for four years he attended the common school 
of the district and during vacations took a 
man's place in the lighter duties of lumber- 
ing and mill work. In i860 he went to 
Pennsylvania and learned the business of 
oil refiner, and the following year enlisted in 
the cavalry branch of the Union army, where 
he served until the close of the war. Return- 
ins: home, "Alf" and "Lon" built the fir^-t 
registered sailing vessel constructed at the 
Plead of the Lakes. In 1873 Leonidas Mer- 
ritt married Elizabeth, eldest daughter of 
Mr. and Mrs. H. W. Wheeler, whom he had 
known from the time of the earliest settle- 
ment of Oneota. To them were born three 
children: Ruth, the eldest, whose husband, 
.Alva Merritt, is engaged in the dredge busi- 
ness (they have one daughter, Elizabeth) ; 
Lucien, a mining engineer and explorer; and 
Harry, a ranchman in Nebraska (he married 
Edith Shaller). 

During all these years the two brothers 
familiarlv known as Alf and Lon Merritt 
have followed the profession of explorers. 
The discovery and development of the Mis- 
sabe iron area, and the subsequent building 
of the Duluth Missabe & Northern railway, 
its outlet to terminals at Duluth. was princi- 
pally the work of their hands. Alf was 
president and Lon was vice-president of the 
latter, also first president of the Lake Supe- 
rior Consolidated Mines. In later years the 
brothers Alf and Lon, sometimes singly and 
sometimes jointly, have extended their opera- 
tions to Canada, Old Mexico and the mineral 
areas of our western States and Territories, 
and they have many warm friends wherever 
they have operated. 

REV. EDMUND E. ELY, one of the 
earliest American missionaries in the Upper 
Lake Region, and one of the first business 
men at Duluth, Minn., w'as a fair example 
of the hardy stuff of which pioneers are 
made. He was born in Wilbraham, Mass., 
Aug. 3, 1809, and died Aug. 29, 1882, at 
Santa Rosa, Cal. He was a son of Judah and 
Lucie (Sisson) Ely, and a lineal descendant 



C02\1^1EM0RATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL REv^ORD 



of that Nathaniel Ely who came to Boston 
probably in 1634, in the bark "Elizabeth," 
from Ipswich, England. He settled in Cam- 
bridge, Mass., and later was of Hartford, 
Conn., of which latter place he was an early 
settler, and where he held many leading 
positions. Some of his descendants served 
in the war of the Revolution, and many have 
tilled positions of honor and trust in civil and 
business affairs. 

Judah Ely was born in Wilbraham, 
Mass., in 1785, and in November, 1824, came 
West, settling in Geauga county, Ohio, 
where he was engaged in a general mercan- 
tile business at Chardon until his death, two 
years later. He married Lucie Sisson, who 
died in 1830. 

Edmund F. Ely was educated in Massa- 
chusetts. After his father's death he re- 
turned to that State, and began the study of 
theology. Owing to poor health he was 
obliged to seek a change of climate, and on 
July 5, 1833, he started for the West. He 
traveled on the first railroad in the United 
States, and by canal to Buffalo, the trip from 
Albany to Buffalo taking three days. At 
the latter place he embarked on the steamer 
"Henry Clay" for Detroit, at which place he 
took a small sailing vessel to Mackinaw Is- 
land. The remainder of the trip to the Head 
of the Lakes was made in a birch bark canoe 
in company with a party of employes of the 
Hudson Bay Company. His final destina- 
tion was Sand Lake, Minn., where a school 
had been established by the American Board 
of Foreign Missions (whose headquarters 
were in Boston). He taught an Indian 
school there one winter, and the next year 
established a school at Fond du Lac, now in 
the city of Duluth. He taught there, and at 
La Pointe and other places until 1849, ^^r' 
ing all which time he was doing more or 
less religious work among the Ojibways. 
Pie always took a decided stand in opposi- 
tion to the trade in liquor with the Indians. 
In 185 — he volunteered to draw the gov- 
ernment supplies for the Cloquet Reserva- 
tion from Duluth at actual cost, cutting a 
road through the woods for that purpose. 
This course was taken in order to avoitl 



having the Indians spend their money at 
Fond du Lac, where they had formerly been 
paid. 

In 1849 ^^i"- Ely moved to St. Paul, 
where he spent four years. In 1854 he re- 
turned to Superior, Wis., and built there in 
1856 a sawmill on the Minnesota side of St. 
Louis Bay, which he operated until 1862, 
when he returned to St. Paul. In 1873 he 
went to California, and there the last days 
of his life were spent. 

In 1838 Re\'. Mr. Ely was married to 
Catherine G<-)ulais, a nati\-e of Montreal, who 
came to the Head of the Lakes as a teacher. 
Slie was educated in her native city, and died 
in California. Three of the children born 
of this union survive: Henry S., of Duluth; 
Augustus B., of San Francisco; and Sarah, 
wife of Henry L. Bradley, of San Francisco. 

AMIAL ELLIS PHILBROOK. a well 
known lumberman of Superior, was born at 
Sebec, Piscataquis Co., Maine, Oct. 11, 1835. 
His parents were John and Delia (Farris) 
Philbrook, also natives of ]\Iaine. 

Andrew Philbrook, his grandfather, was 
an Englishman, a millwright and carpenter 
by trade, and in early life came to Maine, 
where he lived to be nearly ninety years ot 
age. Of his sons, David died in Chippewa 
Falls, Wis., at the age of seventy-four; Rob- 
ert died at Hudson, Wis. ; b^arnsworth died 
at Stillwater, Minn. ; William died in Penn- 
sylvania ; and John, father of Amial Ellis, 
became a lumberman antl owner of a saw- 
mill on the Piscataquis river. 

John Philbrook died in Milo. ]Maine, in 
1848, when forty-eight years of age. He 
had been a strict adherent of the Presbyte- 
rian Church and an exemplary citizen. His 
wife, formerly Delia Farris. died a few 
months before her husband. Her father was 
of German descent, was a farmer and was 
an active man up to the time of his death, at 
the age of seventy-five. The children of 
John and Delia f Farris) Philbrook were as 
follows: Mary Augusta, Mrs. Alonzo Hotch- 
kiss, of Wisconsin; Amial E., mentioned be- 
low ; Eleanor, deceased in childhood ; Fran- 
cis Lewis, member of the ist ^Nlaine Heavy 



14 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



Artillery, who died in Andersonville prison ; 
Charles, also in the Union army, who died 
of typhoid fever at Yorktown, Va. ; and Ed- 
ward and Edwin Edgar, twins, and another 
-child, all deceased in infancy. 

Until he was thirteen Amial Ellis Phil- 
brook attended school regularly, but soon 
after the death of his parents he went to 
.Spring-field, Maine, where he found employ- 
ment in the lumber woods. In 1856 he went 
to Minnesota, and lived for a number of 
years at Monticello, engaged chiefly in lum- 
-bering. He enlisted in Company E, 8th 
Minn. V. I., being mustered into the service 
Aug. 14, 1862, and mustered out July n, 
1865, at Charlotte, N. C. He served under 
Gen. Sully through the Sioux war in 1863, 
and later joined Sherman's army at Mur- 
freesboro, Tenn., taking part in the battle 
with Forrest's cavalry in which the 8th Min- 
nesota lost nearly one hundred men. Still 
later he was with Col. Thomas near Kings- 
ton. His regiment had the record for travel- 
ing more miles than any other in the army. 

After the war Mr. Philbrook again en- 
gaged in lumbering, in 1869 locating at Du- 
luth, where he filled contracts for furnishing 
the timber for the first docks and breakwater 
in the place, and from that time on he has 
been in the lumber business. In 1882 he 
began the manufacture of lumber, operatin-ii^' 
a sawmill at Connor's Point, and later one at 
Allouez Bay ; he now owns a portable steam 
sawmill, and buys and clears timber lands, 
employing a number of men. About 1882 
Mr. Philbrook built his present residence in 
Superior, which he has rebuilt since its par- 
tial destruction by fire, in 1901. For many 
years Mr. Philbrook was a Democrat in poli- 
tics, but more recently has joined the Repub- 
lican party. He has been a member of the 
county board of supervisors for several 
years, chairman of the health committee, and 
of the committee on roads and bridges. 

Mr. Philbrook married (first) in 1856 
Margaret Desmond, a daughter of Timotliv 
Desmond, of Springfield, Maine. She was 
a devout member of the Catholic Church, 
and died at Superior, ^^^isconsin, March 
16, 1896, at the age of fifty-four. She was 



the mother of the following children : Wil- 
liam Edward, an engineer, of Superior; John 
A., who died at the age of twenty-one ; James 
A., a farmer in the vicinity of South Range, 
Douglas county, and secretary of the school 
board; Walter J., town clerk of South 
Range; Richard, an engineer of Superior; 
iM-ancis, of Bemidji, Minn. ; Ina, Mrs. 
Wahlen, of Superior; Mary, Mrs. Harry 
Hepburn ; and a son who died in infancy. 
On Nov. 10, 1897, Mr. Philbrook mar- 
ried (second) Mrs. Elizabeth Welter, widow 
of Nicholas Welter. Mr. Welter was a 
native of Dalheim, Germany, and came to 
the United States about 1843, with his par- 
ents, Martin and Margaretta Welter, dying 
in Superior Aug. 20, 1890, at the age of 
fifty-four. He was a lumberman and also 
engaged in other lines of business. He 
served for many years as chairman of the 
county board. In politics he was a Republi- 
can, and his religious faith was that of the 
Catholic Church. Mrs. Elizabeth Philbrook 
was born in Prussia, a daughter of John 
Peter Burger, who was one of the earliest 
pioneers of Superior, settling there aljout 
1S54, and dying in January, 1872, when 
seventy-two years of age. Airs. Philbrook's 
mother died at Detroit, Mich., during the 
daughter's infancy. Elizabeth Burger and 
Nicholas Welter were married Dec. 19, 
1866, and had a family of eleven children: 
Pearl, who was killed by a street car when 
four and a half years old; Gusta Rosetta, 
who died at the age of seventeen months; 
Margaret, wife of D. D. Crowley, an elec- 
trician, of Duluth, Minn.; Elizabeth, Mrs. 
B. B. Lynch, of Whatcom, Wash. ; Grace, of 
Duluth; John, of Whatcom, an electrician; 
Schiller, of Superior; Lola; Franklin and 
Francis, twins, both electricians ; and Ray. 
Mrs. Philbrook has eight grandchildren, and 
Mr. Philbrook is the grandfather of seven- 
teen, and has two great-grandchildren. 

JOHN HENRY HOLMAN is a man 
well known in the business and social world 
of West Superior, occupying prominent pub- 
lic positions. While himself born in the 
beautiful Irish city of Cork, he is descended 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAI'lliCAL RECORD 



15 



from ancestors who lived and died in the 
shire of Cornwah, England, and from them 
he has inherited both the sterling qualities 
which characterized that indomitable race 
and the special mental bent which has deter- 
mined the course of his life. 

Mr. Holman was born Dec. 6, 1854, son 
of John and Mary (Woolcock) Holman, 
both of whom were born in Cornwall, the 
one in Camborne, the other in Hayle Foun- 
dry. As the name indicates, the Holman 
family was originally of German stock, 
transplanted to England by a progenitor 
who accompanied Lord de Dunstanwell to 
the British Isles many centuries ago. For 
several generations now meml>ers of the Hol- 
man family have manifested a marked me- 
chanical turn of mind, and in their callings, 
whatever the particular line, have been emi- 
nently proficient. On a prominent Englisli 
estate in Cornwall a smithing shop has for 
many generations been conducted by mem- 
bers of the family ; James Holman, grand- 
father of John H., had charge of it, and it 
is in the hands of a descendant of his at the 
present time. James Holman and his wife 
both lived to the ripe old age of seventy- 
seven years, and so devoted to each other 
were they that they died within a week of 
each other. 

John Holman, son of James, inheritcl 
in a generous degree the mechanical ability 
of his race. In his youth he was apprenticed 
to the shipbuilding and boilermaking trades 
and became highly proficient in each. In 
1850 he settled at Cork as the superintendent 
of the boiler works of an extensive ship- 
building concern. This responsible position 
he filled most satisfactorily for fourteen 
years, at the end of that time resigning and 
returning to Hayle Foundry. It was at this 
period that he began to realize forcibly how 
much greater were the opportunities in his 
line in America than in England, and finally, 
in 1870, he embarked for Canada, Toronto 
lieing his objective point. Admirably cjuali- 
fied as he was he found no difficulty in secur- 
ing a situation, and was at once installed in 
the machine shops of the Grand Trunk rail- 
road, where he remained four years. Again 



resigning this position he established himself 
in business on his own account at Colling- 
wood, Ont., as a member of the Holman- 
Watts Company, manufacturers of boilers, 
etc. The firm carried on the business suc- 
cessfully until 1898, when the plant was de- 
stroyed by fire. After that disaster Mr. Hol- 
man came to West Superior, and there died 
June 6th of the following year. He was Ijorn 
in the same year as his late lamented sover- 
eign, Queen Victoria. 

Mrs. Mary W. Holman died in Toronto 
in 1898, at the age of seventy-nine. Her 
father, James Woolcock, was a farmer by 
occupation. Her mother, whose maiden 
name was Willmetta Russell, was lineally 
connected with the founder of the Russell 
Watch Manufacturing Company, a firm 
widely known for the excellence of its goods. 
The Russell family belonged to the wealthy 
and aristocratic clan so numerous in the 
West of England, and many of the name 
have attained distinction. Mrs. Woolcock 
was a woman of rare intellectual power, and 
possessed a remarkable memory, which she 
retained unimpaired to old age. She was 
highly cultured and most womanly, and 
])ossessed great beauty of character. Through 
their long married life she was most devoted 
to her husband, and after his death, to oc- 
cupy her time and thoughts, she took up the 
w<irk of teaching. 

John H. Holman spent his boyhood in 
Cork and received his earlier education in 
the public schools there, but when he was 
ten years old his parents settled at Hayle 
Foundry, Cornwall. There, at the age of thir- 
teen, he began to learn the iron molding 
trade, but dissatisfied with that he soon 
abandoned it and took up the more congenial 
work of a machinist. When the family 
emisrated to Toronto he readilv obtained 
employment at his trade, in which he had be- 
come highly proficient, in the shops of the 
Grand Trunk railroad, and he remained in 
that position for five years. For the three suc- 
ceeding years he was in his father's shops at 
Collingwood. As he was specially proficient 
in boiler and engine construction, he was 
offered a position as second engineer on a 



i6 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



steamer plying' Georgian Bay ; he accepted 
this, and still later was employed in a similar 
capacity on various other large vessels on 
the upper lakes. In the spring of 1887 Mr. 
Holman accepted the position of chief engi- 
neer of elevator "I" and other elevators in 
Duluth ; in the following October he became 
chief engineer of the Globe elevators, then 
just completed, and this position he has 
filled most efficiently to the present time, his 
attention to detail and wide experience in so 
many phases of engineering work having 
made him unusually well qualified for the 
place. 

Despite his manifold duties, Mr. Holman 
has found time to concern himself with many 
outside interests, both business and other- 
wise. He was one of the organizers of the 
Elevators Investment Company, of which 
he has served as president and is now vice- 
president. Fraternally he is active in the 
Masonic and Odd Fellows orders, having 
been made a Mason in 1891, while he has 
been connected with the I. O. O. F. for fif- 
teen years and has passed all the chairs in 
Terminal Lodge. In the work of both these 
orders Mr. Holman has since the beginning 
of his connection therewith taken a leading 
part, for their objects and aims have ap- 
pealed to him strongly and have also af- 
forded him a broad outlet for the exercise 
of his sympathy and benevolence. Politi- 
cally he affiliates with the Republican party ; 
while not active in a political sense, having 
never been a candidate for an elective office, 
he wields an influence all the more potent, 
possibly, on that account. In June, 1888, 
he was appointed a member of the board of 
education, in 1901 was re-appointed, and is 
now the president of the board. 

As a favorite diversion, Mr. Holman has 
been engaged for a long time in the study 
of natural history ; he is a taxidermist of no 
mean order, and his collection, which fills 
several cabinets, is the largest to be found 
in northern Wisconsin. Both in the char- 
acter of the selections and in the manner in 
which the work has been done it reflects 
great credit upon its maker. 

On Jan. 4, 1882, Miss Elizabeth Mason, 



a native of Coventry, England, became Mrs. 
John II. Holman. She is a daughter of Wil- 
liam and Rebecca (Elkington) Mason, who 
settled in Collingwood, Ont., about 1863. 
Mr. Mason was a silk weaver in England, 
but in Ontario has followed the business of 
tanning. Five children have been born to 
Mr. and Mrs. Holman, Willmetta Russell, 
Mabel Rebecca Elkington, Edna Amelia, 
John Gordon, and Victor Mason. 

EDWIN ELLIS, M. D., whose death 
occurred in that city May 3, 1903, enjoyed 
the distinction of being one of the earliest 
pioneers of Ashland, and that he was one of 
the chief contributors to the material, moral 
and intellectual development of that thri\'- 
ing city, is the unanimous verdict of his 
fellow citizens. He viewed with a just and 
patriarchal pride the transition, in which 
he had ])articipated, from the primeval for- 
ests and unfettered waters, which first met' 
his gaze upon this site, to the modern city 
with its busy populace, its hives of industry 
and commercial activity, its cultured homes 
and numerous religious, educational and 
benevolent institutions ; wdiile he beheld 
Chaquamegon Bay bordered by other cities 
of less magnitude and navigated by great 
fleets bearing to and fro multitudes of people 
and the products of whole nations. 

Dr. Ellis was a native of the "Pine Tree 
State," born at Peru, Maine, May 24, 1824, 
and was the only living son of John and 
Priscilla (Cbase) Ellis. He represented 
the fourth generation from Rev. Jonathan 
Scott Ellis, a Congregational minister of 
English descent, who lived for many years 
at Minot, Maine. John Ellis and his wife 
were natives of that State, but the former 
died in California. His only sur\-iving 
daughter still resides near Bangor. Mrs. 
Priscilla Ellis was a lineal descendant of 
Richard Chase, who was married at 
Chatham, England, in 1564, to Joan Bishop. 
Another early ancestor was William Chase, 
who came to Massachusetts with his wife 
and son in company with Gov. Winthrop 
in 1630. His descendants were pioneers 
of Newburyport, where Eleazer Cliase and 




EDWIN ELLIS, M. D. 



T;.Z . ._, 
PUBLIC LIBRARY 



ASTOR, LENOX 
TILDEW fOUWDATlONS 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



J7 



his son. Xatlianic-l. were identified witli the 
minute men during- the Revohttion. Tlie 
latter was famous for his intense patriotism 
and reniarkalale physical vigor. He became 
a Baptist minister, and preached for many 
years at Buckfield. Maine, where he attained 
the ag"e of ninety-three years, and was able 
to drive several miles from home only a 
year previous to his demise. 

Dr. Ellis graduated from Bowdoin Col- 
lege, Brunswick, in his native State, after 
which he went to the Medical School of the 
University of the City of New York (the 
faculty of which institution then included 
the eminent Valentine Mott and J. W. 
Draper), where he graduated in 1846. Re- 
turning to Maine he began practice at Farm- 
ington, continuing there about seven vears. 
He then went to St. Paul. Minn., and in 
1854 located at Ashland, acquiring by pre- 
emption and purchase, about 600 acres of 
wild land within the present city limits. 
Upon this land he laid out the town of Bav 
City, and erected several log buildings. The 
next year he brought his family from St. 
Paul via Chicago and Sault Ste. Marie. For 
some years the growth of the embryo city 
was extremely gradual, and it was eventually 
consolidated with that of Ashland, which had 
been started almost simultaneously farther 
toward the head of the Bay. During the 
period of depression which followed the 
panic of 1857. many of the settlers who had 
been attracted to this locality moved away, 
and patients became so scarce that in 1865 
the Doctor took up his abode at Ontonagon, 
Mich., where he followed his profession until 
1872. For se\-eral years previous to 1866 
he had charge of the Odanah Mission 
School. In 1872. owing to the prospect of 
securing railroad communication with the 
outer world. Ashland began to revive rap- 
idly, and the Doctor returned to that village, 
where he still retained most of his real estate. 
From that time, owing to the rapid growth 
of the city, there was abundant demand for 
his services, but after more than a half 
century of active professional lator he re- 
tired and devoted his chief attention to his 
various business interests and public duties. 
2 



1m ir thirty-five years he was a member of the 
r.oard of United States Ex;imining Sur- 
geons for Ashland county. He erected a 
number of modern business blocks, and more 
or less residence property, and conducted a 
general real estate and insurance business 
in connection with his sons. He was one of 
the original incorporators of the Ashlaml 
National Bank, and a director of that institu- 
tion, which is recognized as one of the nvist 
reHable financial concerns in Northern Wis- 
consin. 

Dr. Ellis was always active in religious 
and educational work, contributing of his 
time and sulistance to advance the moral and 
intellectual progress of his fellow men. As 
early as 1840 he united with the Congrega- 
tional Church, but for many years past ha<l 
affiliated with the Presbyterians. Fnjm 
1885 he had been president of the board of 
education, and he is entitled to no small 
degree of credit for the fact that the peojile 
of Ashland can boast of one of the best 
school systems in the State, with numerous 
substantial buildings for its accommodation. 
He was the chief founder of the Northern 
\\'isconsin Academy, an institution which 
fits many students for college and university, 
and would be a credit to many larger cities. 
Fraternally he had attained the thirty-second 
degree of Masonry, being identified with 
\Visconsin Consistory of Milwaukee. He 
helped to form the various local organiza- 
tions, and served as the first Master of the 
Blue Lodge, the first High Priest of the 
Chapter, and first Eminent Commander of 
the Knights Templars. In political senti- 
ment he was always earnest and conscien- 
tious, but never a seeker of official honors, 
though often called to fill important positions 
of trust. At the l>eginning of the Civil war 
he was a Douglas Democrat, but the devel- 
opments of that conflict wrought a change 
in his views, and he was ever after identified 
with the Republican party. For some years 
he was a member of the county board of 
supervisors, and for seventeen years dis- 
charged the duties of county judge. It may 
be truly said that no citizen of Ashland en- 
joyed the confidence and goixl will of the 



/i8 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



people in a greater degree, while his name is 
perpetuated in the Ellis school and in Ellis 
Avenqe, one of the principal thoroughfares 
of the city. He had some exciting experi- 
ences, and could relate many interesting 
reniiniscejices of the early days. 

\Yhile. living at Ontonagon, he was oc- 
casionally called to visit some of his former 
patrons in Ashland and vicinity. On one 
occasion he was summoned to attend a man 
who had. been injured in an explosion of an 
-engine at LaPointe, necessitating the ampu- 
tation of a limb. In an open boat he made 
the trip by night, successfully performed the 
operation, and returned in the same manner, 
a distance of about sixty miles. For some 
years iiis practice included most of the white 
people within a radius of one hundred miles, 
besides which he gave some attention to the 
ill.sof liis Indian neighbors, by whom he was 
;. always, held in, the highest reverence. 

Dr. Ellis was first married, in 1847, to 
Miss Sophia S. Davis, daughter of Charles 
and, .Sophia Davis, of Farmington, Maine, 
at which place she died two years later, leav- 
ing one daughter, Augusta, now the widow 
■ai George H. Kennecly, of Ashland. The 
Doctor'.s second marriage occurred in 1850, 
. the. bridp being Miss Martha Baker, daughter 
• of .Daniel and Elizabeth Baker, of New 
.'.SharcHj, Maine. This lady, who from early 
life was,; a devout meml:)er of the Baptist 
' Chi,u:ch, departed this life in 1896, at the 
age _ of seventy-six years. She was tlie 
mother 9f one daughter and two sons : Dan- 
ieha (Mrs. C. C. Loranger), Edwin H. and 
J. Scott. All have enjoyed the best social 
and eduQational advantages, and the sons are 
numl:>ere<l among the leading business men 
' of Ashland, 

REV.. JOHN E. SETH, the earnest and 
able pastor- of .the Scandinavian Evangelical 
Mission. Church at Superior, is enjoying the 
rather unique distinction of serving his sec- 
oncl pastorate over that church. 

.The qrganization was effected in Septem- 
ber,, I-887,' by Rev. Mr. Johnson, of Duluth, 
and :there were at first only seven members. 
; -Previously and. for some time afterward 



Rev. Air. Johnson went regularly from Du- 
luth to preach to them, and in 1888 the littie 
church secured its first resident pastor in the 
person of Ludwig Akeson. He was a theo- 
logical student, and remained about a year, 
until he went to Chicago to complete his 
studies. He was succeeded by Rev. John 
Sjokvist, who came from Carlton College, 
Northfield, Minn. In 1892 Mr. Sjokvist 
went to China in the interest of the Swedish 
Mission Covenant, after four years return- 
ing to study medicine in Chicago ; he gradu- 
ated from a medical college, and returned to 
China to practice in the service of said mis- 
sion. 

The present pastor. Rev. John E. Seth, 
came to the church first in the spring of 
1893, 'ind remained two years. Rev. O. G. 
Olson, who followed him, was a native of 
Sweden, who had received his theological 
training in Chicago, and had been in charge 
of a church in Brainerd, Minn. He was an 
active, progressive and public-spirited man, 
and under his administration the church 
nourished greatly. He was interested in 
educational questions, and for two years was 
a member of the school board. Since leav- 
ing Superior Mr. Olson has given up the 
ministry to become a successful business 
man. 

Rev. John E. Seth was born in Sweden 
April 26, 1865, and his parents are still 
living in that country. He came to Amer- 
ica in 1887 and entered the Northwestern 
Collegiate Institute at Minneapolis. Thence 
he went to the Chicago Theological Semi- 
nary, and while there was for some time con- 
nected with the Moody Bible Institute. His 
work as a pastor began in 1892. He first 
came to Superior in the spring of 1893, ^"'^ 
on leaving went to Duluth to take charge. of 
the Swedish Mission Church, spending two 
and a half years there, and then two more in 
Minneapolis. Then he was recalled to Su- 
perior, where he has remained to the present 
time. 

The conditions in Superior are some- 
what peculiar, and differ from those in an 
older and more settled community in that 
tiiere is such a large floating element; while 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



19 



tlie clnirch now numbers no communicants, 
probably at least 150 more have been mem- 
bers for a time, and then moved elsewhere. 
The average congregation is now over 300, 
and there is a flourishing Sunday-school 
with some 225 pupils. A mission is main- 
tained at the steel plant, in which Mr. Seth 
is vitally interested, and the church gener- 
ally is doing excellent work. One great aim 
is to make good citizens of all who come 
under its influence, and its efl^orts to anl the 
poor and sick are no less earnest and prac- 
tical. 

In 1895, in St. Paul, Rev. John E. Seth 
was married to Miss Hilma Sammelson, who 
was born in Goodhue county, Minn. They 
have one daughter and two sons, Frances, 
Irving and Ravmond. 

MAJOR GEORGE HENRY SMITH 
(deceased), a well-known resident of West 
Superior, was one of the earliest pioneers in 
the railroad and telegraph service at the 
Head of the Lakes. Major Smith was a 
son of Squire and Prudence (Randall) 
Smith, and was born June 23, 1833, in Nor- 
wich, Chenango Co., New York. 

The father of Major Smith was a native 
of Rhode Island, but in early life came to 
New York. He dealt in general merchan- 
dise and carried on an extensive wool trade 
in Norwich, and was postmaster for many 
years. For several years he was a member 
of the New York Legislature. In politics 
he was a Jefifersonian Democrat. Squire 
Smith, who was of Scotch descent, was a 
very outspoken man, of decided opinions. 
He was a vestryman of the Episcopal Church 
and was a contributor to all church work. 
He died at the age of fifty-six. Mrs. Pru- 
dence (Randall) Smith's ancestry can be 
traced back to the Rn4idall who came to Eng- 
land with William the Conqueror, and the 
Randalls have been a well-known family of 
Connecticut for many generations. 

George Henry Smith spent his boyhood 
in Norwich, N. Y. Fie studied civil engi- 
neering at the Norwich Academy, but on 
leaving school went into mercantile business, 
ilealing in seeds ami agricultural implements 



tor several years. He was messenger for 
Butterfield's first express through that coun- 
try, and established and edited the first daily 
paper in Norwich. When the first telegraph 
line was built through Norwich, Mr. Smith 
was asked to become operator, in connection 
with his other business, and this position he 
filled until 1857, when he went West. He 
built and operated a telegraph line from 
Terre Haute to St. Louis for the Terre 
Haute, Alton & St. Louis Railway Co. He 
was superintendent of this line until the 
war broke out, and was also manager of the 
company's first telegraph office in St. Louis. 
Mr. Smith was actively interested in promot- 
ing the military telegraph service on behalf 
of Gen. Fremont. He laid the underground 
cable to the arsenal to prevent the intercep- 
tion of messages by the Confederates, and 
at his suggestion four companies of opera- 
tors were enlisted in the United States serv- 
ice. Later Mr. Smith's system was organ- 
ized as "The United States Military Tele- 
graph," with headquarters at St. Louis, Mo. 
He was the real originator of the military 
telegraph and was appointed assistant quar- 
termaster, with rank of captain, in July, 
1862. Major Smith built and operated o\er 
4,000 miles of telegraph line in Missouri, 
Arkansas and adjacent States. He had a 
line working to Gen. Fremont's headquar- 
ters at JefTerson City, Mo., before the arri- 
val of the General. Later he accompanied 
Gen. Halleck in his Tennessee campaign, 
building and operating telegraph lines as 
the army moved, and maintaining a tele- 
graph system through Kentucky, Tennessee, 
}iIissouri and Mississippi. Major Smith also 
laid over forty cables across the Mississippi 
river at ditterent points. He resigned his 
position in the spring of 1865. 

After the war Major Smith constructed 
telegraph lines through the oil regions of 
Pennsylvania. He then went to New York 
City and organized the "Dead Head and 
Free ^lessage" department of the W. U. 
Telegraph Co., of which he was superin- 
tendent several years. In 1868, on account 
of his health, he went to St. Cloud, Minn. 
He entered the employ of the Northern Pa- 



20 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



cific Railway Company and took charge of 
the first train dispatclier's office of that road 
at Brainerd. in 1873 he became superin- 
tendent of tlie St. Paul & Duluth Railruad, 
then operated under lease by the Northern 
Pacific, with his office in St. Paul. This 
position Major Smith held for nine years, 
until the road was sold, when he became a 
merchant in St. Paul. He came to West 
Superior in December, 1886, as train dis- 
patcher for the Northern Pacific Railroad, 
and handled trains on the Chicago, St. Paul, 
Minneapolis & Omaha Railway, and all other 
lines between Superior and Duluth. A year or 
so later he took the position of station agent 
at the Union Station in West Superior. In 
recent years Major Smith's attention was 
given entirely to the ticket department, a 
number of other employes being engaged in 
the station, where the business was con- 
stantly increasing. He taught telegraphy 
to many young men who are now filling im- 
portant positions. The esteem in which he 
was held by his co-workers is evidenced by 
the beautiful silver service presented to him 
by the Military Corps of St. Louis, and by 
the handsome gold watch which was a part- 
ing gift to him from the employes of the 
Northern Pacific Railroad at Brainerd. 

On May 7, 1855, Major Smith married 
Mary Frances Brown, a daughter of Henry 
V. and Mary Elisabeth (Breed) Brown, of 
Norwich, N. Y. Mr. and Mrs. Smith had 
six children : Herbert W., a wholesale pro- 
duce jobber in Chicago; George H., Jr., a 
merchant at Santa Rosa, N. Mex. ; Mary F. ; 
Henry V. B., until December, 1901, secre- 
tary to the president of the Tennessee Cen- 
tral Railway Company, Nashville, Tenn., 
now secretary of the Powell Lumber & Min- 
ing Co., and secretary and treasurer of the 
Goodstock Dimension Co., Crossville, Tenn. ; 
Julia Breed, wife of Walter K. Adams, city 
passenger agent Minneapolis & St. Louis rail- 
road at Des Moines, Iowa ; and Olive Ran- 
dall, wife of Frank C. Buckley, ticket agent. 
Union Depot, Superior. Wis., who was ap- 
pointed to succeed Major Smith. Major 
Smith was a Democrat in principle, and ad- 
hered to the gold w:ing of the party. 



In 1902, by advice of his physicians. 
Major Smith retired from active railroad 
life and going to New Mexico, assisted his- 
son, George H. Jr. Later he went to San 
Diego, Col., arriving there a few months 
before his death, which occurred April 29, 
1905. His life had been full of activity 
but his end was sudden and peaceful. The 
funeral rites were under the auspices of Gen. 
Heintzelmann Post, No. 2i3- as Major Smith 
had belonged to the G. A. R., and he was 
buried in the G. A. R. cemetery. Rev. Mr. 
Cullom, of Los Angeles, assisted in the serv- 
ices. Major Smith was a quiet man and of 
inflexible personal integrity. Socially, with 
his family and friends, he was always com- 
panionable and was very popular. 

HENRY CHAPMAN BAKER. As 
has been said by a prominent citizen and an 
intimate friend of Mr. Baker : "Henry C. 
Baker stands in the front rank of lawyers 
of northern Wisconsin. He has allowed no- 
body to direct him in his profession." The 
latter sentence is a secret of i\Ir. Baker's 
success. He has neither allowed politics, the 
narrowing struggle for gain, nor temporary 
notoriety to swerve him from the breadth 
of view and the high ambition which pos- 
sesses him today, even as it did when he 
entered the field many years ago. He has 
honored the legal profession and it in turn 
has signally honored him. 

Mr. Baker comes of an old New Eng- 
land family. Flis great-grandfather was 
Capt. Remember Baker, a Vermont hero, 
and one of the first to fall in the Revolu- 
tionary war. Mr. Baker was born at Staf- 
ford, Genesee Co., N. Y., Nov. 16, 1831, 
and is a son of Luther A. and Mercy (Stan- 
nard) Baker, who were in humble circum- 
stances, the father being a small farmer who 
worked hard to obtain a living for his family. 

The boyhood of Mr. Baker was spent in 
hard work, and he received but scant educa- 
tional advantages, but the fire of ambition 
burned brightly within his breast, and he 
managed when eighteen years of age to 
enter Genesee and Wyoming Seminary, in 
his native county, where he remained for a 



COMMEMORATIX'E BIOGRAPHICAL RI'XORIJ 



21 



year, and tlien commenced a regular course 
of instruction in the New York Normal 
School at Albany, from which he was grad- 
uated in 1854. Not satisfied, he then began 
the study of law, and in 1857 entered the 
office of Hon. Moses Taggert, of Batavia, 
N. Y. His preceptor was formerly a judge 
of the Court of Appeals of that State and Mr. 
Baker had an excellent c)ppurtunity to pur- 
sue his studies under learned leadership. As 
soon as possible, Mr. Baker went to Albany 
with the intention of entering the law school, 
but decided to accept a position as clerk with 
Willet and Hawley, prominent members of 
the Albany Bar, still pursuing his studies, 
and in 1858 he was admitted to the Bar of 
New York. He then began practice at Ba- 
tavia, N. Y.. but in the spring of 1859 he 
came to Hudson, Wis., and soon thereafter 
was made attorney for the Sainte Croix & 
Lake Superior Railway Company. In 1870 
Mr. Baker formed a partnership with J. C. 
Spooner, and later he became solicitor for 
the North Wisconsin Railway Company, 
which afterwards became known as the Chi- 
cago, St. Paul, Minneapolis & Omaha Rail- 
way Company. In 1880 Mr. Spooner with- 
drew from the firm, and from 1883 to 1885 
Mr. Baker was the Wisconsin attorney for 
the Milwaukee, St. Paul and Sault Ste. 
Marie Railway Company. Since 1888 he 
has devoted his time to a general practice, 
and is senior member of the firm of Baker 
& Haven. In politics he is a Republican and 
might have been a leader in his party had 
he so desired, but he refused advancement. 
Since boyhood, he has been a consistent 
member of the Presbyterian Church. Mr. 
Baker is an earnest, honorable man and one 
who confers distinction upon the Northwest, 
both as a private citizen and as a member 
of the legal profession. 

On Sept. II, i860. Mr. Baker was mar- 
ried to Ellen M. Brewster, of Leroy, N. Y,, 
a highly educated and refined lady, a gradu- 
ate of Ingham university. Her grandfather 
was Judge Henry Brewster, of Leroy, N. 
Y. One child has been born to Mr. and 
Mrs. Baker: L. A. Baker, cashier of the 
Manufacturers' Bank of New Richmond. 



Wis., who married in 1887 Minnie A. Glo- 
ver, a daughter of Job E. Glover, of Hudson, 
Wisconsin. 

D. E. TYLER, banker and dealer in 
real estate at Glidden, Wis., is one of the 
few men who by energy and enterprise have 
contributed liberally to the development of 
his neighlwrhood. There is perhaps no gen- 
tleman in Glidden who has done more for 
the well being of the place than has Mr. 
Tyler. He is one of the original pioneers, 
having effected a settlement there in 1876. 
Mr. Tyler is a nati\e of the South, his birth 
having occurred in Nashville, Tenn., in 
1863, at the time when the two sections of 
the country were struggling in the throes of 
the Civil war. He is a son of William and 
Alary Tyler. 

William Tyler espoused the cause of the 
South and entering her army, he gallantly 
fought for what he conceived to be the rights 
of his State, until his death upon the battle- 
field of XVilson Creek. The cause lost, the 
mother with her children, in reduced cir- 
cumstances brought on l)y war's ravages, 
moved to Illinois, and later to Janesville, 
Wis. In 1876 they came to Glidden, then 
called Chippewa Crossing, a station on the 
Wisconsin Central Railway, which road had 
just been completed. At that time the depot 
was a small structure erected on a flat car. 
The only white people in the vicinity were a 
few homesteaders, of whom only one, Au- 
gust Kehring, is now a resident of the place. 
Mrs. Mary Eox, who was Mrs. Mary Tyler, 
erected the first building in the town, and it 
was occupied by her as a hotel, a hostelry 
widely known in that day as the "Chippewa 
House." This hotel she successfully con- 
ducted until 1883. Hotel keeping in Wis- 
consin in the early days was fraught with 
many difficulties and inconveniences, for 
provisions were secured in Stevens Point and 
the onlv hired help to be obtained were In- 
dians. 

D. I'. Tvler remained with his mother 
throughout the trying period in which she 
engaged in hotel keeping, and after the hotel 
was disposed of, he conducted a general 



CO.MMEMORATR'E BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



store, whicli lie successfully carried on until 
1899, when he established his bank and be- 
gan dealing in real estate. The bank, a pri- 
vate institution at first, in 1903 became the 
Wisconsin State Bank, of which he is presi- 
dent. In 1901 he individually put in a sys- 
tem of water works which has been of the 
greatest benefit to the town and reflects great 
credit upon the proprietor. In 1900 when 
the Glidden Veneering Co. established its 
plant he became a stockholder. In affairs 
other than of a commercial nature J\Ir. 
Tyler has been equally prominent. In local 
politics he has taken a leading part since the 
town of Jacobs was organized in 1882. He 
is a stanch Republican and frequently has 
been honored by his partv. He has been a 
delegate to numerous countv conventions 
as well as to a few State conventions. In 
1902 he was elected chairman of the town 
board and relected in 1903 and 1904, while 
during President McKinley's administration, 
he served as postmaster of Glidden. Fra- 
ternally he is an honored member of Ancient 
Landmark Lodge, F. & A. M., at Ashland. 
Mr. Tyler was married to Miss Sarah 
McEwen, who has borne him three children, 
Mary E., William H. and Catherine L. 
Mr. Tyler is a gentleman of pleasing per- 
sonality, strong convictions and good busi- 
ness judgment, having the confidence and 
esteem of all who know and have business 
dealings with him. 

HON. HOWARD C. KENDALL, 
proprietor of the Duluth Transfer Company, 
was born at Monticello, Ind., Aug. 25, 1848. 
and is a son of Charles W. and Eliza I\I. 
(Spencer) Kendall, both natives of Penn- 
sylvania. The Kendall family is of English 
origin. Charles W. Kendall went to" In- 
diana and located at Monticello when that 
part of the State was a wilderness. For 
some years he dealt in dry goods there, but 
at the time of his death, in 1875. he was en- 
gaged in banking. He accumulated a for- 
tune from humble beginnings and com- 
manded the respect and confidence of his 
fellow citizens. His wife survived him manv 
years, passing away in 1901. She sprang of 



one of the oldest families in Maryland, some 
(if her iirogenitors having; emigrated to that 
Colony and settled in Cecil county in 1632. 
Her grandfather died while serving in Gen. 
^\"ashingto^n's army at Valley Forge. Mr. 
and Mrs. Charles W. Kendall were the par- 
ents of three sons and three daughters, of 
whom we have the following record : Sally 
is the wife of A. W. Loughery, of Monti- 
cello, Ind. ; Howard C. ; Charles W., of Du- 
luth ; iMay, Mrs. Harris AIcDowell, of Mid- 
dletown, Del. ; and Alaria and Walter, who 
are deceased. 

Howard C. Kendall was educated in the 
public schools of his native place and in Wa- 
bash College, at Crawfordsville, in the same 
State. After learning telegraphy on the 
lines of the Pennsylvania railroad he wa.s 
employed for three years as train dispatcher 
on that system. Subsequently he was suc- 
cessively employed in the same capacity for 
intervals ranging from six months to three 
years each on the Rock Island system, at 
Des Moines, Iowa ; on the Union Pacific, at 
Omaha ; in the president's office of the Bur- 
lington & Missouri ; on the Hannibal & St. 
Joe; and the St. Paul & Pacific (now the 
Great Northern) at Anoka, Minn. His long 
and faithful service on these different roads- 
amply entitled him to the position of tickjt 
agent at the union depot in Duluth, whicli 
he accepted in 1874 and creditably filled for 
the next eight years. At the end of that 
period he started in the livery and transfer 
business with which he has ever since been 
connected. He began as a partner of James 
Caldwell, but for some years past has been 
the sole proprietor of the establishment. 
Besides doing a general transfer business 
he conducts a first-class livery stable, the 
oldest in the city. His teams are well cared 
for, his carriages are the best obtainable, 
and his patrons are always sure of receiving 
first-class service. 

In 1863 Mr. Kendall patriotically offered 
his services in defense of the Union, enlist- 
ing in Company E, 135th Ind. V. I., and 
served under Gen. Sherman until the close 
of the war, receiving a wound at Nashville 
which disabled him for a time. Since com- 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



2S- 



ing to Dulutli his fidelity and ability have 
been recognized by the numerous public 
trusts to which he has been elected. ¥nv 
six years he was a member of the city coun- 
cil and four years of that time was its pres- 
ident. He has also served four terms in the 
Minnesota Legislature, in 1879-80-81, and 
again in 1891. In political affiliation he has 
always been a consistent Republican. He is 
a member of the Uniform Rank, Knights 3f 
Pythias, and among his other fraternal con- 
nections may be mentioned the Grand Army 
of the Republic and the Improved Order of 
Red Men. He is deservedly popular among 
his associates and merits all the trust re- 
posed in him. 

In 1894 Mr. Kendall was married to Miss 
Mary Balmer, of Duluth, daughter of George 
and Maggie Balmer, the latter now deceased. 
Mr. Balmer formerly lived in Michigan, but 
is now a farmer of Todd county, Minnesota. 

CAPT. BERNARD DOHERTY (de- 
ceased) was an extensive landowner and 
lumberman of Ashland, Wis., where he was 
engaged in the lumber business from 1889 
until his death, Nov. 29, 1903. 

Mr. Doherty was born Feb. 21, 1834, 
in Toronto, Ontario. His father, William 
Doherty, an Irish farmer, emigrated to Can- 
ada when a young man. He and his wife, 
Catherine, also a native of Ireland, had a 
family of eleven children, of whom but three 
are still living, viz. : Mrs. James Wall, of 
Green Bay; Mrs. Margaret Buckelew, ot 
Washington, D. C. ; and Mrs. M. D. Feld- 
smith, of Iron River. The mother died in 
1865, the father, a lifelong farmer, surviv- 
ing until 1871. Four of the sons did serv- 
ice in the Union army during the Civil war. 
James was a sailor on the "Mound City,'" 
and was scalded to death at the battle cf 
Fort Charles, Ark. ; he had enlisted in the 
2d Wis. V. I., but at the call for naval vol- 
unteers was transferred to the marine serv- 
ice. Charles enlisted in 1862 in the 17th 
Wis. V. I., and died in a St. Louis hospital 
from disease contracted while he lay in the 
rifle-pits during the siege of Vicksburg. 
John enlisted in 1863. in the 3d Wis. Cav., 



and was in the service during the entire war; 
he met his death in a fire, in 1871, where his 
father and sister also lost their lives.' Ber-. 
nard Doherty twice recruited a company, 
helping to organize Company A, of the ^ist 
Wis. V. I., but on account of injuries re-- 
ceived by falling from a spar could ■ not 
pass examination and did not go to the 
front. 

Bernard Doherty first attended school in 
Toronto, but in 1841 he came with his par- 
ents to Milwaukee, and in 1849 the family? 
moved to b'ond du Lac. When quite young - 
he started out in life as a sailor on the great ; 
lakes, and he rose from the place of man 
liefore the mast to the position of sailing mas- 
ter. In 1857 he built his fir.st boat, a - 
schooner, which he named the "Eleanor" 
after his girl bride. In 1867 he removed to ■ 
Oshkosh, where he built the steamer "Lum- 
bermen" in partnership with the late Hon. 
Philetus Sawyer, and ran her until 1871 
on the Fox river. He then took her inro- 
the Mississippi river, where he sold her, and 
returning to Oshkosh built the government 
steamer "Neenah," in 1872, running her. 
until 1880. He then removed to South Kau-- 
kauna, where he constructed the large gov- - 
ernment waterpower. After building this- 
work he removed to Ashland and begjui the • 
boating business in 1882. He built the- 
steamer "City of Ashland," the first steamer- 
ever built in Ashland, and ran her until 
1887, when she was lost by fire, and the cap- 
tain was compelled to swim for over an hour 
in the icy waters of Lake Superior. Chilled 
and sadtlened Ijy the loss of one of his brave 
crew, he abandoned the water forever, -and 
bought the Sheffield sawmill, taking: up the 
milling business with the same zest that char- 
acterized every enterprise of his life. Untih 
two years before his death he held an' inter- 
est in the Murray mill, built on the site oi- 
his own mill, which burned in 1886. After- 
that he gave his entire attention to his lum- - 
Iier interests. He was the owner of consider- 
able land, owning a farm of 160 acres in- 
Ashland county, and another of 430 acres 
on the Brule river. From 1882 he was the 
principal owner and general manager of' the- 



24 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



Brule River Iniprovenient Co., having se- 
cured a charter on that river. In the same 
year he built tv^fo large dams on the Brule. 
Even after the athletic limbs were powerless, 
the active mind reviewed the changing scenes 
of his eventful life, and he still remained the 
motive power of his business. 

In 1856 Capt. Doherty married Ellen 
Coughlin, daughter of Patrick and ilary 
Cpughlin, both natives of Ireland. Patrick 
Coughlin was a farmer in his native coun- 
try. He emigrated to America, where he 
died soon after landing in New York. His 
wife lived until 1881. They had a family of 
seven children, of whom only three are liv- 
ing. To Mr. and Mrs. Doherty were lx)rn 
the following named children: Edward W., 
who is tiie owner of a steam laundry in 
Grafton, N. Dak. ; Erwin ]., Edgar, Ella R. 
and Emma, all four deceased; Capt. John. 
a sailor on the Great Lakes, who serxed as a 
soldier in the Spanish-American war ; and 
Sarah M. Capt. Doherty was a Republican 
in politics. Fraternally he was connected 
with the B. P. O. E., Lodge No. 558, of 
Ashland, which took entire charge of his 
funeral services, which were held from the 
residence on Seventh avenue west, on 
Wednesday, Dec. 2. Many beautiful floral 
emblems were sent to the house, and many 
of the old settlers were present to pay the 
last sad respects to the man they had known 
and esteemed for so many years. Mrs. 
Doherty, his noble, self-sacrificing helpmeet 
for nearly fifty years, survives, and makes 
her home in Ashland county. 

HON. DAVID EVAN ROBERTS, 
ex-Probate Judge of Douglas county. Wis., 
and one of the most celebrated jurists of the 
State, has attained his present liigh position 
in the professional world through his own 
unaided efforts. Early privation whetted 
his appetite for learning", and with an ambi- 
tion that would ]x satisfied with no less he 
worked his way through the best of colleges, 
and l)y close application, wisdom, calm 
judgment and unerring logic he has main- 
tained from the first a conspicuous place at 
the Bar. 



Judge Roberts was Ixjrn in Florence, 
Oneida Co., N. V., Jan. 18, 1854, son of 
Hugh and Jane (Evans) Roberts, natives of 
Denbighshire, Wales. Hugh Roberts came 
to the United States in 1848. and located on 
a farm in Oneida county, N. Y., where he 
remained thirteen years. He then removed 
tu Lewis county, N. Y., but in 1894 he made 
his home with his son in Sui)erior, where 
his death occurred Feb. 12, 1903. He was 
buried at Constableville, N. Y. Mrs. Jane 
( Evans) Roberts died in New York in 1886, 
aged fifty-six. She came to America with 
her parents in 1839. The early life of Judge 
Roberts was similar to that of many of the 
nation's great men of affairs. His early 
years were passed upon a farm, and his at- 
tendance at the district schools was limited 
to those times when the farm work was over. 
He w'as persevering, however, and in time 
he entered Potsdam Normal School, from 
which he was graduated in 1877. He spent 
two years at Cornell University, earning the 
means to continue his schooling by intervals 
of labor at carpenter work, bark peeling and 
teaching a country school. In the spring of 
1880 he went to Kansas, and from there to 
Colorado. Upon reaching Colorado Springs 
he found his wealth to consist of a dollar or 
two in currency, and a pair of strong will- 
ing arms. Work in the stone quarries was 
plentiful, and he at once set about it, being 
promoted to the position of foreman in 
forty-eight hours. This work was not at 
all to his liking, but it was to him only the 
means to an end, and in a year he had saved 
enough to go to Ann Arlxjr, there to com- 
])lete his law course. He was graduated 
from the Law Department of the University 
of Michigan in 1882. The same year he 
located for a short time in Aberdeen, S. 
Dak., and the following year (1883) he 
came to Superior, opening a law office. He 
had accomplished every thing by hard work, 
and he did not feel at all confident that suc- 
cess in his profession would come without a 
struggle. To guard against any possible 
failure to secure work in his profession, and 
its consequent financial embarrassment, he 
brought with him his kit of carpenter's tools. 



CO-MMEMORATR^E BTOGRArHICAL RECORD 



25 



but fi)i"tune smiled on liis efforts as in the 
past, and the tools have never been used. 

In the fall of 1884 he was elected dis- 
trict attorney, and in 1889 he was appointed 
by Gov. Rusk county judge, to till the unex- 
pired term of tlie late Judge Richard Bar- 
don. The next spring he was elected to suc- 
ceed himself, and he was reelected regularly 
until January, 1902. He can point with 
pride to an extraordinary record in th;it 
every decision he made, except one, was af)- 
pro\Td by the Supreme court. Judge Rob- 
erts was noted for his consistent impartial- 
ity and his great love of truth. He was 
perfectly fair in his decisions, which he was 
ready at all times to defend with compari- 
sons with similar cases and with reference 
to the law involved. His memory was. and 
is. remarkable. He has been a student ail 
his life, and what he has studied he has re- 
membered, not only remembering but so as- 
similating his knowledge that it is ready for 
use at a minute's notice. He has been a 
most charitable man all through his profes- 
sional practice. To those to whom the law 
would prove an expensive means of settle- 
ment of trouble he has given his advice free, 
and often has kept family quarrels out of 
court by his kindly common sense and fath- 
erly advice. 

During Judge Roberts' incumbency he 
probated many estates, and often saved many 
beneficiaries thousands, of dollars by wise 
counsel which he offered in the spirit of 
friendliness, and not as a lawyer. As a Ijusi- 
ness man he has not proved himself a fail- 
ure. He has made judicious investments, 
and has prospered in worldly matters. 

In 1884 Judge Roberts was married to 
JMiss Kate Rhodes, daughter of John and 
Mary Rhodes. She was born in Trempea- 
leau county, Wis., and educated at Winona 
Normal School and Cornell University, and 
before her marriage was a successful teacher. 
Her death occurred May 20, 1899, when slie 
was aged forty-two years. Judge and Mrs. 
Roberts became the parents of eight chil- 
dren : Hugh, Helen, John, Jessie, Florence, 
Margaret. David and Arthur. The Judge 
and Ills family are all attendants upon the 



Episcopal Church. I'raternally he belongs 
to Lodge No. 236. A. F". & A. M., and he 
has passed all the chairs in the K. P. 

HON. JEHU B. MIDDLECOFF, 
judge of probate, has been for over twelve 
years a resident of Duluth. He is a west- 
erner by birth and education, having been 
born in Missouri and educated in the schools 
of that State and the University of Michi- 
gan. 

John W. Middlecoff. father of Jehu B., 
was a native of Illinois; he was a machinist 
by trade and engaged in milling in Lebanon, 
111., and in Clinton, Mo. He married Eliza- 
beth Land, also a native of Illinois, by whom 
he had a familv of ten children, of whom 
eight are living, Jehu B. being the seventh 
in order of birth. Mrs. Middlecoff died in 
1888: her husband is still living, now in his 
eighty-second year. 

Jehu B. Middlecoff was born in Clinton, 
Mo.. Sept. 18, 1866. He attended Clinton 
Academy, graduating with the degree of B. 
S., and then entered the University of Mich- 
igan, where he received the degree of LL. B. 
in 1891, and that of LL. M. in 1892. While 
at the L^niversity he was secretary of the 
law faculty and assistant professor of the 
h'letcher Chair, during the time he was 
working for his LL. M. degree. On July 
4, 1892, he came to Duluth, and the follow- 
in,g January opened a law office in partner- 
ship with Henry Lardner. This arrangement 
was continued until Feb. i, 1895, when a 
new partnership was entered into with C. C. 
Teare, which was dissolved in 1898, when 
Mr. Teare joined the army durin,g the Span- 
ish-American war. In 1898 Mr. Middle- 
coff was elected judge of probate, and 
served as such two years, 1899 and 1900. 
He was a candidate for renomination in 
1900, but was defeated in the convention, 
but he was nominated for 1902 and elected, 
taking office Jan. i, 1903. 

On Nov. 5. 1888, Judge :\Iiddlecoff mar- 
ried Jessie Boyd, of Maryland, daughter of 
Robert and Agnes (Ferguson) Boyd. Mr. 
Boyd was foreman at the coal mines in Alle- 
gany county, Md., and died in 1891 at Lon- 



26 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



^1(1. His wife died when her 
daughter, Mrs. Middlecoff, was very young, 
leaving a family of eight children, all of 
whom are living. Judge and Mrs. jNIiddle- 
coff are the parents of the following chil- 
dren : Robert II., Louis E., Mary E. and 
Lucille. The family are members of the 
Methodist Church.- 

Judge Middlecoff is a member of many 
fraternal organizations, the K. P., North 
Star Lodge, No. 35, of Duluth ; Royal Ar- 
canum, Council No. 1483, of Duluth; ]\Iod- 
ern Samaritans, Alpha Lodge, No. i, of 
Duluth; I. O. F., Court Commerce, of 
Duluth; and au- honorary member of the 
Maccabees. He also belongs to the Cham- 
ber of Commerce, the Commercial Club, 
and the Garfield Republican Club, of Duluth. 

MICHAEL BARRY. The profession 
of the law is naturally attractive to men of 
keen and logical minds, and the success at- 
tained by many demonstrates that the ranks 
of lawyers are not so overcrowded as to 
make persistent and able effort of no avail. 
Among those who have risen steadily in their 
line of work is Michael Barry, a leading 
attorney and influential citizen of Phillips, 
Price county. He is a native of Ireland, 
born in Oueenstown, July 4, 1846, the son 
of Richard and Mary (O'Keefe) Barry. 

The Barry family for many generations 
have lived at or near Oueenstown. and only 
a few have drifted away into other lands. 
Richard Barry, a boot and shoe dealer, is 
still living there, now in his eighty-eighth 
year. His wife, who died in i860, bore 
him seven children, of whom Michael and one 
sister, Mary J., are the only ones in America. 

Michael Barry was educated in Ireland 
and after finishing his education, began his 
business life by working in a shipping oftice 
and drug store. On coming of age he sailed 
for the United States, and after spending 
a few months at Randolph, Mass., he pushed 
on westward, to Montello, Wis., and from 
there to Bloomfield, Waushara county, 
where he was engaged for some time in a 
clerical capacity. In 1869 he located at 
Fremont, and during his residence there 



read law by himself, being admitted U> the 
Bar in January, 1878. 

The year following Mr. Barry decided 
upon I'hillips as offering the best opening 
for a young lawyer, and time has more than 
justified his course. Besides attaining prom- 
inence in his profession, he has taken a lead- 
ing part in county and town politics, and 
has been identified with a number of business 
enterprises in Phillips, so that he is as gen- 
erally known as any man in the place. 

Mr. Barry was originally a Democrat in 
his political views, but \vas never bound 
by party lines in his voting. Of late years 
he has come out completely as an independ- 
ent. For fifteen years he was a member of 
the board of education for Phillips. He was 
the first deputy county clerk, wdien the county 
was organized, and was the second county 
treasurer. He has also served for some 
time as deputy register of deeds, and was 
district attorney four years. All these posi- 
tions were filled most satisfactorily, for Mr. 
Barry brought to the duties the methods 
and ])rinciples of a good business man, and 
won the entire confidence of his constitu- 
ents. 

Besides attending to the extensive and 
lucrative practice which he has built up, 
Mr. Barry has done much to develop the 
town. He was one of the incorporators of 
the State Bank of Phillips, and is president 
and a director of it ; he was also an incor- 
porator of the Price County Land and Im- 
provement Company, and holds the offices of 
secretary and treasurer in it. 

Still another department of the city's life 
with which Mr. Barry is in close touch is 
that of social organizations. He was a 
charter member of Elk River Lodge, No. 
306, I. O. O. F., and is a past grand; in the 
Masonic fraternity he belongs to Ashland 
Commandery, No. 22, K. T. ; and is past 
master of Phillips Lodge and High Priest 
of Keystone Chapter. Mr. Barry and his 
family are connected with the Presbytcriaiv 
Church. 

In 1876 Mr. Barry married Jeannette L. 
Sumner, Avho was born in Michigan, the 
daughter of Ira and Margaret Sumner. Mr. 



COMMEMORATR-E BIOC^RAl'illCAL RECORD 



Sumner was one of the pioneers of Waupaca 
county, and for nine 3'ears held the position 
of United States deputy surveyor. Mr. and 
Mrs. Barry have had five children li\ing;. as 
follows : Arthur R. ; John Sumner, a stu- 
dent in the University of Wisconsin ; Alary 
J. and Jessie A., both graduates of the Stale 
Normal School at Stevens Point, and ;it 
present teaching; and Gertrude, a student in 
the Phillips high school. 

The oldest son, Arthur R. Barry, was 
graduated from the law course of the Uni- 
versity of Minnesota in 1900, and since that 
time has been in partnership with his father 
under the firm name of Barry & Barry. The 
firm does a general law, real estate and in- 
surance business. Young Mr. Barry has 
held the position of district attorney since 
1900. He is a promising young lawyer and 
bids fair in time to rival his father. 

HON. ROBERT LAIRD McCOR- 
MICK, now of Tacoma, Wash., retired 
banker and lumberman of Hayward, Saw- 
yer Co., Wis., is of Scotch-Irish descent and 
possesses the industry, thrift and tenacity 
of purpose characteristic of that race. 

The founder of the McCormick family in 
America was John McCormick, a native ot 
Ireland, who emigrated to this country dur- 
ing the colonists' struggle to throw off the 
yoke of British tyranny. He joined the 
Continental army in Pennsylvania, and by 
meritorious service rose to the rank of en- 
sign. His son, John Fleming McCormick. 
married Agnes White, daughter of Col. 
Hugh White, a gallant veteran of both the 
war of the Revolution and that of 181 2, and 
they became the parents of Alexander ]\Ic- 
Cormick. 

Alexander McCormick, father of Robert 
L., was born at Great Island, Pa., in 1817, 
ai}d served three years as a private in the 
Civil war, but most of the time was on de- 
tached service, as he was not in robust health. 
After the close of the war he dealt in real 
estate in several of the western States and 
died in moderate circumstances in Sedalia, 
Mo., in 1877. He married Jane Hayes 
Laird, who was born in Union county, Pa., 



in 1820, and died in C'lintun county, in that 
State, in 1849. -'''- ^^^'^ ^-'t Irish-English 
descent and among her ancestors were many 
who rose to distinction in the military serv- 
ice of this country. She was a daughter of 
Rol)ert H. Laird, a man of Scotch descent, 
whose religious affiliations were with the 
Quakers. She was also a sister of W. H. 
Laird, of the well known firm of Laird, 
Norton & Company. 

Robert Laird McCormick was born Oct. 
29, 1847, at Bald Eagle Farm, Clinton Co., 
Pa. He attended the graded schools of 
Lock Haven, Pa., from 1854 to 1861. In 
April of the last named year he went with 
Company B, nth P. V. I. to Harrisburg, 
but was sent home, as he was much to3 
young for the service. He was afterward 
sent to Saunder's Military Institute, West 
Philadelphia, where he remained during the 
war. Upon leaving this institution he 
studied law with George White, of Williams- 
port. He then entered the general office of 
the Philadelphia & Erie Railway Company, 
where he remained several months. His next 
occupation was that of clerk in a general 
store at Tiffin, Ohio, in which he was en- 
gaged a year. In March, 1868, he became 
cashier of the Laird, Norton Co., lumber 
nianufactwrers, of Winona, Minn., with 
which he has ever since been intimately 
associated. Losing his health from confine- 
ment in the office, he opened a retail lumber 
yard at Waseca, ]\Iinn., which, proving 
jirofitable, he continued until 1S82. While 
residing at Waseca he filled the office of 
councilman and mayor and was State sena- 
tor during the legislative session of 1880-82. 

While attending to his official duties in 
St. Paul, Mr. ]\IcCormick became acquainted 
with H. H. Porter, then president of the 
Chicago, St. Paul, Minneapolis & Omaha 
Railroad. Through him he became inter- 
ested in the immense tracts of pine timber 
along the line of that road in northern Wis- 
consin. As a result the North Wisconsin 
Lumber Company was organized, of whicti 
he became secretary and treasurer. Asso- 
ciated with them in the enterprise were F. 
Weyerhauser, W. H. Laird, M. G. and 



-28 



COMMKAIORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



James ].. Norton, A. J. Hayward and 
■others. 'I"he company purchased fifteen 
townshi])s of heavily timbered land in what 
is now Sawyer county ( named after Hon. 
I'liiletus Sawyer, who was then vice-presi- 
dent of the Omaha Railroad), and on this 
tract of land l)uilt a large sawmill, and laid 
out a town which was named in honor of 
one of its stockholders, A. J. Havward. In 

1883 the sawmill was completed and opera- 
tions began which continued uninterruptedly 
until Sept. 8. 1902, when it was sold to the 
North Wisconsin Lumber & Manufacturing 
Company. During this period Mr. McCor- 
mick was part owner and active manager of 
the company's affairs in Sawyer county. In 

1884 the company organized the Sawyer 
County Bank, which is claimed to have had 
the largest individual responsibility of any 
financial institution in Wisconsin. In 1890 
Mr. McCormick organized the Northern 
Crain & Flour Mill Co., of Ashland, Wis., 
and has been secretary and treasurer ever 
since. The company has an office in Chi- 
cago, and two elevators in Manitowoc with 
a capacity of two million bushels. He i^ 
president of the Mississippi & Rum Riv;r 
Boom Co., of Minneapolis; secretary and 
treasurer of the Mississippi Lumber Co., of 
Clinton, L)wa ; treasurer of the New Rich- 
mond (Wis.) Roller Mills Co.; president of 
the Northern Boom Co., at Brainerd, 
Minn. ; president of the Mississippi Valley 
Lumber Association, Minneapolis; vice- 
president of the Flambeau Land Co., Chip- 
pewa Falls. Wis. ; vice-president of the St. 
Paul Boom Co., St. Paul, Minn. ; president 
of the Mississippi Land Co., Minneapolis; 
president of the Duluth Universal Mill Com- 
pany ; and secretary and active manager of 
the Weyerhauser Timber Co., Tacoma, 
Wash., ])erhaps the largest organization of 
its kind in the world. 

Mr. McCormick also has many interests 
other than ])usiness, having served as presi- 
dent of the Hayward Free Library Associa- 
tion and of tlie State Historical Society of 
Wisconsin; as president of the board of 
trustees of the .Ashland Academy, Ashland, 



Wis., and as a trustee of the Congregational 
Church of Hayward. He is an eminent 
member of the Masonic fraternity, having 
held some of the highest offices therein ; a 
member of the Sons of Veterans ; a member 
of the Sons of the American Revolution ; of 
the Society of the War of 1812; and of the 
Minnesota Club. He has always been an 
active and influential Republican. In 1883 
Giw. J. M. Rusk commissioned him treas- 
urer in Sawyer county, to which office he was 
elected and re-elected, serving in all six years. 
He was subsequently chairman of the county 
board of supervisors for two years. In 
1880 he was a delegate to the national con- 
vention held at Chicago, and in 1900 to the 
national convention at Philadelphia. For a 
number of years he was president of the 
board of educati(in of the town of Hayward, 
and, in recognition of his services in behalf 
of the cause of education, the fine new school 
building erected in the village in 1892 was 
named the McCormick school 

Mr. McCormick is a writer of some 
abiHty and several vigorous articles from 
his pen have appeared in the papers and mag- 
azines from time to time. His "Many Rea- 
sons Why the United States Government 
Indian School should be located on Sectio.i 
1 5-4 1 -9, near Hayward, W'isconsin," was 
quite logically arranged and put into clean- 
cut English, and it was chiefly due to his 
influence that the institution was finally lo- 
cated at that place. His "Press History of 
Sawyer County, Wisconsin," published in 
1898, was a thorough treatment of that sub- 
ject. His "Evolution of Indian Education 
in Sawyer County, Wisconsin," is an inter- 
esting and valuable paper which treats of 
the several phases of the problem of Indian 
education. Since July, 1903, he has resided 
at Tacoma, Washington. 

Mr. McCormick was married Sept. 11, 
1870, to Anna E., daughter of Daniel and 
Minerva Goodman, of Seneca county, Ohio. 
They have two surviving children : William 
Laird, born in 1876; and Robert Allen, born 
in 1-885, "^^'lio 's now a student at Shattuck 
Military Academy. The former represented 



COMiMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD, 



29 



his district in tlie State Assembly during tiie 
years 1901-02. 

HON. WILLIAM LAIRD McCOR- 
MICK, one of the most prominent young 
professional men of Hayward, Wisconsin, 
was born in Waseca, Minnesota, June 12, 
1876. After attending public school at 
Hayward, Wisconsin, he went to Shat- 
tuck Military School, at Faribault, Minn., 
from which institution he was graduated in 
1893. Thence he went to Phillips Andover 
Academy, where he completed the classical 
course in 1894, after which he spent a year at 
Yale. From 1895 t*^ 1899 he was in the 
grain business in Chicago, after which lie 
studied law at Wisconsin University. He 
was admitted to the Bar in April, 1903, since 
which time he has practiced at Hayward in 
connection with the land business. He has 
been quite active in public affairs, and in tlie 
fall of 1900 was elected, on the Republican 
ticket, a member of the Wisconsin General 
Assembly. He supported the administration 
of Gov. LaFollette during the ensuing ses- 
sion. Mr. McCormick is at present serving 
as secretary of the Eleventh District Con- 
gressional Committee. He owns a controll- 
ing interest in the Hayward Republican 
Company, which publishes the Republican, 
the oldest newspaper in the county, and con- 
tributes much of the editorial work. Socially 
he is a thirty-second degree Mason and a 
member of two Greek letter fraternities, 
the Phi Delta Phi and the Phi Kappa Psi. 

HON. GEORGE B. HUDNALL. a 
prominent attorney of Superior and State 
senator for his district, is one of the substan- 
tidl, self-made men of the State. He was 
born at Rural, Waupaca Co., Wis.. Jan. 
9, 1864, son of Roah ]\I. and Susan (Day- 
ton) Hudnall. 

James H. Hudnall, his grandfather, was 
the son of English emigrants. He became a 
farmer and planter in \'irginia, where his 
son, Roah M., was torn, in the town of 
Warrenton. Roah M. Hudnall came to 
Wisconsin in 1855, locating in Waupaca 
county, where he acquired a large tract of 



land. His nearest railroad station was Fond 
du Lac. He is still living on this old home- 
stead, which he purchased as wild land. For 
some years he was interested in lumbering, 
and during the administration of President 
Cleveland (second term) he served as post- 
master. With these few exceptions his en- 
tire time has been devoted to the clearing and 
improving of his land. Roah ^l. Hudnall 
married Susan Dayton, who was born in 
Attica, N. Y., daughter of Lyman Dayton, 
a native of Vermont, who for some years 
was a merchant at Attica, N. Y., but who 
in 1850, came to Waupaca county, Wis., 
where he purchased land in Dayton township 
which was named in his honor. When the 
Dayton family settled in Wisconsin their 
nearest postoffice was Berlin, thirty miles 
away, while their market was Milwaukee, 
one hundred and fifty miles distant, whence- 
everything was drawn by team. 

George B. Hudnall attended the district 
school, and after he attained the age of twelve 
years his summers were devoted to work on 
the home farm. He then attended the high 
school in Waupaca one winter. Farming 
was his chief occupation until he was twenty 
four years of age. For three terms he taught 
school, and then began the study of law un- 
der the able tuition of Judge Myron Reed, 
and later with his successor. Entering the 
Senior class of the Law Department of the 
L'niversity of Wisconsin, he was graduated 
in the class of 1891. The following year he- 
practiced in Waupaca, but since Nov. 20, 
1892, he has been in practice at Superior. 
He has attained a high place in the estima- 
tion of his fellow members at the bar, for- 
his brilliant oratory and his wide reading. 
His integrity is above question, and he has 
made it a point never to accept a case where- 
he could not conscientiously say his client 
was innocent. 

In the fall of 1902 Mr. Hudnall was 
elected State senator on the Republican tick- 
et. His nomination was made after a pro- 
longed fight but his election was without op- 
position. He made a distinguished record 
in the Senate. He served on the Judiciary- 
committee, the committee on Military Af- 



.30 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



fairs, and was chairman of the Engrossing 
jcommittee. Among tlie bills which he in- 
troduced was the famous Wisconsin Grain 
Inspection Bill, which attracted much atten- 
tion the country over, but which was defeat- 
ed by one vote in the Senate. His speech in 
support of this measure was highly com- 
mended by the press, irrespective of party. 
On Jan. 25, 1893, Mr. Hudnall was mar- 
ried to Miss Sophia Wallace, daughter of 
William and Mary (Jones) Wallace, of 
lola, Wis., and they have one child, Mar- 
jorie. Mr. and Mrs. Hudnall are members 
of the First Presbyterian Church, and he is 
president of the board of trustees. Frater- 
nally he is a Knight Templar IMason and a 
member of the K. P. 

FRANK DAN DAY, who was one of 
the enterprising and successful business men 
of Duluth for many years, and in his day 
by far the most successful dealer in jewelry 
in that city, had a prosperous career, though 
he died at a comparatively early age. 

Mr. Day was born April 16, i860, at 
Kinnickinnick, St. Croix Co., Wis., son of 
Douglas D. and Sarah (Armitage) Day. the 
former of whom was a native of Burlington, 
Vt. The family migrated to Wisconsin 
aljout 1859, settling at Kinnickinnick, on a 
farm, and after several years' residence there 
removed to River Falls, same State, where 
the father is now living in retirement. The 
mother died in June, 18S6. 

Frank D. Day was about ten years old 
when the family settled in River Falls, antl 
lie attended the public school and academy at 
that place. At an early age he began to 
learn the jewelry business, and in the fall of 
1880 went to Bismarck, Dak., where he 
became a partner of his brother, Henry H. 
Day, in that line. In 1885 he sold his in- 
terest and located at Duluth, where he 
opened a jewelry store, continuing in the bus- 
iness there until his death. He was at the 
head of his line in the city.- Mr. Day built 
a store on Superior street, and made other 
investments in real estate in Duluth. pros- 
pering in all his ventures. lie was an enthu- 
siast in prouK^ting the business and public 



welfare of his adopted city, and made many 
stanch friends by reason of his integrity and 
straightforward methods. He was a Repu1> 
lican in politics, but not a politician in any 
sense of the word. For a number of years 
before his death Mr. Day's poor health neces- 
sitated his spending a portion of each year 
in the South, and it was while on one of 
these trips that he passed away, May 12, 
iQoo, at Albuquerque, N. M. Mr. Day was 
a thirty-second degree Mason, and was 
buried with all the rites of the fraternity. 

On Jan. 20, 1887, Mr. Day was married 
to Miss Mattie A. Taylor, and they had one 
child, Cecil Egbert. Mrs. Day is still inter- 
ested in the jewelry business, which is now 
conducted under the firm name of F. D. Day 
& Co. She is a native of Sarnia, Ontario, 
and came to Minnesota with her parents, 
David and Mary J. (Johnston) Taylor, in 
infancy, the family locating at Red Wing. 
Air. Taylor now lives in North Dakota. He 
was born in Ireland, of English and Scottish 
parents, and his wife was born in New 
Brunswick, of English parents. Mrs. Day 
received her education in the public schools 
of Red Wing, and taught for several years 
prior to her marriage. 

ROLAND DORWIN HAVEN, presi- 
dent of the city council of Duluth, an office 
to which he has twice been unanimously 
elected, and superintendent of the La Dow 
Implement Co., is one of the enterprising 
young men of Duluth to whom the city owes 
much. He comes of good old New Eng- 
land ancestry, and is a native of the Green 
Mountain State, born in Sudbury, Rutland 
county, Oct. 17, 1866, son of John S. and 
Celestia (Arnold) Haven, both natives of 
the same State. 

William C. Haven, his grandfather, was 
born in Connecticut, and learned the trade 
of cooper. Going to Sudbury, Vt., he car- 
ried on his trade in connection with farm- 
ing. He was a typical New England pio- 
neer, rugged and strong, honest and up- 
right. He lived to be more than four score 
years old. His wife, whose maiden name 
was also Ha\"en, was not known to be anv 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



31 



■connection of the family. She, too, at- 
tained a good old age. 

John S. Haven learned the cooper's 
trade from his father, but did more or less 
at the carpenter's trade while living on his 
farm. He was an accomplished musician, 
and played the bass viol in one of the lead- 
ing string bands of the State. He died at 
the age of forty-five. He married Celestia 
Arnold, the daughter of a fanner at Ben- 
son, Vt., where she was born, and who is 
still living at Hortonville, Rutland Co., 
Vermont. 

Roland D. Haven attended the district 
school, and in his youth learned the car- 
penter's trade. In 1883 he came west, 
locating in Northfield, Minn., where he 
worked at his trade for three or four years. 
He then spent two years in a sash and door 
factory in St. Paul, and eighteen months in 
Minneapolis. In 1889 he came to Duluth 
and found employment in a similar fac- 
tory, of which he in time became foreman. 
He proved his worth as an executive 
officer, and on Jan. i, 1894, he went to 
Watertown, Iowa, to become superintend- 
ent of the Cedar Valley Manufacturing Co., 
where he spent three seasons, all the time, 
however, retaining his residence in Duluth. 
In March, 1897, he became dispatcher and 
bookkeeper for the Stevens Tug Co., 
continuing with that concern until Jan. i, 
1902, when he entered the real-estate busi- 
ness, and met with considerable success 'n 
his dealings. Since the spring of 1903 he 
has been superintendent of the La Dow 
Implement Co., a growing industry which 
was started at that time. 

Mr. Haven is an unswerving Repub- 
lican, and has been active in party work. In 
the spring of 1900 he was elected to the 
city council from the Seventh ward, and re- 
elected in 1902. He took a prominent part 
in promoting the adoption of the new city 
charter, and the purchase of the West Du- 
luth water plant. He was unanimously 
elected president of the council both terms, 
though politically that body is evenly di- 
vided. During the Congressional cam- 
paign of 1902 Mr. Haven was secretary of 



the Congressional district committee, and 
took a very active interest in the nomina- 
tion and election of Hon. J. Adam Bede. 
On May 2, 1893, Mr. Haven was mar- 
ried to Miss Belle Hopkins, daughter of 
Albert and Sarah Hopkins, of Duluth. She 
was born in Vermont ville, Mich., and re- 
ceived a good education in the public 
schools. She is active in the work of Grace 
Methodist Episcopal Church. Socially Mr. 
Haven has, since 1891, been a member of 
the I. O. O. F., and has passed all the chairs 
in Zenith Lodge, No. 160, in which he is 
at present a trustee. He is an ex-represen- 
tative to the Grand Lodge of Minnesota. 
He also belongs to the A. O. U. W., the 
K. O. T. M., and M. W. A. He is most 
esteemed by all who know him, whether in 
business, social or political circles. 

GABRIEL E. SCHWINDT. One of 
the prominent attorneys of Price county is 
Gabriel E. Schwindt, a German by birth, 
but educated in this country, to which he 
came in his fifth year. He was born Dec. 
28, 1848, in Waltbethlehem, Prussia, and 
his parents were Jacob and Catherine 
(Kratz) Schwindt. 

Jacob Schwindt was a shoemaker; by 
trade, and followed that work several years 
in Germany before coming with his wife 
to America in 1852. They went to Wau- 
kesha county. Wis., and lived in both Dela- 
field and Waukesha, supporting the family 
by making shoes. He died when only forty- 
nine, at Waukesha, Jan. 24, 1877, and his 
wife survived him only a year. Mrs. 
Schwindt's father, Valentine Kratz, was 
one of the pioneers of Waukesha count v, 
and settled on a farm in the town of New 
Berlin in the early forties. Jacob and Cath- 
erine Schwindt had six children, born as 
follows : Catherine, born during the voyage 
to America, and now deceased; John, de- 
ceased: Gabriel; Margaret, who married a 
Mr. DeWitt, of Chicago; Lena, now Mrs. 
Joseph Emery, of Chicago; and William, 
of Waukesha. 

Gabriel E. Schwindt was sent to the 
public schools, and then to Carroll College, 



32 



co:m-memorative biographical record 



from which he graduated in the literar_\' 
course in 1877. Even liefore completing- 
his cohege course, the young man liad be- 
gun reading law, in the office of Samuel 
Randall, of Waukesha, and in 1878 was ad- 
mitted to the Bar of the Circuit Court, and 
two years later, in January, 1880, to the 
Supreme Court. 

For a time Mr. Schwindt practiced in 
Waukesha, but about 1881 went to Kim- 
ball, Brule Co., S. Dak., where he remained 
until 1886. In that territory he was promi- 
nent in public affairs, and was a delegate to 
the territorial convention which drafted a 
State Constitution, the basis of the pres- 
ent one. In that convention he acted as 
chairman of the committee on County and 
Township Organizations, and was also a 
member of the committee on Judiciary. In 
this convention the delegates paid all the 
expenses themselves. In Dakota he was a 
director of schools for several years, and 
also served as municipal attorney. 

In the fall of 1886 Mr. Schwindt re- 
turned to Wisconsin, and after practicing 
for some two years at Medford, went in 
the fall of 1890, to Price county and opened 
an office at Prentice. Twelve years later 
he removed to Phillips, finding that a more 
convenient location, and since going there 
he has given his exclusive attention to law. 

Mr. Schwindt has always been greatly 
interested in politics, I)oth local and na- 
tional and has taken the stump in several 
campaigns, always speaking for the Demo- 
cratic party, to which he belongs. He has 
been the regular nominee of the party for 
district attorney since he went to Price 
county, but has never been an active candi- 
date. During his residence in Prentice he 
was elected village attorney. 

Mr. Schwindt has been twice married. 
He first led to the altar, in 1870, Barbara 
Hart, of Chicago, who lived only three 
years after her marriage, and left one child, 
since deceased. He was married to his 
present wife in 1878. She was a Miss 
Alice Doane, daughter of Richard Doane, of 
Genesee, Wis. To this union have been 
born four children : Orville, agent for the 



Wisconsin Central Railway at Dorchester, 
Wis. ; Bernalda, who married Harry ]\Iiller ; 
Stella: and Charles, all of whom have been 
carefully educated and given every advan- 
tage. 

ABRAHAM G. DESCENT, a capitalist 
and prominent citizen of Superior, Douglas 
county, who is now living in his old age in 
practical retirement, was born at Sackett's 
Harbor, N. Y., Feb. 19, 1830. 

On both sides of the family }ilr. Descent 
comes from sea-faring antecedents, as his 
father, y\nthony Descent, was a sailor who 
lost his life on Lake Ontario during the in- 
fancy of his son ; his mother's father, Abra- 
ham Grennay, was an officer on one of the 
Atlantic vessels ; while his maternal great- 
grandfather, Robert Cameron, was con- 
nected with the British naval service in a 
clerical capacity, that of secretary at Quebec. 
Mrs. Mary Ann (Grennay) Descent, wife of 
Anthony Descent, was born in Kingston, 
Ont., of Scotch-English ancestiy. Her 
mother, Mary Cameron, was reared and edu- 
cated in a convent at Quebec. 

Abraham G. Descent was a small boy 
when his mother decided to make her home 
for the future in Painesville, Ohio. While 
still in his boyhood, he began his industrious 
career bv working on the Ohio canal, and 
while thus employed made the accjuaintance 
of James A. Garfield, who was then engaged 
there in a similar ca])acity. As he grew to 
manhood Mr. Descent learned the carpen- 
ter's trade and was kept busily occupied at 
that for some years. 

In 1 85 1, thinking that a much better op- 
])ortimity for a young man was offered 
farther West, Mr. Descent tried a new loca- 
tion, going to Mendota, 111. There his 
mother, who had accompanied him. died, 
and after only four years in that place he 
went to the northward, first to St. Paul, and 
then on to Monticello, Minn., where he took 
up a pre-emption claim. This he sold before 
long, but not until he had platted thereon a 
town site called Silver Creek. In the winter 
of 1858-59 he took a contract to build twenty 
miles of road from Milles Lac toward Su- 




ABRAHAM G. DESCENT 



TH^. .KEW YORK 

PUBLIC LIBRARY 



ASTOR, LENOX 
TILDEN FOUNDATIONS 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



35 



perior. About the same time he made a 
venture in the cattle business, buying a drove 
in Anoka, ^Minn., which he shipped to tlie 
Michigan mines, the first consignment of 
that kind from the Head of the Lakes. For 
that one season Mr. Descent lived in Su- 
perior, but returned at its close to Monti- 
cello, where he made his headquarters until 
1872. In that year he took a contract for 
clearing the route and furnishing ties for 
what was later known as the St. Paul & Du- 
luth Railroad. After this temporary absence 
he returned to Monticello, where he at first 
opened a general store, and subsecjuentlv 
dealt in real estate in Minneapolis, witli 
various ventures in other lines of business. 
In 1880 he made a decided change of base 
and for nine years was a resident of Wahpe- 
ton, N. D., where he acquired a farm of 
1,000 acres and improved it until it became 
one of the most completely equipped in the 
county. Since 1889 Mr. Descent has made 
his home in Superior, investing in real estate 
and building. He has put up a number of 
buildings which are a substantial addition 
to the city, such as the Albany Block and 
the Music Hall, the latter structure the lead- 
ing place of entertainment in the older part 
of the city. In all the enterprises in which 
he has been engaged, he has never made a 
failure nor been defendant in any legal pro- 
ceedings. 

Mr. Descent's wife was a Miss Miranda 
Chandler, to whom he was married April 
26, 1856. She was born in Windsor, Can- 
ada, the daughter of William Chandler, an 
extensive railroad contractor and capitalist 
of Minneapolis. Mr. and Mrs, Descent have 
had three children : Frank C., who resides 
at Superior; Morris, who died at the age of 
twenty years and a daughter who died in 
childhood. 

Not being a believer in immortality, Mr. 
Descent is naturally connected with none of 
the established churches of Superior. In full 
sympathy, however, with all that goes to 
make a life moral and upright, he has from 
early life been a member of the Masonic 
fraternity. He has been a Republican ever 
since the party was organized, and has filled 



several local positions of responsibility, but 
is in no sense an active partisan. 

HON. EMANUEL G. SWAN- 
STROM, ex-Senator and prominent real 
estate dealer at Duluth, Minn., was bom 
Feb. 7, 1838, at Carlshamn, Sweden, son of 
John E. and Benedicta Swanstrom, both of 
Sweden. John E. Swanstrom was a farmer 
and also owned a large bakery and confec- 
tionery establishment, which he successfuilj? 
operated. His death took place in 1852;, 
while his widow died in 1868. Four chil- 
dren were born to them : Emanuel G. j 
Charles W.. deceased; Adolph F., cvf Da^ 
luth ; and Marie S.. residing in Sweden. 

After being educated in the schools of his 
native land Mr. Swanstrom went atoard a 
sailing vessel in 1854, and after thirteen 
weary weeks landed in New York City^ 
However, he did not long remain there, but 
starting west went to Chisago county, Minn^ 
and then in 1856, to Oneota, now West Du- 
luth. There he obtained employment in the 
mills and woods until 1879. During this time 
he worked very hard, and, saving his money, 
finally established a grocery store which he 
operated for nine years ; he then started a 
similar store at No. i Garfield avenue, Du- 
luth. This he operated until the fall of 
1890. when he sold his stock, other matters 
engrossing his time and attention. On Marcli, 
1884, President Arthur appointed him 
receiver in the Lhiited States Land Office, 
and he served three and one-half years as 
such. Before that time he was county com- 
missioner for thirteen years. For two years 
he was sent to the Legislature, serving in 
the House during 1873 and 1874. and thai 
he served two terms in the Senate, from 1877 
to 1879. In addition to this he has held 
many of the minor ofhces in the county, and 
is one of the leading Republicans of the 
State. 

On June 18, 1865, Mr. Swanstrom was 
united in marriage with Miss Jennie L. Ab- 
bott, of Conneaut, Ohio, daughter of Dwight 
Abbott, who was born in Connecticut, but 
came west in 1858. He was a cabinetmaker 
until his death, which occurred in 1877. He 



34 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



. married Ann J. Beals of New York, who 
died in the fall of 1896. They had three 
xlaughters : Helen R., married to Samuel 
Harris, of Chicago, 111.; Mrs. Swanstrom; 
Kate C, who married Charles Wentworth, 
and now resides in Duluth. 

Mr. and Mrs. Swanstrom have had seven 

I children, six of whom are now living: (i) 

' Charles W., born Sept. 9, 1866, married 
Emma Hall, of Brooklyn, N. Y., and they 

'. have four children : Gertrude, born Sept. i , 
3888; Emma H., 1889; William J., Feb. 8, 

.1892; and Edwin G., Oct. 7, 1894. 
Charles W. has charge of the flax depart- 

. nient for the State government at the Board 
of Trade building at Duluth, and he is a 

. member of the A. O. U. W., at Duluth, and 
a v-^vy successful and popular young man. 

.(2) Kate B., born June 24, 1868, married 
Joseph C. Helm, of Duluth, and they have 
two children : Viola B., born April 29, i8go ; 
and Meredith, Jan. 24, 1893. (3) Adolph 
1*"., born Sept. 2, 1869, married Kate Stew- 
art, of Walkertown, Canada, and they have 
two sons: Robert E., born Sept. 12, 1898; 
and Dwight A., born April 28, 1905. He is 
a real estate and insurance dealer in Duluth, 
where he is a member of the A. O. U. W., 

.and a 32d degree Mason. (4) George Vic- 
tor, born Aug. 15, 1875, died at the age of 

: twelve years. (5) Jennie S., born Sept. 15, 
1873, married Thomas A. Merritt, of Du- 

' luth, and they ha\'e two sons: George A , 
lx)rn Feb. 3, 1893; and Carleton E., born 
April 25, 1901. (6) Emanuel A., born Jan. 
27, 1878, is a stenographer at Duluth. (7) 
Walter A., born June 29, 1881, is in the in- 

■ surance business in Duluth. These children 
3ire all well educated and prosperous, ami 
have grown into men and women of whom 

"their parents may well be proud. 

Mrs. Swanstrom is a member of St. 
'Luke's Episcopal Church, in which she takes 
a great deal of interest. For many years 
Mrs. Swanstrom has been jjresident of the 
guild. She is also a member of the Order 
of tlie Eastern Star and the Woman's Relief 
Coqjs, and is a lady beloved on all sides and 
deservedly so, for she possesses a sweet and 
• ioiting, disposition and many of the cardinal 



virtues. The beautiful home occupied by the 
family, 21 18 West F'irst street, was built by 
Mr. Swanstrom in 1884, and in addition to 
it he owns considerable property in Duluth 
add Superior. Starting out in life a very 
poor boy, Mr. Swanstrom has risen in a 
wonderful manner, through industry, thrift 
and good management. 

JOHN P. WRAY. Since 1888 John 
P. Wray has been a well-known citizen of 
West Superior, where he carries on a large 
gas-fitting and plumbing establishment. Mr. 
Wray's birth occurred Jan. 24, 1855, in St. 
Paul, Minn., and his parents were John and 
Margaret M. (Griffith) Wray, the former 
an Englishman and the latter a native of 
New York State. John Wray learned the 
plasterer's trade in Lincolnshire and came 
when a young man to New York ; from there 
he moved to Pennsylvania, then to Iowa and 
in 1843 went to St. Paul. About three years 
later he moved to Red Wing, Minn., where 
he lived nearly twenty years. He enlisted 
during the Civil war and died while in the 
army. Mrs. Margaret M. (Griffith) Wray, 
was born in Utica, N. Y., and is now a resi- 
dent of Granite Falls, Minn. Her father, a 
Welshman and a Presbyterian minister, 
spent the larger part of his life in New 
York. 

The boyhood of John P. Wray was spent 
in Red Wing, where he attended the public 
schools, and when he was twenty years old 
he became a millwright, following this occu- 
pation for a number of years. He engaged 
in the plumbing business in Red Wing, and 
on coming to West Superior in 1888, estab- 
lished himself as a plumber and gas fitter, 
his business also including the fitting of 
steam heating apparatus. Mr. Wray has 
superintended the fitting of many of the best 
buildings in West Superior and has ac- 
quired an enviable reputation for fine work- 
manship and business integrity. 

In 1876 John P. Wray and Sarah J. 
Hudson were united in marriage. Mrs. 
^^'ray was a daughter of George and Maria 
Hudson, of Red Wing. Two children have 
lieen torn to this union : J. Griffith, formerly 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



35 



a teacher in Superior, now a student in a 
school of dramatic art in New York City; 
and Kittie C. Mr. Wray was brought up in 
the Episcopal faith. He is a Mason and a 
member of Superior Lodge, I. O. O. F., 
where he has passed all the chairs. He has 
always been a Republican in political prin- 
ciple. 

JAMES PATTEN, the able superin- 
tendent of the St. Paul and Western Coal 
Company, at West Superior, and of the Bos- 
ton Coal Dock and Wharf Company, of Du- 
luth, has been actively connected with the 
coal business since his boyhood. He was 
born in Pottsville, Schuylkill Co., Pa., Sept. 
6, 1852, a son of James and Catherine 
(Whitman) Patten. 

James Patten, Sr., was born at Leming- 
ton Parish, Northumberlandshire, but left 
England in early life and located in the 
United States. He spent a few years on a 
farm in Northumberland county. Pa., but 
was employed for the greater part of his life 
as superintendent of coal mines for the Man- 
hattan Coal Company. His was a quiet, in- 
dustrious life, which passed to its close 
shortly before his eighty-fourth birthday. 
His death occurred in Schuylkill county, Pa. 
His hve brothers and four sisters all came 
to the United States. Mrs. Catherine Patten 
also died in Schuylkill county in 1888, in 
her eightieth jear. Several of her brothers 
were actively interested in the coal industry 
in the United States in Pennsylvania and 
elsewhere. 

James Patten received such educational 
advantages as the public schools in the hills 
of eastern Pennsylvania afforded. At the 
early age of ten he began as a slate picker 
and has ever since been interested in the coal 
business. He became the superintendent of 
the collieries at Eagle Hill and retained the 
position for fourteen years. In 1891 he re- 
moved to Superior to take the position of 
Superintendent of the coal docks of the St. 
Paul and Pacific Coal Company (now the 
St. Paul and Western Coal Company) and 
has been there ever since. After eight years 
of that service he also assumed charge of the 



Boston Coal Dock and Wharf Company, at 
Duluth. 

In June, 1887, Mr. Patten was united in 
matrimony with Miss Lottie Ketner, the 
daughter of Joshua Ketner, of Schuylkill 
county. Pa., and three children have been 
born to them, Katherine M., James W. and 
Eleanor. In 1899 Mr. Patten built a hand- 
some residence on Banks avenue, in West 
Superior, where he has since then made his 
home. The family are prominently identi- 
fied with the Episcopal Church, St. Albans, 
where Mr. Patten has been senior warden 
for several years past. Mr. Patten is a Past 
Master of the Masonic order. Although a 
Republican in his party affiliations, he some- 
times votes independently. 

SAMUEL CARSON McCORAIICK, 
M. D.. enjoys the unique distinction of be- 
ing in years of continuous practice, the oldest 
representative of the medical profession in 
the city of Duluth. He was born at Selins 
Grove, Union Co., Pa., Sept. 8, 1837. His 
parents, Samuel C. and Sarah (Taggart) 
McCormick, were natives of Northumber- 
land county, that State. His father was 
born in 1800, of Irish parents, and died of 
an acute disease at the age of forty-four 
years. His mother was born in 1804, and 
died in 1869, at Lewisburg, Pa. Her father, 
David Taggart, was a well-to-do citizen of 
Northumberland county, of Scotch lineage. 

After acquiring an academic education 
Samuel Carson McCormick graduated at 
Jefferson Medical College, Philadelphia, in 
1862, with the degree of M. D. In July of 
ihe same year he was appointed Assistant 
Surgeon of the 134th Pa. V. I., and con- 
tinued with the army until the close of the 
Civil war. On May 27. 1863. he became 
Assistant Surgeon of the 8th Pennsylvania 
Reserves, and one year later he was made 
Assistant Surgeon of the United States Vol- 
unteers and ordered to McClellan Hospital, 
at Philadelphia. From September, 1864. to 
Aug. 7, 1865, he served as Surgeon of the 
202d Pa. V. I. During his service in the 
war of the Rebellion he acquired much valu- 
able professional experience, and soon after 



36 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



the war lie was appointed Surgeon of the 
Union Pacific railroad, and spent about two 
years in that capacity, until its completion, 
in 1869. In April, 1870, he located at Du- 
luth, where he has ever since been engaged 
in the general practice of medicine and sur- 
gery. For a short time he was the only resi- 
dent physician in the city. Soon after his 
arrival he was appointed pension examiner, 
and discharged the duties of that position 
until the formation of the United States 
Board of Examining Surgeons, when he be- 
came a member of that body, becoming the 
president of the Board and continuing as 
such to the present time. He is a member 
of the State Medical Society (of which he 
was at one time vice-president) and of the 
St. Louis County Medical Society. He has 
served as health officer of the City and as 
county physician. He is a Republican, but 
has never been a candidate for elective 
office. 

In November, 1871, Dr. McCormick 
was married to Miss Louise E. Smith, 
daughter of Dr. Vespasian Smith, one of 
the pioneer physicians of Wisconsin, and 
afterward a prominent citizen and mayor of 
Duluth. Dr. and Mrs. McCormick have 
two sons: William S., city controller of 
Duluth ; and Clinton P., proprietor of the 
Union Credit Company, in the same city. 
The family is connected with the Presby- 
terian Church. Dr. McCormick has long 
been identified with the Grand Army of the 
Republic, having helped to organize the first 
post in Duluth, and is also prominent in the 
Military Order of the Loyal Legion. For 
more than forty years he has been connected 
with the Masonic Fraternity, and became a 
Knight Templar at Mauch Chunk, Pa., 
whilst living in that State. He has watched 
the growth of his adopted city w-ith i>ride 
and admiration, and he merits the good will 
of all its citizens. 

VESPASIAN SMITH, M. D., was 
born in Mt. Vernon, Ohio, Oct. 21, 1818. 
His parents were Virginians, who had moved 
to that locality in the spring of 1805. He 
attended the common schools of Mt. Ver- 



non, and afterward prepared himself for a 
trader, following that vocation for one year, 
when he took up the study of medicine, un- 
der the tutelage of Dr. J. X. Burr. Subse- 
(luently he entered the Medical Department 
of Western Reserve College, at Cleveland, 
graduating from that institution with the 
class of 185 1. He practiced for several 
years in New Carlisle and Columbus, Ohio, 
from which latter place he moved to Su- 
perior, Wis., in 1857, when this section was 
little more than a wilderness. He remained 
in Superior until i860, when he received a 
government appointment as physician to the 
Indians at the Bayfield Agency. This posi- 
tion he held for eight years, and they were 
hard years, too. He has been known to 
travel forty miles in an open boat on Lake 
Superior to visit a sick Indian, and he was 
never known to refuse a call, no matter how 
hard it was, or under what circumstances. 
Subsequently he was made register of the 
Land Office at Bayfield, which position he 
held for two years. 

With the first year of the building of the 
St. Paul & Mississippi River railroad, after- 
ward the St. Paul & Duluth railroad, into 
Duluth, Dr. Smith located here, and from 
that time till his death he was always a 
prominent figure. He was appointed the 
second Collector of Customs of the port of 
Duluth, holding the office for nine years, 
under three administrations. Dr. Smith 
probably received more government appoint- 
ments, under more different administrations, 
than any other man in the Northwest, his 
first appointment coming under Buchanan's 
administration, and others following, under 
every administration except that of Presi- 
dent Cleveland. He was for two terms 
mayor of the city of Duluth, and his popu- 
larity is evidenced by the fact that at his 
first election there v^'as not one vote against 
him, and at the second there were three, and 
he cast one of these adverse votes himself. 
He was elected first president of the St. 
Louis County Medical Society, about the 
same time being appointed a member of the 
State Board of Health, a position he held for 
twenty years. 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



2>7 



Dr. Smith was a member of the ^Masonic 
fraternity, and had been associated with 
Masons for years. He was a member of the 
Grand Lodge of Ohio, when the first dispen- 
sation for a lodge in the Territory of ]\Iinne- 
sota was granted. 

In 1846, the Doctor was married to 
Charlotte E. Neely, of New Carlisle, Ohio, 
and he died in Dnluth, Minn., Oct. 1 1, 1S97, 
being survived by two children, Frank 15. 
Smith and Mrs. S. C. McCormick, both of 
Duluth. 

WTLLIAM SMITH McC0R:^IICK, 
city controller of Duluth, and a young man 
who is rising to a substantial position in that 
city, was born there Feb. 16, 1874, son of 
Dr. Samuel C. and Louise E. (Smith) Mc- 
Cormick. 

Mr. McCormick attended the public 
schools and Rollins College, Winter Park, 
Fla., and later was a student at McCallister 
College, a Presbyterian institution at St. 
Paul. After spending two years at St. Paul 
he returned to Duluth and entered the First 
National Bank of Duluth, in June, 1892, and 
with the exception of one year, was in that 
employ until elected city controller, in Feb- 
ruary, 1899. He was re-elected in 1901 and 
1903, so that he has served three consecutive 
terms, in which he has demonstrated his effi- 
ciency both as a worker and as a manager. 

On April 16, 1898, Mr. McCormick en- 
hsted in Company G, 14th Minnesota Vol- 
unteers, and served until Nov. 13, 1898, 
spending most of the time at Chickamauga 
Park, and seven weeks in the hospital while 
ill with typhoid fever. He had previously 
served five years in the Minnesota National 
Guard, being simultaneously discharged 
from that organization and the Minnesota 
Volunteers. He helped to organize Camp 
McEwen, No. 36, Spanish-American \\'ar 
Veterans, at Duluth, and is now adjutant- 
general of the Department of [Minnesota. 
He has numerous other social connections, 
being a Scottish Rite Mason, a member of 
the Military Order of the Loval Legion, of 
the B. P. d. E., the I. O. F., the M. W. A., 
and the ^lodern Samaritans. He is secre- 



tary of the Association of Old Settlers at the 
Head of the Lakes. ]\Ir. McCormick has 
led an active and useful life, and his past 
gives excellent promise of the future. 

HON. MICHAEL \V. RYAN. Public 
officials who use their positions as vantage 
ground for securing the greatest possible 
good to their constituents are rare, and the 
citizens of Medford and Taylor county have 
shown their appreciation of the fact in the 
hearty endorsement that they have given 
this able and public-spirited gentleman. A 
prominent pioneer of the county, he was born 
in the far East, in Burlington, Vt., Dec. 10, 
1847. 

The parents of ^Nlr. Ryan were Stephen 
and Elizabeth (Gillick) Ryan, both born in 
Ireland, in County Tipperary and County 
]\Ieath, respectively, though they met and 
married in America. Mrs. Ryan's parents 
died in Ireland, and she came to this coun- 
try when only fourteen years old, with a 
brother and sister. Stephen Ryan came to 
the L'nited States when a young man, and 
lived for a time in Burlington, Vt., but in 
1S50 started with his wife and family over- 
land for California. On reaching St. Louis, 
he was taken sick and died there. His 
widow afterward married Michael Garrity, 
and is now living in Oshkosh, Wis., at the 
age of seventy-five. 

Michael W. Ryan was taken to Wiscon- 
sin bv his mother when two years old and 
lived in Milwaukee until 1857. Thence the 
family moved to Waukesha, and there Mich- 
ael entered the public schools and began his 
education, in due time completing the course. 
Too young to enlist when the war broke out, 
he did so later, and Jan. i, 1864, was en- 
rolled in Company I, 3d Wis. Cav. He 
served under Gen. Curtis in Gen. James 
ijlunt's brigade, and took part in a number 
of battles and skirmishes, in all of which he 
acquitted himself with credit. The greater 
part of the time he was stationed on the fron- 
tier in the Southwest, and was there dis- 
charged, Sept. 29, 1865. 

i\lr. Ryan was one of the pioneers of 
Medford, as he settled there in 1874. He 



38 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



was employed several years as foreman in 
a sawmill, and then took up the hotel busi- 
ness, which he followed for a long time. He 
built the "Exchange Hotel," and as long as 
he conducted it, it was the leading hostelry 
in the place. Much of his time has been 
spent in public service, and for the past thir- 
teen years he has been connected with the 
post office. One of his business investments 
has been the erection of a two-story steel 
and brick building, to be used for store and 
residence. 

Mr. Ryan has always taken an active part 
in politics, and is one of the leading Demo- 
crats in the northern part of the State, as 
well as in the local ranks. In 1890. 1894 and 
1896, he was sent as delegate to the State 
conventions. He has given thirteen contin- 
uous years in the service of the post office 
department, eight years as postmaster and 
the rest as assistant^ an office he still holds. 
During the session of 1893 he was appointed 
postmaster of the Wisconsin Senate. Med- 
ford has honored him by election to the of- 
fices of alderman and mayor, and during his 
two year term in the latter place, Mr. Ryan 
was largely instrumental in securing the lo- 
cation in Medford of several manufacturing 
enterprises. In 1898 Mr. Ryan was elected 
to the Assembly as representative from Tay- 
lor and Lincoln counties; he served on the 
committees on town and county organiza- 
tion, and health and sanitation, and earned a 
reputation as a hard working member. 

On April 8, 1872, Mr. Ryan was married 
to Mary Magner, daughter of James and 
Mary Magner, of Waukesha, Wis. There 
are three children in the family, all daugh- 
ters, namely : Margaret M., who was born 
in Waukesha, and has been a teacher in the 
Medford schools for the past eleven years ; 
Mary E., who married Louis A. Maier, 
cashier in the First National Bank, of Med- 
ford, Wis. ; and Helen F., a bookkeeper in 
Mellen, Wisconsin. 

Mr. Ryan is prominent in the G. A. R. 
and was a charter member of the Post at 
Medford, of which he is a Past Commander. 
In 1896 he was sent as a delegate to the Na- 
tional Encampment at St. Paul. He enters 



with zeal intn whatever he is connected with 
and is e\erywhere found a valuable aid. 

MATTHEW STEWARD HOSMER, 
M. D. Prominent among the physicians of 
Ashland, who are devoting their lives to the 
alleviation of suffering, stands Dr. Matthew 
S. Hosmer, who for almost twenty years has 
been going on his daily mission of healing 
in that city. He was born Nov. 17, 1856, in 
New Boston, Mich., son of Andrew Jackson 
and Martha (Eldred) Hosmer, the former 
also a native of Michigan, and prominent in 
Wayne county. 

The Hosmer family is of English stock 
originally, and its first American ancestor 
came to Massachusetts in Colonial times. 
One of his descendants, Abner Hosmer, is- 
known to have lost his life in the American 
Revolution. The grandfather of our sub- 
ject, Artemus Hosmer, went westward as 
far as Michigan, and spent his life there as a 
contractor. He died in New Boston, at the 
age of sixty years, and his homestead is still 
in the possession of the family. Artemus 
Hosmer was twice married, and his second 
wife, a Miss Dunn, was of Welsh lineage,, 
though probably born in Canada. 

Andrew J. Hosmer died Aug. 24, 1903, 
in New Boston. He was quite prominent in 
local affairs, and while never an active poli- 
tician, he filled several offices in the public 
service. He and his wife had seven sons 
and four daughters, ten of whom are still 
living: Mary, Mrs. Russell Rice, who died 
in New Boston ; John ; Albert ; Dr. Matthew 
S. ; Andrew J. ; Jennie, Mrs. Speer, of Belle- 
ville, Mich.; James E., of Park City, Utah; 
Charles S. ; Addie, Mrs. Tinkham ; Hattie, 
Mrs. Baxter; and Eli, Andrew J., James E. 
and Charles S. are all physicians, and An- 
drew J. was located for some years in Ash- 
land. 

The grandfather on the maternal side,. 
John Eldred, was a contractor in New Bos- 
ton ; he was of Scotch-Irish descent, and lived 
to be sixty-two years old. 

Matthew S. Hosmer was thoroughly pre- 
pared for his work in the Belleville high 
school and the Medical Department of the 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



39> 



University of Michigan from wliich he grad- 
uated in June, 1882. He practiced first at 
Maple Ridge, Alich., but after two years de- 
cided to remove to Ashland, where he has 
been located to the present time. Dr. Hos- 
mer has studied about a year in \'ienna, 
Dresden, London and Berlin, and he keeps 
himself fully abreast of the times in his pro- 
fession. He has built up a fine practice, is 
the consulting physician of the railroad hos- 
pital, and for four or five years conducted the 
Hosmer hospital. Since 1889 he has been 
on the staff of St. Joseph's hospital. During 
the past two years he has made a specialty 
of Internal Medicine. 

In 1887 Dr. Hosmer was married to 
Anna Macdonald, who was born near Yion- 
treal, Canada, daughter of John and Mary 
Ann Macdonald. Four children have l)een 
born to the doctor and his wife, Helen, Ros- 
coe, Margaret and Steward. 

Dr. Hosmer is a well known Mason, of 
Ancient Landmark Lodge, and Ash- 
land Commandery, K. T., No. 22 ; he also 
belongs to the I. O. O. F., the A. O. 
U. W., the Maccabees, U. O. F., the M. 
W. A., and is examining physician for 
the most of these orders, as well as for 
several insurance companies. Politically 
he is a Republican, but his arduous 
professional duties leave him little time 
to devote to public life. Dr. Hosmer has 
never ceased to be a student in his profes- 
sion ; and has succeeded in it largely because 
of his absorbing interest in his work and his 
strict attention to it, without which even his 
acknowledged skill might have failed to 
bring him his present assured position. 

SOLON LOUIS PERRIN, one of the 
leading attorneys of Superior who represents 
some of the most important corporate inter- 
ests at the Head of the Lakes, is a native of 
the Badger State, born in the town of Kin- 
nickinnick, St. Croix county, March 17, 
1859. He is the eldest son of William Louis 
and Julia Frances (Loring) Perrin, and 
comes of sturdy New England stock on both 
the paternal and maternal sides. 

John Perrin, grandfather of Solon L.. 



was born in Vermont but spent his later life 
on a farm in the State of New York. Will- 
iam L. Perrin was born at Malonc, Franklin 1 
Co., N. Y., but for more than half a cen-- 
tury has been a citizen of Wisconsin, having^: 
settled in St. Croix county in company with" 
his brother, James E. Perrin, in T851. For 
a number of years he was active in the public 
affairs of that county and filled the office of 
county clerk from 1875 to 1879. In political 
principles he is a Democrat. Mrs. Julia F. 
Perrin died in St. Paul, Minn., in 1894 at 
the age of tifty-five years. She was born in 
Maine, where her father died, and in com- 
pany with her mother, brothers and sisters, 
she came to Wisconsin in 1856. The familj^ 
settled in St. Croix county, where she mar- 
ried Mr. Perrin. She became the mother of ' 
three sons and two daughters who survive - 
her except one daughter who died in infancy : ; 
Frank Leon^ a professional journalist at St.. 
Louis, Mo.; Henry Ernest, a practicing- 
physician of Star Prairie, Wis.; Mabel S., a 
graduate of the University of Wisconsin, at 
Madison, and now living at Superior; and 
Solon L. 

The early education of Solon L. PerriiT 
was acquired in the district schools and sup- 
plemented by a course at the Hudson high 
school. At the age of eighteen years he en- 
tered the law office of Baker & Spooner at 
Hudson, and spent several years with that 
firm, the junior member of which is at pres- 
ent the senior United States Senator from, 
Wisconsin. During the legislative sessions 
of 1879 and 1880 Mr. Perrin was assistant 
chief clerk of the Assembly, a position which 
enabled him to acquire considerable valuable 
experience and an accurate knowledge of the 
methods in vogue in legal and political pro- 
ceedings. In the fall of 1880 he entered the- 
law scliool of the State University and was- 
graduated from that famous institution in 
the following June. He at once entered the 
law department of the Chicago, St. Paul, . 
Minneapolis & Omaha Railroad at St. Paul, 
in which office he continued to be employed 
until September, 1895, at which date he lo-- 
cated in Superior. He has since had charge- 
of the local business of that corporation, and' 



40 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



in addition lias acquired a lucrative private 
practice and has been retained on many im- 
portant cases. In 1897 he was appointed one 
of the receivers of the Superior Consolidated 
Land Co. and upon the re-organization of 
ihat concern in the spring of 1902, he be- 
came its attorney. A Republican in prin- 
ciple, he has never but once been a candidate 
for official honors nor an agitator of political 
is.sues. In 1902 he was a prominent candi- 
date for State senator before the convention. 
The vote was a tie for 500 ballots when he 
iJirew his support to one of his opponents. 
In 1 888 occurred the marriage of Mr. 
i'errin and jNIiss Elizabeth G. Staples, of 
St. Paul, Minn. She was born at Hudson. 
Wis., and is a daughter of Silas Staples of 
that place. Mr. and Mrs. Perrin are the 
parents of two children, Florence Elizabeth 
and James Louis. The family moves in the 
best social circles. Mr. Perrin is identified 
with the local lodge of Elks, and is prom- 
inent in the Masonic fraternity, being con- 
nected with the lodge and chapter at Hud- 
son, and with Paladin Commandery, 
Knights Templar, at St. Paul. 

HENRY A. RUSSELL, M. D. One of 
the leading physicians of Superior is Dr. 
Henry A. Russell, who is descended from 
New England ancestry which can be traced 
back to the early days of this country. Dr. 
Russell was born in Lovell, Oxford Co., 
Maine, March 10, 1855. ^ son of Henry and 
Lucy (Stearns) Russell, both natives of 
Lovell. 

Ih early Colonial days the emigrant Ma- 
jor Jjenjamin Russell published the Boston 
Sentinel during the Revolution, and printed 
all the proceedings of the Continental Con- 
gress, although the government was unable 
to pay for this service at the time. Years 
later an appropriation was made by which 
Major Russell was reimbursed. Major 
Russell was an intimate friend of George 
Washington and of other leading men of 
the day. George Russell, a son of Major 
Russell and father of Henry, was a soldier 
in the war of 1812. He afterward settled in 
Maine: and was the first postmaster of Centre 



Lovell, a positiun he held for nearly fifty 
years. He died in 1879, at the age of ninety- 
one years. Henry Russell was a carpenter 
and did a large contracting business in Lo- 
\cll, where he died when sixty-six years old. 
His wife, Lucy (Stearns) Russell, lived to 
be seventy years of age; she was a daughter 
of Gen. Solomon Stearns, a school teacher, 
justice of the peace, and a prominent man in 
the Maine militia. 

The Stearns family is one of the 
oldest in Massachusetts. Isaac Stearns 
came over in 1630 in the same ship with 
Governor Winthrop and Sir Richard Sal- 
tonstall, and settled at Watertown, Mass., 
where he became one of the selectmen of the 
town. Gen. Solomon Stearns was of the 
seventh generation in this country; he was 
l)orn at Lovell in 1798 and died in 1849. 
Benjamin Stearns, father of Gen. Solomon, 
was born in Massachusetts in 1757. He 
married Susanna Frye, a daughter of Hon. 
Simon Frye, first chief justice of Maine, 
from whose family United States Senator 
Frye is descended. Hon. Isaac Stearns, fa- 
ther of Benjamin, served in the French and 
Indian war, and was a member of both 
houses in the Massachusetts legislature ; he 
died at the age of eighty-six, in 1808, at his 
home in Billerica, Massachusetts. 

Henry A. Russell studied medicine at 
\\'ashington, D. C, graduating from How- 
ard University, March 2, 1881. He entered 
the government service and received the ap- 
pointment of surgeon to the Crow Indian 
Agency in Montana, where he remained un- 
til 1887. In the spring of 1888 Dr. Russell 
settled in Superior, where he has since been 
engaged as a general practitioner. In 1889 
he was appointed a member of the first board 
of United States pension examiners, a posi- 
tion he has occupied ever since with the ex- ■ 
ception of three years; during this time he 
has examined over 1,000 applicants, and he 
is at present secretary of the board. 

In 1 89 1 Dr. Russell was married to 
Anna E. Ross, a daughter of George and 
Sarah Ross (both deceased) of Prescott, 
Wis. Dr. and Mrs. Russell are the parents 
of two children, Dean Frederick and Carl 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



41 



Ross. The family are attendants of tlie 
Congregational Chnrch. Dr. Russell is a 
Mason, P. M. of Blue Lodge and P. H. P. 
of the Chapter, and also belongs to the I. 
O. O. F. He is a member of the American 
Institute of Homeopathy. Formerly a Re- 
publican, Dr. Russell has been since 1898 
an advocate of Prohibition principles. He 
was nominated for mayor on the Prohibi- 
tion ticket in 1900, and in the same year re- 
ceived that party's nomination for Congress. 
Although unsuccessful, he polled the highest 
vote ever received by a Prohibition candi- 
date for Congress in Wisconsin, the vote be- 
ing much in excess of the party member- 
ship. 

ALBERT STILLMAN CHASE has 
been identified with the city of Duluth from 
its infancy, has been active in the develop- 
ment of many of her most important enter- 
prises, and a mere mention of the numerous 
concerns in whose organization he has as- 
sisted would be sufficient to proclaim him 
one of the most energetic and successful 
business men of St. Louis county, Minne- 
sota. 

Mr. Chase was born Xii\-. 4, 1843, in 
Cattaraugus county, N. Y., and comes of a 
family long established in America, being 
a descendant of Aquila Chase, a prominent 
pioneer of Massachusetts. Dr. Stillman 
Chase, father of Albert S., was born in 
Salem, Mass., received a good practical Eng- 
lish education, and took a course in medi- 
cine at Syracuse, N. Y., becoming an 
eclectic practitioner. In 1858 he came west 
and located in Rochester. Minn., where he 
died in the fall of 1S59, at the age of fifty- 
four years. He was successful as a phy- 
sician, and was highly esteemed wherever 
he was known. Dr. Chase married Wealthy 
Alzina Kelsey, like himself a native of 
Salem, Mass., and her death occurred in 
Cattaraugus county, N. Y., some years after 
that of her husband. 

Albert S. Chase joined his father in 
Rochester, Minn., in 1859, and remained 
there until 1862, on Aug. 13th of which year 
be enlisted in Company H, Sixth ]\Iinn. 



\'. I., with which he served until May to, 
1865, when hostilities had ceased. The 
command was in service on the frontier of 
Minnesota and Dakota against the Sioux 
Indians, and in 1863 took part in Gen. Sib- 
ley's expedition to the Missouri river, going 
as far as the present site of Bismarck, N. 
Dak. In July, 1864, the regiment went to 
Helena, Ark., where many of the men were 
seized with congestive chills which proved 
fatal to a large number. Mr. Chase was 
one of the victims, but survived the attack. 
He was sent to hospital at Jefferson Bar- 
racks, St. Louis, and recovered so far as to 
be able to work on a hospital boat on the 
Mississippi for a time. Later he was taken 
ill with jaundice, and was in hospital at 
I'rairie du Chien, Wis., until discharged. 

On his return from the army Mr. Chase 
engaged in the boot and shoe business at 
Owatonna, Minn., in company with his 
brother, K. D. Chase, but owing to the rapid 
depreciation of values which followed the 
war the enterprise was not a success. In 
1870 he located at Duluth, where he se- 
cured a position on the Tribune, having had 
some experience as a "typo" at Rochester. 
In 1871 he entered the employ of the Lake 
Superior & Mississippi Railway Co., and 
after spending a year as clerk in the office of 
that corporation became agent at Chaska, 
Minn. Three months later he was trans- 
ferred to Hinckley, this State, as agent, and 
remained there six months, going back to 
Duluth to take a clerkship in the office in 
that city. After six months in this posi- 
tion he became joint agent at Duluth of the 
Xorthern Pacific and Lake Superior & Mis- 
sissippi Railway Companies, continuing thus 
for eight years, when the business of the two 
companies was divided, and for the next ten 
years he was the Northern Pacific agent 
in Duluth. During this period Mr. Chase 
liari bought the charter of the Duluth Street 
Railway Company and begun the construc- 
tion of its lines, he having built most of 
the lines now in Duluth. To this enterprise 
he gave his entire attention for two years, 
operating the street railway vmtil 1891. in 
which vear he sold out. Following this he 



42 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



was one of five men who took the contract 
to build the Dulutli Missabe & Northern 
railroad, which was constructed in one year, 
Mr. Chase's remuneration for the work be- 
ing in stock and bonds of the road. He held 
his interest therein until the sale of the en- 
tire road to the Lake Superior Consolidated 
Iron Mines, since when his chief attention 
has been directed to real estate and mining. 
He is one of the incoi-porators of the Mid- 
night Test Mining Company, which is de- 
veloping gold mines in Arizona ; is a stock- 
holder, director and incorporator of the 
City National Bank of Duluth; a director 
of the Consolidated Abstract Company ; and 
a stockholder in the Minnesota Match Com- 
pany, which is engaged in the manufacture 
of matches on a large scale, in West Du- 
luth. 

With all his varied experiences in busi- 
ness, in numerous ventures and with dif- 
ferent associates, Mr. Chase has never been 
drawn into a lawsuit of any kind — a remark- 
able record. Public life and official honors 
have never appealed to him, and though he 
has served several times as a grand juror 
he has never desired any elective office, or 
taken any active part in politics. He is a 
lifelong Republican. Since 1864 he has 
been a member of the Masonic fraternity, 
being now a past master of Palestine Lodge, 
and a member of Keystone Chapter, Duluth 
Council. Duluth Commandery, K. T., and 
Duluth Consistoi'^', Scottish Rite, in all of 
which bodies he has held official position. 

WILLIAM T. RINEHART, M. D., 
general practitioner and proprietor of Rine- 
hart's Hospital, Ashland, Wis., has won 
distinction in both branches of his profes- 
sion, being a recognized authority in each 
wherever his name is known. He was born 
in Waynesburg, Pa., Dec. 27, 1855, and is 
a son of Marshall and Mina Rinehart. 

After completing his literary education. 
Dr. Rinehart matriculated at Jefferson Med- 
ical College, Philadelphia, where he took the 
regular course of lectures, graduating there- 
from in 1886. Immediately thereafter he 
-Came West, spending a few months in a 



hospital at Eau Claire, Wis. In April of 
the following year he came to Ashland and 
under the auspices of the American Aid As- 
sociation established a hospital which he suc- 
cessfully managed until 1890, when he re- 
linquished the management. During the 
season of 1891 he erected his present hospi- 
tal building, a commodious and modern 
structure, designed and erected according 
to the best known plans of hygiene. In 1900 
a woman's hospital and a training school 
for nurses were added to the establishment, 
in all having a capacity for seventy-five 
patients and ten students in the training 
school, which comprises a three years course. 
A specialty is made of surgical cases and all 
diseases not contagious are treated. Dr. 
Rinehart's eminence as a surgeon is justly 
due to the success that has attended his 
operations in many most difficult cases, and 
as a result he is known throughout the 
United States and Canada. Since the es- 
tablishment of his hospital in Ashland more 
than ten thousand patients have been ad- 
mitted and treated. He also enjoys a large 
office practice. The hospital is modern in 
its equipment, with all essential apparatus, 
is heated by hot water and has electric light- 
ing, being in every particular thoroughly 
metropolitan. 

In addition to discharging the manifold 
duties of his calling. Dr. Rinehart has found 
time to devote to the health and well being 
of the public in another direction, having 
served as county and city physician a num- 
ber of years ; he has been also health com- 
missioner of the city for a number of years, 
and he is examining surgeon for the Chi- 
cago & North Western Railway Company. 

Dr. Rinehart was imited in marriage, 
Oct. 13, 1887, to Anna, daughter of P. A. 
and Tres (Campbell) Chesley, natives of 
Cornwall, Canada, and New York, re- 
spectively. Mrs. Rinehart is a true help- 
meet of her husband, being deeply interested 
in his professional work, with which she 
has familiarized herself by close observa- 
tion and much study. She has from the 
establishment of the hospital taken upon her- 
self the duties of matron and very largely 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



43- 



attended to its business management and 
much of the success of the institution as a 
business venture may be attributed to her 
skill 

SIDNEY HARRY WATERMAN. 
The city of Cumberland, Barron Co., Wis., 
is one to be particularly congratulated in its 
chief executive, Hon. Sidney H. Waterman, 
a man of energy, tireless effort in the cause 
of public good, and one who has the city's 
best interests at heart. 

Mr. Waterman was born in Windsor 
county, Vt., Dec. 23, 1844, son of Harry 
and Diana (Johnson) Waterman, both of 
Windsor county, where tliey lived and died, 
and where their six children were born, as 
follows : Emily, who is now a resident 
of Hanover, N. H. ; Martha, deceaseil, 
Sidney, deceased; Sidney H. ; Frederick. 
a real estate man of Elk River, 
Minn. ; and Frank, of Bufifalo, who 
works on the Erie railroad as conductor. 
Until he was seventeen years of age Sidney 
H. Waterman attended the home schools, 
and then went to Oshkosh, where he worked 
in various sawmills until 1882. In 1865, he 
was united in marriage with Miss Maria 
L. Howard, of Oshkosh, daughter of R. L. 
Howard, a Baptist preacher. The following 
children have come to this marriage : Albert 
H., secretary of the Miller Waterman Co. 
store at Cumberland, married Anna Miller, 
and has five daughters, Abbie, Gertrude, 
Elinor, Isabella and Frances ; Alice married 
Timothy Olcott, of Ashton, Iowa, a banker 
and has three cliildren, Sidney, Harvey and 
Ethel ; Grace married W. J. Boyden, a mer- 
chant at Cumberland, and has two children, 
Sidney and Louisa ; Marian is attending the 
State University at Madison. These chil- 
dren were all educated in the home and high 
schools, and are very intelligent and popular 
young people. 

In March, 1882 Mr. Waterman came to 
Cumberland, and operated the Beaver Lake 
Lumber Co. mill for about twenty-two years 
under a contract. In 1903 the Miller & 
Waterman Company purchased what is 
known as the Company's Store in Cumber- 



land, and Mr. Waterman is now the vice- 
president iif the company. He is president 
of the Cumberland Telephone Company. 
He has a large cranberry marsh in Burnett 
county. Wis., consisting of 125 acres, which 
is very profitable. 

In politics Mr. Waterman is a Republi- 
can, and for seven years has acted as mayor 
of Cumberland, giving the people a clean, 
honorable and business like administration. 
He has also served upon the county board, 
and is a man who leads in whatever he un- 
dertakes. He is a member of the Blue 
Lodge, No. 223, F. & A. M., and of Lodge 
No. 303, I. O. O. F., both of Cumberland. 
Mrs. Waterman is a consistent member of 
the Methodist Church, and a very charming 
and gracious lady. 

GEORGE H. GIFFIN, one of the most 
reliable and highly respected among the 
business men of Superior^ was born in St. 
Lawrence county, N. Y., in November, 
1848, and has been a resident of West Su- 
perior since 1891. 

The earliest American ancestor of the 
Giffins probably came from Wales. By 
Revolutionary times the family had become 
fully identified with their adopted country 
and in full sympathy with its aspirations, 
and we find one' of the descendants, the 
great-grandfather of George H., serving in 
the Continental army. David Giffin, a son 
of the above, was in the war of 18 12 and 
took part in the battle of Plattsburg. He 
was a native of Massachusetts but settled 
at Colchester, Vt., in early life, where he 
both managed a farm and kept a tavern. 
He was twice married, reared a large fam- 
ily and lived to be over eighty-five years 
old ; his last years were spent in St. Law-- 
rence county. New York. 

George Giffin, son of David and the 
father of George H., was born in Colchester, 
Vt., but when only eleven he left home and 
went to St. Lawrence count}', where his 
father afterward joined him. Though he 
had little schooling, he was always a great 
reader and kept himself thoroughly in- 
formed on current events. About 1850 he 



44 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGR'APHICAL RECORD 



went to Milwaukee, but after a couple of 
years he returned and spent the remainder 
of his life on his farm in New York, where 
he passed away at the age of seventy-three. 
In early life Mr. GifSn was a Whig, but in 
1856 he voted for Fremont and thereafter 
always supported the Republican party. At 
various times he filled several of the local 
offices. He was a man of most exemplary 
character, but was not formally identified 
with any church. His wife, Sophronia 
(Healy) Giffin, was born in St. Lawrence 
county in 1820. Her death in Milwaukee 
in 1850, in the very prime of life, was a 
blow to all who knew her. and a special 
loss to the four children she left. Of these 
George H. was the only son ; Delia, is now 
Mrs. A. L. Sunderland, of Vv'estport, Minn. : 
Julia, married first Mr. O. Witteas, later 
Mr. John Ward, and died in Michigan ; and 
Martha, married Air. R. Harris, of Roberts, 
Wisconsin. 

George H. Giffin was educated in the 
county schools near his home, and spent his 
summers assisting his father on the farm. 
On reaching his majority he went to Wis- 
consin and settled at Roberts, St. Croix 
county, where he bought wild land and im- 
proved a farm. After a number of years 
there he sold his farm and lived for a couple 
of years in New Richmond, Wis. In 1891 
he removed to West Superior and entered 
the employ of the Superior Rapid Transit 
Co., spending four years in their shops as 
car repairer. Since 1895 he has been with a 
firm dealing in groceries. 

In his political views Mr. Giffin is Inde- 
pendent, but generally supports the Repub- 
lican party. Fraternally he is most active 
in the interests of the I. O. O. F., with 
which order he has been connected for 
twenty years or more, and in which he has 
passed all the chairs in Subordinate Lodge 
and Encampment. His stability of character 
and reliability in business have inspired the 
confidence of die community and his per- 
sonal friends are legion. 

In 1872 Air. Giffin was married to 
Mary-, daughter of John C. and Melissa 
Searle, of Roberts, Wis. Mr. Searle, now- 



deceased, was one of the earliest pioneers in 
St. Croix county, settling in Hudson in 
1853. His widow is now living in St. Paul. 
Mrs. Giffin was born in Binghampton, N. 
Y., before the migration of the family west- 
ward. She has borne her husband four 
sons, all most admirable in character and all 
except George S. graduates of the Blaine 
high school in West Superior. The family 
are all prominently identified with the Bap- 
tist Church. 

George S. Giffin, the oldest son, served 
as a corporal in Co. I, 3d W. V. I., through 
the Porto Rican campaign. He is a book- 
keeper by profession and a member of the 
city council for the sixth ward. John H. 
is a graduate of Upper Alton College, and 
is now a student at the Baptist Theological 
School in Rochester, N. Y. Nelson H. had 
charge for several years of the circulation 
department of the Superior Morning Leader, 
and later had a similar position in Superior 
with the Duluth Nczi's-Tribiinc, during 
which time an enormous gain was made in 
the circulation of that journal in Superior. 
He is at present bookkeeper for a firm of 
fuel dealers. The fourth son, Bert B., is 
at home. 

WILLIAAI BISHOP REA, a highly 
esteemed citizen and successful business man 
of Ashland, Wis., was born in Cumberland 
county. Pa., Sept. 14, 1847. He is a son 
of John Allen and Elizabeth (Bishop) Rea, 
both of whom were born in Franklin county, 
Pennsylvania. 

The father of John A. Rea was born in 
Scotland. In early life he learned the stone 
mason's trade and after his settlement in 
Pennsylvania, he devoted himself to his call- 
ing and numerous buildings were erected by 
him. When about seventy years of age, he 
was fallen upon by a horse which he was 
riding, resulting in injuries that caused his 
death. John A. Rea learned the saddlery 
trade in his youth, following it at Newburg 
and during the Civil war he contracted 
heavily to provide government supplies, em- 
ploying seventy-five or more persons in his 
business. He passed a busy life, was mii- 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



45 



formly successful and was much esteemed 
for his many excellent qualities. He was a 
Democrat in politics and during President 
Buchanan's administration was appointed 
and served as postmaster of Newburg. He 
died at the age of seventy-two years. Mrs. 
Elizabeth Rea died at the age of sixty-three 
years. To Mr. and Mrs. Rea were born 
three sons and two daughters. JMelissa Jane, 
now Mrs. Mowery, of Newville, Pa., is the 
only survivor besides her brother, William 
B. Rea. 

The boyhood of William Bishop Rea 
was spent in Newburg, where he received 
his elementary education. He was living 
there during the progress of the battle of 
Gettysburg and although distant thirty 
miles, the roar of the guns was clearly 
heard and the smoke was distinctly visible 
to the eye. When twenty years of age he 
accepted a clerical position in a general store 
at Newburg, where he remained until 1871, 
when he came West and located in Osh- 
kosh, Wis., obtaining employment in a 
crockery store and later in the "Empire 
House," kept by his uncle, Mr. Rea. Subse- 
quently he went to Appleton, Wis., thesce 
to Fond du Lac, and in 1886 located in 
Ashland, where he dealt in groceries for a 
time. He subsequently turned his attention 
to the real estate business and dealt largely 
in city property, as well as timber and farm- 
ing lands, in which business he is now en- 
gaged. In 1901 he was appointed city as- 
sessor for two years and gave a large share 
of his personal attention to the duties of 
that office. To this position Mr. Rea brought 
to bear capabilities that can only be acquired 
by one who has a broad knowledge of the 
real estate business. 

Mr. Rea was united in marriage witli 
Carrie A. French, their union having been 
consummated in 1879. Mrs. Rea is a daugh- 
ter of Rev. Charles French, a Presbyterian 
clergyman, who died in Ashland in 1902, 
aged eighty-three years. Mrs. Rea was born 
at Melbourne, near Montreal, Canada, and 
came to the Uinited States with her parents 
during her childhood. To Mr. and Mrs. 
Rea three children have been born, Carrie 



A., Edith E. and Leslie J. The last named 
died at the age of fourteen months. Tke 
family is identified with the Presbyterian 
Church and its members are prominent in 
social circles. Air. Rea is secretary of Ash- 
land Lodge, No. 558, B. P. O. E., and en- 
joys the confidence and esteem of a wide 
circle of friends and acquaintances. 

HANSEN E. SMITH has been a prom- 
inent business man of Duluth for a number 
of years, connected with banking, railroad, 
lumbering and mining enterprises. He is 
still ranked among the younger men, how- 
ever, being yet in his thirties, having been 
born Dec. 6, 1867, of Danish-German 
parentage. 

Hansen Ewertsen Smith was the eldest 
child of his parents. He received his early 
education in the public schools of Alichi- 
gan and at Swensbergs School, at Grand 
Rapids, in the same State. 

In 1894 he established the banking and 
investment business of H. E. Smith & Co., 
since incorporated and in which he is still 
a stockholder. Mr. Smith is connected with 
various public business and social interests 
of the city, being a member of the Duluth 
Charter Commission ; a former president of 
the Water and Light Department; the 
Chamber of Commerce; and director of the 
Commercial Club; he is also a member of 
the Kitchi Gammi Club. 

In 1 89 1 Mr. Smith was united in mar- 
riage with Miss Mary Cecelia Wilson, 
daughter of Edwin Alonzo Wilson, and a 
descendant of a well-known Vermont fam- 
ily, and they have a family of five children : 
Hazel Marguerite, Mildred Ethyleen, Ruth 
\\'innogene, Inez Lucile and Ruggles H. 

A. J. MYRLAND, district attorney of 
Burnett county, and a prominent business 
man of Grantsburg, was born Jan. 15, 1861, 
in Norway, son of Ole S. and Othine H. 
(Sellevold) Myrland, natives of Norway. 
Ole S. Myrland was a fisherman, and fol- 
lowed the sea from thirteen years old until 
his thirty-third year. He came to America 
in 1866, and located in Primrose, Dane Co.,. 



-46 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



Wis., where he farmed until his death in 
1893. His widow is now hving in Leroy, 
Minn., with a son. Mr. Myrland was a 
member of the Lutheran Churcli. He and 
his wife had nine children, only two of 
whom are now living, namely : August J. ; 
and Knute S., a farmer of Leroy, Minne- 
sota. 

August J. Myrland was educated in the 
home schools, remaining at home until 
twenty-one years of age, when he went to 
Milton College for two years^ and then to 
the University of Wisconsin, from which 
he was graduated in 1890. He then taught 
school for two years in Dane county, W'is., 
and was principal of the Belleville high 
school, at Belleville, Wis., for five years. He 
then attended the University Law school at 
Madison, and was admitted to the Bar in 
1896. He taught school at Glen wood, Minn., 
until February, 1897, at which time he came 
to Grantsburg. 

Mr. Myrland was married in Dane 
county. Wis., Aug. 21, 1890, to Lena B. 
Anderson, of Perry, Dane Co., Wis., and to 
this union have been born: Arthur L., Ruth 
H., Otto E., James C. and Mina M. After 
locating in Grantsburg Mr. Myrland took 
up tiie practice of law, was elected district 
attorney for Burnett county in the fall of 
1898, and has served in that office to the 
■present time. He has been school clerk for 
seven years, village attorney for eight 
years, secretary of the Farmers' Starch Co., 
for four years, and is interested in a num- 
ber of other business enterprises. Politically 
he is a staunch Republican, and attended 
the State conventions of 1900 and 1902. 
He is a member of the Modern Woodmen 
of Grantsburg; and of the I. O. O. F., No. 
225, Grantsburg. He attends the Methodist 
Ghurch. 

In April, 1901, Mr. Myrland purchased 
a one-half interest in the Burnett County 
Sentinel, which was established in 1875, ^"^^ 
lie is now the editor of this publication. 
In March, 1903, he was appointed member 
of the board of Regents of the University 
of Wisconsin from the nth congressional 
district for the term of three vears. 



EDMUND RUFUS OTIS (deceased), 
for many years a well-known official of Su- 
perior, was a descendant of one of the his- 
toric families of New England. He was 
born near Au Sable Forks, at Clintonville, 
Clinton Co., N. Y., Nov. 28, 1834, and died 
in January, 1902, in Superior. His parents 
were Thomas JefTerson and Rebecca C. 
(Pratt) Otis, natives, respectively, of Ver- 
mont and New York State. 

The American ancestor of the Otis fam- 
ily was Richard Otis, who was imprisoned 
in Boston as a non-conformist for several 
months after his arrival in this country 
from England. On his release he became 
an elector, and was registered as such in 
1661. Somewhat later, Richard Otis with 
two other families founded the town of 
Dover, N. H., where his block house stood 
on what is known as Otis Hill. His son 
Richard was killed in his own home by the 
Indians during the French and Indian war, 
and his daughter was taken as a captive to 
Canada, where she was forced to marry a 
I'Yenchman. On the latter's death she re- 
turned to New Hampshire and married a 
Mr. Wentworth. Three sons of Richard 
Otis were away in the Maine woods at the 
time of his death, and on their return made 
war on the Indians in revenge. 

John Otis, a brother of Richard, was the 
father of James Otis, the famous patriot- 
orator. Several members of the family 
served in the Revolution and in other wars. 
The father of Thomas J. Otis lost a leg in 
the war of 181 2, Thomas J. Otis himself 
was a first lieutenant of New York Artillery 
during the Mexican war, and his sons Will- 
iam and George were in the Civil war. 
William was killed in the service; George 
became a captain in the 2d Wis. V. I., and 
later a colonel. Thomas J. Otis died at 
Austin, Minn., in 1881, at the age of sev- 
enty-three; his wife, Rebecca C. (Pratt) 
Otis, died aged seventy-two, in 1884, at 
McGregor, Iowa. Her father, who was a 
carpenter by trade, and died in Reeseville, 
N. Y., lost a leg in the Battle of Lake 
Champlain. 

Edmund Rufus Otis attended the public 



COM^IEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



47 



schools, a select school at Baxter Springs. 
N. Y., and the Elmira Academy, graduating 
when he was sixteen. He went into a news- 
paper office at Corning, X. Y., and after a 
few months began writing editorials, in 
1 85 1 he went to Racine, Wis., and spent 
about tw® years there and at Kenosha. In 
1855 he started the Hudson Star, at Idud- 
son, Wis., a paper which is still published. 
This paper Mr. Otis sold, and then founded 
the Mineral Point Democrat. When the 
war broke out he was doing editorial work- 
on the St. Louis Republican. He at once 
enlisted in the Home Guards, and later was 
made first lieutenant. Company B, 8th Mo. 
V. I. He became captain of Company H. of 
the same regiment, but after two years re- 
signed on account of ill-health. Capt. Otis 
commanded the skirmish line at Fort Donel- 
son, and led his company at Shiloh and in 
other engagements, acquitting himself as a 
gallant soldier. Much time was spent on the 
march, entailing considerable suffering for 
lack of water, food and shelter. A year or 
two after the war Major Otis, as he was 
called, resumed newspaper work at St. Paul, 
and he went in 1886 to Bismarck, N. Dak., 
where for about a year he published the 
Journal. Then he located in Superior, de- 
voting his attention to newspaper corre- 
spondence and to real estate. His first visit 
to Superior had been in 1856, when he ac- 
companied the president and engineer of the 
St. Croix & Superior Railroad Cortipany, 
in the effort to secure terminal grounds on 
Allouez Bay. This road was the predecessor 
of the Omaha railroad, which follows 
practically the same route originally con- 
templated between Superior and St. Paul. 
From 1890 until his death Mr. Otis served 
as justice of the peace, doing most of the 
business in that line at the Old Town ; more 
than two thousand cases were brought be- 
fore him, and he married over two hundred 
couples. He was also a notary public and 
did considerable conveyancing and abstract 
work at intervals. 

In 1857 Major Otis married Emma A. 
Jewell, who was born in New Hampshire, a 
daughter of Trueworthy Jewell^ one of the 



early settlers of St. Croix county. Wis. To 
Major and Mrs. Otis were born one son 
and three daughters : Ira C, an engineer in 
the United States surveyor general's office 
at Olympia, Wash. ; Grace, who is Mrs. 
Birchell, of St. Paul; and Alice E. and 
Pearl L. A., of Superior. 

Mr. Otis was nearly all his life a sup- 
porter of the Democratic party. He was a 
member of the second village council of 
Superior, and prominent in the Grand Army 
of the Republic. 

GEORGE M. CARNACHAN, M. D., 
physician, postmaster and president of the 
village board of Bruce, Rusk Co., Wis., and 
one of the leading citizens of the section, 
was born March 7, 1857, at Glasgow, Scot- 
land, a son of Rev. J. G. and Mary M. 
(Macfarlane) Carnachan. 

The late distinguished father of Dr. 
Carnachan, Rev. J. C. Carnachan, LL. D., 
was a native of Scotland and spent nine years 
in the University of Glasgow, entering the 
ministry of the Presbyterian Church in 1854. 
In 1856 he came to America, and in seek- 
ing congenial surroundings for settlement, 
selected Tioga county. Pa., where he was 
joined by his family in the following year. 
He entered upon ministerial work and ac- 
ceptably ministered to congregations at 
Troy, Danville and Meadville. He became 
widely known for his piety and learning, 
so much so that the degree of LL. D. was 
conferred on him by the University of 
Naples, Italy, through examination by a 
specially appointed commission. Several 
years previous to his death, failing health 
compelled relinquishment of active work, and 
he passed to his final reward at Meadville, 
Oct. 21, 1903. 

Dr. Carnachan is fortunate in inheriting 
many of the qualities of heart and mind so 
conspicuous in his noted father. He was 
given a careful educational training in the 
public schools and Allegheny College, at 
Meadville, Pa., completing the same when 
but eighteen years old. In 1875 he matri- 
culated at the Louisville (Ky.) Medical Col- 
lege, where he took three consecutive 



48 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



courses, supplemented by two regular courses 
pursued during the summer time in the Ken- 
tucky School of Medicine and was graduated 
first honor man and the youngest of a class 
of seventy, Feb. 27, 1878. In a competitive 
test he won the gold medal prize for general 
proficienc}', as well as a silver medal as a 
thesis prize. These were honors indeed, as 
he was obliged to contend with an unusually 
brilliant set of young men. So thoroughly 
had he digested the instruction imparted to 
him, that his work was recognized at once 
by his being tendered the position of house 
physician to the Louisville City Hospital, 
after successfully passing a rigid competitive 
examination. Here he remained one year 
and then opened an otiice in Louisville, where 
he entered upon a general practice and re- 
mained in that beautiful city until the fall 
of 1881. 

Dr. Carnachan removed then to Bentley, 
111., where he was in active practice for ten 
years, coming in 1891 to Bruce. This was 
then but a hamlet, its population for the most 
part made up of lumber men and for a long 
time he was the only settled physician be- 
tween Barron and Rhinelander. Here for 
fourteen years Dr. Carnachan has success- 
fully practiced his profession and has es- 
tablished a reputation as a physician and a 
public-spirited citizen. In 1898 he opened 
his Model drug store, than which no other in 
northern Wisconsin is better entitled to the 
name. In 1897 he was appointed postmaster 
of Bruce, and in 1902 was elected president 
of the village, being re-elected in 1903 and 
1904. Upon several occasions he has been 
treasurer of the school board and has held 
other relations to the municipality. 

In politics Dr. Carnachan is an acti\'e 
Republican, taking a deep interest in public 
matters, as becomes a worthy citizen, and 
upon numerous occasions represented his 
party as a delegate at county conventions. 
Fraternally he is a member of the Knights 
of Pythias and was the first Chancellor 
Commander of Chippewa Valley Lodge of 
Bruce, Wis. He belongs also to the bene- 
ficiary order of the Maccabees. Dr. Carna- 
chan is surgeon to both the Arpin and the 



Beldenville Lumber Companies; is examin- 
ing surgeon for all the insurance companies 
doing business in Bruce and vicinity ; for 
almost all of the leading beneficiary organi- 
zations, and is a member of the Board of 
Pension Examiners at Bruce, Wis. He is 
one of the men of affairs of the locality, one 
whose interests also are centered here. He 
has fostered many of the successful enter- 
prises of the place and has watched the 
growth of its material prosperity from al- 
UKJst the beginning. That he may live many 
years and see the fruition of his hopes and 
the completion of his enterprises for the 
benefit of this community, is the universal 
wish of his many admiring friends. 

In 1878 Dr. Carnachan was united in 
marriage with Mrs. Susan Salisbury. There 
is no living issue to this marriage. Dr. and 
Mrs. Carnachan have an adopted son, 
Robert W. 

HON. W. S. MANNING, County 
Judge, vice-president of the State Bank, at 
Ladysmith, and a prominent dealer in real 
estate, is one of the leading citizens of this 
section of Wisconsin. 

Judge Manning was born Aug. 26, 1835, 
in Sheboygan County, Wis., a son of E. D. 
and Elizabeth (Shaugen) Manning, the 
former of whom was born at Saratoga, N. 
Y., the latter at Morristown, New Jersey. 

His father dying in his youth, E. D. 
Manning accompanied his mother, then Mrs. 
Jacob Ling, to this State, and settled in 
Sheboygan County, in 1848. In this county 
he married and lived until 1856, when he and 
his wife removed to Baraboo, a year later 
going to Richland county, where they settled 
permanently. The father died in i8g8, aged 
seventy years, and the mother is still surviv- 
ing and residing on the old homestead there. 
Mr. Manning was a man of afi^airs and held 
numerous ofirces. 

Judge Manning is the eldest of his par- 
ents' five children. He was reared on his 
father's farm and remained at home until 
maturity, obtaining his education in attend- 
ance at the common and high schools of 
Richland county. At the age of seventeen 





'(2yvi/yuyLu. 







THE KEW -YUKK 
PUBLIC LIBRARY 



ASTOR, LENOX 
TILDEN tOUKDATiONS 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



49 



he began teaching in the public schools, and 
followed this profession for some sixty 
months. Dnring this time he employed spare 
moments in tlie stndy of law, and finally en- 
tered the office of Clark & Jackson, as a 
stndent. They were prominent attorneys at 
Plymouth, AVis., and were his office pre- 
ceptors one year. He was admitted to the 
Piar in October, iS8o. and immediately 
opened a law office at Muscoda, Wis., for 
the succeeding nine years closely applying 
himself to the demands of his profession. 

In 1889 Judge Manning became asso- 
ciated with E. I. Kidd, formerly State Bank 
examiner, Atley Peterson, State Railroad 
commissioner, J. O. Davidson, now lieuten- 
ant-governor of Wisconsin, W. H. Bennett, 
B. F. Washburn, Ole O. Dahl and A. C. V. 
Elston, in the organization of the Kickapoo 
Valley and Northern Railway, now the Wis- 
consin \A'estern and a part of the Milwaukee 
system. Mr. Manning was the active man- 
ager of this company, and they completed 
thirty-four of the fifty-one miles between 
Soldiers' Grove and Wauzeka, finishing their 
contract in 1891. In 1895 he went to Ken- 
tucky, where he had a contract for the con- 
struction of twenty-five miles of road, which 
is now operated by the Louisville & Nash- 
ville Company. After the completion of this 
second contract, Mr. Manning returned to 
Wisconsin, and became cashier of a bank 
at Soldiers' Grove ; he served in that capac- 
ity until 1900, when he came to Ladysmith 
as the representative of the J. L. Gates Land 
Co., of Milwaukee. The place was then a 
hamlet, with seventy-four residents by actual 
count, and was known as the village of War- 
ner. Here Judge Manning was confronted 
with a business opportunity, which he was 
not slow to take advantage of. Prior to this 
there had been much agitation concerning a 
division from Chippewa County, and the 
question had been before the Legislature. It 
needed but the enterprise of an energetic and 
forceful man. like Judge Manning, to take 
the matter in hand. He saw its expediency 
and became the champion of the bill, and 
went before the Legislature of 1900 as the 
representative of those interested. He la- 
4 



bored during the whole session and it was 
largely through his efforts that the bill was 
finally passed authorizing the division which 
was accomplished in May, 1901. 

About this time Gov. LaFollette named 
Mr. Manning for the position of County 
Judge, his present term to extend until 1906. 
He has dealt extensively in the Gates Com- 
pany's lands and continues to be one of the 
company's representatives, having also large 
personal holdings. He has been very active 
in encouraging emigration and has been the 
direct means of locating many desirable set- 
tlers in this county. 

In politics Judge Manning is a Democrat, 
and for many years has been one of the ac- 
knowledged party workers. He has served 
as delegate for his party to State and other 
con\-entions, and was twice a candidate for 
district attorney. Fraternally he is a Mason, 
one of the organizers and charter members 
of the Mystic Tie Lodge, No. 280. of which 
he was the first master ; is a Knight Templar, 
De Molai Commandery. of Boscobel. Wis., 
and belongs to the order of Odd Fellows, 
being connected with the Ladysmith Lodge 
of that organization. 

In 1880 Judge Manning was united in 
marriage with Miss Ida M. Elston, and their 
two children died in infancy. An adopted 
daughter. Frances C, is given parental care 
and a good home. In 1900 Judge Manning 
built a handsome modern house, on a beauti- 
ful point overlooking the Flambeau river. 

EDWARD B. GLASS, one of the 
oldest surviving pioneers of Minnesota and 
a participant in many of the historic events 
at the Head of the Lakes, comes of a long 
line of New England sea-faring ancestors. 
He was born in Guilford, Piscataquis Co., 
Maine. July 31. 1832. and his first visit to 
the Lake region occurred in 1853. when he 
came to assist in negotiating a treaty with 
the Red Cliff Indians on Apostle Islands, 
and on this trip he spent a night each in 
Superior and Fond du Lac. 

Sidney Glass, his grandfather, was born 
at New Gloucester, Mass.. and in active life 
followed the sea. He served in the war of 



5» 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



the Revolution, and was wounded in service 
under Admiral John Raul Jones. He at- 

. tained the remarkable age of one hundred 

. and thirteen years, and died at Guilford, 
Maine. 

Ezekiel Glass, son of Sidney and father 

. of Edward B., was, like his father, a sea- 
faring man. When the war of 1812 was at 
hand, he entered the army, and participated 
in some of the decisive events of that 
struggle, and was present at the battle of 
Lundy's Lane. He married Sabina Byron, 
also of a representative New England 
family. 

Edward B. Glass left home at the age of 
fourteen years, and went to New Orleans, 
making the journey by water. He obtained 
work on a Mississippi river steamer, ply- 
ing between that place and St. Paul, and after 
:a time he entered the United States govern- 
ment employ under Major Harriman, agent 
for the Chippewa Indians at Crow Wing, 
Minn. In that connection he remained five 
years, finding much to interest him in his 
work and in the country. After assisting 
to remove the tribe to White Earth, he 
worked some at logging on the Chippewa 
Reservation. At the outbreak of the Sioux 
war, he enlisted under Col. Northrup, and 
for two and a half years served as scout, his 
previous experience with the Indians ren- 
dering his services at this time invaluable. 
At Fort Ransom he helped to rescue the 
prisoners taken by the savages at New LUm. 
In 1869 Mr. Glass located at Superior, Wis.. 
where for four years he engaged in log- 
ging, and then moved to Duluth, Minn. 
There he erected the first hotel on Rice's 
Point, the building still standing a monu- 
ment to the memory of those early days. 
After a year there he spent two years in 
Houghton, Mich., and two years in Canada. 
About 1875 he came to Fond du Lac, where 

; he invested in real estate and conducted a 
market garden for many years, meeting with 
much success. A man of strong character, 
it was but natural that he should be con- 
spicuous in public affairs, and in a short 
time after he located in Fond du Lac, his 

•.name was familiar. He is a Democrat in 



politics, and for a number of years he served 
as deputy sherifif of St. Louis county. He 
is simple and direct in his manner, and his 
integrity has never been questioned. From 
1900 to 1904 he lived in the West End, and 
he now resides in a comfortable home in 
Fond du Lac. 

In 1854 Mr. Glass was married to Miss 
Cynthia Gray, who was born in Calais, 
Maine, and died in Duluth, Minn., July 24, 
1892, aged fifty-five years. She was a mem- 
ber of the Methodist Church. Twelve chil- 
dren were born of this marriage, six of 
whom are living ; Edward, of Two Harbors, 
Minn. ; Angelia, Mrs. W. W. Scott, of Du- 
luth ; Norah, Mrs. B. F. Bishop, of Bemidji, 
Minn. ; Fred, of Rice River, ^linn. ; Hugh, 
of Two Harbors, Minn. ; and Ida, Mrs. C. 
A. Runquist, of Fond du Lac. Mr. Glass 
has thirty-two grandchildren. Mrs. Glass's 
father, Reuben Gray, also a native of Calais, 
Maine, now resides in Brainerd, Minn., at 
the age of ninety-four years. 

ALBERT A. GEARHART. The city 
of Medford, Taylor county, has been fortun- 
ate that among its earliest pioneers came this 
enterprising and public-spirited citizen, who 
has done much to further the improvement 
and development of the place. Energetic, 
industrious and far-sighted, he is a man 
to command success, and his unswerving in- 
tegrity has won for him the respect of all 
who know him. Going to the present city 
of Medford, when there was but one house 
there, his career has been largely identified 
with that of the town. 

Charles Henry Gearhart, father of Al- 
bert A., was born in Livingston county, N. 
Y., of Pennsylvania Dutch lineage. He mar- 
ried Miss Louise Tabor, who was born in 
the same county, of New England parentage. 
Mrs. Gearhart is still living, in her eighty- 
second year, and can still read without the 
aid of glasses. 

Charles Gearhart went to Wisconsin in 
1855 and settled in W^aukesha county, where 
he was engaged in lumbering and farming. 
When the Civil war broke out. he enlisted 
in the 6th Wis. Light Artillery, and served 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



51 



about two years. Three of his brothers were 
also in the Union ranks. Since the war Mr. 
Gearhart has been occupied as a hotel keeper 
and has managed establishments at Med- 
ford, Plainfield and Chelsea, remaining at 
the last place for some time. He and his wife 
are at present residents of W'ausau, Wiscon- 
sin. 

Albert A. Gearhart was born at Xunda, 
Livingston Co., N. Y., Aug. 30. 1855, but 
was reared and educated in Wisconsin. He 
was only nineteen when he first reached 
Medford, and at tliat time there was one 
small frame house on what is now Main 
street, and a sawmill in the process of con- 
struction, to serve as an apology^ for a town. 
Mr. Gearhart was employed as a shingle 
sawyer in the mill and worked there for a 
number of years, imder several successive 
owners. In 1883 Mr. Gearhart remo\-ed 
to Chelsea and dealt in general merchandise 
for a time, but finally returned to his former 
occupation and from 1889 to 1899 operated 
a sawmill there, in which he produced the 
first hemlock lumber on the line of the Wis- 
consin Central Railroad. He invested quite 
heavily in wild land in the vicinity of Chel- 
sea, and still owns a considerable amount 
of it. 

The Wisconsin Central in 1899 engaged 
Mr. Gearhart as its timber inspector and the 
first of May of that year he returned to 
Medford. and has since made it his home. 
Always a Republican in his political princi- 
ples, he has done his part in the city's service, 
even as he had previously done in Chelsea. 
In the latter place he served for eight or 
ten years as town treasurer and for nine 
years as school clerk, refusing to be again 
elected to the latter office. After his return 
to Medford, in the fall of 1900, Mr. Gear- 
hart was elected county treasurer and was 
so efficient an officer that he was returned to 
the place in 1902. At present he is also a 
member of the city council, from the second 
ward, and is one of the committee on streets 
for that body, which is making such great 
improvements in the city's thoroughfares. 
It is only one of the many instances in which 



his time and powers have been used for Med- 
ford's betterment. 

On May 9, 1878, Mr. Gearhart and Miss 
Catherine Coyne were united in marriage. 
Mrs. Gearhart was the daughter of John 
and Bridget Coyne, of Fond du Lac. Mr. 
and ]\Irs. Gearhart are Catholics and the 
family attend the church of that denomina- 
tion. He was a member of the building com- 
mittee which erected the present Catholic 
Church, a fine brick edifice which is a credit 
to the city. Mr. and Mrs. Gearhart have 
one child, a son, named i\lbert. 

BRONSON MURRAY PEYTON, 
President of the Superior State Bank, is 
the son of pioneer residents of the city, 
and is descended from the famous Peyton 
family of Virginia, where his ancestors set- 
tled in Colonial days in the vicinity of Rich- 
mond. 

Born in Superior, Aug. 25, 1870, the 
son of Hamilton Murray and Martha (New- 
ton) Peyton, Mr. Peyton was christened 
Bronson Murray after his paternal grand- 
father. His father came to Superior from 
(ieneva, N. Y., about 1856 and was one of 
the pioneers of the place. For several years 
he conducted a private bank, under the firm 
name of H. M. Peyton & Co., and also did 
a large insurance business. In 1876 he re- 
moved to Duluth and organized the Ameri- 
can Exchange Bank, one of the leading 
linancial institutions there, in which he is still 
interested and of which he has been presi- 
dent for some years. Mr. Peyton is also 
still connected with the lumber firm of Pey- 
ton, Kimball & Barber, one of the oldest 
lumlier firms at the Head of the Lakes, 
his connection with which dates back to a 
time previous to his going to Duluth. Airs. 
Martha (Newton) Peyton belongs to one 
of the pioneer families of Superior, who have 
played quite as prominent a part in the city's 
vouth as the Peytons. She is the mother of 
eight children, Mary, William R., Josephine, 
Bronson M., Martha Murray, Hamilton 
Howe, Alice Harriet and John Newton. 
The family are connected with the Episcopal 



52 



COMMEA'IORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



Churcli and are leaders in its various activ- 
ities. 

Bronson M. Peyton attended tirst the 
public schools of Superior and then spent 
two years at Shattuck Military School, 
Faribault, Minn. When seventeen years 
old he was given a position in his father's 
bank in Duluth, and after thoroughly learn- 
ing all the details of banking business, in 
1897 he opened the Superior Bank, of which 
he was owner and manager, until its in- 
corporation as a State Bank in 1903. This 
is the only bank in the old town and trans- 
acts all kinds of banking and insurance 
business. Three years after opening this 
bank, he established the Bank of Chisholm, 
in Chisholm, Minn., of which he was the 
chief owner, until June, 1902, at which time 
he sold his interest in it to A. H. Grieser. 
A Democrat in politics until 1896, in that 
year Mr. Peyton became a Republican, his 
adherence to sound money views naturally 
drawing him over to the party which repre- 
sented business stability. In neither party, 
however, has he ever been an office seeker, 
though always manifesting great interest in 
local and national issues. 

On July 2, 1902^ Mr. Peyton was mar- 
ried to Anna Evelyn Phillips of Amster- 
dam, N. Y. They have one child, Hamil- 
ton Stewart. 

EUGENE F. PRINCE, who is now 
living in practical retirement in Ashland, is 
one of the pioneer settlers of that growing 
city. He was born at Bangor, Maine, Oct. 
17, 1832, son of John R. and Eliza (Wes- 
ton) Prince, natives of that State. 

John R. Prince was born April 3, 1809, 
and died in Erie county, N. Y., June 16, 
1870. In the spring of 1834 he removed 
to Buffalo, N. Y., becoming secretary of the 
Buffalo Ship Yard & Dry Dock Company, 
with which he was connected for a number 
of years. He then retired to a farm in Erie 
county, where he passed the balance of his 
life. He was a man of much business 
ability. The political questions of the day 
interested him, and while living in Buffalo 



he exerted considerable influence in lx;hal£ 
of the Republican party. 

Eugene F. Prnice attended the public 
scliools of Buffalo, and at the age of thir- 
teen years began his commercial career as 
an assistant in the office of his father, whom 
he afterward succeeded as bookkeeper and 
secretary of the concern. During the panic 
of 1857 the firm became financially involved, 
and, resigning his position, he came to Ash- 
land, Wis., bringing with him from 
Buffalo the sash, doors and other finish- 
ings for a house. Arriving upon the 
site of the future city he purchased 
a lot, and cut therefrom sufficient tim- 
ber for the frame of his dwelling, which 
was soon ready for occupancy. This was the 
first frame house erected in the village, and 
though it has since been remodeled and en- 
larged it is still his home. He also bought 
a stock of goods, and at once engaged in 
the Indian fur trade in conjunction with 
his brother-in-law, Martin Beaser, and later 
with another brother-in-law, Capt. John G. 
Parker, of Ontonagon, Mich.,. a well known 
pioneer in Lake Superior navigation. Mr. 
Prince continued to be interested in this 
enterprise until 1870, trading posts being 
maintained at several different points on the 
lake, though the business languished for a 
time owing to the general business depres- 
sion, which was not felt in the Upper Lake 
Region until two years after his arrival. 
About this time he was called to Buffalo 
to assist in settling the affairs of his former 
employers, after which he became purser of 
the steamer "City of Cleveland," which was 
owned by the same parties, and which plied 
between Milwaukee, Grand Haven and Chi- 
cago. In the fall of 1859 h^ entered the em- 
ploy of another company — which operated 
the steamers "Illinois,"' "Mineral Rock" and 
"General Taylor" — as purser of the last 
named vessel, plying between Detroit and 
Ontonagon. About Dec. i, of that year, 
navigation having closed for the season, 
he walked through three feet of snow from 
the last named port to his home in Ashland, 
where he spent the winter with a few neigh- 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



53 



bers, including ]\Iartin Beaser, Asaph Wliit- 
tlesey, Conrad Goeltz, Austin and Nathan 
Courser, and their famihes. A few othei 
families spent the winter at Bay City, now 
a part of Ashland. The following April he 
returned on foot to Ontonagon, where he 
took stage to Houghton, thence to Green 
Bay, from which place he was able to pro- 
ceed by rail, reaching Detroit in time for 
the opening of navigation on the lakes. He 
spent several more seasons on the lakes as 
purser of the "Mineral Rock" and other 
vessels, including the ill fated "Pewabic," 
which sank soon after he had severed his 
connection with it, owing to a collision with 
the "Meteor," a disaster in which one hun- 
dred lives were lost. In the fall of i860 he 
removed his family to Ontonagon, and made 
his home there for the next ten years, dur- 
ing a part of which period he was engaged 
in mercantile business at that place. For 
two years more he was agent for the United 
States Express Company at Duluth, after 
which he organized the Lake Superior Ex- 
press Company, with headquarters at Ash- 
land, which has been his home continuously 
since 1872. Upon the completion of the 
Wisconsin Central railroad to that place he 
became the agent of the American Express 
Company, so continuing for eight years. 
He subsequently started a brickyard and 
manufactured the first brick ever made in 
Ashland, and he also dealt in furniture for 
several years. For a score of years past he 
has been a member of the board of educa- 
tion, and for a good part of that period has 
served as secretary of the board. He is en- 
titled to no inconsiderable credit for the de- 
velopment of the excellent school system 
which is the pride of Ashland. In the sum- 
mer of 1901 he took a thorough school 
census, visiting every house in the city in 
person, and thereby adding considerably to 
the income from the State school fund. In 
1873 he was elected clerk of the Circuit court 
and served two terms in that capacity. 
While living at Ontonagon he served sev- 
eral years as deputy customs collector of 
that port. Whatever official duties he has 
iindertaken have been faithfully and capably 



discharged. He has always been an en- 
thusiastic disciple of Izaak Walton, and 
spends most of his leisure time upon the 
trout streams adjacent to his home. He has 
given much time to horticulture, and has 
demonstrated the practicability of produc- 
ing in abundance many varieties of fruit 
and vegetables in a climate formerly sup- 
posed to be too severe for their successful 
culture. 

Mr. Prince was married, in 1852, to 
Matilda O. Beebe, daughter of Ephraim and 
Elizabeth (Taylor) Beebe, of Cattaraugus 
county, N. Y. Mr. Beebe was a farmer in 
New York, but passed his later life at On- 
tonagon. Of five children born to Mr. and 
Mrs. Prince four survive: Eugenia De F. 
(wife of W. R. Durfee, a well-known lum- 
berman of Ashland), John R., Roy B. and 
Faith Winifred. All have been carefully 
educated, and the sons are filling responsible 
jj'jsitions in business. Mr. and Mrs. Prince 
celebrated their golden wedding Feb. 11, 
1902, all the family being present. 

BYRON RIPLEY, cashier of the Iron 
River Bank, with the public spirit char- 
acteristic of the best Americans, while al- 
ways extensively occupied with the business 
cares incidental to his position, has yet also 
maintained a keen interest in politics, and 
has been active in all movements for the 
public good, his achievements fitting him for 
effective work in any sphere. 

Mr. Ripley was born in 1850, in Brock- 
\ille. Out., where he remained until he was 
eighteen years old, attending the public 
schools, when he went to Conneaut, Ohio, 
and entered an academy from which he was 
graduated later. After leaving the academy 
he remained at Conneaut until 1872, en- 
gaged in the milling business. In that year 
he went to Port Austin. Mich., where for 
nine years he continued his previous occu- 
pation as a miller. In 1881 he went into 
the law office of George S. Engle & Com- 
])any. of Port Austin, with whom he read 
law for four years. Y\t the end of that time 
he left Michigan, and in company with Mr. 
Engle went to Aberdeen, Brown Co., S. 



54 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



D. ; the)' were engaged there in a loaning' 
and collection agency for a year and then 
Mr. Ripley decided to try his fortunes else- 
where. Removing to Roscoe, S. D., he 
bought a hotel and carried it on for four 
years, operating in connection with it a stage 
line from Ipswich to Le Beau, lOO miles 
west, on the east side of the Missouri river. 
In 1890 he undertook tlie management of a 
hotel in West Superior, at the time when the 
boom was at its height, and then in the course 
of the following year he settled in Iron 
River. 

At that time there was properly speaking 
no town there, as it was merely the western 
terminal of the South Shore Road. Its 
growth, however, was rapid, and it soon be- 
came a flourishing little town. Mr. Ripley 
was appointed deputy postmaster, and held 
that position some time. In 1892 he estab- 
lished the first newspaper in town. The Iron 
River Times; at first he was associated with 
Mr. J. A. Munger. of Ashland, as editor. 
l)ut before long he bought Air. Munger out 
and continued the publication until he sold it 
in 1897. The paper was Republican in its 
tone. After giving up his newspaper work 
he bought an interest in the bank, and has 
since been identified with it in the capacity of 
cashier and vice president; its bu.siness is of 
a general banking character. 

Mr. Ripley is a strong Republican in 
his view^s. and while never an active politi- 
cian, he has displayed much interest in pul)- 
lic affairs, and has been a delegate to numer- 
ous conventions. 

In 1872, at the time of his removal to 
Port Austin, Mr. Ripley was married to 
Miss Mary Patrick, daughter of Samuel Pat- 
rick, of that place. Only one son has come 
to them, George W., born in 1879, and now 
cashier of the Iron River Bank. There is 
also resident in Iron River, a brother of Mr. 
Ripley, who came there in 1893 ^"fl lives 
on a farm, where his mother makes her home 
with liim. The father, Thomas Ripley, was 
a native of Connecticut, but went to Canada 
when a young man. and afterwards removed 
to Huron county, Alich., where he died in 
1883. 



HORACE SAXTON, whose memory- 
will long be re\ered liy the older citizens of 
the two upper lake cities, was a character 
unique in all those qualities of mind and 
heart that give force and character to the 
man. Pie w^as native of a locality out of 
wdiich strong men were born and fitted for 
the arduous duties that de\-olved on such 
of them as took part in subduing and de- 
veloping the great West. New Haven, 
Conn., where he was born Jan. i, 1806, is 
justly noted as the birthplace of many men 
who became conspicuous in nearly all the 
affairs of life, with which men have to do. 
His life until his tenth year was passed 
there receiving in the public schools an ele- 
mentary education. About 181 6 his pa- 
rents. Horace Saxton. Sr.. and his wife, 
Harriet (Pritchard), his mother, moved to 
Talmadge. Ohio, then on the borders of 
western civilization, where the elder Sax- 
ton took up a large farm and passed the re- 
mainder of his life, dying at the age of sev- 
enty-five years. His widow survived him, 
her death occurring wdien she was nearly one 
hundred years of age. 

Upon the parental homestead. Horace 
Saxton lived with his parents for a number 
of years and aided in the development of the 
farm. After attaining his majority he went 
to Norwalk. Ohio, where he became a 
builder and architect, which business he fol- 
lowed there and at Toledo, Ohio, for a num- 
ber of years. In this business he was quite 
successful, accumulating modest means 
which encouraged him to seek the surpass- 
ing opportunities offered in the great Upper 
Lake Region, then being opened up for set- 
tlement. Accordingly in 1853 he went to 
Superior where he assumed charge of the 
erection of some of the first buildings ])ut 
up by the original town site company. He 
was active in the affairs of the new town 
and in 1855 was appointed keeper of the 
first light house erected at the Superior en- 
try which was the home of the family for 
nine years. The family moved to Minne- 
sota Point in the spring of 1864, taking up 
its abode near the main land, wdiere the 
canal was since constructed. At that time 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



03 



tliere were onlv se\'en houses in Upper and 
Lower Duluth. He foresaw that Duhith 
was destined to become in the future a Ijusy 
mart of trade and commerce, and accord- 
ingly he invested such means as he possessed 
in what seemed eligible property. After a 
residence of some years upon the p(.)int. he 
moved to a home which he had erected in 
Second street. Into all the affairs of the 
new city he entered with characteristic 
energy, and was a leading spirit in every en- 
terprise that in his judgment tended to 
hasten the development of the embryo city. 
His abilities were recognized by his towns- 
men, and he was called by them to fill num- 
erous official positions of responsibility and 
trust, among which may be mentioned coun- 
ty commissioner and alderman. He was not 
what is now considered an active politician, 
and never a seeker after political prefer- 
ments, excepting those only which he deemed 
it a duty to assume. In his early life he 
was a Whig, and an ardent admirer of Will- 
iam Henry Harrison, upon one occasion 
driving from Norwalk to Sandusky to en- 
joy the privilege of shaking hands with his 
ideal man and statesman. Mr. Saxton was 
one of the leading promoters of the Lake 
Superior and Mississippi Railroad, now 
know as the St. Paul & Duluth. His activ- 
ity in this enterprise occasioned his presence 
at several legislative sessions in St. Paul, 
where he exerted his influence for the 
furtherance of a scheme which he deemetl 
vitally essential when developed to the 
growth and prosperity of Duluth. This ex- 
perience brought him into direct contact with 
the leading public men of his State, out of 
which grew acquaintanceships which endured 
until terminated by his death August ii, 
1895. He was a man of strong convictions. 
He had keen, discriminating judgment, and 
he unerringly detected whatever of sham 
and pretence appeared in a social or busi- 
ness proposition. He was honest to the core, 
and while not a member of any church, he 
rigidly observed the requirements of the 
Golden Rule, doing unto all men as he 
would be done by. 

Mr. Saxton was united in marriage, Jan. 



19, 1837, with Miss Eunice, daughter of 
1 lein'y and Eunice (Fairwell) Curtiss, of 
Bridgewater, N. Y. Mrs. Sa.xton joined her- 
husband at Superior in 1855, and is now ©ne: 
of the earliest surviving pioneers at the Head, 
of the Lakes. She is still quite vigorous of 
mind and body and describes graphically 
and interestingly many happenings occur- 
ring in the early history of Superior and 
Duluth. It was in her home that the first 
United States Land Officer in Duluth was 
established, as was also the first bank, which 
was opened by George C. Stone and Geo. B. 
Sargent. Mrs. Saxton is a woman of deep 
religious convictions, and was one of the 
first communicants of the Church of the Re- 
deemer at Superior, as well as of St. Paul's 
Episcopal Church of Duluth. To Mr. andL 
Mrs. Saxton were born seven children :, 
Louisa died at the age of eighteen years;. 
Julia died at the age of ten years ; Carrie' 
died at about the same age; Mary is Mrs.. 
Walter Van Brunt, of Duluth ; Cornelia is, 
Mrs. B. Gillette, of Interlaken, Florida;. 
Charles lives in Duluth ; Henry is a resident 
of Seattle, Wash. Mrs. Saxton has seven 
grandchildren, and fifteen great-grandchil- 
dren. 

CHARLES L. SAXTON represents a 
well-known pioneer family of Duluth. He 
was born Oct. 10, 1853, in Toledo, Ohio, 
son of Horace and Eunice Saxton, who came 
to the Head of the Lakes with their family 
when their son Charles was but two years 
old. He received his education in the public 
schools, and at the age of twenty years be- 
gan work with the famous surveyor, George 
R. Stuntze, with whom he continued until 
that gentleman's death. For nine years he 
was engaged as deputy county surveyor of 
St. Louis county, Minn., doing much work 
on government surveys in that county, and' 
he still follows his profession to some ex- 
tent, for individual property owners. His 
experience in this line has made him quite 
an authority in this section. For several 
years during his young manhood Mr. Sax- 
ton carried mail by dog team, on the ice,. 
from Superior to Duluth, when navigation- 



56 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



was closed. He has filled other positions 
of trust than tliose immediately connected 
with his special line of work, and has demon- 
strated his integrity and ability in every 
case. He is a lifelong Republican in politi- 
cal faith. 

In 1 88 1 Mr. Saxton married Miss Eva 
Peterson, daughter of S. \V. Peterson, an 
early settler of Duluth, who now lives at 
Chisago City, Minn. Mr. and Mrs. Saxton 
have one child, Eunice Louisa. 

CAPT. JAMES DUDLEY ROBIE 
(deceased) was a veteran of the Civil war, 
and for many years one of the foremost 
citizens of Superior, Douglas county. He 
was born in Monmouth, Maine, Jan. 20, 
1834, and died at Superior, March 11, 1892. 
Capt. Robie's parents came to Maine from 
New Hampshire, and Gov. Frederick Robie. 
of Maine, was a cousin of the Captain. 

When the war broke out, Capt. Robie 
left his position as overseer of the woolen 
mill at Lewiston, Maine, to enter the service. 
He helped to recruit Company B, 28th M. 
V. I., and was commissioned 2d lieutenant. 
He enlisted Sept. 10, 1862, and was mus- 
tered out Sept. 30, 1863. He saw much 
service near New Orleans and in Florida, 
and took command of the company during 
the illness of Capt. A. G. Stanley. The 
family has in its possession a solid silver 
cup which the Captain brought as a trophy 
from a plantation near New Orleans. After 
the war Capt. Robie resumed his occupation 
in the woolen mills at Lewiston, his resi- 
dence being at Monmouth. About 1870 he 
moved to Miller Station, Minn., where he 
carried on a shingle mill and served as post- 
master until 1 88 1. He then located at Su- 
perior, where he conducted a lumber busi- 
ness and dealt extensively in real estate. In 
West Superior Capt. Robie bought and sub- 
divided considerable property, erected many 
buildings, and did a general real estate busi- 
ness. His own home on Second street, near 
the Nemadji river, was built in 1888, and 
is perhaps the most substantial residence in 
Superior. 

The first marriage of Capt. Robie was 



to Anna Knight, daughter of Henry and 
Elizabeth Knight, and a native of New 
Hampshire. She died in Monmouth, Maine, 
leaving one son and two daughters : Horace 
D., of Superior; Elizabeth, Mrs. H. R. Tink- 
ham, of Duluth, now deceased ; and Georgia, 
Mrs. Howard, of Monmouth, Maine. Capt. 
Robie married (second) March 8, 1880, 
Mrs. M. E. Daniels, of Minneapolis, who 
was a daughter of T. T. Casey, a sea cap- 
tain of Halifax, N. S., who was lost at sea 
while his daughter was an infant. Most of 
her childhood was spent with a sister in 
Boston. Capt. Casey was born in Cork, 
Ireland, and located in Halifax in 1830. He 
married Mary Brookshaw, who was born 
in Montreal, of French descent, and died in 
Superior in 1886, aged seventy-two years. 
Capt. Robie was a Republican, attended 
many political conventions and exerted a 
marked influence on behalf of his party. He 
was one of the thirteen charter members of 
Alonzo Palmer Post, No. 170, G. A. R., 
at West Superior, of which he served as 
commander, and of which he was a most 
active memter. Robie Post, at Oldtown, 
was named in his honor. He was also a 
member of the K. P. Capt. Robie organ- 
ized the Robie Drum Corps of which he was 
leader, and by his request this drum corps 
played "The Star Spangled Banner" at his 
funeral. Capt. Robie was noted for his 
strict integrity, his kindly disposition, his 
Ijenevolence and his untiring energy in what- 
ever he undertook. 

COL. ELMER E. TENNANT, a repre- 
sentative business man of Ashland and ex- 
official of Ashland county, was born in Grand 
Rapids, Wis., May i, 1864. He is a son 
of Richard and Mary (Warren) Tennant, 
of Abbotts ford, Wisconsin. 

Richard Tennant was born in western 
New York, his American ancestor coming 
from the North of Ireland and settling in 
Massachusetts early in the eighteenth cen- 
tury. Rev. William Tennant, an early repre- 
sentative of the famil}', was a Presbyterian 
clergyman, who with others of the name 
came to this country as missionaries. Am- 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



57 



herst Tennant, the father of Richard, was 
a fanner in Xew Wivk and later in Wiscon- 
sin. He died at Grand Rapids, in the latter 
State, at the age of ninety-one years. 
Richard Tennant has devoted his life to agri- 
culture. He owns an extensive farm near 
Abbottsford, where he has lived since 1872, 
having been a pioneer settler in that locality. 
He is a man of good abilities, strong in his 
convictions, belonging to a representative 
type of men. His political affiliations are 
with the Republican party, which has hon- 
ored him with a number of local offices. 
Mrs. Mary (Warren) Tennant was born in 
Bath, N. Y. Her father, Joseph Warren, in 
early life followed boating and rafting on 
the Erie canal and the Susquehanna and 
Schuylkill rivers. About 1850 he came to 
Wisconsin, dying at Abbottsford in 1898, 
aged seventy-eight years. He was a direct 
descendant of Gen. Joseph Warren of 
Bunker Hill fame. To Mr. and Mrs. 
Richard Tennant were born six children, 
namely : Elmer E. ; Carrie, Mrs. Frank Hunt, 
of Abbottsford; Frank; Arthur; Melville; 
and Donald who was drowned in Minneap- 
olis, July 8, 1903, aged eighteen years. The 
surviving sons are all of Abbottsford and 
employes of the Wisconsin Central Railroad 
Company. 

Elmer E. Tennant lived with his parents 
at Dorchester before the Wisconsin Central 
Railway reached that point, and received 
his elementary education there in the public 
schools. During the school years of 18S4-5 
he attended the State Normal School at 
River Falls. During his early life he suc- 
cessfully taught in the public schools for 
eight years, acquiring an enviable reputa- 
tion as an instructor. In 1886 he came to 
Ashland to accept a position with a whole- 
sale mercantile company as shipping clerk. 
The following year he taught in the public 
schools and for another year he kept the 
Ixjoks of the Ashland Cigar and Tobacco 
Company. He was also interested in the 
shoe trade for a time and for eight years 
Avas connected with the First National Bank 
as assistant cashier. 

For several years Mr. Tennant has been 



especially interested in local military affairs 
pertaining to the National Guard of Wiscon- 
sin, in 1889 he assisted in organizing the 
Ashland Rifles, which later became Com- 
pany L, Second Regiment, Wisconsin Na- 
tional Guard. He quickly acquired ef- 
ficiency in military tactics, a recognition of 
which came Oct. 23, 1895, when he was 
commissioned ist lieutenant of the company. 
At the outbreak of the Spanish-American 
war, April 28, 1898, he with his command 
was mustered into the service of the Fed- 
eral Government and. May 12th following, 
he was commissioned ist lieutenant. Com- 
pany L, W. V. I. With his command he 
participated in the Porto Rico campaign, 
which had proceeded as far as Abonits Pass 
when news was received that hostilities had 
ceased and he returned to Ponce. With his 
regiment he had participated in the 
skirmish at Coamo. The regiment was dis- 
charged, Nov. 21, 1898. As a just recogni- 
tion of these services, he was appointed by 
Gov. La Follette an aide de camp upon the 
Governor's staff with the rank of colonel, 
June 26, 1 901, and participated in the drill 
at the annual encampment at Camp Douglas 
for the same season. Following his return 
from the Spanish war, he received the nom- 
ination for county treasurer at the hands of 
the Republican party, was duly elected and 
installed and reelected in 1900, serving four 
years in that position. Upon the expiration 
of his term of office in January, 1903, Mr. 
Tennant accepted the general agency of the 
Union Central Life Insurance Company of 
Cincinnati. He filled that position until 
June I, 1904, when he resigned and went 
to Kno.xville, Tenn.. with a view to engag- 
ing in coal mining. 

Mr. Tennant"s marriage with Ella, 
daughter of Robert and Rosa (Hood) Bu- 
chanan, of St. Paul, was consummated Aug. 
23, 1893. Mr. and Mrs. Buchanan are na- 
tives of Ayr, Scotland, now residing at 
Spokane, Wash. Mr. and Mrs. Tennant are 
parents of three children, Harold, Grace and 
W'allace. Mr. Tennant is popular in fra- 
ternal circles, being a member of Ashland 
Commandery, No. 22, Knights Templar, and 



58 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



for a niinil)er of years. has lieen treasurer of 
Ancient Landmark Lodge, No. 210. He has 
also filled most of the chairs in the local 
lodge of the Knights of Pythias, and is 
identified with the Independent Order of 
Odd Fellows and the Benevolent Protective 
Order of Elks. 



JOHN J. HAYDEN, chairman of the 
town board of Butternut, and a druggist by 
profession, is a native of Wisconsin, whither 
his parents went among the pioneers. He 
was born in Sheboygan county in 1866, son 
of Sylvester and Mary (White) Hayden, 
who settled there before the railroads were 
put through. They now reside in Butter- 
nut. 

John Hayden was educated in the public 
schools of Sheboygan county, and when in 
1 88 1 his parents moved to Price county, 
then just being opened up, he began teaching 
in the latter county, though only fifteen years 
of age. For eight years he continued in that 
work and built up quite a reputation as a 
teacher. At length he gave up teaching and 
went to Valparaiso, Ind., where he entered 
the Pharmaceutical department of the North- 
ern Indiana State Normal School, and was 
graduated in 1891. The following year he 
settled in Butternut and established himself 
in the drug business as the successor of J. 
McDonald. Since then he has given prac- 
tically his entire attention to his business. 

Mr. Hayden has been active in politics 
for some years and is a strong Republican. 
In 1896 he was elected town chairman for 
four successive years, and at the expiration 
of his first term was re-elected. He has also 
served as delegate to both county and State 
conventions. In fraternal circles Mr. Hay- 
den is prominent, and belongs to the A. F. & 
A. M., as well as to the Woodmen and the 
I. O. O. F., Butternut Lodge, No. 372. 

In 1896 Mr. Hayden was married to 
Margaret Miers, and they have two children, 
Arthur and Marjorie. 

Mr. Hayden has the best stocked and 
best conducted pharmacy between Medford 
and Ashland, and is himself a fine pharma- 
cist, a perfect master of his business. Well 



educated and of pleasing personality, he is 
admirably adapted for both business and so 
cial life, and is very generally popular. 

FRED W. MILLER, president of the 
Miller-Waterman Co., president of the State 
Bank of Cumberland, president of the Island 
City State Bank of Cumberland and treas- 
urer of the Cumberland Telephone Co., is 
one of the leading citizens of Cumberland, 
Barron Co., Wis., identified with the major 
part of her successful business enterprises. 

Mr. ]\Iiller was born Aug. 25, 1870, at 
Cedar Lake, Minn., a son of John F. and 
Catherine (Huser) Miller, the former born 
at Fallingbostle, Hanover, Germany. There 
his grandfather was a school teacher for 
many years. John F. Miller was born April 
9, 1836, and in 1857 came to Carver county, 
Minn., with his mother and step-father, one 
brother and two sisters. He obtained his 
education in Germany and had there learned 
the trade of tailor, but never pursued it, 
other interests claiming^ his attention after 
coming to America. He first found work on 
a railroad then building in Minnesota, then 
assisted in clearing the home farm and then 
worked during a season at farm work near 
Stillwater, for which he was paid $19 per 
month. He continued to help on the home 
land when not otherwise engaged, until 
1859, when he went to a brickyard m 
Chaska and worked there for $12 per month 
for the first year, receiving more during the 
second year, when he was made foreman. 

In 1865 Mr. Miller married Catherine 
Huser, of Alsace, France, and they had 
eleven children born to them, Ida, Anna, 
Fred W., Lydia, Marie, Clara, William, Al- 
bert, Ella, Belle and Ernest. 

After his marriage, John F. Miller set- 
tled in Carver county, Minn., and there 
opened a brick yard of his own, which he 
operated for three years, and then went to 
Cedar Lake, Hennepin county, as superin- 
tendent in a brick yard for Hill, Griggs & 
Co., and during this period bought as much 
as 60.000 cords of wood per year. He re- 
mained with this company for six years and 
then went into partnership with Col. C. W. 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPPIICAL RECORD 



59- 



Griggs. They conducted a wood business 
at Montrose on the Manitoba, now the Great 
Northern Railroad, sliipping the most of tlie 
wood to St. Paul, and also operated a gen- 
eral store. In 1880 he came to Cumber- 
land and the business was carried on until 
1887, from which time until his death he 
was interested in the lumber business. He 
was vice president of the company now 
known as the Beaver Dam Lumber Co.. 
which owned a saw mill and employed 125 
men. In 1881 the company started the 
largest store in the place and in October, 
1883, Mr.' Miller, with J. T. Heath, started 
the Bank of Cumberland, which after 1887 
he conducted alone. He was a very success- 
ful business man and owned a great deal 
of property in that locality and was tlie one 
to lay out and plat the best part of the 
town. 

In 1880 Stone & Maxwell started a lum- 
ber business in Cumberland and in the same 
year Griggs, Foster & Miller started the 
post and wood business. In July, 1881, 
they bought out Stone & Maxwell, called 
the firm the Cumberland Lumber Co., and 
operated a store. Dec. 2, 1881, this firm 
sold the lumber business and the name was 
changed to the Beaver Lake Lumber Co. 
Griggs, Foster & Miller ran a store until 
1888 and then the Beaver Lake Lumber Co. 
sold out to the Beaver Dam Lumber Co., 
this change including the firm store. The 
company store again changed hands, June i, 
1903, being sold to Miller-Waterman Co., 
of which company Fred W. Miller is presi- 
dent and treasurer, S. H. Waterman is vice 
president and B. H. Waterman is secretary. 

Fred W. Miller was six years of age 
when he removed with his parents to Delano, 
Minn., and later to Montrose, where he at- 
tended school. After coming to Cumber- 
land in 1880 he continued his education in 
the schools there, completing the high school 
course with credit. After one year of sup- 
plementary study at the Wisconsin Uni- 
versity, he entered into business, starting as 
office boy with the Beaver Dam Lumber 
Co. His close attention to business and the 
good reports he earned from his employers 



as til fidelity and trustworthy character, 
brought him the offer of a position as private 
secretary to Congressman Haugen, a posi- 
tion he filled with the greatest efficiency 
from 1889 to 1 89 1, the close of Mr. 
Haugen's term. Returning to Cumberland, 
he became bookkeeper for the Beaver Dam 
Co., and during his father's illness, con- 
ducted affairs in his place with so much busi- 
ness ability that at his parent's death in 1892, 
he was elected secretary and treasurer of the 
organization, a position he still holds, hav- 
ing entire management. As mentioned, he 
is also at the head of other enterprises, all 
of which are in excellent condition and re- 
flect the ability, the inisli and energy of their 
responsible head. 

No less has Mr. ^liller been prominent in 
city affairs, having served one term as 
mayor, seven years as city treasurer and for 
a long period has looked after the finances 
of the school district. In politics he is a 
Republican, a zealous supporter of the prin- 
ciples (jf that party and proud of its accom- 
plishments. 

Mr. Miller was married Dec. 16, 1891, to 
Cora Hunter, of Cumberland, and they have 
four children, Catherine, Esther, Marian 
and Maude. Mr. Miller is a consistent mem- 
ber and a liberal supporter of the Methodist 
Church. 

HON. W. H. IRISH. One of the pub- 
lic-spirited citizens of Washburn, Bayfield 
county, whose services to his community 
have been recognized by election to a judi- 
cial office, is Hon. W. H. Irish, county 
judge. He was born in Eastport, Maine, 
March 31, 1844, son of Simeon C. and Mar- 
garet Caroline (McDonald) Irish. 

The paternal grandfather, also Simeon 
Irish, was a native of Wales, who settled in 
New England previous to the Re^'olution. 
During that struggle he was a loyalist, and 
in consequence removed to Nova Scotia, 
where he received a grant of land from the 
government and settled down for the rest of 
his life, living to be over ninety years old. 
Simeon C. Irish was born there, but early in 
life went to Maine; he was commander and 



''6o 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



part owner of a vessel engaged in the coast- 
ing trade and also in the West India trade. 
His death occurred in his seventy-first year, 
in Eastport, Maine, where his wife also died 
at about the same time. She was a native of 
New Jersey, of Scotch descent. 

W. H. Irish passed his boyhood in East- 
port, Maine, attending the public school, and 
then when about fourteen began in life for 
himself as a laborer. During the next nine 

■years he was thus engaged, also made occa- 
sional ti"ips on the ocean, and was employed 
in clerical pursuits until 1867, when he went 
to Williamsport, Pa., and for two years was 
there engaged in the lumber business. His 
next move was to Chippewa Falls, Wis., 
where he worked for six years as a lumber 
scaler, and then spent six years more at 
Cedar Falls, Dunn county. 

In 1885 Mr. Irish located at Washburn; 
there his business interests still are in the 
lumber line, as he manufactured lumber for 
several years, and also bought considerable 
timber land in Bayfield county, some of 
which he still owns. Mr. Irish has of late 
years, however, been more prominent in 
town and county affairs than he has in busi- 
ness circles. He has served two years as 
register of deeds, has been several times 

•chairman of the town board, and has also 
acted as chairman of the county board for a 
time, while in January, 1902, he became 
county judge, having been chosen at the 
previous judicial election for this position. 
Upon the incorporation of the city of Wash- 
burn in 1904, he was elected the first mayor. 
At the age of thirty years Mr. Irish was 
married to Janet C. Rose, also born in East- 
ixirt, and of Scotch descent. Their married 
life was not of long duration, as Mrs. Irish 
died at Cedar Falls in 1883, when about 
thirty years of age. She left two children : 
William Harvey, of Washburn ; and Laura, 
now Mrs. Francis W. Jones, of Chicago. 
Mrs. Janet C. Irish was a member of the 
Congregational Church. Judge Irish has 
since married again, his second wife being 
Miss Lovisa E. Smith, of Downsville, Wis- 

K;onsin. 

Judge Irish is prominent in fraternal or- 



ganizations ; he has been a member of the 
Masonic fraternity since 1867, and belongs 
to both the I. O. O. F., and the M. W. A. 
He was president of the public library board 
for three years, and manifests a lively inter- 
est in everything calculated to improve the 
condition of the town. Judge Irish and his 
wife are communicants of the Episcopal 
Church and are leaders in its activities. So- 
cially they are much liked, and have many 
friends. 

MERTON J. BELL, treasurer of Doug- 
las county, is a well known citizen of the 
town of Brule. He was born in Houlton, 
Maine, Oct. 10, 1870, his parents being 
Richard and Mary J. (Dunn) Bell, also 
natives of Maine. 

Merton J. Bell passed most of his boy- 
hood in Springfield and Gardiner, Maine, 
where he attended the public school, this 
education being supplemented by the prac- 
tisal study of surveying and engineering 
under competent engineers in the field. In 
1887 he went with his parents to Wisconsin, 
settling in Bayfield county, where he en- 
gaged in lumber and woods work, cruising 
and surveying. He continued to do sur- 
veying in the Upper Lake Region until 1897 
when he went into the lumber business on 
his own account. In the autumn of 1901 
he erected a lumbering plant three miles 
from Brule, which he has since enlarged, 
and to which he expects soon to add further 
improvements, the present cutting capacity 
being 30,000 feet per day. He owns about 
1,000 acres of land at this station which has 
recently been named Bellwood. For four 
years, in addition to his other business, Mr. 
Bell conducted the "Bell Hotel" in Brule, 
a well known and popular hostelry. 

j\Ir. Bell married Luella E. Wilson, who 
has borne him four children. Hazel, Verna, 
Vera and Bertha. Politically Mr. Bell has 
always been a Republican and has taken an 
active part in public affairs. He was elected 
supervisor of the township of Brule in 1895, 
assessor in 1896 and chairman of the town 
board in 1900. He has been a member of 
the county Republican central committee 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



6fe 



since 1900, was a delegate to the State con- 
vention in Milwaukee and to the Congres- 
sional convention in Menomonie in 1900, 
has frequently been a delegate to the county 
conventions and has an influential voice in 
the councils of his party. He was installed 
in office as county treasurer, Jan. i, 1901, 
and reelected in the fall of 1902. Frater- 
nally he belongs to Brule Lodge, M. W. A. ; 
to the K. M. of Brule; and to the B. P. O. 
E., of West Superior. 

WILLIAM A. LIGHT, superintendent 
of the United States Indian School at Hay- 
ward, was born in Paola, Miami Co., Kan., 
Jan. 3, 1865. His parents were A. B. and 
Rosa (Morgan) Light, the latter coming 
from Ireland to this country in childhood, 
living first in Illinois, and about 1S60 going 
to Kansas; the former a native of Livings- 
ton county, N. Y. During the Kansas war 
of 1856, A. B. Light joined a colony of im- 
migrants to that State, settling in Paula, 
where he engaged in breeding horses antl 
cattle, owning and managing for fifteen years 
the first and only livery stable at Paola. He 
took an active part in the political agitation 
which made Kansas a free State, but was 
never an aspirant for office. A. B. Light 
was a descendant of Gottlieb Light, belong- 
ing to one of the old Knickerlwcker families, 
and a Revolutionary soldier who was with 
Washington's army on its retreat from New 
York across New Jersey. 

William A. Light attended the public 
schools, Kansas Normal School, and the 
Business Institute at Paola, then under the 
direction of Prof. John Whorral. In 1882 
he began teaching a district school in Miami 
county, drawing a salary of $60.00 per 
month, the highest salary ever paid a district 
school teacher in that county. For six sea- 
sons Mr. Light was an instructor in the 
Teacher's Summer Institute of Paola and of 
Miami county; he was superintendent of 
city schools at Osawatomie, for two years, 
and at Mound City, Kan., for another 
year. In 1894 he retired to a farm on ac- 
count of his health. The following year he 
entered the Indian service at Rosebud, S. 



D., as teacher, his wife taking the position 
of housekeeper, and there he spent three 
years. He then went to Keam's Canyon In- 
dian School, in Arizona, and in February, 
1899, was appointed superintendent of the 
Otoe Indian School, at Otoe, Okla. The 
following August he became superintend- 
ent of the Ponca School, from which in. 
December, 1899, he was promoted to the 
Pawnee School, having had within the year 
an increase of about fifty per cent in salary. 
In 1901 Mr. Light resigned his position in. 
the Pawnee School, intending to go into 
business in the Kiowa and Comanche 
country, then just opened to settlers, but 
abandoning this idea he applied for rein- 
statement in the Indian service, and after a 
few months in an Indian school in New 
Mexico, accepted the position of superin- 
tendent of the Hayward Boarding School,. 
April 4, 1902. 

This school was completed in 1901 and 
opened in September of that year, its first, 
superintendent being George Shaefer, of 
Menomonie, Wis. It is a United States In- 
dian Industrial School, and consists of a 
group of modern brick buildings, steam 
heated, and with excellent water, gas and 
sewer arrangements, the plant representing 
an expenditure of $100,000. A modern hos- 
pital building and a superintendent's resi- 
dence are to be added in the near future. 
During the first year the average attendance 
was'ninety-six, but by October, 1902, it had. 
increased to one hundred and sixty-five — - 
ninety boys and seventy-five girls, from five 
to seventeen years of age. These pupils are 
selected from the most intelligent Indian fam- 
ilies in northern Wisconsin, the majority 
being from Sawyer county. About fifty 
acres of the section of land belonging to the 
school is now under cultivation, and more is. 
being improved as rapidly as practicable. 
On April i, 1904, the school was segregated 
from the La Pointe Indian Agency, placed 
directly in charge of Superintendent Light 
and designated the Hayward Training 
School. The superintendent was made a 
bonded disbursing officer for the Depart- 
ment, by the Secretary of the Interior. The- 



.62 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



attendance has been increased to i8o. Su- 
perintendent Light intends to give special 
attention to dairying, the soil being well 
adapted to that industry. Half of each day 
is given to industrial training, as the object 
of the school is to fit its students for busi- 
ness and make them self-supporting citizens ; 
as most of the Wisconsin Indians are land- 
. owners special attention is given to agri- 
culture, but other trades, including carpen- 
try, blacksmithing, shoemaking and harness 
making, are also taught. The girls are in- 
structed in cooking, housekeeping, sewing, 
etc., and make all of their own clothing on 
the premises. The total number of employes 
has recently been increased to sixteen, viz. : 
Superintendent, William A. Light; physi- 
cian, G. A. Grafton, M. D. ; principal 
teacher, Edmund E. Perry; two teachers, 
Mrs. E. P. Perry and Mrs. Libbie C. Light ; 
industrial teacher, Frank O. Setter, an In- 
dian ; matron. Miss Jane Johnson; assistant 
matron, Mrs. Rose Setter, an Indian ; 
seamstress, Mamie Noble; laundress, Sarah 
I. Sampson ; cook, Mary Farley ; car- 
penter, Charles F. Stetler; engineer, Willis 
F. Buck ; nurse, Mary Gillen ; farmer, Ar- 
thur M. Carpenter; and baker, Lucinda G. 
Davids. 

Mr. Light married Sept. 5. 1888, Libbie 
C. Sharon, a native of Ohio, daughter of 
John and Mary J. Sharon. Mrs. Light was 
educated in the public schools of Ohio and 
Kansas ; previous to her marriage she taught 
in the public schools, and has ever since 
been associated with her husband in the 
Indian service, being' at present teacher in 
the Hayward Training School. She is the 
mother of three sons ; Arthur, John and 
Dewey. The family is connected with the 
Congregational Church. Mr. Light is a 
member of the A. O. U. W., and is also 
a Mason. He is a Republican in principle, 
although not an active politician. 

DAVID DOBIE. Among the enter- 
prising citizens of Douglas county few are 
as well known as David Dobie, who now 
-resides at Lake Nebagamon, and is recog- 
nized as one of the foremost business men 



of that thriving and picturesque village. 
During his residence of about fifteen years 
in this county, he has been identified with a 
number of undertakings of paramount im- 
portance to its people, which, with his active 
interest in public afifairs, have made him one 
of the most influential citizens of the town 
and county. 

Mr. Dobie was born at Auburn, Ontario, 
Dec. 5, 1855, and is a son of Joseph and 
Ann (McLarty) Dobie, natives of Scotland, 
who came to Canada, in early life. The 
father of Joseph Dobie, who had been a 
farmer in Dumfriesshire, settled in Lower 
Canada about the year 1840. The last 
named gentleman spent most of his life on 
a farm at Auljurn, where he died in 1899, 
at the age of eighty-four years. He was a 
man of remarkable physical activity and re- 
tained his youthful strength and vigor in 
okl age. He was always prominent in relig- 
ious work and officiated for many years as 
an elder of the Presbyterian Church. His 
wife, who was born in Argyllshire, Scot- 
land, passed away about 1865. Of the nine 
children born to this worthy couple, eight 
still survive. 

After leaving the public schools of his 
native place, David Dobie took a course at 
Goderich high school and another at the 
Toronto Normal School, after which he 
spent eighteen months in teaching. In 188 1 
he came to Wisconsin and began his com- 
mercial career as bookkeeper for a firm of 
which his brother Malcolm was a member, 
conducting a general store and lumber busi- 
ness at Shell Lake. The next year he went 
to Flayward and took charge of the interests 
of the concern at that place, consisting of a 
l)ranch store and logging business. In this 
position he displayed such ability and faith- 
fulness that in 1884 he became a partner in 
the firm, which was known as Dobie & 
Stratton, and retained an interest therein 
for several years. In 1888 he located at 
^^'est Superior, where for a time he dealt 
in real estate. He spent several more years 
as a logging contractor and also operated a 
logging railroad traversing the best timbered 
portions of the town of Nebagamon and 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



63 



connecting with the waters of the St. Croix. 
As the adjacent tinihers have been cleared 
away, this raih'oad has been abandoned, but 
much of the route is being utihzed for 
wagon roads, most of the expense of clear- 
ing and grading a highway being saved 
thereby. Alx)ut one hundred million feet 
of logs were handled on this railroad. In 
recent years Mr. Dobie has given his chief 
attention to dealing in farm lands. He has 
disposed of a number of thousands of acres 
and has been instrumental in locating many 
settlers in Douglas and adjacent counties. 
In 1900 he helped to incorporate the North 
Wisconsin Colonization Company, of which 
he is president, the main oliice of the con- 
cern being at Superior. Tiiere is probably 
no other individual who has done as much 
to bring about the rapid increase in the rural 
population of Northwest Wisconsin, and his 
fair and honorable dealings have won and 
retained the confidence and good will of the 
people. Since 1894 he has resided at Lake 
Nebagamon and has represented this town 
on the county board of supervisors, of which 
body he is now the chairman. He is a Dem- 
ocrat in political principle but his supporters 
are by no means limited to the members of 
that party. While living in Superior, he 
was twice the candidate of his party for 
mayor of that city but was unable to over- 
come the immense Republican majority 
which prevails there. 

On August 29, 1884, David Dobie was 
married to Miss Bella Logic, daughter of 
Rev. John Logic, a Presbyterian minister 
of Valletta, Ontario. Mrs. Dobie was 
born at Rogersville, Ontario, and has be- 
come the mother of five children, David 
Leslie, Walter L., Norma, Jessie and Katie. 
Mr. Dobie helped to organize the Presby- 
terian Church of Lake Nebagamon, with 
which all the members of the family are 
connected. They are among the leaders in 
the social life of that attractive village, 
which is destined to become one of the most 
popular summer resorts in Northern Wis- 
consin, being unexcelled in natural advan- 
tages. Mr. Dobie is also identified with the 



Masonic Order and enjoys the warm per- 
sonal friendship of the best class of citizens 
of Douglas county. 

JARED W. TAYLOR, one of the in- 
fluential men of Barron, and since 1901 its 
mayor, has been identified with the town 
since the beginning of his business career 
and has been a potent factor in its upbuild- 
ing. 

A native of Wisconsin, Mr. Taylor was 
born at Oxford, Marquette county, Dec. 11, 
1S56, the son of Henry H. and Martha E. 
(Emerick) Taylor. The mother, wdio is 
still living at Oxford, was born in New 
York, but her parents were among the early 
pioneers of Walworth county, Wis., and she 
was reared there. Henry H. Taylor, who 
was also born in New York, came much 
later to Wisconsin, settling at Lake Geneva, 
in 1845, where he practiced law, worked on 
his farm and did carpentering, thus combin- 
ing, as so many pioneers were compelled to, 
several occupations. In 1849 he moved to 
Oxford, where he settled on wild land but 
soon had a good farm improved. Oxford 
at that time was little more than a name, 
w-ith no railroad connection nearer than 
-Milwaukee. Mr. Taylor served as justice 
of the peace and notary public, did most of 
the legal business for the community for 
many years and enjoyed the entire confi- 
dence of the people. Always active for the 
Republican party, he was prominent in local 
politics, several years filled clerical positions 
in the State senate, and was once a candidate 
for a seat in that body. His death, which 
occurred in 1882, was an untimely one, for 
he was but fifty-six years old at the time. 

Jared W. Taylor attended the public 
school at Oxford and then remained at the 
home farm till 1884. He and a brother 
then located at Barron, where they built a 
flouring mill, the first men to utilize the 
water pow^r there. This mill, the first roller 
mill in Northern Wisconsin, has continued 
under Mr. Taylor's ownership ever since 
and at present has a capacity of 100 barrels 
of flour a dav. For a few vears he also con- 



64 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



ducted a general store in Barron and did an 
extensive trade. 

Mr. Taylor has always been an enthus- 
iastic and active worker in the Repulilican 
ranks and has acted as delegate to several 
senatorial and congressional conventions. 
In 1896 he was elected city treasurer of Bar- 
ron for a term of two years and in 1901 be- 
came mayor of the city. The following year 
he was re-elected for two years more, a most 
flattering proof of the esteem in which his 
fellow-citizens held him. His outside in- 
terests, however, are not confined to polh:ics, 
and he is prominent in fraternal circles also ; 
since 1876 he has been a member of the I. O. 
O. F., helped to organize an encampment at 
Barron and for eight successive years has 
been a delegate to the grand lodge of Wis- 
consin. He is also a member of the 
M. W. A. 

Mr. Taylor was married in November, 
1881, to Miss Hannah E. Ross, the daugh- 
ter of Mrs. Elizabeth Ross, of Washington 
county. Wis. Three sons and one daughter 
have been born to this union : Henry Ross, 
Mildred, Lawrence and Sherman. The 
family is connected with the Methodist 
Church. In all relations of life Mr. Taylor 
holds the confidence of the community, an 
honor he has fairly earned by his probity, 
his ability and well-directed energy. 

GEORGE ROBERT HUGHES, one of 
Superior's talented and influential citizens, is 
a veteran of the Civil war, and a descendant 
of some of the oldest and most patriotic fami- 
lies of this country. Mr. Hughes was born 
in Jackson, Ohio, Sept. 4, 1840, a son of 
James and Elizabeth (Mather) Hughes. 

James Hughes was a native of Prince 
Edward Court House, Va., his Welsh ances- 
tors having located in Virginia in the Col- 
onial days. Members of the family took part 
in the Revolution, and were concerned in 
other notable events of Colonial history. 
James Hughes received his education at 
Hamlin College, Virginia, where he made a 
specialty of the study of law. In the early 
thirties he went to Jackson, Ohio, where for 
several years he practiced law, and where he 



founded the Jackson Standard, which is still 
published ; he was several times elected to the 
Ohio legislature. During the Mexican war 
Mr. Hughes gained rank of colonel. In the 
spring of 1849, '^Y appointment of President 
Taylor, he went to St. Paul in the employ of 
the Government. After the death of Presi- 
dent Taylor Col. Plughes started the Minne- 
sota Chronicle in the spring of 1849, l^"*^ ^^^ 
soon sold this pajier and moved to Hudson. 
Wis., which was then one of the rising towns 
of the Northwest, trading his property in St. 
Paul (on which the "Merchant's Hotel" now 
stands) for property in Hudson. He became 
the publisher of the Hudson Republican, and 
later of the Pathfinder and of other journals, 
at the same time practicing law and taking 
an active interest in politics. During the 
early 'fifties he was nominated on the ^^'hig 
ticket for lieutenant-governor of \\'isconsin. 
Col. Hughes died in Hudson in 1873, ^g^'^ 
seventy-three years. His wife, Elizabeth 
(Mather) Hughes, died at Minneapolis in 
January, 1893. Mrs. Hughes was born in 
Brooklyn, Windham Co., Conn. Her father, 
Elcazer Mather, who was a hatter, lived and 
died in Connecticut ; he was the father of 
William W. Mather, a noted geologist, of 
Jackson, Ohio. They were lineal descendants 
of Richard Mather, who was silenced for 
nonconformity in England and came to 
Massachusetts in the early days of that Col- 
ony. Among the posterity of Richard 
^Mather were many professional men and 
ministers, including the famous Cotton and 
Increase Mather. Roger Williams, the 
founder of Rhode Island, was also an ances- 
tor of Eleazer Mather, the families being- 
united by marriage. 

George Robert Hughes is the second of 
twelve children born to his parents. Nine of 
these children are living, and four of them 
took part in the Civil war. Eleazer M. 
Hughes, now of Boardman, Wis., served in 
the 4th Wis. V. I. and was for some time 
confined in Libby prison ; Edward P. is an 
attorney in Anoka. Minn.; James S. (de- 
ceased) was in the 2d Minnesota Volunteer 
Infantry. 

The education of Georo-e Robert Huerhes 




GEORGE R. HUGHES 



THh 
PUBLIC LiiiKAKY 



ASTOR, LENOX 
TILDEW fOUJS'DATIONS 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD' 



6S^ 



was acquired mainly in his fatiier's ])rinting 
office, and began when he was nine years 
old. In 1856 he entered the office of the 
River Falls Journal, then just started by 
L. A. Taylor and his brother, 11. A. Taylor, 
the latter the noted "Hod Taylor." now 
assistant United States treasurer. In the 
spring of 1861 Mr. Hughes enlisted in the 
Hudson City Guards, later in Company G, 
4th ^^'is. \'. I., which was afterward 
equipped as the 4th Wisconsin Cavalr}-. He 
served as a private from April 20, 1861, to 
Jan. 24, 1864, when he was commissioned by 
Gen. Banks as second lieutenant of Companv 
D, 99th U. S. C. T. Previous to this he went 
"with Gen. Butler from Hampton Roads to 
Ship Island, thence to Xew Orleans, and 
participated in the downfall of Forts Jackson 
and St. Phillips, in the campaign about Xew 
Orleans, the 4th Wisconsin being the first 
regiment to land in that city : he also ]jartici- 
pated in the battles of Baton Rouge and Port 
Hudson, and in many light engagements and 
skirmishes in that vicinity. Lieut. Hughes 
was employed for a time on the famous 
Vicksburg canal, and accompanied Gen. 
Banks' Red River expedition as one of the 
engineer brigade, which had full equipment 
for engineering ])ur[)oses, including a pon- 
toon bridge. During the construction of the 
fort at Morganzia Bend, La., he served as 
assistant to the field officer of the trenches. 
Col. Uri B. Pearsall, under orders of Gen. 
Emory, and while thus engaged, in June. 
1864, had a sunstroke, from the effects of 
which he has never fully recovered. After 
rejoining the 99th Regiment, Lieut. Hughes 
until the end of the war commanded his coiu- 
pany. He was in command at Concordia 
and at Chattahoochee. Fla.. during the recon- 
, struction period at the close of the war. until 
he was mustered out. April 23. 1866. having 
been for over fi\-e ^■ears in continuous service. 
While stationed in Florida Lieut. Hughes 
administered the oath of amnesty to hundreds 
of Confederates, and recei\-ed many compli- 
ments from all sides for the impartiality 
which he displayed in maintaining the strict- 
est order. The citizens offered to jxirchase 
and fit out a printing office if he would under- 



take to publish a paper, which was declined 
for the reason that he was an old-line Re- 
publican, while they wanted tlie paper to be 
neutral in politics. 

On Oct. 20. 1868. Lieut. Hughes mar- 
ried Ariana H. Knowles, a daughter of Par- 
ley and Betsey (Giles) Knowles, of River 
Falls, W'is., who was born in New Hamp- 
shire, and died in River Falls, Nov. 24, 1882. 
Perley and Betsey (Giles) Knowles were 
married in Boston in 1835, and lived to-- 
gether for sixty-three years. In 1856 they 
settled at River Falls, where Mrs. Knowles 
died in 1898, and Mr. Knowles April 22, 
1899, when o\er ninety-one years of age. 
Two children ha\e been born to Lieut, and 
Mrs. Hughes: George Knowles served 
through the Philippine war in the 4th United 
States Cavalry, and was discharged with 
the rank of sergeant-major ; on April 24, 
1905, he was married to Annie Klein, and 
resides in Superior. Wis. Jessie Ariana 
married N. A. Sheldon, Dec. 24, 1901, and 
now resides in Chicago, Illinois. 

In the fall of 1866 Lieut. Hughes was 
elected register of deeds of St. Croix county, 
and was twice re-elected. Later he became 
a real estate dealer and did a business in 
loans, insurance and abstracts. After his 
wife's death, in 1882, Lieut. Hughes spent 
about five years in St. Paul. In the spring 
of 1887 he came to Superior, where he com- 
piled the first set of abstracts of Douglas 
county ; the following spring he made an- 
other set of abstract books for the Superior 
Abstract Company, which he has since 
biught out. continuing the business himself. 
Since the spring of 1902 Lieut. Hughes has 
been justice of the peace of the First ward 
of Superior. He is secretary of the Albany 
Realty Company, which owns much prop- 
erty in New York and Superior. 

Lieut. Hughes has always been active in 
the G. A. R. and was a member of the invi- 
tation conmiittee for the State Encamjiment 
at Superior in June. 190G, contributing 
much to the success of that event. He also 
belongs to the Knights of Pythias and the 
Masons. Lieut. Hughes is a strong temper- 
ance ad\-ocate, and has been active in the 



66 



COMMEiMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



Prohibition cause in local matters, I)ut on 
national issues he is a "dyed-in-the-wool" 
Kepublican. 

HENRY D. WEED, the pioneer phar- 
macist of northwest Wisconsin, and a high- 
ly respected citizen, wdio has lived in Ash- 
land almost from its first settlement, was 
born in Pulaski, Orange Co., N. Y., Sept. 
9, 1829. He is a son of Henry \Veed, who 
married a Miss Dickinson, both of whom 
were, natives of the Empire State. The 
Weed family is of English descent and its 
founder in America was the great-grand- 
father of Henry D. Henry Weed was a 
mason by trade, who left his native State 
about 1834 for the Illinois country, then just 
beginning to be settled. He lived for a few- 
years at Pontiac, and then returned to Bing- 
liamton, N. Y., where he died in 1840. 
Mrs. Weed was born in Utica, N. Y., a 
daughter of Ebenezer Dickinson, a farmer. 
To Mr. and Mrs. Weed were born three 
children of whom Henry D. is the only son 
and the only one residing- in Wisconsin. 
Mrs. Weed died in 1835. 

Henry D. Weed attended the public 
schools of Binghampton, N. Y., receiving 
his later education in an academy at Ithaca, 
in the same State. At the age of sixteen 
years, he began to learn the drug business 
in Ithaca, which he was engaged in in 1850 
when the California gold excitement w'as 
■at its height. Becoming enamored of the 
•prospect of ac([uiring wealth easily he set 
out by way of the Isthmus for the new Eldo- 
rado. There he realized in part at least his 
dream of riches, acquiring tlie modest for- 
tune of $5,000 in one year. After a short 
stay in Chicago he proceeded to Rock Island, 
111., where he established himself dn the 
drug business and remained several years. 
He then took an overland trip to California, 
remaining there four years and was engaged 
in mining and other pursuits. He returned 
by way of the Isthmus in 1863. In 1864 
he went from Winona, Minn., to Montana, 
where he spent three years mining for gold 
and sil.\'er with good success. Returning 
to Minnesota he engaged in the drug busi- 



ness at Rushford, where he remained until 
1872, when he came to Ashland and 
opened the only drug store between Superior 
and Ontonagon. The building in which he 
began business and which he still occupies 
was the first business house contracted for 
in the city. 

Mr. Weed was first married in 1S55 to 
Miss Lizzie Cole, of Waukegan, who died 
the following year, aged twenty-three years, 
leaving one child which died six months 
later. His second marriage w-as with Emma 
Benjamin in 1867. She died in 1890, aged 
forty years. She bore her husband one 
daughter, Fanny, who died at the age of 
fifteen years. Mr. Weed has always been a 
staunch Republican but never an aspirant for 
public office. 

HOxNT. A. WANZER has been a resi- 
dent of Hurley, Wis., since 1891 and since 
1898 has served as county judge for Iron 
county. He was born Feb. 11, 1840, in 
New York City, son of Moses and Mary 
(Wittemore) Wanzer, the former a native 
of Connecticut and the latter of Vermont. 
Moses Wanzer was brought up on a farm, 
and had little opportunity for schooling. He 
went to New York City when a young man, 
where he became a wholesale clothing manu- 
facturer, an occupation in which he was 
engaged until his death in 1856. His w-ife 
survived him until 1866. 

A. Wanzer was brought up in New York 
City and attended boarding school in Yonk- 
ers, N. Y., until he was seventeen. He then 
began his business life as a clerk in a whole- 
sale hardware house in New York City, 
where he remained five years. After that he 
went to Houghton, Mich., being employed 
there in different capacities for two years. 
He next accepted a government position in 
Minnesota, as superintendent of the Winne- 
bogorish Dam, remaining three years. He 
then w-ent to St. Paul and opened a grocery 
store, but meeting with indifferent success, 
sold out this business and accepted the ap- 
pointment of inspector of streets in St. Paul, 
which he held for four years. In 1891 he 
came to Llurle}^, being employed as book- 



COMAIEMORATR'E BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



67 



keeper in the mines, and at the same time 
■carrying on an insurance business. In 189S 
he was elected on the Repubhcan ticket 
<:ounty judge of Iron county, in which posi- 
tion he is now filhng his second term. 

Judge Wanzer was married (first) in 
1868, to Maud Funston, of Houghton, 
Mich., and she became the mother of the 
following children : Albert, deceased ; ]\Iary, 
at home; and Edward J., in the mining in- 
dustry at Stambaugh, Mich. Mrs. Aland 
(Funston) Wanzer died in 1875, and the 
Judge married (second) Emma D. Dodge, 
of Jackson, Mich. The children of the sec- 
ond union are Fanny and James, both at 
home. 

ROBERT SYKES, master mechanic 
■of the Rice Lake Lumber Co., of Rice Lake. 
Barron Co., Wis., and one of the prominent 
men of the place was born at Glasgow, Scot- 
land, Aug. 12, 185 1, a son of Samuel and 
Martha Sykes. The Sykes family came to 
the United States about 1856, and after his 
arrival Samuel Sykes worked for a time at 
Albany, N. Y., but later went to Canada 
and operated a locomotive for a number of 
years. In 1865, being attracted to Chip- 
pewa Falls, Wis., he went thither and was 
employed as a machinist there and in north- 
ern Wisconsin. His death occurred at 
Chetek, Wis., in 1886, when he was aged 
sixty-six years. His excellent wife passed 
away at Albany, not long after reaching the 
Lhiited States. 

Robert Sykes attended school until he 
■was seventeen j^ears of age, when he began 
operating a sawmill, but in 1871 entered the 
employ of the Ingram Company and was a 
faithful and competent mechanic. In Oc- 
tober, 1887. he removed to Rice Lake and 
assumed charge of the Rice Lake Lumber 
Co. machinery, which position he still effi- 
ciently fills, being one of the best master 
mechanics in that section of country. 

In addition, Mr. Sykes is also interested 
in land investments, and is a man of promi- 
nence and influence in the place. In politics 
he is a Democrat and was honored by elec- 
tion to the council from the third ward. 



In March, 1872, Mr. Sykes married 
Miss Hannah Anderson, born in New Hamp- 
shire, daughter of Mans Anderson of Eau 
Claire. Two sons were born of this mar- 
riage : Walter, who occupies the position 
of eng'ineer of the Rice Lake Lumber Co., 
and Grove, a student at the Lewis Institute, 
Chicago. Fraternally, Mr. Sykes has been 
connected with the Masonic Order for 
twenty years, and belongs to the local lodge 
and chapter, as well as to Tancred Comman- 
dery No. 27, K. T., at Chippewa Falls. 

J. WINSLOW HACKER, residing on 
the corner of West Fifth street and L ave- 
nue, Superior, is one of the oldest settlers 
in that place, having come there July 7, 
1857. His birthplace was in Kennebec 
county, Maine, but most of his boyhood was 
spent in Cumberland county, that State; his 
parents were Jeremiah and Sarah (Read) 
Hacker. 

The Hacker family is of German origin, 
J. Winslow Hacker being of the fifth genera- 
tion from Isaac, the immigrant ancestor. 
Jeremiah, son of Isaac, was born in Salem, 
Mass., in 1725, and died at Brunswick, 
Maine, in 1801. His son, Isaiah, married 
(first) Lydia Goddard. by whom he had 
four children, George, Jeremiah, Sarah and 
Isaiah, all deceased. Jeremiah, son of Isa- 
iah and father of J. Winslow, married Sarah 
Read, a native of Windham, Maine, whose 
father, Noah Read, was a Revolutionary 
soldier. Two brothers of Noah Read were 
also in the Continental army. Jeremiah 
Hacker died at the age of forty-nine, when 
his son, J. Winslow, was ten years of age; 
his wife died in June, 1839. They left 
seven children, three sons and four daugh- 
ters, of whom two daughters and three sons 
survive, viz. : Mrs. Emily A. H. Cook, of 
Spring-field, Mass. ; Mrs. Hannah H. Wins- 
low, also of Springfield ; Isaiah N., of West- 
brook, Maine; Francis, of Brantford, Can- 
ada ; and J. Winslow. 

T. Winslow Hacker lived in Alaine until 
he was about seventeen, when he went to 
Providence. R. I., and later spent some time 
at Cape Cod. With his brother Francis he 



68 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



learned the daguerreotype process, and en- 
gaged in that business for about three years. 
In 1857 he came West, where he has since 
remained, employed in various occupations. 

Mr. Hacker married, Aug. 13, 1871, 
Malinda Ellen Mark, who was born in Jan- 
uary, 1843, i" Clarion county. Pa., and 
whose childhood was passed in that State 
in Venango county. In the autumn of 
1864 she came to Red Wing, Minn., her 
parents, Simon and Mary (Rice) Mark, 
coming the following year and residing 
there the remainder of their lives. ]\Irs. 
Hacker was one of six children, five daugh- 
ters and one son, and four of the sisters 
are still living. To Mr. and Mrs. Hacker 
have been born a daughter and two sons, as 
follows ; Lydia E., a teaclier ; Guy Wins- 
low ; and Francis W. Mr. Hacker is a Re- 
publican and has voted for every Repuljli- 
can candidate since Fremont. He was 
brought up a Quaker, but Mrs. Hacker is a 
Methodist, and one of the earliest members 
of the M. E. Church of Superior, which she 
joined in 1871. The family are among the 
well known and esteemed citizens of Su- 
perior. 

Before Mr. Hacker had come to Supe- 
rior, two of his brothers had been there, 
Francis coming in 1854, all the way from 
Stillwater, Minn., in a canoe. He remained 
there but a few days, traded his watch chain 
for a town lot, returned East and came back 
to Superior in 1856. The next year he 
returned to Massachusetts to be married, 
and in the spring of 1858 came again to 
Superior. The following winter he spent 
at Fox Lake and in the spring of 1859 went 
to Eagle Ri\'er, Mich., where he was deputy 
sheriff of Keweenaw county in i860 and 
1 86 1. In the fall of 1862 he went to Prov- 
idence, R. I., where for many years he was 
a photographer, and he now resides in 
Brantford, Canada. 

Isaiah Hacker, another brother, a car- 
penter by trade, came to Superior in 1855 
and built a liouse on the lot for which Fran- 
cis had traded his watch chain. He pre- 
empted 160 acres, the southeast quarter of 
section 27, town 49, range 14, which is now 



within the city limits of Superior. In the 
summer of 1856 he went to Bayfield, Wis., 
and in December, 1857, made an overland 
trip to St. Paul with a dog train. He then 
moved to Maine, where he now lives in 
Westbrook. 

J. Winslow Hacker, is one of the pio- 
neers of Superior and Douglas county and 
has a fund of interesting anecdotes relating 
to the early days. He has still in his pos- 
session many specimens of the daguerreo- 
types whicJT he took as a young man, which 
are remarkably bright and well-preserved, 
and are interesting as survivals of the early 
process of photography. 

LORIN W. PALMER, a citizen of 
Duluth who represents one of the pioneer 
families at the Head of the Lakes, was born 
May I, 1832, in the town of Henderson, 
Jefferson Co., N. Y. His ancestors were 
among the pioneer settlers of New England, 
the Palmer family having been founded in 
America by two brothers who came hither 
in the "Mayflower," on her second voyage, 
and settled in Massachusetts. One of them 
subsequently moved to Stonington, Conn., 
where annual reunions of his descendants are 
held. 

Vose Palmer, grandfather of Lorin W..- 
served for a time in the Revolutionary war. 
He was a farmer by occupation, and moved 
to Herkimer county, X. Y., where he be- 
came a prominent citizen, and where his 
descendants are still numerous. He died at 
the age of alxiut sixty. Vose Palmer mar- 
ried Betsy Stuart, who came from the royal 
family of Scotland. 

Samuel S. Palmer, father of Lorin W., 
Avas born in Connecticut, and settled in Jef- 
ferson county, N. Y., while a young man. 
In 1832 he migrated westward to Wood 
county, Ohio, where he lived for many 
years, and in 1857 he tried his fortune still 
fartlier west, settling in the then infant city 
of Duluth. For several years he was keeper 
of tlie Government lighthouse at the Supe- 
rior entry. He died April i, 1878, aged 
almost eighty-three years. While in Ohio 
he was alwavs active in local affairs, and 



COMMEMORATR'E BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



69 



quite prominent in the locality of his home. 
Mr. Palmer married Silenda S. Chapin, who 
was born May 20, 1797, and whose parents 
Hved on a farm in Herkimer county, X. Y. 
She died Sept. i, 1841, in Ohio, leaving a 
family of eleven children, as follows : Eva- 
line S., who is the wife of Mark Curtis, of 
Ypsilanti, Mich.; Samuel A., of Pontiac, 
Mich. ; Vose, who died June 28, 1897, at 
Sucker River, Minn.; Jotham C, born Jan. 
21, 1825, who died at Duluth; Maria H., 
Mrs. Samuel Gay. who died at Etna Green, 
Ind. ; Francis E., of Ishpeming-, Alich.: 
Lorin W. ; Leander C, of Marquette, Mich. ; 
Thaddeus and Theresa, twins, who tlied in 
childhood; and Alonzo S., who ser\-ed four 
years in Company F, 15th 111. V. I., and died 
on Minnesota Point, near Duluth, of in- 
juries received in the service. By a second 
marriage Samuel S. Palmer had two sons : 
Roswell H., who is a resident of Duluth ; 
and Lester C, deceased. 

Lorin W. Palmer passed his lioyhood 
on his father's farm in Ohio, and received 
his education in the public schools of the 
locality, such as they were at that early day, 
attending three or four months in the win- 
ter. He also spent two winters in high 
school at Perrysb'urg, Ohio. In 1859 he 
went to Etna Green, Ind., where he was em- 
ployed in a sawmill, and later he bought and 
operated a sawmill at Inwood. that State. 
During the Civil war Mr. Palmer volun- 
teered, and was at first rejected, but during 
1865 he was accepted, and served three 
months in Company I, 59th Ind. \^. I., doing 
picket duty at Hilton Head, S. C. In the 
fall of 1856 Mr. Palmer went to the Head of 
the Lakes, and spent a year or more at 
Sucker River. Minn., also helping to sur\ey 
the line of the St. Croix railroad, between 
Superior and Deer River, IMinn. In the 
fall of 1865 he returned to Superior, where 
he remained about ten years, during which 
time he was employed in sawmill work, and 
for a short time engaged in teaching, and 
he came thence to Duluth in 1875. He has 
since made his home in that city, and for a 
number of years gave his attention to dock 
building, filling contracts for the construc- 



tion of a number of docks. In recent years 
he has lived retired, enjoying the fruits of 
his active years. Since coming west he 
has devoted his time principally to business, 
but while living in Indiana he was quite 
proniinent in local affairs, and served one 
year as township trustee of Etna township, 
Kosciusko Co., Ind. He has been a Repul> 
lican from the formation of the party, voted 
for Fremont in 1856, and during that cam- 
paign was an active participant in a figlit 
over a political meeting. 

Mr. Palmer has always been interested 
in church work, and he assisted in organiz- 
ing the First M. E. Church of Superior, of 
which he was the first steward and a mem- 
ber of the first board of trustees. The fam- 
ily is now connected with the First M. E. 
Church in Duluth, of which Mr. Palmer has 
been steward since the year 1880. His 
social connections are with Duluth Lodge. 
Xo. 1 10. A. O. U. W., in which he has 
filled all the chairs, and with Willis A. Gor- 
man Post, G. A. R., of which he is past 
commander. 

On Jan. 6, 1859. ^Ir. Palmer was united 
in marriage with Letitia Hughes, who was 
born in St. Catharine's, Quebec, and died 
March 28, 1871, at Superior, at the age of 
thirty-one years. She was a member of the 
Methodist Church. On May 5, 1872, Mr. 
Palmer married for his second wife Miss 
Margaret Hughes, a sister of the first, and 
she still survives. By the first union there 
were five children, namely: Clara S.. Mrs. 
James Cooper, of St. Paul, Minn. ; Delia 
M.. who is engaged at teaching in Brainerd. 
Minn. ; Letitia, who died at the age of seven 
years ; and Stewart and Charles, who were 
drowned when five and three years old, re- 
spectively. Three children blessed the sec- 
ond union: Evalyn S., Mrs. W. T. Giese, 
of ^McGregor. Iowa; Edward L., who is a 
Ixiokkeeper, with Booth & Co.. at Duluth; 
and Lester \V., stenographer for a lumber 
firm in Duluth. 

David and Sarah (Barrett) Hughes, 
parents of both the wives of Mr. Palmer, 
were born in Caermarthenshire, Wales, and 
emigrated U) Canada, locating at St. Cath- 



^o 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



arine's, Quebec. There Mrs. Hughes died 
in 1845. Mr. Hughes subsequently lived 
at Detroit, Mich., and his death occurred 
in Harbour Creek, Erie Co., Pa., in 18S7, 
when he was aged seventy-nine years. Pie 
was a carpenter, and cabinetmaker by occu- 
pation. 

ADELLIN P. ANDRUS, M. D., one 
of the older physicians and surgeons of 
Ashland, has been in professional prac- 
tice there since 1888, and in that time has 
gained a following that has not only placed 
him very near the head of his profession in 
Ashland, but has made his helpful presence 
familar in other towns within a circle of 
fifty miles. The doctor was born in Bing- 
hampton, N. Y., in 1854. the son of Simon 
P. and Susan Jane (Morrison) Andrus, 
both natives of the same town, and both 
descendants of English stock. 

Dr. Andrus passed his boyhood on a 
farm about ten miles from Di.xon, 111., where 
he lived until he was twelve years old and 
where he secured the rudiments of his edu- 
cation in the public schools. After complet- 
ing his general studies he spent several years 
in Chicago and in Davenport, Iowa, filling 
clerical positions, and then at the age of 
twenty-three began his medical studies. He 
read first under the guidance of Dr. W. H. 
Burt, of Chicago, with whom he worked 
three years before entering the Hahnemann 
Medical College in Chicago. He completed 
the three-year course of lectures in that insti- 
tution, and was graduated in 1880. where- 
upon he began his career as a physician bv 
locating at Fairfield, Wis. There he was 
occupied with a general practice for eight 
years, but at the end of that time sold his 
practice and settled in Ashland. The re- 
moval was a wise one, for Dr. Andrus has 
been very successful and now has a large 
and devoted following of patients. 

In 1879 Dr. Andrus was married to 
Miss Helen Moore, of Chicago, now de- 
ceased. His second union, to Miss Maria 
Gilbertson, of Jackson county, was formed 
in 1889. They have two children, Grace 
and Adellin. 



On political questions Dr. Andrus up- 
hokls the Republican party, and has always 
manifested great interest in local politics, an 
interest which has taken a practical and 
active form. He has served his community 
in many capacities and has filled each posi- 
tion most satisfactorily. For two years he 
was chairman of the county board, was 
supervisor of the 4th ward four years, for 
the same length of time was president of the 
county board of agriculture, and two years 
ago was elected president of the city council, 
which last office he still fills. Professionally 
he is examining physician of the United 
States pension board, appointed in 1901 ; a 
local surgeon for the Wisconsin Central 
Railway, a position he still holds; and in 
May, 1903, was chosen president of the- 
Wisconsin State Homeopathic Society. In 
his church relations Dr. Andrus is a mem- 
ber of the First M. E. church, and holds offi- 
cial position in the society. 

The doctor's sympathy with the aims 
of fraternal organizations and his apprecia- 
tion of the benefits to be derived from them, 
have led him to identify himself with several^ 
orders, among them being the Masonic fra- 
ternity, in which he has attained the degree- 
of consistory Mason. He is also a member 
of the A. 6. U. W., M. W. of A., I. O. 
F., and the B. P. O. E., all these orders 
being represented in Ashland. 

Dr. Andrus has a fine residence, very 
completely appointed, while there is no bet- 
ter equipped office than his in Ashland. 

GEORGE WILSON ADAMS. In the 
ranks of those who come to us from other 
lands are many whose mdustry and intelli- 
gence make them valuable citizens, but those 
from England seem as a rule to possess a 
keener understanding of our national spirit 
than others, and to appreciate more fully 
the essential purpose of our institutions. 
^Vhile this is but natural, it is none the less 
gratifying and each recurring proof of the 
fact is welcome. George Wilson Adams, 
one of the pioneers of Medford and a promi- 
nent lawyer, has displayed especially strong 
loyalty to his adopted country. Mr. Adams 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



71 



was torn in Hazely, Oxfordshire, England, 
]\Iarch 4, 1845, son of George and Anna 
(Walker) Adams, natives of the same lo- 
cality. 

George Adams came to the United 
States in 1854, and located at Beaver Dam. 
Wis., then an obscure trading post, where 
he took up wild land and improved it. 
Later he took up another farm near Lowell, 
Dodge count}^ a fine piece of property, and 
made his home there till his death in 1890, 
at the age of seventy-seven. Mr. Adams 
was a man of simple tastes and quiet life, 
not anxious to be in the eye of the public. 
His wife survived him only a year, dying in 
her seventy-third yfiar. They were members 
of the Episcopal Church. The children 
born to this couple numbered twelve, of 
whom four served in the Civil war, namely : 
Edward, who was in the army four years, 
and died later in Minnesota, from the effects 
of his service; William, who was shot and 
instantly killed at Atlanta, while serving be- 
side his brother, George W. ; Benjamin, 
who fought four years, and is now a resi- 
dent of Martin county, Minn. ; and George 
Wilson. Four brothers of Mrs. Anna 
Adams also served in the Union ranks : 
William ; George, who was in a Wisconsin 
regiment, and died in the service; Benja- 
min ; and Henry. 

George Wilson Adams spent most of his 
time on the farm until the war broke out. 
He enlisted in Company C, i6th Wis. V. I., 
in 1862, and served until his honorable dis- 
charge at the end of the war. He took part 
in Sherman's Atlanta campaign, and the 
subsequent marches, and was with the army 
at the Grand Review at Washington. He 
w^as constantly in the ranks for three years, 
though he was slightly wounded July 21, 
1864, at Atlanta, when he was struck in the 
knee and knocked down, but not really dis- 
abled. 

After the war Mr. Adams commenced 
his education, and went to the schools of 
Beaver Dam, Waterloo and Lake Mills be- 
fore entering Wisconsin University for a 
scientific course. During his Junior year he 
was taken ill, and upon recovering gave up 



his scientific work and began the law course, 
from which he was graduated in 1873. He 
taught for a year at Lowell and Reeseville, 
and then entered upon the practice of his- 
profession in tlie office of Judge Ogden, at 
Waupaca. In the spring of 1875 he accom- 
panied Judge Ogden and his son. to Med- 
ford, where they were in partnership for 
two years. Later he was a partner of E. 
H. Schweppe, for a couple of years, but 
since then has been practicing alone. 

Upon going to Medford Mr. Adams and 
John Ogden published the Taylor County 
Nczvs, the first paper in the county, and they 
had to ship in their press and type from 
Waupaca, and their first issue was in 
February, 1875. It was afterwards sold 
to Dr. Hubbell and discontinued. Later 
Mr. Adams again started the Neius, pub- 
lished it during 1881-82, and then sold 
out. Another business interest he has 
had is a tract of 120 acres of wild 
land adjoining the city, which he has im- 
proved and converted into valuable prop- 
erty. 

Mr. Adams has been married twice ; first 
in 1876 to Augusta Stewart, daughter of 
C. K. and Susan Stewart, of Elbe, Wis. 
Mrs. Adams was born in Concord, N. H., 
and died in Medford in 1883, aged thirty- 
six. She left a daughter. Florence, who 
died when four years old. Mrs. Adams was 
a devout Congregationalist. For his second 
wife Mr. Adams married Ella S. Stewart, 
a sister of his first wife, to whom he was 
united in 1885. 

Mr. Adams has always been an active 
Republican. He was the first chairman of 
the town of Medford, and of the county 
board, when the county was organized 
March 22, 1875. He has laid out many 
roads, and had charge of the building of 
the court house and other county build- 
ings. He was district attorney for twelve 
vears and court commissioner for six. Mr. 
,\dams has spoken through the State in 
many campaigns, has been a delegate to 
many State and Congressional conventions, 
and for a long time was chairman of the 
countv committee. He was a charter mem- 



7^ 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



ber of James Shields Post, No. 145, G. A. 
R., and was its first commander. The fam- 
ily attends the Methodist Church, where 
Mr. Adams is chairman of the board of 
stewards. 

HON. ALBERT L. BUGBEE, probate 
judge of Washburn county, has been a resi- 
dent of Shell Lake since 1882. His birth 
•occurred in Springfield, Mass., March 31, 
1850, son of Jesse and Mary (Ashley) Bug- 
.bee, the former a native of Connecticut. 

The Bugbee family is of English origin, 
the emigrant ancestor settling in Connecti- 
cut in Colonial days. Great-grandfather, 
Bugbee was a soldier in the Continental 
army, and his son, Jesse, lived and died on a 
farm near Hartford, Conn. Jesse Bugbee 
(2). father of Albert L., went to Massachu- 
setts when a young man, and in 1871 moved 
to Oshkosh, Wis., where he passed the re- 
mainder of his life, dying in 1878, at the 
age of seventy-three. Mrs. Mary (Ashley) 
Bugbee died in Springfield. Mass., in 1858, 
when fifty-three years of age. She was 
born at Long Meadow, near Springfield, 
where her father, a farmer, lived and died. 
Her mother, Mrs. Mary Ashley, came to 
this country from England. 

As a boy Albert L. Bugbee attended the 
public school in Long Meadow, where Sen- 
ator Wolcott of Montana was one of his 
fellow students. Later he was a pupil in 
the Springfield high school. In 1867 he 
went to Oshkosh, where he studied law with 
Judge Burnell. He moved to Burnett 
county in 1873, 'T^'^ was admitted to the 
Bar there in 1882. On first coming to Bur- 
nett county he in\'ested in cranberry lands, 
on which he raised several crops. He has 
had a general law practice in Shell Lake 
since locating there, in 1882, giving some 
attention also to fire insurance, and acting 
as agent for the Fidelity & Deposit Co., of 
Maryland. He has filled various official 
positions, having been the first register of 
deeds for W\ashburn county, serving two 
terms as district attorney, and since 1897 
filling the office of county judge. For four 
years Judge Bugbee was postmaster at Shell 



Lake, by appointment of President Harri- 
son. He has taken part in many political 
conventions, and is one of the most influen- 
tial Republicans in the county. 

In 1874 Judge Bugbee married Millie 
Otis, daughter of Joshua and Mary Otis, of 
St. Albans, Vt. Mrs. Bugbee died July 4, 
1899, at the age of fifty-five. She was a 
communicant of the Episcopal Church, of 
which Judge Bugbee is also a member. Fra- 
ternally the Judge is connected with the 
Masons. 

JOHN SMITH (deceased), one of the 
pioneers at the Head of the Lakes, had lived 
in that region from 1856, and his life from 
early manhood was identified with the de- 
velopment of that section of the country. 
Mr. Smith was born in Devonshire, England, 
in 1826, came to America in 1851, and died 
at New Duluth, July 6, 1898. 

The parents of John Smith died when 
he was young, and he was reared by an 
aunt, Mrs. Sarah Baker, of Devonshire. He 
had rather meager opportunities for receiv- 
ing an education there, but afterward in 
America he made up for many deficiencies 
by hard work at a night school, and by read- 
ing and studying by himself, so that event- 
ually he acquired sufficient training to ecjuip 
himself satisfactorily for his life in the West. 
On first coming to this country Mr. Smith 
located in Syracuse, N. Y., where he found 
employment with a Mr. Tucker, proprietor 
of a general store. After four or fi\e years 
in that city he joined a party going to Su- 
perior, Wis., and thereafter cast his lot with 
that frontier country. Soon after arriving 
there he was engaged by the government to 
carry the mails between Twin Lakes and 
Oneota, for two years making these 
trips on foot, twice a week, a dis- 
tance of sixteen miles. From Fond du 
Lac to Oneota he used a boat in 
summer, but in winter that portion of his 
route became the most dangerous of all, 
and in the discharge of his tasks he incur- 
red many risks, frequently breaking through 
the ice. Subsequently Mr. Smith removed 
permanently to the Minnesota side, and at 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



7^ 



first worked in the sawmill owned by Mr. 
Wheeler. He had gone to the lake regions 
with small means, but as he gradually ac- 
cumulated more he made investments which 
proved generally fortunate and resulted in 
his acquiring a competence. 

At the beginning of the year 1863 Mr. 
Smith took up a claim in the vicinity of 
Twin Lakes, cleared a few acres, built a 
shanty on it and in time "proved up" on the 
land. Later he bought no acres, a part of 
which land is now the site of New Duluth, 
and settled there. The tract was known as 
the Gurneau Claim, and was purchased bv 
Mr. Smith after it had reverted to the gov- 
ernment. He built an addition to the cabin 
that had been originally put up, and made 
the place his permanent abode, developing it 
into a fine homestead. In 1891, when the 
land boom of Xew Duluth was at its height, 
he sold a portion of his land to the Xew 
Duluth Land Company, taking the com- 
pany's stock in payment. 

On May 8, 1870, Mr. Smith married 
Miss Anna Banks, daughter of Mrs. Carrie 
Banks, who died in Christianstad, Sweden. 
Mrs. Smith had come to Oneota in 1869. 
To Mr. and Mrs. Smith came three children : 
(i) William George, the eldest, born April 
4. 1871. was given a fine etlucation, attend- 
ing first the public schools and afterward the 
State School of Agriculture at St. Anthony 
Park, and then went to the State University 
at Minneapolis, from which he was gradu- 
ated in 1895. He was then appointed to 
take charge of a sub-station at Marshall. 
Minn., a part of the State Experimental 
Farm, and is now filling an important posi- 
tion in the Agricultural Department at 
Washington ; he has traveled extensively 
throughout the United States. (2) Miss 
S.A.RAH A., second child of John and .\nna 
Smith, was born Feb. 7. 1873. ^\'S"t to the 
public school, and was graduated from the 
Duluth high school, spending one year at 
Cornell College, Iowa. She has since 1893 
been engaged in teaching in Duluth. She 
"held the position of principal of the Xew Du- 
luth school for the past four years, and is in 
every way qualified to discharge the duties 



oi that pt)sition, for not only has she the 
executive ability required, but is gifted with 
unusual powers as a teacher. Her home is 
a beautiful and spacious one, overlooking the 
St. Louis River, and Miss Smith presides in 
it with the dignity and grace that always 
characterized her bearing. ( 3 ) Louise, born 
Aug. 6, 1877, died Xov. 23, 1880. A little 
girl, Esther Louise, born in Duluth Jan. 16, 
1892, has also been adopted regularly into 
the family. 

John Smith was a Republican in i)olitics, 
and was actively interested in mum'cipal af- 
fairs. He filled various local offices, among 
them that of treasurer for the Fond du Lac 
school district, which he held for twenty 
\-ears. He also served several years as 
town treasurer of Fond du Lac. and was 
elected for two terms of two years each to the 
office of count}' commissioner. Mr. Smith 
was widely acquainted among the old set- 
tlers, and had many warm friends among 
them. He had good business qualities, and 
was successful in most of his undertakings, 
earning a place among the substantial men 
of the region. 

EMERY FOUNTAIX. Among the 
respected citizens of Taylor county, repre- 
senting pioneer families, is Emery Foun- 
tain, whose grandfather was an early settler 
in Fond du Lac. Emery Fountain was 
horn in Canada, at St. Johns. Chrysostom, 
near Montreal, July 28, 1854. 

Jacques Fountaine, the pioneer, made his 
home for some time in Fond du Lac, but 
eventually returned to Canada where he died 
at the age of eighty-four.' He was a car- 
penter by trade. His name was properly 
not Fountaine. but Langlois, and many of 
his descendants bear that name, but as he 
\\as adopted when a little boy by a man 
named Fountaine. he himself used that rather 
than Langlois. 

Isaias Fountaine, father of Emery, was 
born in St. Pierre. Canada, and spent the 
earlier part of his life in that country. After 
coming to \\'isconsin he resided at Fond du 
Lac. and was engaged in saw and planing 
mills for some years. In 1878 he removed 



74 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



to Stetsonville, where he hved until his death 
in January, 1889, at the age of fifty-nine 
years. His original trade was that of a tan- 
ner, and while in Canada he had also been 
a farmer in a small way. His wife, Mrs. 
Louise (LaCroix) Eountaine, died in Can- 
ada in 1861, a comparatively young woman, 
though her mother lived to be nearly ninety. 
Besides Emery, their children were : Cae- 
sar, of LaCrosse, Wis. ; Mrs. Julius Leclaire, 
of Dorchester, Wis. ; and Mrs. Delia Hen- 
neberry, of Boise, Idaho. Isaias Eountaine 
was a devoted Catholic, and as there was 
no church at Stetsonville, when he first 
went there, mass was read in his house for 
a while. When a church was finally erected, 
it was upon a site, covering one acre, which 
had been donated by Mr. Eountaine. Eor 
a long time, too, his house was used as a 
town hall. 

Emery Eountain, for so he spells the 
name, began working in a sawmill when he 
was thirteen years old, receiving fifty cents 
a day for his work, and he has ever since 
been connected with the lumber industry. 
When he went with his father to Stetsonville 
in 1878, he found ready employment there 
in a sawmill, and worked for nine years with 
one concern (E. K. Buttrick), being head 
sawyer for five years. Since 1891 he has 
been head sawyer in the mill of the Elling- 
son Lumber Company. 

Mr. Eountain has various real estate in- 
terests. Almost immediately after his ar- 
rival in Taylor county, he located a home- 
stead of eighty acres near Stetsonville, 
which he still owns, as well as a place of 
thirty acres in the village upon which he 
resides. His present house is one f>i two 
which he built. 

For his wife Mr. Eountain chose a 
native of Canada, like himself, Miss Capi- 
tola Hibl)ard, born in St. Gabriel, Quebec. 
They were married Nov. 27, 1879. Mrs. 
Eountain was a daughter of Richardson and 
Dilima (Therrien) Hibbard, who took up 
their abode in Stetsonville in March, 1879. 
Mr. Hibbard was a farmer and died in May, 
i8g6, aged seventy. His widow is still liv- 
ing and is in her seventv-fifth vear. Two 



children have been born to Mr. and Mrs. 
Eountain, Adrien and Louise. 

Mr. Eountain is a Democrat in his polit- 
ical principles, but as a citizen who looks 
to the essential welfare of his community, 
he takes an independent position on local 
issues. Ele and his family are members of 
the Catholic church, and for three years he 
was treasurer of the church funds. Mr. 
Eountain is a skilled artisan in his line, and 
is a man held in the highest esteem in Stet- 
sonville. 

HISTORICAL SKETCH OE LADY- 
SMITH. One of the marvels of Northern 
Wisconsin is the rapidity with which towns 
first spring into existence, and then cpiickly 
become centers of commercial enterprise; 
among these, both in population and indus- 
trial development Ladysmith may be justly 
said to have few equals. The name of the 
original hamlet was Elambeau Ealls, which 
was changed in a few years to Warner and 
that in turn in 1900 to Ladysmith, in honor 
of the wife of C. R. Smith, president of the 
Menasha Wooden Ware Company, an ex- 
tensive plant established in the town that 
year. 

The history of the town may be said to 
have IiegTui in 1885, when the Minneapolis, 
St. Paul & Sault Ste. Marie Railroad Com- 
pany began operating trains between Min- 
neapolis and Deer Tail (now Tony). In 
March of that year the original settlers ap- 
peared, in the persons of Mr, and Mrs. 
Robert Corbett. The only building within 
the limits of the future town was the "Pren- 
tice House," then in the course of construc- 
tion, and but a few families were living in 
that region. To the north on the Elambeau, 
was Bruno Vinette, who kept a stopping" 
place in the early logging days ; James Ma- 
loney, deceased ; Antoine Plaunt, a home- 
steader, and Ludger Lebarge, all with their 
families. Toward the south lived Peter 
Sannes, still a resident in the town : John 
McBride: H. E. McMaster, formerly of 
Elambeau ; Louis Cloutier, Eritz Ducom- 
mun, and "French" John Murphy. Mr. 
Corbett, on his arrival, at once erected a 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



small sawmill and this became a magnet 
drawing others to the spot, first of all Mr,. 
J. W. Fritz, who opened the first stock of 
goods in the town in 1888. The only other 
places of business for some time were tlie 
"Prentice House," built and conducted by 
Bruno Vinette, and a saloon owned by Mr. 
John Lindoo. By 1897 a second mercantile 
concern was established by O. C. Sabin ; two 
years later Mr. E. M. Worden opened busi- 
ness; and a grocery store conducted by Mr. 
John Corbett and AI. W. D. Armstrong, fol- 
lowed. 

The town grew very slowly, however, 
through the early days, and numbered only 
about 200 inhabitants when, in September, 
1900, it was proposed to create Gates county 
out of Chippewa county. The bill for such 
separation was passed by the Legislature in 
May, 1901, and Ladysmith was made the 
county seat. The legality of the measure 
was disputed and the opposition asked that 
an injunction be given restraining the new 
board from issuing bonds to defray the ex- 
penses of erecting a courthouse, until the 
question of location had been voted upon by 
the people of the county. The case came be- 
fore Judge Parrish, of the Circuit Court, 
who dissolved the injunction, and when the 
appeal was taken to the Supreme Court of 
the State late in 1901, the decision of the 
lower court was sustained. ^Meantime 
Ladysmith had been incorporated as a vil- 
lage, and the population had leaped to 500. 

Tne legal proceedings had focused atten- 
tion upon the new town and roused the dor- 
mant energies of the people, while outside 
capitalists perceived the many natural ad- 
vantages of the place for manufacturing in- 
terests. During the year 1901 several new 
concerns were started ; the Menasha Wood- 
en Ware Company constructed a dam for 
utilizing the power of the rapids, and the 
following year built their extensive manu- 
facturing plant; at the same time the Mena- 
sha Paper Company erected their pulp and 
paper mills, and from these enterprises came 
an impetus fairly electrifying. The town 
grew as if by magic and people came flock- 
ing in by the scores and hundreds, the ma- 



jority of them well supplied with funds. 
Within three years 1.500 people had estab- 
lished themselves there in comfortable 
homes, while the total population rose 
(1904) to 2,000. With its many modern 
structures, the town presents an appearance 
of beauty and stability equalled by only a 
few towns in northern Wisconsin. 

Among the public buildings erected, the 
Court-House stands prominent; it is a hand- 
some well-equipped building, put up in 
1901-02, at a cost of $30,000. The high 
school building is a modern brick structure, 
fully up-to-date in all its equipments, and 
cost $15,000. It contains eight rooms, and 
nine teachers are employed in it. In 1903 
the city water works were put in, built ac- 
cording to the compressed air system, and 
having- a throwing capacity of 2,500 gallons 
a minute. Two miles of mains ha\e already 
been laid, and the total cost of the plant has 
been $14,000. The business houses include 
the First National Bank, established in 
1900, with a capital of $25,000; the presi- 
dent is Mr. G. E. Newman and the cashier 
Mr. H. W. True. In the fall of 1903 an- 
other bank, also with capital stock of $25,- 
000. was opened in Ladysmith, with Mr. 
R. O. Sinclair as president, Mv. W. S. Man- 
ning vice-president and Mr.' J. O. Sinclair 
as cashier. The Ladysmith Light & Power 
Companv was incorporated in 1902 by O. 
E. Pedei-son, L. E. McGill, W. S. Manning 
and O. E. Sabin, with a capital stock of 
$10,000. Their first plant, built in the fall 
of 1902, was burned March 18. 1904, but 
was soon replaced by the present expensive 
one. on the \^'estinghouse Alternating Cur- 
rent System. At that time the Company 
was reorganized under the same name, and 
with the same amount of stock, Mr. L. E. 
McGill being put in as president, Mr. E. A. 
Forbes, of Rhinelander. vice-president anrl 
Mr. O. J. Kauft'man, secretary and treas- 
urer. The two principal hotels of the town 
are the "Gerard" and the "Central," both 
modern in construction and thoroughly 
first-class. 

Additional proof of the growth of the 
town is found in its postal receipts, which 



76 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



increased from $125 in 1900 to $3,600 in 
1903, thus putting it into the third class. 
These receipts were independent of the 
money order business, which in 1903 aggre- 
gated $27,000. The miUs of the town aver- 
age an annual output of more than 1,000 
cars, while the in-freight is nearly as large. 
Prosperity has also followed the Farmers 
Mutual Fire Insurance Company of Gates 
county, which was organized in July, 1902, 
with Mr. E. Townsend as president, and 
Mr. L. Lebarge as secretary. The company 
comprised 317 members, carries insurance 
on farm property aggregating $257,975, 
and has met every loss most promptly. 

The business development of a town is 
naturally its most striking aspect, but Lady- 
smith has not been behind in its growth 
along educational and religious lines. The 
first school was opened in 1887 in the "Cor- 
bett Hotel," now the "Manley House," with 
Miss Mary Grandmaitre, of Chippewa Falls, 
now Mrs. Charles Wood, of Flambeau 
Farm, as teacher. From that beginning the 
growth has been steady, until now the fine 
high school building is inadequate for the 
demands upon its space. 

The town supports two regular newspa- 
pers, The Weekly Budget and The Gates 
County Journal, both of which have excell- 
ent plants and are ably conducted, the form- 
er by Mr. M. C. Martin, and the latter by 
Mr. D. H. Richards. In the churches five 
denominations are represented, all of which 
the Congregational, Baptist, Christian, Cath- 
olic and Lutheran, own comfortable houses 
of worship. 

AlthougJT the growth of Ladysmith has 
been more than rapid, all signs indicate that 
its prosperity is nothing ephemeral, but 
rather that it rests upon a solid and rational 
basis that promises continued development 
in the future. 

WILLIAM N. FULLER. Cumberland. 
Barron Co., W'is., has among its distin- 
guished residents many representatives of 
the legal profession, whose talents have made 
them known throughout the State. William 
N. Fuller belongs to this class, although he is 



still a N'oung man. having been born .\pril 
28, 1870, at Star Prairie, St. Croix Co., 
Wisconsin. 

J. I'". I'uller. his father, was born at Ap- 
pleton, Maine. Growing up in the East the 
father learned the trade of carpenter. In 
1855, he came to Illinois, and still later to St. 
Croix County, Wis., settling at Star Prairie 
in 1859. Upon first coming to Wisconsin, 
J. F. Fuller worked at his trade, but later 
opened a general store at Star Prairie, con- 
tinuing same successfully until May, 1882, 
when he removed to Cumberland, Barron 
County, and for sixteen years was engaged 
in the same line of business. In January, 
1903, he was honored by appointment as 
postmaster of that place. For two terms he 
served very ably as president of the village, 
and for three terms has been an alderman. 
He has always been active as a Republican 
in politics, directing wisely and intelligently, 
and his success in every walk of life is due 
to his good judgment and untiring energy, 
combined with strict integrity. 

J. F. Fuller married (first) Sarah Phil- 
brick, of Waldo, Maine, by whom he had 
one child, Ai DeForest, municipal judge at 
Tower, Minn. Mr. Fuller married (second) 
Lydia Nicholson, a native of Providence, R. 
I., and they became the parents of: Elmer 
B. H., of Highland, Minn., weighmaster and 
night agent for the Duhitli & Iron Range 
Railroad; and William X. 

^\'illiam N. Fuller, after completing a 
course in the public schools, attended the law 
department of the University of Wisconsin 
in 1889 and 1890, from which he was grad- 
uated in 1890, and he immediately located at 
Cumberland, Wis., and began the practice of 
his chosen profession. Within a year, so 
generally were his abilities recognized and 
a])i)rcciated. he was elected municipal judge, 
and served ablv in that honorable posi- 
tion until 1896. He was also elected 
district attorney in 1896. and held that re- 
sponsible office until 1903. Like his father, 
he is a i)rominent Republican, and very ac- 
tive in the support of the party. 

On Nov. 30, 1892, Mr. Fuller was mar- 
ried to Miss Grace Pinkerton, of .\rena. 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



77' 



Wis., and three children have been born to 
them : Donald P. ; William T., who died at 
the age of two and one-half years; and Rich- 
ard C. 

Fraternally. Mr. Fuller is a member of 
the K. of P., belonging to Lodge No. 62 
of Cumberland ; and of the Modern Wood- 
men. Mrs. Fuller is a consistent member 
of the Congregational Church. 

JAMES H. VAN METER, contractor 
and builder of Hudson, St. Croix Co., Wis., 
was born at Bowling Green, Breckenridge 
Co., Ky., son of Miles H. and Mary P. 
(Litsey) Van Meter, of Grayson county, 
Kentucky. 

(I) Jacob Van Meter was one of the 
.pioneers of Kentucky with Daniel Boone, 
and was a very wealthy and honored gentle- 
man. 

(II) Abraham Van Meter, one of the 
children of Jacob, was a large slave owner 
and prominent man of Kentucky, where he 
owned and operated a large plantation. 

(III) Miles H. Van Meter was a builder 
and contractor, and also conducted a large 
farm, being a very busy man. In 1836, he 
went to Lasalle county. 111., and then for 
thirteen or fourteen years, he was in Ken- 
dall county, 111., after which he came to Wis- 
consin, reaching Hudson May 2. 1852. At 
that time there were few people in the place, 
and for the first year or two. he worked in 
the woods, and then, as others began to 
gather alx)ut the little center, he found ready 
employment in contracting and building, 
and became so busy that he started his son, 
James H., learning the carpenter's trade 
when he was thirteen years of age. For 
three or four years the father and sons 
•worked together. In 1856, the elder Mr. 
Van Meter built the "Hoyt House," which 
was the first hotel put up in Hudson. This 
he operated in conjunction with his contract- 
ing, and built many of the better class of resi- 
dences and office and business blocks in the 
city. In 1898 he died, while his wife passed 
away in 1875. Always a prominent Republi- 
can, for four years he was county treasurer, 
and held numerous ofifices of less importance. 



At one time he was captain of militia, and 
was a very highly respected man of his time. 
In the Baptist Church, he always took an 
active part, and was one of its most liberal 
contributors. 

The following children were born to 
himself and wife; Davis R., a contractor 
and builder of Washington, 111. ; Marion L., 
of Urbana, 111., a contractor, builder and 
money loaner ; James H. ; Cassandra P., 
widow of A. L. Dyer, a jeweler of Hudson, 
Wis. ; John H. is an extensive farmer of 
Dickey county, N. Dak., one of the firm of 
Van Meter Bros., whose home farm of 640 
acres one mile east of Ellendale Station, is 
devoted to stock raising and farming; Pat- 
rick Henry, killed at Chickamauga in 1863, 
while he was a member of Company A, ist 
Wis. V. I. ; Abe C, editor of the St. Croix 
RepiibUcan at New Richmond, at the time 
of his death in 1901 ; Mary E., of Hudson; 
Edward W., living at Aberdeen, S. Dak., 
where he is city engineer and architect. 

James H. Van Meter, although attend- 
ing the public schools, was also engaged in 
learning the trade of a carpenter, and at a 
time when most young men must begin to fit 
themselves for their life business, he was 
ready to commence work. 

On Nov. 5, 1855, Mr. Van Meter mar- 
ried Mary E. Van Meter, of Tazewell county, 
111., daughter of Nathaniel and Mary (Dor- 
sey) Van Meter, who moved from Hardin, 
Ky., to Tazewell county, 111., about 1844, 
and bought land in that locality. There- 
Mrs. Van Meter's .father remained un- 
til he died, actively engaged in farm- 
ing. Eleven children were in the fam- 
ily of which Mrs. Van Aleter was 
a member : James, deceased ; Gillie, de- 
ceased : Morton, deceased ; William, de- 
ceased ; Martha, deceased ; Mary, who died 
Feb. 5, 1905 (Mrs. Van Meter) ; Sanford, 
deceased : Joseph, deceased : Henry, in busi- 
ness at Great Falls, Md. : John, living at 
Parsons, Kans. : Nancy, of Roberts, Ford 
County, Illinois. 

Mr. and Mrs. James H. Van Meter, 
have had the following family: Emma, who 
married Rod. HurlbuTt, a railroad agent and 



:78 



COAIMEAIORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



has three children, Bessie, Raymond and 
Vera; Hattie A., who married George A. 
Williams, of St. Paul, Minn., a machinist, 
and has two children, Maude J. and Clin- 
ton; William S., a carpenter and contractor 
,of Hamlin, Minn., who married Ella Mus- 
ser ; Howard C, ex-railroad dispatcher, now 
a resident of St. Paul, a Christian Science 
.doctor, in the New York Life Building, and 
who married Etta U. HoUister; Victor, 
who died at the age of twenty-one years; 
Clifford C, at home, operator of the Omaha 
railroad at Hudson. These children were all 
.carefully educated in the home schools, and 
are bright, intelligent and successful. 

After their marriage, Mr. and Mrs. Van 
Meter settled down at Hudson, where he 
worked at his trade until he enlisted, Aug. 
2, 1862, in Company A. 30th Wis. V. L, 
at Hudson, and was placed in the Second Bri- 
gade. He was sent south to Bowling Green, 
Ky., and was one of the guard in charge of 
-the prisoners at Nashville, being in the ser- 
vice of the provost marshal, and after three 
years and three months, he was honorably 
discharged Oct. 9, 1865. at Madison, Wis. 
During his term of service he was thrown 
from a horse and ruptured. 

Returning from his strenuous life, he re- 
sumed his more peaceful occupation of work- 
ing at his trade, and so continued until 1881, 
when he went west to Dickey count>;, N. 
Dak., and he and his brother John took up 
an entire section, 640 acres, and they were 
very successful. Mr. Van Meter continued 
there until 1890, during which time, he built 
and owned a number of houses, and he also 
became well-known as a builder and con- 
tractor, in\-estcd in real estate, and handled 
property for others. Since returning to 
Hudson, Mr. Van Meter has done a portion 
of the contracting and building, and also 
handles real estate, being especially success- 
ful in that line. While he has never aspired 
to public i)referment, Mr. Van Meter is a 
very stanch Repul)lican. Both he and Mrs. 
Van Meter are Christian Scientists. Start- 
ing out in life with a pair of strong, willing 
hands and a thorough knowledge of his 
trade, Mr. Vim Meter, through hard work. 



thrift and good management, has become 
one of the most substantial men of the com- 
munity, and enjoys the unqualified respect 
of his accjuaintances and friends. 

RUSSEL W. FRENCH, a pioneer 
business man of Ashland and one of the 
most esteemed citizens of that growing place, 
was born in Dummerston, Vt., March 20, 
1S30. His parents, Russel and Julia (Cat- 
lin) French, came of that class of New Eng- 
land families, whose posterity have been in- 
strumental in shaping the moral and intellec- 
tual development of thousands of western 
cities and towns. William French, one of 
his paternal ancestors, lost his life in sup- 
porting the cause of liberty, during one of 
the first engagements of the Revolution. His 
grandfather, who bore the same name as 
the last named patriot, was a gunsmith by 
trade, and a rifle made by him is still pre- 
served by his descendants. He and his wife, 
Lydia, passed their early lives in the east- 
ern States, and died in New York. About 
1833 Russel French, Sr., removed from Ver- 
mont to Cattaraugus county, N. Y., acquir- 
ing a farm on the Holland Purchase, which 
was his home for the balance of his life. For 
some years he devoted his attention to teach- 
ing, and being an excellent penman, made a 
specialty of instruction in that art. He was 
long an elder of the Presbyterian Church, 
and a most exemplary citizen, being one of 
the few men in his day who totally abstained 
from the use of liquor. His only brother, 
Ozro French, became one of the early mis- 
sionaries to Farther India, and with his wife 
spent twelve years in the effort to enlighten 
the people of that country. Both Russel 
French and his wife reached the age of 
eighty-four and reared a family of nine chil- 
dren, eight of whom are still living. Of this 
number, Helen, widow of Charles Ballard, 
of Ashland, and Russel W. are the only 
residents of Wisconsin. 

Russel W. French attended an academy 
in Springville, N. Y., and at the age of six- 
teen years began to learn the tinner's trade, 
which he subsequently followed for a time 
at Ashtabula, Ohio. Since 1855 he has been 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



79 



a citizen of Wisconsin. He worked some 
3'ears as a journeyman in La Crosse, and 
thence went to Superior. There being few 
l^ubhc conveyances above the head of navi- 
gation at St. Paul, he traveled on foot most 
of the balance of the journey, and opened a 
tinshop in Superior, then a frontier village 
of about four hundred inhabitants. This 
business he carried on successfully until 
1872, when he removed to Ashland, bring- 
ing the first stock of hardware to that place. 
Such was the demand for his wares that 
about one thousand dollars worth of goods 
were sold before being removed from the 
dock where they were landed. He also 
brought the frame of a building in which 
he has ever since done business, and 
which was at once erected upon the north 
side of Second street, now the principal 
thoroughfare of the city, but then a mere 
roadway, which had just been cleared 
through the forest. Though he afterward 
met with some discouraging circumstances 
owing to the business depressions which 
prevailed throughout the country, his busi- 
ness has generally prospered and his integ- 
rity is unquestioned by his associates. The 
present firm is R. W. French & Son, and be- 
sides an immense stock of hardware, they 
carry all kinds of agricultural implements. 
Thougli in his seventy-sixth year at this 
writing, Mr. French still practices the indus- 
trious habits which have characterized his 
whole career, and he spends the greater part 
of each day at his place of business. 

On Oct. 19, 1853, Mr. French was mar- 
ried to Rosetta Mary Magher, daughter of 
John Magher of Ashtabula, Ohio. She was 
born near Rome, N. Y., Feb. 5, 1832, and 
died at Superior, Wis., Nov. 6, 1871, in the 
faith of the Presljyterian Church. Mr. and 
Mrs. French had eight children, of whom the 
following is the record : Ella Rosetta, wife 
of S. ^^^ Tanner, of Ashland : Emma, Mrs. 
Oswald Dundas. of Ashland ; Eda, deceased, 
wife of Alexander McDougall; Fred, who is 
connected with the office of the L^nited States 
Marshal, at !\Iadison, \\'is. ; Clara! ]\Irs. 
Adolphus Harvev, now deceased ; Marv, 
Mrs. J. G. Xoble, of Butte, ]Mont. ; Frank, 



associated with his father in business ; and 
Rose, wife of Edward Johnston, of Manis- 
tique, Mich. Mr. French's posterity in- 
cludes about twenty living grandchildren 
and two great-grandchildren. On Aug. 14, 
1873, lie was married to Mary L. Vosburgh, 
a native of Cattaraugus county, N. Y., who 
died Sept. 22, 1874, at the age of thirty-nine. 
His present wife was Mrs. Mary J. Hasey, 
a native of Maine, to whom he was united 
Oct. 26, 1876. 

The next year after settling in Ashland, 
Mr. French helped to organize the First 
Congregational Church of that city, which 
was afterward merged into the Presbyterian 
Church, and he has ever since been an elder, 
and all his family have been reared in the lat- 
ter faith. He and all his family are natural 
musicians, and have always participated in 
the musical services of the church. He was 
a charter member of Ancient Landmark 
Ixidge, No. 210, A. F. & A. M. He distinct- 
ly remembers the election of William Henry 
Harrison, whose party he supported until 
the organization of the Republican party, 
since which time he has Ijeen identified there- 
with. He has had but little time or inclina- 
tion for political agitation, and his only of- 
ficial service has been rendered as a member 
of the town board at Superior, and of the 
school board at Ashland. After a residence 
of more than three decades in Ashland, he 
is recognized as one of the most useful, ex- 
emplary and conscientious citizens of that 
city. 

NICHOLAS LUCIUS, Jr.. postmaster 
and merchant at Solon Springs, and clerk 
of the town of Nebagamon, Douglas county, 
was born in 1866 on a farm near Tiffin, 
Ohio. His parents, Nicholas and Mary Ann 
(Marks) Lucius, were natives of Luxem- 
linurg, Belgium, and came to America in their 
childhood. In 1886 Mr. Lucius, Sr., took up 
a homestead claim near Solon Springs, which 
he has developed, having at present seventy 
acres under cultivation. His family consists 
of three sons and one daughter. He ser\'ed 
throughout the Civil War in Company K, 
123d O. V. I.; was a prisoner in Libby, An- 



8o 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



dersonville and Danville prisons and was one 
of six men who escaped from Andersonvillc. 
but was recaptured. 

For three years after coming to Solon 
Springs, Nicholas Lucius, Jr., acted as guide 
to fishing parties up the Brule river, and in 
the neighboring country. In 1889, in part- 
nership witli Peter E. Waterbury, he started 
a store, which they still carry on, doing a 
general merchandise business. They own 
a tract of 160 acres on the western shore of 
Lake St. Croix, which they have platted for 
a townsite. and which they are beautifying 
for a summer resort, four modern cottages 
having been erected already, and extensive 
improvements being in contemplation. This 
is one of the prettiest spots in Northern 
Wisconsin, an ideal place for sportsmen 
and health and pleasure seekers. It is soo 
feet higher than Lake Superior and here 
the Brule and St. Croix rivers, which stocked 
with fish, flow in opposite directions, find 
their source. Here is a spring of pure, soft 
water and groves of cedar and balsam add 
their charm. 

Mr. Waterbury, so closely associated 
in business with Mr. Lucius, is a native of 
Illinois. He served as a private through 
the Civil War, in Battery C, 2d 111. Light Ar- 
tillery, coming after the war to Wisconsin, 
where he engaged in lumbering on the Wis- 
consin river. In 1888 he came to Douglas 
county to take charge of a fashionable club 
house. He has held many local official posi- 
tions, serving one term as justice of the 
peace, one term as a member of the town 
board, one term as clerk, and several terms 
as county game warden, being at present 
deputy State game warden. He is a member 
of the G. A. R., of the I. O. O. F. and of 
the I. O. F. In politics he is a Republican. 
He has one son, Frank. 

Since coming of age Mr. Lucius has 
taken an active part in politics, of late years 
being associated with the Republican party, 
though formerly a Democrat. In 1888 he 
was appointed deputy town clerk, holding 
the position until 1891. He was elected 
constable in i88g and held that ofiice until 
1895 ; he was the first secretary of the school 



board, retaining the position a number of 
years, and since 1895 has been town clerk. 
He has also been a frequent delegate to 
county and congressional conventions. He is 
a member of the I. O. O. F., Nebagamon 
Lodge; of the M. W. A., Hawthorne Lodge, 
and of the Sons of Veterans, of West Su- 
perior. 

SAMUEL S. VAUGHN, strong of 
character, inflexible in purpose, left the im- 
press of his life work wherever he went, but 
in northwest Wisconsin he was most potent 
as a business and social factor. In 1849, 
more than half a century ago, in all the 
strength and vigor and enthusiasm of voung 
manhood, he first came to the Superi(jr cnun- 
try, locating at Copper Harbor. 

Mr. Vaughn was born in Berea, Ohio. 
Sept. 2, 1830, son of Ephraim Vaughn, who 
left his native New England bills to become 
<i pioneer settler in the Western Reserve. 
Samuel S. Vaughn had but meagre educa- 
tional advantages, the home farm being re- 
mote from schciols. He early learned the 
need of industry, and as a boy assisted in 
clearing the land and making it ready for 
cultivation. At the age of nineteen he left 
home, and started for the West in search of 
fortune and adventure. His brother Joel 
had left home some years before, and had 
located at Copper Harbor. Wis., and thither 
young Samuel turned his steps. For two 
years he was employed in a clerical capacity 
by his brother, Init he felt himself capable of 
lietter things. The ability to execute plans 
of his own was his, and, accordingly, in 
1852, he went to La Pointe, Wis., and there 
engaged in trading with the Indians, meet- 
ing with such success that he continued in 
the same line of work for several years. His 
business experience, however, demonstrated 
to him the need of a better education, and 
with bis characteristic detemiination to ac- 
complish what he saw was essential, die 
closed out bis affairs, returned to his old 
home in Ohio, and for one year applied him- 
self diligently to study. In that time he ac- 
quired what, for the times, was a good prac- 
tical education. Subsequent to his return, 



£i;^S^<*^'> 




SAMUEL S. YAOGHN 



THE I^il 



^RK 



PUBLIC LIBRARY 



ASTOR, LENOX 
TILDEN FOUNDATIONS 



CO.MMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



8i 



in 1856, Bayfield was settled, and there he 
located, erecting the first store building in 
the town. Later he built a sawmill, and was 
soon actively interested in all the affairs of 
the new town. He was one of the first to 
become interested in the first railroad enter- 
prise, and was a director of the old Winne- 
bago & Lake Superior, and of the Portage 
& Lake Superior railroad companies, which 
resulted in the building of the Wisconsin 
Central railway. Mr. Vaughn w as the lead- 
ing spirit in the organization of the St. 
Croix & Lake Superior Railway Company. 
He foresaw the building of a city at the head 
of Chacjuamegon Bay, and, acting on his 
unerring judgment, he preempted a claim 
which is now well known as Vaughn's sub- 
division of Ashland. This he laid out in 
1 87 1, and in 1872 he began making exten- 
sive improvements thereon. In company 
with Charles Fisher, he built the first com- 
mercial dock in Ashland. 

Despite his numerous business enterprises 
Mr. Vaughn was actively interested in the 
political and social life of the town. In 1871 
he served in the State Assembly, and he held 
a number of local offices. He was very pub- 
lic-spirited, and was ever keenly alive to any 
movement that aimed at the progress and 
best development of Ashland. Previous to 
his death he had perfected plans for the gift 
of a public library to the city, and he charged 
his wife to carry out his wishes. This was 
done, and a fine memorial building, the rent- 
als of which amount to about $3,000. was 
erected, and devoted to maintaining the fine 
library, which contains about 5,000 well 
chosen volumes. 

On Oct. 22, 1864, Mr. Vaughn was mar- 
ried to Miss Emeline Patrick, of Solon, 
Ohio, who was a devoted companion to her 
husband, and an earnest fellow worker with 
him in all his many undertakings. From 
their happy home they dispensed an abun- 
dant hospitality. Mr. Vaughn was gifted 
with a remarkable memory, and being a 
wide reader, he drew around him a coterie 
of genial friends to whom he was not only 
an entertaining, but an instructive compan- 
ion. Fraternallv, he belonged to the Odd 



Fellows and the Masons. He was strictly 
a moral man. While n(;t a memljer of any 
church, he so ordered his life that it was 
in harmony with divine teachings, and he was 
lilieral in aiding the furtherance of Chris- 
tianity. He despised cant and show, but to 
the poor and unfortunate he was a ready 
helper, and a kind and obliging friend. 

When Samuel S. Vaughn died, Jan. 30,.; 
1886, Ashland sustained an irreparal)le 
loss. Resolutions of respect and syni))athy 
were passed, and a feeling of universal sor- 
row i^revailed. A better close to this brief 
testimonial cannot be found than in the res- 
olutions offered by the Business Men's As- 
sociation : 



Whereas, in the death of S. S. Vaughn this As- 
sociation sustains a loss of one of its cliarter mem- 
bers. _ as wel] as one of the most influential and 
prominent citizens, therefore be it 

Rcsok'cd. That it is the sense of this as.socia- 
tion that we tender to his wife and family onr sin- 
cere and heartfelt S3'mpathy in this their great af- 
fliction. 

Rcsok'cd. That we measure his loss to the com- 
munity to be deeply regretted and deplored, and that 
we ever will bear him in mind and honor his memory 
as one of the foremost in promoting the best interest 
of this Association, of our city and its business en- 
terprises. 

Rcsohcd. That a copy of these resolutions be 
entered upon the minutes of this Association, that 
the Secretary be instructed to present an engrossed 
copy of them to his wife as a testimony of our high 
esteem for her husband, and be it further 

Resolved. That these resolutions be published.' 
in the Ashland Nczvs and the Ashland Press. 



OLE MATTSON, sheriff of Burnett 
county. Wis., is a native of Sweden, born 
June 24, 1859, son of R. M. and Anna 
(Thyboch) Olson, also natives of that coun- 
try. R. M. Olson was a farmer and road 
contractor in his native country, and came 
to America in 1868, locating at Mendota, , 
Minn., for one summer, at the end of which 
time he reinoved to Balsam Lake, Polk Co., 
\\'is. Taking up 160 acres of land on the 
county line, on Sections 3 and 4, Lake town- 
ship, he there settled in the woods, erecting 
a log cabin. He cleared a great deal of land 
and followed farming until his death in 
1887. His widow still survives, and lives 
with her son. They were members of the M. 



82 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



E. Church. Two children were born to R. 
M. and Anna Olson, namely, — Christina, 
who married Lars Peterson, a farmer of 
Polk Co., Wis.; and Ole, our subject. 

Ole Mattson received but three months 
schooling, having to work hard as a boy, 
and he remained at home until 1888. He 
erected a mill at Tradelake, which was des- 
troyed by fire in 1897, and this he rebuilt, 
still operating it. In 1902 he was elected 
sheriff of Burnett Co., Wis., for a term of 
two years. He has also served as supervisor 
and chairman of Tradelake, and has always 
voted the Republican ticket, which party has 
continued to recognize his usefulness. 

Mr. Mattson was married, in 1883, to 
Selma Peterson, a native of Sweden, and 
they have had eleven children, ten of whom 
.are living : Edith, Elmer, Mornitz, Ernest, 
Rurick, Alice, Nora, Lydia, Russell, Noble 
(deceased) and Helen. Mr. Mattson is a 
member of the Modern Woodmen of Grants- 
burg. He attends the M. E. Church. 

ALBERT NEWCOMB HOPKINS, 
who has been an official weighmaster in the 
Duluth grain market since 1887, is one of the 
best known men in that line in the city. 

Mr. Hopkins was born May 6, 1838, in 
Livingston county, Mich., and he is a de- 
scendant of one of the oldest families in 
America, his first ancestor on these shores, 
Stephen Hopkins, having come hither in the 
"Mayflower." His posterity in the United 
States is now numerous, and includes many 
noted men, among them Johns Hopkins, the 
founder of the university that bears his name. 
John Hopkins, grandfather of the gentle- 
man whose name introduces these lines, 
-moved from Montpelier, Vt., to Steuben 
•county, N. Y., and improved a large farm 
there. He reached the great age of ninety 
years. His brother James was a soldier in 
the Continental army, was captured and 
taken as a prisoner to Canada, where he wa8 
kept for about two years. 

William B. Hopkins, father of Albert 
N., was born in Vermont, and was a small 
boy when the family located in Steuben 
county, N. Y. In 1831 he migrated to Mich- 



igan, locating first at Ann Arbor, and he was 
one of the pioneers in that region, which was 
so thinly settled at the time that supplies had 
to be brought from Detroit, with an ox team. 
Mr. Hopkins continued to farm there until 
his removal to Livingston county, Mich., 
where he cleared another farm, and thence 
he moved to Eaton county, where he built a 
gristmill which he operated until his death. 
Pie passed away in 1865, aged seventy-two 
3^ears. Mr. Hopkins was a modest man, and 
had no desire for public life or office, but he- 
was deeply interested in politics, and was a 
delegate to the First Republican State Con- 
vention held in the United States, in July, 
1854, taking an active part in its delitera- 
tions. Pie married Maria A. Newcomb, a 
native of New York State, born in Cattarau- 
gus county, who died in Vermontville, Mich., 
in 1872, aged seventy- four years. She was 
a daughter of David Newcomb, originally 
from Great Barrington, Mass., who was a 
descendant of an old Colonial family. 

Albert Newcomb Hopkins attended the 
public schools in Michigan and Vermont- 
ville Academy, completing the course at that 
institution when twenty years old. Subse- 
quently he was connected with his father, 
in the milling business, until he enlisted, 
Sept. 3, 1861, as a member of the regimental 
band of the 2d Michigan Cavalry, in which 
he played baritone until the battle of Pitts- 
burg Landing, when he packed his instru- 
ment to assist the surgeons. The instru- 
ments were captured and destroyed, and Mr. 
Hopkins then entered the ranks as a member 
of Company B, same regiment, with which 
he served until his discharge. May 6, 1863, 
at Corinth, Miss., because of disability 
brought on by a hemorrhage of the lungs. 
He took active part in the battles of New 
Madrid, Island No. 10, Farmington. and 
other ones of less note^. 

Mr. Hopkins did not recover rapidly 
after his discharge from the service, having 
poor health for several years. In 1871 he 
came to Duluih, and after a year in the city 
showed marked improvement. Returning to 
Vermontville, he engaged in the livery busi- 
ness, carrying mail, etc., until 1879, when he 



COMMEAIORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



8: 



again came to Minnesota, this time locating 
at Crookston, where he took up a preemp- 
tion and lumber claim on which lie spent 
eight years, cultivating the land. During 
four years of this time his crops were dam- 
aged by hail. In the year 1887 he agaiii 
came to Duluth, where he has ever since re- 
mained, having occupied his present position 
all these years. His long association with 
this business has made him familiar with its 
every detail, and he is one of the most com- 
petent officials in the Duluth market, where 
he is well known. 

In 1866 Mr. Hopkins married ]Miss 
Sarah Fairfield, daughter of Walter and 
Mary Fairfield, of Vermontville, ^lich., and 
of the children born to this union four are 
living: Belle, now Mrs. R. D. Haven; 
Louise, Mrs. Carl Gilbert; Hazel, who is a 
graduate of the Duluth high school, class of 
1904; and Raymond, who is a student of 
that school. In religious connection the 
family is identified with Grace M. E. Church. 
Socially Mr. Hopkins belongs to J. B. Cul- 
ver Post, G. A. R.,of which he was one of the 
•charter members, and is a past commander. 
His political support has always been given 
to the Republican party, of which he is a 
stanch advocate, and he has been a delegate 
ta several State conventions, being ardently 
interested in the workings of the party. 

JOHN B. TROWBRIDGE, M. D., B. 
C. E., is one of the leading physicians and 
business men of Hayward. He was born at 
Knowlesville, Orleans Co., N. Y., Nov. 12, 
1853, his parents being Harley and Delia 
M. (Hatch) Trowbridge, both natives of 
New York State. 

The emigrant ancestor of this familv was 
William Trowbridge, who came from Eng- 
land in 1624 and settled in Massachusetts, 
going a few years later to New Haven, 
Conn., where many of his descend- 
ants still live. The family has dis- 
tinguished itself in military and civic 
affairs, and has prospered in business. 
The father of Harley Trowbridge settled 
at Truxton, Cortland Co.. N. Y., where 
lie died in early life. In 1856 Harley 



Trowbridge came to Wisconsin, and settled 
at Viroqua, where he became a wagon manu- 
facturer. After a time he went into the fire 
and life insurance business, which he car- 
ried on successfully for many years. He is 
now living in retirement, being eighty years 
of age. From early manhood he has been a 
deacon of the Congregational Church. Mrs. 
Delia M. (Hatch) Trowbridge is still living 
at the age of seventy-five. She was born at 
Barre Center, near Albion, N. Y., where her 
father, a farmer, died at the age of sixty- 
five. 

John B. Trowbridge attended the high 
school at Viroqua, Wis., and later took the 
civil engineering course at the University of 
Wisconsin, graduating in the class of 1876. 
Soon after he began the study of medicine 
with Dr. William A. Gott, of Viroqua, and 
was graduated from Rush Medical College, 
Chicago, in 1882. Before completing his 
studies he began practice at Cashton, Mon- 
roe Co., Wis., and in the spring of 1883 
located at Hayward, where he was the pio- 
neer physician, and where he has ever since 
had a general medical and surgical practice. 
He was also one of the partners in the first 
drug store in Hayward, in which he still re- 
tains an interest; his first partner, C. H. 
Clapperton, having been accidentally killed, 
the firm is now Trowbridge & Tompkins. 
Dr. Trowbridge is also health officer and 
county physician, and has been local 
surgeon of the Chicago, St. Paul, Min- 
neapolis & Omaha Railway Company since 
coming to Hayward. He is also the 
sole surgeon examiner for the United 
States Pension Department in Sawyer 
county, there being no board of examiners 
in that county. He is a member of the 
American Medical Association, of the Wis- 
consin State Society, and of the Inter-county 
Medical Society, of which he is an ex- 
president, and is president of the Washburn- 
Sawyer-Burnett County Medical Society. 
He takes an active interest in all these so- 
cieties, being a regular attendant of their 
meetings and contributor to their funds. 

In 1882 Dr. Trowbridge married Tsa- 
l3elle Clapp, a native of Kasota, Minn., 



84 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



daughter of George C. and Marietta .(^^'ar- 
nerj Clapp, of that place. Four chikh'en 
have come to this union, as follows : Helen 
B., a student at Carlton College, North- 
field, Minn. ; Harley G., also a student of 
Carlton College; Isadore M. and Arthur 
Raymond. The family is connected with 
the Congregational Church. For a number 
of years Dr. Trowbridge has been secre- 
tary of the board of directors of the Hay- 
ward Free Library. He is Master of Key- 
stone Lodge, No. 263, A. F. & A. M., also 
a member of the chapter R. A. M., at Rice 
Lake, and a charter member of Hay ward 
Lodge, No. 233, I- O- O. F., in which he has 
passed all the chairs. Politically he has al- 
ways been a Republican. 

JOSEPH LUCIUS, a well-known citi- 
zen of Winnebijou, Douglas county, holds 
the responsible position of superintendent 
of club property on the famous Brule river. 
There the Winnebijou Club is located, and a 
number of citizens of St. Paul. St. Louis 
and other cities have built their private 
lodges for summer rest and recreation. 
Among these Mr. Lucius has charge, in ad- 
dition to the club house, of the Mikanok 
Lodge, the Mushikinnie, the Wendigo, the 
Gitche Gume, the Riverside, the Nississhin 
and Au-Sable. 

Mr. Lucius was born in Kirby, Wyan- 
dot Co., Ohio, Feb. 3, 1871, but is of Bel- 
gian ancestry on both sides of the house. 
The paternal grandfather, Joseph Lucius, 
a civil magistrate in his own country, came 
to America bringing with him his family of 
seventeen children. He settled in Ohio 
where he soon died. His son, Nicholas Lu- 
cius came to the United States about 1852. 
and made his home in Kirby, Ohio. In the 
Civil War he served in Company K, 123rd 
O. V. I., took part in a number of battles, 
and was several times wounded. In 1884 
he removed to Plymouth, Ind., and two years 
later to Wisconsin. He took up a home- 
stead claim at Solon Springs, Doug- 
las county, and has since resided there, 
on what is now one of the best farms in the 
county. He is now about sixty-two years 
of age. 



Nicholas Lucius married ]\Iary Ann 
]\iarks, born near the border line between 
Belgium and the Grand Duchy of Luxem- 
bourg, the same region from which her hus- 
band came. The maternal grandfather, 
George Marks, also came to this country, 
where he followed the trade of a butcher, 
and died in Tiffin, Ohio, at the age of about 
eighty years. 

Joseph Lucius attended the public schools 
in Ohio until his parents moved West. A 
year or two after they had settled in Wis- 
consin, he went to the head of the lakes 
where he was employed in the shipyards the 
most of the time until 1895. Since then he 
has lived on the Brule river, where he kept a 
summer resort for several years, but in 1899 
he was made superintendent of the club prop- 
erty there. Most of the buildings and boats 
on that romantic and historic stream have 
been built by Mr. Lucius, while he has also- 
built many boats to order for use all through 
the Upper Lakes. He is a contractor and 
employs a number of men. 

Mr. Lucius" own residence, commenced 
in 1902, is an ideal rustic home, finished both 
outside and in with natural cedar. This, as 
well as the club houses he has built, is fitted 
with water works and other modern con- 
veniences. Mr. Lucius is a natural mechanic 
and does much of the work himself, while 
his own workshop contains tools for almost 
any kind of mechanical work. His oversight 
of the club property and private homes in- 
cludes not only the building, repairing, etc., 
but the general care of them through all sea- 
sons. • 

In 1893 Mr. Lucius married Helen 
Rutherford, daughter of Dominick and Mar- 
geretta Rutherford, of Stillwater, Minn. 
Dominick Rutherford was born near Bath, 
N. Y., but came to Stillwater with his par- 
ents, James and Elizabeth Rutherford, in 
1858. The family were the first settlers 
on"^the St. Croix river. To Mr. and Mrs. 
Lucius have been born one son, Holbrook, 
and a daughter, Josephine. 

Mr. Lucius is a man held in great re- 
spect by all wdio know him and the trust re- 
posed in him has always been amplv justi- 
fied. 



COMMExMORATIVE BIOGRx\PHICAL RECORD 



8-- 



JAMES MARSHALL, the pioneer flor- 
ist of Superior, is a Scotchman by birth, 
a native of Glasgow, born in 1857. His par- 
ents, John and Ehzabeth (Younger) Mar- 
shall, are still residents of Scotland. Their 
union was blessed with five children, three 
sons and two daughters, all livino- except 
one son, John, who lost his life by drowning. 

At the age of fifteen, James Marshall 
began his apprenticeship to the business of a 
florist and served for five years at very 
small wages. During that time, however, 
he learned his work thoroughly and included 
in his study the culture of flowers, vege- 
tables and fruit, as it was the custom in 
Scotland to combine those three branches. 
In 1887 Mr. Marshall came to the United 
States, with a view to locating in cither 
Winona, Minn., or West Superior, as in his 
native Scotland he had heard favorably of 
both places. On reaching- the West, he de- 
cided to settle in Superior, as that was a new 
town and offered a favorable outlook. 

The greenhouse which Mr. Marshall has 
built in West Superior is eighty feet long by 
twenty feet wide and seven feet high, heated 
by hot water system. The building is mod- 
ern in construction, with a double glass roof 
and 300 cubic feet between for dead air 
space. He has been at his present location 
No. 1012 Hughitt ave., since 1897, carry- 
ing a general stock, which includes palms, 
ferns, sparrow-grass sprangles, roses, car- 
nations, smilax, etc., and he has built up a 
flourishing trade. 

Mr. Marshall still retains the true Scotch- 
man's love for his native land and is a mem- 
ber of the Scottish order, "Clan Cameron," 
as well as of the British-American Club of 
AVest Superior. 



moved to Northern Michigan, where he en- 
gaged in mining. After eight years spent in 
the mining industry, he went to farming in 
Minnesota. He has now retired from active 
life and he and his wife live with a married 
daughter in Minneapolis. Mr. Williams is 
in his seventy-fifth year, his wife ten years 
his junior. They were the parents of the fol- 
lowing children : C. H. : Emma, wife of H. 
L Longworth, of Minneapolis; George, a 
farmer in Ramsey county, N. Dak. ; Ella, 
wife of C. P. Colby, of Minneapolis ; Susan, 
deceased ; Howard, an employe in the mines 
at Eveleth, iMinn. ; and Earl, an engineer 
in the same mines. 

C. H. Williams passed his early boyhood 
in Ann Arbor, where he attended the public 
schools until he was sixteen. He then ob- 
tained employment in the ofiice of a mining 
company in Northern Michigan, where his 
father was engaged, working there for a 
year. After that he went to Stearns county, 
3ilinn.. where he engaged in farming. He 
sold his farm after a time and came to Hur- 
ley, securing a position in the office of the 
Gary Aline, where he remained for four 
years, and he was superintendent of the 
same mine from 1895 to 190 1. In 1900 he 
was elected county treasurer of Iron county, 
and is at present serving- his second term 
in that office. 

Mr. Williams married Jan. 19, 1879, 
Florence A. Kemp, daughter of Steven 
Ivemp, a farmer of Fairhaven. Minn. To 
this union have been born the following child- 
ren : Arthur and Fred, both engineers in the 
Gary Mine at Hurley; Lillian, Roy, Eugene, 
Mabel, Roderick and Everett, all living at 
home. 



C. H. WILLIAMS, county treasurer of 
Iron county, has lived in Hurley since 1889. 
He was born in Ann Arbor. Mich.. Nov. 
16. 1855, son of H. G. and Susan (Stoup) 
Williams. Llis father was an Englishman 
by birth and came to the United States in 
his youth. For a few years he made his 
home in Ann Arbor, where he married, his 
wife being a native of that place, and later 



DAVID W. ]\IOWATT. To those who 
knew the late David W. Mowatt words must 
fail to express fitl)' the full measure of his 
manhood and to do justice to the power 
and influence with which it has permeated 
the communitv. whether in its business, so- 
cial, educational or religious activities. 

David W. Mowatt was born in St. An- 
drews. N. B.. Dec. 5, 1827. His boyhood 



86 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



was passed in his native place and there in 
the pubhc school he received his education 
in the English branches. When about twen- 
ty-five j'-ears old, moved by a spirit of enter- 
prise and a love of adventure, he went to 
Australia, where for two years he worked 
in the gold mines of that region, meeting 
with only moderate success. The craving 
to see more of the world was still strong upon 
him, antl to satisfy it .he turned his thought 
to the sea as most likely to gratify his de- 
sire to see the different parts of the world ; 
accordingly he engaged on a sailing vessel, 
first as an ordinary seaman, rising later to the 
responsible position of shipmaster. He was 
largely in the East Indian trade, yet his voy- 
ages extended to the circumnavigation of the 
globe, and his sea-faring life continued sev- 
eral years. 

When Mr. Mowatt returned be settled 
at Chatham, Ont., and became identified with 
the lumbering business as superintendent for 
a lumbering company ; he remained there 
until 1863 and gained an insight into the 
business and a knowledge of it that were 
of great value to him in his future career. 
That year he went to Manistee, Mich., to ac- 
cept the superintendency of a large lumber- 
ing company, remaining" there until 1885, 
actively engaged in business and meeting 
with a degree of success commensurate with 
the sturdy efforts put forth to get on in the 
world. 

Mr. Mowatt had by liis industry and 
keen business acumen acquired a fair work- 
ing capital and in 1885 he came to Ashland, 
deeming it a good field for his future opera- 
tions, in which time proved the correctness 
of his judgment. That year he bought a 
saw mill, forming a partnership with J. 
R. Case. This mill they subsequently re- 
built and together successfully operated it for 
three years, when Mr. Case disposed of his 
interest to C. F. Thompson, of Chicago. 
The new partnership continued another three 
years when Mr. Thompson retired, and Mr. 
Mowatt from that time until his death con- 
ducted the mill upon his own responsibility. 
During the seventeen years of his active 
business career in Ashland, ]\Ir. Alowatt es- 
tablished a reputation for fidelity to princi- 



ple and sound judgment that is well worthy 
of emulation. 

The marriage of David W. Mowatt with 
Miss Hattie Riker, of Manistee, Mich., was 
celebrated in 1864. Of a large family born 
of this union, five are living, viz. : David 
J. ; Mrs. Jessie I. I\Iann, of Houghton, Mich. : 
Neville P., of Chicago; Althea M. ; and 
Ethel J. Mrs. Mowatt is a daughter of John 
and Lucy (Dexter) Riker, of New York. 

Mrs. ]Mowatt's grandfather, Thomas 
Riker, was a commissioned officer in the 
Revolution ; he served for seven years, and 
during that time was home only once. He 
and his wife were pioneers in Michigan, 
settling there at a very early date. 
David J. ]Mowatt, father of David W., 
was a native of New Brunswick, and a cou- 
sin of Sir Oliver Mowatt, of Canada. He 
was a prominent church man, and a colonel 
of militia. His wife was Marian Wyre, by 
whom he had a family of twelve children,, 
three of whom are living. He himself lived 
to the extreme age of ninety-three years. 

David W. Mowatt was prominent in 
IMasonic circles, and was an honored mem- 
ber in all the degrees of that ancient fra- 
ternity, including relations with the Triple 
Temple of the Shrine. His church connec- 
tions were with the Presbyterians, with which 
denomination he was associated from the 
time of his settlement in Ashland ; he took 
an active part in all the various phases of re- 
ligious life. Mr. Mowatt had a keen appre- 
ciation of the advantages of education and 
was all his life greatly interested in im- 
proving the condition of the public schools. 
He was president of the school board in Ash- 
land for a number of years and was the in- 
cumbent of that office at the time of his death. 

Mr. Mowatt's death occurred Oct. 16, 
1902, and aroused sincere mourning among 
a large circle of friends, whom his admir- 
able character had won and retained. 

Capt. David J. Mowatt, the eldest son 
of the above, was born in Michigan in 1866 
and was educated in the public schools of 
that State. He came with his father to Ash- 
land in 1885 and after that time was closely 
connected with him in business. Since his 
father's death, he has had sole charge of af- 



COMi\IEj\IORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



87 



fairs. Capt. Mowatt was married in Cliip- 
pewa Falls to Miss Minnie Southwick, of 
that city, and to their union have been born 
three children, David S., \Varrcn W. and 
Gertrude E. 

Upon the organization in 1889 of the 
original Ashland Rifles, afterward Co. L., 2d 
W. N. G., Capt. Mowatt enlisted and served 
creditably, passing through all the grades, 
filling each position with credit to himself. 
When the regiment was mustered out of the 
State service and into the volunteer service 
of the nation, May 12, 1898, he was rejected 
because he was married. Whereupon he or- 
ganized an independent company, hoping 
thereby to receive an assignment, in case 
there should come a second call for troops. 
This company was duly mustered into the 
State service July 28, 1898, becoming Com- 
pany D, 5th Reg., W. N. G. ; Mr. Mowatt 
received a commission as captain issued by 
Gov. Schofield, Aug. 31, 1898. Early in 
1899 a reorganization of the State troops 
was effected, transferring Company D, 5th 
Regiment to the loth Battalion. Capt. Mo- 
watt has been active in local militia affairs 
and he has done much to add to the efficiency 
of the local organizations. He is a young 
man of excellent abilities, and with his fam- 
ily is prominent in the social life of the city. 

JOSEPH LINDSAY, master carpenter 
of the eastern division of the Great Northern 
Railroad, a resident of West Superior, was 
born in Durham, County of Grey, Ont., May 
20, 1 86 1. His parents were Andrew L. and 
Matilda (Davidson) Lindsay, natives of 
Dumfriesshire, Scotland. Andrew L. Lind- 
say came to Ontario in 1849, ^"d improved 
a farm of wild land on which he died in 
January, 1895, at the age of seventy-eight. 
He was an active member of the Reform 
party, filled several offices and was an influ- 
ential resident of Durham. His brother, 
John Lindsay, served some years in the Brit- 
ish army and died while in the Indian ser- 
vice. Their father, a millwright by trade, 
died in Scotland. Mrs. Matilda (Davidson) 
Lindsay died May 24, 1902, aged seventy- 
six years. Her father, Joseph Davidson, 



'.vns a native Scotchman but li\-e<l for many 
years in England, where he died. 

Joseph Lindsay attended the puljlic 
scli(!ols in Durham, and learned the carpen- 
ter's trade. In 1883 he left home and se- 
cured work on the construction of buildings 
and bridges on the Canadian Pacific Rail- 
road between Winnipeg and the Columbia 
river. From there he went in 1888 to Minn- 
eapolis, entering the employ of the Great 
Northern Railway Co. on the Breckenridge 
division, as foreman of carpenters, and be- 
ing transferred in 1894 to the Northern di- 
vision, as master carpenter, with headquar- 
ters at Crookston. 

In February, 1895, '''^ came to West Su- 
perior as master carpenter for the Easterrt 
division of the Great Northern, having: 
charge of buildings, bridges, docks and 
water supply. Most of the wooden bridges, 
on this division were built by Mr. Lindsay. 
The work keeps a large force of mechanics 
employed and requires no little executive 
ability to manage. 

Mr. Lindsay was brought up in the 
Presbyterian faith. Fraternally he is con- 
nected with the A. F. & A. M. Politically 
he has always been a Republican since com- 
ing to the United States. He has formed an 
extensive acquaintance at the Head of the 
Lakes and is held in high esteem by the best 
class of citizens. 

SAMUEL F. BOYCE, a gallant vet- 
eran of the great Civil War and one of the 
most successful druggists in Duluth, was 
born in Wellsville, Ohio, Aug. 7, 1842, and 
is a son of Robert and Christina (Wilhelm) 
Boyce. His paternal grandparents, Robert 
and Sarah Boyce, came from Ireland dur- 
ing the early boyhood of their son Robert, 
and settled at Pittsburg, Pa. The grandpar- 
ents attained old age. Robert Boyce, the 
father of Samuel F., went to Wellsville while 
a young man and settled on a farm. After 
reaching the age of sixty years, he was killed 
by falling from a horse which he was riding. 
Mrs. Christina Boyce survived until 1883, 
also dying at Wellsville. She was born about 
the beginning of the nineteenth century, in 



88 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



Virginia, wliere her father, George Wilhehn, 
Jived and died on a farm. He and his wife 
were of German descent and each attained 
the age of al^out eighty years. 

Samuel F. Boyce was educated at a Pres- 
byterian academy in Wellsville taught by 
Rev. Mr. Lafferty. After leaving school he 
learned telegraphy in the same place and 
soon after the outbreak of the Rebellion, 
Aug. II, 1862, enlisted in Company F, 104th 
O. V. I. He served until near the close of 
hostilities, receiving his honorable discharge 
March 20, 1865, having been made a ser- 
: geant of the company in the meantime. He 
saw much active duty and had a number 
-of narrow escapes from death, but his most 
serious injury was a pistol shot in the right 
hand received at the battle of Franklin, whicli 
kept him in the hospital at Jefferson Barracks 
for some time and caused his final discharge, 
owing to his disability for furthe.- service. 
'This ball was carried in his wrist until 1901. 
His regiment formed a part of the 2T,r<l 
-Army Corps, under the command of Gen. 
'Schofield, and participated in the battle of 
■ Covington and the subsequent campaign 
through Kentucky, the siege of Knoxville, 
the battles of Cumberland Gap and Resaca, 
and served all through the Atlanta campaign 
after which it became a part of the command 
under Gen. Thomas. At the battle of Resaca 
his knapsack was shot away and on another 
occasion his cartridge box was smashed by 
a shell which otherwise would, no doubt, 
"have caused a serious wound. His honorable 
military career and the patriotic spirit which 
lie has manifested in civil life alike entitle 
liim to the regard in which he is held by his 
fellow citizens. 

After the war Mr. Boyce studied medi- 
cine with his brother-in-law. Dr. J. C. 
Sisson, of Bolivar, Ohio, but before complet- 
ing his studies he went to Chillicothe, Mo., 
and purchased a drug store which he carried 
-on from 1869 to 1884. Having been afflic- 
ted much of the time witli hay fever in that 
•climate, in the latter vear he came to Du- 
luth and purchased a drug stock. The next 
yeax, finding his health recovered, he accepted 
a position as secretary of the Richardson 
Wliolesale Drug Company, in which he also 



became a stockholder, and took charge of a 
branch house which that concern established 
at Omaha. One season in that location 
having induced a return of his malady, he 
;igain came to Duluth and purchased another 
stock of drugs and has ever since carried on 
a retail business in the same location at the 
corner of Superior street and Fourth avenue 
west. In 1887 the building was destroyed 
by fire, his stock being almost a total loss, 
lait two days later he temporarily resumed 
Inisiness in another location and, as soon as 
the new building was completed, returned to 
his old location. His business has steadily 
prospered and he enjoys a lucrative and con- 
stantly growing trade. 

Mr. Boyce has formed numerous social 
and fraternal connections. He is commander 
of Willis A. Gorman Post, Grand Army of 
the Republic; he united with the Masonic 
fraternity at Wellsville, Ohio, in 1865, and is 
now a member of the Knights Templar Com- 
mandery at Duluth. Since coming to that 
place he has not been an active political 
l)artisan, but he has supported the principles 
of the Republican party since casting his 
first vote for Abraham Lincoln, in 1864. 
At Chillicothe, Mo., he served some years 
as a member of the board of education. 

Mr. Boyce was first married in 1869, to 
Lucinda R. Kline, daughter of John and 
Catherine Kline, of Bolivar, Ohio. Mrs. 
Boyce died at Duluth Feb. 10, 1894, aged 
forty-seven years. She was the mother of 
three surviving children: Ida M. (Mrs. 
E. O. Gates), of Denver, Colo.; Charles F., 
a graduate of the University of Minnesota 
and later a student at Cornell L^niversity, 
who is now following the profession of civil 
and electrical engineer at Port Arthur, Tex. ; 
and Katherine of Duluth. On Dec. 14. 1898. 
Mr. Boyce was married to Minnie M. Gould, 
daughter of Pearson Gould, a native of Ver- 
mont, who died at Otsego, Minn., a.ged 
eightjr-eight years. His wife was born in 
Maine and died in Otsego aged fiftjMiine 
years. 

JOSEPH TREPANIA (deceased) for 
many years a resident of Spring Brook, 
Washljurn county, was born at Three Rivers, 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



89 



Quebec, about 181 5. His parents were Ca- 
nadians, of P'rench descent, and he was 
brought up in Canada where he received a 
hmited education. 

About the year 1843 Joseph Trepania 
came to Wisconsin, and for a sliort time was 
located at Prairie du Chien. He then went 
to Chippewa Falls, which at that time con- 
tained but one log house, where he was em- 
ployed by Gilbert Brothers, Colton & Moses, 
and the Union Lumber Co., as overseer of 
their drives on the Chippewa and Yellow 
rivers. He continued in the employ of these 
and other firms for about fifteen years, re- 
ceiving as much as fifteen dollars a day for 
his services. He then bought a farm above 
Chippewa Falls, and while developing this 
land also carried on an Indian trading store. 
These enterprises he conducted successfully 
tmtil 1880, when he moved to Rice Lake, 
Barron county, where he bought, cleared and 
cultivated a farm of 200 acres. Although 
successful at farming, his preference was for 
lumbering, and in 1881 he disposed of the 
Rice Lake farm and came to Spring Brook, 
the railroad having been built through that 
year. Taking up a homestead, which is now 
the townsite of Spring Brook, he at once en- 
gaged in logging, building on his own re- 
sponsibility two dams on Devil's Creek, in 
the Sawyer County Reservation, in order 
to raise the water sufficiently to float out the 
logs. He met with great success in this busi- 
ness, in which he was actively engaged until 
compelled by age to retire. 

Mr. Trepania married in 1851 or 1852, 
Margaret De Marie, daughter of Louis De- 
Marie, one of the early French traders, who 
built the first house in Chippewa Falls. To 
this union were born two children, namely : 
Mary, now Mrs. Ferguson, of Spring Brook; 
and Alfred, of the same place, who is men- 
tioned below. Before her marriage JNIrs. 
Trepania and a girl companion had an ex- 
citing adventure in being fired upon by a 
band of hostile Sioux, while crossing the 
Chippewa river in a canoe. 

Mr. Trepania was a Republican in poli- 
tics, and a representative man of the locality. 
During his residence at Chippewa Falls, he 
served several terms as supervisor. He died 



in 1899 and is buried on the Reservation in 
Sawyer county, in a spot selected by him- 
self. Mrs. Trepania is living with her son 
in Spring Brook. 

Louis DeMarie, father of Mrs. Trepania, 
was a native of Montreal, and when a young 
man entered the employ of the Hudson 
Bay Co., trading through the Northwest re- 
gion as far as Manitoba and the Rocky 
Mountains. While at Grand Forks, N. Dak., 
he married Angelina Collins, a half breed 
Cree woman, and they had a family of five 
daughters and three sons. Of them the only 
survivor is Baptiste, who is living on the 
Reservation. Mr. DeMarie finally settled in 
the Chippewa country, where he died about 
i860. i\Irs. DeMarie lived to be 103 years 
of age, dying in 1893 at Chippewa Falls. 

Alfred Trep.^nia, son of Joseph and 
Margaret (DeMarie) Trepania, was born in 
Chippewa Falls in 1866, and was educated in 
the public schools of that place. When only 
eleven years old he began scaling in the 
woods, and for twent}^ years was engaged in 
some branch of the logging industry. He 
has been closely identified with the business 
and political interests of Washburn county, 
taking a leading part in politics. He was 
chairman of the board of Veasie. when the 
town comprised five townships, serving two 
terms. He was a member of the county 
l)oard two years, township assessor one 
term, justice of the peace eight or nine years, 
notary public twelve years, receiving his 
first commission from Gov. Rusk, and until 
recently was chairman of the township school 
l;oard. Lie is at present filling the office of 
county supervisor of assessments. He was 
instrumental in securing the establishment of 
tiie Spring Brook postoffice, and was the first 
postmaster, being appointed under Cleve- 
land's administration. Several years ago he 
obtained the position of ticket agent for the 
Omaha road at Spring Brook, which he still 
retains. In politics he is a Republican, and 
his opinion is much respected in the councils 
of his party : he is a frequent delegate to con- 
gressional, senatorial, assembly and county 
conventions. Fraternally lie is connected 
with the Mystic Workers of the World, 
having been master of the local lodge ever 



90 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



since its institution, with tlie exception of one 
term. 

Mr. Trepania has been married three 
times; by his first wife, Mary Dacota, he 
had no children ; by his second wife, Maggie 
Laronge, he had tliree children, as follows : 
Joseph Alfred, Walter and Clarabella M. 
His present wife was Elizabeth Greeley, 
daughter of James Greeley. To this union 
were born three children, namely : Donald 
J., Maud E. and Edward A., deceased. Mrs. 
Trepania is a well educated woman, having 
been a student at the Carlisle Indian School. 

WILLIAM C. HOWENSTINE. a pio- 
neer and Indian trader of the early days 
in the Upper Lake Region, comes from 
Revolutionary stock, and drifted westward 
from the Eastern States. He was born near 
Chambersburg, Pa., Sept. 3, 1829, son of 
Henry and Charlotte (Filson) Howenstine, 
natives of the same place. 

Two brothers named Howenstine came to 
America from Germany before the Revolu- 
tion; one of them, George Howenstine, be- 
came an officer in the service, and was one 
of Washington's command in the expedition 
to Fort DuQuesne. The brothers had set- 
tled in Pennsylvania, and when the Revolu- 
tionary War broke out both joined the patriot 
forces. They were taken prisoners by the 
British and almost starved to death in prison 
in Philadelphia. Henry Howenstine was a 
son of this George and Rosanna Howenstine, 
the latter of whom died in Stark county, 
Ohio, at the age of eighty-four. 

Henry Howenstine, father of William C, 
was a blacksmith by trade and for a while 
followed that trade in Pennsylvania. In 
1838 he removed to Stark county, Ohio, 
where he built and operated a saw mill. His 
later life was spent on a farm in Wabash 
county, Ind., where he died at the age of four 
score years. His wife, Charlotte Filson, 
w^as the daughter of Robert Filson, of Scotch 
lineage, while her mother, who was a Miss 
Snyder, w^as of German descent, a daughter 
of a veteran of the Revolutionaiy War. and 
afterward the owner of a fine farm in Cham- 
bersburg, Pa., where he died. His wife's 
demise occurred in Wabash county, Ind., at 



an advanced age. To Henry and Charlotte 
Howenstine were born five sons, four of 
whom are still living; William C. ; Samuel, 
of Duluth, Minn.; Robert, of Superior; 
George, who died in 1901 at W'abash, Ind.;. 
Raymer, of Wabash. 

William C. Howenstine was a small boy 
when the family located in Stark county, 
Ohio, and he was reared and educated there ; 
as he grew old enough, he assisted his father 
in operating the saw mill. About 1850 he 
went into Crawford county, same State, and 
built a saw mill for himself, which he oper- 
ated for several years. Following that, in 

1853, he removed to St. Paul and the next 
spring he worked in a trading post on Minne- 
sota Point opposite Old Superior, for the 
Lake Superior Land Company, and there he 
has ever since resided. His first entry into 
the region al)Out the Head of the Lakes was 
on snow-shoes, footing it from Hudson, Wis. 
Mr. Howenstine was an integral part of the 
pioneer life in that section, and among many 
other interesting experiences was present at 
the making of the treaty of La Pointe, in 

1854, when the Minnesota lands around the 
Upper Lakes were ceded by the Chippewa 
Indians to the whites. 

In 1855 Mr. Howenstine was employed 
to build and operate a sawmill at Iron River, 
just above the present village of Orienta, 
and later spent considerable time in travel 
to different points in the West and North- 
west. He Vi-as one of the first men to pene- 
trate into the Vermillion Iron Range, walk- 
ing through the woods from Duluth, and he 
has done much prospecting for iron, copper, 
etc. in other places. He was one of the ori- 
ginal investors at Grand Marais, Minn., and 
is also interested in the Douglas County 
Copper Range. Mr. Howenstine kept up his 
trading with the Indians for many years, 
and in his dealings with them as well as in 
all other transactions, he made a reputation 
for himself for honesty and integrity. 

Mr. Howenstine has been married for 
over a quarter of a century, having been uni- 
ted in 1877 to Caroline Hane. In their fam- 
ily are six children : Gertrude, now Mrs. 
Draper of Duluth ; William Chester, a min- 
ing prospector now operating in the Vermil- 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



91 



lion range; Frances Inez, Mrs. Joshua 
Swalm, 01 Superior; Jessie Irans, Charlotte 
and Mary Margaret, all at home. 

In early hie Mr. Howenstine was a 
Democrat, but after visiting Kansas in the 
fifties he became a Republican, and sup- 
ported Fremont for president in 1856. in 
recent years he stands rather as an Inde- 
pendent. In 1853, in Ohio, Air. Howen- 
stine joined the I. O. O. F., and in the sa.r.e 
year was made a member of the A. F. & A. 
M. at Lagro, Ind. In spite of his active out 
door life, he has always been a great reader, 
especially of standard works. Although a 
student of the Bible in particular, Mr. 
Howenstine has never united with any 
church. 

CAPT. SAMUEL E. BURNHAM, 
owner of the steamer "Mayflower" and one 
of the leading men of Duluth Heights, a 
suburb of Duluth, was born July 13, 1S30, 
at Bangor, Maine. His father, Robert 
Burnham, of the same place, was in turn a 
son of Capt. Samuel Burnham, of Portland, 
Maine, a sea captain, who followed his sea 
faring life until his death. He sailed to 
many foreign countries, but died in Maine. 

By occupation Robert Burnham was a 
farmer, and he lived and died in Penobscot, 
Maine. In addition to attending to his farm- 
ing, he was a man of affairs, holding many 
of the town offices as a representative of the 
Democratic party. Robert Burnham mar- 
ried Miss Mary Anderson, of Penobscot 
county, and they had eight children : Sam- 
uel E. ; Ferdinand, a gunsmith, now residing 
at Washington, who during the Civil W^ar 
served in the 2d Maine Battery; Anna, who 
lived with Samuel E. during her latter days, 
and died at Duluth; Atwood F. J., who was 
in Texas (a railroad man) when last heard 
of; Charles, a jeweler of Colfax, Cal. ; Ed- 
win, who died young; Elizabeth, who died 
young; and Robert, formerly a sailor, now 
worKmg on a railroad in Cuba (he lost both 
hands in a mine explosion). 

Capt. Samuel E. Burnham received 
a common school education, and resided 
at home on the farm until he was 
twenty-one years of age, when he went 



to Bangor, ]\Iaine, and worked at piano 
making until the breaking out of the 
Civil War. He helped organize Company 
A, of the iSth Maine Vol. Inf., and entered 
the service May 21, 1862, as second lieuten- 
ant. The company was at Washington, D. 
C, about a year, when it was sent to join 
the Army of the Potomac, and participated 
in all the engagements of tliat tody. Dur- 
ing the winter of 1864 Lieut. Burnham was 
promoted to the rank of captain of his com- 
pany. On June 18, 1864, he was wounded at 
Petersburg, knocked down, and had his left 
leg broken. This accident necessitated a stay 
in the hospital for some time, during which 
the brave spirit chafed against the enforced 
inaction. After his recovery he did light 
duty at Washington City for about two 
months, then continued with his command 
until the close of the war, when he had the 
honor of participating in the Grand Review. 
Capt. Burnham received his discharge at his 
home, Sept. 11, 1865. 

After the war, finding such changed con- 
ditions existing in the East, Capt. Burnham 
removed to Saginaw, Mich., and was also 
at Bay City, Mich., where he built boats, 
and engaged on the lakes until 1894, when 
he came to Duluth, and became interested 
in the 21st Avenue Ferry. In 1902 he was 
appointed by the government to attend to the 
lights and buoys in the harbor, and still later 
he bought the steamer "Mayflower," which 
he runs as a ferry and passenger boat. 

The first marriage of Capt. Burnham 
took place in i860, wdien he was united with 
Mary W. Hewings, of Hudson, Maine, who 
died in 1897. On May 5. 1902, the Captain 
was married to Anna Blair, of Ontario, 
Canada. 

Culver Post, G. A. R., recognizes him as 
one its most popular and honored members 
and active workers. For many years Capt. 
Burnham has supported the Republican 
partv. in fact during all of his voting years. 
Although he is seventy-four years of age his 
sound physique, soldierly bearing and genial, 
cheery manner, make him appear much 
younger. He is very active: possesses a re- 
markable memory, and rejoices in the fact 
that sight and hearing are both unimpaired.- 



CO]\IMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



Few men are more generally respected and 
honored in Duluth and St. Louis county 
than this grand old veteran of the Civil War. 

GEORGE GREEN BOWERMAN was 
an active citizen of Superior whose unusual 
skill and judgment brought him success. 
His birth occurred June 24, 1853, "^ St. 
Vincent, Ont., his parents being Thomas 
H. and Matilda M. (Green) Bowerm.an, the 
former a native of Port Hope, Canada. 

Thomas H. Bowerman went as a young 
man to Ontario, having previously learned 
the blacksmith's trade at Oswego, N. Y. He 
carried on a shop in St. Vincent and later at 
Deerfield, Lenawee Co., Mich. His home 
was afterwards at Mt. Pleasant, where he 
died in 1894, at the age of sixty-five. His 
father was a Revolutionary soldier, famous 
as a swordsman. Mrs. Matilda M. (Green) 
Bowerman died at St. Vincent in 1858, at 
the early age of twenty-eight; her birthplace 
was Belleville, Ont. Pier father came to 
Ontario from England and is still living near 
Barrie, Ont. By a former marriage Thomas 
H. Bowerman had three children : Lloyd 
M., of Chicago ; Pliram and Louise of Eu- 
genia, Ont. Pie married (third) Louisa 
Davis, by whom he had several children. 
Mrs. Louisa (Davis) Bowerman is still liv- 
ing at Mt. Pleasant, Michigan. 

As a boy, George Green Bowerman 
worked in the blacksmith shop, but at the 
age of fourteen left home and began learning 
the trade of ship carpenter at St. Catherines, 
Canada, where he worked for three years 
with a Mr. Chicalone. From there he went 
to Port Robinson, Ontario, to Prairie Sound, 
Ont. and to Sault Ste. Marie, Mich., where 
he began work for C. S. Barker, continuing 
in his employ until the death of Mr. Barker 
at Superior in igoi. Since 1885 Mr. Bower- 
man had been at West Superior, as foreman 
of Barker's dredging and repair shops, in 
which about thirty men are employed. He 
))uilt all the dredges and scows and did the 
repair work for the entire fleet, which in- 
cluded six tugs, five dredges and two hy- 
draulic pumps. Mr. Bowerman also dealt 
in real estate, and had erected five residences, 
three of which he still owned at the time of 



his death. Owing to failing health in the 
spring of 1904, he went to Mineral Wells, 
Texas, where he died April 22, 1904. His 
remains were interred at Fort Madison, 
Iowa. 

In 1871, at Prairie Sound, Ont., Mr. 
Bowerman was married to Cecelia Kemp, 
a native of Niagara Falls, N. Y., daughter 
of Elias and Diana Kemp, of Prairie Sound. 
Mrs. Bowerman's parents moved to Superior 
in 1886, and there died. Mr. Kemp, who 
had been a farmer in Canada, acquired a 
competence and retired in middle life. Two 
sons were born to Mr. and Mrs. Bowerman : 
Herbert, who has spent two years in Alaska, 
and is now at Superior; and Leonard H., 
of Fort Madison, Iowa. The family attend 
tlie Congregational Church. Mr. Bower- 
man was a member of the I. O. O. F., and 
the I. O. F. Since coming to the United 
wStates he had affiliated with the Republican 
party and was independent in local politics. 

WILLIAM B. HATCH, late one of the 
substantial and prominent men of Pludson, 
St. Croix Co., Wis., was born at Windsor. 
\'t., June 10, 1840, son of William B. and 
Louise (Parker) Hatch, the former born 
Aug. 3, 181 5, and the latter born Nov. 2, 
181 7, and both in Vermont. Tlie father was 
a physician and practiced at Rutland severrd 
years before he went to New York City, 
where he took charge of a city hospital for 
five years. On April i, 1849, he and his 
second wife went to Beloit, Wis., where he 
built the first store, a bridge and a flax mill, 
and operated the business for three years. 
Then the gold fever attacking him. Dr. 
Platch went to California, via Cape Horn, 
and in addition to mining was often called 
upon for his medical skill, so that b)' 1852 
he was able to come back, havinp" met with 
financial success, and located in Hudson, 
taking up his practice, which he followed 
until 1863, when he returned to Beloit and 
spent about three years. He next spent three 
years at Chicago, whence he went to Jersey 
City, and conducted two drug stores very 
successfully for about ten years. His deatr. 
occurred Nov. 3. 1887. The second wife of 
Dr. Hatch was Mary E. Weed, of Bing- 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



93- 



hamton, N. Y., who is now living in Xew 
York City, at an advanced age, having been 
born in 1826. There were no children by the 
second marriage, bnt two by the first : Wil- 
liam B. and Stella Lonise, deceased, wife 
of Dr. A. J. Holcomb. In politics, Dr. 
Hatch was a Democrat, but never aspired to 
public office. He was a consistent member 
of the Congregational Church. 

After the death of his mother in New 
York City, William B. Hatch resided in that 
city for a time, and then went to Franklin, 
where he attended school, but later came 
west to Beloit to join his father, and there 
he attended Beloit College. He made the 
first matches manufactured in the Scate, 
and also made cigars, and in this way earned 
sufficient money to buy his clothes. In 1852, 
he came to Hudson, and worked for twenty- 
five cents a day, but a young man of his en- 
ergy was not to be held down, and he ad- 
vanced by obtaining employment in a brick 
yard. Later he was engaged to drive the 
well-known Brady's team, and he also 
worked for Dr. Otis Hoyt in his large store, 
continuing with the latter for two years. 
As he had studied during his odd minutes 
to follow his father's profession, when the 
latter started the first drug store at Hudson, 
young William was able to take charge of it. 

About this time the war broke out, and 
Mr. Hatch, being a member of the Fourtli 
Wisconsin Band, under Gen. Payne, was 
sent first to Racine; thence to Baltimore, 
then to Virginia, and after several changes 
was sent to Newport News, and finally was 
ordered West under Gen. Butler. Mr. 
Hatch enjoys the distinction of being one of 
the first four hundred men to enter New Or- 
leans after its capture. They were then 
transferred to Vicksburg, through the Caro- 
linas, and after two weeks in New York City 
were disbanded, after long and brilliant ser- 
vice. 

On Oct. 24, 1862, Mr. Hatch was mar- 
ried to Lydia Brockbank, of North W^ind- 
ham. Conn., daughter of Joseph Brockbank. 
Her parents were of English birth, who 
came to Hudson in 185^, and Mr. Brock- 
bank followed his trade of carpentering, and 
was the inventor of bobbins. Both Mr. and 



I\Irs. Brockbank died at Hudson. One 
daughter was born of this marriage : Ella 
Louise, wife of Rev. Alexander Lewis, Ph. 
D., of Hudson, pastor of the Pilgrim Con- 
gregational Cluuxh of Worcester, Massa- 
chusetts. 

So signally did the United States recog- 
nize the loyal spirit of both father and son, 
that Dr. Hatch was made postmaster of 
Hudson and his son assistant postmaster. 
Being in poor health as a result of his ef- 
forts during the war, Mr. Hatch went upon 
a farm for a couple of years, when, feeling 
fully recovered, he returned to Hudson, and 
entered into the drug business under the firm 
name of McGreggor & Hatch, which con- 
tinued two years, when again ^Ir. Hatch's 
health failed and for a year he engaged in 
nnlling. Following this he worked in a 
grocery store for two years, when having 
saved sufficient money, he established a gro- 
cery store of his own in Hudson. This was 
started in a small way, but his trade grew to 
such dimensions, that in 1876, he removed 
to a better portion of the city, and soon was 
the leading grocer in that vicinity, and thus 
continued until 1890, when he sold his in- 
terests. After a rest of a few years, in 1895 
he established another grocery store, conduc- 
ted it for some years, and in 1900 sold to 
Nygard & Co. The brick store in which this 
concern carries on business was built by Mr. 
Hatch at a cost .of $7,000. In addition to 
this valuable building, Mr. Hatch owned 
some very valuable business property. For 
many years he worked very hard, in spite of 
failing health, and richly deserved the suc- 
cess wdiich came to him. Like his father, 
he was a Mason, and belonged to Blue Lodge 
No. 56, Chapter No. 44, Hudson Command- 
ery No. 14; Eastern Star No. 84: I. O. F., 
Court No. 408 ; Elks, of Hudson, No. 640 ; 
and the G. A. R. Post. 

For many years Mr. Hatch was a con- 
sistent and liberal member of the Presbyter- 
ian Church, and was for many years 
the honored treasurer of that congre- 
gation. Mr. Hatch was a man widely 
and favorably knpwn throughout coun- 
ty and State, and enjoyed in highest 
degree the confidence of his fellowtownsmen. 



94 



COAIMEAIORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



Two years ago, owing to failing health, Mr. 
and Mrs. Hatch spent the winter in South- 
£rn California. The trip was greatly en- 
joyed by them both, but Mr. Hatch's trouble 
was of such a nature that permanent relief 
could not be expected. He died suddenly 
Oct. 19, 1904, and was buried at Hudson the 
following Sunday with full Masonic rites, 
assisted by the pastor of the Presbyterian 
Church. His wife and daughter survive him 
and are at present (1905) in England. 

\ WILLIAM L. SCHUPPERT, county 
superintendent of schools of Ashland County, 
is a talented and enthusiastic educational 
worker, who has established for himself a 
reputation that has popularized him with the 
patrons of the schools over which he has jur- 
isdiction. Mr. Schuppert was born in Wash- 
ington county, Wis., in 1872. He is a son 
of John and Hattie (Dagling) Schuppert, 
also natives of Wisconsin. 

William's boyhood was passed upon a 
farm. He attended the public schools, where 
he laid a solid foundation for future learn- 
ing, and at the age of fourteen years, he be- 
gan attending the West Bend high school, 
where for three years he diligently pursued 
his studies. With the school advantages 
thus far enjoyed he had by dint of applica- 
tion acquired a sufficient English education 
to enable him to teach, and he assumed 
charge of his first school when seventeen 
years of age. For two and a half years he 
remained continuously iii the work, meeting 
with a large measure of success. Subse- 
quently he attended the Oshkosh Normal 
School for two and a half years, and in Feb- 
ruary, 1895, he was tendered and accepted 
the principalship of the Glidden public 
schools, of which he immediately took 
charge, and continued in that position for 
five years. In 1898 he became the Republi- 
can party candidate for county superintend- 
ent of schools, and was duly elected. For 
two years thereafter he retained his position 
in the Glidden schools, at the same time dis- 
charging the duties of the county superin- 
tendent's office, at which time the salary of 
the office was raised from .$400 to $1,000 
per annum, thereby disqualifying him from 



longer holding a teacher's position. So suc- 
cessfully had Mr. Schuppert conducted the 
office of the county superintendent that he 
was renominated without opposition, and his 
nomination received the endorsement of the 
Democratic party. In 1902 he was renom- 
inated for a third term and triumphantly 
elected. Mr. Schuppert during his six years 
connection with the Ashland public schools 
has given his best efforts to produce the 
highest mental and moral development pos- 
sible in the youth of Ashland county. He 
has been eminently successful with his work, 
having won the confidence and esteem of 
both parents and pupils. He personally 
visits every school in the county from two 
to three times each year. In 1901 he organ- 
ized teachers' meetings, the first of their 
kind in the county. These are meetings held 
weekly for the general advantage of the 
teachers and have proved wonderfully help- 
ful. He also instituted in 1902 a summer in- 
stitute, which is conducted jointly by the 
county and State. 

Mr. Schuppert was united in marriage 
with Miss Kittie Hart in 1900. They have 
one daughter, Leonora, and a son, Harold. 
]\Irs. Schuppert is a lady of liberal education 
and broad culture. Before her marriage to 
]\Ir. Schuppert she was one of Ashland 
county's popular and successful teachers. 
She is in full sympathy with her talented 
husband, and is of great assistance to him 
in his work. Their modest home is artistic 
in its appointments, and everywhere in it is 
seen by the casual observer evidence of the 
taste and refinement of its occupants. 

ASHLAND COUNTY PUBLIC 
SCHOOLS. The public schools of Ashland 
county in point of excellence are unsurpassed 
by any schools in any county in the State of 
\\'isconsin. Its fifty schools are presided 
over by sixty-eight teachers. There are in 
the county three State graded schools of the 
first class, located in Butternut, Glidden and 
]\Iellen. These schools have kindergarten 
departments and were established in 1902. 
There is also at Odanah, one State graded 
school of the second class. The township 
system of schools prevails in the towns of 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



95 



Ashland, Gordon, Jacobs, Morse and San- 
born. The district system prevails in the 
towns of Butternut, Agenda and La Pointe. 
The school year in the county averages 
eight and one-half months. The whole 
number of days attendance of different pu- 
pils, 1901-02, was 157,224. The average 
monthly wages paid to teachers are 
fifty-three dollars. Since 1898 there 
have been sixteen school buildings erected 
in Ashland county, which necessitated 
employing twenty-two extra teachers. The 
school report for 1902 shows that there 
are seven schools having between fi\-e 
and fifteen pupils ; five schools, between 
ten and sixteen ; eight, between fifteen and 
twenty-one ; six, between twenty and twent}-- 
six; seven, between twenty-five and thirt)- 
one; five, between thirty and thirty-six; two, 
between thirty-five and forty-one; four be- 
tween forty and fortj'-six ; one, between for- 
ty-five and fifty-one; one, between fifty and 
fifty-six; one, between fifty-five and sixtv 
one ; and four having more than sixty. The 
minimum standing of qualification for teach- 
ers is materially hirfier than when the pres- 
ent efficient superintendent was elected in 
1898. Of the sixty-eig'ht teachers employed, 
ten are full course Normal graduates ; five 
are graduates of the elementary Normal 
course; four hold first grade county certifi- 
cates; twenty, second grade county certifi- 
cates ; and thirty-three hold third grade 
county certificates. The public school build- 
ings throughout the county are comfortable 
and substantial structures, equal in these re- 
spects to the school buildings of older settled 
counties. Of the Glidden graded school 
building, Mr. Parker, State graded school 
inspector, says, "It is the best of its class in 
the State." It is of modern construction 
and equipment throsghout, having steam 
heat and electric lights. 

EDWARD ERASTUS COLLINS, 
M. D., who is now living in comparative re- 
tirement in Duluth, was the pioneer of his 
profession in that city, whither he came first 
in May, 1869. He is a native of Newport, 
Herkimer Co., N. Y., born July 26, 1833, 



and is a son of John and Dolly (Allen) Col- 
lins, the former a native of Rhode Island 
and a descendant of an old Colonial family. 
John Collins died on a farm in New York 
soon after the birth of his son Edward, but 
the mother survived to the advanced age of 
eighty-six years, passing away in 1890. Her 
parents, Jonathan and Polly (Wilder) Allen, 
were both natives of Vermont, the mother 
Ijorn in Dover, that State, in 1776, and they 
died in Newport, N. Y., and East Charles- 
ton, Pa., respectively. Mrs. Allen reached 
the age of eighty-seven years. 

Edward E. Collins attended public 
school and Brookfield academy in New York, 
receiving a good practical education, and 
took up the study of medicine with Dr. Eras- 
tus King, of Unadilla Forks, N. Y., continu- 
ing his studies at the Medical College of New 
York University, from which he was gradu- 
ated in March, 1857. For a number of years 
he practiced in his native State, his first lo- 
cation being at Burlington Green, Otsego 
county, and after two years there he moved 
to Clayville, and subsequently to Burlington 
Mats. In the winter of 1868-69 he attended 
lectures at the Chicago Medical College, and 
in May, 1869, he located at Duluth, Minn., 
being the first physician in the field. Dur- 
ing his stajr there he was called to Superior 
and other points for some distance around. 
After three years' experience in Duluth he 
went to Minneapolis, where he remained four 
years, and for the next three years he was at 
Stoughton, Wis., returning in 1881 to Du- 
luth, where he has resided ever since. He 
enjoyed a lucrative practice for many years, 
but is now practically retired, though he is 
still engaged to some extent in real estate 
transactions, having- been interested in that 
line since his arrival in Duluth. He has 
put up a number of buildings, including his 
own residence, a fine store, and a modern 
brick structure, and has always aimed to im- 
prove his holdings to the utmost. 

Dr. Collins was married, in 1873, to Mrs. 
Sarah M. Eldridge, who was born in Balti- 
more, Md., and died at Duluth, Dec. 12, 
T902, aged sixty-two years. She was edu- 
cated in Baltimore, came with her parents to 



96 



COMMEAIORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



Lake Washington, near Alankato, Minn., 
and taught in that vicinity for several years. 
By her first union she was the mother of one 
child, Grace, who still makes her home with 
the Doctor. Dr. Collins has many social 
and professional connections, having been a 
member of the Masonic fraternity for forty 
years, and a charter member of Palestine 
Lodge, No. 79, at Duluth, a member of the 
St. Louis County Medical Society and the 
Minnesota State Medical Society. While in 
New York he was a member of the Otsego 
County Medical Society, and while in 
Minneapolis he held membership in the 
Llennepin County Medical Society. His re- 
ligious connection is with the Laiitarian 
Church of Duluth, though his wife was a 
communicant of the Episcopal Church from 
early life. 

During the Civil War Dr. Collins was 
contract surgeon at Finley Hospital. Wash- 
ington, D. C, for several months, and was 
transferred thence to the field hospital at 
Muddy Branch, Md., of which he had charge 
for a time. 

NATHANIEL ALWARD GEAR- 
HART, special municipal judge of the city 
of Duluth, is one of the well known mag- 
istrates of that city, of whicli he has been 
a resident since 1887. 

Mr. Gearhart was born Sept. 25. 1843. 
in Portage, Livingston Co., N. Y.. son of 
John Gearhart and grandson of George 
Gearhart, who was a farmer in New York 
State and lived to the advanced age ot 
eighty-six years. John Gearhart was born 
in Scipio, Cayuga Co., N. Y., and was of 
Pennsylvania-Dutch descent, his earlier an- 
cestors living near Valley Forge, Pa. While 
a young man he settled on a farm in Living- 
ston county,. N. Y., where he passed the re- 
mainder of his long life, living, like his 
father, to reach the age of eighty-six years. 
He married Elizabeth Guthrie, a native of 
New Jersey, who was of Scotch-Irish de- 
scent, and they had a family of nine chil- 
dren, five sons and four daughters. Mr. 
and Mrs. Gearhart were constituent mem- 
bers of the Baptist Church at Hunt's Hol- 



low, and all of their children joined that 
congregation. The mother died at the age 
of seventy-six years. John Gearhart served 
as a lieutenant in the New York militia. The 
three children of this worthy couple who 
yet survive are all veterans of the Civil 
war: Charles H., of Wausau, Wis., who 
served in the 6th Wisconsin Battalion ; Na- 
thaniel A., and George A., of Buffalo, N. 
Y., a member of the Southern Lecture Bu- 
reau, who served in the ist New York 
Dragoons. 

Nathaniel A. Gearhart was reared in his 
native State. On Sept. 30, 1861, he en- 
listed in Company A. 104th N. Y. V. I., 
with which he served in all the engagements 
of the Army of the Potomac until wounded, 
July I, 1863, at the battle of Gettysburg. 
He was present at Antietam, Fredericks- 
burg, Chancellorsville, Second Bull Run 
and other important battles. After being 
wounded he was captured on the field, and 
held prisoner until July 4th, when the ene- 
my fell back and he came again within the 
Union lines. His wound had so far been 
neglected, and the surgeon said amputation 
was necessary, but Mr. Gearhart refused to 
consent, and thus the wound received no at- 
tention or dressing beyond what he was able 
to give it himself. He remained in the hos- 
pital at Gettysburg until Nov. ist, when he 
was given a furlough to go home to \ote. 
In alighting from the train he fell and re- 
broke his leg, and a few weeks later it was 
again accidentally broken. He was confined to 
his bed for many weeks, and as a conse- 
cjuence of his injuries his right leg is now 
two and a half inches shorter than the left. 
He has seventeen pieces of bone which have 
been removed from the wounded member. 
Mr. Gearhart was discharged from the 
army Oct. 12, 1864, because of di.sal)ility. 
While in the service he was made orderly 
sergeant. 

In 1865 Mr. Gearhart received the ap- 
pointment of deputy clerk of Livingston 
county, N. Y., and for twenty-one years he 
continued in the office as clerk or deputy, be- 
ing in actual charge during the entire period. 
He also acted as clerk of all courts of record 





^/^C^4.^^t^^^~^ 



THE KLVi'' "jRK 

PUBLIC LIBRARY 



ASTOR, LENOX 
TILDEN fOUiv-DAXlONsI 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



97 



in that county, and his long term of service 
is the best evidence of faith fuhiess and sat- 
isfactory work. On Sunday, April i, 1887, 
he reached Duluth, Minn., and the following 
day was sworn in as deputy register of 
deeds of St. Louis county, in which posi- 
tion he served about two years. In the 
meantime he had taken up the study of law, 
and in 1888 was admitted to the Bar, be- 
ginning practice the same year. He con- 
tinued to devote all his time to practice until 
1898, in which year he was elected special- 
municipal judge of the city of Duluth, and 
he has been honored with repeated re-elec- 
tions, having been retained in that office con- 
tinuously since. He still maintains a law of- 
fice in company with his son, H. G. Gearhart, 
who has charge of the same, and practices 
law in addition to discharging his duties as 
a magistrate. His success both in private 
practice and as a public official is due to his 
devotion to business and his fidelity in the 
performance of every duty entrusted to him, 
and he is regarded as one of the useful cit- 
izens of his adopted home. 

On Nov. 3O; 1868, Mr. Gearhart was 
married to Ella Frances Gilbert, who was 
born at Thomaston, Conn., and was a 
daughter of Amos H. and Zada (Knibloe) 
Gilbert, later of Nunda, N . Y . Two sons 
have blessed this union : Harry Gilbert, 
who is a practicing attorney, and Donald 
Guthrie, who is a bookkeeper. The Judge 
is a member of the Baptist Church. Fra- 
ternally he is a member of the G. A. R. and 
the Freemasons. His political support is 
given to the Republican party. 

HIRAM PELTON (deceased), who 
was an early settler of Dallas township, Bar- 
ron Co., Wis., was born in 1825 at Athens, 
Greene Co., N. Y., a son of John and Sarah 
(Hinkley) Pelton, the former of whom was 
born in Connecticut and the latter in Massa- 
chusetts. 

The Pelton family as well as the Hink- 
ley family were of colonial stock, the former 
being of French descent, and the latter of 
Scotch-Irish. In 1850 John and Sarah Pel- 
ton, the parents of our subject, came to what 
7 



was considered the far \Vest at that time, and 
settled in Sauk county, among the pioneers of 
Wisconsin. There the father died in 1867, 
survived by his widow until 1881. 

Hiram Pelton attended the local schools 
at Athens, these being conducted by private 
individuals, as it was long before the public 
school era, and at the age of twelve years 
was employed on a Hudson river boat as 
cook, for which service he received the small 
salary of four dollars a month. For twelve 
years he followed the river, during this 
time being promoted on many occasions,, 
until he became mate. In 1850, he and his 
wife came to Wisconsin, settling in the wilds 
of Sauk county, near Reedsburg, where but 
a few families had preceded them. The near- 
est neighbor was located a mile and a half 
away and sociability was not easily shown. 
Mr. Pelton bought forty acres of wild land, 
paying for a part of it and promising to 
pay for the remainder with twenty-five per 
cent interest. Here he put up a cabin and 
developing the land somewhat, was able to 
dispose of it later. Then he went to Missis- 
sippi, locating in Wildwood Landing, near 
the mouth of the Arkansas river, where he 
lived through the winter, in the spring re- 
turning to Sauk county. Air. Pelton then 
bought a farm of 120 acres in Winfield 
township, which he operated, living there 
until 1863. This farm he also sold, and then 
returned to his old home at Athens, N. Y., 
where he resided until 1865. 

No better indication could be found of 
Air. Pelton's warm feeling for Wisconsin,, 
when, in 1865 he returned a second time to 
the State, this time buying eighty acres of 
wild land in Sauk county on which he began 
the growing of hops. This place he also 
sold to advantage, and then removed to Dal- 
las township, Barron county, where, in 1870, 
he took up a homestead in Section 22, the 
one now owned by N. C. Gilstad. This 
farm Air. Pelton occupied for a number of 
years, developing and improving it and re- 
taining possession of it until he retired from 
active life. He then settled in the village of 
Dallas, erecting a home which is a model 
of comfort and in which he enjoyed the 
fruits of a long and industrious life. 



•98 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



Mr. Pelton was always a stanch Repub- 
lican from the formation of the party, prior 
to that time being a Whig, as was his father 
before him. In local matters he took an ac- 
tive part and served his town in many ways ; 
he was elected town clerk, a position he filled 
several years with the greatest etificiency. 
In the early days of Barron county, he served 
as president of the school board and also as 
■one of the special board of supervisors for 
the county. His term as county treasurer, 
ending in 1874, was the last occupancy of 
that office before the division. Mr. Pelton 
also served in public office in Sauk county, 
in the various local offices where a man of 
reliability and intelligence was required and 
the records all show how well he managed 
all affairs entrusted to him. On many oc- 
•casions he was sent by his party as a dele- 
gate to the various conventions, his tact and 
judgment making him well qualified for 
■such honors. 

In 1849 Hiram Pelton married Deborah 
Seaman and they became the parents of five 
children, namely : Alva S. ; Ida is deceased ; 
Maynard and Earnest A. constitute the well- 
known hardware firm of Pelton Brothers, at 
Dallas, and they are progressive and suc- 
cessful young business men; Miss Fannie 
conducts with much ability, a iirst-class mil- 
linery and dressmaking establishment at 
Dallas, and is a lady of most pleasant manner. 
and possessed of both taste and business ca- 
pacity. The mother of this family, Mrs. 
Deborah Pelton, passed away Nov. 22, 1899, 
at the age of seventy-three years, and the 
father, Hiram Pelton, passed away in Dallas 
on Feb. 28, 1905. 

Mr. Pelton saw wonderful changes 
during his life in this great State and could 
look back, during his own life, over her most 
eventful years. He belonged to the sturdy 
band of pioneers who assisted so well in the 
building of the foundations upon which the 
commercial and agricultural prosperity of all 
this section has b.een erected. 

WARREN T. PORTER, a worthy vet- 
eran of the Civil War now residing at Bar- 
ron, Wis., was born in Chautauqua county. 



N. Y., in 1847. He is the son of Abner and 
Polly (Holland) Porter. The former w^as 
born in Caledonia county, Vt., in 1808, and 
lived to a good old age, being eighty years 
old at his decease, which took place in Bar- 
ron county. Wis. He was a blacksmith and 
machinist by trade, but in 1864 he moved to 
Houston county, Minn., where he lived on a 
farm until 1876; from there he moved to 
Barron county and took up a homestead 
claim. He was a man of quiet tastes and en- 
joyed the quiet farm life more than any 
other. His father, Ira Porter, was one of 
nine brothers who came from Ireland. Polly 
Holland was born in the Mohawk Valley in 
1807 and died in Houston county, Minn., 
in 1S70. She was of Holland descent and 
sprang of that good old Holland family 
which acquired the "Holland tract" in Catta- 
raugus and Chautauqua counties, New York. 

Warren T. Porter, the subject of this 
sketch, enlisted in September, 1863, in Com- 
pany A, 14th N. Y. Heavy Artillery. He 
took ah active part in all the engagements 
of the "Army of the Potomac," beginning 
with the battle of the Wilderness, and from 
then until March 24, 1865, when he was 
captured at Fort Stedman and was held a 
prisoner of war in Libby Prison until the 
fall of Richmond. He received his honor- 
able discharge June 9, 1865. After the war 
was over he went to Minnesota and later, in 
the spring of 1866, to Denison, Iowa, where 
he entered the employ of the Chicago and 
Northwestern Railway Company. He con- 
tinued in the employment of railroads as 
fireman and engineer until 1877, when he 
was injured in a w-reck and in consequence 
resigned. He then came to Barron county 
and w-as emplo}'ed by Knapp, Stout & Co. 
as a mechanic in their shops for eleven sea- 
sons. In the meantime he purchased a farm 
in the township of Cedar Lake. In 1896 he 
removed to the city of Barron, where he has 
since been employed by the county as game 
\i'arden and custodian of the Court House 
at that place. He now owns a farm of eighty 
acres in the town of Stan fold. 

Mr. Porter was married June 3, 1875, 
to Lucinda Crisler, daughter of John P. and 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



Jane (White) Crisler, of Barron county, 
Wisconsin. Mrs. Porter was born in Illi- 
nois. They have one son, Warren Aubrey, 
a farmer now residing on his father's farm 
in the town of Stanfold. 

Mr. Porter l:as been a member of the 
Masonic fraternity since 1869, and is also 
a member of the Grand Army of the Repub- 
lic. He has been a lifelong Republican, serv- 
ing ten years as justice of the peace in the 
town of Cedar Lake, and has been clerk of 
the school board for thirteen years in the 
same place. In fact he was active in the Re- 
publican organization of the town of Cedar 
Lake. When Mr. Porter receives his "Hon- 
orable discharge" from the Army of Life, 
Barron county will lose one of its most 
worthy inhabitants. 

WILLIAM G. TEN BROOK, ex-city 
•controller of Duluth, and a well-known resi- 
dent of that city, was born July 18, 1846. 
in Battle Creek, Mich., and is a son of Rev. 
George V. Ten Brook, who came from one 
of the old Knickerbocker families. Rev. Mr. 
Ten Brook received his education in Madi- 
son (now Colgate) University, Hamilton, 
N. Y., and entered the ministry of the Bap- 
tist Church, in which he served all his life. 
In the early forties he migrated to Michi- 
gan, and filled pastorate at various points 
in that State, dying at Centerville, Mich., in 
1857, when about forty years old. He m:u-- 
ried Charlotte Treat, who died when her 
son William G. was in his infancy. 

William G. Ten Brook spent most of his 
boyhood in New York, and received a prac- 
tical education. On June 21, 1862, though 
only a youth of sixteen, he enlisted in Com- 
pany A, 107th N. Y. V. I., with which he 
served three years, being discharged in June, 
1865. Until after the battle of Getty.sburg 
he served with the Army of the Potomac, 
taking part in the engagements at Chancel- 
lorsville and Antietam. Later he was un- 
der Gen. Hooker, and took part in the Atlan- 
ta campaign, the celebrated march to the 
sea, and the campaign through the Carolinas, 
and he was also in the Grand Review at 
W^ashington. He escaped without injuries. 



99 

though he was in active service throughout 
his term. 

After the close of the war Mr. Ten 
Brook spent two years in Michigan, and in 
1869 he came to Duluth, Minn., where he 
entered the employ of the Lake Superior & 
Alississippi Railway Company, beginning as 
a brakeman. In time he became a locomotive 
engineer, and he remained with the company 
seventeen years altogether. In 1888 he was 
honored with election to the office of 
city controller, which he held for four con- 
secutive terms — eight years — giving eminent 
satisfaction in the discharge of his duties. 
Since 1900 he has been in the office of the 
Duluth Missabe & Northern Railway Corn- 
pan}-. 

Mr. Ten Brook is a stanch Republican, 
and has voted for every Republican candi- 
date for president since he cast his first presi- 
den.tial ballot, at the second election of Abra- 
ham Lincoln. Fraternally he is a Knight 
Templar Mason, having joined the order in 
1867, and being connected with various local 
Masonic organizations, including the com- 
mandery and consistory. He is P. G. H. P. 
of the Grand Chapter of Minnesota, and has 
been presiding officer in all these bodies ex- 
cept the consistory. Mr. Ten Brook is an 
active member of j. P. Culver Post, G. A. R. 

In 1867 Mr. Ten Bro(jk was united in 
marriage with Miss Delia Goodwin, who 
passed away Aug. 8. 1894, leaving two sons, 
Charles M. and William T. 

HON. WILLIAM EPHRAIM HAILY. 
Of late years special attention has been given 
to the question of ju\enile olTenders, and in 
his endeavors to reclaim these boys and pre- 
\'ent their recruiting the ranks of criminals, 
Judg"e Haily has rendered perhaps the great- 
est of his many services to the community. 
The fact that he is still comparatively a 
young man, who has not out-grown sym- 
pathy with boys, combined with unusual wis- 
dom in his methods of procedure, has made 
his efi^orts in the work remarkaljlv success- 
ful. 

Jurlge Haily is the son of \\'illiam and 
Elizaljeth (Maurer) Haily, whose parents 



^33015 



lOO 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



were Germans and lived and died in their na- 
tive land. William Haily was born in the 
Province of Waldeck, but came to this coun- 
try when seventeen years old. For some fif- 
teen years he was connected with the Hop- 
pock Manufacturing Company, of New York 
City, dealing in brass goods, tubing and fix- 
tures. In 1872 he came to Wisconsin and lo- 
cated at Port Washington. He entered the 
ministry of the M. E. Church about that time, 
continued in that profession for a number of 
years and, according to the custom of that 
denomination, filled pulpits in many different 
towns in the State. He is still living and 
is now in retirement in Sheboygan ; for 
the last few years he has been interested in 
the agency of books rather than in very active 
ministry. His wife, who was born in Frank- 
fort-on-the-Main, is also living. They reared 
a large family but only one son is located 
in Superior. 

William E. Plaily was born in New York 
City, March 17, 1866, and was educated in 
the public schools. At the age of eighteen, 
after completing his high school course, he 
began the study of law in the office of Judge 
Huntington, of Green Bay, Wis. Later he 
was in the office of ex-Senator Kennedy of 
Appleton, Wis., and was admitted to prac- 
tice before all courts of the State in 1887, 
before the State board of examiners at Mil- 
waukee. Deciding to make West Superior 
his permanent location, he settled there the 
same year and began a general practice; 
he has gradually, however, made more and 
more a specialty of tax titles and real estate 
law, and of recent years has confined himself 
exclusively to office work. 

Judge Haily has been greatly interested 
in questions of public policy, has taken an 
active part in politics, both municipal and 
State, and has held many positions of trust 
in the public service. In 1893 he was presi- 
dent of the board of education, serving three 
years in all as a member of the board. Two 
years later, in 1895, he was elected city at- 
torney. During the session of the legisla- 
ture in 1898-99, he was the representative 
from Douglas county. In ]\Iay of the next 
year he was appointed to fill a vacancy in 



the office of municipal judge, and in the 
spring of 1902 was elected to succeed him- 
self. Always a stalwart Republican in his 
politics, he has been president of the first Re- 
publican league organized in Superior; has 
been delegate to a number of State conven- 
tions, and has occasionally delivered cam- 
paign addresses, always with great effect. 
Jn his fraternal affiliations Judge Haily is 
prominent in several orders, including the I. 
O. O. F. and the Masons. 

Always a student along psychological 
and sociological lines, since his election as 
municipal judge Mr. Haily has been in a 
position to put to an experimental test his 
ideas in regard to the reclaiming of juvenile 
offenders. Believing that the reform schools 
not only fail of attaining their avowed end, 
but often strengthen \-icious tendencies, he 
has introduced a parole system, which in 
conjunction with the Judge's pertinent and 
judicious advice has caused marked im- 
provement in the conduct of many youths. 
While an unusually large number of law 
breakers of this class come within his juris- 
diction, in only a few cases has he found it 
necessary to send the culprit to a reformatory 
institution. His administration has resulted 
not only in the saving of much expense to the 
city, Init in the making over of a potentially 
lawless element into good citizens. 

JAMES BLACKBURN (deceased) 
was one of the oldest residents of Hurley, 
Iron county, where he settled in 1884. and 
engaged in the real estate business, in which 
he was occupied until his death, which oc- 
ctu^red January 30, 1904. 

Robert Blackburn, father of James, was 
a thread merchant in Scotland, following 
that business in Glasgow until he was fifty 
years of age. He then came with his family 
to Ontario, Canada, where he engaged in the 
same occupation until obliged to retire on 
account of old age. He married Robina 
Buchan, like himself a native of Scotland, 
who passed away at the age of sixty-two. 
He died in his seventy-eighth year. Of their 
family of four children James was the last 
survivor. 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



101 



James Blackburn was born in Glasgow 
Feb. 3, 1836, and when he was twelve years 
of age came to America with his parents. 
At the age of fifteen he began work for him- 
self on the water, shipping as a common sail- 
or, and following the sea for a few years. 
He then enlisted in the Queen's army in 
Canada. He entered the service as a private 
in the Rifles, and rose to the position of 
captain and pay master in the artillery during 
his fifteen years' service. In 1878 he left 
the army and came to the United States. 
He secured a position with the Northwestern 
Railway Company, then known as the Lake 
Shore, as pay master, retaining the place 
until 1884. when he came to Hurley. Here 
he went into the real estate business, in 
which he ever after engaged. He had other 
interests as well, having served as justice of 
the peace and court commissioner from 1887, 
elected on the Republican ticket. He was 
also chairman and supervisor of the town, 
and a member of the county board, when it 
was all known as Ashland county. 

On Oct. 3, 1859, in Canada, Mr. Black- 
burn married Georgianna M. Cooke, 
daughter of James and Maria (O'Connor) 
Cooke, both natives of Canada. They had a 
family of six children, of whom ■Mrs. Black- 
burn w-as the eldest. James Cooke spent 
many years of his life as a lumberman and 
died in Canada in 1873. His wife died at 
the home of Mr. Blackburn, in Hurley, at 
the age of ninety-two. To Mr. and Mrs. 
Blackburn were born ten children, of whom 
seven are living, namely : Jessie, widow of 
William E. Fitzgerald, of Milwaukee ; Anna, 
wife of A. D. Garner, of Ironwood, Mich. ; 
Robert, a lumberman of Milwaukee; Dun- 
bar, an employe in the mines in Ironbelt, 
Wis. ; Georgianna. wife of N. O. Lawton, 
of Ironbelt ; Gordon, bookkeeper for the 
American Ship Building Company, in Mil- 
waukee ; and Ralph, an employe in the mines 
at Ironbelt. The family are members of the 
Presbyterian Church. Mr. Blackburn was 
a Mason from 1859, affiliating with Blue 
Lodge, No. 237, A.F. & A. M., at Hurley. 

CHARLES LORD, who is living in re- 
tirement at Solon Springs, is one of the few 



remaining early settlers of Douglas county, 
where he located in 1854. He was born 
May 29, 1828, in St. Francis, Out., his father 
being a merchant of Montreal, in whose store 
Charles gained his first knowledge of busi- 
ness. 

On coming of age, in 1849, Charles Lord 
left Canada, going first to Kankakee, HI. 
Owing to the prevalence of fever and ague 
there he soon joined a party going by wagon 
to the lead mines of Galena, 111., where he 
was engaged two years as a hotel employe, 
making the acquaintance of Gen. Grant at 
that time. On the journey from Kankakee 
to Galena, which consumed six weeks, the 
party was often short of water, owing to an 
excessive drought. The people along the 
route were very inhospitable, and refused to 
sell milk or other provisions, having been im- 
posed upon by previous travelers. Once, by 
an ingenious strategy, Mr. Lord succeeded 
in purchasing some milk, and at other times 
the party had to force people to afford them 
reasonable accommodations, though they 
were willing and able to pay their way. Mr. 
Lord's next move from Galena was to Prai- 
rie du Chien, Wis., where he worked at his 
trade of baker, which he had learned in Mon- 
treal. From that place he went to St. Paul, 
and afterward made a short stay at Fort 
Ripley, then in command of Capt. Todd, 
brother-in-law of President Lincoln. He 
was at the fort for two years, during which 
time the Sioux outbreak occurred at Little 
Falls, a man named Swartz being killed. 
Mr. Lord, with about fifteen other settlers, 
volunteered to go with a detachment to bring 
the Indians to terms. They pursued the 
enemy to Sauk Rapids, where a battle was 
fought and the Indians beaten. Mr. Lord's 
shoulder was grazed by a bullet, but no one 
was hurt, and they continued the pursuit 
across the Mississippi, catching the Indians 
at dinner on the river bank. In their flight 
the Sioux left all their things except guns 
and a keg of whiskey, and swam the river, 
but fourteen were killed and six wounded. 
The Chippewa chief, Hole-in-the-day, was 
with the settlers, and they took possession of 
four wagon loads of phmder. After this 
Mr. Lord went to Watab, Minn., where he 



I02 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



carried on a bakery for a year, going from 
there to Itasca, where for anotlier year he 
ran a bakery, at which the Winnebago In- 
dians bought their supphes. He then made 
a contract with Major David Herman to 
accompany him and carry on a bakery at 
the agency in Crow Wing, but after a year. 
at Major Herman's request, engaged with 
Lyon & Crittenden, Indian traders, antl came 
to Minnesota Point (the site of the present 
city of Duluth), on Lake Superior, to take 
charge of an Indian trading post. He 
brought a letter of recommendation from 
Major Herman to George R. Stuntz, of tlie 
government survey, then stationed at Minne- 
sota Point, the station consisting of two 
smah log shanties. Mr. Lord remained in 
charge of this post about a year, a treaty then 
being made with the Indians. During his stay 
there he had more or less trouble all along 
with liquor dealers, doing his best to protect 
the Indians from the traffic. About this time 
Superior began to be settled, there being 
about half a dozen houses there. The In- 
dian chief, Nog-onup, endeavored to drive 
Mr. Lord away from his post by threats, 
but quailed before the white man's show 
of power when a revolver was drawn out and 
six bullets driven through a plank with the 
assurance that his young braves would be 
similarly dealt with. Although he had only 
one companion, John Buffalo, Mr. Lord 
succeeded in frightening the Indians so that 
they came next day and begged for peace, 
saying that "Cut nose," a white trader, had 
incited them to make trouble. After that 
matters were harmonious. 

After leaving the trading post Mr. Lord 
took up a pre-emption claim of i6o acres in 
Stuntz's Hill, the site of the present city of 
Superior. He was obliged to go to Hudson 
to prove his claim, traveling by dog train, 
and suffering much from the fatigue and ex- 
posure of the journey. He afterward sold 
this claim for $500, and later it was bought 
by James Stinson, of Chicago, for $20,000. 
Mr. Lord had many adventures character- 
istic of the early days in this region. In 1852 
he was one of a party which volunteered to 
cut a road from Sauk Rapids to Long Prair- 



ie. When about twelve miles from the 
former place a man and team were sent 
back for provisions, but as th'e ice in the river 
was breaking up he was unable to return for 
nearly a week. In the meantime Mr. Lord 
and his companions nearly starved, but re- 
ceived some assistance from an Indian who 
chanced to visit camp. 

In 1856 Mr. Lord married Katherine 
Osagie, daughter of the Chippewa chief, 
Osagie,' of Lake Superior. He then took up 
a school claim of 160 acres, in Section 16, 
Town 49, Range 13, where he lived five or 
six years, but times were hard, and he moved 
to Superior, where for a time he was em- 
ployed as a cook in a hotel. He was injured 
in a Fourth of July accident, a bursting an- 
vil badly crippling one foot so that the doc- 
tors thought it must be amputated. His In- 
dian father-in-law took charge of the case, 
howe\'er, and saved the foot. After this 
he started a bakery in his own house, the 
first bakery in Superior. His next business 
venture was a saloon and boarding house, 
which he carried on for several years. Then 
he went into the Indian fur trade at Super- 
ior and places in that vicinity, and at Ver- 
million Lake, but soon opened a saloon on a 
larger scale, having the first billiard and 
pool table in Superior. Mr. Lord had many 
business misfortunes, losing several thou- 
sand dollars worth of property by fire at Old 
Quebec pier. He took another claim in Sec- 
tion 26, Town 45, Range 12, on which was 
located the town of White Birch (now Solon 
Springs), the necessary papers being ob- 
tained from President Harrison, the year 
after the Omaha road was built. The survey 
was made by George R. Stuntz, who also 
platted the town, which was afterward 
named Solon Springs in honor of Thomas 
Solon, who owned a claim on which were 
extensive springs. Mr. Lord has disposed 
of a few lots which have been improved, and 
has given four acres for church purposes. 

Mr. Lord was elected clerk of the cir- 
cuit court to succeed Mr. Greeley, the first 
clerk of Douglas county, and was re-elected 
four times, his motto being, "Vote for whom 
you please, but don't forget Charley Lord 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



103 



for clerk of circuit court." He made a good 
record as a public official, and was very popu- 
lar. He has also been honored by his towns- 
men with the positions of township treasurer 
and of town assessor, holding each office 
one term, and served two terms as justice of 
the peace. In politics he has always been a 
Democrat. 

Mr. and Airs. Lord had a family of nine 
children, two of whom, Charles and Leo, are 
living: Philomena, died Jan. 2, 1904, aged 
forty-seven years, eleven months. The 
others were Felix H., Basil, Albert, Victor, 
May and Isabel. Mrs. Lord died Nov. 22, 
1893, at the age of sixty-two. 

HENRY HAYES WADSW'ORTH, 
Ph. B., United States Engineer for Super- 
ior Harbor, was born in New Haven, Conn., 
Jan. 13, 1865. His parents were Henry 
and Fidelia M. (Gilbert) Wadsworth, both 
natives of Connecticut. 

The emigrant ancestor of this family was 
William Wadsworth, who came from Eng- 
land and settled in Cambridge, Mass., in 
1632. Six years later he, with others, mi- 
grated to Hartford, Conn. Capt. Wads- 
worth, famous for his successful resistance to 
Gov. Andros' attempts to secure the Co- 
lonial charter, was of his family. Mrs. 
Fidelia M. (Gilbert) Wadsworth was a de- 
scendant of Alatthew Gilbert, who came to 
Connecticut early in the seventeenth cen- 
tury. Her father, William Gilbert, was in- 
terested in the manufacture of carriages 
for many years, and spent his later years on 
a farm near New Haven, dying at the age 
of ninety. Mrs. Wadsworth died at Glencoe, 
Minn., in 1892, when about fifty-six years of 
age. Her husband, a hardware dealer, still 
lives at Glencoe, where he has been since 
1870. He takes an active part in local af- 
fairs, has served as mayor and filled other 
local offices. United States Senator C. K. 
Davis, and other prominent Minnesota men, 
w"ere among his personal friends. 

The early education of Henry Hayes 
Wadsworth was gained in the Glencoe public 
schools. He attended Yale College, gradu- 
ating from the Sheffield Scientific School as 



a civil engineer in 1886. He has been em- 
ployed in professional work on the Aberdeen, 
Fergus Falls & Pierre Railroad, the Park 
River & Langdon branch of the St. J'aul, 
Alinneapolis & Alanitoba Railroad, was for 
a time chief draughtsman and assistant civil 
engineer in the St. Paul office of the Eastern 
Railway of Minnesota, and designed the ori- 
ginal elevated structure of that road at Du- 
luth. From June, 1890, to May, 1893, Mr. 
Wadsworth was assistant city engineer of 
Superior, during which time he had charge 
of construction on the Lamborn avenue 
bridge across Howard's Pocket, and part of 
the time was in charge of sewer construction, 
most of the sewer system bcmg built during 
this period. In 1895 ^""^ 1896 he was chief 
engineer of the Lake Superior and Ishpeming 
Railroad, in charge of railway constructions 
and of the ore dock at Marquette, which 
was built after his own design. Since Sep- 
tember, 1896, he has been United States as- 
sistant engineer in charge of dredging on the 
Superior side of the Duluth-Superior har- 
bor, during which time over 11,000,000 
yards of sand have been taken out of the har- 
bor under his supervision. In October, 1901, 
Mr. Wadsworth was elected a member of 
the American Society of Civil Engineers. 

Mr. Wadsworth married in October, 
1889, Jane M. Anderson, a native of Aults- 
ville, Ontario, daughter of James T. and 
Sophia J. Anderson, of Osnabrock, N. Dak., 
where they located in 1883 and where they 
have since died. Two sons, Ralph Gilbert 
and Harold Anderson, have been born to 
Mr. and Mrs. Wadsworth. The family at- 
tend llie Congregational Church, and enjoy 
the best social advantages. 

THOMAS A. PRATT, a successful 
merchant of Spring Brook, was one of the 
pioneers in Washburn county, locating in 
Veazie township in 1881, when there were 
very few settlers in that part of the State. 
Little attention was paid to agriculture in 
the county at that time, most of the set- 
tlers devoting their time to lumbering. The 
Omaha railroad had been built through to 
Cable the year previous to Mr. Pratt's com- 



104 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



ing to Washburn county, but the country 
was very wild and full of game of various 
kinds. There was no school in the township 
until two years later, when a log school- 
house was built on Mishler's Lake, the first 
teacher being Alvin Hayf er. A second school 
was built at Spring Brook in 1894, with 
Miss Maud Ferguson as teacher (she is now 
Mrs. Pratt) . The only other remaining resi- 
dent who was in the county when Mr. Pratt 
came is A. J. Trepania, township trustee 
and railroad ticket agent. Mr. Trepania was 
the first resident of Spring Brook, which was 
settled in 1880, the postoffice being at first 
known as Nemakagon, but later named for 
the stream on which the village is situated. 
Thomas A. Pratt was born Sept. 3, 1858, 
in Barrie, Ont., son of Jesse and Mary Ann 
(Caldor) Pratt, natives, respectively, of 
England and Ontario. Mr. Pratt was 
brought up on a farm, and educated in the 
public schools, remaining in Canada until 
he was twenty-three years old. On coming 
to the States, he went first to Iowa, and 
after a short time came to the wilds of Wash- 
burn county, where the first winter he 
worked in the woods for Elm Greeley, a 
lumberman. The following year, 1883, he 
put up a small log house at Stewart Station, 
now called Stinnett, six miles east of Spring 
Brook, where for four years he kept hotel. 
This primitive hotel proved a success, and 
in connection with the profits of a big potato 
field gave him his first start in life. In 1886 
he closed this hotel and opened one at Super- 
ior Junction in connection with which 
he carried on a general store, man- 
aging both store and hotel for eight 
years, the last four of which he was 
also postmaster. In 1893 he sold out at 
Superior Junction, and later coming to 
Spring Brook established himself as a gen- 
eral merchant, still conducting business as 
such. He carries a large line of agricul- 
tural implements in addition to the ordinary 
stock of a country store, and also buys and 
ships produce. Mr. Pratt has filled several 
public offices in Veazie township, serving 
two terms as assessor, and one term as jus- 
tice of the peace. He is a Democrat and 
ated. 



takes an acti\-e interest in politics, having 
an influential voice in local affairs. Fra- 
ternally he is a charter member and past 
master of the Mystic Workers of the World, 
an order established in 1900. 

In 1882 Mr. Pratt married (first) Mar- 
garet Robinson, who died in 1894, leaving 
two daughters, Maude E. and Gertrude, 
lie married in 1901 Maud Ferguson, daugh- 
ter of William S. Ferguson, of Veazie town- 
ship. Mrs. Pratt was educated at St. Mary's 
Institute, Prairie du Chien, Wis., and was 
the first teacher in the township, teaching 
eight years in all, and walking three miles 
each way to one of her schools. For four 
years she has been postmistress at Spring 
Brook, Wisconsin. 

WIXFIELD EASTMAN TRIPP, for 
four years municipal judge of Bayfield coun- 
ty, was one of the pifmeer settlers of Iron 
River, and from the time of his arrival, in 
llie fall of 1890, was an important factor in 
the educational and political development of 
the region. 

Judge Tripp was born in Lyman, York 
Co., Maine, Oct. 14, 185 1, son of Eastman H. 
and Adah M. (Lord) Tripp. The parents 
were both natives of the same State, descend- 
ants of Colonial families, the former of Eng- 
lish, and the latter of Scotch-Irish stock. 
The father was well educated, and was pre- 
pared in Alfred Academy for the profession 
of teaching, which he followed for forty- 
eight terms. For a number of years he was 
engaged in farming. He took a prominent 
part in local affairs, was a selectman, a mem- 
ber of the Legislature for 1868 and 1869, 
and was superintendent of the school com- 
mittee for many years. His political views 
were those of the Democratic party. He 
was in religious matters a Baptist, as was 
also his wife, and for forty years he was a 
deacon in the church. Mr. Tripp died 
March 5. 1895, shortly before his eighty- 
eighth birthday. He had lost his wife four- 
teen years before. May 14, 1881, at the age 
of sixty-seven. Their five children were 
Alonzo K., Ferdinand E., Bessie A., Adah 
M. and Winfield E. 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



lo: 



Winfield E. Tripp was reared on his farm 
and given a good education. His earlier 
studies were pursued in the pubhc schools, 
and in 1871 he entered the academy for a 
year before going to the New Hampton 
Biblical Institute, from which institution he 
was graduated in 1874. Still unsatisfied, 
he next matriculated at the University of 
Maine in the civil engineering department 
and received his degree in 1878. During the 
years of his collegiate course Mr. Tripp 
had paid his own way by teaching, working 
on farms, or anything else that he found to 
do, and when he graduated his only capital 
that he had to start with in life was $25. 
The overwork of this collegiate period re- 
sulted in a complete ph3'sical breakdown, 
and for two years Mr. Tripp was obliged to 
rest. On recovering he began to teach in 
the public schools, and was thus occupied 
for two years, also acting as superintending 
school committee. He spent a third year 
in a graded school at Marilla, Erie Co., 
N. Y., and then in 1883 abandoned the pro- 
fession of teaching, accepting a position as 
traveling salesman for the Willimantic Linen 
Company of New York. His territory cov- 
ered Wisconsin, northern Michigan, and 
that part of Illinois north of the Rock Isl- 
and railroad, and he was thus occupied five 
years. In September, 1888, Mr. Tripp en- 
tered the Law Department of the University 
of Wisconsin, and in one year completed 
the course intended to take two 3'ears. He 
passed his examinations and received from 
the institution the degree of Bachelor of 
Law, and was admitted to practice in all 
courts save the Supreme court of the United 
States. 

The next year Mr. Tripp went to West 
Superior and took a position as draughts- 
man in the city engineering department, but 
he remained there only until the following 
August, and then after a short visit in Maine 
he settled on a homestead claim in Ba}^eld 
county, the southeast quarter of Section 21, 
township 48. N. Range. 8 West. The early 
settlers in that region, numbering over a 
hundred, and including Mn Tripp, were in- 
volved in tedious and intricate litigation by 



men who endeavored to dispossess them be- 
cause of the valuable timber lands, and all 
the legal work necessitated by this was 
done under Mr. Tripp's direction. 

During 1891-92 Mr. Tripp resumed 
teaching, at first in the Pratt school. The 
second year he was elected principal of the 
Iron River school. The building was a 
temporary structure, and extremely primi- 
tive, and Mr. Tripp was the first principal 
and organizer of the work. The plans and 
methods introduced by him have been largely 
followed ever since. With four teachers the 
first year, two new buildings of six rooms 
enabled him to increase the corps to six the 
second year and those following. 

A Democrat in politics, Mr. Tripp was 
appointed postmaster of Iron River by Presi- 
dent Cleveland in November, 1893, and he 
held that position until Feb. i, 1898. The 
next two years he was actively engaged in 
civil engineering, surveying lands, laying out 
railroads for logging purposes, etc., prin- 
cipally in Baj-field county. The sewer sys- 
tem of Iron River was surveyed and laid 
out about this time by Mr. Tripp from his 
own plans and specifications. In 1Q03 th^ 
Kalama River Lumber Company, an Ore- 
gon corporation, w'as formed, and Judge 
Tripp was elected its secretary and treasurer 
and still holds this important position, he 
having large interests in the concern, which 
owns more than a hundred million feet of 
the best timber in Washington. Judge Tripp 
has closed up his business in Wisconsin and 
immediately goes to Portland, Oregon, to 
reside and look after the interests of his com- 
pany. 

In 1900 our subject was nominated for 
municipal judge of the county on a non- 
partisan ticket, and was elected over both 
opponents by 1.050 votes out of 2,200 cast. 
He assumed the position in May for a four 
years' term. In 1904 Judge Tripp ran for 
re-election to his office against a Democrat 
and Republican candidate, and was naturally 
beaten by the Republican, as the county is 
very largely Republican. 

In July, 1904 he was chosen alternate 
delegate to the National Democratic Conven- 



io6 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



tion at St. Louis ami sat during that famous 
all-niglit session. A few months after he 
was nominated by the Democrats as their 
candidate for the 23d Assembl}^ District, 
comprising Bayfield, Sawyer and Washburn 
counties, and was defeated by his Republi- 
can opponent, although he ran 1,419 votes 
ahead of his ticket. He was the only Demo- 
crat who carried his home town. Iron River. 
Since 189J Judge Tripp has been a delegate 
to nearlj' all the State and county conven- 
tions, in the latter body being always either 
chairman or secretary. He was the Demo- 
cratic candidate for county superintendent of 
schools, but was defeated, as he was for dis- 
trict attorney in 1898, Bayneld county being 
always largely Republican. 

Judge Tripp's marriage occurred Feb. 
22, 1882, when he was united to Miss Lizzie_ 
May Dame, daughter of Timothy and Eliza- 
beth F. Dame, of Eliot, York Co., Maine. 
Mr. Dame was a native of New Hampshire, 
and rose to a position of influence, being a 
member of the Legislature, and always 
prominent in Republican political councils. 
By profession he was a civil engineer, and he 
was for twenty-eight years connected with 
the engineering navy yard at Kittery, as con- 
structor's chief clerk. He died March 9, 
1891, aged fifty-seven years. 

CHARLES PATRICK MAGINNIS, 
a well-known citizen of Duluth, senior mem- 
ber of the firm of C. P. Maginnis & Son, 
belongs to a family whose members have 
been noted for patriotism in every genera- 
tion. The family is of Irish origin, and Mr. 
Maginnis was born in December, 1849, '" 
Wayne county, N. Y., son of Patrick and 
Winifred (Devine) Maginnis. 

Patrick Maginnis, father of Charles Pat- 
rick, was a native of County Clare, Ireland, 
and spent several years in England prior to 
coming to America, in 1830. After settling 
in the United States he took up railroad 
contracting, and in that connection built the 
portion of the Illinois Central road between 
LaSalle and Bloomington. In 1856 he came 
to Minnesota, becoming a pioneer settler in 
Goodhue county, on the Dubuque & St. Paul 



stage line, which was then the only highway 
in the region besides the rivers. There he 
passed the remainder of his days, engaged in 
farming until his death, in 1878, when he 
was sixty-eight years old. Mr. Maginnis 
married Winifred Devine, also a native of 
County Clare, Ireland, whom he brought 
with him to America in 1830, and she sur- 
vived until 1890, attaining the age of seven- 
ty-eight. Her father, Andrew Devine, was 
a sailor in the British navy, and reached the 
age of 104 years. He had two sons in the 
British army, one of whom, Andrew, was 
afterward in the Civil War of 1861-65 '^'^ 
the United States, as a member of the 3d 
United States Regiment, and later in a New 
York regiment of volunteers. Mr. and Mrs. 
Maginnis were faithful members of the 
Catholic Church. Their family consisted of 
three sons, Martin, John (a farmer, of Du- 
luth) and Charles Patrick. Martin Magin- 
nis enlisted at the beginning of the Civil War 
in Company F, ist Minn. V. I., became or- 
derly sergeant, and served four years with 
that regiment. In time he became lieuten- 
ant of Company F, and later captain of Com- 
panies H and K, and led Company H in the 
famous charge at Gettysburg; of over for- 
ty men of his company who entered this 
charge but six survived. Capt. Maginnis 
escaped without injury. He was further pro- 
moted, to quartermaster, and later became 
major of the nth Minn. V. I. After the 
war he settled at Helena, Mont., where he 
has been largely interested in mining, and 
for some years he published the Rocky 
Mountain Gazette. As might be expected of 
one of his energetic and capable disposition, 
he has become very prominent in public af- 
fairs, has represented Montana in Congress 
seven times, and has also been United States 
senator. 

Charles Patrick Maginnis, the youngest 
child of his parents, spent his boyhood in 
Goodhue county, Minn., and received such 
instruction as the public schools offered. 
After reaching his majority he kept a store 
there, and in 1878 he went to Stevens coun- 
ty, this State, where he commenced farm- 
ing on a tract of 1,000 acres, which he cul- 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



107 



tivated for about ten years. During that 
time he became quite prominent in local af- 
fairs, was mayor of Morris, Stevens county, 
and served four years as sheriff of the coun- 
ty, to which office he was elected in 1880. 
In addition to his agricultural interests he 
had charge of the Farmers' Elevator at 
Morris. In 1887 Mr. Maginnis was ap- 
pointed, by President Cleveland, receiver of 
the United States Land Office at Duluth, 
and served three years in that incumbency. 
He has since been engaged in the practice of 
law and in dealing in pine and pine lands, in 
northern Minnesota, and he is also inter- 
ested to some extent in iron lands. He and 
his son, Charles H., are now doing business 
in partnership, and the firm has good stand- 
ing in financial circles. 

On Dec. 31, 1869, Mr. Maginnis was 
married to Miss Bridget Gaffney, who was 
born in W^aupun, Wis., and is a daughter 
of Thomas and Mary Gaffnev, now de- 
ceased. Of the children born to Mr. and 
Mrs. Maginnis eight still survive, namely : 
( I ) Charles H., married Miss Margaret 
Hughes, of Washington, D. C, and has two 
daughters. (2) Agnes G., is the wife of 
Wilham A. Bennett, of Duluth. (3) 
Thomas Frank, graduated from West Point 
in 1898, served through the Porto Rican 
campaign as lieutenant in charge of light ar- 
tillery, was recommended for promotion by 
Gen. Swain, and was made first lieutenant. 
He organized the First Porto Rican Battal- 
ion, and was captain of Company A, re- 
signed that command, and was transferred 
to the Philippine service in February, 1902, 
being now a captain in the 27th United 
States Infantry. He was married in Porto 
Rico to Joc|uena Badrena, and they have 
three children. (4) John, served in the 14th 
Minnesota Volunteers during the Spanish- 
American War. and has also been in Indian 
campaigns. He was appointed sergeant. 
He married Grayce O'Heron, of Duluth. 
(5) Helen, is a graduate of the Duluth high 
school. (6) Martin Cyril, is a student at 
Notre Dame University, South Bend, Ind. 
(7) Joseph P., is attending the Duluth high 
school. (8) Winifred, is the youngest. In 



religion this family are Catholics, belong- 
ing to the Cathedral Parish of Duluth. So- 
cially Mr. Maginnis holds membership in the 
Knights of Columbus and the Ancient Order 
of Hibernians. 

CYRUS S. TRIPP, of Shell Lake, is 
the second oldest settler of Washburn coun- 
ty, the only one antedating him being L. E. 
Thomas, who still lives in the locality. Mr. 
Tripp made his homestead claim in 1878, al- 
though he came to the Bashaw Valley as 
early as 1875. At that time, as he recalls it, 
there was but one white woman in what is 
now Washburn county — Mrs. Rebecca Mul- 
lin, since deceased. Mr. Tripp began work 
as a logger, and in 1878 homesteaded eighty 
acres in Burnett county, on the Washburn 
county line. He lived on this claim for five 
years, then disposed of it and pre-empted 
the forty acres on which he now lives, and 
which is well improved and all under ex- 
cellent cultivation. Mr. Tripp has been an 
active and progressive farmer, and has 
proved the productiveness of the soil of the 
Bashaw Valley. 

Mr. Tripp was born in the town of Han- 
over, Jackson Co., Mich., Feb. 10, 1847. 
Fle was brought up on a farm and received 
a common school education. His parents 
were Job and Eliza (Sargeant) Tripp, the 
former a native of New York State, the lat- 
ter of Vermont. Grandfather Abial Tripp 
was a pioneer of Hanover, Mich., where he 
built one of the first houses — a building 30 
X 40 feet in dimensions. This house was 
used for the preaching services in the com- 
munity for some years, there being no church 
or other public building. 

On April 6, 1884, Mr. Tripp married 
Catherine McCallum, and they have three 
sons, viz. : George E., Malin W. and Fred- 
erick. Mrs. Tripp was born in Hamilton, 
Out., and her parents, Peter and Margaret 
McCallum, were natives of Glasgow, Scot- 
land. In 1863, while living in Michigan, 
Mr. Tripp wished to enlist, but was rejected 
as under size. In February, 1865, however, 
he was enrolled in Company C, 9th Michigan 
Volunteer Infantry. He was transferred to 



io8 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



the front, to the Army of the Cumberland, 
where he served until discharged, in the sum- 
mer of 1865, in Detroit. Mr. Tripp is a 
member of Nat. Greene Post, No. 243, G. 
A. R., at Shell Lake. He is a Republican 
and is more or less interested in local politics. 

AUGUSTUS SUMNER RUSSELL, 
an influential citizen of Medford, Taylor 
county, and an expert timber estimator, was 
born in Franklin county, Maine, Feb. 5, 
1838, the son of Sumner and Abigail 
(Coombs) Russell. 

The Russell family comes of English 
stock, and has been represented in this coun- 
try since colonial days, when three brothers 
came to the LTnited States, one of whom set- 
tled in Maine and became the progenitor of 
Augustus S. His descendants included a 
number of military men. The paternal 
grandfather of our subject was a farmer in 
Maine and lived to a good old age. 

Sumner Russell was always engaged in 
the lumber business in Maine, and built and 
operated two saw-mills in the town of Avon. 
He was a Democrat of prominence in the 
State, and served two terms in the Legisla- 
ture. In religious belief he was a Methodist. 
Mr. Russell was thrice married, first to a 
Miss Pierce, by whom he had three chil- 
dren. Of these only one survives, Herman, 
of Fullerton, Cal. By his second wife, 
Abigail Coombs, he had ten children, of 
whom the following are living: Augustus 
S. ; Franklin P., of Fond du Lac; Ursula, 
Mrs. Walten, of the same city ; Leroy, of 
Los Angeles, Cal. ; Ella, Mrs. Wellman, of 
Augusta, Maine ; Louisa, Mrs. Smith, of 
Sumnerville, Mass. Mrs. Abigail Russell 
died at the age of forty-five. She was the 
daughter of Capt. Joseph Coombs, com- 
mander of a vessel engaged in trade with 
the West Indies and other ports. For his 
third wife Mr. Russell married Mrs. Mary 
Gilman, by whom he had two children. 

Augustus S. Russell remained at home 
until he reached his majority, then went 
West and was located for six years in Green 
Lake county, Wis. Thence he went to Osh- 
kosh and became interested in lumbering. 



which in one form or another has absorbed 
most of his attention ever since. He has 
done considerable cruising, has estimated 
timl;er and engaged in logging. Three years 
were spent in Portage county, and then Mr. 
Russell went in the fall of 1876 to Westboro, 
Taylor county. There he was elected as- 
sessor and fulfilled the duties of that office 
summers, while in winter he scaled logs. 

After three years thus occupied Mr. 
Russell was in the fall of 1879 elected county 
siu'veyor, and held the office five years. He 
has ever since done more or less in that line, 
when it did not interfere with his work as 
cruiser and estimator. In the latter capaci- 
ties he has spent two seasons in Missouri, 
one in Arkansas, one season in Louisiana, 
and one in Texas. His home since 1880 
has been in Medford, where he resides in a 
commodious modern house. 

Mr. Russell was married July 4, 1859, 
to Nancy T. Davis, daughter of Steven and 
Sally Davis, of Franklin county, Maine. 
Their only child is a son. Lyman D., who 
is employed in the First National Bank of 
Medford as assistant cashier. 

In his political views Mr. Russell is 
wholly independent, looking at each question 
from the standpoint of the public welfare. 
While in Westboro he served as justice of 
the peace, but has not aspired for political 
honors. His religious belief is that of the 
Methodist Episcopal Church, of which he is 
a trustee, and Mr. Russell has been active 
in the regular church work and in general 
temperance work, which he regards as one 
of the vital questions of the day. Fraternally 
he has been a member of the F. & A. M., 
since 1868, and is a charter member of the 
local lodge of the I. O. O. F. He is a man 
of the utmost integrity, and of a most estim- 
able character, and is highly esteemed by all 
who have been brought into any relation 
with him. 

REV. OTTO J. WILKE. for several 
years pastor of the German Evangelical 
Lutheran Zion's Church at Superior, was 
installed over that church June 16, 1897. 

The church was organized Feb. 10, 1890, 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



109 



by Rev. O. W. Fischer, who was at that 
time pastor of the church at Duhith, Minn. 
A resident minister was soon found in the 
person of Rev. George FritscheL He re- 
mained in Superior two years, and then was 
successively in Brenhani, Texas, as pro- 
fessor in an academy for some years ; at 
Galveston, Texas, in charge of a church ; 
and in Loganville, Wis., his present pastor- 
ate. For the next five years Rev. Herman 
L. Fritschei, his brother, was in charge of 
the church, and he was succeeded by Rev. 
Mr. Wilke, who was foHowed in April, 
1904, by Rev. L. A. Westenberger, of Rock- 
ford, Iowa. 

Otto J. Wilke was born in Charles City, 
Iowa, in 1874, son of Rev. Charles and 
Adelaide Wilke. The mother died in 1901. 
The father was long pastor of a church in 
Madison, Wis., retiring in March, 1905, and 
his son has been chosen to succeed him. He 
is a native of Germany. Otto J. Wilke was 
only a year old when his parents removed to 
Madison. He attended the public and 
parochial schools there, and then attended 
Wartburg College, at Waverly, Iowa, from 
which he was graduated in 1892. He went 
thence to Wartburg Seminary, in Dubuque, 
Iowa, graduating from there in 1895, and 
then spent one year at the English Lutheran 
Seminary in Chicago. This thorough theo- 
logical training was supplemented by one 
more year of general work at the University 
of Wisconsin, at Madison. The Superior 
church was Mr. Wilke's first charge. When 
he went there there was an indebtedness of 
$1,800, which has been nearly removed. The 
church has 120 communicants, a Sunday- 
school of seventy-five children, a Ladies' Aid 
Society of thirty members, and a Young Peo- 
ple's Society of twenty members. All these 
departments are actively at work and are in 
a most satisfactory and flourishing- condi- 
tion. From Superior Mr. Wilke has been 
called to Madison, Wis., where he was 
assistant to his father for nearly one year. 
Since March, 1903, the father has retired, 
and our subject has been elected as his suc- 
cessor. 

Rev. Otto J. Wilke was married in May, 
1902, to Miss Clara M. Beck, of Madison. 



FIENRY W. CHEADLE, the present 
city clerk of Duluth, is one of the most popu- 
lar public officials of that city. He has 
made his home there since the year he at- 
tained his majority, and has been connected 
with the city administration for several years 
past. 

Mr. Cheadle was born Feb. 19, 1865, 
in Tupper's Plains, Meigs Co., Ohio, son of 
Rev. Flenry C. and Emily (Keyes) Cheadle, 
the former of whom was a native of Rock- 
ville, Ind. Rev. Mr. Cheadle rounded out his 
literary training with a course at Wabash 
College, Crawfordsville, Ind., and in Lane 
Seminary, at Cincinnati, Ohio, and entered 
the ministry of the Presbyterian Church in 
1858. In 1872 he moved to Blue Earth, 
Minn., where he is still living, at the age of 
seventy-five years, retired from active labor. 
He married Emily Keyes, a native of Mar- 
ietta, Ohio, who died at Blue Earth in 1899, 
aged sixty-three years. Both were descend- 
ants of early New England settlers, Mr. 
Cheadle's ancestors having come to these 
shores from England in 1650 and settled in 
Massachusetts ; later memliers of the family 
moved to Vermont. Mrs. Cheadle was a de- 
cendant of John Alden, of Plymouth. 

Henry \V. Cheadle received his early 
education in the public schools of Blue Earth, 
Alinn., and later became a student at Carle- 
ton College, Northfield, Minn., where he 
took up the work of the scientific course. 
He left college at the close of the Sophomore 
year, and subsequently taught several terms 
before his removal to Duluth, in 1886. Here 
he became associated with a real-estate firm, 
with which he remained six years, two years 
of this time being engaged in exploring on 
the Vermillion Range. In 1892 he began ex- 
ploring on the Mesaba Range, about the 
present site of Virginia, which was then a 
wilderness. In 1893 he became receiver's 
clerk in the United States Land Office, and 
the following year he entered the office of 
the city clerk, with which he has since been 
connected. He was assistant clerk until 1898, 
in which year he became clerk, and he has 
been reelected each year since, although he 
is a Democrat, and the city has a good Re- 
publican majority. Such a record implies 



no 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



not only ability and thorough official integ- 
rity, but a faculty of pleasing which neces- 
sitates the possession of other fine qualities, 
which Mr. Cheadle has in an eminent degree. 
His long experience in this particular line 
gives him especially good insight into the 
requirements of the office, and his interest 
prompts him to do all within his power to 
keep the affairs of his department running 
smoothly and in the most business-like man- 
ner possible. Socially he is well known in 
the city being a thirty-second degree Mason, 
member of Duluth Consistory; and high 
chief ranger of the Jurisdiction of Northern 
Minnesota of the Independent Order of 
Foresters. 

In 1 89 1 Mr. Cheadle married Miss Mar- 
garet Holiday, daughter of James and Made- 
line Holiday, of L'Anse, Alich., and three 
children have come to this union: Emily 
Madeline, now (1904) aged twelve; Flor- 
ence A., aged seven ; and Margaret E., who 
is eighteen months old. 

ROBERT CORBETT, the original set- 
tler of Ladysmith, Rusk Co., Wis., and one 
of the responsible and enterprising residents 
of that flourishing communit}^, was born in 
1841 in Clinton county, N. Y., where he was 
reared, and where he was given a good edu- 
cation in the public schools. 

In 1 861 Mr. Corbett, desiring to benefit 
by the opportunities offered in the then new 
State of Wisconsin, went west, arriving at 
Eau Galle in the spring of that year. Just 
at this time, however, a new interest arose, 
and for the time blotted out all memory 
of personal interest. In the fall of that same 
year he enlisted at Eau Claire in Company 
G, 1 6th Wis. V. I., and served for three 
years and ten months in the Western Army, 
under Gen. Sherman. His term of service 
expiring, he re-enlisted, in the same com- 
pany, and continued to serve until the close 
of the war, participating in many historic 
engagements. During all this time he es- 
caped being wounded, and was never a day 
off duty on account of sickness, or for any 
excuse whatever, a remarkable record indeed. 
During the last two years of his service he 



carried the colors of his regiment, having 
the rank of sergeant. 

Returning home, Mr. Corbett settled at 
Cedar Falls, but after several years he went 
to Wilson and operated a sawmill for Wilson, 
Van Vliet & Co., for a period of three years. 
Later he operated mills at Clayton, Comstock 
and Shell Lake, building the mills at the 
two places last mentioned. In 1886 Mr. 
Corbett came to Ladysmith (then Warner), 
the "Soo" railroad having been completed 
to the place the previous year, opening up 
the entire district. His first work was to 
erect a mill, his foresight enabling him to 
recognize the fact that this was soon to be- 
come a populous community. Shortly there- 
after the mill was burned, but Mr. Corbett 
immediately rebuilt it upon larger propor- 
tions, and he still continued to operate it. 
When he located here no improvements had 
been made. The "Prentice House" was 
then in process of construction, but not com- 
pleted. The "Soo" railroad had just begun 
operating mixed trains between Turtle Lake 
and Deer Tail, now Tony. On the north 
were two or three families, and there was 
one other family a few miles to the south. 

So rapid is the growth of these towns, 
however, that in 1887 the post office was 
established, and it was named Corbett, in 
honor of Mr. Corbett, the first postmaster. 
Later the name was changed to Warner, and 
still later the present name of Ladysmith 
was bestowed upon the place. When Gates 
(now Rusk) county was created out of 
Chippewa, in 1900, Ladysmith had ^00 inhab- 
itants. At that time a new impetus was given 
to affairs, and then occurred what is known, 
for want of a better word, as a "boom." 
Hundreds were attracted to the place, and, 
what is still l)etter, remained and invested 
their capital, until Ladysmith now boasts 
2,000 people, and still has a healthy and 
steady growth. The first school was estab- 
lished about the time the place was granted 
a post office, in 1887, and for some time a 
room in what was then the "Corbett Hotel" 
(now the "Prentice Hotel") was used as i 
school, I\Iiss Mary Grandmaitre being the 
first teacher. 



COM-AIEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



III 



As there were no church edifices in those 
early days the first rehgious services were 
held in a room of the hotel, the generous and 
public-spirited Mr. Corbett cheerfully ex- 
tending his hospitality to church and school 
alike. Later, when a schoolhouse was built, 
religious services were held therein until the 
several denominations had places of their 
own in which to worship. 

When Mr. Corbett first located in Lady- 
smith he invested in some lOO acres of land, 
which later adjoined the original site of the 
town. He cleared the land of timber, and 
converted it into a fertile farm. When the 
town began to show such remarkable growth 
he saw his foresight justified, for a portion 
of his land was purchased by the Menasha 
Wooden Ware Company at a good figure and 
platted. The remainder, known as the Cor- 
bett Addition, Mr. Corbett himself platted. 
The original town was platted by Simond 
& Bennett, and it and its additions are well 
laid out, and form a town well calculated 
to support flourishing business concerns, and 
to furnish delightful homes adjacent to one 
of the richest farming regions in the State. 

The "Corbett Hotel," so well known for 
many years to the traveler in these regions, 
was conducted by Mr. Corbett, who regarded 
as personal guests all who stopped with him. 
After fifteen years, however, he sold the 
hotel, which now bears another name. When 
he retired from the hotel business he erected 
his modern residence, which is surrounded 
by spacious grounds, and well adapted to the 
convenience and comfort of himself and fam- 
ily. In every enterprise calculated to pro- 
mote the well-being and advancement of 
Ladysmith Mr. Corbett has done his full 
part, for he has gi\-en of his time and money 
generously and cheerfully, and his name is 
an honored one in Gates county, and wher- 
ever else it is known. 

Mr. Corbett was married, in 1868, to 
Miss Louisa Hunter, and they have four liv- 
ing children, as follows: William H., who is 
associated with his father in business and 
train dispatcher for the "Soo" railroad, lives 
in Sault Ste. Marie, Mich. ; John A., asso- 
ciated in business with his father, is also 



president of the village of Ladysmith ; 
Lester L. is a graduate of Chippewa Falls 
high school ; Ella is at home. Mr. Corbett 
is a member of Mystic Tie Lodge, I. O. 
O. ¥. He has always been a RepuljJican in 
politics. 

ALBERT WTELAND, in his lifetime 
one of the well-known pioneers of the Head 
of the Lakes and a man worthy of all re- 
spect, was born in Germany March 19, 1828, 
and he passed away at Duluth, May 22, 189.8. 
His parents both died in Germany, where for 
many years the father Christian W., was a 
successful tanner, and prominent in German 
politics. 

Albert Wieland received his education 
in Germany, and there learned the trade of a 
l)aker. On coming to the United States, he 
was, for a few years, a resident of Parisville, 
Ohio, whence he went to Lake Superior, lo- 
cating about 1856 with his four brothers, 
Henry, August, Ernest and Christian, at 
Beaver . Bay, where they purchased a tract 
of timber in partnership and erected a saw- 
mill. 

Seven years later Mr. W^ieland returned 
to Ohio, married and brought his bride to 
Beaver Bay. There they lived imtil 1883, 
when he sold the mill and located at Duluth. 
While he and his brothers were at Beaven 
Bay Mr. Wieland took command of a boat 
owned by the firm, and transported logs and 
lumljer. At first they had a sailing vessel, 
but later they bought a steamer. For a year 
after locating at Duluth, he operated a retail 
lumber yard. In 1886 he opened a shoe 
store, which he conducted the remainder of 
his life. The business is still carried on by 
his heirs under the style of The Wieland 
Shoe Company. In addition to his place of 
business, Mr. Wieland erected his residence, 
as well as several other buildings. In politics 
he was always a Republican, and took con- 
siderable interest in public affairs. He was 
connected with the Tenth Avenue German 
Evangelical Church, which he helped to 
build, and in which his family was reared. 

Mr. Wieland was one of the first explor- 
ers of the \'ermilIion Range, and the first 



112 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



man to discover iron ore there, about 1864. 
His discoveries led many others into those 
regions, although he himself never received 
material benefit from his efforts. In another 
way he also labored to improve the condition 
of Beaver Bay, in that he was mail carrier 
from Superior by boat in summer, and over- 
land in winter. 

In March, 1863, at Parisville, Ohio, Mr. 
Wieland was married to Anna Magdalena 
Schneider, who was born at Tuttlingen, 
Wurtemberg, Germany, and came to the 
United. States in i860. Her parents, John 
and Annie Mary Schneider, died in Ger- 
many; the father was a prosperous black- 
. smith. Seven children were born to Mr. and 
Mrs. Wieland: William died in 1883, aged 
thirteen years; Paulina died in 1901, aged 
twenty-eight years; Anna married J. F. 
Schleunes, of Duluth ; Gustav is manager of 
the Wieland Shoe Company ; Regina is Mrs. 
Jacob Oeder, of Portland, Ore. ; Albert H. 
is employed by the Wieland Shoe Company; 
Katherine is at home. All are high school 
or college graduates. 

Mr. Wieland was numbered among the 
very early pioneers of Beaver Bay. Set- 
tling there at a time when nearly all of his 
neighbors were Indians, he soon established 
friendly relations with them, and learned 
their language. Always treating them hon- 
estly and showing them that he was 
their friend, he won their confidence and did 
a big business trading with them. To him 
the prosperity of Beaver Bay is largely due, 
and his name is held in high esteem. 

MARTIN PATTISOX. a resident of 
Superior, is one of the most successful and 
influential men at the Head of the Lakes. 
He was born Jan. 17, 1841, in Niagara 
County, Canada, a son of Simeon Thayer 
and Emmarilla Pattison. 

Simeon Thayer was born in New York. 
His ancestors came to America about 1630, 
and settled near Braintree, Mass., and mem- 
bers of the family took part in the Revolu- 
tionary war and in other historical aft'airs. 
Among them were Gen. Simeon Thayer, 
famous for his gallant defense of Fort Mif- 



flin. Simeon Thayer passed the latter part 
of his life on a farm in Alichigan, where he 
died in 1862, aged fifty years. He was a 
respected and influential citizen of his lo- 
cality. Mrs. Emmarilla Pattison was a de- 
scendant of the same family as Benjamin 
Franklin. She died in Michigan in 1898 at 
the age of seventy-nine. Her parents each 
attained the age of ninety years. 

[Martin Pattison attended district school 
in his native Michigan home, and when he 
was twenty-one years old engaged in lum- 
bering in the Michigan woods. In 1872 the 
business took him to the region near Mar- 
cjuette, where he also prospected for iron. 
Coming to Superior in the autumn of 1879, 
Mr. Pattison carried on an extensive lum- 
bering business, getting out square timber 
for the English market ; it was sent by 
steamer via Quebec. In 1882 j\Ir. Pattison 
sold out his pine lands and abandoned the 
lumbering interests, turning his attention to 
prospecting for iron on Vermillion Range, 
in Minnesota. He located the "Pioneer" 
and the "Chandler" mines, in 1883, now 
operated imder lease by a mining company. 
Mr. Pattison is also interested in several 
thousand acres of mineral lands in Minne- 
sota and Canada, Arizona and Wyoming, 
much of which is still undeveloped. In his 
explorations in Minnesota and Canada Mr. 
Pattison has done a great deal of hunting, 
and he has a rare collection of stuffed ani- 
mals and birds, and many curiosities. His 
life has also made him familiar with the 
habits and language of the Chippewas and 
other tribes. In the summer of 1901 !Mr. 
Pattison and a party of friends made a ca- 
noe trip of over 600 miles, spending thirty 
days or more in the wilderness north of 
Lake Superior. 

Much of Mr. Pattison's income is spent 
in city improvements ; his present residence, 
built in 1890, is the finest in the city, and 
he has contributed largely to all public en- 
terprises. He has always been a Republi- 
can. He served three terms as mayor, in 
1890-91 and 1896, being the second incum- 
bent in that ofifice. Most of the city improve- 
ments were made during his second and 




tP-^l-X 



PUBLIC LIBRARY 

ASTOR, LENOX 
TILDEN fOUNDATIONS 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



113 



third terms. In 1884 and 1885 Mr. Patti- 
son occupied the position of county sheritT. 
In 1871-72 he was a member of tlie Michi- 
gan Legislature, and he has since been a 
member of the executive committee of the 
Wisconsin State Central Committee, and a 
delegate to many State conventions. 

Mr. Pattison was married in 1S79 to 
Gcrace E. Frink, a daughter of Reuben and 
Margaret Frink, born in Canada. Of the 
children of this marriage six are living: 
Martha Grace is the wife of Eugene P. 
Frazier, a native of Georgia, who spent 
some years in Washington, D. C, but now 
lives in Duluth; he is a graduate of the 
Georgia University and of Atlanta Medical 
College. Byron M., a graduate of the 
Michigan School of Mines at Houghton, re- 
sides in Bisbee, Ariz., and is Superintendent 
of the Shattuck-Arizona and Denni-Arizona 
Copper Mining Companies; he married Miss 
Grace Bampfield. Ethel M. is now Mrs. H. 
W'. Fisher of Duluth. Alice Irene, Myrna 
E. and Lois M. complete the family. No 
pains have been spared in their education. 

Mr. Pattison is a thirty-second degree 
Mason, a member of all the local jNIasonic 
organizations and of the Wisconsin Con- 
sistory, and of Tripoli Temple, of the Mys- 
tic Shrine, Milwaukee; he also belongs to 
the I. O. O. F., Uniform Rank K. of P.; 
and B. P. O. E. The family is connected 
with the First Church of Christ, Scientist. 

GEORGE LEMONT BROOKS, who 
for the greater part of his life has been a 
resident of Superior, came there in pioneer 
days. He is descended from pioneer ances- 
try, the original progenitors of the Brooks 
family in America being three brothers, who 
came from England in Colonial times. 

Lemuel Brooks, the grandfather of 
George L., served in an American regiment 
in the Revolutionary war. Among the 
earlier recollections of our subject are the 
intensely interesting stories of his grand- 
father's experiences in war times, especially 
of himself and a comrade who were cap- 
tured by the Indians and taken to Canada 
through the deep snows in midwinter, of 



their hardships and final return to civiliza- 
tion a year later, and of his various war ex- 
periences. He had a fund of stories which 
were a delight to his many grandchildren, 
of whom our subject was the youngest. 
Some interesting war and Colonial relics 
have been preserved in the family. Lemuel 
Brooks lived to the age of ninety-eight 
years, dying about 1854. 

Bela Brooks, son of Lemuel and father 
of George L., was born in 1799 at North 
Haven, Conn. He, with his father and fam- 
ily of ten children, moved, about 1814, to 
Otsego County, N. Y., where they resided 
many years. The Brooks brothers were all 
prosperous farmers near wdiat is now the 
village of Morris, originally known as the 
]\Iorris Patent, and which was the home of 
the descendants of Gov. Robert iMorris' 
family. Soon after their arrival the Brooks 
family became actively interested in the 
building of the first stone church, Zion Epis- 
copal of Morris, which was dedicated in 
1818. This strong parish has been said to 
have furnished more than its share of bish- 
ops and clergy up to date. Bela Brooks was 
a captain in the New York State Mounted 
Militia for some years. In 1857 he visited 
Superior, Wis., and became so convinced 
of the prosperity in store for the city that 
he made quite extensive investments in real 
estate, and five years later returned to take 
up his residence there. He passed the last 
eleven years of his life in his new home in 
the West as a most exemplary citizen and 
prominent member of the Episcopal Church. 

His first wife was Miss Annis Botsford, 
a native of New York, whose parents were 
descendants of an old Colonial family of 
Connecticut. Of their five children, the 
eldest, (i) Eliza A., married Hezekiah W. 
Shaw, and they came to Superior in 1856, 
becoming identified with much of the early 
history of the Head of the Lakes, Mr. Shaw 
in business and official life, and Rlrs. Shaw 
in church and charitable work. (2) Emily 
A. married John Watkins, and they moved 
to Bridgeport. Conn. (3) William R. 
came to Superior in 1862 and died in Du- 
luth in 1899. (4) Bela A. remained in Mor- 



114 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



ris, N. Y., engaged in commercial pursuits, 
and died there about 1878. (5) J. Cora 
came to Superior in i860. She married 
Wilham H. Smith, who, after an honorable 
war record, lived in Duluth many years, 
dying in that city in 1886. His widow 
still retains the family home in that city. 

Bela Brooks married for his second wife 
Mrs. Sarah Chase (Shaw) Williams, 
daughter of Samuel and Marcia Shaw. 
She became the mother of the subject of 
our sketch. Bacon's "Historical and Bio- 
graphical of Otsego County," shows that 
three Shaw brothers, Deacon Samuel, Col. 
David and William, came to Otsego County 
from Massachusetts in 1796, and the same 
work shows Hezekiah Dayton (a brother- 
in-law of Samuel) to have been the first 
town clerk, 1796-1805. Samuel Shaw lived 
in Butternuts with his large family for 
many years. He was sheriff of Otsego 
County for a time. 

George L. Brooks was born in 1846, at 
Morris, at the old homestead. He attend- 
ed school at the White school house on But- 
ternut creek, and had the usual duties on a 
large farm and what amusement a boy may 
find in a county with fine woods and clear 
streams. After going to Superior with his 
father in 1862, he attended school there for 
a few years, and later graduated from the 
Eastman Business College, Chicago. His 
mother had died when he was nine years 
of age. He says his first impressions of 
Superior when entering the bay on a steam- 
er one fine morning in May were not cal- 
culated to please one coming from an older 
State. The town, what there was of it, con- 
sisted of a few painted houses and many 
unpainted ones, nearly all on one street 
about two miles long, paralleling the bay 
shore. The red clay banks in front and a 
background of dead tamarack and spruce 
trees, unrelieved by green trees in streets 
and yards, formed a desolate picture. On 
landing one involuntarily turned for a con- 
trast of view toward the lake, with its ever 
changmg shades of blue, and Minnesota 
Point, with its many shades of green and 
yellow. The center of the town was then 



about Nettleton avenue, near the only 
steamboat landing. Of early events Mr. 
Brooks says the Indian outbreak in Minne- 
sota in 1862 caused the residents of Super- 
ior some alarm. A home guard company 
was organized, and he was a member and 
drilled with the boys, but owing to defective 
hearing was not allowed on picket duty. 
The scare soon passed away when a com- 
pany of troops were stationed at Superior, 
making all feel secure. He recollects the 
surrender of Gen. Lee and the close of the 
Civil war, the news of which reached Su- 
perior from St. Paul, by carrier, perhaps a 
week after it occurred. He and a comrade 
were perhaps unjustly accused by a few dis- 
loyal people of cracking the bell in the old 
Methodist church steeple at that time. He 
does not know how true this was, but is 
certain that the old bell did good service 
for two hours in waking up the slumbering 
inhabitants to the importance of the occa- 
sion, and a celebration equal to many larger 
towns was the result. The great local 
events of those days were the weekly arrival 
of a lake steamer, and the tri-weekly arri- 
val of stage coaches with news from the out- 
side world. Mr. Brooks' occupation in ear- 
ly years was assisting his father in farming 
and driving cattle from Minnesota for the 
Lake Superior market. He was made famil- 
iar with the country by many trips to St. 
Paul over the Military Road, trips to Ver- 
million Lake, the present iron mining cen- 
ter, then undreamed of. He had some hard 
trips and many that are now pleasant to 
remember. When the first railroad (the 
Lake Superior & Mississippi) commenced 
building south from Duluth in 1869, he 
went to that city and resided there for five 
years, engaged as bookkeeper and manager 
for a large lumber, mercantile and contract- 
ing firm. He sold lumber for the first 
buildings in that city, material for the first 
grain elevator, and had charge of the first 
steamboat dock and shipping therefrom. He 
saw the first train of cars arrive, and first 
streets graded. In fact, he saw Duluth 
grow from a wilderness to a good town and 
the fine citv it now is. 






COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



I i: 



While living- in Duluth ]\Ir. Brooks was 
married to Adelia P. Smith, daughter of 
John T. Smith, a pioneer merchant of Su- 
perior. His two elder children were born 
in that city : Minnie Frances died in Su- 
perior at the age of eleven years ; Charles 
Lemont, who spent all his early life in Su- 
perior, afteiv attending Shattuck Military 
School and graduating in the law class of 
1896, at the University of Michigan, prac- 
ticed law in Superior one year and died 
there at the age of twenty-four. Mrs. 
Adelia P. Brooks died in Superior in 1884. 
In 1888 Mr. Brooks married (second) Miss 
Mary Dean, daughter of Denis Dean, who 
was the first postmaster at Superior. Two 
years later Mrs. Brooks died, leaving an 
infant daughter, Mary Dean Brooks. In 
1892 Mr. Brooks married (third) Miss 
Clara Berwick of an old New York family, 
and they have two children : Herbert Ber- 
wick and Elizabeth Chase. 

The financial panic of 1873 caused great 
depression in both Duluth and Superior, 
and Mr. Brooks, with his family, moved to 
Superior in 1874. There for many years he 
was engaged in trade, and extending his 
line to almost every want of a small com- 
munity he did a successful business. He 
employed many men cutting Avood, timber, 
etc., and thus assisted in helping the town 
along through a dull period in the seven- 
ties. With a store, a mail contract, a stage 
and fei^ry line, his time was fully occupied. 
In 1878 he built a small steamer at Super- 
ior, named the "Minnie Lemont," after his 
two children. The keel for this vessel was 
from a tamarack tree that grew near Bluff 
creek and the Bayfield road. It was forty 
feet long and the tree was eighteen inches 
in diameter. This is mentioned, as on re- 
cent examination the custom house records 
show that this small steamer of less than 
ten tons burden was the first steam vessel 
built, not only in Superior, but on Lake 
Superior as well. About 1882 he built ex- 
tensive steam brickyards on the Nemadji 
river, employing a large number of men. At 
these yards was made the brick for the first 
brick building in Superior, which was built 



by Cien. Hammond ; it was located on 
Tower avenue, at the corner of Winter 
street. Mr. Brooks has built c^uite a num- 
ber of houses and buildings and also opened 
and improved a number of farms. 

Air. Brooks for a number of years has 
been more or less engaged in real estate 
business and associated with land compan- 
ies. He was first to show the people of Su- 
perior that Douglas county contains a fine 
building granite. In 1897, there being 
great need of a better cemetery, Mr. Brooks 
was largely instrumental in the organization 
of the Woodlawn Cemetery Association, 
and the securing and planting of the beautiful 
grounds now owned by this association on 
Bluff creek, taking a personal interest in 
the improvement of these grounds. Mr. 
Brooks is a Republican, as he says, of the 
independent order. He has never sought 
office and has only held it on a few occa- 
sions, luit he has always favored good gov- 
ernment and sound, substantial improve- 
ments. It was while he was a member of 
the county and town boards that the first 
diagonal and section line roads were 
opened from the city to the country, 
the first bridge built on the Nemadji 
ri\-er, the purchase of and improve- 
ments on the poor farm made, and 
the first shade trees planted on the streets by 
the public, all of which he advocated. The 
Brooks family were prominent in building- 
the Church of the Redeemer (stone Epis- 
copal ) at the east end of the city, with 
which church they are usually identified. 
Mr. Brooks has been something of a devel- 
oper, or, as they say, "one who does things," 
one willing to do his share for the best in- 
terests of the community. Socially he is 
frank and cordial, and always loyal to home 
and friends. 

WILLIAM HENRY ELLIS, M. D. 
Prominent among the physicians of Barron 
county is William H. Ellis, who has been a 
practitioner in the county for a cjuarter of 
a century, and in the city of Barron for 
over twenty years. He was born in Dodge 
coimty. Wis., Sept. 17, 1855, son of Her- 



ii6 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



nando C. and Jemima B. (Haight) Ellis. 

The Ellis family is of Revolutionary 
stock, and Hernando C. and his father, 
Samuel, were both natives of Steuben coun- 
ty, N. Y. The latter came to Wisconsin 
about 1850, and died at Lake Geneva of 
smallpox, as did also his son, William. 
Hernando C. Ellis, the eldest of the family 
of nine, had come West some years pre- 
viously, in 1838, and engaged in lumbering 
at Lake Geneva till 1854, when he removed 
to Elba, Dodge county, where the subject 
of this sketch was born. Two years later 
he left Elba and settled in Dunn county, . 
where he resided till his death, March 24, 
1903, at the age of nearly eighty-five years. 
His wife, Jemima B. Ellis, had passed away 
July 9, 1868, leaving four children : Joseph 
F., an attorney of Eau Claire; Elizabeth A., 
of Minnesota; Samuel, of Rock Creek, 
Dunn county, and William H. 

William H. Ellis was educated in the 
public schools, but be owes much of his 
early training and education to his sister, 
Elizabeth, who was a "mother" to him 
after his mother died. He taught school 
for a short time when he was seventeen 
years old, and was graduated from the Eau 
Claire high school at the age of twenty 
years. He at once began the study of medi- 
cine with Dr. Alexander, of Eau Claire, 
preparatory to a course at Rush Medical 
College, in Chicago. Dr. Ellis received his 
degree of M. D. from that institution in 
1880 and located first at Prairie Farm, Bar- 
ron county, after assisting Drs. Alexander 
and Morgan in Eau Claire for a few 
months. Four years later, when the "Soo" 
railway reached Barron, after taking a post- 
graduate course in Chicago, he established 
himself in the town and has ever since 
been engaged there in the general practice 
of medicine and surgery, being the oldest 
physician in the county in point of time. 
Dr. Ellis is in touch with the medical life 
and thought of the day, belongs to the 
American Medical Association, and is a 
member of its legislative council, is a mem- 
ber of the Wisconsin State Medical Asso- 
ciation, helped to organize recently the Bar- 



ron-Gates-Polk County Medical Association 
and has frequently been called upon to read 
papers at their professional gatherings. His 
skill and experience, together with his broad 
progressive thought, have made his opinion 
vniiversally respected. 

In 1880 Dr. Ellis and Miss Eliza Aitchi- 
son were united in marriage. Mrs. Ellis, 
who was born in Iowa, is a daughter of 
Rev. John Y. Aitchison, D. D., a Scotchman 
and a Baptist minister, formerly of Eau 
Claire, Wis., but now located at Portland, 
Oregon. Mrs. Ellis' mother, whose maiden 
name was Sophia Fiezzel, was of French de- 
scent. To the doctor and his wife seven 
children have been born, five of whom are 
living, namely : Lottie, Mrs. Fred Fillmore 
(whose husband is a locomotive engineer) ; 
Walter S., a telegraph operator and station 
agent for the C. & G. ^V. Railway Co.; 
Agnes, a teacher in the Barron county 
schools, and Benjamin F. and Helen, both 
students in the Barron public schools. Clara, 
twin sister of Helen, died in July, 1903, of 
typhoid fever, aged eleven years, and Wil- 
liam, a child of five and a half^ was run over 
by a traction engine in September, 1902. 
Dr. and j\Irs. Ellis are members of the Bap- 
tist church, which Dr. Ellis helped to or- 
ganize. 

Despite the demands of his practice 
upon his time. Dr. Ellis has made opportun- 
ity for other duties and interests. He has 
invested in farm lands and city property to 
some extent, has been actively concerned 
in the educational development of the city, 
serving as a director on the school board for 
five years, and has held the office of health 
inspector for the city and township for some 
time. In his political principles he has been 
for several years past a Prohibitionist. The 
doctor is prominent also in the work of the 
fraternal orders and is a member of the I. 
O. O. F., being a Past Grand of the Bar- 
ron lodge ; is a member of the M. W. A. 
and of the F. & A. M., in which he is Past 
Master of the local lodge. Dr. Ellis was 
secretary of the Board of United States Ex- 
amining Surgeons, which met at Cumber- 
land. Wis., and examined many of the old 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



"7 



soldiers applj-ing for pensions, and to the 
liberal "rating" of himself and the late Dr. 
W. C. Pease, president of the board, many 
of them are indebted for an increase of pen- 
sion. He is an advocate of the free text- 
book system in the public schools of his 
State and hopes to see that system adopted 
in all free schools. During his term as 
health officer of his city he caused all slaugh- 
ter houses to be moved out of the corporate 
limits and off from any running stream. It 
is said that he has one of the best libraries 
in the county on the prevention of disease, 
and takes an active interest in sanitary sci- 
ence and invention. He is always ready to 
do everything in his power to restore a sick 
person to health and does all he can to dis- 
countenance intemperance or excess, which 
always cavises sickness or distress. "His life 
was gentle, and the elements so mixed in 
him, that Nature might stand up and say to 
to all the world 'This was a man.' " The 
doctor is as active as many men at thirty- 
five years and does not look older than that. 
This is a favorite sentiment with him: 

Age is opportunity no less than youth itselfj 
For as the evening twilight fades away 
The sky is filled with stars invisible by day. 

May he enjoy many more years of use- 
fulness is the wish of the writer. He says 
he hopes to live and keep busy until all of 
his children, and also his grand^son (Ellis 
Fillmore) are established in useful positions 
in life. 

AUGUST HERMAN ZACPIAU is 
the earliest surviving pioneer of Superior, 
Douglas county. Wis., where he has made 
kis home for over half a century. Mr. 
Zachau's life of industry and integrity has 
won hmi the esteem of his fellow citizens 
and entitles him to honorable mention in 
these annals. 

Mr. Zachau was born in Koenigsberg, 
East Prussia, Aug. 3, 1825. His parents, 
Johan Frederick and Barbara (Krause) 
Zachau, were also natives of Koenigsberg, 
Avhere they passed their lives. Johan F. 
Zachau was reared on a farm, but learned 
the baker's trade and opened a bakery in 



Koenigsberg, which is still carried on by 
one of his grandsons. He was twice mar- 
ried, his second wife being Barbara Krause, 
by whom he had three sons and one daught- 
er. The eldest son, John F. Zachau, is a 
farmer, living near Hammond, Ind. 

August 1-ierman Zachau received a com- 
mon school education and learned the trade 
of cabinet-maker. During the revolution of 
1848 he joined the insurgent (or patriot) 
cause and assisted in driving the royal 
troops from Koenigsberg. On the suppres- 
sion of this insurrection in 1849 he was 
obliged to flee for his life, and reaching 
Hamburg, took passage by stealth on a 
British mail steamer bound for London. 
Six weeks later he sailed for New York, 
making the voyage in forty days. From 
New York Mr. Zachau proceeded to Chi- 
cago, where he found work as a carpenter, 
and for two years kept a carpenter shop on 
Randolph street, near Dearborn street. 
While in Chicago Mr. Zachau took part in 
a demonstration in honor of his fellow 
patriots, Kossuth and Prof. Kinkel. In the 
summer of 1853 he went by steamer to La- 
Pointe, Wis., and from there proceeded in 
the little schooner "Chippawa" to the Head 
of the Lakes with a party who early in the 
season had made a "claim" to the site of the 
present town of Superior. When this little 
company of pioneers arrived the only peo- 
ple living on the "claim" were some French 
fur traders in the employ of the American 
Fur Co., a few half-breeds, and numerous 
Indians. An Indian trail ran westward 
from the Nemadji river in about the same 
course as that taken by Second street at 
present, but in those early days the waters 
of the bay were entirely shut out from view 
by the thick growth of underbrush and tim- 
ber. Mr. Zachau was one of the forty odd 
people who spent the winter of 1853-54 in 
Superior. In January, 1854, he helped 
clear a road through the woods to the St. 
Croix river, from which there were lumber- 
men's trails to St. Paul. Traveling these 
trails on foot, Mr. Zachau arrived at St. 
Paul in February. He soon got a contract 
for building a hotel in Superior, and return- 



ii8 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



ing there in March, with the first ox team 
to Superior, began to get out the timber 
along the bay shore, at what is now the foot 
of Tower avenue. Tlie hotel w'as 24x90 
feet in dimensions, two and one-half stories 
high, and the walls were made of solid hewn 
logs. The other lumber was cut by hand, 
with whip saws, his being the first saw-mill 
at the Head of the Lakes. This building 
stood at the northwest corner of Second 
street and Hollinshead avenue, and was oc- 
cupied as soon as inclosed. The hotel was 
only one of several buildings erected by Mr. 
Zachau for the syndicate which owned the 
town site. 

The first lots to be platted and sold in 
the new town were bought by Mr. Zachau. 
These lots, located at the corner of First 
street and Nettleton avenue, he still owns 
and lives on. In 1856 Mr. Zachau built the 
"Pioneer House"' on this site, and managed 
it for two years, when it was destroyed by 
fire. He next engaged for about ten years 
in the Indian trade, having his main store 
in Superior, with branches at Odanah, Wis., 
and Vermillion, Rainy River, Minn. He 
handled from $25,000 to $40,000 worth of 
furs annually, sometimes shipping by team 
to St. Paul, having a regular fur market in 
Superior in the spring. When his store in 
Superior, with the immense stock, was de- 
stroyed by nre, he owed $40,000 on the 
stock without insurance (all of which he 
paid up), and then, when iron mining began 
on the Vermillion Range, Mr. Zachau en- 
gaged in general contracting, a business 
which he still carries on, employing a num- 
ber of men and teams. Most of the wagon 
bridges in Superior and in Douglas coun- 
ty have been built by him. In 1855 he 
brought the first wagon to Superior, and 
also owned the first three horses in the place. 
He invented the single-beam bob sled. He 
owns a farm within the city limits, and, al- 
though he has had his share of the ups and 
downs of business, in the main he has pros- 
pered. 

In 1864 Mr. Zachau married Augusta 
Winter, a daughter of Carl and Wilhelmina 
Winter, of Sheboygan, Wis. Mrs. Zachau 



was born near Berlin, Germany, and came 
to the United States when a child. Mr. and 
Mrs. Zachau are the parents of nine chil- 
dren: Carl, Herman A., August E., Fred- 
erick W., Augusta C. F. (Mrs. Ernest 
Mast), Frank Schiller, who died of expos- 
ure in Porto Rico while in the United States 
service in Company I, 3d Wisconsin V. I. ; 
Edward Goethe, twin brother of Frank; 
John, who died in infancy; and Theodore 
C. All were born in Mr. Zachau's present 
residence. No. 320 West First street, comer 
Nettleton avenue, wdiich -was built in 1857, 
and all the survivors live in Superior. Mr. 
and ]\Irs. Zachau have twelve living grand- 
children. 

Mr. Zachau is a member of the Im- 
proved Order of Red Men and serves as 
Keeper of Wampum. He is also treasurer 
of the Old Settlers' Association and presi- 
dent of the trustees of the Nemadji 
Cemetery Association. He has been a 
stanch Republican since casting his 
first vote for Fremont in 1856, and 
has served twelve years as sheriff of Dou- 
glas county. In 1861 he took the first pris- 
oner from the county to Waupun, spending 
a week on the journey by team, steamer and 
railroad and traveling about 1,500 miles by 
the nearest practical route. There being no 
jail he kept the county's prisoners in his 
own house. During his term of office the 
county finances were at a very low ebb, and 
county orders were sold as low as twenty 
cents on the dollar. Later Mr. Zachau 
served as treasurer of the town and county, 
and succeeded in bringing the county orders 
to par value for the first time. Upon the 
expiration of his term he left $3,000 in the 
treasury — no small sum in those days. Mr. 
Zachau has also served as town supervisor, 
having been chairman of the board, and dur- 
ing the Civil war was commissioned second 
lieutenant of the Superior Home Guards, 
but he was never called into service except 
on home duty during the Indian uprising, 
for which this guard was formed. On the 
evening of Nov. 8, 1903. the many friends 
of Mr. Zachau invited him to a reception 
and banquet at the "Euclid Hotel," the oc- 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



119 



casion being the fiftieth anniversary of his 
arrival in Superior. 

REV. CHARLES COTTON SAL- 
TER, who will be long remembered as one 
of the greatest philanthropists at the Head 
of the Lakes, died at his home in Duluth in 
1897, at the age of sixty-five years, leaving 
the world better because of his having lived. 
His life was spent in work for his fellow- 
men, in lifting them up from out the slough 
of despond into the brighter realms of divine 
love. He worked with no thought of self, 
often to his own physical detriment, but he 
gladly gave all his strength for the faith 
he professed. He was born in New Haven, 
Conn., son of Cleveland J. Salter. 

Cleveland J. Salter came to America 
from Devonshire, England, and locating in 
New Haven, there carried on a general mer- 
chandise business. About 1835 he came 
West, and located at Waverly, Morgan Co., 
111., where he purchased the present town 
site and laid out the town. He also pur- 
chased a large farm and erected many of 
the buildings in that locality. He died there 
at the age of eighty-four years. He was 
very public-spirited, and ever bad the good 
of the people at heart. He was one of the 
founders of Illinois College, Jacksonville, 
111. He was a prime mover in the organiza- 
tion and building of the First Congregation- 
al church at Waverly, and served as one of 
its deacons until his death. His wife sur- 
vived him a year or two and died when over 
eighty years of age. 

Rev. Charles C. Salter was educated at 
Yale University, graduating there at the age 
of twenty-one in the class of 1852. The next 
few years were spent in preparing himself 
for the ministry at Andover Theological 
Seminary and as Latin tutor at Yale. 
After his ordination as a minister of the 
Congregational church he spent a year in 
Europe and the Holy Land in study and 
recreation. His first pastorate was in 
northern Illinois, where he remained until 
the breaking out of the Civil war when he 
enlisted as chaplain of the 13th Connecticut 
Regiment. His army experience was brief. 



for while at Ship Island and New Orleans 
his healtli ga\e way and he was sent north. 
In the fall of 1862 he reached Minneapolis, 
where he settled as pastor of Plymouth 
church, then a handful of people without a 
place of worship. Under his supervision 
the congregation was organized and the 
first church built. In 1869 he located at 
Duluth and there, too, organized and built 
the First Congregational church, serving as 
its pastor six years, when, owing to failing 
health, he was obliged to seek a less severe 
climate. After a year in Europe he went 
to Denver, Colo., where he was pastor of 
the First Congregational church and organ- 
ized the Second. He once again came to 
Duluth, resuming in 1880 his pastorate of 
the Congregational chiirch, continuing an- 
other two years, when failing health de- 
manded a rest. Accompanied by his family, 
he spent two years in Europe, chiefly in 
Switzerland and Italy, and then came back 
to the United States and passed one winter 
in Tampa, Fla. Coming West, he remained 
in Chicago for a year. \Vhen he first located 
in Duluth he had made some judicious in- 
\-estments which increased rapidly in value, 
thus enabling him to gratify his great de- 
sire for philanthropic work. Through all 
his travels he had kept a warm spot in his 
heart for his home at the Head of the Lakes, 
and in 1887 he again came to Duluth and 
founded the Bethel Mission, contributing 
largely of his own means, and securing the 
balance from generous-minded citizens. 
This is one of the most noteworthy insti- 
tutions in Duluth, and is designed for the 
benefit of sailors who frecjuent the ports at 
the Head of the Lakes, furnishing the com- 
forts of home at a nominal expense. For 
liis services in connection with this mission 
Rev. Mr. Salter never accepted any compen- 
sation, and he acted as its overseer until his 
death. His whole mind and strength were 
devoted to alleviating the cares of others, 
and his earnestness so impressed itself upon 
his listeners that he was often enabled to 
secure substantial help from many who, as 
a rule, had little faith in religious work and 
religious workers. A man of great mag- 



I20 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



netic force, he exerted a lasting influence 
over rich and poor alike. He officiated at 
more weddings and funerals than any other 
minister in Duluth. 

Entering heartily into any work that 
aimed for the benefit of the city, he often 
did more than his share of the actual work, 
but he did it all so easily, so willingly, that 
the realization of all he had done came only 
when his work was o\-er. At his death, so 
general was the grief, so great a public cal- 
amity was it deemed, that all the business 
houses in the city were closed for half a 
day, that all might go to pay him the last 
tribute of respect. 

Rev. Mr. Salter was married to Miss 
Maria Vaughn, of Providence, R. I., who 
still makes her home in Duluth. Five chil- 
dren survive to comfort her: Charles C, 
of West Duluth; Dr. William Homes, of 
Duluth; Frank I., manager of R. M. New- 
port & Co., and Mary Josephine and Julia 
I., both of Duluth. All of the family are 
highly educated and are greatly respected 
by all who know them. 

ISRAEL C. McNeill, the president of 
the Wisconsin State Normal School, of the 
Seventh district, located in Superior, Dou- 
glas county, is a man of fine endowments 
and admirably adapted for his responsible 
position by his early training and his long 
and varied professional experience. The 
value to the new school of his guidance in 
its early career has been more fully demon- 
strated each succeeding year. 

President McNeill was born in Avoca, 
Steuben Co., N. Y., Aug. 31, 1855, the 
son of Ransom and Catherine (Dillenbeck) 
McNeill, of Scotch-Irish and Dutch ancestry, 
respectively. The McNeill family traces its 
ancestry to the Clan Argyle, of Scotland, 
while among the noted men with whom 
President McNeill may claim kinship are 
James McRae, of Revolutionary fame, and 
Gen. John McNeill, of the Civil War. Jen- 
nie McNeill, of Washington county, N. Y., 
where the family first settled, was another 
relative. As a race the McNeills have been 
a hardy, thrifty stock. 



The early education of Israel C. McNeill 
was acquired in New York, where he com- 
pleted the academic course prescribed by the 
State Board of Regents. Some of his uni- 
versity work was done in the University of 
Kansas. He holds two college degrees. In 
1887 he was appointed assistant superin- 
tendent of schools in Kansas City and re- 
tained that position until 1896, when he was 
appointed to the Superior Normal School. 
For the last six years of that time he was 
a member of the Board of Regents for the 
Normal Schools of Missouri. He has also 
been prominent in general educational work, 
and was chosen treasurer of the National 
Educational Association several years. 
President McNeill has done considerable 
original work and has contributed to var- 
ious magazines, mainly along educational 
or psychological lines. He was associated 
with Prof. S. A. Lynch as joint author of 
"Introductory Lessons in English Litera- 
ture," which is in use as a text book all over 
the country. He also prepared "Oral 
Problems in Arithmetic," a text book which 
was issued in November, 1902. 

In his political views President McNeill 
is a Republican, but has never been in the 
least active in party work. His belief in 
religious questions has made him a com- 
municant of the Episcopal church. Socially 
he is a Thirty-second degree Mason, and 
belongs to the Consistory of Duluth. 

President McNeill was married Aug. 
19, 1880, to Miss Mary Estell Hedges, of 
Bradford, N. Y., the daughter of \Villiam 
and Ruth Hedges. They have no children 
living. 

In 1896 began the most important work 
of Israel C. McNeill's life, when he as- 
sumed the presidency of the Superior Nor- 
mal School. This school was authorized 
by the Legislature of Wisconsin, April 15, 
1893, and located in Superior two years 
later, after the city had offered a bonus of 
$65,000 in cash and $35,000 in land. Dou- 
glas county presented a memorial window 
costing $3,000, which represented the his- 
tory and progress of Superior, with Pallas 
Athene as the central figure. The school 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



121 



was opened Sept. 5, 1896, and arrangements 
had been made to receive from seventy-five 
to ninety pupils, but 150 pupils presented 
themselves the first morning for admission, 
and the plans of organization had to be 
changed at once. The first term opened 
with all the classes found in any normal 
school and with every seat taken in the 
traaimg department. Sixteen counties of 
Wisconsin and several other states were 
represented the first year. A clientage of 
500 pupils and students from twenty-seven 
counties attended the school the year 1903- 
4. The building occupied by the school 
is of red sandstone and white brick, three 
stories high, and situated in a seven-acre 
tract between Sixteenth and Eighteenth 
streets, fitted out very completely in accord- 
ance with the latest hygienic methods. 

The courses of study offered by the 
Normal School are various enough to meet 
any demand and include common school, 
elementary, one year professional, English, 
Scientific, German. Latin and graduate 
courses. The training school is in charge 
of the superintendent of training and three 
assistants and has eight grades and a kin- 
dergarten, corresponding to those in the 
public schools of large cities. All the 
teachers in the Normal School have been 
chosen with special regard to their fitness 
for the work and the results secured have 
been most satisfactory. The department of 
philosophy and pedagogy is in the hands of 
Prof. McNeill himself. 

The Superior Normal School has re- 
ceived the hearty support and co-operation 
of the press of Wisconsin and of the citi- 
zens of the northern part of the State, and 
various external influences, contributing 
greatly to the uplifting of the school and 
the fostering of the proper normal spirit 
have materially aided in the early establish- 
ment of a wise and fixed policy of manage- 
ment of the school. 



SOLON HUNTINGTON CLOUGH, 
son of Hamilton and Pamelia (Tucker) 
Clough. was born in New York State, Aug. 



31, 1828. His boyhood was spent in Os- 
wego county, mainly in the town of Fulton 
and vicinity. He spent two years at Ham- 
ilton College, and after leaving college he 
went South to teach school, remaining there 
a year or two. In 185 1 he married Kathar- 
ine E. Taylor, of Cazenovia, N. Y. At 
about the same time he began the practice 
of law, and in 1858 came West, settling 
in Hudson, Wis., and forming a law part- 
nership with Henry C. Baker. In 1863 'i^ 
removed to Osceola, Polk county, Wis., 
and was elected judge of the eleventh judi- 
cial circuit, which office he held for twelve 
consecutive years. In 1867 he removed to 
Superior in the extreme northern part of 
that circuit and continued to reside there 
until 1876, when he returned to Hudson 
and again took up the practice of law. 
After residing there four years, he went 
back to Superior and was appointed judge 
of the eleventh circuit, serving eight more 
years in that capacity, making in all a ser- 
vice of twenty years as judge of that cir- 
cuit. 

In 1894 Mr. Clough removed to San 
Diego, Cal, for the benefit of his wife's 
health, and continues to reside there. His 
wife died Aug. 17, 1902. He has two 
daughters living, Miss Bertha Clough, who 
lives with him in San Diego, and Mrs. Ir- 
vine L. Lenroot, of Superior. During his 
long residence in the State of Wisconsin he 
made many friends and won the respect and 
esteem of all who knew him. He served 
with distinction on the bench, was a fair 
and able judge and won the respect and af- 
fection of the members of the bar through- 
out the circuit, where his ability as a law- 
yer was well recognized. He is noted for 
his high sense of honor, his sincerity, his 
great conscientiousness in every relation in 
life, his genial hospitality, his faithfulness 
in friendship and his helpful sympathy and 
consideration for the poor and unfortunate. 

Mr. Clough was always intensely inter- 
ested in the history, development and pro- 
gress of northern Wisconsin, and always 
had, and now has, unbounded confidence in 
its future. 



12^ 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



PHILIP HL\KLE SEYMOUR, a 
successful attorney of Luluth, is a worthy 
representati\'e of families several gen- 
erations of which have heen conspicu- 
ous in American history. He is a son of 
Alexander Reek and Eliza McLean (Gai- 
ther) Seymour. Tlie former was a native 
of the Shenandoah Valley, Virginia, his 
father having been a prominent planter in 
that region. Alexander R. Seymour lived 
for some time at New Market, Va., and later 
at Orkney Springs, in the same state, 
where his deatli occurred in 1870, he being 
but little over fifty years of age at that time. 
He was an invalid for some years previous 
to his demise. Airs. Eliza Seymour, who 
is still living at Cincinnati, was born at 
Washington, D. C. lier paternal ancestors 
came from Wales in 1664 and settled at 
Bite the Biter, near Sandy Springs, Md., 
and some of their descendants are still liv- 
ing at that place. A number of members 
of the family served in the Revolutionary 
army, one being a surgeon and several oth- 
ers officers in the service. James Gaither, 
the father of Mrs. Seymour, was a carpen- 
ter contractor in the city of Washington for 
the greater part of his life. One of his sons, 
Thomas D. Gaither, filled the office of clerk 
of the Superior Court of Baltimore for some 
years. 

Philip H. Seymour was bom at Cincin- 
nati, Ohio, July 6, 1857. He went to 
Washington m 1869 and was educated in 
the public schools of that city and at the law 
school of Columbia University, from which 
he graduated in 1880. After being admitted 
to the bar he practiced in Washington for a 
time and later filled a clerkship in the Gen- 
eral Land Office, becoming acting chief of 
a division. Afterward he acted for a time 
as private secretary to Justice Field of the 
United States Supreme Court, and also 
served Senator Chace. of Rhode Island, in 
the same capacity. Since 1894 he has been 
located in Dulutli, where he gives his chief 
attention to real estate law. His exper- 
ience in this line, together with his wide 
acquaintance in official circles, makes his 
services of especial value to his clients. 



On June 8, 1893 occurred the marriage 
of Mr. Seymour with Miss Emma B. 
Bickel, daughter of William and Eliza A. 
Bickel of St. Paul, Minn. Mrs. Seymour 
died Oct. 12, 1902, at the age of forty- 
three years. She left one child, Philip 
Bickel, born Oct. 19, 1895. Mr. Seymour 
has formed numerous social connections 
and is prominent in the Masonic fraternity, 
being a member of Duluth Consistory No. 
3, Scottish Rite, and of Osman Temple, of 
the Alystic Shrine at St. Paul. 

THE WISCONSIN STATE EISH 
HATCHERY, Salmo, Bayfield Co., Wis., 
was established Sept. 28, 1895. The site, 
comprising some 700 acres, fronting on 
Chaquamegon Bay, was donated by Capt. 
R. D. Pike, an honored citizen of Salmo, 
Bayfield county. Diu'ing the ensuing win- 
ter operations were carried on in a small 
building in which Capt. Pike had conducted 
a brook trout hatchery for several years. 
The next spring preliminary work of clear- 
ing the grounds was begun, and during the 
summer a large temporary structure was 
put up and used as a hatchery. That sum- 
mer also was constructed a dam across Pike 
Creek and another incomplete one was fin- 
ished across Birch run. During this year 
fifteen million lake trout eggs were handled, 
twelve million fish being the product there- 
from. This was the first successful han- , 
dling of so large a quantity of eggs of that 
variety of fish in the State. The greater 
number of these were distributed in Chaqua- 
megon Bay, while a few were placed in the 
interior lakes of the State. During 1897 
the construction of the permanent buildings 
was begun and completed. The main build- 
ing is of modern architecture, built of stone 
and wood, the office and residence part be- 
ing twenty-five feet by forty feet. Back of 
this, but practically all in one building, is 
the main hatching room, fifty by eighty 
feet. This is one of truss construction, there 
being not a post or arch in the main room. 
It is said by competent judges to be the 
most perfect building of its kind in the 
United States. More than thirtv million 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



123 



of trout eggs were placed in the liatcher)- in 
the season of 1897, and a most successful 
hatch resulted, as, in the spring of 1898, 
more than twenty-five million of fry were 
deposited in the outline waters of the State, 
and a few in the interior lakes of the State. 
In addition to these, other varieties were 
hatched, there being about three Cjuarters of 
a million of brook trout distributed in the 
streams of the north half of the State. 
Since then about eight million brook trout 
ha\-e similarly been disposed of. White fish 
and lake trout have been hatched to the 
amount of from thirty to forty million a 
year since 1898. The work in propagating 
the commercial fish has been eminently suc- 
cessful as demonstrated by the increased an- 
nual catch. During the summer of 1898 
work was begun in the construction of ponds 
for brook trout, and in grading and other- 
wise embellishing the site. The brook trout 
ponds cover an area of about six acres and 
are fed from Pikes Creek through a two- 
foot pipe, three-eighths of a mile long. The 
main hatching room is supplied from Birch 
Run through a sixteen-inch pipe over a dis- 
tance of more than two thousand feet. 
There are now seventeen completed ponds 
on the site. The eggs are taken from live 
fish as taken from the nets of fishermen and 
brought to the hatchery in cases dry and 
placed in li\e water. 

J. HENRY SYKES, the gentlemanly 
and efficient assistant superintendent in 
charge of the State Fish Hatchery, Salmo, 
Bayfield Co., Wis., was born in Lake City, 
Minn., Aug. i, 1863, and is a son of Dela- 
vergne and Mahala A. (Thomas) Sykes. 
The former was born in Canada and the lat- 
ter in Dane county. Wis., where her parents 
were pioneers from Ohio. Mr. Sykes" par- 
ents settled m Dane county. Wis., when he 
was three years old. There he grew up on 
the farm, receiving only a limited education 
in the public schools. Near his father's 
farm, a few miles from Madison, 
was located the State Fish Hatchery. By 
the opportunity thus aff'orded he became in- 
terested in fish culture and subsequently se- 



cured a position \\\[h the State Fish Com- 
mission. This was in November, 1885. He 
was first employed as teamster. Evincing 
an aptitude for that line of business his su- 
periors quickly recognized his worth and 
soon promoted him to positions of higher 
trust and greater, responsibility. With every 
phase of the business Mr. Sykes is familiar, 
having made a practical and intelligent 
study of fish culture in all its details. Mr. 
Sykes was installed in charge of the Salmo 
hatchery by James Nevin, the State Super- 
intendent, at its inception in 1895. Upon 
his work he has brought to bear a know- 
ledge gained from long years of experience, 
and by his well directed and intelligent ef- 
forts he has succeeded in making this one of 
the model fish hatcheries of the United 
States. 

Mr. Sykes was married Jan. 26, 1890, 
to Miss Lillie M. DeBow, who has borne him 
si.M clfiklren, namely: Esther M., Henry L., 
Lawrence E., Ella, Robert C, and Eva 
Henrietta. Mrs. Sykes is a native of Trem- 
pealeau county. Wis., and a daughter of 
John L. DeBow, a native of New York 
State, whose father, Peter DeBow, was a 
captain in the war of 1812. John L. De- 
Bow came to Wisconsin when a lad, set- 
tling first in Waukesha, and subsequently in 
Trempealeau county, more than fifty years 
ago. He died there in 1892. His wife was 
Mary A. Larkins, who survives him, and 
is an honored resident of Trempealeau coun- 
ty. Fraternally Mr. Sykes is a member of 
the Masonic lodge at Bayfield. 

REV. APOLLONIUS HOPDEGARD, 
pastor of St. Joseph's Catholic church at 
Shell Lake, was born in Rouen, Normandy, 
France, in 1856. His parents were Apol- 
lonius and Felicitie Hopdegard, the former 
a prosperous merchant who lived and died 
at Rouen. 

Rev. Apollonius Hopdegard received a 
thorough elementary education in his native 
place, studied civil engineering in the Cen- 
tral School in Paris and took a supplemen- 
tary course in the same department in Ken- 
sington University, London, where he grad- 



124 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



uated in 1887. After following this profes- 
sion for a time in Belgium he began the 
study of theology at the Grand Seminary in 
Rouen, 'and after finishing this course was 
for two years professor of Natural Science 
at Yvetot College. He then spent another 
year in the university, and in 1892 came to 
the United States, locating at Durand, Wis., 
as assistant pastor of the Catholic church. 
The next year he became pastor of Holy 
Ghost church at Chippewa Falls, going 
from there, in 1895, to Rice Lake, where he 
was in charge of St. Joseph's church until 
the fall of 1902, when he came to St. Jo- 
seph's at Shell Lake. This church was built 
in 1895, the congregation, which now in- 
cludes about sixty families, having been or- 
ganized some years earlier. Father Hopde- 
gard also has charge of the church at 
Spooner, which was built at an earlier late, 
and which includes about fifty families. 

Father Hopdegard is much interested in 
electrical science, and finds his chief recrea- 
tion in experimenting with electrical appara- 
tus. He has devised a number of useful ap- 
pliances, including an automobile and an 
electrical clock^ which plays a different tune 
for each hour of the day and generates suffi- 
cient power to propel all the clocks of a 
large city. He also draws plans and takes 
contracts for city lighting plants, and is a 
practical man of business as well as an able 
scholar and an eloquent speaker. 

HON. LEWIS H. MEAD, one of the 
best known citizens of Shell Lake, Wash- 
burn county, was born in Marshall, Dane 
county. Wis., Sept. 26, 1853, son of Willard 
Preston and Julia M. (Morrill) Mead, na- 
tives, respectively of Miloon, N. Y., and 
Houlton, Maine. 

The ancestors of Lewis H. Mead came 
from England in 1635 and settled at Horse 
Neck, Conn., he being of the ninth genera- 
tion in the United States. Members of the 
family have taken part in all the wars of 
this country since the settlement of the Col- 
onies. The great-great-grandfather of 
Lewis H., was Zebulon Mead, who served 
as a scout in the Continental army, taking 



part in Ethan Allen's expedition to Ticon- 
deroga, and in other Revolutionary cam- 
paigns. He was a native of Connecticut, 
and, after the Revolution^ went, with six of 
his brothers, to Pennsylvania, where they 
founded the city of Meadville. His grand- 
son, Martin Mead, moved with his family 
to Wisconsin in 1842, where he was one of 
the pioneers of Marshall, Dane county, re- 
maining there the rest of his life. His wife, 
Mehitable, was the first person to be buried 
there. 

Willard Preston Mead, son of Martin, 
carried on a mercantile business in Marshall 
for a number of years. In 1882 he went to 
Canova, S. D., and located on a farm, 
where he died March 19, 1900, aged seven- 
ty-six. His wife, Mrs. Julia M. (Morrill) 
Mead, died at Marshall, Wis., June 19, 
1863, at the age of thirty-three. Her pa- 
rents, Lewis and Lydia Morrill, were also 
pioneers in Wisconsin, settling in 1843 ^^ 
Marshall, where her father combined the 
callings of fanner and blacksmith. 

Lewis H. Mead attended the public 
school and lived on the farm until he was 
nineteen, when he had the misfortune to 
lose his right hand in a threshing machine. 
After this he taught school for several 
years, part of the time in the graded schools 
of Waterloo and Columbus, Wis. At the 
same time he studied law with Smith & 
Rogers, prominent attorneys of Madison, 
and was admitted to the bar Nov. 22, 1882. 
He practiced at Hudson, Wis., until July, 
1883, when he came to Shell Lake, where 
he has ever since been a successful practi- 
tioner. During his residence in Washburn 
county, Mr. Mead has continuously filled 
some public position. He was county judge 
for fourteen years, and since 1896 has been 
district attorney. During the sessions of 
1889 and 1,891 he was a member of the 
State Assembly, serving upon important 
committees, including that of the Judiciary. 
He drew and introduced the bill providing 
for revision of the Log and Lumber Lien 
Law, which was passed, also the Hotel Dead 
Beat Law. For four years he was a mem- 
ber of the Republican State Central Com- 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



125 



mittee. Since 1884 he has been a delegate 
to every RepubHcan State convention, and 
he has done much vakiable campaign work, 
taking the stump in support of his party 
ticket. Mr. Mead has invested largely in 
real estate, having a farm in Washburn 
county, and another of 280 acres, of which 
135 acres are under cultivation, eight miles 
west of Shell Lake, in Burnett county. His 
example has done much to encourage the 
development of agriculture in northern 
Wisconsin, and he is now breeding Poland- 
China swine and other choice live stock. 

Mr. Mead married (first) March 19, 
1884, Ella M. Stratton, a native of Clam 
River, Wis., who died in December, 1885, 
when only twenty-four years of age. She 
was a member of the Baptist church. He 
married (second) at Lodi, Wis., Sept. 14, 
1887, S. Evelyn Todd, who was born in 
Merrimac, Wis., daughter of Rev. M. G. 
Todd (deceased), one of the most promi- 
nent Universalist ministers in the State. 
Judge Mead has always taken a great inter- 
est in religious work, and is a trustee of the 
M. E. church at Shell Lake, although both 
he and his wife are Unitarians in belief. He 
is a member of the Wisconsin Society of the 
Sons of the American Revolution, has been 
since 1885 identified with the I. O. O. P., 
having instituted Shell Lake Lodge No. 67 
in 1886. and been Grand Master of Wiscon- 
sin in 1895, and is a member of Shell Lake 
Encampment and Superior Canton. 

FRANK WILLIS EATON, one of the 
successful prospectors on the Vermillion 
and Mesaba Ranges, has been a resident of 
Duluth since 1870, and one of her most re- 
spected citizens. Air. Eaton comes of an 
old Colonial family, his first paternal an- 
cestor in America having come hither in the 
"Mayflower," and many of the name have 
been conspicuous in civil, military and pro- 
fessional life. Joshua Eaton, his grand- 
father, was a farmer and Ii\-ed and died in 
New Hampshire. 

James Eaton, father of Frank W., was 
a native of Sandown. N. H., and during his 
business life was engaged in the manufac- 



ture of shoes there, also conducting a mer- 
cantile business. He was one of the found- 
ers of Manchester, N. H. His death oc- 
curred in 1853, when he was forty-six years 
of age. He was an active member of the 
^I. E. church. James Eaton Married Bet- 
sey F. Hunkins, who was also born in San- 
down, N. H., and who long survived him, 
dying in Duluth Aug. 8, 1896, at the ad- 
vanced age of eighty-four years. She was 
a daughter of John Hunkins, a wagon- 
maker, who carried on business at Sandown, 
and who reached the age of eighty-seven 
years. The Hunkins were also an old New 
England family. 

Frank Willis Eaton was born June 17, 
1849, in Sandown, N. H., and was reared 
in his native State, during his boyhood at- 
tending the public schools at Manchester 
and Kingston Academy. When sixteen 
years of age he began to learn shoemaking 
and followed that trade for some time, but 
outdoor life appealed most to him, and in 
1868 he came West to Minnesota. His 
first location was at Cottage Grove, and 
later he was at Taylors Falls, and while at 
these places he was engaged at intervals in 
making shingles by hand, but spent much 
of his time in the woods hunting and fish- 
ing. In 1870 he came to Duluth, where he 
has since made his home, though he con- 
tinued to pass a great deal of time in the 
woods, prospecting for timber and mineral 
lands, in which he has dealt, both buying 
and selling, up to the present time. In re- 
cent years he has given his chief attention 
to mineral lands on the Vermillion and 
Mesaba Ranges, and still owns a number of 
valuable locations on these ranges. It was 
he who located the scrip for the famous 
"Section Thirty," over which there has 
been so much litigation. Mr. Eaton has 
taken quite an active interest in the affairs 
of Duluth and has served eight years as al- 
derman. His political leanings are toward 
the Democratic party, but he is independent 
in his stand. 

On May i, 1871, Mr. Eaton was united 
in marriage with Susan F. Clark, daughter 
of Abner and Abigail (Sanborn) Clark, of 



126 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



Sandown, N. H., and granddaughter of 
Natlianiel Clark, who ran a gristmill at 
Sandown, which place has been the home 
of the famil}' for generations. Abner 
Clark also operated a large gristmill as well 



as a shingle, flouring and cider mi 



He 



reached the age of seventy-six years, dying 
at Sandown, and his wife lived to the age of 
seventy-four. Mr. Clark and his parents 
were all prominent in the work of the M. E. 
church, and he was quite prominent in the 
public affairs of his locality, filling several 
positions of trust. 

Mr. and Mrs. Eaton are the parents of 
seven children: James C. now connected 
with a grain firm and operating on the Board 
of Trade; Willis S., a teller in the First Nat- 
ional Bank of Duluth ; Gertrude, a teacher in 
the public schools of Duluth ; Frank G. ; 
Grover C. ; Pauline, and Susan. The family 
attend the M. E. Church. 

RICHARD CANDLING EVANS, an 
esteemed citizen of Phillips, Price county, 
was born in Newtown, Montgomeryshire, 
Wales, May 14, 1828, the son of David and 
Jane (Owens) Evans, and grandson of 
David Evans, Sr., foreman of a shipyard in 
Liverpool. The Evans family was well 
known in Wales, where Dr. Christian Evans 
a cousin of Rev. David Evans, was a very 
prominent physician and at one time treated 
the royal family. 

uavid Evans, father of Richard Candling, 
was educated for the ministry of the Episco- 
pal Church. In 1836 he came to the LTnited 
States and settled in Oneida county, N. Y., 
and while there became converted to Metho- 
dist doctrines, joined that church and 
preached there for a number of years. About 
1852 he went to Manitowoc, Wis., and from 
there went to North Dakota, in 1874, where 
his death occurred in Jamestown, in his 
eighty-ninth year. Mrs. Jane (Owens) 
Evans passed away in Manitowoc county, 
Wis., in 1862, in the sixty-ninth year of her 
age. She was the mother of two sons and 
a daughter, as follows: John, wdro served 
through the Civil war, in the United States 
Light Artillery, and whose death occurred 



in 1891, near Oswego Center, N. Y. ; lane, 
\vho married Peter Wederman, and died in 
Jamestown, N. Dak., and Richard Candling. 

Richard C. Evans was sent to school 
until he was fourteen years old, and then he 
began working in the boat yards on the Erie 
Canal, in New London, N. Y. His educa- 
tion, however, did not entirely cease, for dur- 
ing his six years in New London, he attend- 
ed a night school. In 1848 he went to Wis- 
consin, most of the way by boat, and landed 
at Port Washington. He located first at 
Manitowoc Rapids, and engaged in farming 
and lumbering for a few years, after which 
he went to Brown county, and spent ten years 
operating shingle mills near Green Bay. 

This business proved congenial to Mr. 
E\-ans, and he was successful at it, but con- 
ditions appeared even more favorable in 
Dorchester, \\'is., so in 1875 lie removed 
thither, and built a saw and shingle mill, but 
only operated it two years before he had a 
good opportunity to sell out. In 1881 he 
went to liamlin county, S. Dak., and entered 
a "tree claim," near Castlewood, where he 
lived nominally for about twelve years, but 
spent most of his time traveling as an insur- 
ance agent or civil engineer. His home in 
Castlewood was one which he had built for 
himself, and he also owned a store building 
there. 

After leaving Castlewood, Mr. Evans 
traveled for several years through the South 
and West, but in 1898 settled down in 
Phillips, and has resided there ever since. 
His home is a pleasant one with ample 
grounds, and he gives much attention to 
horticulture. He is one of the directors of 
the State Bank of Phillips. His ventures 
have been very generally successful, and he 
can afford to take life easily now. Mr. 
Evans was the namesake and legal heir of a 
maternal great-uncle, Richard Candling, who 
left a considerable estate in Wales, but Mr. 
Evans has never attempted to prove his 
claim. 

Ever since the Republican party was 
formed Mr. Evans has been a member of it, 
and was a delegate to the first county con- 
vention the party held in Manitowoc county. 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



127 



His first vote was cast in 1S52, for Gen. 
Scott, when he was a presidential candidate. 
Mr. Evans was formerly chairman of the 
county hoard, and since 1892, the supervisor 
of the first ward in the city of Phillips. 

In October, 1849, ^^^- Evans was mar- 
ried at Cedarburg, Wis., to his first wife, 
Sarah Ann Allen, daughter of James Allen, 
of Ozaukee county. Mrs. Evans was born 
in Oneida county, N. Y., in 1826, and died 
in Cato, Manitowoc county. Wis., in 1865, 
leaving four children, namely : Richard Tru- 
man, of Hamlin county, S. Dak. ; John E., 
of Tacoma, Wash. ; Ella B., widow of Ed- 
ward Winchester, of Phillips; and Lela A., 
wdio married Dr. Phelan, of Duluth, and 
died July 15, 1904, aged forty-one years, 
leaving two children, Cleopatra and Francis 
Evans. Mrs. Evans was a member of the 
Alethodist Church. 

Mr. Evans's second wife was Mrs. Jane 
A. West, of Cato, to whom he was married 
in December, 1867, and by wdiom he has 
had one child, Elizabeth J., now Mrs. C. K. 
Randall, of Phillips. Mr. Evans has thir- 
teen grandchildren and three great-grand- 
children. 

Mrs. Jane A. Evans is a native of Ver- 
mont, born in Montpelier. She was first 
married to George W. West, who was killed 
in the Civil war. He had enlisted at Cato, 
Wis., in Company K, 21st Wis. V. I., was 
wounded at the battle of Perryville, and died 
in a hospital. His widow was left with two 
children: James E., the deputy United 
States Marshal of Norfolk, Va., who is 
married and has three children ; and Georgia 
E., who married Francis Hobson, of St. 
Paul, and has one child. 

Mr. Evans's memory is very good, and 
he recalls with interest the many changes in 
manners and customs, as well as in the meth- 
ods of doing business^ which he has seen in 
the course of his long life. When he was 
first married he and his bride moved into 
the woods with all their worldly possessions 
in two trunks, drawn by an ox team, and 
when he was ready for the "raising" of his 
log house, all the neighbors within four miles 
came to assist in the ceremony. From that 



to his present comfortable way of living is 
a change indeed, but only one of many. 

ELIAS L. UROUHART. Few busi- 
ness men have displayed greater versatility 
than has this enterprising resident of Med- 
ford, Taylor county, who after some years 
of successful work as an estimator and lum- 
ber dealer, is now engaged in the real estate 
and insurance business. While his work has 
always demanded and received close atten- 
tion, he has also found time to take a prom- 
inent part in public afi^airs, and his well 
kn(nvn ability and energy have been almost 
continually called into service by his fellow 
citizens. Mr. Urciuhart is a Canadian, born 
in Glengarry, Out., Jan. 15, 1846. 

William Urquhart, his great-grandfa- 
ther, came from Inverness, Scotland, about 
1770, and settled at Glengarry, then an al- 
most unbroken wilderness. He made his 
home on a farm, and died there in his nine- 
tieth year. His son, Alexander, lived and 
died in the same locality, as did also James 
of the next generation. James Urcjuhart 
married Margaret Leonard, born in County 
Down, Ireland. Her father was Capt. 
Elias Leonard, for many years in the British 
army. She lived to be ninety-two years old, 
while her husband reached only the appoint- 
ed three score years and ten. 

Elias Urquhart attended the public 
schools of his vicinity until he was sixteen, 
and at nineteen went to the United States, 
where he engaged in lumbering in Michi- 
gan for five years. In 1S70 he removed 
to Wausau, W^is., and the next year to 
Oconto, where he was employed in logging, 
estimating and surveying, until 1876, after 
which he was similarly employed in West- 
boro, Taylor Co. Since 1880 he has re- 
sided in Medford. For a few years he oper- 
ated a sawmill there, and until 1890 was 
connected in some way with the lumlier in- 
dustry, but since then has done a real es- 
tate and insurance business. He has platted 
three additions to the city, handles both city 
and farm property, and has himself im- 
proved several farms. 

Mr. Urquhart is Republican in his 



128 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



views, and is quite prominent in the party 
ranks locally. For two years he made a 
very competent sheriff and for fifteen 
served on the county board of supervisors, 
eleven years of that time being chairman of 
the board. During President Harrison's 
administration he was appointed postmaster 
and acted as such the full four years. For 
the past eleven years he has been on the 
city board of education. 

On June 23, 1874, Mr. Urcjuhart was 
married to Miss Catherine Devereux, born 
in County ]\Iavo, Ireland, the daughter of 
Bridget and Anthony Devereux. To this 
union have come nine children, as follows: 
Kenneth J., an attorney in Medford; Lionel 
L., bookkeeper in the State Bank of Med- 
ford; Norman A., a stenographer; Roy S., 
a student at Gilbert Business College at 
Milwaukee; Marion E., in the Wisconsin 
University; Catherine M., Helen D., Anna 
E., and Elias A. 

Mr. Urquhart has long been connected 
with the Masonic body. He was first mas- 
ter of the local lodge, and first High Priest 
of the chapter. He is also identified with 
the Commandery, K. T., at Stevens Point, 
and the Wisconsin Consistory at Milwau- 
kee. He is also a charter member and Past 
Grand of Medford Lodge, I. O. O. F., and 
belongs to the local organizations of the K. 
O. T. M., the M. W. A. and the Eciuitable 
Fraternal Union. At present (1904) he is 
mayor of the city of Medford and chairman 
of the county board. 

O. E. PEDERSON. Among the 
many citizens of Rusk county who have 
served the public to their utmost O. E. Pe- 
derson, of Ladysmith, is particularly con- 
spicuous, as he has not only been prominent 
in every progressive movement, but has 
himself inaugurated several, besides bemg 
one of the heaviest investors in town and 
county property, which he has done much 
to improve and render more valuable. His 
services, too, have been at the disposal of his 
townsmen in several official capacities, 
where his energy, wise counsel and ability 
have been most advantageously employed. 



Mr. Pederson is in the very prime of 
life, having been born Nov. 15, 1867. His 
birthplace was Winneconne, Wis., where 
his father, August Pederson, still resides. 
August Pederson was one of the early set- 
tlers in Wisconsin, whither he emigrated 
from Norway when twenty-one years of 
age. He was a carpenter by trade and had 
thoroughly mastered his business before 
leaving his native land. Plis wife, Regena 
(Olson), was also a native of Norway, but 
their marriage occurred in America. There 
were three children born to this marriage, 
of whom O. E. .Pederson was the eldest. 

The early education of Mr. Pederson 
was acquired in the public schools of Wis- 
consin, after which he attended the Normal 
School at Valparaiso, Ind., for a year and 
then entered Lawrence University at Apple- 
ton, Wis. He attended this college for three 
years, his course having been interrupted by 
two years of teaching in the public schools. 
Upon leaving the university, at the age of 
twenty-four, Mr. Pederson became the 
nominee of the Republican party for county 
superintendent of schools for Winnebago 
county, and was elected. This position he 
filled for four consecutive terms of two years 
each, resigning in his last term in order to 
enter business life. In these eight years 
he accomplished much for the schools 
of his county, and raised them to a greatly 
advanced condition. 

In 1900 the position of cashier of the 
First National Bank of Ladysmith was of- 
fered to Mr. Pederson^ and in the spring 
of that year he moved to the town. The 
first summer was occupied in superintend- 
ing the construction of the bank building, 
which was completed and opened that fall. 
During this year he built his own residence, 
the first of any consequence in Ladysmith, 
and invested largely in real estate in the 
town. He at once took an active part in 
the development of the region, and in at- 
tracting settlers from outside. He rose rap- 
idly in the bank business and became presi- 
dent, but resigned in 1903 to devote his 
whole attention to the real estate business. 
His holdings in Rusk county amounted to 




^(2^ 



PUBLIC LIBRARY 

ASTOR, LENOX 
TILDEM POUNDATIONS 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



129 



over $100,000 worth, and he has been emi- 
nently successful in his management ot 
them. In 1903, alone, his sales aggregated 
$75,000, and in the same year he induced 
eighteen actual settlers to locate in the 
county, people for the most part from Iowa, 
Nebraska and Minnesota. 

From his very arrival in Ladysmith ]\Ir. 
Pederson became the champion of the 
cause of good roads, which he succeeded in 
making one of the local political issues, and 
one on which he was elected unanimously 
as chairman of the town of Flambeau, at 
that time comprising seven townships. In 
this capacity he made as heavy a levy for 
road purpose as the law permitted and pro- 
ceeded at once to open up roads. In 1901 
twenty-one miles were opened, all on section 
lines. During the same year rose the agi- 
tation over the creation of a new county out 
of Chippewa county ; there was strong op- 
position from some of the citizens but Mr. 
Pederson was a vigorous champion of the 
measure from the start, and did much ef- 
fectual work before the committee of both 
the State Senate and Assembly. As a con- 
sequence he was elected the first chair- 
man of the new County Board, but be- 
fore any steps could be taken the op- 
position again became active and, on the 
ground that the Legislature had no author- 
ity to locate the county seat, secured an in- 
junction against Mr. Pederson as chair- 
man, restraining him from issuing bonds 
for building the court house and for money 
to defray the incidental expenses. The case 
was taken before Judge Parrish, of the Cir- 
cuit Court, who sustained the enactment of 
the Legislature, and when an appeal was 
taken to the Supreme Court of the State, 
the ruling of the lower court was sustained. 
The question once settled all parties turned 
their attention to the development of the 
new county, and during Mr. Pederson's 
term of office as chairman of the County 
Board, the proper civil divisions and the 
towns of True, Grant, Marshall and Stubbs 
were laid out. This subdivision was of the 
greatest advantage to the people, inasmuch 
as it Ijrought about a fair and equal dis- 



tribution of patronage, benefiting the citi- 
zens of the different towns alike and pro- 
moting more harmonious relations. 

Mr. Pederson's life is as complete on 
its domestic side as in its public aspect. 
While attending Lawrence University, he 
met Miss Myrtie Eno, daughter of Edward', 
Eno, a young lady of culture and most 
pleasing personality, and the mutual attach- 
ment resulted in their marriage, celebrated 
in Winneconne, Sept. 9, 1895. Of the 
three children born to them, only two are 
living, Gertrude and Myrtie. 

In fraternal relations Mr. Pederson is 
a Mason of the Knight Templar degree; he 
is a charter member of Mystic Lodge, and 
assisted in initiating the first Mason in Rusk 
county. He is a man of the highest character 
and of broad culture, familiar with all the 
progressive thought of the day and this,, 
added to his deep public spirit and vital in- 
terest in the essential welfare of his town and 
county, has won him the highest respect and 
esteem of his fellow citizens, while his 
strong domestic qualities and devotion to 
his home and family give him one more 
worthy claim upon their consideration. 

ADOLPH HABELT. An early set- 
tler, a successful business man and a leader 
in local politics, probably no one in Pratt 
township is more influential than Adolph 
Habelt, whose well-known probity in all 
dealings, whether public or private, has won 
him the unreserved confidence and respect 
of all who know him. 

Mr. Habelt was born in 1865 in Austria, 
where he was reared and educated in the 
common schools. He came to America 
when he was eighteen, landing in New 
York. He went West immediately and 
settled first in Ashland Co., Wis., where he 
worked at lumbering, either in the woods 
or in the sawmills and lumber yards, for 
two years. In 1883 he removed to Bayfield 
county and has been identified with that 
place ever since. In 1899 '^^ erected a 
shingle mill in Pratt, which he has operated 
each season since with great success, and 
also fills contracts for cedar posts, logs, tan 



I-,0 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



bark, etc. He eniploj's a force of fort}' or 
fifty men. 

Mr. Habelt was married in 1888 to 
Katie Gilles, and they have a family of six 

•daughters : Frances, jNlary, Katie, Rosa, 
Maggie and Esther. 

From the time of his settling in Bay- 

.-field county Mr. Habelt has taken a leading 
part in local affairs, for his interest in the 

1 public welfare was genuine and deep-seated. 
At the second township election of officers 
he was chosen chairman of the town board 
and has been re-elected four times, while 

. from the very organization of the township 
he has been secretary of the school board. 

.A Republican in his views, he has been a 
■delegate to county conventions and is a 

.inemljer from his township of the County 
Republican Central Committee. 

Mr. Habelt is public-spirited and enter- 
prising, with the ultimate good of the public 
always at heart, and as the representative of 

: liis fellow citizens he protects their interests 
with the same fearlessness and care that he 
gives to his own affairs. The natural re- 

.sult of this has been a constant increase in 
his influence for good and his voice in the 
party councils is listened to with deep con- 
sideration. 

D. W. BLACKBURN (deceased) was 
one of the original settlers of Bruce, Wis., 
and was long prominently identified with 
the growth and development of this section. 

Mr, Blackburn was born, reared and ed- 
ucated at Montreal, Quebec, at the age of 
eighteen years coming to Michigan. Subse- 
quently he returned to Canada, but came to 
Bruce, Wis., in 1884. Here he followed 
lumbering, loggiu'^ ami contracting, as did 
, the majority of the earliest settlers, and his 
energies were so devoted until his death, 
March 2. 1903, at the age of fifty- four 
years. 

Mr. Blackburn built and conducted the 
■"Blackburn House," constructing three 
...buildings on the same site, fire destroying 
two of them. He actively participated in local 
.^ffairs, and, while in no sense a politician, he 
,w.as called to fill several offices of trust and 
responsibility. Prior to the division, he 



was deputy sheriff of Chippewa county, was 
townsliip chairman a number of years, was 
president of the school board and officiated 
in offices of lesser note. Mr. Blackburn 
was survived by four children : Mrs. Dou- • 
gal Skelley, William A., Thomas H. and 
Mrs. H. Cbarrey. 

WILLIAM A. BLACKBURN, eldest 
son of the late D. W. Blackburn, is cashier 
of the Lumberman State Bank, at Bruce, 
Wis. He was born in 1877, in Canada, and 
was eight years old when he accompanied 
his parents to Wisconsin. Llis education 
was secured in the schools at Bruce, and 
since he has attained his majority, he has 
been actively interested in enterprises in this 
town. His entrance into business life was in 
the lumbering business, interested with his 
father, and was so engaged when troops were 
called for in the Spanish-American war in 
1898. He enlisted in the Third United 
States Infantrv, but soon after was trans- 
ferred to the Hospital corps. He was sta- 
tioned first at Fort Snelling and then was 
transferred to Chickamauga Park and still 
later to Fort Meade, at which point he was 
discharged in 1899, after a service of ten 
months. Mr. Blackburn then returned to 
Bruce and resumed business in partnership 
with Glen H. Williams and continued until 
1901. When the Bank of Bruce was organ- 
ized he became its cashier, and when it was 
absorbed by the Lumberman State Bank he 
was retained as assistant cashier, and since 
that time has been advanced to the cashier- 
ship, a position he is most efficiently filling 
at the present time. 

Fraternally Mr. Blackburn is a member 
of Mystic Tie Lodge. A. F. & A. M., at 
Ladvsmith, and Knights of Pythias and 
Modern Woodmen at Bruce. In politics Mr. 
Blackburn is a Republican, has served as a 
delegate to various conventions and has offi- 
ciated as town clerk, school clerk, village 
treasurer, and in other capacities. The Black- 
burn name is one indissolubly connected 
with the founding and development of this 
section, having been borne by one of the 
active incorporators of the village, a leader 
in the organization of Gates (now Rusk) 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



county, and interested in every matter con- 
nected with the building up ot the territory. 

PETER J. PETERSON (deceased), 
one of the pioneers of the Upper Lake Re- 
gion, was for many years a resident of 
Fond du Lac, Minn., and there laid tlie 
foundation of his fortune. He was born 
in Sweden in 1824, and passed his 
earlj' life in his native land, where he 
was reared to mercantile pursuits. In 
1852 Mr. Peterson came to America, lo- 
cating first at Chicago, where he met 
the lady who soon afterward became his 
wife. In 1857 they decided to remove to 
Superior, Wis., and made the trip thither 
on the "Lady Elgin," the steamer which 
was afterward wrecked near Racine. The 
Petersons were disappointed at the pros- 
pects offered at Superior and so went on to 
Fond du Lac, then a promising frontier vil- 
lage. Mr. Peterson took up a homestead 
claim on two islands in the St. Louis river, 
named Nekuk and Amik, signifying, re- 
spectively. Otter and Beaver. He made his 
home on these islands, carried on farming 
and trading with the Indians for many years 
and became wealthy. Later he bought prop- 
erty in Fond du Lac, which he improved, 
and which became quite valuable. 

In 1856 Mr. Peterson married Miss 
Christina M. Olson, who was born in Swe- 
den in 1823, and came to America in 1854. 
They had six children, five of whom were 
born and reared in Fond du Lac : Charles 
A., of Duluth; Oscar A., who died Sept. 4, 
1902, aged forty-two; Alma M., the wife 
of Frank F. Porter, now of Oakland, Cal. ; 
Emile, a graduate of the business college, 
and now a druggist in Duluth, and Hilma, a 
popular teacher in the Fond du Lac schools. 
The children have all received good educa- 
tional advantages. Miss Flilma Peters(in 
was a student at the Winona State Normal 
School, where she prepared herself for her 
profession, and she has taught continuously 
since 1B93 in Fond du Lac, where she is 
not only liked by her pupils, but is justly 
popular with a large circle of friends and ac- 
quaintances, who have been attracted by her 
pleasing personality and fine character. 



Peter J. Peterson was a notable figure 
in Fond du Lac in many ways. A Repub- 
lican in his views, he was justice of the 
peace for eight years, and generally promi- 
nent in local politics. His interest was es- 
pecially aroused along educational lines, and 
he served as member of the school board for 
some time. In religious belief he was a 
Lutheran, and of a deeply religious nature. 
For years his house was the appointed place 
for the services held by the Swedish Luth- 
erans of the region, and he was always fore- 
most in their good w'orks. Mr. Peterson 
passed away in August, 1873, and his re- 
mains were interred on the homestead. His 
wife still survives and makes her home with 
her daughter, Hilma. 

CAPT. RICHARD GILBERT CO- 
BURN was one of the enterprising pioneers 
of Superior, Douglas county, who did much 
towards its early develo^jment. He was 
born in Seneca Falls, N. Y., in 1825, the 
son of Israel Coburn. The Coburns are of 
English and Irish descent, and were among 
the heirs of Lord Chief Justice Coburn, of 
England. The first immigrant of the fam- 
ily settled at Dorset, Mass. 

Israel Coburn was born at Lisle, Onon- 
daga Co., N. Y., and was a farmer and 
lumberman by occupation. He died of chol- 
era in 1832, and left a widow and six small 
children. His widow, whose maiden name 
was Maria Kirkland, was a native of Say- 
brook, Conn., born in 1799. She came of 
a long-lived family, and died in 1882 in 
Chautauqua county. New York. 

When Richard Coburn \vas only three 
}ears old his parents moved to Chautauqua 
county. Four years later his father died, 
and at the early age of sixteen the boy be- 
came the main support of his mother and 
of the younger children. In the fall of 1856 
he went to Superior, as his health necessi- 
tated a change of climate, and from that 
time his fortunes were bound up with those 
of the future city. 

Cai)t. Coburn first took charge of a ware- 
house on the present site of Quebec Pier, 
at the end of a few years bought out his em- 
plover, Mr. Robbins, and conducted it for 



13- 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



himself. He also opened a general store 
and ixi a short time had the leading mercan- 
tile business on Lake Superior. Another 
venture was the purchase of the schooner 
"Neptune," which had sunk on the outside 
of Wisconsin Point and had been aban- 
doned. He floated the vessel, repaired it 
and operated it until 1863, vising it to de- 
liver the product of a sawmill at Millford, 
now West Duluth, in which he was inter- 
ested, at the mines where the lumber was 
sold. In company with Mr. Peyton he 
bought the schooner "Pierpont," which they 
operated together for some years, and then 
Capt. Coburn purchased his partner's inter- 
est and ran the boat alone until 1871. For 
a time he owned two mills, and was still 
farther interested in the line of developing 
the silver mines on an island near the north 
shore of Lake Superior. 

In the fall of 1877 Capt. Coburn went to 
Buffalo to educate his children, but still 
spent a large part of his time in Superior. 
He was occupied in filling three of the first 
contracts with the United ■ States Govern- 
ment for the improvement of the harbor at 
Superior. There was great opposition to 
the work at both Duluth and Milwaukee, 
but Capt. Coburn secured the appropriation 
in spite of it. His contracts amounted 
to about $60,000 per annum for three years. 
While in this enterprise he bought the first 
tug used in the harbor, the "Agate," and 
later the "Amethyst." For some years pre- 
vious he had piloted all the steamers in. In 
his coasting about the Head of the Lakes 
for timber, he had become more familiar 
with the coast all through that region tlian 
any one else on the lakes. 

Capt. Coburn met with various reverses, 
but his courage never deserted him. At 
Christmas, 1870, his store was burned, en- 
tailing a heavy loss, as he could collect only 
a slight insurance. The loss of "The Nep- 
tune," at Eagle Harbor, loaded with lumber, 
was another misfortune, while he lost still 
more lumber at Marquette. One vessel 
which ran aground on the outer shore of 
Minnesota Point was saved, however, by 
an ingenious device. Ca])t. Coburn floated 



luml:er across the natural channel and di- 
\erted the current to another channel which 
he opened across the Point, and thereby 
brought the vessel through safely. 

In 1 85 1 Capt. Coburn was married to 
Miss Charlotte McManus, wdio was born in 
Chautaucjua Co., N. Y., the daughter of 
William and Maria (Barber) McManus. 
Mrs. Coburn was of Scotch descent. Her 
paternal grandfather, Christopher McMan- 
us, served in the Continental army through 
the Revolutionary war, and lost one foot in 
the terrible winter at Valley Forge. Her 
father was born at Lisle, N. Y., and with 
six of his seven brothers served through the 
war of 181 2, taking part in the battles of 
I'^ort Erie and Buffalo. The maternal 
grandfather, Thomas Barber, also served 
in the Continental army, enlisting in New 
York. 

To the union of Capt. and Mrs. Coburn 
came three sons and two daughters : Ro- 
selle, the captain of a steamer on Lake Su- 
perior; George, who was drowned at the age 
of eighteen; Richard Percy, of Duluth;, 
Hattie May, who married J. C. Bertand. of 
Superior, and Fannie A., a teacher of music 
and a kindergartner. 

In early life Capt. Coburn was a Demo- 
crat, but after the Civil war began, he be- 
came a Republican. He volunteered for 
service, but was rejected for physical disa- 
bility. Fraternally he belongs to the Ma- 
sons and to the I. O. O. F., having joined 
both while in Ohio. The captain was a 
member of the Methodist Church, while his 
wife is a Presbyterian. 

The death of Capt. Coburn occurred at 
his home in Superior, Jan. 25, 1892, an 
event greatly regretted by all who knew 
him. He was the embodiment of kindness,- 
and was ever ready to put himself to any 
trouble in order to assist or accommodate 
a friend. 

JOHN E. SEALY, sheriff of Iron 
county, has been a well known citizen of 
Hurley since his coming there in 1886. He 
is a native of Wisconsin, having been born 
in Berlin, Green Lake county, Dec. 22,. 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RI^LCORi) 



133 



1858. His parents, John E. and Eliza 
(Higgs) Sealv, were natives, respectively, 
of Ireland and England. John E. Sealy, 
Sr., came to the United States when 
a young man and settled at Fond du Lac, 
Wis., where he found employment as a 
well driller. He follow^ed that occupation 
until his death, which occurred June 1, 
1873. His wife survived him only a year. 
They had a family of five children, all of 
whom but one are living, John E. being the 
third eldest. 

John E. Sealy attended the public 
schools in Fond du Lac until he was fifteen 
years old. He then went to work for a time 
as a well driller, after which he was em- 
ployed for a few years in a shingling mill. 
He next worked at various occupations until 
1886, when he came to Hurley. For the 
past fifteen years he has held some official 
position, much of the time being connected 
with the police force in different capacities. 
At one time he served as under sheriff for 
ex-Sheriff Frank Logan, and he was also 
game warden for Iron county. He w-as 
then chief of police until 1903, when he was 
elected sheriff" of Iron county, and at present 
he is filling the office of under sheriff for 
J. J. Defer. 

On ]\Iarch 22, 1885, Mr. Sealy married 
Nettie Trader, daughter of Henry and Al- 
vira (Thrusher) Trader. For many years 
Mr. Trader was a liveryman of New Lon- 
don, but he and his wife are now living on 
a farm in Outagamie county, Wis. Mrs. 
Sealy was the eldest of their family of six 
children. To Mr. and Mrs. Sealy have been 
born the following children : Florence, 
Earl, John, Maud, Marie and Clarence, at 
home, and Arthur, deceased. Mr. Sealy 
is a Republican in politics. Fraternally he 
is a member of the K. of P., Gogebic Lodge 
No. 88, of Hurley, and the A. O. U. W., 
Northern Lodge No. 51, of Hurley. 

GEORGE D. CLINE, editor of the 
Trv.c RcpithUcaii, of Hudson, Wis., is a son 
of John and Mary (McjNIanus) Cline, of 
Mercer county. Pa. The father was a farmer 
in Pennsvlvania until 1851. when, belie\-ing 



that the West offered better opportunities 
for a man with a family, he crossed the 
State of Wisconsin from Milwaukee, a dis- 
tance of 225 miles, by team, to Hazel Green 
when the land was all a wilderness. He did 
not locate there, but retraced his journey 
a few miles to Fayette, where he purchased 
250 acres of prairie land and started to make 
a home. Later five brothers joined him and 
they all settled in the same neighborhood. 
He improved his farm and continued to 
operate it until 1888, when he retired. He 
is still alive at the advanced age of eighty- 
seven years. His wife passed away in De- 
cember, 1891. They had seven children: 
Margaret, deceased ; Sarah, who lives at 
Fayette; John T., who lives at Lament; 
George D. ; Melvina, who lives in Iowa; 
Fannie, who lives in Fayette; Melissa, who 
lives at Darlington. John Cline was a Dem- 
ocrat, and served faithfully as town treas- 
urer, assessor and upon the county board, 
being a man of prominence and responsibil- 
ity, and he still takes a great interest in local 
affairs. In religion he is a good Methodist, 
and has lived up to the creed he professes. 

George D. Cline received his early edu- 
cation in the home schools, later attending 
the State University, from which he was 
graduated in the class of 1872. In 1876 he 
took a special course and received the degree 
of A. M. He then taught school for two 
years and was editor of the Mineral Point 
Tribune, when in 1876 he removed to Hud- 
son, Wis., and purchased the Tnie Republi- 
can, a weekly paper owned by John E. Glo- 
ver. This paper was founded in 1871 by 
I\I. i\. and D. C. Fulton, and is one of the 
oldest in this section of the country. Mr. 
Cline has conducted it since 1876, and it 
now has a circulation of 960. This paper is 
conducted along Democratic lines, and is 
staunch in its support of party candidates 
and platforms. For sixteen years Mr. Cline 
was superintendent of the school of Hudson, 
was postmaster from 1894 to 1898, and has 
always taken a very active part in town af- 
fairs and party matters. 

On March 12, 1878, he was married to 
]Miss ]Mary E. Thompson, of Freeport, 111., 



134 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPIIICAL RECORD 



and one daughter was born to them, Gene- 
vieve E., who graduated from the State 
University in 1905. Mr. CHne is one of the 
best known men in Saint Croix county, 
and has many warm friends tliroughout this 
section, who not only admire him personal- 
ly, but recognize his ability and defer to his 
excellent judgment and thorough education. 

JOHN H. VAUGHN, a well-known at- 
torney of Superior, Douglas county, is one 
of the self-made men of that city. He was 
born in Dubuque. Iowa, Sept. 11, 1865, son 
of Patrick and Bridget (Brady) Vaughn, 
natives respectively, of County Clare and 
County Galway, Ireland. 

The parents of John H. Vaughn came to 
the United States in 1848 and located in 
New Orleans, the father becoming mate 
and later captain on steamers navigating 
the Mississippi river and all its principal 
branches. From New Orleans he moved to 
Memphis, and in 1857 went to Dubuque, 
where he learned the trade of currier. His 
last years were spent on a farm at Osage, 
Mitchell Co., Iowa, where he died in 1888. 
His widow still survives him, aged seventy 
years. Her parents came with her to New. 
Orleans and died there of yellow fever soon 
after their arrival. 

John H. Vaughn attended the public 
schools in Mitchell county, Iowa, and the 
Cedar Valley Seminary at Osage, graduat- 
ing in 1888. He taught at intervals pre- 
vious to his graduation, and soon after be- 
gan the study of law with F. F. Coffin, one 
of the oldest attorneys of Osage. Mr. 
Vaughn was admitted to the bar in the Su- 
preme Court of Iowa in 1890, and practiced 
at Osage until June, 1891, when he settled 
in Superior, where he has ever since been in 
general practice. For a time he was a part- 
ner of C. J. Monson, then district attorney 
for Douglas county, and later was with 
P. H. O'Brien, and since 1899 has had his 
own office. Mr. Vaughn is in every sense 
a self-made man. He earned his own edu- 
cation without assistance from anyone, walk- 
ing twenty-five miles to reach Osage Semi- 
nary and working for his board while study- 



ing there. He came to West Superior with- 
out capital, friends or influence and has won 
his way entirely by his own efforts. In po- 
litical sympathy Air. Vaughn is a Demo- 
crat; in the campaign uf 1896 stumped the 
northern part of Wisconsin in the interests 
of W. J. Bryan, and was a delegate to the 
National Populist convention at St. Louis 
in 1896. He was the Democratic candidate 
for district atorney in 1892 and greatly re- 
duced the immense Republican majority in 
the county, being defeated by a majority of 
only thirty-seven. 

On August 20, 1 90 1, Mr. Vaughn was 
married to Frances A. Harris, a native of 
Iowa, daughter of W. H. and America Har- 
ris, of West Superior. Mr. and Mrs. 
Vaughn are communicants of the Catholic 
Church. Mr. Vaughn is a member of the 
M. W. A., the I. O. F., the I. O. R. M., 
the B. P. O. E., and is president of the West 
Superior Aerie No. 80, the Eagles, and a 
member of the Knights of Columbus. 

FRANK P. STEVENS, one of the 
early settlers in Northern Wisconsin, in 
1866 came to Black River Falls, Jackson 
Co., Wis., which was then just opening up. 
His birth occurred in Luzerne county, Pa., 
in 1852, and until he was five years of age 
his parents remained there, but at that time 
his mother died and his father moved to De 
Kalb county. 111., and bought a farm. About 
one year later his father also died and the 
two sons, Frank and George, remained with 
their grandparents for about eight years, till 
the death of the latter. 

During this period Mr. Stevens profited 
by the country schools of the neighborhood 
until he was fourteen years of age, when, 
with his brother George and other relatives, 
he came to Wisconsin, as before stated. A 
year later he entered a lumber camp on 
Black river and worked there for several 
years, then going to the lumbering region 
of the Chippewa river, Chippewa county. 
He commenced working there in a lumber 
camp for Hon. Mark Douglas, and later on 
took charge of the log and river driving and 
continued the same for several years. In 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



135- 



1886 he commenced logging for himself and 
continued with good success till 1897. when 
his health became much impaired and he 
had to give up the logging business after 
passing a period of thirty winters in the 
lumber camp on Black and Chippewa riv- 
ers. In 1899 he built a sawmill on .Vmacog 
Lake which he still operates, and iiis home 
is there also, on a farm. His farm, which is 
one of the best in Rusk county, has a hue 
location. He built there first in 1884, in- 
tending to make it his permanent home. 

Mr. Stevens was married in 1884 to 
lona L. Ide, who died in 1897. He has four 
children, viz. : Lee, Burt, Mae and Gladys. 

JAMES ALEC PATTERSON, M. D.. 
a rising young physician of Iron River, 
Bayfield county, who is daily working him- 
self into an ever increasing practice and rep- 
utation, is a native of Canada, bom in Port 
Elgin in 1865, and has been from his very 
birth in a professional atmosphere. 

Dr. James Rae Patterson, father of 
James A., was himself a distinguished phy- 
sician, and the son probably inherits the tal- 
ent for his work. The father was born in 
Dumfriesshire, Scotland, was educated first 
in the public schools of his native land, and 
then matriculated at Queens University, 
Royale, being graduated from its literary 
and medical departments. Pie entered upon 
the practice of his profession at Port Elgin, 
where he has continued to the present time. 
A fluent writer and thoroughly conversant 
with medical subjects, he has been a fre- 
quent contributor to the medical press. 

Dr. James Alec Patterson passed his 
boyhood in Port Elgin, attending the public 
schools. At the Walkerton high school he 
fitted himself for Queens University, and 
after completing the literary course there 
he matriculated at the medical annex, the 
Royale College, in 1883, where he remained 
four years, including the summer sessions. 
being graduated in 1887. He immediately 
presented himself before the board for ex- 
amination, received his license to practice, 
and entered into a partnership with his 
father at Port El sin. 



.After three years' valuable ex[)crience' 
with liis father. Dr. Patterson left Port El- 
gin and went to Killarney, Manitoba, where 
he practiced by himself for five years, and' 
tlien in the spring of 1895 located at Iron 
Ri\er. He has met with the success which 
his industiy and ability deserve, and his. 
practice has steadily increased until it cov- 
ers a wide area of country. Dr. Patterson 
has always been a keen student in his pro- 
fession, reading the best medical journals 
and keeping thoroughly abreast of all the 
new thought in his line of work. 

In addition to his professional interests 
Dr. Patterson takes an active part in fra- 
ternal organizations, is a Mason and belongs 
also til the Iron River Camp of the M. W. 
of A. and to the I. O. O. F. 

WILLIAM ROBERT FANNING is 
recognized as one of the most successful and 
public-spirited citizens of Superior. Prob- 
ably no other man in that progressive city 
has been identified with so many important 
business enterprises and other undertakings 
which have tended to promote its phenome- 
nal growth and development. Possessed of 
remarkable native ability, together withr 
broad and comprehensive ideas and a wide 
range of experience, he was enabled to an- 
ticipate the possibilities of the embryo city, 
as well as man}' of its future needs, and he 
has accomplished more in a few short years 
than it is possible for most individuals to 
crowd into a long lifetime. 

Mr. Fanning is a native of the Province 
of Ontario, Canada, and was born at Ash- 
ton, Carleton county, April 24, i860. His 
parents, Daniel and Jane (Daily) Fanning, 
were natives of the counties of Lanark and 
Carleton, respectively, and both his grand- 
fathers, James Fanning and James Daily, 
came from County Wexford, Ireland, early 
in the nineteenth century, settling in Can- 
ada, where they became prosperous farmers. 
Daniel Fanning was engaged in a mercan- 
tile business for many years at Ashton, but 
now lives in retirement at Carleton Junc- 
tion, Ontario. 

William R. Fannins: bes'an life in rather 



136 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



humble circumstances, but acquired a high 
school education in Carleton Place. At the 
age of sixteen years he went to New York 
City, where he gained his first experience in 
the business world in a lumber yard, where 
he was employed for about six months. Re- 
turning to his native place he spent some 
time in his father's store, and at the age of 
nineteen went to Manitoba, where he en- 
tered the employ of the government as a 
surveyor; subsequently he dealt in real es- 
tate in Winnipeg. Owing to the rapid de- 
preciation of property at that place a few 
years later he went to Lucknow, Ont., and 
secured employment for a time in a dry- 
goods store. 

In 1885 Mr. Fanning reached Superior, 
then an obscure frontier village, but pos- 
sessing natural advantages which he readily 
perceived and appreciated. Being without 
capital at the time, he secured employment 
in stores for two years, and for two years 
more served as city clerk. During this time 
he became manager of the Superior & Du- 
luth Loan and Debenture Co., now known 
as the Northern Trust Co., in which he is 
still interested. After giving his personal 
attention, for about three years, to the busi- 
ness of the concern, he became a stockholder 
in the Land & River Improvement Co., with 
which corporation he has ever since been 
identified. For several years he was treas- 
urer and general manager of the institution, 
during which time improvements were 
made in the city and harbor on a stupendous 
scale, more than two and a half millions of 
dollars being expended in a single season 
upon streets, buildings and docks. Among 
the most conspicuous buildings still con- 
trolled by the company are the Board of 
Trade building and the "West Superior 
Hotel." All the buildings owned by the 
company are of brick, put up in modern 
style and with up-to-date conveniences. 
During his active connection with this com- 
pany a very liberal policy was pursued 
toward investors, and many of the most im- 
portant enterprises which have contributed 
toward the upbuilding of the city were in- 
duced to locate therein. Under Mr. Fan- 



ning"s management a site was donated for 
St. Mary's Hospital, which has become one 
of the most famous .institutions in the north- 
west for the treatment of invalids, and, like 
many of the other establishments referred 
to, is a credit to the city. 

Aside from his connection with the 
above corporation Mr. Fanning has indi- 
vidually made some very jwdicious invest- 
ments in real estate. He is a stockholder 
in the Empire Building Co., which owns one 
of the finest building blocks in the city, and 
he helped to organize the Board of Trade 
at Superior, of which body he has been 
president since 1888. He helped to organ- 
ize the Twohy Mercantile Co., the largest 
wholesale grocery establishment in the city, 
and still retains an interest therein. In 1894 
he purchased a large stock of merchandise 
which he sold two years later, but in the 
following year he repurchased a controlling 
interest and organized the Spicer-Fanning 
Co., which has since conducted the leading 
department store of the city, employing 
about sixty-fi\'e people in its operation. 
Most of the enterprises to which he has 
given his personal attention have been high- 
ly successful and his business integrity has 
never been questioned. 

In July, 1897, Mr. Fanning was mar- 
ried to Jilrs. Emma Walbridge, daughter of 
J. I. Broeftle, a prominent business man of 
Cumberland, Wis., now deceased. Mrs. 
Fanning was born at Belleville, Ont. She 
and her husband are members of the Epis- 
copal Church and are popular in the social 
life at the Head of the Lakes. Mr. Fanning 
is a Knight Templar Mason, and in political 
sentiment has always been a Republican. 

WILLIAM ANDERSON, one of the 
leading business men of the village of 
Grantsburg, Wis., president and one ii the 
organizers of the Grantsburg Loan. Title & 
Realty Co., stockholder in the Hickerson 
Rolling Mills and the Farmers' Starch Co., 
and one of the directors of the First Bank 
of Grantsburg, was one of the organizers of 
that village. Mr. Anderson was born in 
Sweden Feb. 15, 1852, son of Andrew and 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



137 



Anna (Swenson) Anderson, natives of that 
country. 

Andrew Anderson was a farmer in his 
native country, where he died in 1870. After 
the death of her husband Mrs. Anderson 
came, in 1871, to the United States, living 
in Burnett county. Wis., until her death, 
which occurred i\Iarch 18, 1893. She was 
a member of the Lutheran Church in her na- 
tive country, but after coming to America 
embraced the faith of the M. E. Church. 
She and her husband were the parents of 
eleven children, three of whom still survive : 
William, our subject; John, who lives in 
Burnett county, four miles north of Grants- 
burg, engaged in farming, and Charlotta, 
who married J. H. Staufiford, and lives at 
Fergus Falls, Minnesota. 

William Anderson had little chance for 
an education, having to go seven miles to 
school. After completing his education he 
learned boot and shoe fitting, which he fol- 
lowed until coming to America. In 1869 
he located in St. Paul, Minn., where he re- 
mained until the fall of 1877, in that year 
locating in Grantsburg, Wis. He first 
worked in the woods, where he had pur- 
chased some land, engaging in the logging 
business, in which he continued until 1893, 
floating his logs to Stillwater, Minn., by the 
St. Croix river. He also bought and sold 
land. He lived for a time in Marshland, 
Wis., where he served as chairman of the 
town board. 

Mr. Anderson married, in 1886, Miss 
Minnie Eliason, a native of Norway, who 
came with her parents to the United States 
in infancy. Peter and Helen Eliason were 
natives of Norway, and were early settlers 
of Burnett county, Wis. Both now live 
near Seattle, Wash. To ]\Ir. and Mrs. An- 
derson have been born five children : Walter, 
the eldest, who died Nov. 18, 1893; Pearl 
Helen, who is attending high school ; Ruth 
Violetta ; Hazel Adeline, and Corinne Joy. 

After locating in Grantsburg Mr. An- 
derson engaged in the real estate business, 
dealing extensively in farm land. He also 
built several stores in Grantsburg. He was 
one of the organizers of the Grantsburg 
Lo: n, Title & Realty Co., organized in May, 



1902, with the following officers: William 
Anderson, president; A. P. Nelson, secre- 
tary, and William Anderson, A. P. Nelson, 
Ole Anderson, Andrew Peterson and T. C. 
Farmen, directors. Mr. Anderson also holds 
a one-fourth interest in the Hickerson Roll- 
ing Mills, of Grantsburg, is a stockholder in 
the Farmers' Starch Co., and one of the 
directors of the First Bank of Grantsburg. 
He has represented the village on the county 
board, of which he was chairman. He was 
one of the organizers of the village of 
Grantsburg, was police justice for several 
years, and was a member of the board of 
trustees of the village. He has been very 
active in all political movements of the vil- 
lage and county. Politically he is a stanch 
Republican. Fraternally he is connected 
with the Masons, being a member of Blue 
Lodge, No. 244, of Grantsburg, and is also 
a member of the Modern Woodmen of 
America. Mr. Anderson is a consistent 
member of the M. E. Church, was one of 
the builders of the church edifice, and has 
been \ery active in the congregation. His 
home, conveniently situated, is one of the 
finest in Grantsburg. He is a most excel- 
lent man and commands the respect and es- 
teem of all with whom he is associated and 
acquainted. 

WALTER VAN BRUNT has been 
identified with the active business interests 
of Duluth for many years, and in several 
different lines. He was the first clerk of the 
city, was one of the incorporators of the 
Duluth Board of Trade, has been a stock- 
holder in various important commercial en- 
terprises, and, in fact, there is hardly a 
phase of the city's development in which his 
influence has not been felt. Mr. Van Brunt 
was born May 21, 1846, in Beloit, Wis., son 
of Samuel T. Van Brunt and grandson of 
Joseph Van Brunt, a native of Holland, 
who came to the United States, settling in 
New Jersey. He was a seafaring man. His 
last years were spent with his son in Beloit, 
Wis., where he died at the age of about 
eighty, but his wife died in the East. 

Samuel T. Van Brunt was born in Gen- 
eva, N. Y., and grew to manhood in his 



138 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



native State, learning tlie trade of carpenter 
there. Soon after his marriage, in about 
1844, lie came West and located at Beloit, 
Wis., where he remained for several 3'ears, 
putting up many buildings in that place. 
In 1855 he removed thence to Faribault, 
Minn., where he was engaged in business as 
a general merchant until his death, which 
occurred in 1869, when he was aged forty- 
seven years. Mr. Van Brunt devoted his 
entire time to business, caring little or noth- 
ing for public affairs so far as active partici- 
pation in such matters was concerned. He 
married Adaline M. Nash, who was born in 
Penn Yan, N. Y., daughter of Hiram and 
Sarah Nash, the former of whom died in 
Penn Yan, N. Y., at the age of fifty-six. 
Mrs. Nash survived her husband some years 
dying at St. Anthony, Minn., at an ad- 
vanced age. Mrs. Van Brunt's death oc- 
curred in Duluth in 1886, when she was 
sixty years of age. She was the mother of 
two children, Walter and Henry, both of 
whom are residents of Duluth. 

During his boyhood Walter Van Brunt 
attended the public schools and Seabury Mis- 
sion, an Episcopalian institution at Fari- 
bault, Minn., under the supervision of Bishop 
Whipple. His business instincts devel- 
oped early, as from the age of twelve years 
he speculated in a small way, his transac- 
tions gradually increasing in volume until 
he was an extensive dealer in produce and 
other articles, most of his goods being trans- 
ported by team to and from Hastings, the 
nearest steamboat landing. In the mean- 
time, in order to perfect himself in business 
methods, he had taken a course at Bryant 
& Stratton's Commercial College in St. 
Paul, in which city he subsequently found 
employment in different commercial estab- 
lishments. After his father's death he took 
charge of the business at Faribault, and on 
closing out same, in the spring of 1869, 
came to Duluth, where he was first em- 
ployed in a hardware store just opened by 
his uncle, Edgar Nash. Mr. Nash carried 
on business in Duluth for a number of 
years and is now a resident of Minneapolis. 
Mr. Van Brunt continued with his uncle 



for several years, and when Mr. Nash dis- 
posed of the hardware business our subject 
continued an insurance agency started by 
that gentleman. A year or two later he en- 
tered into a partnership with C. H. Graves, 
under the firm name of C. H. Graves & Co., 
and this connection lasted until December, 
1895, when it was dissolved. Besides carry- 
ing" on an extensive real estate and insur- 
ance business, this firm dealt in salt, lime 
and cement, leasing what was known as the 
"outside dock" for several years. In 1885 
they built the first permanent dock on Lake 
avenue, and they continued in this line for 
several years longer. Their first office was 
at No. 18 West Superior street, and later 
they were at Nos. 19-21 West Superior, 
subsequently removing to the Board of 
Trade building, now the site of the Lons- 
dale building, and still later to the Palladio 
building. Since the dissolution of the part- 
nership Mr. Van Brunt has had an office in 
the Exchange building. The first office of 
Edgar Nash was at what is now No. 3 
West Superior street. The firm of C. FI. 
Graves & Co. was interested in the Lhr.on 
Improvement & Elevator Co., which built 
the first grain elevator in Duluth, since re- 
stroyed by fire. 

Mr. Van Brunt's interests, however, 
were not confined to the operations 
of the firm of C. H. Graves & Co. He was 
one of the incorporators of the Duluth 
Board of Trade and retained his member- 
ship until 1902. He was an early investor 
in Duluth real estate, has bought and sold 
a great deal of property and still has hold- 
ings of considerable value, handling a large 
amount of property and insurance. He was 
one of the original stockholders in a number 
of nnportant concerns, notably the Duluth 
Dry Goods Company, the Duluth Drug 
Company, the Duluth Crockery Company, 
the Duluth Blast Furnace Co., the "Spalding 
Hotel," etc. In 1881 he organized the Du- 
luth Telephone Company, of which he was 
manager until the year 1896, when he sold 
his mterest. 

While working with his uncle Mr. Van 
Brunt was chosen city clerk, the first in Du- 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



139 



luth, and he held the oflice for several years. 
His first two montlis' salary was expended 
in the purchase of a g-old watch, which he 
still carries. After considerable argument 
he prevailed upon the council to authorize 
the purchase of a suitable ec|uipment of rec- 
ord books, so that he could open the ac- 
counts of the city in a systematic manner, 
and all the municipal records are therefore 
accessible. The wisdom of this course has 
again and again been demonstrated during 
the intervening years, and Mr. Van Brunt 
is entitled to no small amount of credit for 
his forethought and perseverance in this par- 
ticular. He proved a competent official in 
every way and was retained in the office for 
several years. 

Mr. Van Brunt has numerous social con- 
nections. He was a charter member of Pal- 
estine Lodge, A. F. & A. M., and is also 
affiliated with Keystone Chapter; Duluth 
Council, Xo. 18; Duluth Commandery, K. 
T. ; Duluth Consistory, No. 3, and Osnian 
Temple, A. A. O. N. M. S., at St. Paul. 
He has a life membership in all these organi- 
zations. He is also a member of the Veter- 
an Masonic Association of Minnesota, of 
the Old Settlers' Association of Minnesota, 
of the Old Settlers' Association at the Head 
of Lake Superior, of the Duluth Commercial 
Club and an original member of the Kitchi 
Gammi Club, the leading social organization 
of the city. He has always been a Republi- 
can in political sentiment, but never an 
active partisan. 

In February, 1871, Mr. Van Brunt was 
married to Miss Mary A. Saxton, daughter 
of Llorace Saxton, a prominent pioneer citi- 
zen of Duluth, and two children have been 
born to this union: Addie M., now the wife 
of C. M. Mauseau, of Duluth, and Horace, 
who died when nine years old. Mrs. Van 
Brunt is a native of Toledo, Ohio. 

HON. JAMES HERMAN AGEN is 
one of the best known citizens of Superior, 
has been closely identified with the growth 
and progress of that phenomenal city and has, 
doubtless, contributed more than any other 
individual citizen toward the development 



of the agricultural resources of Douglas 
county and northern Wisconsin. He is in 
every sense a self-made man, having won 
his way in the world from early childhood 
with but limited educational advantages and 
no financial assistance, until now he ranks 
among the foremost citizens in this part of 
the State. 

Mr. Agen was born at Montpelier, Vt., 
April 29, 1847, so'i oi David and Elizabeth 
(Donahan) Agen. The father came from 
County Wexford, Ireland, where the ances- 
tral home of the Agens has now been in the 
possession of the family for more than cen- 
tury and a half. He settled in Montpelier, 
whence in 1850 he removed to Wyoming 
county, N. Y., where his death occurred at 
the age of fifty-five years. For ten or twelve 
years he was affiicted with blindness, but re- 
covered his sight some time before his death. 
He was a member of the Catholic Church 
and a Democrat in political sentiment. He 
filled some local offices and exerted consider- 
able influence in his community. His wife 
survived him until 1896, when she 
passed away at the age of seventy- 
three years. She was born in Scot- 
land and was the mother of eight 
chiUlren, one of whom died in infancy, 
and five of whom are still living. ( i ) Thom- 
as lives at Arcade, N. Y. ; (2) Nicholas D. 
lives at Eagle, N. Y. ; (3) John is a suc- 
cessful wholesale produce dealer residing in 
Seattle, Wash., and conducting establish- 
ments at a number of places on the Pacific 
coast. He has been a pioneer in his line of 
business at several of the leading points in 
Alaska, Juneau, Dawson City, Cape Nome 
and others, and has met with great success, 
becoming very wealthy ; he is most liberal 
toward the poor; (4) Jennie is the wife of 
J. L. Brennan, of Osage, Iowa, which place 
was also the home of (5) David and (6) 
Mary (Mrs. F. A. W'illey), who are both 
deceased; (7) James H. completes the 
family. 

At the age of nine years James H. Agen 
left home and began life as a farm laborer, 
spending six years with one employer. 
L'pon the outbreak of the Civil war he was 



I40 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



fired with a patriotic desire to assist in the 
defense of the government, and though he 
was only fifteen years old, in the fall of 
1862 he enlisted in Wadsworth's Guards 
and spent five months in the service of the 
State, but was discharged on account of his 
youth when the regiment was mustered into 
the service of the United States. In the 
following August he enlisted in Company 
C, 130th N. Y. V. I., but after remaining 
in camp for a time at Portage Bridge, was 
again rejected from the service. He was 
not discouraged in his ambition to serve 
his country and in Februar}^, 1864, went to 
Lockport, N. Y., and again tendered his 
services. Having ridden thither in a box 
car he had contracted a severe cold and was 
rejected as having unsound lungs by the 
examining surgeon. Nothing daunted, he 
worked for his board in a hotel until he had 
recovered his health, and upon re-examina- 
tion he was mustered into Company C, 
First New York Dragoons. 

In ten days from that time Mr. Agen 
was facing the enemy on the banks of the 
Rapidan. He took part in engagements at 
Pine Mountain, Old Chancellorsville and 
five days of the fight in the Wilderness, 
where his horse was shot under him after 
be was detailed to watch the prisoners taken 
by General I\Ieade at Belle Plain, and later 
at Arlington Heights. He rejoined his 
regiment in the Shenandoah Valley in time 
to participate in the battle of Winchester, 
where his second horse was shot. The horse 
fell upon his right leg and held him a pris- 
oner for several hours, during which time 
lie was wounded in the left leg by a bursting 
shell. He was finally released from his po- 
sition by two wounded comrades, Capt. 
Godfrey and Sergt. Whitehouse, though the 
latter was himself fatally injured. With his 
right hip dislocated and his left leg bleeding 
from his wounds, Mr. Agen mounted the 
nearest horse, which chanced to be one that 
was hobbling on three legs, and reached the 
camp of the 9th N. Y. V. I., where he was 
sheltered in the major's tent and next day 
was taken to the temporary hospital which 
had been established in a church in Win- 



chester. Owing to its crowded condition he 
found he could not receive attention until 
the next day and started for the wagon train 
with a view to joining his regiment. After 
numerous delays he reached camp two days 
later and was cared for by the regimental 
surgeon. Dr. Kneeland, who is still living at 
Nunda, N. Y. A dozen or more pieces of 
shell were removed from his wound and he 
remained for some time in the field hospital 
near Gen. Devan's headquarters. When 
Gen. Early made his famous attack on 
Sheridan's camp at Cedar Creek, Mr. Agen 
was mounted on a donkey by a friendly 
negro and succeeded in keeping out of dan- 
ger. In the course of the day he met Gen. 
Sheridan on his famous ride and cleared the 
pike for him to pass. The animal which he 
rode also carried a quantity of baggage, in- 
cluding a field glass, which enabled him to 
get a good view of the day's engagement. 
When sufficiently recovered he rejoined his 
regiment and served throughout the cam- 
paign in the Shenandoah Valley, receiving 
his final discharge July 17, 1865. The fol- 
lowing letter, written by Mrs. Abraham 
Eincoln, was received by the mother of Mr. 
Agen, while he was lying in the hospital 
in 1864: 

Camp Bell Flospital. 
Washington, D. C., Aug. 10, 1864. 
My Dear Mrs. Agen, 
Eagle, N. Y. : 
As I am sitting by the side of your dear 
boy I will write you for him. He is sick 
and wounded but is getting along nicely. 
tie says don't worry about him as he will 
come out all right. 

Yours in love, 
Mrs. Abraham Lincoln. 
In the spring of 1866 Mr. Agen went 
to Osage, Iowa, and entered the employ of 
a mercantile firm to which he had loaned 
all of his meager savings. The failure of 
the firm a few months later left him penni- 
less and he went to work on a farm to get 
another start. He persevered and was ena- 
bled in a little while to start a draying busi- 
ness, with which he subsequently combined 
a grain and commission line. He was some- 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



141 



times obliged to practice the strictest dili- 
gence and economy, but persevered, and his 
business soon became prosperous. He also 
dealt in lumber for a time. He served sev- 
eral years as a member of the county board 
of Mitchell county, was on the school 
board for six years, was alderman in Osage 
two years and was president of the Mitchell 
County Agricultural Society for two years. 

In 1887 Mr. Agen located in West Su- 
perior, which place then contained about 
300 inhabitants, there being but seven 
buildings on Tower avenue (now the prin- 
cipal business street of the town) when he 
arrived. He at once began dealing in real 
estate on an extensive scale and has con- 
tinued that enterprise ever since. He has 
platted and subdivided several additions in 
West Superior and South Superior and 
erected many buildings, including two of 
the most conspicuous business blocks in the 
city. Besides city property he handles large 
tracts of farm and timber lands. He also 
does considerable insurance business and has 
invested to some extent in Iowa and Texas 
lands. He took an active part in reorganiz- 
ing the West Superior Chamber of Com- 
merce, now known as the Commercial Club, 
and was the first president of the reorgan- 
ized body. He also organized the Douglas 
County Agricultural Society, of which he 
was president for several years, and organ- 
ized similar associations in some of the 
other counties. In 1894, at his own ex- 
pense, he made a collection of Douglas 
county products which he took to Milwau- 
kee and exhibited at the State Fair, winning 
first premium for the best collection of agri- 
cultural products from any single county in 
the State, and demonstrating the wonderful 
possibilities of the county for development 
in that direction. 

In political principle Mr. Agen has al- 
ways been an active Republican, and few 
citizens of Superior have exerted as marked 
an influence ui local and State affairs as he. 
He served tw(T years in the city council and 
was very nearly elected mayor at one time. 
In 1897 '^^^^ 1898 he represented his district 
in the State Assembv, where he was dis- 



tinguished for his advocacy of useful legis- 
lation ; he drafted and introduced the North- 
ern Wisconsin Emigration Bill, and secured 
the passage of a measure establishing the 
Northern Wisconsin State Fair at Chip- 
pewa Falls, subsequently serving two terms 
as president of that organization ; at the next 
legislative term he was elected sergeant at 
arms of the Assembly. He has twice been 
a delegate to the National Deep Water Ways 
convention, held respectively in Washing- 
ton and Detroit. 

Fraternally Mr. Agen is a charter mem- 
ber of Alonzo Palmer Post, No. 170, G. A. 
R., in which he is a past commander and is 
past commander of the Department of Wis- 
consin to which position he was elected in 
1902. He has served three terms on the 
staff of the National Commander, with the 
rank of Colonel. He is a Knight Templar 
Mason, and among the other fraternal or- 
ganizations with which he is connected may 
be mentioned the I. O. O. F., the A. O. U. 
W., the I. O. F. and the Legion of Honor, of 
Iowa. In every social and business relation 
"Colonel" Agen, as he is commonly called 
by his associates, has proven himself worthy 
of their confidence and he has acquitted him- 
self with credit in the interests which he rep- 
resented. In all his real estate transactions 
he has never been involved in a law suit. 

In 1869 Tames H. Agen was married 
to Eliza L., daughter of L. S. Hart, a prom- 
inent citizen of Osage, Iowa, and the first 
sheriff of Mitchell county where his father, 
Stephen Hart, was the first settler. Mrs. 
Agen was born at Centerville, Mich., and 
is the mother of three daughters and two 
sons, Belle, Roy J., Millie B., Grace M. and 
Earl V. The eldest son, who is a graduate 
of Shattuck Military School at Faribault, 
■Minn., and of Curtis Business College, Min- 
neapolis, is his father's partner in the real 
estate and insurance business in the firm of 
James Agen & Co., whose books show a 
record of over five million dollars worth of 
real estate sold at the Head of the Lakes 
since 1887. All the family have enjoyed the 
best social and educational advantages and 
are connected with the ]\Iethodist Church. 



142 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



H. L. WILLIAMS, president of tlic 
Cumberland Land Co., and a large dealer in 
and expert in real estate-, is one of the prom- 
inent citizens of Cumberland, Barron Co., 
Wis. He was born March 30, 1S50, in Sus- 
quehanna county, Penn., a son of Stephen 
U. and Almira (McKune) Williams, the 
former, a native of New York, and the latter 
of Pennsylvania. 

The father of Mr. Williams was a law- 
yer by profession, but failing health com- 
pelled him to seek another occupation. In 
1852 he went to Princeton, 111., traveled as 
a salesman for some three years, then went 
to Pierce County, Wis., four miles from 
River Falls, later to Osceola, Wis., where he 
lived for many years, and then returned to 
Princeton, where his wife died in 1864. In 
1895 Mr. Williams went back to his nati\-e 
State. During his professional career he 
was widely known, both as an orator and a 
wise counsellor, and held many positions of 
honor and trust. For a long period he was 
probate judge and was considered of much 
prominence on the Bench and at the Bar. 
He was a consistent member of the Baptist 
Church, while his wife belonged to the Epis- 
copal Church. They had six children, as 
follows: Londesky B., Esther, Pauline and 
Susan, all deceased ; Hiram L. ; and Caroline, 
wife of H. C. Doolittle, of Cumberland, 
Wisconsin. 

Mr. Williams's boyhood gave him little 
chance of schooling, as the locality in which 
his father settled had not yet advanced far 
enough to provide schools convenient to the 
scattered homesteads. All the opportunities 
he had were ii: a log school house situated 
some three or four miles from his home. 
When he was about twelve years old he went 
to Amboy, 111., where he attended school for 
two years, and then to Cameron, Minn., 
and to other places, engaged in looking after 
stock. In 1865 and 1866 he went to North 
and South Dakota and then back to Osceola, 
W'is., where he went into the lumbering 
business, in which he was engaged until 
1879, settling in Cumberland, Wis., at that 
date. He served as foreman in the pineries 
for dilTerent companies and also did some 



surveying and jobbing in the woods, and for 
a number of years was estimator of pine 
lands. 

I'^jr seven years after locating at Cum- 
berland, Mr. Williams followed lumbering 
for G. G. Cook & Co., of Minneapolis, prior 
to this having had charge of the North 
Cumberland Lumber Co. Since 1900, in 
association with S. R. Eraser, of Mankato, 
Minn., he has had charge of the Cumberland 
Land Co.'s office at this point. They man- 
age about seventeen thousand acres of land 
in Burnett, Barron, Polk and Washburn 
counties. In addition to his lumbering" inter- 
ests, Mr. Williams owns a fine farm of 200 
acres at West Cumberland, W'is., 130 of 
which is finely improved, Mr. Williams hav- 
ing made all the improvements himself. It 
is mainly devoted to stock raising. Mr. 
Williams ship])ed the first car load of cattle 
ever sent from Cumberland to St. Paul. Al- 
though he was hampered in youth by adverse 
conditions, through his own energy and 
ability he has made his life a financial suc- 
cess. He has a)so gained public esteem and 
has been called upon on many occasions to 
accept local office. He has been assessor, 
chairman of the county board of supervisors, 
and has been a most earnest and effective 
worker on the school board. In politics he 
supported the Republican party for many 
years, but since 1887 has been identified with 
the Prohibition party. 

At St. Croix Falls in 1870, Mr. Will- 
iams was married to Laura E. Sevey, of 
Taylors Falls, Minn., and five children were 
born to this union : Lewis, now in Califor- 
nia : Ida. wife of William Bruffle, of Lake- 
land, Wis. ; Ralph, a cattleman in Wyoming; 
]\Iarilla. deceased : and Warren, at home. 
The mother of this family died June 24. 
1884. Mr. Williams married (second) 
Emma D. Sevey, a sister of his first wife, 
and one son has been born, named for his 
father. 

Mr. Williams is fraternally associated 
with the A. O. U. ^^'. In religious 
views he is a Methodist. Probably few citi- 
zens of the coimtv have a more thorough 
knowledge of land and lumber values in 



COMIMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



143 



this section than has JMr. W'ilHams. Years 
have been de\-cted to the study of the re- 
sources of all this territory, and his opinion 
is that of an expert. Personally Mr. Will- 
iams is a most courteous gentleman to meet, 
and his conversation gives the visitor new 
ideas of the vast surrounding regions and of 
the difficulties with which the early settlers 
had to contend. 

MAJOR ALFRED SURRANEOUS 
EATON, a well known business man of Su- 
perior, Douglas county, and a veteran of the 
great Civil war who saw much acti\-c service 
therein, represents an old New England fam- 
ily, many members of which have been dis- 
tinguished for patriotic service in behalf of 
the nation. Both his grandfathers were 
members of the Continental army during 
the stirring days that "tried men's souls," 
and four of his brothers, as well as himself, 
cheerfully responded to the call of their 
country when rebellion theratened its de- 
struction. One of them, John A., lost his 
life upon the field of Petersburg. The par- 
ents of these valiant brethren were Eben and 
Hannah (Cross) Eaton, who lived and died 
upon a farm at Newbury, N. H., reaching 
the ages of sixty-three and sixty-four years, 
respectively. They were the parents of six 
sons : Albridge, now a citizen of Creston, 
Iowa; John A.; Alfred Surraneous and his 
twin brother, Albert Sylvanus, who now re- 
sides at Warner, N. H. ; Jesse W., of New- 
bury, in the same State; and Edwin, who 
was too young to enter the military service, 
and now lives at Vancouver, Washington. 

Alfred S. Eaton, whose name heads this 
article, was born in Newbury, Aug. 13, 
1840. He passed his boyhood upon the 
farm, receiving an academic education. 
When the news of the fall of Fort Sumter 
and the President's call for volunteers 
reached him, he lost no time in offering his 
services, and was enrolled April 30, 186 1, 
in Company H, 2d N. H. V. I. Upon the ex- 
piration of his ninety days in that organiza- 
tion, he re-enlisted in Co. H, loth N. H. V., 
and continued in service throughout the 
memorable conflict and until his final dis- 



charge, April 24, 1866. Most of this period 
was spent with the Army of the Potomac, 
and his meritorious conduct won regular 
promotions until he held the rank of Major 
in his regiment. Besides numerous minor 
engagements, he took part in the battles of 
Fredericksburg, Fort Royal, Honey Hill, 
Petersburg and James Island. At the last 
named place he commanded the color com- 
pany, seventeen men in which were killed in 
a single volley of the enemy's fire. Fie re- 
ceived a slight wound from a bullet which 
had passed through the body of one of his 
comrades. At Honey Hill he took from the 
pocket of a Confederate soldier who had 
fallen in the fight, a Testament, upon the fly 
leaf of which he found a note recjuesting the 
finder to forward it to his family in Alabama. 
This commission the Major was careful to 
carry out, and in due time had the satis- 
faction of receiving an acknowledgment of 
its recei[)t by the family. He had many 
other thrilling experiences, which cannot 
here be enumerated. 

After the restoration of peace, Major 
Eaton located at Black River Falls, Wis., 
where he carried on a mercantile business for 
five years. For fifteen years more he dealt 
in hard\vare at Greenwood, Clark county, 
in the same State, also conducting a general 
store for a time at Agenda, Ashland county. 
Thence he went to [Minnesota, and became 
interested in the North St. Paul Casket Com- 
pany, in which he is still a stockholder. After 
three years' residence at that place, in 1891, 
he became a resident of West Superior, 
which has since been his home. He conducts 
a general real estate, loan and fire insurance 
business, and long since established an en- 
viable reputation for business integrity and 
general probity of character. 

On Oct. 12, 1868, Major Eaton was 
nrirried to Miss Emma Brown, daughter 
of Peris Brown, Mr. Eaton's partner in busi- 
ness at Black River Falls. Mrs. Eaton was 
born at Marengo, 111., and is the mother of 
two living daughters: Viola Adell, now 
Mrs. Dudley W. Jones, of Black River Falls ; 
and Genevieve May, a student at the Su- 
perior State Normal School. The family 



144 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



is identified with the Congregational Church, 
and enjoys the best social advantages. Ma- 
jor Eaton has always been a leading spirit 
in the Grand Army of the Republic. While 
living in Greenwood he organized the John 

A. Eaton Post, No. 213, which was named 
in honor of his brother who fell a martyr 
to the cause of freedom as previously stated. 
He was commander of the Post during his 
residence at that place, and for ten years 
past has served as quartermaster of Alonzo 
ralmer Post No. 170, at Superior. He is 
also prominent in the Masonic fraternity, 
and besides being identified with the local 
Lodge and Chapter, he is captain general of 
Superior Commandery, No. 25, Knights 
Templar. Among other organizations in 
which he holds membership are the Knights 
of Honor and the Ancient Order of United 
Workmen. Few men can point to more hon- 
orable business or military careers, and none 
are held in higher regard by their associates. 

ROBERT B. McLEAN was among 
the earliest pioneers in Superior, Douglas 
Co., Wis., and has been connected with 
numerous public improvements in that city. 

Mr. McLean was born in Geneseo, Liv- 
ingston Co., N. Y., Oct. 15, 1832. He was 
a son of Robert and Margaret McLean, 
natives of County Antrim, Ireland, who 
came to the United States in 1831. Robert 
McLean was a farmer. In 1848 he moved 
from New York State to Saginaw, Mich., 
and he died at Howell, Livingston Co., 
Mich., aged eighty-six years. His father, 
Hugh McLean, of Scotch descent, was a 
linen draper and weaver in Ireland, but died 
in New York. Mrs. Margaret McLean died 
in Livingston county, N. Y., in 1848, when 
about forty years old. She left seven chil- 
dren, of whom four are now living. Robert 

B. McLean is the only one in Wisconsin. 
Robert B. McLean receired his educa- 
tion in the district schools of New York 
State and Michigan. His summers he spent 
in fishing, supplying white fish and trout to 
the Detroit and Cleveland markets, and he 
worked in the lumber woods during the 
winter. In the spring of 1853 Mr. McLean 



went to Isle Royal, Mich., where he spent 
the summer fishing. The next winter he 
worked in the copper mines at Eagle Har- 
bor. The following spring he came to the 
Head of the Lakes, found employment in 
a surveying party under Thomas Clark, and 
spent several months laying out the town 
site of Superior. In the fall of that year, 
upon the ratification of the treaty with the 
Chippewa Indians, relinc^uishing their title 
to lands along the Minnesota shore of Lake 
Superior, Mr. McLean accompanied a party 
prospecting for copper. He laid out the 
town of Beaver Bay, Minn., where Mr. 
Clark located a colony of Germans, and 
where Mr. McLean spent the winter. 

In the fall of 1855 Mr. Clark took the 
contract for carrying mail from Superior to 
Grand Portage, and Mr. McLean became 
the mail-carrier. He made monthly trips, 
using a small boat in summer and going 
through the woods on foot in winter. In 
1856 Mr. McLean was appointed post- 
master at Beaver Bay; this position he filled 
for a year, and then returned to Superior, 
where he was engaged in making surveys 
and explorations. In the summer time Mr. 
McLean did considerable fishing for east- 
ern markets, and was often foreman of a 
lumber camp in winter. In 1879 he was 
elected a member of the town board of su- 
pervisors, the district including all of Doug- 
las county, on which he served, with the ex- 
ception of two years, until 1890. He was 
interested in securing the right of way 
through Superior for the Northern Pacific 
Railroad, and officially opened the first 
street in West Superior. Mr. McLean was 
a member of the committee of citizens ap- 
pointed to organize the village of Superior, 
and also one of the inspectors at the first 
election held in Lake County, Minn., at 
Grand Marais. 

Mr. McLean married in February, 
1866, Anna C. Clark, a daughter of Thomas 
Clark (II). Mrs. McLean was born in To- 
ledo, Ohio, and died at the age of forty- 
four, Aug. 3, 1893. She was a member of 
the Episcopal Church. Children as follows 
were born to Mr. and Mrs. McLean: John 




ROBERT B. McLEAN 



THE KEW YORK 

PUBLIC LIBRARY 

ASTOR, LENOX 
TILDEN JFOUKBATIONSI 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



145 



C, who died in 1891. aged twenty-five 
years; Carrie C, Mrs. F. C. Thompson; 
Thomas C. ; Robert B. ; and Lee R. 

Mr. McLean has always belonged to 
the Democratic party. He is a member of 
the K. of P., has filled the principal offices 
in Nemadji Lodge, and helped to institute 
several other lodges. 

JOHN JAY HIBBARD, now living in 
practical retirement in Duluth, is one of the 
surviving pioneers at the Head of the Lakes 
and has witnessed and participated in the 
remarkable development of that region. He 
was born at Lockport, N. Y., April 5, 1830, 
son of Jacob and Polly (Millard) Hibbard. 

On the paternal side Mr. Hibbard 
springs from one of the oldest and most pa- 
triotic families in America, being a direct 
descendant of Robert Hibbard, a manufac- 
turer of brick and salt at Salisbury, Eng- 
land, who came to Massachusetts in 1629. 
He located in that part of Salem afterward 
known as Beverly, and carried on the manu- 
facture of salt at that place, where he died 
May 7, 1684. His descendants, some of 
whom spelled the name Hebard, were re- 
spected and influential people in different 
parts of New England. About thirty of the 
number are known to have taken part in the 
Colonial wars with the French and Indians, 
and about sixty participated in the Revolu- 
tion, while 130 were engaged in the war of 
1812. Jacob Hibbard, the grandfather of 
John Jay, and a native of Methuen. Mass., 
joined the militia of that State, and took 
part in the battle of Bunker Hill, where his 
brotlier Joseph was killed. After the war 
he settled in Washington county, N. Y., but 
his death occurred at Rutland county, Vt., in 
1823. His son Jacob, father of John Jay 
Hibbard, was bom at Ryegate, Vt., but en- 
listed from New York under Gen. Hamp- 
ton during the second war with England and 
did honorable service at the battle of Platts- 
burg. He was a millwright and carriage- 
maker, also doing general mechanical work 
when occasion offered. For some years he 
carried on business at Hemiitage, Wyom- 
ing Co., N. Y., where he served as super- 
10 



visor and filled other official positions. He 
died there in 1869, aged seventy- four years. 
It is related as an interesting incident of his 
early life that he was once away from home 
during a flood which swept away the bridge 
over the Connecticut river, and, returning 
after dark on horse-back, he was much as- 
tonished to learn upon reaching home that 
the bridge was gone and his faithful steect 
had crossed on a single timber laid length- 
wise for a temporary foot bridge. Mrs. 
Polly Hibbard died near Nicodemus,. 
Kan., in 1894, aged ninety-four years. She: 
was born at Whitehall, N. Y., and was a 
daughter of Abiatha Millard, a vetei-an of 
the Revolution and a brother of David Mil- 
lard, who became famous as one of the first 
American travelers in the Holy Land. A 
sister of these gentlemen became the mother 
of President Millard Fillmore. The mother 
of Mrs. Polly Hibbard was before marriage 
a Miss Ashley, of Rutland county, Vt., and. 
her mother was a relative of John Jay, the- 
famous diplomat and Chief Justice of the 
United States, in whose honor John Jay 
Hibbard was named. 

John Jay Hibbard learned the trades of 
millwright and carriagebuilder. In 1852 he 
went to Canada, spending several years in 
Oakville and Bradford, and conducting a 
shop at the latter place. Having been more 
or less afflicted with ague from boyhood, he 
determined to seek a climate in which he 
would be free from that malady, and in 1856 
he paid a visit to the Head of the Lakes, 
Being convinced that he had found the de- 
sired location, the following year he brought 
his family and built a sawmill at Burlington 
Bay, now Two Harbors, which he operated 
for four years, making that place his home 
during this period. In 1861 he took 
up his residmce in Duluth, his wife be- 
ing one of four white women then at that 
place, though there were a few others at 
Oneota, now West Duluth. In 1862 Mr. 
Hibbard moved to Superior, which was his 
home for the next eight years, during which 
time he was engaged in various occupations. 
A part of the time he dealt in cattle, driving 
herds from southern Minnesota and ship- 



146 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



ping to Eastern markets by water. For sev- 
eral seasons he packed fish for market, being 
the first person to engage in that business on 
an extensive scale, packing eight hundred 
barrels in five weeks. His seine was about 
half a mile in length, and he employed about 
twenty men, who applied to him the title of 
"Captain," by which he is still known to 
liiost of his old acquaintances. The opening 
of navigation in the spring of 1865 was un- 
usually late, and provisions became very 
scarce at Superior, from which point all the 
adjacent territory was supplied. When the 
steamer "Cuyahoga," became ice bovmd out 
in the lake and lay thus for over two weeks, 
some of the dealers were planning to buy up 
its cargo and exact exorbitant prices from 
their customers. Learning of this fact, Capt. 
Hibbard on the 3d of June walked out three 
miles on the ice to meet the vessel and bar- 
gained for all the provisions on board, which 
he divided among the people at reasonable 
prices, defeating the plans of the schemers. 
Mr. Hibbard was an early investor in 
real estate in Superior and Duluth and still 
owns considerable property in both cities. 
In the latter he has erected a number of 
buildings and otherwise assisted in the im- 
provement of the town. He has also dealt 
in timber lands to some extent. In the fall 
of 1865 he became a member of a party 
which cut a trail through the woods from 
Duluth to Vermillion Lake, where the gold 
mines were just beginning to attract atten- 
tion. This expedition consumed about six 
weeks and considerable privation was en- 
dured by the party. While on the way Mr. 
Hil)bard picked up some specimens of iron 
on the site of the present city of Tower. In 
1903 Mr. Hibbard became interested in min- 
ing properties in the State of Jalisco, Mex- 
ico. He made a trip to that location, travel- 
ing abixit eight thousand miles by rail and 
about four hundred miles on horseback, and 
visited the richest quicksilver mines in the 
world. 

In political principle, Mr. Hibbard has 
always been a Democrat, though an Aboli- 
tionist, and an advocate of government banks 
and ownership of public institutes. He has 



always opposed the issue of public bonds for 
any purpose. He is decided and outspoken 
in Jiis views on all public questions and, 
while taking an active interest in local af- 
fairs, he has never been a candidate for any 
salaried office. He was an intimate friend 
of the late Ignatius Donnelly, and attended 
as a delegate every State convention of his 
party in Minnesota from 1863 to 1896. In 
1876 he was elected a delegate to the National 
Greenback convention at Indianapolis, which 
n(_^minated Peter Cooper for President, but 
he did not attend. In 1896 he was a delegate 
to the National Populist Convention at St. 
Louis. During the Civil war, when parti- 
san feeling was very strong, he vigorously 
denounced the law making greenbacks legal 
tender in some cases but not in others, and a 
party of over sixty civilians and soldiers 
congregated with the intention of lynching 
him. Learning of their plans he went to 
the spot and fearlessly faced the mob, which 
rapidly dispersed. In the early days he 
spent considerable time among the Indians, 
meeting with some interesting adventures 
and becoming familiar with their customs 
and language to a great extent. Owing to 
his skill in various occupations he was called 
"Ka-kin-a-ga-go"" (the man who can do 
everything) and was known far and wide 
among the Chippewas lay the cognomen. 
Soon after he located in Duluth, a large party 
of Indians was encamped on Minnesota 
Point, and one of their dogs was in the 
habit of preying upon Mr. Hibbard's chick- 
ens. Detecting the brute, he promptly shot 
it. which greatly enraged the Indians, who 
threatened to exterminate the whole white 
settlement unless one hundred dollars worth 
of provisions was given them. Fearing 
these threats, some of his neighbors offered 
to contribute toward the amount, but Mr. 
Hibbard sent word to the camp that he 
would shoot every Indian found there after 
a certain hour, and the whole party had dis- 
appeared before the appointed time. 

In 1854 Air. Hibbard was married to 
Miss Sarah A. Hill, a native of Sunderland, 
A't.. but then a resident of Wethersfield, N. 
Y. Slie is a dauehter of Hiram and Amanda 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



147 



(Smalley) liill, both of whom represented 
Colonial families in New England. Hiram 
Hill was born about the beginning of the 
nineteenth century. Ele removed from Ver- 
mont to New York and about 1853 settled 
in Kane county, 111., where he died twenty 
years later. His father, Abner Elill, was of 
Welsh descent. Mrs. Amanda Hill died in 
1878, aged over seventy years. Her father, 
Lewis Smalley, wdio was a farmer, spent 
his later life in Friendship, Allegany Co., N. 
Y. Having been crippled by an accident, 
he spent much of his time knitting and sew- 
ing. He was a descendant of David Smalley, 
one of the signers of the English Magna 
Charta. 

Mr. and Mrs. Hibbard are the parents 
of two sons and four daughters; Afelia B., 
Mrs. John McLaren who died in Duluth in 
1878, aged twenty-three years; Clell D., 
connected w'ith the United States engineer 
corps at Duluth; Estelle F. and Gertrude H., 
both deceased; Inez, the wife of Henry Sis- 
ler, of Portland, Ore.; Edwin J., a resident 
of Duluth, who is a pattern-maker, connec- 
ted with the National Iron Works. 

EDWARD E. STROTHMAN is the 
senior partner of the Strothman Iron Co., 
of West Superior. His parents were Will- 
iam and Anstein Louise (Christon) Stroth- 
man, and he was born near Milwaukee, Aug. 
18, 1845. 

W illiam Strothman, who was a native of 
Prussia, and son of a farmer noted for his 
remarkable strength, spent most of his boy- 
hood on a farm near Amsterdam ; later he 
1)ecame superintendent of a large estate, 
overseeing about 250 men. In 1832 he 
came to the United States, lived for about 
two years in Cincinnati, and then moved to 
Milwaukee, where he was the first German 
settler, the only other white men in the place 
being Solomon Juneau, Capt. Walker, Dr. 
Chase and Capt. Sanderson. Mr. Stroth- 
man was employed in Milwaukee about three 
years, and then settled on a farm three miles 
out of the city, where he died in January, 
1887, at the age of seventy-four. His wife 
died on the farm when forty-four years old. 



She was born in Stettin, Germany, and her 
grandfather came to Germany from Paris. 
When her father was a child of four years 
he and his brother, aged six, were accident- 
ally left on a vessel bound from Paris to 
Amsterdam ; they remained in the latter 
place and there grew up. 

Edward E. Strothman had a twin broth- 
er, John, who died in November, 1898; he 
had been a partner in the firm of Strothman 
Bros., which was succeeded by the Stroth- 
nip.n Iron Co. The Strothman brothers had 
great gifts of mechanical invention, even as 
Ijoys ; while at home on the farm, with only 
such tools and materials as any farm might 
aiT(jrd, they manufactured an automatic can- 
non, which loaded and fired itself. 

At the age of eighteen Mr. Strothman 
began to learn the machinist trade in the Bay 
State Iron Works at Milwaukee, at the same 
time studying draughting, designing and 
mechanical engineering. He spent four 
years in the Bay State Iron Works, and a 
year or two with the E. P. Allis Co. and 
the Cream City Iron Works, subsequently 
starting a small shop for constructing patent 
water wheels. About 1S72 the Strothman 
brothers moved to Minneapolis, where they 
were employed for a number of years in the 
North Star Iron Works. John Strothman 
then became superintendent of the A. Pray 
^Manufacturing Co., while his brother re- 
mained with the North Star Iron Co. Some- 
what later the firm of Strothman Bros., 
opened a general machine shop and foundry, 
wnicli they carried on for about eight years. 
One of their contracts was the building of 
three famous "Jurnbo" pumps for the city 
water works, capacity 14,000,000 gallons 
l^er day, which are still in operation at the 
lowest known expense for repairs. 

In the spring of 1888 the Strothman 
brothers came to West Superior, which was 
then a primitive town, with no paved streets. 
They at once erected a substantial brick 
Iniilding, machine shop, foundry and forge 
works, which was the first establishment in 
any of these lines at Superior, and which has 
lieen in continuous operation ever since. In 
this foundrv all kinds of machines are made 



148 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



to order, including steam engines, dredging 
machines, arcliitectural iron work, and mucli 
mining machinery, which is used in the min- 
ing regions at the Head of the Lakes; from 
twenty to fifty men, according to the season, 
are employed in the works. In 1901 Edward 
E. Strothman devised an improved propeller 
wheel, which he has recently patented; this 
wheel gives increased speed with the same 
power, and has excellent backing qualities ; 
it can be readily attached to any vessel, and 
orders are being placed for it as fast as its 
merits become known to vessel owners. He 
has also invented a hydraulic dredging pump, 
which has proved a great success ; it will take 
out from 150,000 to 200.000 yards of sand 
in twenty-four hours. Many other labor- 
saving devices have been invented by Mr. 
Strothman, but few of these have been 
patented. 

In 1869 Edward E. Strothman married 
Etta L. Banker, who was born in Racine, 
Wis., a daughter of Chauncey Banker, of 
Milwaukee. Two sons have come to this 
union : Clarence, general manager for the 
Deering Harvester Co., at Aberdeen, S. D., 
a fine penman and able business man; and 
Herbert L., an active business man, connect- 
ed with his father in the Strothman Iron Co., 
who after leaving the Superior high school 
took a course in mechanical and electrical 
engineering at the University of Wiscon- 
sin, at Madison. Mr. Strothman, the father, 
has been connected with the Congregational 
Church for the last forty years. He is a Re- 
publican in principle, his first vote having 
been cast for Lincoln, but he is not an active 
politician. 

GLEN FLORA. The flourishing town 
of Glen Flora, Wis., has not always enjoyed 
so euphonious a cognomen, in fact there are 
many still surviving who can recall when 
Miller's Siding was the only name by which 
to designate a very desiralile locality of Rusk 
county, to which that great civilizer, the rail- 
road, had penetrated during the summer of 
1885. The natural advantages and the in- 
dustrial outlook soon drew first class settlers 
to the region, and in the above vear O. K. 



Otis, Thomas Padgett, E. E. Buck and John 
La Port made permanent settlement. 

The dense forests surrounding the site 
of the present town, suggested lumbering as 
the initial business, and naturally, a sawmill 
erected by Frank S. Miller in 1885 was the 
first industry started here. This passed into 
other hands in 1886, being purchased by the 
Glen Flora Manufacturing Company, which 
operated it four years, and platted a town 
in 1888. The company established the first 
mercantile business here, carrying it on in 
connection with their milling interests, con- 
tinuing until 1893, when they were suc- 
ceeded by the Crescent Lumljer Company, 
which operated until 1894, and this com- 
pany was succeeded by W. F. Switzer, who 
operated until December, 1900. The mill 
property was afterward bought by H. W. 
True, who dismantled the mill. Mr. True 
had built a mill at Glen Flora in 1900, which 
lie ojjerated until May, J903, when he sold 
it to its present manager, C. A. Coon. 
Another mill, the Stoker Brothers', two 
miles distant, has been operated for several 
years. 

In 1894 Theodore Briant built, and has 
ever since operated, tlie two charcoal kilns. 
In 1892 E. E. Buck estabished a general 
store, and in 1896 Mr. H. W. True opened, 
a mercantile business, being succeeded in 
1899 '^y tlie Eau Claire Grocer Co. In 1902 
Mr. True and Lee Van Patter purchased the 
E. C. Grocer Co.'s stock, but Mr. True sold 
his interest in 1903, Mr. Van Patter contin- 
uing the business. For a couple of years 
Bert Fults operated a store, which was 
burned out in 1902, but was rebuilt and re- 
opened in 1903, and was a second time de- 
stroyed by fire. He rebuilt again but is not 
in business now. ]\Ir. C. A. Magnus also 
owns a general store, while a racket store is 
kept by C. W. Tyler and a drug store is 
owned by H. C. Johnson. "The West Ho- 
tel" is the only hostelry and is managed by 
E. Biller. The Gleu Flora Star was estab- 
lished in 1901 by D. W. Maloney, and is an 
independent Republican organ. In 1888 the 
postoffice was established with A. J. McLen- 
nan as first postmaster. 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



149 



The Glen Flora Co-Operative Creamery 
was built here in 1903, at a cost of $4,700. 
This plant is thoroughly equipped, furnished 
by the Chicago Building Company, and be- 
gan operations very satisfactorily in June, 
1904. J. \V. & E. \V. Noble have a mill for 
the manufacture of hardwood furniture and 
machinery squares one and one-half miles 
•east of town ; J. M. Nelson and A. C. Holden 
have a small mill a short distance from town, 
as has also J. C. Riegel. 

The first public school was opened in 
1887. The present school building is a mod- 
ern structure. The residents of Glen Floi i 
take much interest in the school, for it is an 
exceptionally fine one. It is State graded of 
the first class, with nine grades, 170 pupils, 
and three competent teachers. 

The different religious denominations 
are well represented, and the Methodist, 
Swedish Lutheran, Baptist and Norwegian 
Lutheran bodies all have houses of their 
own, and the Catholics have the erection of 
one in contemplation. The Woodmen have 
a flourishing lodge, and social conditions are 
all that could be desired. The population is 
350. A number of well developed farms 
now lie adjacent to Glen Flora, and the peo- 
ple are of a quiet, industrious, law-abiding, 
intelligent class. The soil here is a clay 
loam, wonderfully adapted to grass and 



THOMAS H. SEXTON has been a 
resident of Duluth for over fifty years, and 
is now living retired in that city. He is one 
of the oldest settlers of the Upper Lake re- 
gion, where he has spent over half a cen- 
tury, and is now enjoying in quiet the ac- 
cumulations of a l)usy life, full of typical 
experiences of the pioneer in this section. 

Mr. Se.xton was born in 1825 in County 
Clare, Ireland, son of Timothy and Anna 
(Howard) Sexton, wdio left their native land 
in 1826, bringing their family to Toronto, 
Canada. There Timothy Sexton followed 
the business of market gardener, and after a 
time he located on a farm near that city. His 
last years were spent in London, Ontario, 
and he and his wife both lived to reach old 



age. Their family consisted of thirteen chil- 
dren, of whom Thomas H., the eldest, is the 
only one to settle in the Upper Lake Region. 
He lived about Toronto and on the farm un- 
til 1853, in which year he came to the Flead 
of the Lakes on the steamer "Sam Ward." 
After spending a few days at Superior he 
went to Ontonagon and secured employ- 
ment as engineer in a copper mine. 
The following year he came to the Head 
of the Lakes and made a "claim" 
on the site now occupied by the 
Duluth post ofiice, but abandoned it because 
he thought there were too many rocks and 
mosquitoes in the locality. His next location 
was in Two Harbors, Minn., where he made 
a "claim" in 1855, just after the Indian title 
had been extinguished by treaty. His home 
was at Two Harbors until 1882, though 
much of his time was spent in the copper 
country. In that year he sold his property 
at Two Harbors to the Duluth & Iron 
Range Railway Company, which was pre- 
paring to lay a track through that region, 
and, coming to Duluth, he invested in lots on 
East Fourth street, on which he put up a 
number of houses, which yield him a nice 
income. His own home, built in 1888, is a 
modern and comfortable residence, and here, 
retired from active labors, Mr. Sexton is 
enjoying the results of his successful busi- 
ness career. His means have been acquired 
by honorable industry and good manage- 
ment, and he is esteemed by all his associates, 
whether in business or private life. 

Air. Sexton was married, in 1882, to 
Mrs. Amelia Murphy, a native of Soldin, 
Germany, who came to the United States in 
childhood, and lived for some years with an 
uncle, Michael Finger, who was an early set- 
tler at Lomira, near Fond du Lac, Wis. Her 
parents, Ferdinand and Wilhelmina (Fin- 
ger) Lemke, both died in Germany; Mr. 
Lemke kept a grocery store at Soldin, where 
some of his relatives are still prominent. 
Mrs. Sexton was first married, at Fond du 
Lac, Wis., to Richard Murphy, who died 
there in May, 1879, aged forty years. By 
that union there were two children, who died 
in infancv. To Mr. and ]\Irs. Se.xton have 



ISO 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



been born four children, Howard, Thomas 
H., Florence and James. This family attend 
the Congregational Church. In political 
sentiment Mr. Sexton is a Democrat, but he 
has never taken any active interest in poli- 
tics or craved oflicial honors. 

H. W. TRUE, cashier of the First Na- 
tional Bank, at Ladysmith, Wis., is eminent- 
ly fitted for the responsible position he holds. 
He is calm and dispassionate, with the cour- 
age of his convictions, and much decision of 
character, and he is assertive when the oc- 
casion demands it. In his business relations 
he is straightforward and positive, com- 
manding respect and confidence. In appear- 
ance he is a man of towering stature and 
dignified bearing. Mr. True was born on 
Kelley's Island, Ohio, situated in Lake Erie, 
twelve miles from Sandusky, July i6, 1861, 
son of William and Harriet (Randall) True, 
natives of Maine and England, respectively. 

The True family record can be traced 
back to early colonial days, and contains the 
names of honorable, patriotic men and cul- 
tured, noble women. William True was an 
architect and builder. In 1870 he moved to 
the vicinity of Muscatine, Iowa, and later to 
Mason City, carrying on his business in both 
localities for a number of years. His death 
occurred at Glen Flora, Wis., Aug. 20, 1898, 
when he was aged sixty-eight years. 

The boyhood of H. W. Tme was passed 
upon his native island. When he was two 
and one-half years old his mother died, and 
naturally his early life lacked in much that 
a mother's tenderness and care provides, but 
he received a good education in the public 
schools, finishing in the high school of Mason 
City, Iowa. At the early age of sixteen 
years he began his career as a clerk in the 
store at Mason City, and by being very fru- 
gal and attentive to business, by the time he 
was twenty-one, he was able to establish 
himself in the flour and feed business, which 
he successfully carried on for eighteen 
months. Subsequently he embarked in the 
butcher business, and was associated with a 
Mr. Crossley, for a period of a vear and a 
half. 



In 1884 Mr. True was married to Miss 
Maggie B. Rogers, of Burr Oak, Iowa, and 
in 1885 he came to Wisconsin. In 1886 he 
settled at Hawkins, then known as Main 
Creek, where many logging camps were 
then established. For three j^ears he re- 
mained in charge of the stores of the com- 
panies operating these camps, and later he 
established a general store, which he him- 
self conducted until 1895. During this pe- 
riod he dealt largely with the Indians, buy- 
ing of them furs, game, etc. While living 
there Mr. True was appointed postmaster of 
Hawkins, and was the first to hold this office. 
In 1895 he disposed of his interests in that 
town and went to Glen Flora, where in 1896 
he established a general store. In 1900 Mr. 
True built a mill in Glen Flora, which he 
successfully operated until May, 1903, when 
he disposed of the property. In 1903 Mr. 
True bought the W. F. Switzer Mill. The 
mercantile business he carried on from 1896 
to 1902, W'hen he admitted Lee Van Patter 
to partnership, the same continuing until the 
following year when the partnership was 
dissolved, Mr. True retiring. He owns 1,000 
acres of land in Rusk county, 400 of it ad- 
jacent to Glen Flora. 

Always a stanch Republican, Mr. True 
has been called upon to fill the positions of 
chairman of the town board for six terms, 
township clerk two terms, and assessor two- 
terms. He was appointed supervisor of as- 
sessment in November, 1901. In addition 
Mr. True has been delegate to both State and 
national conventions, and has always been 
active in local affairs. For four years he 
ably filled the position of deputy surveyor of 
Chippewa countv. He is a natural mechanic, 
and delights in work requiring mechanical 
skul. Mr. True has been a hunter of rather 
more than local reputation, and since resid- 
ing in v/hat is now Rusk county has killed 
twenty-six bears, and deer without number. 
He is a true devotee of the sport. 

On Jan. i, 1904, Mr. True was elected 
to the position of cashier of the First Na- 
tional Bank, of Ladysmith, and already he 
has made some desirable innovations cal- 
culated to secure better accommodations to- 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



i^i 



patrons, and still stronger financial connec- 
tions outside. In educational matters Mr. 
True has taken a deep interest, -and is always 
ready to assist in extending school facilities. 
Fraternally he is a member of Mvstic Tie 
Lodge, I. O. O. F.; the M. W. A.'; and the 
K. of P. 

Mr. True has an abiding faith in the fu- 
ture of Northern Wisconsin, and has nobly 
borne his part in the upbuilding of Rusk 
county. No man stands higher in the public 
estimation than he, and the honorable posi- 
tion he has attained to in life has been won 
on his own merit. 

Mr. and Mrs. True have three children. 
Herbert C, Fred W., and Erwin B. The 
eldest graduated at the head of his class in 
1903, at the age of eighteen years. 

CHARLES A. PETERSON enjoys 
the distinction of being tlie oldest man now 
living in Duluth who was bom within the 
present city limits, his birth having taken 
place Dec. 21, 1857, at Fond du Lac, which 
is now a part of Duluth. 

Peter J. Peterson, his father, was born 
in Sweden, and came to the United States 
in boyhood. He had received good educa- 
tional advantages in his native land, and after 
coming to this country was a student at the 
old Chicago University. In about 1855, 
soon after his marriage (which took place 
in Chicago), he came to the Head of the 
Lakes, locating land on the site of Fond du 
Lac. Before long a portion of his land was 
platted as a part of the town site, of which he 
was one of the original proprietors, and some 
of this property still forms part of his estate. 
A plat of the village made by him in 1857 is 
still in existence. Mr. Peterson engaged in 
farming to some extent, and also got out con- 
siderable timber, for a sawmill at Milford's 
Bay (now Oneota), and he proved cjuite a 
successful business man. He also became 
quite influential in local affairs, for he was 
a public-spirited citizen, and ever ready to 
give his time and means to carry out projects 
for the advancement or improvement of his 
neighborhood. He efficiently filled a num- 
ber of offices, among others that of justice 



of the peace at Fond du Lac for some years, 
and in that capacity performed a number 
of marriages. Politically he was an active 
Republican. His religious connection was 
with the Lutheran Church, and the only serv- 
ices of that church held in this locality dur- 
ing his lifetime were conducted in his house. 
He died in 1873, at the age of forty-nine 
years. 

Mr. Peterson was married, in Chicago, 
to Christina M. Olson, who was born in 
Arvika, Vermland, Sweden, and came to the 
Lnited States when a young woman, the 
ocean voyage taking three months. She 
lived in Chicago for a time previous to her 
marriage, and came to Fond du Lac on the 
■ i^ady Elgin," the ill-fated steamer which 
afterward sank in Lake ^Michigan. Six chil- 
dren were born to Mr. and Mrs. Peterson, 
namely : One died in infancy in Chicago. 
Charles A. is mentioned below. Oscar A., 
who was a dealer in timber and merchandise, 
died Sept. 4, 1902, at Fond du Lac, Minn., 
aged forty-three vears. Alma M. is the wife 
of F. F. Porter, of Oakland. Cal. Emil is a 
druggist in Duluth. Hilma R. is engaged in 
teaching in that city. The mother died sud- 
denly at Fond du Lac, May 31, 1905, of old 
age. Her sisters, Mrs. Peter Nelson, of 
Red Wing, and Miss Olson, of Duluth, are 
the only other representatives of her family 
in this country. 

Charles A. Peterson attended the public 
schools at Fond du Lac and Superior high 
school, from which latter he was graduated 
at the age of fifteen years. Later he took a 
special business course at a night school in 
Duluth. After his father's death he contin- 
ued the lumber business for some time, but 
in 1890 he sold out at Fond du Lac and set- 
tled in Duluth, opening a real-estate office 
which he has conducted ever since, doing a 
good business in that line and in insurance. 
He has also invested to some extent in min- 
ing lands on the Mesaba range. Since 1901 
he has been dealing in lumber, principally 
cedar, and does considerable logging each 
winter, in this industry giving employment 
to a number of men the year around. As 
will be seen, his interests are varied, but he 



Il2 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



finds time to give faithful attention to them 
all, and, like his father, is thrifty and pros- 
perous. He has held but one official position, 
when he served as deputy probate judge of 
St. Louis county, to fill a vacancy. LIow- 
ever, he is deeply interested in politics, as a 
stanch member of the Republican party, at- 
tends many conventions, and has acted as 
delegate to State conventions, etc. He is a 
member of the Garfield Republican Club. 

On June 19, 1893, Mr. Peterson mar- 
ried Miss Elizabeth Eraser, who was born in 
Saginaw, Mich., daughter of Alexander Era- 
ser, now of Duluth, ex-surveyor general of 
logs, Eifth District of Minnesota. One child 
has blessed this union, Chauncey A. The 
family attend the M. E. Church. Mr. Peter- 
son's fraternal connection is with the Modern 
Samaritans. 

REV. DETLOE LOESTROM is 
pastor of the Swedish Baptist Church at 
West Superior, Wis., one of the oldest 
churches in the place, organized in 1887. 

This church began with but six mem- 
bers ; in a couple of years this had grown to 
a membership of sixteen, and they erected 
their first building. The church has had a 
number of pastors. The first was Rev. Mr. 
Backman, who officiated at the organization, 
assisted by Rev. Mr. Halverson, and who, 
after the incumbency of Rev. Mr. Rosquest, 
returned for a second pastorate ; he was fol- 
lowed by Rev. Mr. Jungberg; Rev. Fred 
Linden, now of Duluth; Rev. Anton Ander- 
son, at present in Brainerd, Minn. ; Rev. 
Matthev. Wickman, and the present pastor. 

Rev. Detlof Lofstrom was born in Swe- 
den June 27, i860, and came to America 
shortly before his twenty-seventh birthday. 
Two years later, in 1889, he entered the 
Theological Seminary at Alorgan Park, 111., 
and graduated in 1892. He was ordained 
the same year and became pastor of a church 
at Holdredge, Neb., where he remained two 
and a half years. Eor six years, beginning 
with 189ZI, he was at Grantsburg, Wis., and 
from l! ere went to his present charge. 

In 1&91, at Morgan Park, occurred the 
marriage of Rev. Mr. Lofstrom to Justin 



Xelson. They have four children, one son 
and three daughters. 

The church at West Superior is growing 
steadily in numbers and interest, now having 
a membership of eighty-eight, with a Sun- 
day-school enrollment of seventy-five. The 
present church building was erected in the 
year 1900, and under the leadership of the 
present faithful and efficient pastor the fu- 
ture outlook of the church is most promis- 
ing. 

JAMES H. TAYLOR, a successful 
contractor and machinist at Ashland, Dou- 
glas county, as well as a prominent citizen, 
was born in Wilmington, Del., Jan. 23, 
1855. His parents were Henry and Sophia 
(Jelly) Taylor, natives of Leicester, Eng- 
land, who came to the United States in 
1845. The paternal grandfather, Henry 
Taylor, was a quarryman in the slate quar- 
ries of Leicester, and was killed in i860 by 
a premature explosion during some blasting 
at the quarry where he was working. The 
maternal grandfather was Jacob Jelly, an 
officer in the British navy, who died of a 
fever while in the East Indian service. 

Henry Taylor, father of James H., was 
a farmer by occupation, and left England to 
settle on a farm in Delaware, where he died 
at the age of seventy-five. His wife was 
one year younger at the time of her death. 
Mr. Taylor was a devout member of the 
Presbyterian Church. In the politics of his 
adopted countrv' he took little interest. 

James H. Taylor went to a public school 
near Wilmington and was a pupil at an 
academy for a few terms. When he was 
seventeen he went to New York City and 
learned the trade of a machinist. He se- 
cured a good position with a New York 
company, and in 1873 was sent by his em- 
ployers to Colorado to erect a stamp mill. 
He met with great success in the enterprise 
and remained at difi^erent points in the State 
for five years and eight months, putting up 
mills and smelting establishments. He con- 
tinued in the employment of the same firm 
until 1887. 

In 1887 Mr. Taylor located in Ashland 



COMAIEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



153 



and founded the firm of Scott & Taylor. 
They built a factory for the manufacture 
of sash and doors, together with all kinds of 
trimming and dressing lumber for the in- 
terior finish of buildings. This business they 
still operate, and for the last few years they 
have filled contracts for buildings. In 
April, 1902, the firm built a double shingle 
mill at Alellen, Ashland county, and in their 
various operations they employ a force of 
seventy-five men. Mr. Taylor's experience 
as a machinist enables him to keep their 
own plants moving like clock work. 

In 1884 Mr. Taylor was united in mar- 
riage with Miss Charlotte A. Keeler, the 
daughter of Jacob Keeler, of Danbury, 
Conn. Mr. Taylor is an earnest worker in 
the A. O. U. W., having filled all the chairs 
in the local lodge, and in the B. P. O. E., 
while his wife is prominent in the W. C. T. 
U. and has received the degree of honor. 
She is enthusiastic in the cause of woman's 
rights, and at the local election in the spring 
of igo2 was very active in bringing out the 
women of Ashland to vote on the saloon 
question and other issues. 

FREDERICK SMITH THOMPSON, 
the popular postmaster at Superior, Dou- 
glas county, was born in Oneida, 111., Feb. 
19, 1872, a son of Delos Charles and Ade- 
laide (Chaffee) Thompson. 

The great-great-grandfather came from 
the north of Ireland soon after the farm 
riots of 1848. Before that outbreak he had 
owned considerable property, but it was then 
confiscated, and he began life anew in the 
new world. Edward O. Thompson, the pa- 
ternal grandfather, was born in New York 
City, and later located in Unadilla, N. Y., 
where he manufactured woolen goods. His 
son, Delos C, w^as born in New York State, 
went to Kansas in 1867, and a year later 
to Winnebago City, Minn., where he dealt 
in dry goods. His death in 1878 was an un- 
timely one, as he had reached only his forty- 
sixth year. His wife, also a native of New 
York State, is still living and makes her 
home in Superior. On her mother's side 
she is of English descent and of Welsh 



stock on her father's. Her father was Wil- 
liam Chaffee, a pioneer farmer of Green- 
ville, Montcalm Co., Mich. 

F. S. Thompson attended the public 
schools of Winnebago City and completed 
the high school course, from which he was 
graduated when he was only seventeen. He 
at once secured a position as bookkeeper in 
a lumber ofifice and worked there about two 
years, but in the spring of 1890 he went to 
Superior and was employed as a clerk in the 
postoflice. In time he was promoted to be 
assistant postmaster, and in 1897 was given 
the appointment of postmaster. He was re- 
appointed in 1902, but in July, 1903, the 
postofffces of Superior were consolidated 
into one main oftice, under one postmaster, 
and since that time Mr. Thompson has been 
superintendent of Station A, the same office 
of which he was postmaster. 

In September, 1900, Mr. Thompson 
was married to Caroline McLean, who w-as 
born in Superior and is the daughter of 
R. B. McLean, one of the earliest residents 
of the place. Mr. Thompson is a member 
of the Presbyterian Church, and Mrs. 
Thompson of the Episcopal. Fraternally 
Mr. Thompson is affiliated with the Masons, 
and is a Republican in his politics. In his 
official capacity he has shown himself most 
efficient, and socially he is very popular. 

WILLIAM H. HOLLENBECK, one 
of the most progressive and public-spirited 
citizens of Fond du Lac, a suburb of Du- 
luth, Minn., and a man widely and favorably 
known, was born at Freeport, 111., March 
16, 1840, a son of William H. Hollenbeck, 
Sr., and Harriet (Stevens) Hollenbeck. 

William H. Hollenbeck, Sr., was born 
at Great Barrington, Mass., and settled at 
Freeport about 1837, becoming the first 
clerk of court of Stephenson county, and 
filling other offices of a public nature for 
a number of ye:.rs. He became an import- 
ant man. commerciallv, carrving on a larsje 
mercantile business for some years at Free- 
port, and was thus engaged when killed in 
a railroad accident, when seventy-four years 
of age. Mr. Hollenbeck was descended 



154 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



from Holland ancestors, but unfortunately 
the family records have not been preserved. 
His mother, Louise Ransom, died at the 
age of eighty-five years, in Massachusetts. 
She had the honor of being the grandmother 
of J. Sloat Fassett, once Republican candi- 
date for governor of New York. The lin- 
eage of the Ransom family has been traced 
back to the ninth century in Italy. 

Harriet Stevens Hollenbeck, mother of 
our subject, was born near Niagara Falls, 
N. Y., about 1820, and came to Illinois 
with her parents. The family first settled 
at Kaskaskia, then the capital of Illinois, 
but afterward her father, Leonard Stevens, 
settled in Mason county. III., forty miles 
from a neighbor. He reached an advanced 
age, and died honored by his community. 
Mrs. Hollenbeck died at Superior, Neb., 
Sept. I, 1 90 1, aged ninety years, four 
months and fourteen days. 

William Henry Hollenbeck, the subject 
proper of this biography, remained at Free- 
port until he was twenty-four years old, 
and then spent some vears as telegraph op- 
erator and agent for the following railroad 
companies: Wabash, C. B. & O., C. M. 
& St. Paul, Northern Pacific. In 1872 he 
came to Fond du Lac as agent for the 
Northern Pacific, but after a year returned 
to Chicago and was with the Wabash. How- 
ever, since December, 1882, he has lived 
continuously at Fond du Lac. At that date 
he opened a store which he still carries on. 
In 1898 he was made agent at that station 
for the Northern Pacific and has been post- 
master since 1897; he was also postmaster 
for eighteen months during 1892-93. Mr. 
Hollenbeck takes a great interest in horti- 
culture and has a beautiful home, with ele- 
gant grounds in which he allows his taste 
full play. 

Mr. Hollenbeck took a leading part in 
organizing- the village of Fond du Lac, lo- 
cating the station and establishing the elec- 
tric light plant, which is owned and con- 
trolled by the city government of Duluth, 
of which the village became a part in 1895. 
During the existence of the village Mr. Hol- 
lenbeck was its recorder. He was also in- 



strumental in inducing the Northern Pacific 
railroad to restore its service at Fond du 
Lac, which it had abandoned for a time. In 
another direction has Mr. Hollenbeck done 
yeoman service in his community, and that 
is in preserving the historical annals of the 
Upper Lake Region. He has a photograph 
of the old trading post of John Jacob Astor 
at Fond du Lac, marked with his initials, 
with the date 1797. 

In 1866 Mr. Hollenbeck was married to 
Carrie A. Turner, a native of Indiana, born 
near Lafayette, who died in 1870, at Ham- 
ilton, 111., before she was nineteen years of 
age, and is buried where she was married, 
at Fairmount, 111. She was a consistent 
member of the Methodist Church. One 
child was born of this marriage, Avenel T., 
now chief clerk in the telegraph department 
of the Chicago & Northwestern railroad at 
St. Paul. On June 5, 1872, Mr. Hollenbeck 
married Theressa Krause, who was born at 
Fond du Lac, Minnesota. 

The growth of Fond du Lac has been re- 
markable and the increase in its property 
values and its position in the commercial 
world is largely due to the efforts of Mr. 
Hollenbeck, who has concentrated his nat- 
ural abilities upon it. The place has a popu- 
lation of intelligent, patriotic, thinking men 
and women, many of whom are well known 
in connecti(in with the present development 
in higher thought and aggressive commer- 
cialism. 

NELS NELSON, chairman of the 
town board of Washburn, is one of the old- 
est and most influential citizens of that 
place. He is a native of Norway and was 
born in Christiansund, June 16, 1855, the 
son of Nicholas and Ingeborg (Jorgine) 
Nelson, both natives of the same locality. 

The ancestors of Nicholas Nelson had 
followed the sea for many generations, and 
he himself commanded a vessel engaged in 
the commerce of the North Sea, but about 
1876 he bought a large farm near Christi- 
ania, at Akern, v/here he spent his remaining' 
years, dying in 1897, at the age of sixty- 
nine, and his wife, likewise the descendant 



COMiAIE.MORATR'E BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



155 



of an old Xorwcgian family, survived him 
only about a year and died at about the same 
age. The family were devoted supporters 
of the Lutheran Church, and Mr. Nelson 
not only was greatly interested in missions, 
but often filled pulpits, and was active in 
all forms of church work. 

Nels Nelson lived on a farm in Norway 
until 1 88 1, when he came to America, and 
pushing- westward to Wisconsin, settled 
first in Marathon county, and then worked 
at his trade as a carpenter in St. Paul, Win- 
ona and LaCrosse. Four years after his ar- 
rival in America he went to Washburn, then 
a village of not more than 250 inhabitants. 
There he built one of the first hotels in the 
place, known as the "Nelson House," and 
kept the management of it in his own hands 
until 1902, when he rented it. It has al- 
ways been a popular place and has enjoyed 
a large patronage. 

During his residence in Washburn I\Ir. 
Nelson has shown a great interest in public 
affairs, and has been prominent in town and 
county politics. Until 1892 he belonged to 
the Democratic party, but in that year be- 
came a convert to Republican principles 
and has supported them ever since. From 
1889 to 1 89 1 he served as a member of the 
town board, and since 1900 has been chair- 
man of the board and a member of the coun- 
ty board. In the State convention of 1902 
Mr. Nelson was a piominent candidate for 
railroad commissioner, but as there was a 
strong desire to put an dd soldier on the 
ticket he failed to get the nomination. In 
1896 he was elected on the board of educa- 
tion and has served continuously ever since. 
The development of the fine school system 
in the town is due partly to his efforts, while 
his personal supervision of the construction 
of the Garfield school building resulted in 
the erection of a model structure, and he is 
known as the father of that school. 

Mr. Nelson has taken a very great in- 
terest in several social and fraternal organi- 
zations and has filled various offices in them. 
He is an ex-president of the Ind. Scan. 
Workingmen's Association, and is a mem- 
ber of the Scan. H. & E. F. of America; 



of the I. O. R. ]\I. and of the AVoodmen of 
the W orld. 

The first wife of !Mr. Nelson, to whom 
he waj married in 1888, was Julia Johnson. 
Sne was born in Gulbransdahl, Norway, in 
iSb/, but only lived to be twenty- four, leav- 
ing her husband with one child, Alma. An- 
other child, Albert, had died at the age of 
three. Mr. Nelson's second marriage oc- 
curred in 1897. His wife's maiden name 
\vas Lizzie Gunderson, who was born near 
Trondhjem, Norway, but came to the 
United States in childhood \\ith her parents, 
who settled in Menomonie, Wis. To this 
union have come three children, x\lbert, 
Nicholas and George Clifford. 

HANS P. FULEY, vice-president of 
the Sawyer County Land Company, came 
to Hayward in 1883, when the town was in 
its infancy. He is of Norwegian birth, born 
in Enebak, near Christiania, March 18, 1858. 
His parents, both natives of Norway, were 
Ole and Annie (Gulbranson). Fuley, the 
former, a farmer by occupation, dying 
when Hans P. was but two and a half years 
old. His mother afterward married Chris- 
tian Fuley, whose last name was taken from 
the farm which had been occupied by several 
generations of H. P. Fuley's family. 

Hans P. Fuley attended the public and 
high schools of his native place, graduating 
in 1876. Two years later he immigrated to 
America, shipping from Christiania on the 
ship "Angelo" across the North Sea to Hull, 
England, and taking passage from Liverpool 
on the "Indiana," of the American line, for 
Philadelphia, where he landed the eighth of 
September. He went first to Nebraska 
City. Neb., where he lived for about two 
years with an uncle, Hans Anderson. From 
there he went to La Crosse, Wis., finding 
employment in the lumber mills and in the 
woods. After three years of this life he 
found his way to Eau Claire, and shortly 
after to Duluth, Minn., from which place he 
came to Hayward in 1883, the year in which 
Sawyer county was formed. Hayward was 
just beginning to be settled at that time, and 
for two years Mr. Fuley was engaged in the 



156 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



lumber woods. In 1886 he was elected 
town clerk of Hayward and of Sawyer 
county and held that office continuously 
until 1890. He was appointed deputy coun- 
ty treasurer in 1891, under County Treas- 
urer Charles Hubbard, holding the posi- 
tion for that year, but in the spring of 1892 
he was again elected town clerk and re- 
mained in that position for ten consecutive 
years. A Republican in politics, he takes 
an active interest in all public matters, and 
for many years has been a frequent delegate 
to county, congressional and assembly con- 
ventions. In 1902 he was prominently men- 
tioned as a candidate for State Treasurer, 
but withdrew before the convention. He has 
also served for a number of years as a coun- 
ty committeeman. For some time past Mr. 
Fuley has been actively and successfully en- 
gaged in the real estate business in connec- 
tion with the Sawyer County Land Com- 
pany. 

In 1888 Mr. Fuley married Lena Ander- 
son and they became the parents of four 
children : Harry, Nina E., Minnie A., an:] 
WilHam A. Mrs. Fuley died March 14, 
1898, at tlie age of thirty-four. Mr. Fuley 
is a member of the Independent Scandina- 
vian Workmen's Association, in which so- 
ciety he was the second to hold the office of 
Grand President. He is a Mason, a mem1:ier 
of Keystone Lodge, No. 263, at Hayward, 
and Pekegema Chapter, No. 67, at Rice 
Lake, and also belongs to the M. W. A. He 
is one of the energetic and successful resi- 
dents of Sawyer county, active in public af- 
fairs, and possessing the confidence and es- 
teem of all classes. 

ALWIN A. MUCK, proprietor of the 
Bank of Lake Nebagamon, has been inti- 
mately identified with many of the move- 
ments for the de-s-elopment of his home 
town, accjuiring his wealth and position by 
efforts along lines which have also been 
helpful to the community at large. He is a 
native son of Wisconsin and was born in 
Jefferson, Julv 7, 1866. His parents were 
Christopher and Antoinette Muck. 

Christopher Muck and his wife were na- 



tives of Saxony, Germany, and both came 
to this country in 1852, but their marriage 
occurred after their arrival here. Christo- 
pher Muck was a butcher by trade and op- 
ened a market at Jefferson, later removing 
to Michigamme. An industrious and pros- 
perous citizen, he gave little attention to pub- 
lic aft'airs and passed a cjuiet life until his 
death in 1884, at the age of fifty-three years. 
His wife still survives him and resides at 
Lake Nebagamon, nearly seventy years old 
now. Of her children the following seven 
are living : Henry, of Iron Mountain, 
Mich. ; Anna, of Lake Nebagamon ; Alwin 
A.; Emma, the wife of Frank Redding, of 
Lake Nebagamon ; Charles, of Junction 
City, Ore. ; Herbert and Alma, Mrs. 
Charles Derrie, both of Lake Nebagamon. 

When only a boy Alv\'in Muck went with 
his parents to Michigamme and was there 
brought up, attending the public schools. 
He learned the butcher's trade and was also 
employed for a time in a mercantile estab- 
lishment. Still another phase of his early 
life was that of a miner, as he worked more 
or less in iron mines. In 1892 he went to 
Iron River, Wis., where he was employed 
by a firm dealing in meats and general mer- 
chandise, and where he remained six years. 

Mr. Muck located at Lake Nebagamon 
in 1898 and for two years carried on a hard- 
ware store there, the first one opened in the 
town. His interests were not confined to 
this one enterprise, however, as he was also 
dealing in real estate and had some other 
business connections. In 1900 he bought a 
stock of general merchandise, clothing, 
boots and shoes, etc., in the management of 
which his brother-in-law, Charles Derrie, 
and a brother, Henry Derrie, were his part- 
ners. At the same time he purchased the 
Bank of Lake Nebagamon, an institution 
which had been started two years previous- 
ly by Hunter, Steckbauer and Ripley, and 
the two enterprises have since been conduct- 
ed b}^ Mr. Muck in connection with each 
other. 

Mr. ]\Iuck's real estate holdings have 
been considerable, as he has invested rather 
largely in timber lands as well as in village 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



157 



property. He has also erected several 
buildings in the village. He has invested in 
Oregon, as well as in Wisconsin, and is con- 
nected with his brother Charles both in 
these properties and in some gold mines in 
the Cascade Mountains, in the former State, 
which latter they are now preparing to de- 
velop. He is president of the Muck-Dun- 
ning Hardware Co., of Portland, Ore., and 
is about to remove to that city. Mr. Muck 
is also interested in the Carbon Coal Co., 
which owns some valuable coal mines near 
Centralia, Washington. 

Mr. Muck was married in 1889 to 
Miss Emily Derrie, daughter of Edward 
and Rosa Derrie, of Champion, Mich. To 
this union have come two children, Emma 
and Roy. The family attend the Catholic 
Church and take a prominent part in its 
various activities. 

A Republican in his pohtical views, Mr. 
Muck was a strong candidate before the con- 
vention of 1902 as a member of the Assem- 
bly from the 2d district of Douglas county. 
At Iron River he was a member of the 
town board, and at Lake Nebagamon has 
been a member of the school board two 
years. Eraternally he is a member of the 
M. W. A., a charter member of the local 
lodge, I. O. O. F., and of the Encampment 
and Canton at West Superior, also a mem- 
ber of the B. P. O. E., in all of which he 
is a prominent factor. 

Mr. Muck has been uniformly success- 
ful in business, and by his honorable deal- 
ings and courteous manners has gained an 
enviable reputation and popularity among 
his associates. 

CHARLES AUGUSTUS STARK, a 
successful attorney and prominent citizen of 
Rice Lake, Barron Co., Wis., was born at 
Randolph, Wis., Dec. 25, 1854, a son of 
Abel and Jane (Ely) Stark, the former of 
whom was a native of Lyme, Conn., and 
came to Wisconsin in 1851. He resided 
upon a farm at Randolph until his death in 
1868, when he was sixty-four years of age. 
He was acti\-e in local affairs, serving as jus- 
tice of the peace and councilman of the town 



of \\'estford for many years. In party af- 
filiations he was a Democrat. Religiously 
he was a Baptist, and was a most worthy 
and good man. His ancestors came from 
Scotland in 1664 and settled in New Eng- 
land, although the first of whom there is any 
definite record is Abel Stark, brother of 
General Stark, of Revolutionary fame. Na- 
than, son of Abel Stark, was the grand- 
father of Charles A. Mrs. Abel Stark, 
mother of our subject, died at Randolph in 
1 886, aged seventy-three years. She was 
born at Poughkeepsie, N. Y., and was a 
granddaughter of the celebrated Dr. Wil- 
liam Pitt Ely, of Hanover, N. J. The Ely 
family has long been prominently identified 
with the history of that portion of New Jer- 
sey. Mr. and Mrs. Abel Stark had eleven 
children, of whom Charles A. Stark was 
the youngest. 

Charles Augustus Stark was educated in 
the public schools of his locality and later 
studied law at the University of Wisconsin, 
from which he was graduated in 1879. For 
some time he was engaged in practice at 
Chicago, but returned to Randolph and car- 
ried on the homestead for three years, and 
then opened up an ofiice. May 13, 1887, 
he located at Rice Lake, where he has since 
resided, successfully engaged in a general 
practice. He is a Republican in politics, and 
for eleven years has served with conserva- 
tive ability as city attorney. Mr. Stark has 
also served as delegate to State and con- 
gressional conventions several times, and is 
ahvays sent to the county conventions, his 
influence and ability being generalh^ recog- 
nized. 

In March, 1889, Mr. Stark was married 
to Lillian M. Stults, daughter of Silas and 
INIary (Musson) Stults, of Rice Lake. 
Mrs. Stark was born in Cooks Valley, 
Chippewa Co., Wis. Two children have 
been bom to Mr. and Mrs. Stark, Ralph 
and Blanche. The family all attend the 
Episcopal Church. Fraternally Mr. Stark 
is a member of the M. W. A. and A. O. U. 
W., being Master Workman of Weal Lodge, 
and is deservedly popular in all these or- 
ganizations. 



1^8 



COALAIEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



THOMAS EVANS PUGH, one of 
Ashland's most successful contractors, who 
came to the city in 1887 and has ever since 
been active in furthering its rapid growth, 
is a native of Wales, and was born in the 
parish of Llanbister, Radnorshire, Jan. 25, 
1853. His parents were Richard and Mar- 
garet (Evans) Pugh, both natives of the 
same locality. 

Three generations of the family have 
come to this country. Richard Pugh came 
with his family in 1867, and his mother, 
who was left a widow in early life and who 
married for her second husband a man 
named Morgan, preceded her son by a few- 
years. Her death occurred in Hagerstown, 
Md. The maternal grandfather. Rev. 
Thomas Evans, a Baptist minister, was 
born in Wales, March 31, 1775, and died 
in Radnorshire, Nov. 28, 1830. His wife, 
Mrs. Jane Evans, was born May 26, 1783, 
and died at Claremont, near Whitby, Out., 
April 15, 1868. 

When Richard Pugh came to America 
he made his first settlement at Aurora, 111., 
but later he went to Indiana and passed the 
rest of his life on a farm near Wolcott. 
Both he and his wife were Baptists in their 
faith and were very active in church work. 
Richard Pugh was noted for his love of 
music, and his son carefully preserves the 
hymn book in which his father copied all 
the music by hand. For many years he 
lead the music in the Baptist Church in his 
native place. Mr. Pugh was a Republican. 
He was born April 20, 1820, and lived until 
Sept. 27, 1892. His widow still survives 
and lives with one of her children in Wol- 
cott. They had children as follows : Jane 
E., widow of' Evan A. Jones, of Wolcott. 
Ind. ; Eleanor, Mrs. James C. Jones, of 
Alonticello, Ind.; Richard C, of Wolcott; 
Thomas E. ; Margaret E., who died in in- 
fancy. May 24, 1861, and John B., of Ant- 
werp, Ohio. 

Thomas E. Pugh attended school in 
Wales, and after coming to America, was 
also in the public schools of Aurora. At the 
age of eighteen he began to learn the car- 
penter's trade, and for most of his life has 



worked in that line. Pie began in Indiana, 
w here he did some contracting, and also put 
up buildings in Belleville, Wis. Since 1887 
Mr. Pugh has been in Ashland engaged in 
contracting. Among the many substantial 
structures he has erected may be mentioned, 
as among the most elaborate and well built 
in the city, the four Wilmarth blocks. He 
has also done much work in the neighboring 
towns. In 1896 he built his own residence, 
one of several houses he has built for 
himself, and which he still owns. During 
tlie winter of 1903-04 Mr. Pugh started a 
sish and door factory at 102-106 2d 
avenue West, equipped with modern ma- 
chinery for the manufacture of all interior 
finish, including sash, doors, blinds, scroll 
sawing, turning, etc. Five men are em- 
ployed in this establishment, besides a large 
number on his various building contracts. 

In 1884 Mr. Pugh and Miss Clara B. 
!Morley were united in marriage. Mrs. 
Pugh was the daughter of A. J. Morley and 
was born in Lafayette, Ind., where both her 
parents died. The children who have been 
born to this union are as follows : Erma and 
Elma, twins, born Nov. 27, 1886, and Hal- 
lee, who died Sept. 11, 1897, aged nearly 
eight years. The family are connected with 
the Congregational Church, of which Mr. 
Pugh is chairman of the board of trustees. 

]Mr. Pugh is a Republican and is much 
interested in public affairs, but he finds his 
time too much occupied for him to be active 
in politics. He served one term in the city 
council, but declined re-election on account 
of the press of his own duties. Fraternally 
he belongs to the B. P. O. E. and the M. 
\\'. A. In all relations of life he is greatly 
liked and lugnly esteemed for his useful life. 

WILLIAM H. KLINE. A railroad 
center like Superior naturally numbers 
among its residents many who are brought 
thither bv their connections with the differ- 
ent roads. 

William H. Kline's ancestors came to 
this country from either Holland or Ger- 
many, and for several generations the fam- 
ily has lived 'n Pennsylvania. The grand- 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



159 



father, Joseph Khne, was a farmer who 
lived and died in Lebanon county. His son, 
Joseph, Jr., was a dealer in tin and hard- 
ware at Trevorton, Westmoreland county. 
He married Catherine Baumgardner, also 
a native of Pennsylvania, of German de- 
scent. Her father, George Baumgardner, 
of Lebanon county, was a farmer and shoe- 
maker, who lived to the advanced age of 
eighty years. 

\\'illiam H. Kline was born in Dauphin 
county, Pa., in December, 1853. His boy- 
hood was passed in Northumberland county, 
where he attended the public schools, and 
then in his father's .shop learned the trade of 
tinsmith. On reaching his majority Mr. 
Kline left home to begin life on his own ac- 
count, and for a time was employed in mer- 
cantile houses. In 1877 ^^^ went to Ne- 
braska and spent a year in a store there. He 
was next in a real estate office in Burlington, 
Iowa, and then spent some time in Platts- 
niouth. Neb., entering the employ of the 
Chicago, Burlington & Ouincy road in a 
clerical capacity. After several years in 
Plattsmouth, he was transferred to Lincoln, 
Neb., where he was division store keeper. 
In 1888 he severed his connection with the 
Burlington road and took a position with 
the Eastern railroad of Minnesota as store 
keeper in \\'est Superior. Two years later 
he was stationed at St. Paul as chief clerk 
in the company's general store, and then in 
1S96 returned to West Superior again as 
store keeper. There he had charge of all 
tiie supplies (.m the Eastern Division of the 
Great Northern System, including every- 
thing east of Cass Lake and between Duiuth 
and St. Paul. 



In li 



occurred Mr. Kline's marriage 



to Miss Mary J. Ford, who was Ijorn in 
Mexico, N. Y., the daughter of S. B. Ford, 
who later was a retired business man of Lin- 
coln, Neb. One son has been born to Mr. 
and Mrs. Kline, Bertram T. The family are 
members of the Congregational Church, 
while fraternally Mr. Kline is a member of 
two orders, the Royal Arcanum and the M. 
W. A. In his politics he is a Republican, 
but has neither the time nor the inclination 
for an active career in the political field. 



CHARLES LARSON, register of 
deeds of Douglas county, is a man who at 
a comparatively early age has achieved suc- 
cess solely by his industry and ability, which 
have enabled him to forge ahead rapidly. 

Air. Larson was the child of Lars and 
Christina (Swanson) Larson, whose whole 
lives were spent on a farm in Wilshult, Ble- 
kinge, Sweden. Lars Larson had three sons 
and one daughter, all of whom came to 
Superior. The children were Andrew, 
Swan, Celia, the wife of Charles A. Swan- 
son, and Charles. 

Charles Larson received a good educa- 
tion in his native land, completing a high 
school course and studying bookkeeping. 
Before he had entirely finished the latter he 
came, in 1880, to the United States and 
located in Superior, then little more than a 
small frontier village. Fle worked in the 
lumber woods, meantime applying himself 
diligently to mastering the English lan- 
guage, and with the assistance of a little 
private instruction, his purpose was soon 
fulfilled. The year 1885 witnessed the com- 
mencement of his prospecting on Vermillion 
Range, where he invested in lands of which 
he still holds possession. About four years 
were spent there and on the Missabi Range 
prospecting for timber. Mr. Larson has 
also made investments in the Thunder Bay 
gold mining district and in several other 
directions. 

In 1870 Mr. Larson entered the engi- 
neering department of the city and for five 
years continued in that position. A Repub- 
lican in his attitude toward public affairs, he 
was elected alderman from the Fifth ward 
in 1898 and was chosen again for that office 
in 1900. In the latter year he was also 
elected register of deeds for the county, and 
re-elected in 1902. In these public capaci- 
ties his duties were fulfilled to the utmost 
satisfaction of his constituents. He is con- 
nected with the K. of P., the Improved 
Order of Red Men, the Independent Scandi- 
na\-ian Workmen's Association, the Scan- 
dinavian Benevolent Association and other 
fraternal organizations. 

On Dec. 3, 1902, occurred the nuptials 
of Air. Larson and Aliss Augusta Anderson, 



i6o 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



daughter of Andrew and Christine Ander- 
son, of Black River Falls, Doviglas Co., 
W.s. Mrs. Larson was born at Dalerne, 
Sweden, and came to this country with her 
parents in 1889. Mr. and Mrs. Larson are 
the parents of one son, born Dec. 31, 1903. 

JOSEPH P. COX. M. D., one of the 
most prominent physicians in Northern 
Wisconsin, was born in Chatham, Ont., 
May 7, 1859, son of Dr. Joseph and Alary 
(O'Flynn) Cox. 

Dr. Joseph Cox, the father, was an Eng- 
lishman who took his medical degree in Ips- 
wich University, and for a time occupied 
the chair of chemistry at that university and 
at Oxford. He came to Canada in 1849, 
living a few years at Chatham, then going 
to Detroit, Mich., where for some years he 
was professor of chemistry in the Detroit 
Medical College. He then went to Milwau- 
kee, and after a time to Oconto, Wis., 
where he engaged in the drug business 
until his health gave way. His death 
occurred in 1889, in St. Thomas, Ja- 
maica, where he had gone in search of re- 
newed health. He was but fifty-nine years 
of age when he died and had made a name 
for himself in the field of chemistry, both 
as a teacher and as a practical chemist. He 
had a family of three children, of whom 
two survive: Dr. Joseph P., mentioned be- 
low; and Edward A., a pharmacist in Mil- 
waukee. 

Dr. Joseph P. Cox passed his boyhood 
in Milwaukee, where he attended the public 
and parochial schools, and prepared for col- 
lege. He matriculated in the University of 
Indiana in 1876, completing the full course 
and graduating in 1879. Previous to this 
he had studied medicine with the noted 
physician Dr. J. Marion Sims, and in 1880 
he entered the College of Physicians and 
Surgeons in Minneapolis, for post graduate 
work, also acting for some years as a dem- 
onstrator of anatomy in the college. From 
there he went to Sykestown, N. Dak., 
and then to Fort Totten, that State, as 
United States Post Surgeon, serving also 
as postmaster at Sykestown, his commission 



being signed by Walter O. Gresham. While 
in this part of the country he acted as com- 
missioner in the organization of Wells and 
other counties, in Dakota Territory, being 
the first commissioner appointed by Terri- 
torial Governor N. G. Ordway. Upon the 
completion of this work he went to St. Paul, 
Minn., where for some time he was actively 
engaged in the practice of his profession. In 
1885 he accepted the management of the 
Eau Claire Hospital, remaining in charge 
several years. He went to Hayward as 
government physician to the Indians of 
Wisconsin, receiving his appointment under 
President Harrison, and resigning on 
President Cleveland's election. After this 
he devoted himself to his private practice, 
and organized and conducted the Good Sa- 
maritan Hospital at Hayward, at that time 
the largest lumbermen's hospital in north- 
ern Wisconsin. He remained in Hayward 
until 1899, becoming an important factor in 
local politics, and filling the position of 
chairman of the Republican county com- 
mittee for several years. During this time 
he also edited the Republican Hustler, a po- 
litical organ established by himself, through 
which he carried on an aggressive cam- 
paign, and succeeded in electing Myron H. 
McCord, as congressman from the Ninth 
Congressional district. He was a frequent 
delegate to State and Congressional conven- 
tions, and often stumped the State in the 
interests of party candidates. In 1899 he 
came to Spooner to accept the position ot 
district surgeon of the Chicago, St. Paul, 
Minneapolis & Omaha Railway Company, 
which he still retains. At the first election 
after his coming to Washburn county, he 
was elected chairman of the Republican 
County Committee, a position which he con- 
tinues to fill with satisfaction to his party. 
Dr. Cox is a member of the International 
Red Cross Association, and has had personal 
supervision of all the work of the associa- 
tion in northern Wisconsin. He is health 
officer for the town of Spooner ; surgeon for 
the North American Fidelity Life Insur- 
ance Company; and examining surgeon for 
the North British Life Insurance Company, 



T-'E K£W YORK 
PUBLIC LIBRARY 



ASTOR, LENOX 
TILDEN fOUNDATlONS 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



i6i 



of London, England; the New York Equity 
Insurance Company; the New York Mu- 
tual Life Insurance Company; the Phoenix 
Life Insurance Company, of Hartford, 
Conn. ; the Guarantee Fund Life Asso- 
ciation, of Davenport, Iowa; the K. O. 
T. M. ; A. O. U. W. ; Brotherhood of Lo- 
comotive Engineers and Firemen ; Endow- 
ment Rank, K. P. ; Catholic Knights of 
Wisconsin; and M. W. A. He is a promi- 
nent member of the B. P. O. E. In addi- 
tion to all his other interests Dr. Cox has 
found time to invent and patent the Sims 
Obstetrical Brace, named in honor of his 
famous teacher, which meets a long felt 
need among physicians. 

Dr. Cox was married in Hayward, to 
Kate E. Coe, a prominent teacher in the 
Sawyer county schools, and they have the 
following- children ; Mary, Fabriola, Flor- 
ence and Joseph McKinley. The Doctor has 
long been a regular contributor to the med- 
ical journals of the country, and is about to 
retire from active practice and establish a 
periodical to be called the "Aseptic Medical 
Journal," a fifty page cjuarto devoted to the 
interests of physicians in America, of 
which he will be sole editor. 

WILLIAM L. JACKSON. Duluth 
numbers among her business men several 
successful real estate dealers, and among 
these none is more prominent than William 
L. Jackson, who was born in the County of 
Norfolk, Ontario, Jan. i, 1852, son of Jo- 
seph Jackson and Melinda (Dowling) Jack- 
son. 

Joseph Jackson, Sr., father of Joseph 
Jackson and grandfather of William L. 
Jackson, removed from New York State to 
the County of Norfolk, Ontario, about 
1830. He engaged in farming there until 
1849, when he joined the procession of for- 
tune hunters bound for the golden sands of 
California. He started on the long trip via 
Cape Horn, but was taken ill with fever and 
was put ashore at Rio Janeiro, where he 
died, aged about sixty years. His widow. 
whose maiden name was Becker, was of 
German descent. She survived some years, 
11 



and died aged about seventy-five. They 
were the parents of two sons and six 
daughters. 

Joseph Jackson, the youngest son of Jo- 
seph, Sr., was reared on the home farm. He 
engaged in lumbering in Ontario, and later 
followed the same occupation in Tawas and 
Alpena, Mich., and other places, later oper- 
ating a sawmill in Tonawanda, N. Y. At 
the present time he is serving as sheriff at 
Simcoe, Ontario. He was at one time a 
member of the Dominion Parliament. His 
wife, Melinda Dowling, was born in On- 
tario, a daughter of Thomas Dowling, who 
came from Ireland. She died in Simcoe, in 
1878, aged forty-six years. 

William L. Jackson attended the gram- 
mar schools in his native town, and when 
old enough to enter the business world en- 
gaged in lumbering with his father. In 
1884 he came to Duluth and opened a dry 
goods store, in which he met with remark- 
able success for eighteen months, when he 
sold out and entered the real estate world. 
He has proven himself perfectly at home in 
the latter line, and has handled a great deal 
of city property. He platted and laid out 
Jackson's Division, adjacent to Duluth 
Heights. In more recent years he has con- 
fined his attention largely to pine and iron 
lands, deriving much profit therefrom. He 
has an intuitive knowledge of real estate 
values and is able to represent lands in a fair, 
straightforward way, thus winning high 
praise from those who do business with him. 

Mr. Jackson has been twice married. In 
1879 he wedded Miss Matie Booth, a native 
of Tonawanda, N. Y., who died March 15, 
1890, aged thirty-three years. She was a 
member of the Disciple Church. Two chil- 
dren were born of this marriage : Joseph 
L., a fireman on the Duluth & Iron Range 
Road, and Ora B., now Mrs. John Litz, of 
Tonawanda, N. Y. In October, 1892. Mr. 
Jackson married (second) Miss Marv K. 
Francis, of Port Rowan, Ont. Botli 'Mr. 
Jackson and his wife are members of the 
Presbyterian Church and are much interest- 
ed in its various works fnr the good of hu- 
manity. Socially he belongs to the Roval 



1 62 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



Arcanum, which he joined in 1883. He is 
a Democrat in pohtics. 

GEORGE CRAIG COOPER, a promi- 
nent attorney of Superior, Douglas county, 
was born in Dekalb county. 111., May 26, 
]86o. His parents were James C. and Mn- 
■^aret E. (Newton) Cooper, tlie former a 
native of Sterling, N. Y. The ancestors of 
both families were distinguished for patri- 
otic sentiments and loyal service in behalf of 
the government of the United States. 

William Cooper, the grandfather of 
James C. Cooper, took part in the battle of 
■Oswego during the war of 1812. His son, 
George C. Cooper, the father of James C, 
was a fanner who settled in Dekalb county, 
111., in 1848 and died there fourteen years 
later at the age of fifty-two years. He was 
one of the original supporters of the Repub- 
lican party and a staunch advocate of its 
principles dviring the balance of his life. 
James C. Cooper, whose existence extended 
through a period of only thirty-six years, 
was engaged in farming in Dekalb and Lee 
counties in Illinois. His widow now lives in 
Kendall countv in the same State. Her 
father. Rev. Daniel Newton, was a Metho- 
dist minister t\'ho was born in New York 
and became one of the pioneer clergj'men of 
Wisconsin, locating at Racine in 1835. His 
<leath, which was caused by an accident, oc- 
curred at Seville, Ohio, when he had at- 
tained the age of eighty-nine years. His 
wife, whose maiden name was Elizabeth 
Walker, was born in Illinois, opposite the 
•city of St. Louis, in 1816. Her father, 
David Walker, was a native of North Caro- 
lina, who removed in early life to Tennessee 
and fought under Gen. Jackson at the battle 
•of New Orleans. He afterwards became 
one of the pioneers of Illinois, settling first 
in St. Clair county, and in 1826 at Ottawa, 
building the first house on the site of that 
city. He married Phoebe Findlay, a native 
of Wythe county, Va., whose father lost his 
life at the battle of Cowpens while serv- 
ing in Gen. Morgan's command. Rev. Jesse 
AValker, a brother of David, preached the 
first protestant sermon ever delivered in Chi- 



cago. Another ancestor of the subject of 
this sketch, named James Craig, came from 
Ireland early in the eighteenth century, set- 
tled at East Salem, Washington Co., N. Y., 
and afterward joined the Continental arm- 
serving under Col. Alexander Webster. His 
daughter married William Cooper, the 
grandfather of James C. Cooper, previously 
mentioned. 

George C. Cooper spent his boyhood in 
his native county. After leaving the public 
schools he attended a seminary at East Paw- 
paw, 111., and at the age of twenty years be- 
gan the study of law in the office of Samuel 
Richolson, at Ottawa, Quebec. May 22, 
1882, he was admitted to the bar and at once 
located at Huron, S. D., where he followed 
his profession for the next nine years. While 
there he took an active part in politics and 
was a delegate to the convention which 
framed the constitution of that State. Since 
1 89 1 he has been a citizen of Superior, and 
during this interval has not only won an 
enviable position among the members of his 
profession, but has also acquired the reputa- 
tion of being one of the most public-spirited 
citizens in Douglas county, if not in the 
State of Wisconsin. Among the noted 
cases in which he has been retained may be 
mentioned the impeachment case of the 
common council vs. Mayor Starkweather, 
in which he was prosecuting attorney. In 
1900 he was a delegate to the National Dem- 
ocratic convention, supporting the candida- 
cy of William J. Bryan, and the same year 
was the candidate for his party for attorney 
general of Wisconsin. In nearly every po- 
litical campaign he has had numerous calls 
for his services as an orator and has gained 
an enviable reputation as a stump speaker. 
He holds a conspicuous place in the B. P. O. 
E., and in 1900 served as Exalted Ruler of 
Superior Lodge, No. 403. 

In 1892 Mr. Cooper was married to 
Minnie A. McCuIlen, a native of Canada 
and a daughter of Alexander ]\IcCullen, of 
Wessington, South Dakota. 

JOHN A. PETTINGILL. To John 
A. Pettingill, merchant and real estate deal- 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



163 



cr, belongs the distinction of having buih 
the first residence in what is now the town 
-of Iron River. His first log cabin was built 
in 1887, and from that day to this his life 
has been closely interwoven with the his- 
tory of the town. 

Mr. Pettingill was first attracted to the 
town while on a hunting trip, and after care- 
fully looking over the land, he chose a loca- 
tion there and prepared to make it his future 
home. He offered his filing that year on the 
S. E. one-fourth of section 7, range 8, and 
put up a log cabin where the town now 
stands, and on the exact site of the present 
Grimpo house. The next July his family 
joined him. Even before he had secured his 
filings he began making extensive improve- 
ments on his land, and had erected a frame 
building which cost $3,000. At that time he 
entered upon his mercantile career, carrying 
a small stock of groceries and such mer- 
chandise as the needs of the settlers required. 

Five years after taking up his land Mr. 
Pettingill decided to lay it out as a town 
site, and he had a tract one mile square sur- 
veyed and platted for the town of Iron 
River. So rapidly was that region being 
settled, that as soon as his advertisements 
appeared, purchasers responded, and within 
one twenty-four hours he had 150 people 
there looking for homes, all of whom were 
his guests over night — such was the open 
hospitality of the time and place. The new 
town grew apace, and its prospects were of 
the brightest, when July 24. 1902, the whole 
place was destroyed by fire, seventy-two 
l)uildings being swept away, while only five 
cottages on a back street were saved. This 
was, of course, a great misfortune for Mr. 
Pettingill, but still undaunted he pushed 
ahead, gave every encouragement possible 
to those who had been burned out, and with- 
in a year the town rose again with better 
buildings than at first. In ?vlay, 1892, JMr. 
Pettingill sold his mercantile interests to 
Hessey & Hatton, and immediately pro- 
ceeded to organize a State bank. In this 
enterprise he was associated with his son, 
George L., N. C. Kelley and W. F. IMcEl- 
•downey. After about a year Mr. Kelley 



bought out the Pettingill interests. In 1896 
Mr. Pettingill again established himself in 
the mercantile fine, opening with a stock 
valued at $10,000, which he soon increased 
to $15,000. This business is now carried on 
by G. L. Pettingill & Co. In addition 
to these other interests Mr. Pettingill has 
dealt quite largely in outside real estate. 

The man whose career we have thus far 
followed in Iron River, was a New Yorker 
by Ijirth, born in Otsego county in 1842, a 
son of Alonzo and Lucy ( Davis) Pettin- 
gill, all natives of New York. John re- 
ceived his education in the public schools 
and was brought up on his father's farm 
in New York until he was ten years old. In 
1856 he went West with his parents and 
settled in Farmington, La Crosse Co., Wis. 
There he continued dealing in live stock and 
farming until 1887, when he took up his 
Bayfield county land as noted abo\-e. 

Air. Pettingill was married Dec. 29, 
i8b2, to Ann Eliza Ouiggle, who has borne 
him two children : George L. and Eva, now 
Mrs. William McEldowney, of Salem, Wis- 
consin. 

A strong Republican in his ideas, Mr. 
Pettingill has always taken a leading part in 
local politics. In La Crosse he served one 
year as a member of the county board and 
another as chairman of the town committee. 
In Iron River he has been chairman of the 
town and has represented his party fre- 
quently in the Legislature and in county 
and congressional conventions. Fraternal- 
ly he is a member of the Masonic order, 
Salem Lodge, No. 125, having attained the 
Knight Templar and the Royal Arch de- 
grees. In all the relations of life Mr. Pet- 
tingill has made an honorable record for 
himself and is esteemed and respected by all 
who know him. 

COLIN JAMES McRAE. general fore- 
man of yards of the Superior Ship Building 
Company, is one of the many men of Scot- 
tish blood who have helped to make north- 
ern Wisconsin what it is. Although of 
Scotch descent, he is himself a native of 
Canada and was bom in Brechin, Ontario 



164 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



county, Aug. 11, 1866, a son of Farquhar 
and Isabella (McRae) McRae. 

Farquhar McRae was a native of Edin- 
burgh, Scotland, a descendant of an old 
Scotch clan, but came to America in 1820 
and settled in Brechin, where he lived to be 
seventy-six years old. 

By profession he was a contractor and 
erected a great number of buildings, being 
a successful business man. His wife, al- 
though of the same name, was no connec- 
tion. She lived to be sixty-eight years old, 
and died in Brechin, the place of her birth. 
Her father, John McRae, was a farmer and 
lived to the unusual age of ninety. His 
son, Philip, an ex-member of the Ontario 
Parliament, was Reeve of the township of 
Mara for twenty-one years consecutively. 
In the family of Farquhar and Isabella jNIc- 
Rae were eight sons and two daughters, of 
whom two sons are deceased. The others 
are Duncan, of Brechin, Ont. ; William, of 
Denver, Colo. ; Colin J. ; Mary, Mrs. Harry 
Casey, of Perry Sound, Ont. ; Christopher, 
a resident of Brechin ; Donald, an electrician 
of Duluth, ]\Iinn. ; Louis, of Brechin, and 
Flora, of Brechin. 

Colin J. McRae completed his education 
in the public schools and then learned the 
trade of carpenter and builder. When eigh- 
teen years old, he left Brechin and went to 
British Columbia, where he worked at his 
trade for two years. His next venture was 
in Cleveland, Ohio, where he was employed 
in ship yards for another year and a half. 
In 1886 Mr. McRae went to Duluth, still 
working as a carpenter, and became foreman 
for a contractor who erected the Temple 
Opera House and many other conspicuous 
buildings. When the American Steel Barge 
Co. was organized, he entered the employ 
of that company as a fitter, and helped to 
construct the "102" and many other of the 
famous whaleback fleet, of which the "102" 
v,-as the second built. Mr, McRae has been 
with the concern ever since, although the 
works were soon moved to West Superior, 
and the business name is now the Superior 
Ship Building Company. Since November, 
1901. he has been general foreman of the 



}'ar<!s in which from 1,000 to 1,200 men are 
employed. 

Mr. McRae has always been a Republi- 
can, and his wide business experience along 
his own lines has been of great advantage in 
his work on the common council. In the 
spring of 190 1 he was elected to that body 
from the Fifth ward and served on the com- 
mittee on harbors, docks and railroads, judi- 
ciary and taxation, viaducts, streets and 
liridges, where his advice was most practi- 
cal and valuable. In 1902 he was president 
of the city board of health, and in that year 
was a delegate to the Republican congres- 
sional convention of the Eleventh district, 
held at Chippewa Falls, where he supported 
Congressman John J. Jenkins for nomina- 
tion. 

On Feb. 6, 1894, Mr. McRae was mar- 
ried to Lizzie, daughter of Thomas and 
Mary Ennis, of Madison, Wis. Her father, 
Thomas Ennis, is a native of New York and 
an early settler of Dane county, Wis., where 
he is still living on a farm. To Mr. and 
Mrs. McRae have been born two children, 
Harold John and William Leslie. The fam- 
ily belong to the Catholic Church. Mr. Mc- 
Rae has built a pleasant home on Grand ave- 
nue, supplied with all modern comforts, and 
there he and his wife are the center of a 
large circle of friends, including the best 
people of the locality. 

FRANK P. DOHEARTY, M, D., a 
physician who has been located at Butter- 
nut, Ashland county, since 1899, and has 
even in that brief period built up an exten- 
sive and lucrative practice, was born in 
Peterboro, Ontario, in 1871, but has passed 
practically his whole life in the United 
States, 

The parents of Dr. Doheartv were Mi- 
chael and Mary (Daley) Dohearty, the 
former born in Ireland and the latter in 
Canada. The father was a machinist by 
trade, a blacksmith and boilermaker, who 
settled in Sturgeon Bay. Wis., during the 
early childhood of his son, Frank, and is 
still a resident of that place, living retired. 
The doctor was the eldest of the five chiklren 



I 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHIC.XL RELOiv-J 



lb: 



born to his narents, the others being Fred- 
crick, a bookkeeper and teacher; W'ihiam 
H., a stenographer, and now attending Mil- 
waukee Medical College; Anna, the wife of 
Joseph De Keyser, a general jnerchant of 
Pound, Wis., and Mary, a successful teacher 
in the public schools of Sturgeon Bay. 

Dr. Dohearty was brought up in Stur- 
geon Bay and was given a good general 
education in the public schools, in which he 
completed the full course and was grad- 
uated. He then began reading medicine 
imder the preceptorship of Dr. H. C. Se- 
bree, of Sturgeon Bay, and did sufficient 
preliminary work with him to matriculate 
at the medical school of the Northwestern 
University of Chicago. That year (T893) 
Avas the first time the four-years medical 
course was offered there, and Dr. Dohearty 
was one of the first men to enroll his name 
for it. He was graduated June 17, 1897, 
and for the first year and a half practiced 
at Crivitz, Wis., but as that town was stead- 
ily losing ground, he removed to Butternut 
in 1899, and there has rapidly worked up a 
fine practice, as he is not only the senior 
physician in the place, but a man of most 
genial disposition and affable manner. 

Shortly before going to Butternut, Dr. 
Dohearty was united in marriage to Miss 
Mary Tomney, of Appleton, Wis., May 22. 
1899, and they are the proud parents of 
three little daughters, Rose, Winifred and 
Ann. Dr. Dohearty is devoted to his pro- 
fession and is a keen student of the medi- 
cal literature of the day. He keeps in close 
touch with his professional confreres and is 
a member of the County Medical Society, 
the State Association and the American 
Aledical Association. He holds the position 
i)f health officer for both the township and 
village of Butternut. Fraternally the doctor 
belongs to the M. W. A., the Catholic 
Knights of Wisconsin and the Catholic 
Order of Foresters, and is as popular in all 
social relations as he is professionally. 

CAPT. JARVIS WHITE. The West 
numbers among its most valued citizens 
inanv who are descendants of the oldest 



New England families, and the sturdy qual- 
ities that have been inherited from those 
first pioneers have been a large factor in the 
development of the western prairies. Cap- 
tain Jarvis White, whose faith in the future 
of Superior has done much to make it what 
it is, traces his ancestry back to the earliest 
days of New England, for he is a lineal de- 
scendant of that William White who landed 
from the "Mayflower" at Plymouth Rock in 
1620. 

Capt. White was born at Whiting, Addi- 
son Co., Vt., in 1833, the son of Nathan and 
Lucinda (Beals) White, natives of Massa- 
chusetts. There were six sons and one 
daughter in the family. Of the three now 
living, Jarvis White is the oldest. One 
brother, Nathan, who served in the Rebel- 
lion as a member of the 42d M. V. I., is 
a resident of Worcester, Mass. Edwin, an- 
other brother, served in the war in the same 
regiment, and is now residing in the same 
city. The oldest son was Charles, who was 
in the war like his brothers, but in the 
I52d 111. Regiment. He was a carpenter 
and builder and died from the effects of a 
fall while engaged at his trade. 

I arvis White was about ten years of age 
when his parents moved from Vermont to 
Milford, Mass. He was educated in the 
public schools. In the first year of the war 
he enlisted as a private in Company G, 24th 
M. V. I., Oct. 13, 1861. The regiment 
first saw ser\'ice at Roanoke Island under 
Gen. Burnside, and thence was sent to 
Newbern, N. C. It also participated in 
the siege of Morris Island, where its 
ranks were so depleted that the sur- 
vivors were sent to Fort Marion, Fla., 
and there remained until the spring of 
1863. In that year Mr. White re-enlisted, 
together with about 300 others of his regi- 
ment, and at the same time was given ai 
furlough. But the most important part of 
his military experience was yet to come. He 
took part in Gen. Grant's Virginia campaign 
and was in many of those important and 
bloody engagements. In the battle of Deep 
Bottom, Aug. 14, 1864, he received a severe 
gun shot wound through the thigh and was 



1 66 



COAOIE-MORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



unable for several months to rejoin his reg- 
iment. When he did so he was promoted 
from 2d lieutenant to captain and served 
in that capacity until the close of the war, al- 
though' in the meantime he was offered the 
rank of major. His troops were among the 
first to enter Richmond after the retreat of 
the Confederates, and they remained there 
doing garrison duty until the regiment was 
mustered out, Jan. 20, 1866. 

After the four and a half years of service 
Capt. White returned to Massachusetts and 
engaged in mercantile business at Milford. 
In 1874 he moved to Davenport, Iowa, and 
remained in business there until 1890. He 
had previously secured property in what 
came to be known in 1888 as South Super- 
ior, and where at that time there was not a 
single building. He was among the first to 
begin building and still owns half a dozen 
residences erected by himself and a large 
number of lots well located. In 1897 he 
was elected to the State legislature. That 
same year he was appointed postmaster. He 
has likewise served as alderman from his 
ward and the complete confidence which his 
fellow-citizens repose in him is evidenced 
by the fact that these official honors have all 
been bestowed upon him wholly unsought 
by himself. 

Capt. White has been twice married. 
His first wife, Sarah Jane Grant, died May 
3, 1861, and in 1892, in Davenport, Iowa, 
he was married to Loretta D. Hickman. 
Mrs. White is a fine musician, while her ar- 
tistic taste and marked love for flowers are 
attested by her beautiful garden and the sur- 
roundings of their home. 

In 1856 Capt. White voted for Fremont, 
the first Republican candidate for the presi- 
dency, and he has never wavered in his al- 
legiance to that party. In his fraternal af- 
filiations he is a 32d degree Mason and a 
Knight Templar Past Commander, an hon- 
ored member of Alonzo Palmer Post, G. A. 
R., at West Superior, and of the Loyal Le- 
gion, Chicago. 



l)oth in the East and the West, and organ- 
izer of the Bayfield Transfer Railroad, wa& 
one of the magnates of the lumber world, 
and \vas perhaps e\'en better known as one 
of the owners of the' famous Dalrymple 
farm in North Dakota. 

Mr. Dalrymple was a native of Pennsyl- 
vania, born in Sugar Grove, Warren county, 
April 17, 1825. Although reared to farm 
pursuits he was given a good education in 
the public schools and at the academy in 
Jamestown, N. Y., and after completing his 
studies he taught in Warren county, Pa. 
So satisfactory was his work that he was 
made superintendent of the schools of the 
county, a position he filled for several years. 
Later Mr. Dalrymple left professional work 
and entered the mercantile world, beginning 
in Pittsfield, Pa., where he operated in oil 
and timber lands and manufactured lumber, 
thus laying the foundation for the larger 
fortune he eventually obtained. As his 
wealth increased, he extended his operations 
into the ^^'est and bought extensive tracts 
of land in North Dakota and in Bayfield. 
The Dalrymple farm in the Red river valley, 
referred to above, he owned in partnership 
with his brother, Oliver. 

In 1883 the Bayfield Transfer Railway 
Company was organized by Mr. Dalrymple. 
The first board of directors were William F. 
and Oliver Dalrymple, George H. Noyes, 
W'illiam B. Acocks and Patrick W^ Purtell. 
Of these only Mr. Noyes now remains on the 
board, his associates being J. M. Smith, H. 
C. (Hale, T. W. Dockery and B. K. Miller, 
Jr. The Transfer Railroad extends from 
Bayfield to Red Cliff, and was finally con- 
structed in 1897. The company holds leas- 
es for two other independent lines, each six 
miles in length. 

Mr. Dalrymple was a man of unusual 
energy, with shrewd business instincts, 
though conservative withal, and he accumu- 
lated a large fortune. His death occurred 
July 21, I go I, and was felt to be a distinct 
loss to the communitv. 



WILLIAM F. DALRYMPLE (de- AUGUST FREES, a leading merchant 

ceased), a man of varied business interests of Taylor county, and for many vears post- 



COAniEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



167 



master of Little Black, was born in Schles- 
Avig-EIolstein, Germany, in 1850, son of Au- 
gust and Caroline (Johanson) Frels, of that 
province. The father was a State official of 
roads, and lived and died in the Fatherland. 

.^\.ugust Frels was edjicated in his native 
land, and when he was fifteen years old be- 
gan his mercantile training there. In 1878 
he came to America, and landed in New 
York. He pushed on almost immediately 
to Schleisingerville, where he had an uncle 
living on a farm, and stayed there for a short 
time. For two years he clerked in a store 
in New Holstein, and then went to Little 
Black, and opened a general store in that 
place, then just being settled, and there, since 
1 88 1, he has carried on a general merchan- 
dise trade. 

Mr. Frels has always been a Republican, 
but although belonging to that party, in 
1888. during Cleveland's first term, he was 
appointed postmaster, an office he has held 
through all succeeding atlministrations up 
to the present time. He is active in local 
aiTairs, has been one of three jury commis- 
sioners for the county, serving two terms of 
three years each, and he is the township 
school treasurer. His interest in educational 
questions has always been keen, and he has 
worked to make the schools of his locality 
as well equipped as possible. 

Mr. Frels was married in 1880 to Regina 
Lehml;eck, also a native of Schleswig-Hol- 
stein and they have had two sons born to 
them. The eldest, August, born in 1881, 
is a finely educated young man, a graduate 
first of the Milwaukee Academy, and then of 
the Spencerian Business College of that city. 
With a naturally bright mind, well trained 
and conversant as he is witli both German 
and English he should have a successful ca- 
reer before him. The other son, Henry, 
three years younger, has been given a good 
education in the public schools, and being 
naturally inclined toward a business life, is 
now engaged with his father in Little Black. 

Mr. Frels is a man of fine business at- 
tainments and of great executive ability, 
qualities that have assured him a high de- 
gree of success. In public and private re- 



lations alike he has won deserved respect, 
for he is a good citizen, of most irreproach- 
able character, and devoted to his wife and 
children, in whose society he finds his most 
welcome recreation. 

THOAIAS VINCENT BADGLEY, one 
of the influential and public-spirited citizens 
of Superior, Douglas county, is a son of 
Isaiah Badgley, and was born Nov. i, 1852, 
in the County of Hastings, Ontario. 

Grandfather Cornelius Badgley was a 
pioneer of County Prince Edward, Ontario, 
whither he came from Delaware. Although 
of New England descent, he remained loyal 
to the English cause and preferred to live 
under that flag. His son, Isaiah, who be- 
gan life W'ith no capital but determination 
and grit, became the owner of a finely im- 
proved farm. This place, which is still 
owned by one of Isaiah Badgley' s sons, is 
largely devoted to fruit culture. Both Cor- 
nelius and Isaiah Badgley w-ere active work- 
ers in the Methodist Church ; the latter was 
a class-leader and entertained many minis- 
ters from time to time. His death in 1878, 
at the age of sixty-eight years, was the re- 
sult of an injury. ■ Isaiah Badgley married 
Therese Howard, now in her eighty-ninth 
year, and still living on the homestead farm. 
Her father met his death by drowming while 
comparatively a young man. Two of her 
brothers are prominent ministers of the M. 
E. Church in Canada, Rev. Nathan Howard 
and Rev. Erastus Howard. Isaiah and 
Therese (Howard) Badgley had a large 
family of children, of wdiom Thomas Vin- 
cent is the only one living in Wisconsin. Ira 
C. and Cornelius W. are prosperous farmers 
in Canada. Erastus I. has been for over 
twenty years a professor of Classics, Phil- 
osophy and Mental Science and now holds a 
chair in Victoria Luiiversity, Toronto. James 
A., is a lumber merchant of Emerson, Mani- 
tolxi. Tlierese E. is the widow of R. W. 
Grahnm. of Minneapolis. 

Thomas Vincent Badgley and two of the 
brothers are graduates of Albert University, 
Belleville, Canada. Thomas Vincent gave 
special attention to the classics and to mod- 



1 68 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



era languages, took first class honors the 
second and fourth years, and was gold 
medalist and valedictorian of the class of 
1880. After leaving college he studied law 
for a time in Manitoba, but before complet- 
ing his law course turned his attention to 
real estate, in which business he was en- 
gaged for six years. After teaching three 
months in Duluth, as principal of the Adams 
school, Mr. Badgley came, in April, 1887, 
to Superior. Though his teaching proved 
very successful, he soon gave it up in favor 
of real estate, and in 1888 opened one of the 
first abstract offices in West Superior. He 
has a very complete set of abstracts of his 
own compilation, and has sold over half a 
milHon dollars worth of real estate. Mr. 
Badgley is also local agent for the Mutual 
Life Insurance Co., of New York. In addi- 
tion to his own property Mr. Badgley han- 
dles much real estate for non-resident invest- 
ors from all parts of the world. His own 
residence in Central Park is one of the best 
homes in that suburb. 

Mr. Badgley married, Aug. 14, 1882, 
Emma Ethelda Sills, of Belleville, Ontario, 
and they have two children : Clarence E. C, 
a student in the Blaine high school, and Ma- 
l;el Blanche, also a high school student. Mr. 
Badgley is a Republican but is not an active 
politician. He is a member of the Commer- 
cial Club, and is treasurer of the trust fund 
of the Citizens' committee, whose object is 
to discourage extravagance and curtail ex- 
penditure in city and county finances. Both 
Mr. and Mrs. Badgley are connected with 
the M. E. Church, Mr. Badgley being stew- 
ard of the Cummings Avenue Church. One 
of his most enjoyable occupations is teach- 
ing a Sunday-school class. Mr. Badgley is 
known as a citizen always ready to use his 
influence on behalf of the best interests of 
his city. 

BYRON FERRELL, a merchant of 
South Superior, of the firm of B. Ferrell & 
Co., is one of the early settlers in his part of 
the citv, whither he came in the spring of 
1891. 

Byron Eerrell was born in Herkimer 



county, N. Y., in April, 1847, a son of Wil- 
liam and Lucinda (Griggs) Ferrell. The 
Ferrell family is of Irish ancestry, but the 
first of the name in America came in Colon- 
ial times, and the grandfather of Byron was 
a soldier in the Revolution. William Fer- 
rell had six children, only one of them a 
daughter, and of the five sons, three fought 
in the Rebellion. Austin, the oldest, en- 
listed in the 135th N. Y. V. He survived 
the war, but died a number of years ago. 
Homer was in the i6th N. Y. Heavy Artil- 
lery, and his death occurred in March, 1898. 

Byron Ferrell entered' the service when 
only about seventeen and enlisted in Com- 
pany F, 46th N. Y. V. I. He joined his 
regiment immediately after his enlistment 
and was in front of Petersburg during that 
famous siege. He was constantly under fire 
until the evacuation and his regiment was 
the second that entered the place. He was 
in Washington at the time of the grand re- 
\iew, having gone through his service with- 
out a wound, though more or less broken 
in health by the exposure and hardships he 
had undergone. He was mustered out at 
Elmira, N. Y., in June, 1865. 

In the spring of 1867 Mr. Ferrell enlist- 
ed again at Utica, N. Y., and was assigned 
to Company F, 9th Infantry. The 9th was 
at that time stationed at San Francisco, and 
he joined the regiment at that point. Later 
his company and Battery M, of the 2d Ar- 
tillery, were sent to Sitka, Alaska, as that 
territory had been recently purchased from 
Russia. Mr. Ferrell remained in Alaska for 
a year and eight months. In 1869 orders 
were issued to redvice the army to 25,000 
men, and this resulted in the consolidation 
of the 9th and the 17th regiments. Company 
F, therefore, left Sitka and proceeded to 
Plum Creek, Neb., where it was consolidat- 
ed with Company I, I7tli Inf., though the 
name of Company F, of the 9th regiment, 
was retained. In April, 1870, Mr. Ferrell 
was mustered out at Omaha, having served 
in all nearly four years. 

Returning to New York, Mr. Ferrell 
found conditions less promising for him 
than farther West, and in 1871 he located 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



169 



at Tomah, Monroe Co., Wis., in which 
State he has remained ever since. While at 
Tomah, in December, 1887, he was married 
to Miss Tena Laib, wko has borne him four 
boys, William D., George B., Frank J. and 
Homer. 

Mr. Ferrell is a member of Alonzo Pal- 
mer Post, G. A. R. In his political sympa- 
thies he is a Democrat and while not taking 
a specially active part in local affairs, he is 
regarded as essentially one of the good citi- 
zens of the town. 

I 

DAN DANIELSON, Esq., an attorney 
and magistrate of Superior, Douglas coun- 
ty, was born in the parish of Tveta, Verm- 
land, Sweden, Feb. 26, 1870. He was the 
son of D. O. and Anna L. (Larson) Dan- 
ielson, whose whole lives were passed in the 
home province of Vermland. 

The paternal grandmother was a native 
of England. She married Olaf Danielson, 
who was in early life a sea-captain but later 
gave up the sea and settled down as a farmer 
in Vermland. Their son, D. O. Danielson, 
was an influential citizen and filled a number 
of elective offices in that locality. Besides 
managing his farm, he was in the grain 
business. 

Dan Danielson attended the public 
schools and took a four years course at a 
State school at Amal. He then studied law 
with the Circuit judge at Tveta. In July, 
1888, he came to" the United States and after 
spending one year at Duluth, settled per- 
manently at Superior. In the latter place, he 
first opened a book and music store, but after 
about six months he gave this up and began 
dealing in real estate. The business he con- 
tinued until the fall of 189 1. In that year 
he was elected justice of the peace, and has 
since, during the absence of the regular 
judge, often served an municipal judge. In 
his legal practice he has made a specialty of 
real estate law. In 1899. to fill a vacancy, 
he was appointed by Mayor Dietrich a mem- 
ber of the board of education, was re-ap- 
pointed in 1900 by Mayor Parker and re- 
appointed in 1903 by Mayor O'Hare. He 
was married May 4, 1892, to Octavia C. 



Osberg. Mrs. Danielson was born in 
Xeillsville, Wis. They have one child, 
named Russell Osberg. The judge is a 
member of the Star of Bethlehem and of 
the Grand Commander v, Woodmen of the 
World. 

SCHOOLS OF RUSK COUNTY, 

WTS. The schools of Rusk county. Wis., 
are under the charge of Prof. W. N. Mack- 
in, a well known educator whose long ex- 
perience combined with judgment, tact and 
scholarship, admirably fits him for the 
work. 

The second school within the limits of 
what is now Rusk county was held in a 
room rented at Ladysmith in what was the 
"Corbett Hotel," now the "Manly Hotel," 
and was opened in the fall of 1884 by Miss 
Mary Grandmaitre as teacher. Previous to 
the creation of Rusk county, in 1900, there 
were graded schools at Glen Flora, Weyer- 
hauser, Apollonia, Tony, Warner (now 
Ladysmith), and Bruce, all having been es- 
tablished as two department schools, and 
are now State graded of the first class. 
Since the organization of Rusk county, 
graded schools have been established at In- 
gram and Hawkins, but these have not 
been advanced to the first class as yet. The 
high school buildings are fine structures and 
are a credit to the citizens. 

From Superintendent Mackin"s report 
to the board of supervisors of the county, 
for the school year ending in June, 1903, 
it is learned that six new districts were cre- 
ated that year and since then five more have 
been added, making a total of fifty-three 
districts. Twenty new buildings have been 
erected in the county for school purposes 
since June, 1902, and since that time the 
number of teachers has been increased ac- 
cordingly, there being eighty-three em- 
ploved at present. The salaries for the year 
ending June, 1903, amounted to $19,205.60, 
which was $4,320.40 more than the pre- 
vious year. The teachers are well paid, 
and their efficiency is attested by certificates 
of high grade, fifteen of the number having 
State certificates, seven first grade, fifteen 



170 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



second grade and thirty-eight third grade. 
One-half of the whole number of teachers 
have received professional training and 
many of them are graduates of normal 
schools. 

Superintendent Mackin has labored un- 
tiringly to bring the schools of the county 
to the highest possible state of efficiency. 
On many occasions he has urged the cen- 
tralization of schools and transportation of 
pupils, which methods, when adopted, give 
the students the advantage of graded school 
work, an advantage which is alike apparent 
to both teachers and parents. In their su- 
perintendent Rusk county has an enthusias- 
tic worker, and the results of his efforts may 
best be judged by comparing the present 
educational status of the schools of this 
county with that of others under the same 
conditions. 

PATRICK J. MUNGAVIN has been 
roadmaster of the Lake Superior division 
of the Northern Pacific railroad since 1882, 
and he is known as one of the most indefati- 
gable workers on that division and one of 
the most reliable men the company has in 
this region. 

Mr. Mungavin was born March 26, 
1849, in Countv Clare, Ireland, son of Mi- 
chael and Judith (Minogue) Mungavin, 
who came to the United States in 1850, set- 
tling on a farm in Vermont. The father en- 
gaged in railroad work. In a few years the 
family removed to Chesterton, Ind., where 
Mr. Mungavin carried on a farm and gro- 
cery store, and he died there August, 1869, 
at the age of nearly fifty years. He took 
considerable interest in the public affairs 
of the community in which he settled, and 
was a Democrat in political sentiment. His 
widow still lives at Chesterton, aged more 
than three score years and ten. 

Patrick J. Mungavin received his edu- 
cation in. the public schools, and during his 
youth worked on the farm and in a saw- 
mill. At the age of nineteen he left home 
and spent the next several j^ears traveling in 
the South and West, engaged most of the 
time at lumbering or on steamboats. Since 



1872 he has been at railroad work, in that 
year entering the employ of the Wisconsin 
Central Railway Company, with which he 
continued seven years, in various capacities. 
Upon the termination of his connection with 
that company he received a very compli- 
mentary letter from Mr. Phillips, the super- 
intendent of construction and genei'al man- 
ager of the road, which he still preserves. 
In May, 1879, Mr. Mungavin became an 
employe of the Northern Pacific Railway 
Company, with which he has ever since re- 
mained. His first employment was as brake- 
man, but after five months he became a con- 
ductor, and because of his industrious hal> 
its and persistent devotion to duty he rose 
in time t© his present position, that of road- 
master of the Lake Superior division. His 
office is in Duluth, but his duties take him 
all over the Lake Superior region. Mr. 
Mungavin has never relaxed his persever- 
ance as a worker, and he is often engaged 
far into the night, long after his subordi- 
nates have finished their day's work. This 
tireless attention to the details of his numer- 
ous duties has won him a high place in the 
confidence of his employers, and he enjoys 
an excellent reputation among his superiors 
on the railroad and commands the highest 
respect of the men under him. 

Mr. Mungavin was married, in 1883, to 
Miss Mary Tierney, a native of Kentucky, 
whose father, Peter Tierney, was an early 
settler of Brown county. Wis. Six children 
have blessed this union, namely: Mary, 
Thomas, Catherine, Laura, James and 
Florence. The family are Catholics in re- 
ligious faith. Their home is in Superior, 
and thev are among the most respected res- 
idents of that place. 

REV. JOHN H. NASON. Among the 
various philanthropic institutions at the 
Head of the Lakes, none are more credit- 
able to their patrons than the Lake Superior 
Mission and the Douglas County Humane 
Society. While the noble work accom- 
plished by their organizers could not have 
been carried out without the co-operation of 
many benevolent people, their establishment 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



171 



and continued existence is chiefly due to tlie 
earnest enthusiasm, energy and persever- 
ance of Rev. John H. Nason. 

Mr. Nason was born at Homer, Cort- 
land Co., N. Y., July 7, 1840, to Rev. John 
and Sarah Caroline (Lee) Nason. His pa- 
ternal grandfather, a descendant of an old 
Puritan family, removed from Maine to 
Central New York in 1806. His son, Rev. 
John Nason, entered the ^lethodist ministry 
in early life, but owing to ill-health, retired 
to a farm, and the last years of his life were 
spent at Blodgett's Mills, N. Y., where he 
reached the age of eighty-two. Sarah Lee 
Nason was a foster daughter of Adam Hes- 
ler, of Cazenovia, N. Y., and died at an ear- 
ly age. 

John H. Nason received an academic 
education in the schools of Homer, and 
there fitted himself for the ministry. His 
reading was largely done in the home li- 
brary, with little other assistance or direc- 
tion than that afforded by his father. He 
was ordained a minister of the Congrega- 
tional Church in 1862, and after filling pas- 
torates at several different points in New 
York and Pennsylvania, in 1882 he went to 
Minnesota and engaged in the home mis- 
sion work. After about ten years at Fair- 
mont, Anoka and Montevideo, in August, 
1892, he located at Superior for the purpose 
of beginning similar work among the lum- 
bermen, boatmen, frontier settlers and other 
neglected classes in that pioneer region. His 
sister. Miss Emma C. Nason, of Sault Ste. 
Marie, Mich., had inaugurated the work 
about three years earlier through traveling 
evangelists. 

In the beginning the enterprise was a 
private one and in September, 1893, they 
opened the mission house, furnishing cheap 
meals and lodgings, a reading room and fre- 
quent religious services. The scope of the 
work gradually increased, and in Septem- 
ber, 1900, the establishment was incorpo- 
rated, being now managed by a board of 
directors. Rev. Mr. Nason has been the su- 
perintendent of the mission for several 
years and has ever been found an indefati- 
gable worker in this noble cause, as well as 



in other philanthropic enterprises. The 
work has many phases, one of which is the 
distribution of religious literature and 
standard secular reading through the lum- 
ber camps, the railroad and mining villages, 
and on the boats visiting Superior, a branch 
of its activities which is constantly being 
enlarged. Evangelists are sent out among 
the remote farming settlements of the 
Northwest, while still another department 
which has accomplished a wonderful work 
is that which is engaged among unfortunate 
.vomen and children. 

For eight years, from 1894 to 1902, Mr. 
Nason was agent of the Douglas County 
Humane Society, under the appointment of 
Gov. Upham, and did much while in that 
office for the protection of neglected chil- 
dren and animals. The work to which Mr. 
Nason expects to give the balance of his 
busv life, however, is that of the mission 
which he has been instrumental in establish- 
ing, and which has been very successful 
along the lines of work it has undertaken. 
The mission is now preparing to construct 
a commodious three-story brick building at 
a cost of $30,000, as a home for the friend- 
less and as the headquarters of its rapidly- 
growing missionary work. 

AV. D. TYLER, now serving his sec- 
ond term as county clerk of Iron count}", has 
been for several years a resident of Hurley. 
He was born on a farm in Manitowoc coun- 
ty, Wis., March 22, 1861, his parents being 
J. O. and Lauretta (Rickaby) Tyler, both 
natives of New York State. J. O. Tyler 
was brought up on a farm and followed the 
occupation of farmer in New York State 
until he was twenty-one years of age. He 
then came to Wisconsin and settled on a 
farm in Manitowoc county, where he passed 
the remainder of his life, dying in 1895. He 
served five years in the Union army during 
the Civil war, as a member of the 14th W. 
V. I., and was wounded in the left hip at 
the battle of Cold Harbor. Llis wife died 
on the Wisconsin farm in 1888. Their chil- 
dren were as follows : H. M., a merchant 
of Northport, Wis. ; Alvira, deceased ; W. 



172 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



D. ; Bertha, deceased ; Emma, wife of J. E. 
Daefter, of Marinette, Wis. ; Eva, wife of 
E. C. Barrows, of Nashville Center, Minn. ; 
and Almira, wife of W. E. Wallace, of Tru- 
man, Minnesota. 

W. D. Tyler, like his father before him, 
grew up on the farm. He received but lit- 
tle education and at the age of thirteen left 
home and went into the lumber regions of 
Wisconsin, where he worked for six years. 
He then tried his fortune in North Dakota, 
finding employment there at various occupa- 
tions for five years. Returning to his native 
State, he secured employment with the Chi- 
cago & Northwestern Railroad Company, as 
agent at Glenbeulah. He remained with the 
Northwestern road for thirteen years, act- 
ing as agent at different stations, his longest 
stay being at Saxon, where he was agent 
for ten years. In 1900 he was elected as the 
Republican candidate for county clerk of 
Iron county and is now serving his second 
term in that office, his residence being in 
Hurley. 

On Oct. 26, 1892, Mr. Tyler married 
Lillian Barrows, of Winnebago City, Minn., 
and they have two children, Lyle, aged 
eleven, and Laura, seven, both attending 
school. Mr. Tyler is a member of the Mod- 
ern Woodmen of America, Iron Ore Camp 
No. 3718, of Hurley, and of Gogebic Camp 
No. 88, Knights of Pythias. 

MAHLON P. BARRY, an influential 
citizen of Rice Lake, Barron Co., Wis., was 
born at Walton, Delaware Co., N. Y., Oct. 
22, 1836, a son of Rev. Alfred C. and 
Adelia (Robertson) Barry, both natives oi 
New York State. 

Grandfather Azel Barry for many years 
a magistrate at Victor, Ontario Co., N. Y., 
in 1840 moved to Wisconsin, locating on a 
farm near Honey Creek, Racine county, 
where he lived to be nearly seventy years or 
age. His wife, Dinah E. Butler, came of 
Revolutionary stock. 

Rev. Alfred C. Barry, the father, who 
Avas a Universalist minister, came to Wis- 
consin in 1846. He was one of the most 
eloquent preachers of his day, and for many 



years had charge of the church of his faith 
at Racine, and was also stationed at Elk- 
horn. His wife was born in Delavan coun- 
ty, N. Y. She lost her father when a child, 
and her mother, Mrs. Susanna Robertson, 
spent the remainder of her life at Racine. 
Mahlon P. Barry was carefully edu- 
cated, attending first the schools of his 
neighborhood, then Racine high school and 
the college of the same city, after which he 
became a traveling salesman for the J. 1. 
Case Threshing Machine Co., and thus con- 
tinued for several years. April 23, 

1 861, he enlisted in Company F, W. V. I., 
and was honorably discharged in July, 

1862. He served in the famous Iron Bri- 
gade and enlisting as a private, was dis- 
charged as quartermaster sergeant. 

Returning home, Mr. Barry became trav- 
eling freight agent for the Chicago & 
Northwestern Railroad, and later general 
lumber agent for that same road. Still 
later he became general freight agent for 
the Wisconsin Central Railroad, with head- 
quarters at St. Paul, and thus continued for 
five years. In 1894 he located at Rice 
Lake, taking charge of the construction and 
operation of the Blueberry Railroad be- 
tween Cameron and Rice Lake, and was its 
general manager and only resident official 
for five years, or until that road was sold 
to the St. Paul, Minneapolis & Sault Ste. 
Marie Railroad. Since then Mr. Barry has 
been engaged in a general real estate and 
fire insurance business and represents some 
of the leading companies in his line. Mr. 
Barry has been appointed justice of the 
peace and is proving a very efficient and 
capable man in the right place. In relig- 
ious matters he attends the Christian Sci- 
ence Church. Like many of the old sol- 
diers, he is prominent in the G. A. R., be- 
longing to M. W. Heller Post, No. 166, of 
which he is commander. He is also a 32d 
degree Mason and belongs to De Molay 
Commandery, of Lyons, Iowa. 

PETER EIMON, Vice-President of 
the Twohy-Eimon Mercantile Co., and one 
of the most successful business men of 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



1/3 



West Superior, Douglas county, is a native 
of Wisconsin, born in Dane county. May 
29, 1866. 

Mr. Eimon's ancestors were farmers in 
Norwa}', and his parents, Ole and Sarah 
(Thomley) Eimon, were natives of North- 
land, in that country. The former came to 
the United States about i860 and settled on 
a farm in Dane county. Wis., later moving 
to Osseo, Trempealeau county, where he 
now lives, aged seventy-eight years. Mrs. 
Sarah (Thomley) Eimon died at Osseo iii 
1886, when fifty-five years of age. 

Peter Eimon attended the public schools 
of Trempealeau county and took a course 
in the Business College at Whitehall, Wis, 
He began his business career as a clerk in 
a general store at Pigeon Falls, whence he 
went to Osseo, and in i88g came to West 
Superior, opening a retail grocery store 
which developed into a large grocery and 
provision business. In 1895 the Eimon 
Mercantile Company was incorporated, 
Peter Eimon, president. July i, 1902, this 
concern was consolidated with the Twohy 
Mercantile Co., and has since been known as 
the Twohy-Eimon Mercantile Co., of which 
he is vice-president. This company sells more 
goods than any other jobbing house in the 
city. Mr. Eimon has also a large, well im- 
proved farm near Cooperstown, N. D., 
which he secured as "wild land" in 18S3. 

On Dec. 29, 1892, Mr. Eimon and Jo- 
sephine Ekern, of Pigeon Falls, Wis., were 
married, and two children have come to 
them, Perry and Orra. The family is con- 
nected with the Norwegian Lutheran 
Church, of which Mr. Eimon is a director. 

Mr. Eimon is a member of the local 
lodge of Masons, of Terminal Lodge. I. O. 
O. F., of the M. W. A., and K. M. He has 
been a lifelong Republican, but is not an 
office-seeker. ^Ir. Eimon is one of the com- 
paratively small number who came to West 
Superior in its infancy, and who have been 
steadily identified with its growth and pro- 
gress. He has the confidence and esteem 
of his associates in all the relations of life. 

LAWRENCE BRENNEN. street 
commissioner of \^"est Superior since his 



appointment in April, 1900, and a servant 
of the municipality in several capacities, has 
been a resident of that city since 1889. Mr. 
Brennen is a native of New Orleans, La., 
where he was born in April, 1853. 

Lawrence Brennen, Sr., the father of 
our subject, was born in Ireland, but came 
to America and w-as employed for many 
years on the boats of the lower Mississippi, 
with his residence in New Orleans. He 
was accidentally drowned from the steam- 
Ijoat "James Alontgomery," when his son 
and namesake was only a little hoy. After 
his death his widow removed with her ch.il- 
dren to Louisville, Ky., where Lawrence 
passed many years of his early life. When 
the Rebellion came the boy was much too 
young to be accepted as a soldier, but, filled 
with the enthusiasm and the excitement that 
pervaded the people in those troublesome 
times, he resolved to share as far as possible 
the experience of a soldier. He was then 
only about ten years old, but large for his 
years, and succeeded in getting into the 
command of Gen. Rosseau in the capacity 
of drummer boy. He accompanied the 
army as far as Chattanooga, Tenn., whence 
he was returned to his home at Louisville, 
chiefly through the efforts of his mother. 

But the spirit of adventure with which 
Mr. Brennen was possessed, even as a boy, 
w-as by no means subdued, and he soon after 
secured a position on the steamer "Charm- 
er," which was engaged in carrying supplies 
for the army between Evansville, Ind., and 
Nashville, Tenn. This was an exciting and 
dangerous business, as guerrillas lined the 
banks of the Cumberland and were ever on 
the alert to annoy and capture any Union 
boat navigating that stream. Not far from 
Clarksville, Tenn., on the Cumberland, an 
attack of this kind occurred and Mr. Bren- 
nen received a shot, evidently from a con- 
cealed guerrilla, which severely injured one 
of his arms. He was many weeks in re- 
covering from his wound and the effect of 
the rebel bullet is still plainly in evidence. 

Some time later, while employed on 
board the steamer "St. Patrick," which plied 
between Louisville and Memphis with sup- 
plies, Mr. Brennen had another exciting ex- 



174 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



perience. On arriving at Cairo, on the way 
down, the Union authorities at that place 
became suspicious of the real character of 
the boat and conceived the idea that she 
might be in the service of the Confederates 
instead of the Union forces. The cargo 
was therefore removed and the boat and 
crew sent to Paducah, Ky. Military condi- 
tions were such that it was difficult to get 
away from Paducah, and Mr. Brennen, 
with the others in a like condition, re- 
mained there for some time. They were fin- 
ally taken before Gen. John M. Palmer, who 
was in command, and Mr. Brennen, boy 
that he was, plead his cause for release with 
much earnestness. He was finally put on 
board the flagship "Blackhawk" and served 
on that boat for a time, but eventually 
reached home in safety. Certainly his war 
experiences, as a boy not yet in his 'teens, 
were equal to those of many an enlisted sol- 
dier. Mr. Brennen has now in his posses- 
sion an autograph letter from Gen. Palmer, 
written in reply to one he addressed to that 
brave old soldier in 1896, which he justly 
prizes very highly. In his letter Mr. Bren- 
nen referred to the incident above narrated, 
and the general in his reply expressed a re- 
membrance of the same, although after an 
interval of more than thirty years. 

Louisville was Mr. Brennen's home for a 
time following the war, and there his moth- 
er died. That broke up the home, and for 
more than twenty-five years Mr. Brennen 
worked on steamboats on the Mississippi 
river and its tributaries. For the last thir- 
teen vears of that time he was with the 
"Diamond Joe" steamboat line company, 
and during the last seven years he resided 
at Dubuque, Iowa. In 1889, owing to his 
long and successful experience in steamboat- 
ing. he was invited to go to the Head of the 
Lakes and take charge of the business of the 
Northern Steamship Company. He accept- 
ed the proposition and for six years success- 
fully conducted the afifairs of this company. 
Since that time he has been otherwise em- 
ployed. 

Mrs. Brennen was formerly Miss Viola 
Shinoe. and was married in 1887. She has 



a son and two daughters, Thomas, Olive 
and Ethel. 

Mr. Brennen is a strong Republican in 
his views and is active in the interest of his 
party. For the four years previous to his 
appointment as street commissioner he was 
a member of the city council, serving as al- 
derman of his ward from 1895 to 1899. The 
aims of fraternal organizations appeal to 
him, and he is a member of both the Odd 
Fellows and the Order of the Maccabees. 
Mr. Brennen's public record has made him 
very generally esteemed as a citizen, and his 
personal character has won him many warm 
friends. 

AUGUST DOENITZ. Industry and 
perseverance, when backed by good native 
ability, always bring their own reward, and 
seldom more unmistakably than in the case 
of August Doenitz, register of the United 
States Land Office, Ashland, who has forced 
his way forward until he is now classed 
among the most influential citizens of Ash- 
land and of Northern Wisconsin. He was 
born in Weisenfels, Germany, Aug. 21, 

1854. 

August Doenitz, Sr., and his wife Fred- 

ericka (Sultze) Doenitz, parents of our sub- 
ject, came from Germany, their native land, 
in 1873, and went first to Sheboygan coun- 
tv. Wis., where they bought a farm in the 
town of Greenbush, and later removed to a 
farm in ^Vaushara county, where the father 
died Dec. 18, 1885. His widow is still liv- 
ing there. Her father, Heinrich Sultze, 
had come to this country in. 1854 and was 
one of the pioneers of Greenbush, Wis., 
where he pre-empted land and operated a 
grist and sawmill. He died Jan. 23, 1875, 
at the age of seventy, and his wife, Freder- 
icka, died April 12, 1889. 

August Doenitz (2) was about nineteen 
years old when the family came to Wiscon- 
sin. For the first few years he worked on 
his father's farm, then went to Plymouth, 
Wis., to learn the tinner's trade, and after 
three years opened a hardware store at 
Plainfield, Wis., and also dealt in agricul- 
tural implements. In 1888 he concluded 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



t/o 



that Ashland offered a more inviting iield, 
so he removed again, and opened a tin shop 
there, finding that occupation better for his 
liealth than something more confining. 
Shortly he organized the Ashland Screen 
and Manufacturing Company, in which he 
was the principal stockholder and the man- 
ager, and he still retains an interest in the 
concern. He is also secretary of the Fahrig 
Metal Company. 

Politics offered a congenial field to Mr. 
Doenitz and his active career in that line 
began when, after a few years' residence in 
Ashland, he was elected to the county board 
of supervisors. He served two years, and 
during that period was chairman of the 
board. He was nominated for the assem- 
bly, but declined that he might promote the 
election of C. A. Lamerieux as State sena- 
tor. Jan. 12, 1898, he was appointed regis- 
ter of the United States Land Office at 
Ashland, and was reappointed April 5, 
1902. His unflagging interest in politics 
has taken him all over Northern Wisconsin, 
and he has become both well known and in- 
fluenial. He has been a delegate to many 
of the State and congressional conventions. 

At Plymouth, Wis., Nov. 9, 1880. oc- 
curred the marriage of Mr. Doenitz to Miss 
Hulda Ackerman, who was born in Rhine, 
Sheboygan county, Oct. 3, 1857, the daugh- 
ter of Mr. and Mrs. John M. Ackerman. 
There have been two children from this 
union : Ott(.), a student of the Wisconsin 
University, and Norma, a student in the 
Ashland high school. 

Mr. Doenitz was reared in the Lutheran 
faith and still holds to the teachings of that 
church. He is a prominent Mason and be- 
longs to Ashland Commandery No. 22, K. 
T., Wisconsin Consistory, Valley of Mil- 
waukee, and Tripoli Temple N. ]\I. S. Pic 
is in every sense a self-made man and start- 
ed in life not only handicapped by slender 
means, hut by utter ignorance of the lan- 
guage of his adopted country. He studied 
English not only in the evening, but at 
every possible opportunity until he mastered 
it. He began working for $150 a year, and 
from that humble beginning has worked his 
way along until he now has a competence. 



WILLIAM JOSEPH LEADER is one 
of the most eflicient and popular officials of 
Douglas county. He was born in Galena, 
111., a son of John and Lenora (O'Donog- 
hue) Leader. 

The ancestors of the Leader family mi- 
grated in the sixteenth century from Eng- 
land to Cork, Ireland, where members of 
the family have ever since been prominent. 
John Leader, father of William Joseph, 
came from Cork about 1840 and located at 
Syracuse, N. Y. In 1850 he went to Gale- 
na, where for several years he taught school. 
After this he spent a few years in gold min- 
ing in Idaho, and still later was employed 
as a clerk by the Illinois Central Railroad. 
His last years were spent in retirement, and 
he died in January, 1894, at the age of six- 
ty-si.\. Mrs. Lenora Leader comes of an 
old family of County Kerry. Ireland, where 
she was born. She is still living at Galena, 
aged seventy years. 

William J. Leader was graduated when 
sixteen years old from the Galena high 
school. He learned telegraphy in the Illi- 
nois Central station, and was employed as 
telegrapher at various places in Illinois, 
Missouri, Texas and other States. For five 
years he was train dispatcher for the Wab- 
ash Railroad at Springfield, 111. In 1884 
he went to Washburn in charge of a crew 
of longshoremen on the docks built by the 
Omaha Railway Company. He became 
first cashier of the Omaha station at Super- 
ior in the fall of 1884 and remained there 
until the spring (if 1887, when he was elect- 
ed assessor for the town of Superior, which 
included most of Douglas county. The fol- 
lowing year he was made deputy county 
clerk, in 1890 deputy county treasurer, and 
in February, 1891, was appointed county 
clerk to fill a vacancy. He filled the latter 
])osition about two years, and he has ever 
since been connected with that office, being 
now deputy county clerk. Mr. Leader has 
held his position under successive incum- 
bents of the office of county clerk and is con- 
sidered one of the most capable of the pub- 
lic officials of Douglas county. In 1887 the 
value of property in West Superior began 
to rise rapidlv. Mr. Leader has invested 



176 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



quite extensively in real estate and has 
bought and sold considerable property. 

Mr. Leader married in 1882 at Dallas, 
Texas, Maggie Caton, a daughter of Mi- 
chael Caton, a farmer of New Diggings, 
Wis. Mr. Caton is now living at Desmet, 
S. D. Mr. and Mrs. Leader are the parents 
of three children, Cora, Catherine and 
Honora. 

Mr. Leader is secretary of St. Francis 
Xavier Church at Superior. He is a mem- 
ber of the B. P. O. E. and C. O. F. He has 
always been an advocate of free trade, and 
contributes liberally to campaign literature 
and other political publications. Mr. Leader 
is a Democrat, but is very popular with local 
Republicans. 

ICHABOD BROWNELL HILL, who 
enjoys the distinction of being one of the 
oldest living natives of the State of Wis- 
consin, was born in Baraboo, Jan. 8, 1842. 
He was the son of Valencia B. and Mary J. 
(Johnston) Hill, both born in Colchester, 
Vt. His paternal grandfather came from 
County Antrim, Ireland, and settled in Ver- 
mont before the Revolutionary war ; he was 
a physician and surgeon by profession and 
did some service in that line at the battle of 
Plattsburg. 

Valencia B. Hill, while yet a young 
man, was foreman of the Lake Champlain 
Lumber Co., but soon caught the fever for 
western immigration and went to Wiscon- 
sin. The family reached that State during 
the Black Hawk war and were obliged to 
take refuge in Fort Winnebago until peace 
was restored. Then Mr. Hill selected a 
clearing on Webster's Prairie, about three 
miles above the present city of Baraboo, on 
the Baraboo river. In company with "Abe" 
Woods, a well known pioneer of Sauk 
county, he opened a trading post, which 
they conducted for several years, skillfully 
avoiding any difficulties with the Sauks. 
Mr. Hill built the first dam on the Baraboo 
river and put up a saw mill. This was washed 
out the next year, but he rebuilt it about a 
mile farther up the stream and continued 
there in the lumber business for fifteen years 



or more. Thence he removed to a farm in 
Hillsboro, Vernon Co., Wis., the town and 
village being named after the Hill family. 
Here he died in 1857, at the age of fifty- 
five years. His wife, Mary J. Hill was of 
Scotch-Irish lineage, the daughter of a 
farmer near South Bend, Ind., where he 
died. Her mother, a Miss Knight, was his 
second wife. Mrs. Hill had four brothers, 
the shortest of whom was six feet, two 
inches in height and weighed over two hun- 
dred pounds. Mr. and Mrs. Hill had eight 
children, two dying in infancy. Those who 
lived to maturity were: Cornelia J., Mrs. 
Jas. Mack, who died in Kansas ; Caroline, 
Mrs. F. Willey; Icahbod B. ; William E., 
who lives in Virginia ; Mary M. ; and Eva- 
line, the widow of D. J. J. Hamilton. The 
home of the three surviving daughters is 
Marquette, Kan. William E. Hill spent 
three years in the United States Army dur- 
ing the Civil war, serving first in the Tenth 
Wisconsin Battery and later in the 5th U. 
S. Regulars. 

Ichabod Brownell Hill attended the pub- 
lic schools at Hillsboro, living on the home 
farm until he was fifteen years old, when he 
began to earn his own livelihood. When the 
Rebellion broke out he enlisted. May 10, 
1 86 1, and for the next four years, in the 
Army of the Potomac, he endured all the 
privation and sufifering which that active 
service entailed, until, in July, 1865, he was 
discharged as Orderly Sergeant. Enlisting 
in Co. I, 6th W. V. I., at first for three 
vears, he was among those whose first ap- 
pearance at Madison, fitted out in regalia of 
their own individual selection, afforded 
cause for much amusement until the proper 
uniforms were supplied. The season of 1861 
was spent near Washington. In all the sub- 
sequent campaigns of the famous "Iron 
Brigade" Mr. Hill took part, and was one 
of the twelve still in the ranks at the final 
discharge, while of the ninety men who 
went out in the company only one escaped 
without wounds. Sixteen of the number 
were killed at Gettysburg and eleven at 
Gainesville. Mr. Hill was wounded in each 
of these engagements and at the battle of 




IGHABOD B. HILL 



THE K£W YORK 

PUBLIC LIBRARY 

ASTOR, LENOX 
TILDE.N FOUNDATIONS 



COMMEMORATRE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



i;7' 



tlie W'ililenic^s he was left on the field fnr 
(lead. At (jainesville his rit^lit les^- was 
splintered but he managed to hoblile abont 
a mile when he overtook an amlnilance and 
forced the driver to take him into the Union 
lines, the Confederate Cavalry being close 
behind them. After the Wilderness he was 
detailed as a scout, having done much duty 
l}reviously in that line, and also was on se- 
cret service duty in Washington and \icin- 
ity. S(_1 that he was with the regiment only 
at intervals. When Richnmnd fell he was 
returning from Ohio in charge of a squad 
of deserters. Twice he was taken pri.soner. 
once at Gettysburg, during the first day, 
when he escaped through the assistance of 
a Confederate officer whom he had previ- 
ously befriended while guarding him as a 
prisoner : and again at Hatcher's Run, 
where he remained in prison about ten days. 
Thus his experiences were of the most var- 
ied order and he saw much of both the hor- 
rors and glories of war. 

After the war Mr. Hill followed the car- 
penter trade at Hillsboro, also farming 
there and at Bloomer. Wis. Four years he 
spent at Fergus Falls. Alinn.. and several 
more at Baniesville. Minn., where he acted 
as sui)erintendent (,)f construction on ele- 
vators and other buildings. Since 1890 he 
has lived at Superior, contracting. "\\'hen 
he located there there were few buildings 
south of the Chicago, St. Paul. ^Slinneapo- 
lis & Omaha Railway, and he has seen the 
main part of the city grow up about him. 
Both m Superior and in the other towns 
where he has lived he has taken an active 
part in local politics, holding various offices. 
In principle he is a Democrat, but on local 
questions has always taken an independent 
stand. He is a member of Alonzo Palmer 
Post. G. A. R. His chtirch affiliations are 
with the Methodist Church. 

On December 24. 1865. Mr. Hill was 
married to Margaret J. Church, daughter 
of Truman and Elizabeth Church, of Hills- 
boro. Wis. Mrs. Hill was born in Indiana, 
but came in infancy to Green county. Wis., 
and thence to Hillsboro. Her father, an 
old Soldier wIkj served twenty-two months 
12 



in the 10th Wis. I'.attery, died in 1893 at 
\\ onewoc, aged seventy-one }'ears. Mr. and 
Mrs. Hill have two sons and three daughters 
livHig and have lost an infant son. The 
iithers are l-'rank Hill, of Sn])erior; Ford, 
in Dakota; Florence and Clara, graduates 
of the Superior High School : and Helen, a 
graduate of the Superior Normal ScIkjoI 
and now engaged in teaching in that citv. 

MICHAEL X. OlSTAD. In thedc:th 
I if Michael X. Oistad. Washburn lost not 
only one of its prosperous and influential 
business men. but also a citizen wdiose sin- 
cerity of purpose and rectitude of life made 
his example one of great worth in the com- 
munity, and the univer.sal respect in which. 
his fellow citizens held him was amply dem- 
(-nstrated by the large attendance at his fun- 
eral services, the largest assembly on such 
an occasion ever known in Washburn. Mr. 
Oistad was born in Torpen, Xorway, May 
j8. 1863. and his death occurred in Wa.sh- 
burn. May 11. 1901. but in this short span. 
of life he bail achiex'ed as nuich as many 
men accomplish in a much longer time. 

The jjarents. Xels Oistad and Julia, his 
wife, are still living on a farm in Norway, 
and there Michael was reared and in that 
country secured a good common school edu- 
cation. The xoutli at the age of eighteen 
came to America and made his way west- 
ward frcim Xew York to Wisconsin, where- 
he had relatix'es in Black Earth. Dane coun- 
ty, and for four years was occupied there 
in a general store ke])t by his uncle. H. M. 
Xordrum. During this period Mr. Oistad 
studied diligently to master the English lan- 
guage, being his own teacher in the main, 
and also took a business course in Madi.son. 
About 1885 he left Black Earth and spent 
two years in a Dultith wholesale grocery 
establishment. From that ])oint he went to 
Washburn, where he worked in a retail gro- 
cery store for a few months, 'idien in ])art- 
nership with .Albert Paulson he bought the 
stock and business. After a few years Mr. 
Oistad bought out Mr. Paulson and con- 
tinued the establishment alone until his- 
death. 



17^ 



COMiMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



W'itliin two years after engaging in the 
grocery business the lirm built a two-story 
residence and store, and later a one-story 
building was erected on the adjoining prop- 
■erty, all of which came eventually into the 
jjossession of Mr. Oistad. Beginning with 
only his savings, he was uniformly success- 
ful in business and also invested quite large- 
ly in western pine lands. 

Mr. Oistad's marriage to Miss Carrie 
Paulson, the daughter of Peter C. and An- 
drina (Anderson) Paulson, of Black Earth, 
occurred June 2"], 1889. Mr. and Mrs. 
Paulson came from Norway in early life, 
settled permanently at Black Earth, and 
there reared a large family, eight of whom 
.are still living. Three reside in Washburn : 
Mrs. Oistad, Annie, now Mrs. Kenney, and 
Albert. Since the death of her husband, 
Mrs. Oistad, with her three children, Elmer, 
Alice and Raymond, has ci^mtinued to make 
her home in Washburn. In the spring of 
1 90 1 Mr. Oistad had begun making prepa- 
rations for a visit to his parents in Norw^ay, 
on which he was to be accompanied by his 
family. These calculations w^ere cut short 
by his untimely illness and death, resulting 
in a serious disappointment to all parties 
.concerned. 

Mr. Oistad was one of the organizers of 
the Norwegian Lutheran Church, and al- 
ways a most influential member of the so- 
ciety, with which his family are still con- 
nected. He was a Republican in politics. 
but while he was ahvays well posted in local 
cjuestions and had served for one year as 
■supervisor, he was never an active partisan. 
In a business way Mr. Oistad was connected 
with the Retail Grocers' Association, and 
"was also vice-president of the \^'ashburn Ice 
Company. Fraternally he w'as a member of 
the Masonic order, and of the Independent 
Order of Foresters. In all relations of life 
lie displayed in a marked degree the faculty 
of making and keeping friends. 

JAMES ATKINSON, one of the capa- 
ble and successful business men of Rice 
Lake, Barron Co., Wis., was born at St. 
Louis, Mo., April 20. 1852, a son of Dr. 



John R. and Sarah Ann (Selkirk) Atkin- 
son. 

Dr. John R. Atkinson was a native of 
Liverpool and studied medicine in England. 
He came to the United States when a young 
man, locating in Illinois. Later he re- 
moved to St. Louis, AIo., where he engaged 
in a large practice for some years. At the 
beginning of the war he enlisted in the 
Union army and was made paymaster of the 
Western division. For three years he was 
engaged in that service and did valiant ser- 
vice of many kinds for his country. 

At the close of the war Dr. Atkinson 
went to New York and speculated on Wall 
street, where he met with reverses, a man of 
his integrity of purpose and broadness of 
mind not being fitted to cope with those who 
make manipulation of stocks their life busi- 
ness. He afterwards became city editor and 
dramatic critic of the New York Nczvs, a 
Democratic paper, although he himself was 
a Republican. The death of this truly great 
man occurred at Quebec wdien he was sixty- 
five years of age, and the world thereby lost 
a man of unusual attainments, both as a 
physician and an author. Dr. Atkinson was 
related to the famous Howard family of 
England, and was a half brother of Dr. 
Robert Dunglison, of Philadelphia, author 
of the Dunglison Medical Directory. His 
widow died at Quebec at about the same age 
as her husband. She was a daughter of 
Alexander Selkirk, who came from Scot- 
land, a lineal descendant of his namesake 
"Rol)ins(.)n Crusoe," and wdio for some time 
acted as bookkeeper for a firm of iron man- 
ufacturers at St. Louis. 

James Atkinson was educated in a pri- 
\ate school on Broad street, Philadelphia, 
studied bookkeeping at Gregar Munford's 
inisiness college and has occupied positions 
of trust and responsibility, where his knowl- 
edge of that science has stood him in good 
stead. 

In Februaiy, 1879, he located at Rice 
Lake to take the position of timekeeper for 
Knapp, Stout & Co., well-known lumber- 
men. Two years • later he became book- 
keejier, and still later, chief manager of the 



COAniE.MORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



Interests of this firm at Rice Lake for a 
jiumber of years. After tlie business was 
sold to the Wisconsin Power Co., Mr. At- 
kinson was its chief manager for a time and 
stiU looks after the real estate interests ot 
that vast corporation in the vicinity. In ad- 
dition to his other interests, Mr. Atkinson 
has become the owner of some valuable 
lands, and in handling them has built up a 
very flourishing real estate business. 

In politics Mr. Atkinson is a Democrat 
and he has served several years as a member 
of the council of Rice Lake, and during his 
last term he was president of that body. 

Mr. Atkinson married first in 1870, 
Laura Nedeau. who died in 1878. leaving 
two children, now deceased. In 1880, i\Ir. 
Atkinson married Anna Peterson, of Rice 
Lake, who died about 1885, leaving no chil- 
dren. His third wife was Florence E. 
(hbbs, of Chicago, born at Reed's Landing, 
Alinn., a most charming lady, refined and 
cultured, an earnest worker in the Presby- 
terian Church. Three children have been 
born to iMr. and Mrs. Atkinson, Ruth, 
Montgomery and Xeal. Mr. Atkinson is 
himself a Catholic and he belongs to the M. 
\V. A. 

EDWARD L. HANTOX. The growth 
of South Superior has occurred largely 
since 189 1, and among those who came at 
that time and have assisted in the develi)p- 
ment of the jjlace was Edward L. Hanton. 

Mr. Hanton was born in 1858 in the 
town of Burns. La Crosse Co., Wis. His 
father, Joseph Hanton. now deceased, was 
one of the pioneers of that place, and there 
reared his family of twelve children, four 
of whom are no longer living. Edward 
Hanton received his early education in the 
public schools and was reared to the useful 
life of a farmer's lad, but he found this less 
to his taste than a more active business life, 
and he finally started out in West Salem in 
the livery business. After three years there 
he moved to South Superior in 1891 and 
engaged first in the hotel business ; later he 
was employed in the Labelle Wagon Works, 
for three vears was connected with the fire 



179 
the 



department and has since then been in 
real estate and insurance business. 

On Dec. 25, 1883, Mr. Hanton was 
united in marriage with Miss Belle Shoe- 
maker, of Sparta, \\'is., and to them have 
come three children, Carl, Leone and Ar- 
thur. The first named is a student at the 
University of Wisconsin. 

In his political opinions Mr. Hanton is 
a Democrat and has displayed an active in- 
terest in the municipal life of the city. He 
served two years as a member of the county 
board of supervisors, and in 1901 he was 
elected alderman from the 8th ward. Fra- 
ternally' he is associated with the Odd Fel- 
lows, the Red ]\Ien and the Modern Wood- 
men of America. 

DEXTER HAVEXS SMITH, M. D., 
is a successful physician of Hurley, Iron 
county, where he has been in active practice 
for the last two or three }ears. He was 
born in Weedsport, X. V., July 2^, 1866, 
son of John H. and Julia A. (Havens) 
Smith. John H. Smith was a nati\-e of 
Sherburne, Chenango Co., N. Y., where he 
grew up and attended school. After leav- 
ing school he learned the trade of carpenter, 
at which he worked for a time in his native 
town. He soon, however, moved to Weeds- 
port, where he went into the grain business, 
becoming the owner of an elevator which he 
operated for some time. Later he went to 
California by way of the Isthmus of Pana- 
ma, settling for a while in San Francisco. 
He did some prospecting and was fairly suc- 
cessful, but owing to the accidental death of 
his friend and partner, returned to the East, 
and again went into the grain elevator busi- 
ness at Weedsport. In 1869 he sold out 
his elevator interests, went to Denver, and 
then to Golden, Colo. In the latter place 
he engaged in the hay, grain and stock busi- 
ness until 1878, when he became interested 
in the water supph- of Denver and thence- 
forth devoted himself to that business. He 
died in 1893, leaving considerable property. 
Plis wife is still living, making her home 
with her daughter in Milwaukee. 

D. H. Smith was onlv three vears old 



i8o 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



when his parents moved tu Colorado and he 
began his eckication in the pubhc schools of 
Denver. This was supplemented by a course 
in the Cni\ersity of Den\er, where he ob- 
tained his degree of A. j\I. After this be 
took a metlical course, graduating in 1895 
with the degree of M. D. Previous to his 
graduation he secured a special license and 
began his medical practice in j8yi. as sur- 
geon of the Denver police and hre depart- 
ments. After recei\'ing his diploma he 
practiced metlicine in Denver until 1900, 
when he moved to Milwaukee. After a lirief 
stay in that city be moved to Hurley,, where 
he has already built up a considerable prac- 
tice and is meeting with much success. 

On April 13, 1897, Dr. Smith married 
Adelia Murray, daughter of Thomas and 
Hannah Murray, tioth natives of Canada. 
Mr. Murray was for manv vears in the oil 
business in Denver, where he died in 1892. 
His wife still resides in Denver. Mrs. 
Smith is a graduate nurse oi St. Luke's hos- 
pital of Denver, and her professional know- 
ledge and skill make her a valuable assistant 
to the doctor. Dr. Smith was surgeon to 
the high school cadets in Denver, and is at 
present medical examiner for the A. O. U. 
W., of Hurley. He is a member of that 
order, Xorthern Camp Xo. 51, of Hurley, 
and of the Eagles. Xo. 247, also of Hurley. 

AXDREW EKSTRO.M is a popular 
and influential citizen of Superior, Douglas 
county, and is now serving as a member of 
the city council. He was born in Isanti 
county. ]\Iinn.. Feb. 8, 1868, son of Hans 
and Charlotte Ekstrom, natives of Dahlen, 
Sweden, who came to the United States in 
1866. Hans Ekstrom took up land in Isanti 
county and became a successful farmer. He 
died in 1888 at the age of si.xty-five, his 
wife having passed away in 1878, when 
thirty-eight years of age. Hans Ekstrom 
was one of four brothers, and the only one 
to come to this country. One of the broth- 
ers is an officer in the Swedish army. To 
Hans and Charlotte Ekstrom were born 
children as follows: Hans, of Chicago; An- 



drew : J(.ihn, of Spokane, \\"asb. ; Charles, of 
Isanti, Minn. ; Anna, Bessie and Christine, 
of Isanti. 

Andrew Ekstrom attended the public 
schools until he was thirteen, when he left 
home and began work in the lumber woods, 
his first position being that of cook. He 
spent ten winters in the woods, and in 1890 
came to West Superior. The next years he 
was employed as clerk in a grocery and pro- 
\ision store, and since 1893 he has been a 
grocer and provision dealer, located at 
Fifth street and Hughitt avenue. He has 
had a steadily growing trade, and now car- 
ries one of the best stocks in the city. He 
also has an interest in the general store car- 
ried on by his brother Charles in Isanti. 
Minn. Mr. Ekstrom has built several resi- 
dences and other buildings, some of which 
he still (iwns. He has always been a public- 
s])irited citizen. He is a Republican, and in 
the spring of 1902 was elected alderman for 
the Fifth ward. 

In February, 1896, ]Mr. Ekstrom was 
united in marriage to Ida Anderson, a na- 
tive of Sweden, but then a resident of 
Anoka. Minn. To this union have come 
four children, Dorothy Ida Alice, Warren 
Russell, Andrew Goodwin and Lawrence 
Sidney. The family attend the Lutheran 
Church. Mr. Ekstrom is a member of the 
]. O. O. F., Superior Lodge. 

REV. HORACE BATEMAN CRAX- 
DALL. To few men is it given to make the 
impress of a forceful personality felt over 
so broad a field as that which has for many 
years been the scene of the Rev. Horace 
Crandall's service, while his influence has 
been yet more widely spread by his many 
contributions to the press, where he has 
fearlessly set forth his views of current top- 
ics in the most able manner. 

The son of Horace Powell and Lois 
( Bateman) Crandall, he was born in the 
town of Perrinton, Monroe Co., X. Y., Jan. 
10. 1823. His parents, born in Connecticut 
and Vermont respectively, were descend- 
ants of old X'ew England families. The 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



i8i 



grandfather. John Crandall. liad six snns 
and two daughters. Horace Powell Cran- 
dall followed the trade of a lilacksmith toy 
many years in Palmyra. Wayne Co., X. Y.. 
and later in Randolph. Cattaraugus 
county. The last years of his life 
were spent in Calhoun county, iMich. 
Horace Powell Crandall married Lois Bate- 
man, who was born April 12, 1790, and died 
in the t(.iwn of Allen, Hillsdale Co., Mich., 
June 19, 1853. The children of this mar- 
riage were nine in number: Nelson \\'., 
died at Homer. Calhoun Co.. Mich., June 
22, 1845. aged thirty-three years; Cyrenas, 
died in California; Susan Delia (Mrs. Mc- 
Apes), died Oct. 26, 1847, aged thirty-three 
years; Norman H., died in Coldwater, 
Branch Co.. !\Iich., in 1871, aged fifty-five; 
Laura Ann (Mrs. ?iIcGinnis), died at 
Grand Rapids, Mich.. July 26, 1851, at the 
age of thirty years ; Edwin Cortland, died at 
Homer, Mich., Nov. 26, 1843, aged fifteen 
years and eleven months; Alfred Byron, 
died Dec. 6, 1850, at Homer, Mich., aged 
eighteen years and eleven months ; Julia 
Ann. died in Monroe county, N. Y., i\Iarch 
8, 182 1, and Horace Bateman is the only 
survivor of the family. 

Horace Bateman Crandall was educated 
in the public schools in Randolph, Cattarau- 
gus Co., N. Y. In the fall of 1842 he went 
to Michigan, going by boat from Dunkirk 
to Detroit, whence he walked to Homer, a 
distance of about 100 miles. Here he 
taught school for several winters and 
worked as a carpenter during the summer. 
He returned to Elmira, N. Y., in 1848, and 
on Jan. 31 of the following year he was 
married there to Mrs. Maria Snyder, whom 
he had met in Michigan. ^Moving first to 
Mansfield, Pa., he went in the fall of 1849 
to Wisconsin, locating at Delavan, where 
he again plied his trade as carpenter. For 
some years he had been stndving theolog)', 
and in 18^4. joined the AX'isconsin confer- 
ence of the M. E. Church. In 1856, at Apple- 
ton, Wis., he was ordnined a deacon of the 
M. E. Church by Bishop Simpson. Two 
vears later he was ordained an elder h\ Bish- 



op Morris at Beloit, Wis. He began preach- 
ing at South Bristol. Kenosha Co., Wis., and 
later was stationed successively at East 
Troy, Burlington, Clinton and Sharon, 
I'ond du Lac, Elkhorn, Omro, Menasha, 
W'ausau and other places in Wisconsin. His 
last regular charge was at Fargo, N. D., 
then a town of 1.400 people. He was wide- 
ly known as a church builder and carried 
such work to a successful conclusion in 
Clinton, Sharon. Elkhorn. Marinette and 
other places. Being a capable business man 
as well as preacher he usually had charge of 
the finances wherever he was stationed. 

While at Elkhorn he received a recruit- 
ing commission and organized Company I, 
28th W. V. I. He was elected captain, but 
resigned and was regularly discharged in 
October. 1862. when he re-entered the min- 
istry. After resigning his charge at Fargo, 
he located homestead and timber claims in 
Richland county. N. D. As the Great 
Northern Railroad built through his land 
soon after, he platted the town of Colfax, 
where he lived for eight years, during which 
he served as postmaster and in several other 
official capacities. It was at this period, 
too, that he wrcite a condensed history of 
Dakota Territory before its division, espe- 
cially of Richland county, which was pub- 
lished and widely circulated. He took an 
active part in the jniblic affairs of the terri- 
tory and was a delegate to the congressional 
con\-ention in 1882 which nominated U. S. 
^larshal Ravmond as successor to Petti- 
grew. In 1884 lie was a delegate to the ter- 
ritorial convention held at Huron which 
elected delegates to the national convention 
who favored the nomination of James G. 
Blaine. He was also elected a member of 
the delegation to Washington, D. C, to ar- 
range for the division of the territory and 
the admission of North and South Dakota 
as separate States. 

In November. 1886, ]Mr. Crandall came 
to West Superior, which then contained 
aliout 200 inhabitants. There he engaged 
in the real estate business. He Avas elected 
justice of the peace of the 4th ward, serving 



1 82 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



four years, and also served in Uie same ca- 
pacity in the 7th wartl. .Mr. Crandall is a 
member of Alonzo Palmer Post, G. A. R., 
at West Superior. He was a charter mem- 
ber of Superior Lodge No. 338, I. O. O. F. 
His church connections at present are with 
the Gumming avenue M. E. Church, where 
he is a member of the official board and a 
local elder. 

]\Irs. Maria Crandall, wife of Horace B., 
was a daughter of Jonathan and Irene 
(Mallory) Card, the former a farmer ^\■llo 
came from New York to Wisconsin in 1852. 
Mr. Card's death occurred at Newton, Iowa, 
while his wife died at Elkhorn, Wis. The 
daughter, Mrs. Crandall, was born in 1820 
at Homer, Cortland Co., N. Y., and died at 
West Superior, Oct. 7, 1894. One child by 
her first marriage, to a Mr. Snyder, died in 
infancy. Of the five children of her mar- 
riage to Mr. Crandall, three died of diph- 
theria at Elkhorn and one died at Sheboy- 
gan Falls. A daughter. Rose Irene, Mrs. 
Jas. S. Stack, died at West Superior, Sept. 
21, 1888, leaving three sons, Arthur Mal- 
lory, James Raymond and Paul Crandall, 
who attended the high school at Madison 
and later at Superior. The two oldest are 
students at Wisconsin University. ]Mr. 
Stack and his sons reside in Superior. 

GILBERT OLSON, a most popular 
and respected citizen of Washburn, for a 
number of years before coming to that place 
had led a most varied and eventful life, and 
while engaging in many different pursuits 
gained a fund of valuable experience of men 
and affairs. 

]\Ir. Olson was born in Norway, tlie son 
of 01s and Catherine Christopherson, na- 
tives of that same locality. The family ar- 
rived in the United States in i860 and made 
their way to Minnesota, where Mr. Christo- 
pherson engaged in farming in Fillmore 
county. He belonged to the Norwegian 
Lutheran Church and was prominent in all 
its affairs. Pie died in Fillmore count)' in 
i8q9, at the age of seventy-four, while his 
wife's death had occurred many years be- 
fore, in 1877, when she was but forty-five 



His mother, who had accom- 
panied the family to this country, li\-ed to 
complete almost a century. 

Gilbert Olson had little opportunit}- to 
attend school, for only a few years after 
coming to America, while still only a boy, 
he was obliged to leave home and earn his 
living at farm labor. When fifteen he went 
to Chatfield, Minn., and clerked in a general 
store for two years. His next employment 
was in a flour mill in Rushford, Minn., for 
two years more, when he went to Chippewa 
Falls, Wis., and worked in the woods. He 
was also employed there as a clerk in a hotel, 
and after he had thus gained experience in 
the hotel business he became proprietor of 
the "Taylor House'' at Hudson, Wis. His 
next venture covered several years spent in 
railroad contracting. 

After several years of wandering life 
yir. Olson returned to Hudson, and once 
more took charge of the "Taylor House." 
After two years there he went to Cumber- 
land, where he was employed both in the 
"Cumberland House," and in farming. In 
1885 he removed to W'ashburn, where he 
built the "Cumljerland House,'' which he 
conducted for about two years. Owing to 
death in the family he sold out his hotel 
business and built the Knights of Labor 
Hall, and in 1892 entered upon his present 
occupation, opening a confectionery store, 
wdiere he also deals in bicycles, china and 
notions. ]\lr. Olson has ever since resided 
in Washburn, his family consisting of his 
wife, who was Nettie Oscar, of Crawford 
county, and their four children. Otto, Wal- 
ter, Evelyn and Gilbert. The others died 
very young. The family are connected with 
the Norwegian Lutheran Church. 

Mr. Olson is a Republican in politics, 
and for three years served on the town 
board of supervisors. He is a member of 
the K. O. T. M., and in all relations of life 
is very highly respected. 

THO^IAS DOVERY, editor and pro- 
prietor of the Barron County Shield, was 
born, in the district of Valders, Norway, May 
17, 1 866, the son of Ole and Carrie (Guttorm- 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



^83 



son) Dovery. In 1874 the family came to 
Canada, and the year following to Wiscon- 
sin. Ole Dovery settled on a farm in [Mani- 
towoc county and there passed the re- 
mainder of his days. His death came at the 
age of eighty years, while his widow, twen- 
ty-one years younger than he, is still li\ing 
in Minnesota. 

When only sixteen Tliomas Do\er)- 
went to Grand Forks, N. D., where he was 
employed in the office of the Grand Forks 
Daily Nen's, then conducted Ijy Senator 
Hansborough. There he learned much of 
the requirements and routine of a news- 
paper office, and when, four years later, he 
accepted a position on the Barron Shield . 
he proved himself fully qualified for the 
work. For three or four years he dis- 
charged the combined duties of printer's 
devil, foreman and editor and then, fully 
satisfied of his entire ability to conduct the 
paper for himself, he leased the Shield of the 
Hon. C. S. Taylor, July i, 1893. Three 
years later, Jan. i, 1896, he bought the 



plant and good 



and by adding to his 



outfit modern presses as well as other ma- 
chinery and material, has now one of the 
best equipped printing offices to be found in 
Wisconsin, outside of the large cities. 
Wnen he assumed full charge of the pajier, 
Mr. Dovery decided to increase the amount 
of local matter and has since not only gi\-en 
much more space to news of Barron, but 
has secured the service of capable corre- 
spondents in other towns of the county. 
That his judgment was good is proved by 
his largely increased subscription list, which 
now includes over 2,000 names. Ha\ing 
inherited the undaunted courage of his Vik- 
ing ancestry, Mr. Dovery has surmounted 
every obstacle opposing him and has come 
to he recognized as one of the potent forces 
in the business life of his city and county. 

Socially ISIr. Dovey is identified with 
the Masonic Order and the IM. W. A., in 
both of which he has filled important posi- 
tions. 

In 1889 Mv. Dovery was married to 
jNIiss E. A. Babcock, of Barron. The three 



children liorn to them are named Carlyle 
George, Carrie Marie and ^Margaret Irene. 

GUY .\. GRAFTON, M. D.. a well- 
known physician of Hayward, Sawyer- 
county, is a native of ^Minnesota, born in 
Winona, in 1876. His parents, L. \\'. and 
E. M. Grafton, were -natives of Augusta, 
Maine, and were among the early settlers 
in Minnesota. 

The boyhood of Dr. Grafton was spent 
in \\ inona, where he attended the grammar 

from 



high schools. 



and 

the latter, he 

I iffice of the 



After graduatino- 



studied for 
well-known 



Stewart and English, who 



two years in the 
physicians Drs, 



gave him 



the 



lienefit of their knowledge and experience. 
He then entered the medical department of 
the University of Minnesota, matriculating' 
in 1895 ''"d graduating in 1899, one of the 
first classes to complete the four-vears' 
course. In April of that year he received 
from the State board of examiners his li- 
cense to practice, anrl the following .August 
came to Hayward, where he has devoted 
himself to his profession. Dr. Grafton has 
been honored by the federal appointment to 
the position of physician in charge of 
the Indian Boarding School near Hay- 
ward, and also to the medical care 
of the Courtes Oreilles Reservation. He 
is surgeon for the Xorth Wisconsin 
Lumber and Alanufacturing Co. His 
pleasant office rooms contain a fine collec- 
tion of articles of Indian manufacture. Fra- 
ternally he is a member of the Knights of 
Pythias. 

In the spring of 1904 Dr. Grafton start- 
ed the Hayward Hospital, with accommo- 
dations for half a dozen patients, and it is 
filled most of the time. 

ADDISOX C. BROWN. In 1856 the 
site of the present city of Superior, with its 
30.000 inhabitants, was hardly more than 
a wilderness, and the tiny town, just strug- 
gling into existence, gave little promise of 
its present size and prosperitv. But even 
then there were men found willing to cast 



■584 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



in their lot witli the new place and to let its 
future be theirs. Among these confident 
pioneers was Addison C. Brown, a native 
of Hunin county, Ohin, Imrn Tune jO. 
1824. 

Mr. Brown is descended from an early 
Massachusetts family, his first American 
ancestor ha\-ing come from England in the 
latler |)art of the seventeentli century. The 
grandfather of our subject, John Brown, 
was born near Beverh', ]Mass., and died 
when his son, Henry H., was only a boy. 
The widow was married again to Gen. 
Hovey, and the famih- removed soon after 
to the State of New York, and thence to 
Erie, Pennsylvania. 

Henry H. Brown was married in Jan- 
uary, 1822, in Painesville. Ohio, to Miss 
Laura M. Merrill, a daughter of Abijah 
Merrill. His business affairs made a per- 
manent home difficult to secure for a time, 
and they lived first in Fairfield, Huron Co., 
Ohio, and after five years there, in Thomp- 
son. Seneca county. In 1835 they went to 
Bellevue, Huron county, and in 1861 to 
Wauseon, Fulton county. In that town 
Mrs. Brown died in February, 1866, aged 
sixty-two years, and her husband in August, 
1868, in his sixty-eighth }-ear. To them 
were born six children, but only Addison C. 
and a sister. Lavina M.. are living. 

.Vddison C. Brown grew to manhood in 
Ohio and w'as a shoemaker by trade. He 
was married in Bellevue. Ohio, July 6, 
1848, to Miss Elizabeth Bartlett. born in 
Worthington, Hampshire Co., Mass., Oct. 
5, 1823. Their only son, Addison Gates 
Brown, was born in 1862, after they had 
gone to Superior. Mrs. Bmwn was unus- 
^lally well educated, as her father had al- 
ways laid great stress on education. When 
his children were young they had a private 
tutor, and j\Irs. Brown later took a four- 
years' course at Oberlin College. After 
settling in Superior she was for twenty 
years one of the most successful teachers in 
the place. 

Mrs. Brown's parents were Calvin and 
Lydia (Drury) Bartlett. both belonging to 



okl Xew England families. Calvin Bart- 
lett's father was a captain in the war of the 
Kexolution. Mrs. Bartlett was a school- 
mate of William Cullen Bryant. The fam- 
ily went to Ohio in 1837 and settled in 
l'>elle\ue, where the parents spent the great- 
er part of their married life. Later on they 
removed to Wauseon, where Calvin Bart- 
lett died Sept. 15. i86g, aged seventy-one 
years, and his wife, twenty years later, at 
the age of ninety. Of their five children 
the only one living besides Mrs. Brown is 
Peter Tower Bartlett. of Toledo. Ohio. 

Mr. and Mrs. Brown first saw Superior 
Oct. 30, 1856, and have watched it grow to 
its i)resent size and prosperity. For many 
years ]\Ir. Brown was actively engaged in 
Ijusiness, btit is now lix'ing retired and 
makes his home in that part of the city 
called the East End. 

In his early days Mr. Brown was a 
\\ hig. with strong anti-slaveiy proclivities. 
After the organization of the Republican 
party he became one of its stanch adher- 
ents. He and his wife are members of the 
First Presbyterian Church, and assisted in 
organizing the first church of that denomi- 
nation in Superior. \\'ith one other they 
are the only remaining charter members. 
Mr. Brown has served as an elder in the 
church since its organization. 

ALONZO J. BARTOX, deceased. In 
the long struggle between the X'orth and the 
South many men of simple, unostentatious 
life showed themselves to be of the metal 
of heroes, and by their deeds of bravery, 
both moral and physical, set a high stand- 
ard of character for those wdio should fol- 
low them. One such was Alonzo J. Barton, 
of Sumner. Barron county, who was born 
h'el). 2^. 1836. and passed away Oct. 14, 
1888, loved and respected by all who knew 
him. 

Mr. Barton was born in Chautauqua 
county. X. Y.. and spent his early life there 
on a farm, receiving his education in the 
public schools of the State. At the break- 
iup; out of the Rebellion be enlisted in Com- 



COMAIEAIORATIVE BTOriRAPIIICAL RECORD 



185 



pany E, gth X. ^'. \'. Cav. and served with 
his regiment in many engagements, till tin- 
ally he was taken prisoner, Oct. 11, 1863. 
He was contined in Libby prison but suc- 
ceeded in making his escape in a most dar- 
ing manner. Securing in some \\a\- a 
Rebel coat he walked out in broad daylight 
and made his way unchallenged to a point 
aliout thirty luiles from Richmond, but 
there he was recaptured and this time con- 
fined in Castle Meade. For thirty-six days 
he was kept in a dungeon, recei\'ing tlie 
most inhuman treatment. Happily he had 
strength to survive tliese hardships, but 
nex-ertheless contractetl asthma from his ex- 
posure and sufferings and was a great suf- 
ferer from it for the remainder of his life. 
In May, 1864. he was paroled, but after tlie 
expiration of his parole, re-enlisted with his 
regiment and remained with it till finally 
discharged in November, 1865. For his 
bravery and valiant deeds he was promoted 
until he was finally made sergeant-major. 
After returning from the war, Mr. Barton 
was married, July 4, 1866, to Miss Lucy J. 
Covell, like himself, a native of New York, 
born in 1840. Mrs. Barton is still living 
and makes her home in Port Orchard, 
Washington, with a daughter. The chil- 
dren born to this couple were five in u.um- 
ber: Bertrand E., of Barron, \\'is. ; A^■ini- 
ired L. and \Villard L., twins, the former 
now Mrs. Percy J. Hudson, of Port Or- 
chard; Mabel I., also of Port Orchard and 
Blanche E., who died Dec. 9, 1899, aged 
twenty-one years. 

A year after his marriage Mr. Barton 
and his wife moved West and settled first in 
Houston county, Minn., where thev re- 
mained till 1872. They then went to Wis- 
consin, locating first at Eau Claire and later 
at Sumner, Barron county, where thev took 
u\> a homestead and settled permanentlv. 
In addition to the conduct of his farm, Air. 
Barton took an acti\e part in jiolitics and 
filled several offices. A Republican in his 
party affiliations, he was elected .sheriff in 
the fall of 1865 and in i8-() was again 
•chosen for that office. In 1884 he was 



elected register of deeds, and lilled both 
ollices to the utmost satisfaction of his con- 
stituents. Mr. Barton was also an active 
workf]- in fraternal circles, belonging to 
Rai-ron Lodge, F. & A. M., to the Knights 
of Pythias, of Rice Lake, and was also a 
member of the John A. Logan L'ni(jn Vet- 
eran Union, ALartin Watson P'ost. 

"Lon" Barton, as he was familiarly 
called, was held in the warmest aft'ection by 
bis luany friends, and his death left a long 
felt void in their hearts. His character was 
one of unusual beauty, with a deep love for 
truth, honesty and uprightness that scorned 
e\'ery suggestion of meanness, while to his 
friends he was loyalty and devotion itself. 

WILLARD L. BARTON, second son 
I >f the above and a well-known citizen of 
Ijarron county, was l)oru in Houston, 
Minn., Dec. 17, 1871. The following year 
his father settled in Barron county and the 
boy was brought up there on the homestead, 
receiving his education in the public schools. 
He remained at home till 1885, when he re- 
mo\'ed to Barron, where he still resides, 
though actively engaged in managing his 
140-acre f.arm near that city. Like his fath- 
er, Mr. W. L. Barton has been an active 
wdrker in the Republican ranks; in 1897- 
98 ser\ed as deputy register of deeds, was 
elected register in the fall of 1898, and re- 
elected in 1900, thus serving four years 
in all. 

Mr. Barton's marriage occurred March 
-'(1. 1901, when he was united to Miss Hat- 
tie L. Blodgett, daughter of Albin and Rose 
L. Blodgett, of Barron. Mrs. Barton was 
born in Dunn county, W'is. She has borne 
her husband three children. Bethel, Law- 
rence ;ui(I Tuhel. The family are connected 
with the Methodist Episcopal Church. Mr. 
r.,irton .and his wife are well known in Bar- 
I'on. where thev have many friends and are 
looked u])on with the highest esteem by all. 

W. L. STEPHENSON, M. D., jiropri- 
etor of the Stephenson Hospital and Sani- 
tarium at Ladvsmith. and a iihvsician o£ 



1 86 



CO:\LMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



good repute, is an affable and polished gen- 
tleman. 

William Stephenson is a native of ^^'is- 
consin and was born in 1873, near Broad- 
head. His early education was secured in 
the public schools, as is that of the greater 
portion of American children, and as he had 
a predilection for the medical profession, as 
soon as it was possible, he began reading 
with T. W. Wuzum, of Broadhead, who 
fitted him for matriculation at Rush Medi- 
cal College, Chicago, which he entered in 
the spring of 1892. There he took a two 
years" course, with two special courses dur- 
ing the summer seasons. Subsequently he 
entered the Wisconsin College of Physi- 
cians and Surgeons at ^Milwaukee, from 
which he was graduated in 1895. 

Dr. Stephenson began the practice of his 
profession at Broadhead immediately there- 
after, and remained there until June, 1903, 
when he removed to Ladysmith and estab- 
lished himself in active practice. In Jan- 
uary, 1904, he purchased the hospital build- 
ing, which had been erected the pre\'ious 
year, and immediately prepared for the re- 
ception of patients. The hospital is a 
roomy one, oft'ering accommodations for 
thirty-five patients, and being built for the 
purpose is specially suited to the conven- 
ience of both patient and staff". All the 
modern appliances are found there, includ- 
ing an X-ray outfit, etc. The success Dr. 
Stephenson has already attained is making 
his pl'ace a well known one, and his patron- 
age is fast outgrowing his accommodations, 
so that in the very near future, other build- 
ings will lie required. 

On Aug. 19, 1S94, Dr. Stephenson was 
married to Miss Maud M. House, of Broad- 
head, and they have become the parents of 
one son, Lee, born .Aug. i, 1897. Fratern- 
ally Dr. Stephenson is a ' member of the 
Wisconsin State Medical Society, Central 
Wisconsin Medical Society, and the Barron, 
Rusk and Polk County Medical Society. 
He is also a member of the Masonic Order, 
the K. of P., Eastern Star and the Alodern 
Woodmen of ;\merica. 



PIOX. CHARLES F. MORRIS. The- 
present is often said to be the day of young 
men, whether in business or professional life, 
and the statement would indeed seem to be 
l)orne out by so rapid a rise to both profes- 
sional and political influence as that achieved 
by Hon. Charles F. Alorris, an attorney-at- 
law, and a representative in the Wisconsin 
-jVssembly. Air. Alorris is a native of Chip- 
pewa Falls, Wis., born Feb. 12, 1S76. His 
parents were Patrick and Ann (Boyle) 
Alorris. 

Both the father and mother were born- 
in Ireland, but came to America in youth, 
settled in Massachusetts, and there married. 
Patrick Alorris was first engaged in the boot 
and shoe trade in Worcester, Mass., but in 
1872-73 went to ^^"isconsin and settled in 
Chippewa Falls, where he engaged in a gen- 
eral mercantile business. This he carried 
on with much success until a short time pre- 
vious to his death, in May, 1902. He was a 
Democrat in his views, an active worker in 
his part-\' for many years after settling in 
Chippewa Falls, and filled the positions of 
alderman and city treasurer most creditably. 

Charles F. Alorris was the youngest of 
nine children born to his parents. He at- 
tended the Notre Dame parochial school and 
finished the course laid out there in 1892. 
Four years later, having determined on the 
law as his life work, he began reading in 
the office of Buchanan & Bowe, prominent 
attorneys, with whom he remained until his 
preparation was completed. He took the 
examination required by the State board of 
examiners in August, 1899, and was form- 
ally admitted to the Bar, Oct. loth of that 
same year, before Judge O'Neal. Within 
a month he went to Iron River, having se- 
lected that point as the most promising for 
him, and Dec. ist of the same j^ear opened 
his office. Young though he was, Mr. Mor- 
ris displayed a legal knowledge, which with 
his tact and judgment enabled him to build 
up a good business rapidly. He is the pos- 
sessor of a good working library, which is 
unusually complete for so young a lawyer. 

Like his father, Mr. Alorris is active in. 



t COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



1S7 



politics, but he is a Republican instead of a 
Democrat. For several years he has been city 
attorney for Iron River. In 1902 he received 
the nomination for assemblyman in the Re- 
publican convention and on the first ballot 
twelve out of the twenty votes were given 
him, whereupon the nomination was made 
unanimous. His election followed with a ma- 
jority of 1970 votes, a marked tribute to the 
popularity of the young man and candidate, 
— only one indication of the general conti- 
dence in him which makes his voice so influ- 
ential in the party coimcils. 

Mr. Morris is a member of the Catholic 
Order of Foresters, and is keenly alive to the 
best interests of that organization. 

JOHN D. :\IORRISSEY, general 
freight agent for Superior of the Duluth 
South Shore & Atlantic Railway Company, 
has had over twenty-five years' experience 
in railroading", and has risen gradually from 
messenger boy on the Pennsylvania Rail- 
way to his present responsible position. He 
was born in Rogormick, County Waterford, 
Ireland, June 22, 1863, his parents being 
James and Mary (Welch) Morrissey, both 
native.i of Rogormick, where for genera- 
tions their ancestors had been agriculturists. 
In 1865 James ■Morrissey brought his fam- 
ily to the United States and located at Em- 
porium, Pa., where for years he was yard 
foreman for the Pennsylvania Railway Com- 
pany, being retired on a pension in 1891. 
He died Sept. 22. 1901, at the age of sixty- 
seven ; he had acquired considerable property 
in Emporium, and his widow still lives there. 

When he was twelve years old, John D. 
Morrissey began work as messenger boy for 
the Pennsylvania Railway Company. He 
remained with the road eight ^^ears, becom- 
ing a telegraph operator and being employed 
at different stations. He was next with the 
^^"estern Xew York & Pennsylvania Rail- 
road as operator at various stations and later 
became agent of the Buffalo, Rochester & 
Pittsburg Railroad, at East Bradford, Pa. 
In t88o he entered the emnloy of the Duhith, 
South Shore & Atlantic Railroad, as assist- 



ant agent at Xegaunee, ]\Iich., whence he 
was soon transferred as agent to Baraga, 
Mich., in 1893 transferred to Old Superior, 
as agent, and Nov. i, 1901, was appointed 
general freight agent for the city of Superior, 
which responsible position he still holds. 

At Limestone, N. Y., in 1885 Mr. Mor- 
rissey married Mary O'Brien, who was born 
in Belfast, N. Y., daughter of James and 
Margaret O'Brien, of Bradford, Pa. To 
this union has come one son, James L., liorn 
in 1887, at Gainesville, N. Y. The family 
are communicants of the Catholic Church 
and socially are well connected. Mr. ^lor- 
rissey is a member of Tent 59, K. O. T. M., 
at Gainesville, N. Y., and also of the Elks 
Lodge No. 403, Superior. Politically he is 
a Republican. 

BENNIE JOHNSON, treasurer of 
Barron county, with a long record of official 
service in various capacities, is a Norwegian 
bv birth and first saw the light of day in Gul- 
bransdalen, near Lillehammer, Sept. 14, 
1864. His parents were Johaimes Olson 
Stalsberg and Goro (Nelson) Stalsberg, 
who were born and married in that same lo- 
cality and both parents and son were bap- 
tized' by the same pastor. 

In the spring of 1866 the family reached 
the United States, after a sea voyage lasting 
eight weeks. The first year they spent in 
Rock county. Wis., whence they went to 
Vernon county, soon after to Pierce county 
and finally settled permanently in St. Croix 
countv, where they bought wild land in 
T869 and improved it. The farm is located 
about one mile from Baldwin and J. O. 
Stalsberg and his wife, both seventy-three 
vears of age, are still living on it. In the 
beginning it meant much hard work for both 
of them and the father had to secure employ- 
ment from his neighbors to support his fam- 
ilv, often walking twenty miles to Hud=;on 
to get work. Of their children, five sons are 
living, one of whom, Nicoli S. was at Cum- 
berland for some time. 

Bennie Johnson is the only one of the 
family living in Barron county. His boy- 



i88 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



hood was passed in St. Croix county, where 
he was educated in the pubHc scliools. At 
the age of seventeen he went to Cumberland 
and having had some experience pre\-i(jusly 
in a general store in Baldwin, he at once se- 
cured a similar position in the former tow n 
and was so employed till 1883. For the next 
two years he was in the post-office there and 
then took a course in a business college in 
La Crosse. After completing this course, 
Mr. Johnson was employed by a lumber 
company at Washburn for ten months and 
then returned to clerk for the Beaver Dam 
Lumber Company at Cumberland, for eleven 
years. For a time he was also interested in 
a general store at Minong, Wi.sconsin. 

Mr. Johnson has always been a Repub- 
lican but had little time to participate in pub- 
lic affairs. In 1898, however, he was chosen 
postmaster over four competitors and accept- 
ing the position, served most satisfactoril_\- 
till March, 1933, and then was recommended 
for reappointment. During his incumbency 
the grade of the office was raised from one 
with a salary of $1,100 to one of $1,500. In 
May, 1903, the confidence of his fellow citi- 
zens in him was further attested by his elec- 
tion by the county board to fill a vacancy in 
the office of county treasurer. So entirely 
unsolicited was this appointment that Mr. 
Johnson was away on a fishing expedition 
when it was made. In the fall of 1904 he 
was renominated for that position. During 
his residence in Cumberland he rendered still 
further public service by acting as alderman 
of the Third ward for one term. 

The marriage of Mr. Johnson took place 
Aug. 14, 1889, when he was united to Miss 
Hannah Jacobson, who was born in Aden, 
Norway, the daughter of Jacob K. and Man*' 
Newgard, now of St. Croix county. Wis. 
They ha\e one daughter, Bessie G. The 
family are connected with the Norwegian 
Lutheran Church. 

FLOYD HOLLY. Throughout the 
Northwest few names are better known than 
that of Floyd Holly, a famous hunter and 
trapper of that section for more than thirtv 



years. Mr. Holly is a splendid type of the 
western woodsman and his record as a hun- 
ter stand unrivalled. One of the early set- 
tlers of the southern part of Bayfield county, 
Mr. Holly went thither from McKean coun- 
ty. Pa., where he was born in 1842. His par- 
ents were Nathan and Jane ( Hackey) Holly, 
of New Jersey, and he was one of twelve 
children, only three of whom are living. 
Floyd Plolly was brought up on a farm and 
was thoroughly familiar with that work, 
and also with lumbering, as he was employed 
often in a sawmill. He was given a good 
education in the public schools and then en- 
tered the Alfred Academy, which he was at- 
tending when the Civil war broke out. 

Mr. Holly was among the first to enlist, 
and April 14, 1861, was enrolled in Com- 
pany G, 42d P. V. I. This was known as 
the Bucktail regiment, and from the 107 
men from Ceras, who enlisted in it, only two 
remained to be discharged at the close of the 
war. Mr. Holly enlisted again as a veteran 
in 1863, in the same company and regiment, 
and was with the Army of the Potomac five 
years in all. in active service, and participat- 
ed in fifty-three battles, including all the 
hardest fought ones which that army saw. 
At Gettj'sburg he was stmck in the hip by a 
shell and at Fredericksburg in the breast 
with a Inick shot ; in the battle of the W^ilder- 
ness he had fired until his gun was empty and 
then ran. getting the fire of the enemy at 
such close range that it tore his clothing, 
cut away his ammunition, and even articles 
out of his pocket. Four of his brothers were 
also in the army, one, Alonzo Holly, serving 
in the same company with Floyd ; he died of 
smallpox after three years' campaigning. 
The others, LaFayette, Lewis and John, 
were in the 85th N. Y., and all went through 
the war. Lewis received a severe wound in 
the arm, and LaFayette was shot in the 
body; he lay in a trench between the two 
lines and probably saved his own life by be- 
ing able to bandage his wound with his shirt. 
I'loyd Holly lost his hearing from exposure 
during his army life. 

Mr. Holly was discharged July 3, 1865, 



C0^IME:\I0RATIVE BIOCRArillCAL RECORD 



189, 



and returned home, where he was married 
the same faU to Sue Alerman, of Richburg, 
Allegany Co., N. Y. Two years later they 
went to Eau Claire, Wis., where Mr. Holly 
was engaged in lumbering. In 1879 he went 
to Hayward, Wis., tor a short time, and then 
took up land in Bayfield county, the second 
man to settle in Cable. He followed logging 
for one seas(jn, but was occupietl mainly in 
hunting and trapping. No other man prob- 
ably knows the northern part of Wisconsin 
so thoroughly as Mr. Holly, for he has 
hunted o\'er the whole region for many 
years. His record is a remarkable one. for 
in the line of game — to give one instance — 
he has killed as many as 100 deer in one 
season. He has also secured twenty-five 
bears in one season, and is the only white 
man in northern Wisconsin known to have 
killed a nmose weighing as much as 1168 
pounds, and measuring si.x feet, three inches 
from the foot to the top of the back. Of late 
years he has had to give up his old pursuits, 
as his feet were frozen tweK'e years ago. and 
both had to be amputated at the instep. 

Mr. Holly has recently filed on a home- 
stead and owns 120 acres of land which he 
has developed and impro\-ed considerably. 
His chief business is conducting a grocery 
store, where he keeps the line of goods 
usually found in a country store. In lu's 
politics he is a Republican, and does his ut- 
most in a quiet way to promote his partv's 
success. In the G. A. R. he is a member 
of Post No. 260. 

Three children were born to Mr. and 
Mrs. Holly, Clarence. (George and Zua. The 
daughter is now Mrs. Shoof, and is a lady 
of culture and refinement. She was \-ery 
carefully educated, both in the higher Eng- 
lish branches and in music, and for nine 
years was one of the most successful and 
prominent teachers in the public schools of 
Chicago. She is likewise a fine linguist, and 
speaks several languages fluently.- 

In spite of Mr. Holly's long militarv 
service, during which he was the hero of a 
score of pitched battles, and his many sea- 
sons of life in the wilderness with all the 



attendant exposure, his three score years 
seem lutl to weigh upon him at all, and his 
eye is as keen and his nerves are as rigid as 
ever, and he can still hit the bull s eye at 
almost any distance with the crack shots of 
the State. 

LOCIS A. BCRBEY, a pioneer in Tay- 
lor county, and an influential citizen, was 
for a number of years a well known hotel- 
keeper, but is now residing on a farm. He 
was born in the Province of Quebec, Canada, 
June 15, 1849, 'iii'J comes of a hardy, long- 
lived race. His grandfather, Andrew Bur- 
bey, lived to be 103 years old, and he and 
his wife, formerly a Miss Langlade, were 
wedded for over seventy-five years. Mrs^ 
Burbev was a relative of the noted Lansr- 
lade family, .so closely identified with the 
early histoiy of Green Bay, Wisconsin. 

Andrew and Matilda (Lamere) Burbey, 
the parents of Louis A., were natives of 
(Juebec, and lived in that Province until 
Louis was two years old. They then mi- 
grated to the United States, and' settled on 
a farm in Manitowoc, remaining there many 
years. In 1879, '^'''^y sold out and removed 
to Oconto county. Wis., where Andrew Bur- 
ijey died in 1893. Although he was eighty- 
five years old Mr. Burbey enjoyed good 
health until a week before his death, and 
might well have lived longer if he had not 
been injured by being thrown out of a 
buggy in a runaway. Mrs. Matilda Bur- 
bey reached the age of seventy-five years. 
A brother, Francis Lamere. was one of the 
pioneers of Stevens Point, where he located 
as early as 1847, ^"fl l^ept a hotel. He had 
previously been engaged in driving a stage 
between Green Bay and Stevens Point. 

Louis A. Burbey was educated in the 
public schools of Manitowoc countv, and re- 
mained at home assisting on the farm until 
he was twenty-one. His first employment 
otherwise was in driving a team in lumber 
camps. In 1876 he went to Taylor county, 
built the '"Star Hotel" at Chelsea, and for 
ten years was occupied in conducting it, 
which he did verv successfullv. Bv 1886. 



190 



CO.ALAIEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



Mr. Burbey was ready to resume agricul- 
tural lite, so he bought 160 acres of wild land 
near the village ot Chelsea, and has there 
made his home up to the present time. Over 
forty acres are now under cultivation, and 
he has a well kept farm with comfortable 
buildings. In the matter of buildings Air. 
Burbey has been very unfortunate since 
coming to Taylor county, for in 1894 a 
forest tire destroyed not only everything on 
his farm, with all his personal property, but 
also his hotel property in Chelsea. In addi- 
tion to his hotel and other interests he has 
also until recently done considerable logging. 

Mr. Burbey was first married, in 1871, 
to Mary Elizabeth Bence, a native of Ocon- 
to, Wis., who died when only twenty-seven 
years old, after four years of married life. 
On Aug. II, 1875, Air. Burbey was united 
in marriage to Miss Margaret Alie, who was 
born in Cooperstown, Manitowoc Co., Wis., 
a granddaughter of Joseph Alie, a pioneer 
of Green Bay and a veteran of the Black 
Hawk war, who lived to an advanced age. 
Mr. and Mrs. Burbey have a family of seven 
children, namely : Alary Elizabeth, wife of 
R. R. Allamang, of Chelsea ; Louis, a pro- 
fessional cook and also a lumber scaler; 
Katie and Annie, teachers in the public 
schools; and Ruth, Dolphus and Prosper, 
•still attending school. The two eldest have 
also taught school. The family are con- 
nected with the Greenwood Catholic Church. 

Mr. Burbey has always been a strong 
Democrat, and has been very prominent in 
the public life of the town and county. He 
was town clerk for three years; chairman 
of the town four years, two of which he also 
served as chairman of the county board ; has 
long been a member of the school board ; 
and for the past several years has been a 
justice of the peace. He has been sent as a 
delegate to almost every Democratic county 
convention. He is energetic and thorough- 
ly capable, and has discharged all the duties 
of his various offices most satisfactorily. 

TOAI O. MASON, who. although still 
under thirty vears of age. has already at- 



tained a position of commanding influence 
in Wisconsin's political ranks, has made his 
way entirely by the force of his tireless ambi- 
tion and his marked capacity for dealing 
\vith men and affairs. 

Air. Alason was born in Independence, 
Iowa, July 16, 1874, son of John C. and 
Agnes (Hickey) Alason, natives of New 
York State, of Irish descent. When he was 
a boy his parents removed to Vail, Craw- 
ford Co., Iowa, where he attended the pub- 
lic schools. He entered the high school but 
was not able to finish the course as his par- 
ents both died and he was obliged to go to 
work. He served an apprenticeship as sta- 
tion agent and telegraph operator and soon 
mastered the system of telegraphy, follow- 
ing that vocation till he was nineteen years 
old. Air. Alason then began his journalistic 
career, writing for a number of Iowa dail- 
ies and weeklies and acting as correspond- 
ent for metropolitan papers of Chicago, St. 
Paul and Alinneapolis. In October, 1900, 
he purchased The Cuiiibciiaiid Advocate, 
published at Cumberland, Wis., which he 
still owns and edits. W'hen he took it the 
paper was one of only eight pages, which 
Air. Alason has increased to sixteen. Besides 
making the Advocate one of the largest and 
most influential country newspapers in W^is- 
consin, he has done much through this 
medium to I)Oom Cumberland and in fact all 
northern Wisconsin, as he constantly en- 
larges both in regular and special editions, 
upon the opportunities and advantages of- 
fered by that section and an era of unpre- 
cedented prosperity has followed. Mr. Ala- 
son still represents a number of leading dail- 
ies in Northern Wisconsin and does consid- 
erable special writing for metropolitan jour- 
nals. 

Air. Alason is a strong Republican and 
from the age of twenty has been active in 
politics. Two months before he attained his 
majority he was elected a member of Boone 
( Iowa ) Republican county central commit- 
tee. He has won a prominent position 
among Wisconsin's politicians, and led the 
congressional fight in his district in 1904. 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



191 



He was a delegate to the congressional con- 
vention at Spooner in 1904, and was made 
chairman of the Eleventh District Congres- 
sional Committee, which position he now 
holds. By his management of the last con- 
gressional campaign, Mr. Mason secured for 
Congressman Jenkins the biggest plurality 
ever received in the State for any congress- 
man. He took an active part in the strenuous 
campaign of 1904, and was a delegate to 
the Republican State convention held in 
May of that year. He has also served one 
term as alderman on the Cumberland city 
council. 

In everything that pertains to the com- 
mercial and educational advancement of 
Cumberland. Mr. Mason is heartily inter- 
ested and an active promoter of all such 
projects. He is secretary of the Cumber- 
land Advancement Association, the man- 
ager of the Opera House and secured from 
Andrew Carnegie a donation of $10,000 for 
the construction of a new free library in 
Cumberland. 

On Oct. 8, 1902, Mr. ]\Iason was united 
in marriage to Miss Grace Carroll, daughter 
of John C. and Delia (Ketchum) Carroll. 
Mr. Mason is one of Cumberland's most able 
men and most valuable citizens. 

FURMAX ROLFE. one of the pioneers 
of South Superior, has lived in the town 
since its very beginning in 1S91. Wherever 
the name Rolfe is found in America, it in- 
dicates descent from one of three brothers 
who came to this country from England 
and who settled, one in New York City, one 
in Massachusetts, and one in Buffalo. They 
came over in the early Colonial days and 
later descendants took ])art in the Revolu- 
tionary war. The family record is indeed 
ancient and honorable, as it can be traced 
back for 600 years, and so far as is known, 
no crime has ever been imputed to any of the 
name. 

Joseph Rolfe, the father of Furman, was 
a native of New Jerse}-, but when only a 
youth went with his father to Steuben 
county, N. Y. Then he married Susan 



Hight, also a native of New Jersey. Her 
father, John Hight, went to Steuben county 
in an early day and did much work all 
through that region as a surveyor. 

Furman Rolfe was born in Steuben 
county, N. Y., in 1826 and lost his mother 
when he was a child. Of the four children 
of this first marriage he is the only one liv- 
ing. The father afterward married again 
and four children were born to this union 
also. Of these three are yet living; Rollin 
Milton and DeForest P. are prominent busi- 
ness men in Nebraska City; their sister, Mrs. 
Mary A. Fulton, is living at Grand Island, 
Nebraska. 

In i8;3 Mr. Rolfe moved to Tioga 
county, Pa., and there took charge of the 
lumber interests of a company with whom 
he remained for twenty-two years. He had 
previously acquired considerable experience 
in that line, as he had worked under his 
father, who was engaged in the manufacture 
of lumber. In fact, until he went to South 
Superior his whole business life was con- 
nected with the lumber trade. 

Mr. Rolfe first went to South Superior 
in 1891 to assist in building the "South Su- 
perior Hotel." After the completion of that 
he was employed for about six months in 
assisting- in the erection of one of the Web- 
ster buildings, and in the spring of 1802 he 
was engaged bv the South Superior Tand 
Company to put up their buildings. Fie re- 
mained with them four or five venrs. and 
since then has been varinn'i'v emnloved. 

Mr. Rolfe mirried Miss Antreline A. 
Reed, born in Oranee township. Steuben 
Co.. N. Y. Both were prominent members 
of the M. E. Church, where Mrs. Rolfe was 
active in all the cJiaritable work of the 
church, and was identified with the W. C. 
T. U. She was a woman of unusual ability 
and beauty of character, and her death, Jan. 
6, 1895, was not only a deep blow to the 
family, but a loss to the community. A 
memorial window in the Methodist Church 
of South Superior is but one testimonial to 
her worth. Mrs. Rolfe bore her husband 
two children, both of whom survive her ; 



1 92 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



Maro Orlando, born in January, 1852, who 
resides in Cliicag'o ; Irene, born in 18^4, who 
is the wife of R. II. Tucker, of Corning, 
New York. 

ALFRED S. ANDREWS, D. D. S., is 
a leading dentist of West Superior and one 
of its well known citizens. Dr. Andrews, 
who was born in Bratlleboro, Vt., Sept. 8, 
1846, comes of good old New England 
stock — representing the eighth generation of 
his family in this country. 

The members of the Andrews family 
have long been noted for longevity and 
physical vigor as well as for stability of 
character. A part of the family have al- 
ways written the name "Andrus." The fol- 
lowing is the record of the ancestors of Dr. 
Andrews in direct line : John Andrews and 
his wife, Mary, came to America from Eng- 
land in 1640 and settled in Connecticut; 
they had nine children. Their second son 
(John II), bom 1645, 'i'""^ ^'^'^ children; his 
third son, Steven, born 1680, had four 
children ; his second son, Charles, born 
1710, had ten children; his fourth son, 
Nemiah, born 1746, had eight children; his 
eldest son was Solomon, born 1779, who 
married Betsy Gaynes, of Scotch descent, 
and they were the parents of fifteen children. 

Solomon Andrews moved to Vermont 
when a boy, and settled in the town of Guil- 
ford, where he improved a fine farm of 
1,500 acres, dealt in live stock for the Bos- 
ton market, and became one of the most 
prosperous residents of the locality. Sol- 
omon Andrews reached the age of eighty- 
seven, his death occurring in 1867. His 
mother lived to be loi years old, and when 
fully 100 years of age walked half a mile 
with ease. Solomon Andrews and his son 
Sanford, who also lived to be eighty-seven, 
attended regularly to business until a few 
days before death. Sanford Andrews, like 
his father, was a prosperous farmer. 
He was an adherent of the Democratic 
party in early life, but when the Civil 
war broke out, became a staunch Repub- 
lican. His death took place July 8, 1898. 
His wife, Mary (Haynes) Andrews, died 
Sept. 3, 1894, at the age of seventy-eight. 



Her father, the Rev. Asa Haynes, was a 
Methodist minister; he was a native of 
England and his wife, Polly (Atherton) 
Haynes, was of German descent. Sanford 
and Mary (Haynes) Andrews, the parents 
of Dr. Alfred S. Andrews, had a family of 
ten children, of ^^hom four sons and two 
daughters survive. One son still lives on the 
homestead farm in Guilford. Prescott, son 
of Dr. Walter E. Andrews, of New York 
City, born 1901, represents the ninth genera- 
tion in America. 

Alfred S. Andrews went through the 
grammar and high schools, and when 
twenty-two years old moved to Iowa where 
he began farming in Floyd county. He 
spent three 3rears there, and three more in 
Pierce countv. Wis., where he operated a 
saw mill. He then returned to the east and 
studied dentistry in New York City with his 
brother. Dr. AValter E. Andrews. After 
four years Dr. Andrews came back to Wis- 
consin and practiced dentistry in Rock Elm, 
Ellsworth and adjacent places, and since 
February, 1891, has been located at West 
Superior. From time to time Dr. Andrews 
has invested in city real estate; he has built 
a number of houses and at present owns 
about ten buildings which he rents. Dr. An- 
drews was one of the promoters of the Su- 
perior & Boston Copper Mining Co., of 
\\hich he is vice-president; he was also 
among the first stockholders in the St. 
Croix Consolidated Copper Mining Co., of 
which he also is vice-president. The latter 
company owns about 25,000 acres of min- 
eral lands, mainly in Douglas county, and 
has very promising prospects. 

Dr. Andrews married in 1876 a Miss 
Davis. Mrs. Andrews was a native of Wis- 
consin and died in Pierce county when only 
twenty-two years of age, a year or so after 
her marriage. Feb. 6, 1904, he was again 
married to INIiss Anna Schuning, daughter 
of Ernest and Kate Schuning, of New York 
City. 

Fraternally Dr. Andrews is a member 
ouf the I. O. O. F. and of the A. F. & A. M. 
He belongs to the Eagles and the local 
lodge and chapter of the I. O. R. M., and in 
all these societies Dr. Andrews has filled 



THE r;£VV YORK 
PUBLIC LIBRARY 



ASTOR, LENOX 
[TILDEN ^CUJ-DATrONS j 



COMME.MORATR'E BlOGRAriliCAL RECORD 



^93 



offices. He is a member of the board of 
trustees of Superior Lodge, 1. O. O. F., 
which has recently built a fine business 
bkjck. and he also belongs to the Encami>- 
nient. Dr. Andrews has been prominently 
bet\ire the people of his ward as a candidate 
for aldennan, but he was not enough of a 
partisan to win the election. He was also 
a proninient candidate for supervisor in 
1902. Dr. Andrews is widely known as a 
public-spirited citizen, an active Republican 
and an advocate of all ini[)ortant reforms. 

OLE SWENSOX. Not often is the 
phrase "oldest inhabitant" to be taken liter- 
ally, but in the case of Ole Swenson, a wood 
and coal dealer in West Superior, it may 
perhaps stand as an exact description, for 
there is probably not one among those now 
living in that part of the city whose coming 
antedates that of Mr. Swenson. 

An American by adoption, Ole Swenson 
is a native of Sweden, born in Blaking, 
July 2, 1836. He was the son of Swen 
Carlson and Botila Swanneson, both natives 
of Sweden. There were four children in 
the family, Ole, Inga, Hannah and John, 
but Ole was the only one of them to come 
to America, His earlier life was passed in 
his native land. Brought up on a farm, he 
was reared to that employment and followed 
it until he was thirty-three years old, when 
he started on his long jouniey to Xew 
York. Eleven years before, he had married 
Sarra Hanson, July 14, 1858, but when he 
left Sweden in May, 1869, his wife remained 
behind with their children until a home 
should be made ready for them in the far 
West. Mr. Swenson went by boat from 
Copenhagen to Glasgow, Scotland, and then 
embarked for New York, going by the boat 
"Columbia."" After a voyage of six weeks 
he landed in Xew York, and then made his 
way West as far as Superior, reaching there 
with five dollars in his pocket. 

Mr. Swenson secured work at once with 
the St. Paul & Duluth Railroad as a laborer 
on the construction of the road bed. For 
eleven months he worked there at two dol- 



lars a day, and then in 1870 went to Dou- 
glas county and did whatever came to him. 
By that tune he had saved up enough to 
bring his family over, and 111 September, 
1870, the mother and five children arrived. 
The family settled down in Superior 
and Air. Swenson continued as a day 
laborer for a while, but eventually 
drifted into the wood, water and ice 
business, which he followed successfully 
for a number of years. For about one )ear 
after the first establishment of a postoffice at 
West Superior he carried the mail to and, 
from the railroad station. During the same 
time he did all the draying in that part of the, 
city. He also invested in real estate as the. 
town grew, and did very well in that also. 
Of late years he has been engaged in farm- 
ing, and his usual prosperity has followed 
his labors in that as in other directions.. In. 
1884, at a time when there were only seven; 
other houses in West Superior, he built his-, 
first house there, having previously lived in, 
one which he had put up in 1876 in Old. 
Superior. Later a tiiird building was erect- 
ed in the new town, and in 1891 his present 
residence was built. This is a well appoint- 
ed home and the many comforts which sur- 
round Mr. Swens(jn now, are a striking con- 
trast to his condition on arriving in this, 
ciiuntry, and a vivid commentary on the 
value of industry and a determination to 
succeed in the world. 

Five children were born to Mr. and' Mrs, 
Swenson after their arrival in Superior, 
making a family of ten, as follows: Swan, 
engaged in farming: Clara, who lives near 
Swan: Betty; Hanna, wife of Swan Hard; 
Celia, the widow of Charley Legrew ; 
Charley, deceased ; Emma, a graduate of the 
West Superior high school, and now a suc- 
cessful teacher in the Brule school ; John, 
employed in the lime kiln : Henry, an em- 
ploye of the Superior Street Car Co., and 
Ole, a graduate of the high school and a 
most promising young man, who has passed 
the government examination and is now 
employed in tlie postal service. Tlie entire- 
family belong to the Lutheran Church. 



13 



.194 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



2\Ir. Swensoii ever since coming to the 
United States has been a Repubhcan in his 
politics, and while never seeking to hold 
office, takes an acti\'e interest in both local 
anil national political questions. 

HISTORY OF APOLLONIA, WIS. 
The trrst settler of Apollonia, Wis., was 
John Goulet, in 1887, while F. Weyerhauser 
was the promoter. The latter held large 
tracts of land in what is now Rusk and Saw- 
yer counties, and he constructed a railroad 
from, this point a distance of thirty miles 
into Sawyer county to facilitate his logging 
operations. The W'eyerhauser Company 
operated a mill seven miles from the Soo 
road, cutting during that period, 30.000.000 
feet of timber, mostly hard wood. The com- 
pany then sold this mill to McDonough & 
Co.. who removed it to Frederick, Wis., and 
the timber reserve was sold to the Belden- 
ville and Arpin companies, and the cut over 
land was sold to the firm of Chicester & 
Reed. The railroad is still operated by the 
Beldenville Lumber Company. 

The town site was laid out on the Wey- 
erhauser land, one and a half miles west of 
Bruce, and was named in honor of a daugh- 
rter of Mr. Weyerhauser. The F. J. Otis 
Company established the first store in the 
town in 1894. In 1896 the Apollonia Store 
■Company opened a store, and in 1900 Dr. 
Gobar opened a drug store. In 1903 B. 
Kepner opened a furniture store, and in the 
same year. John Weber opened in hardware. 
The postoffice was established in 1887, with 
Newton Mills, superintendent of the Chip- 
pewa River & Menomonie road, as first 
postmaster, and E. \W. Hill as assistant post- 
master. The earliest church societies, the 
Catholic and Congregational, have substan- 
tial buildings and hold regular services. 

In 1892 the first school was opened, with 
Mrs. Emma Bolman in charge. The good 
people of Apollonia have always taken a 
deep interest in the school, and have now 
one of the most comfortable and orderly 
equipped schools in the county. It contains 
four rooms and three teachers, and is State 
graded first class. 



The population of Apollonia is 400. Its 
one hotel is a well arranged hostelry which 
caters to the comfort of its guests. It was 
erected in 1896 by G. W. Heaverin, its pro- 
prietor. In 1903 the Apollonia Cause was 
established, with Dr. Gobar and E. W. Hill, 
but it is now under the management of Dr. 
Gobar and Mr. Kepner. It is a well equip- 
ped printing office, capable of turning out all 
kinds of artistic job work. 

The Odd Fellows have a commodious 
and tastefully arranged hall which was erect- 
ed in 1900 at a cost of $4,000. The lodge 
was instituted in 1884. The Rebekahs. ^lac- 
cabees. Lady Maccabees and the Woodmen 
societies have organizations here, all flour- 
ishing. The place is settled chiefly by Amer- 
icans. Its business is established on a sound 
basis and the town presents an attractive ap- 
pearance and offers fine opportunities. 

OLE ANDERSON, treasurer of, and 
stockholder in, the Grantsburg Starch Com- 
pany, is one of the leading business men and 
influential citizens of Grantsburg, Wis., 
prominent alike in its business, political and 
social interests. He was bom in Norway, 
June 23, 1853, son of Arne and Line Ander- 
son, natives of that country. 

Arne Anderson was a carpenter and 
house builder in his native country and 
started with his family for America in 1862. 
The trip of thirteen weeks was made on a 
sailing vessel, during which the father died 
in mid-ocean, being buried at sea in June of 
that year. The family, after landing in 
America, settled in St. Croix Falls, Wis. 
Arne Anderson and wife had the following 
children: Peter, who died in the Civil war 
at Lookout Mountain, Tenn. ; Annie, who 
married Sven Peterson, a farmer of Grants- 
burg, Wis.; Isabella, deceased; Mary, wife 
of Joel A. Hickerson, of Grantsburg, a 
sketch of whom will be found elsewhere; 
Ole: and Levi, a farmer, of Grantsburg. 

Ole Anderson received but a limited edu- 
cation, and started out at the age of nine 
years to make his own way in the world. He 
worked in the woods for ten years, and the 
next ten years were spent with Joel A. Hick- 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



195 



erson in the general merchandise business. 
SeUing out his interest, Mr. Anderson en- 
oaged in the manufacture of potato starch at 
Grantsburg. He was one of the organizers 
of the Grantsburg Starch Company, and has 
been the manager of that firm since its incep- 
tion. The company now consists of S. J. 
jMealey, of AlonticeUo, Minn., president: J. 
A. Hickerson, vice-president; A. JNI. Ander- 
son, secretary ; Ole Anderson, manager and 
treasurer ; and Simon Thoreson, stockliolder. 
The product of this firm finds a ready mar- 
ket m the East. Mr. Anderson also owns a 
one-fourth interest in the Hickerson Rolling 
I\lills of Grantsburg; is one of the heavy 
stockholders of the First Bank of Grants- 
liurg, of which he was vice-president three 
years; and a stockholder of the Scandina- 
vian Bank of St. Paul, ]\Iinn. He now re- 
.sides in his fine home in Grantsburg, which 
he himself erected. 

Mr. Anderson has been twice married, 
his first wife having been Augusta Hed- 
strom, who died in 1891, the mother of three 
children : Russell ; Mamie, who died aged 
iive years; and Augusta. He married (sec- 
ond) Miss Emma Olson, by whom he has 
had three children : two children who died in 
infancy, and [Mamie Elizabeth. Mr. Ander- 
son is a Mason, belonging to Blue Lodge of 
Grantsburg, No. 244. He is also connected 
with the Modern Woodmen of Grantsburg, 
Xo. 3223. He is a member of the Lutheran 
Church, and is well known in church circles. 
Politically a Republican, he has been a mem- 
ber of the village council for twelve years, 
and attends State and county conventions. 

ISAAC ALLEN CLARK, who repre- 
sents the Second ward of Superior on the 
Douglas county board of supervisors, is a 
descendant of Scotch ancestors, and it is only 
with his father that the family historj' in 
America begins. His grandparents died in 
Scotland, and of their three children, Agnes 
and David lived and died in their native 
land. One cousin, of the same family name, 
a citizen of Dumfries, became one of the" 
most famous engravers in Scotland in his 
dav. 



William Clark, father of Isaac Allen, 
was born in Dumfries, Scotland, at the very 
dawn of the nineteenth century. He was 
married when very young to Mary Allen, a 
native of the same place, and the young cou- 
ple came to America in 1818. Mr. Clark 
had learned civil engineering and followed 
that profession for a while after settling in 
New Brunswick. He also engaged in agri- 
culture on an extensive scale, and in both 
callings was most prosperous. He died there 
in 1870. His wife had passed away there 
two years before at the age of sixty-four. 
She was the daughter of Jonas Allen, a 
farmer at Cape Tormentine, New Bruns- 
wick. 

Isaac Allen Clark, son of William and 
]\Iary (Allen) Clark, was born in Lower 
Newcastle, N. B.. Aug. 19, 1849. He was 
educated in Toronto, attending the public 
schools there, and learned the carpenter 
trade, which he has followed ever since. In 
1882 he went to Mandan, N. D., and later to 
Bismarck. In both places he was engaged 
in contracting and put up many buildings. 
At [Mandan he also served as city marshal. 
3vlr. Clark came to Superior in February, 
1887, and has done considerable building 
there on contract, as well as his own home, 
erected in 1888, and another residence which 
he built and sold. 

On Dec. 12, 1876, Mr. Clark and Emma 
Jane Cook were united in marriage. Miss 
Cook was born in Trafalgar township, Hal- 
ton Co., Ont., the daughter of Henry and 
[Mary (Johnson) Cook. The former came 
from the county of Kent, England, in 1840, 
at the age of twelve years. He is still living, 
on a farm in County Peel, Ont. His wife 
was born in Canada ; her parents and grand- 
parents were Pennsylvania Dutch who 
joined the United Empire Loyalists and mi- 
grated to Canada at the time of the Revolu- 
tion. Her father, William Johnson, was a 
farmer and lived to a good old age, and her 
mother. Ann Stewart, a relative of A. T. 
Stewart, of New York, lived until March. 
1877. 

To Isaac A. and Emma J. Clark have 
been born five children : one, William Henry, 



196 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



died Jan. 29, 1896, aged eighteen years. The 
four who survive are Everett Allen ; Grace, 
a kindergarten teacher in the public schools 
of Superior; Amy, a student in the high 
school, class of 1903 ; and Arthur Allen. 
All the family are connected with the Pres- 
byterian Church. 

Mr. Clark has always been a Republican 
in his political views and takes both an ar- 
dent and intelligent interest in local politics. 
In December, 1901, he was appointed to fill 
a vacancy on the county board, and in the 
spring of 1902 was elected from the 2d 
ward to succeed himself. In fraternal cir- 
cles he is popular and takes a prominent 
part, being a member of tlie Masons, of the 
K. O. T. ^L, where he is Past Commander 
of the local lodge, and of various other or- 
ganizations. 

H. C. HALE, general manager and di- 
rector of the Bayfield Transfer Railroad 
Company, has, in his career, demonstrated 
the value in the business world today of 
well directed industry and energy, for, al- 
though still a young man, Mr. Hale has rap- 
idly worked his way up to a position of re- 
sponsibility and trust. 

Mr. Hale's grandfather, Elijah Ensign 
Hale, belonged to a Massachusetts family. 
Left an orphan at the early age of twelve, he 
did not remain long in his native place, but 
as soon as he was able to start out for him- 
self, went to Chautauqua county, N. Y., at 
that time just beginning to be settled. He 
was a smith and farmer by trade, but took 
an active interest in public affairs, and served 
as trustee of public schools for some years. 
His wife, Eliza Ann Acocks, descended from 
a family whose founder came to America 
during the Revolution as a member of Bur- 
goyne's army; taken prisoner by the Conti- 
nentals, his eyes were opened to the justice 
of the American cause, and he afterward 
fought on their side. Elijah and Eliza A. 
Hale had two sons, Milton A. and \\'illiam 
F., the father of our subject. 

William F. Hale was torn in Massachu- 
setts. He married Mary Ann Stilson, a na- 
tive of New York, and they had three sons : 



.-\lfretl E., who has charge oi the. armory at 
Jamestown, a government appointment; 
George F., an architect and manager of the 
manual training department of the public 
schools of Jamestown ; and H. C. William 
F. Hale was an educated man, and hence 
took great care to give his sons good educa- 
tions. Both he and his wife are still living, 

H. C. Hale was born near Jamestown. 
Sept. 15, 1868. His early life was passed 
on the farm, and until he was seventeen he 
attended school regularly, receiving his edu- 
cation in the graded and high schools of 
Jamestown. On leaving school he secured 
a position with the American Express Com- 
pany, with which he remained three years, 
first as delivery man and then as messenger. 
In 1890 he went West, and at first accepted 
a position at Brainerd. Minn., but this did 
not suit his tastes and he soon secured work 
with the Northern Pacific Railroad on the 
train service in Montana, Idaho and Wash- 
ington. After about a year of this life Mr. 
Hale went to Bayfield, Wis., and accepted 
the position of private secretary to Mr. Dal- 
rymple. 

In this capacity I\lr. Hale quickly be- 
came indispensable to his employer, and as 
the health of the latter gradually failed more 
and more of the responsibility of his busi- 
ness fell upon Mr. Hale's shoulders. When 
the Bayfield Transfer Railroad was con- 
structed I\Ir. Hale was made general man- 
ager, and he has since retained that position. 
In addition to his duties in that connection 
since Mr. Dalrymple's death he has acted as 
executor of his estate. In every position he 
has shown himself fully equal to the de- 
mands made upon him, and he commands 
the highest confidence and respect of all his 
associates. 

In 1892 Mr. Hale was married to Miss 
Nora Bucklev. of Jamestown, N. Y. Polit- 
ically Mr. ■ Hale supports the principles of 
the Republican party, and he has frequently 
been a delegate to the county conventions. 
In 1898 he represented Bayfield county at 
the State Republican convention. He 
served two years as treasurer of the town of 
Bayfield, and he has been secretary of the 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



197 



public library board for a number of years 
past. 

JOHN M. DODD. M. D., a practicing 
physician of Ashland, has pursued his pro- 
fession in that city since 1889, when he was 
graduated from the Starling Medical Col- 
lege at Columbus, Ohio, and in the interven- 
ing years has by his skill and prepossessing 
manner built up a flourishing practice. He 
was born in Waynesljurg, Greene Co., Pa., 
Oct. T, 1S66, son of Samuel and Catherine 
Dodd' 

Samuel Dodd studietl the profession of 
a veterinary surgeon in England, his native 
land, and thus equipped for his battle with 
the world, came when a young man to 
America. He settled in Pennsylvania and 
when the Civil war came enlisted in the 18th 
Penn. Cav., as veterinary surgeon, ser\"ing 
from 1862 to 1865. After peace was de- 
clared he returned to W'aynesburg. where 
he died only two years later, July 7, 1867, 
at the age of forty-five. 

Mrs. Catherine Dodd survived her hus- 
band only a year, passing away in 1868, at 
the age of twenty-seven years. She was the 
daughter of John Morris, a Waynesburg 
farmer, who lived to be ninety years old. 
He was a Hneal descendant of Robert ^lor- 
ris, the great financier of Revolutionary 
fame, while his wife. Jemima (Pipes) ]\Ior- 
ris, sprang from one of the old Dutch famil- 
ies of New York, and was also connected 
with the Slaters, a prominent pioneer fam- 
ilv of Greene county. She lived to be sixty- 
three years old. 

John M. Dodd was left an orphan al- 
most in infancy and was reared by his ma- 
ternal grandfather and other relatives. He 
was given a fairly good education and when 
he was about sixteen he was apprenticed to 
learn the carpenter trade. Not contented 
with this, however, he managed to attend 
school for the winter season for three years, 
and then at eighteen began teaching. He 
taught two seasons, meanwhile reading on 
medical subjects. He entered Starling Isled- 
ical College at Columbus, Ohio, from which 
he was graduated in ]\larch, 1889, and im- 



mediately began practicing at Ashland, 
where he was associated with Dr. Rinehart. 
Six months later he went to Rhinelander 
and opened the first hospital there. 

After two years in Rhinelander, Dr. 
Dodd sold out his hospital and practice 
there and returned to Ashland, where he 
was again associated with Dr. Rinehart for 
a couple of years. Since then he has prac- 
ticed independently. In 1894 he opened 
Dodd's Hospital, his specialty being sur- 
gery, in which he has met with quite phe- 
nomenal success. June i, 1904, he discon- 
tiiuied his private hospital to accept the ap- 
pointment of chief surgeon of the St. Jo- 
seph's Hospital in Ashland, intending to de- 
\tAe his entire time to surgical work. 

On Dec. 2^. 1889, Dr. Dodd was united 
in marriage to Miss Missouri Stoops of 
Cjreene county. Pa. Four children have 
Clime to them, Florence, Edith, Helen and 
John M., Jr. Airs. Dodd is a member of 
the Congregational Church. The doctor be- 
longs to the following fraternal organiza- 
tions: the Masons, I. O. O. F. and the Elks. 
Politically he is independent, rather than an 
adherent of either party. He is councilor 
for the \\'isconsin State Medical Society in 
the tenth district and has taken an active 
part in the reorganization of the medical 
profession. 

E. H. LAMBERT, assessor of the town 
of Lawrence and president of tlie school 
board of Ingram, is one of the pioneer set- 
tlers of this locality, where he located in 
1886. Mr. Lambert was born in Rice coun- 
t}-, Minn., in 1857, a son of Thomas and 
Rosalie ( Ozier) Lambert, Canadians, who 
settled in Rice county in the early forties. 

]\Ir. Lambert was reared at Faribault, 
Minn., where he was educated in the public 
schools, and there he married Zemere Pie- 
ton, of Rice county, who died there in 1884. 
In Alay, 1886, he married Miss Anna 
Mapes, of Ingram. For the seven years fol- 
lowing his settlement at Ingram he conduct- 
ed a hotel and also was postmaster. He has 
alwavs been active in the public affairs of 
this section and has served seven years as 



198 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



town clerk; has been president of the school 
board for seven years, and a justice of the 
peace for fourteen successive years. Before 
the division of the county he was a delegate 
to county and congressional conventions, al- 
ways being identified with the Republican 
party. 

Air. Lambert belongs to that class of 
men wlio are fitted in every way to be pio- 
neers. He believes enthusiastically in 
Northern Wisconsin, and particularly in 
Rusk county, and his zeal has resulted to the 
advantage of the whole section. He has 
been a hunter of local reputation, and he has 
well authenticated proof of former prowess, 
when he killed nine bears and innumerable 
deer in this vicinity. Few men are better 
known in the county. 

JAMES H. JENSEN, who has 
large land holdings in Burnett and surround- 
ing counties, is extensively engaged in the 
real estate business. Born a poor boy, he 
has, through his untiring energy, his busi- 
ness foresight and his ability to see oppor- 
tunities and accept them, worked his way to 
the top of the ladder of Success. Mr. Jen- 
sen was bom Aug. 16, 1864, three miles 
south of Grantsburg, Wis., son of Michael 
and ilary Jensen, natives of Norway. 

Alichael Jensen came to America in i8Gj 
and settled at St. Croix Falls, Wis., where 
he farmed and worked in the woods for 
about one year. Then he went to Burnett 
county and purchased 160 acres of land, 
which he operated until he died in 1876; bis 
wife passed aw^ay in 1870. They were mem- 
bers of the Lutheran Church. Michael and 
Mary Jensen had eight children : Jens, de- 
ceased; Alary, deceased; Isabelle, of White 
Bear Lake, widow of N. Peterson; Hans, on 
the old Homestead ; Iver, deceased ; James 
H., our subject; John M., deceased, who 
married Hanna Thoreson; and Mary, de- 
ceased. 

James H. Jensen received but a limited 
education, and lived with his brother Hans, 
on the old place, until seventeen years of 
age. He then went into the store at Ander- 
son postoffice, where he remained three 



years, spending the next three years in 
Grantsburg with Canute Oleson. He then 
went to Duiuth, Mmn., where he engaged in 
a flour, feed and farm produce business for 
a year and a half, returning at the end of 
this time to Grantsburg, where he was em- 
ployed by Simon Thoreson for one year, in 
the latters store. He was with J. A. Hick- 
erson for fifteen months in the general 
store, and on Jan. i, 1891, having been 
elected county clerk, took that position, 
which he held for six years. He then oper- 
ated a lumber yard for some time, and in 
the fall of 1897 purchased one thousand 
acres of land in Barron county, Wis. He 
now owns the town site of Barronett, a 
hotel and a creamery, and much land. He 
also conducted a store in this thriving vil- 
lage of 200 inhabitants, but this he sold. 
He now deals extensively in land in Barron. 
Polk, Washburn and Burnett counties, and 
is one of the largest land-owners of Grants- 
burg. He has forty acres platted, known as 
the "Jensen Addition" to Grantsburg. 

Air. Jensen was married Sept. 29, 1889, 
to Isabella Thoreson, daughter of Bersvend 
Thoreson, an old settler and prominent citi- 
zen of Burnett county, who helped organize 
one of the first churches of the county. Air. 
and Airs. Jensen have eight children : Ben 
AL, Alamie Ruth, Jean J., Helen Isabella, 
Clara, Leslie James, Jessie and Ray Alal- 
colni. Air. Jensen is a Alason, belonging to 
Blue Lodge No. 244, Grantsburg, and he 
also belongs to the Woodmen of the World, 
being a charter member of Camp No. 20. 
He was one of the organizers of the local 
K. of H. Religiously he is connected with 
the Lutheran Church. Air. Jensen erected 
his l)eautiful home in Grantsburg in 1895. 

Like his father, who was the first mem- 
ber of the county board of Burnett county. 
Air. Jensen is a Republican, has served on 
the village board of his adopted place, and 
is now the president of the village of Grants- 
burg. He is also president of the Burnett 
County Fair Association. 

FREEAIAN W. and GEORGE E. 
SACKETT, under the firm name of Sack- 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



199 



ett Brothers, are the proprietors and editors 
of the riulhps Times, the leading journal of 
Price county. The former has been asso- 
ciated with the town from its very begin- 
ning, and was the founder of the paper. 

The brothers are the sons of Alzera and 
Sarah A. (Harbaugh) Sackett, who were 
natives of Vermont and Pennsylvania, re- 
spectively. On the father's side they are of 
English descent. Alzera Sackett left Ver- 
mont in early life, and went first to Ohio; 
as the frontier line was gradually pushed 
farther West, he went on, in 1847, ^'^ \\'is- 
consin, and took up wild land in Fond du 
Lac county. The balance of his life was 
spent there, and he died in 1868, at the 
comparatively early age of fifty-seven. His 
widow lived to be eighty-one years old, sur- 
viving until 1901. Her father, \\'illiam 
Harbaugh, came from Ohio and took up 
land in Eond du Lac county, where he lived 
to be ninety-three years old. In early life 
he had lived in Pennsyh'ania, and had been 
a tanner by trade, following the oak bark 
process. 

Freeman W. Sackett, the eldest son of 
the family, was born at Warren, Trumbull 
Co., Ohio, Nov. 5, 1847, j'-ist about the time 
that his father went to Wisconsin. The 
family followed before long, and Freeman 
grew up and was educated there, attending 
the schools of Fond du Lac county. Later 
he supplemented this by work in a night 
school. He began working in the printing 
line while quite young, and for some time 
was in the ofiice of the Fond du Lac Journal. 
In 1867, before reaching his majority, Mr. 
Sackett started out for himself and estab- 
lished the Weyauwega Times, which he con- 
ducted successfully for nine years, and 
then sold. The Wisconsin Central Railroad 
reached the present town of Phillips in 1876, 
and Mr. Sackett immediately put up a frame 
building, the first one erected there, and be- 
gan the publication of the Phillips Times. 
which has ever since been under his manage- 
ment. 

^Ir. Sackett was always eager to ad- 
vance the growth of the country, and was 
active in all public affairs. In 1879 when 



the organization of Price county was eft'ect- 
ed, he was a leading spirit in the work, and 
was chosen the first county clerk, a position 
to which he was afterward re-elected several 
limes. Two years previously he had organ- 
ized the first school and for a long time was. 
a member of the school board. He was also 
the first postmaster at Phillips, and, being 
a Democrat, was appointed to the ofiice 
again, during Cleveland's second term. 

Although hardly more than a boy at the 
time of the Civil war, Mr. Sackett succeeded 
in being accepted as a volunteer in Company 
A, 38th Wis. V. I., enlisting Sept. 5, 1863. 
He was in a number of the hardest fought 
battles of the war ; served till the close of the 
conflict, and in spite of his youth received 
several promotions. He was discharged 
July 12, 1865. In later years he has served 
as colonel on the staffs of Govs. Rusk, Peck 
and Upham, and he is commander of the 
local G. A. R. Fraternally Mr. Sackett be- 
longs to the Odd Fellows and the Masons, 
and is identified with the Ashland Comman- 
dery of K. T. 

In 1873 ^^^- Sackett was married to Ann 
E. Meiklejohn, of Weyauwega, Wis., liy 
whom he had one son, William H. After the 
death of his wife he was married, in 1878, 
to Emma J. Hunt, of the same place, by 
whom he had two sons, Frank A. and 
Homer P. 

George E. Sackett, the junior member of 
the firm of Sackett Brothers, was born in 
Fond du Lac county. Wis., June 12, 1861. 
He received a good public school education,, 
and later spent two years at Lawrence Uni- 
versity, in Appleton, Wis. In 1878 he went 
to Phillips and learned the printer's trade in 
his brother's office there. Five years later 
he located at Fifield and established the Fi- 
field Advocate, which he published for ten 
years. He was very successful in his 
venture and had a good paper, but after Fi- 
field was ravaged by fire in 1893. he decided 
not to rebuild. Instead he returned to Phil- 
lips and went into partnership with his 
brother, Freeman W. Misfortune seemed 
to follow Mr. Sackett at first, for within a 
year after the partnership was formed, the 



200 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



office of the Times was also destroyed by a 
fire, whicli swept the whole town. But with 
the energy and enterprise which character- 
ize the true western business man, the 
brothers started in on their work anew, 
without missing a single issue of the paper, 
although the first number after the fire was 
printed in Prentice. The policy of the 
paper has always been Democratic, and its 
clear and forcible editorials have made it a 
power in the county. 

Mr. Sackett w'as married in 1886. to 
Kate Devens. of Weyauwega. They have a 
son. Freeman D., born in 1887. The family 
is connected with the Presbyterian Church. 
Mr. Sackett is also actively concerned with 
public life and is now serving as city clerk, 
while for several years he was a member of 
the board of education. In secret organiza- 
tions he is also prominent, and belongs to 
a number of orders, including the F. and A. 
M.. I. O. O. F., M. W. A., and others. 

EDWARD McCUE died at his home in 
Duluth, Feb. 21, 1903, after over thirty 
vears' residence there. In those years his 
name was well known in business circles, 
and he was also widely known for his phil- 
anthropy. 

Mr. McCue was born in Windsor, Vt.. 
July 18, 1835, .son of Felix McCue, a scion 
of one of the old New England families of 
Irish lineage. He received a fair education, 
attending school until he was fourteen, 
when, his father dying, he was thrown upon 
his own resources. He went South, and in 
time became an engineer on a plantation in 
Louisiana. His position was a good one, 
and with his inherited New England thrift, 
which the easy business methods of the 
South could not wholly eradicate, he saved 
his money and in time accumulated consid- 
erable property. The outbreak of hostilities 
lietween the North and South in the dark 
davs of the Rebellion cut short his career in 
the South, and he was obliged to sacrifice 
all his property, and be thankful to escape 
with his life, it becoming known that six 
or seven of his brothers (he was one of a 
■familv of twelve children) had entered the 



Federal army. L'pon reaching the North 
he received tlie appointment of government 
inspector of arms, and in that capacity spent 
the days of the war tra\eling about. In 
18O9 he located in Duluth, where he began 
taking government contracts. He con- 
structed many of the piers about the Duluth 
and Superior harbor, and for some years 
was very prosperous. He invested most of 
his profits in real estate, but his speculations 
in that line prosed disastrous during a time 
of panic, and he lost much of what he had 
gained. Later he made judicious invest- 
ments in iron lands. During the days of his 
prosperity he was liberal in his donations to 
all public enterprises, notably the Hardy 
school and the Bethel Masonic Temple. 

Mr. McCue was a Mason, having be- 
longed to the fraternity for over forty years, 
and at the time of his death he had been a 
member of the Duluth lodge over thirty 
years. He was a Republican in political 
])rinciple. and for many years served as street 
commissioner. A man of excellent princi- 
ples, he was universally respected. 

On April 25, 1S71, Mr. McCue was 
united in marriage with Anne Webber, who 
was born at Ontonagon, Mich., daughter of 
Charles and Minnie Webber, who came 
from Germany, and who died in Ontona- 
gon, where Mr. Webber was a mine carpen- 
ter. Mrs. McCue still lives in Duluth. 
Eight children were born to Mr. and Mrs. 
McCue, namely : Edward Charles, of Du- 
luth ; Felix H., a successful bridge builder, 
who enlisted in Troop F, 3d United States 
Cavalry, and, after serving two years in the 
Philippines, died in the hospital at Manila, 
March 6, 190 1, aged twentv-five years; and 
Minnie, John, Frank, Helen, William and 
Guy, all in Duluth. 

STEPHEN A. LEINFELDER, D. D., 

Ph. D., although not yet in middle life, is 
recognized as one of the leading prelates of 
the Catholic Church in the State of Wiscon- 
sin. Of scholarly attainments, winning per- 
sonality, business ability and eminent piety, 
he is a noble representative of his great re- 
ligious organization, and commands the es- 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



20I 



teem and respect of multitudes who are not 
of his spiritual faith. 

Dr. Leinfelder was born March 21, 
1872, at La Crosse, Wis., and was primarily 
educated there, in both public and parochial 
schools. Subsequently he entered the Sa- 
cred Heart College at Prairie Du Chien, and 
upon that institution being changed into a 
novitiate, he completed his classical training 
in St. Francis College, Milwaukee, in 1891, 
at the age of nineteen years. He then went 
to Monti"eal, Canada, and entered upon the 
philosophical and theological course in Laval 
University, where he was ordained sub-dea- 
con, and later deacon, and was one of si.x 
in a class of thirty to receive the degree of 
S. T. B. Upon his return to La Crosse, he 
was ordained priest by the Rt. Rev. J. 
Schwebach, June 16. 1895. The bishop as- 
signed him temporarily to Bloomer, until 
the fall of the year, when lie took himself 
to Rome, where he entered the Minerva Un- 
iversity, and after two years spent at that 
school, was decorated with the titles of D. 
D. and Ph. D. He is the youngest Ameri- 
can to receive both degrees. His vacations 
were spent in visiting the universities and 
various educational institutions of Europe, 
continually adding to his vast fund of knowl- 
icdge. Besides mastering theology and phil- 
osophy, he became proficient as a linguist, 
and in addition to acquiring a fair knowl- 
edge of Hebrew, he became conversant with 
the English, Frencli, German, Italian, Latin 
and Greek languages. Hence his assign- 
ment to Cumberland, where the mixture of 
races composing the Catholic congregations 
required a pastor versed in various lan- 
guages, and since assuming his ministerial 
■duties he has led a very busy and useful life. 

Besides ministering to the spiritual wants 
of the two parishes here, he also had charge 
of the parishes of Almena. Shell Lake. 
Spooner, Clear Lake. Clayton and Oak 
Grove. A short time since he was relieved of 
a part of his work and was placed in charge 
of St. Mary's and St. Anthony's, of Cum- 
berland : the Sacred Heart parish, of Alme- 
na. and the mission at Bear Lake. The ded- 
ication of the fine church edifice at Almena 



on Oct. 29, 1903, was a testimonial to the ef- 
fective work accomplished by Rev. Leinfeld- 
er. It deserves more extended mention than 
the limits of the present article can give. 
This dedication marked an important epoch 
in the history of Almena. In the days when 
Almena was but a logging camp for K. S. 
& Co., little attention was given to the 
spiritual welfare of the community until, on 
Nov. 2, 1892, Father Simoneck, a mission- 
ary priest, walked into the settlement. Here 
he said mass for the first time, in an old log 
barn, finding no better accommodation. On 
his occasional visits to the settlement, he 
faithfully ministered to a small flock and 
continued to hold mass in the barn and slept 
in the hayloft overhead. Thus nurtured the 
little flock grew into a prospering congrega- 
tion. In 1893 ^ frame church was erected 
in which services were conducted by Father 
Becker, of Rice Lake, until the parish was 
transferred to Rev. Dr. Leinfelder, of Cum- 
berland, in 1897. 

The rapid settlement of the country con- 
tributary to Almena, soon brought the 
church membership up to i.ooo, and a new 
edifice became a matter of necessity. In 
1900 Dr. Leinfelder formulated the first 
plans of the beautiful structure which was 
dedicated with such imposing services on 
Oct. 29, 1903. That such success should 
have crowned the hopes of the congregation 
in so short a period is but a testimonial to 
the zeal and energy of Dr. Leinfelder. He 
personally superintended the construction 
and did not hesitate to assist in the work oi 
what is the most magnificent church build- 
ing in Barron county. It is a structure of 
solid brick with brown stone trimmings, 
pure Gothic in style, 50x100 feet, and ele- 
gantly finished. The dedicatory services 
were attended by the largest assemblage 
which had ever congregated in Almena, 
nearly every village and city in the county 
being represented, while the array of church 
dignitaries was imposing. Rt. Rev. Schwe- 
bach. bishop of La Crosse, conducted the 
dedication. After the celebration of mass, 
the Ijishop administered the rite of confirma- 
tion to a class of seventv-seven. the largest 



202 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



in the history of the church. This was most 
gratifying to Dr. Leinfekler. In 1904 Dr. 
Leinfekler caused to be erected a parochial 
house of sohd briclc, which is considei'ed in 
all respects the finest residence in the city. 

As noted above Dr. Leinfelder is held in 
the highest regard by all who know him, ir- 
respective of religious creeds. While his 
personality is most engaging, it is the piety 
of his life and the sincerity of his aims that 
win him this high regard. 

W. N. MACKIN, the scholarly and effi- 
cient superintendent of schools of Rusk 
county, Wis., a man of wide reading and pe- 
culiarly fitted for his responsible position, 
was born in St. Croix county. Wis., in 1874, 
son of L. M. and B. A. (Fuller) Mackin. 

L. M. Mackin was a pioneer of St. 
Croix county, where he settled in 1854. 
Both he and his wife were born in Ohio, 
coming of New York and Vermont ances- 
tors, respectively. There is a tradition in 
the family that the Mackin family traces 
back directly to a Mayflower ancestor. 

Prof. W. N. Mackin w"as reared on his 
father's farm and received an excellent com- 
mon school education. Being of a studious 
nature, he early decided upon his future 
career and worked very diligently to become 
thoroughly grounded in the elementary 
branches. After teaching a few terms, he 
attended the River Falls State Normal 
School, from which he graduated in 1895. 
In 1896 he took a post-graduate course at 
the State University, and in the fall of the 
same year, he was called to the position of 
principal of the Weyerhauser school and 
held the office for a year, when he was made 
principal of the high school at Chetek, but 
after two years he was further honored by 
the principalship of the Glen Flora school 
and held the position two years. While 
there he received at the hands of Gov. La 
Follette the appointment of county superin- 
tendent of schools for Rusk county, in 1901. 
In 1902 he became the candidate of the Re- 
publican party for the sanie office and was 
duly elected. 

Prof. jNIackin is thoroughly modern in 



his methods, and his efficiency as an instruc- 
tor is the result of careful thought and prep- 
aration, while the experience he has gained 
during the years he has been engaged in 
teaching is almost invaluable. Under his 
intelligent management, the schools of Rusk 
county have attained to a standard of excel- 
lency never before reached, and equaling 
that of adjoining counties, as well as those 
throughout the State. 

In religious convictions, Mr. Mackin is 
a Baptist, and proves a very acceptable mem- 
ber of that denomination, as well as superin- 
tendent of the Sabbath school. 

Mr. Mackin was united in marriage with. 
Miss Bernice Roberts, of Menomonie, \Vis., 
in 1897, and they have three children, Em- 
ily, Beda and .Mice. 

HON. IRVINE LUTHER LEN- 
ROOT, a native of Su])erior, Douglas 
county, and one of the leading young attor- 
neys of that progressive city, whose success 
is creditable alike to himself and to the city 
and county which he represents, is a scion 
of one of the pioneer families of northern 
Wisconsin, and one which has been instru- 
mental in promoting many of the vital in- 
terests of that region. He was born Jan. 
31, 1869, to Lars and Fredericka R. (Lar- 
son) Lenroot, natives of Skone, Sweden, 
whose progenitors were agricultural people- 
in that locality. 

In his native land Lars Lenroot learned 
the lilacksmith trade, and in 1854 he mi- 
grated to the New ^^^orld, which was then 
just beginning to attract the attention of his 
countrymen on account of the opportum'ties 
offered for material and intellectual advance- 
ment. After spending about two years in 
Boston, he came to Wisconsin and in 1857 
located at Superior, an embryo city whose 
natural advantages and future possibilities 
he readily foresaw. He opened the first 
])lacksmith shop in the place and began in- 
vesting such means as he could com- 
mand in Douglas county real estate, and> 
from time to time improved his city proper- 
ty as his means and occasion seemed to jus- 
tifv. In 1862 he became a member of the 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



203 



original board of trustees of Superior City, 
now comprised in the second ward of Su- 
perior, and he was the latest survivor among 
the members of that body. \V'hen the new 
town of \\ est Superior came into existence, 
he built a number of tenement houses there- 
in. For some years he did considerable log- 
ging and was interested in various other 
enterprises. He was also interested in the 
development of the mineral resources about 
the Elead of the Lakes, and made more or 
less investments from time to time upon the 
iron and copper ranges contiguous thereto. 
In political principle he was a Republican. 
He was one of the early sheriffs of Douglas 
county and filled some other official posi- 
tions. He always sought to promote the 
social and educational development of the 
place and to afford his family the best ad- 
vantages available. He died in 1898, aged 
sixty-six years. His widow still survives 
and is the mother of four sons and two 
daughters: Louis, Irvine L., Nellie (now 
Mrs. L. A. Nichols) and Arthur are well 
known in Superior ; Albert and Eda are now 
deceased. 

After making the most of the excellent 
public schools of Superior, Irvine L. Len- 
root took a course at Parson's Business Col- 
lege at Duluth. His business career began 
at the age of eighteen years, when, in com- 
pany with his brother Louis, he began cut- 
ting and dealing in logs. After continuing 
this enterprise for three years, he became a 
stenographer in the office of Ross & Dwyer, 
one of the foremost law firms of Superior. 
The next year he went to Minneapolis and 
taught in a shorthand school at that place. 
Returning to Superior, he took charge of 
the collection department for his former em- 
ployers, and also served for a time as city 
stenographer. In 1893 '^^ was appointed 
official reporter for the Superior Court of 
Douglas county, which position he has since 
filled. While engaged in these various oc- 
cupations he had been devoting most of his 
leisure hours to the study of law, and in 
1897 ^^ W3S admitted to the Bar. Since 
that time he has given his chief attention to 
that branch of the profession pertaining to 



real estate and taxation. For three years he 
was secretary of the Douglas County Bar 
-Association. His active interest in public 
aft'airs caused him to be made a member of 
the Republican city committee soon after at- 
taining his majority, and he is now the 
chairman thereof, and has served four years 
as chairman of the county committee. 

In the fall of 1900 Mr. Lenroot was 
elected a member of the Assembly, and dur- 
ing the legislative session of the following, 
winter devoted careful attention to ques- 
tions and measures pertaining to mtmicipal 
government. Among the measures which 
he introduced and took an acti\-e part in sup- 
porting, was a bill providing that no fran- 
chise to water, gas or lighting companies, or 
other public service corporations, should be 
operative until sixty days after its passage, 
and if within such time ten per cent of the 
voters so demanded, it should not go into 
effect until approved by the people at an 
election. This measure attracted a great 
deal of attention and discussion and was car- 
ried in the Assembly, but lost by a small 
majority in the Senate. He was also an act- 
ive supporter of the Railway Taxation Bill 
and the famous Primary Election Bill. In 
1902 he was re-elected to the Assembly, and 
at the opening of the session he was elected 
speaker, which office he filled with marked 
ability. At that session all of the measures 
above referred to were enacted ' into law 
largelv through his efforts. His straight- 
forward course and decided views on public 
questions have won the commendation of 
many political opponents, as well as his sup- 
porters, and he is one of the most popular 
citizens of Douglas county. 

In 1890 Mr. Lenroot was married to 
Clara Clough McCoy, a daughter of Hon. 
Solon H. Clough. an early resident of Su- 
perior, who was for many years judge of the 
circuit court m that circuit. 

CHARLES F. BONE, senior editor of 
the Rice Lake Times, was born at Erie, Pa., 
Feb. 20, 1844, a son of Francis and Johanna 
(Donevan) Bone, natives of Erie county. 
Grandfather John Bone came from Scotland 



204 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



and was made liglithonse keeper at Erie, re- 
taining that position for fourteen years. Be- 
ing a Whig, he was remo\ed by President 
Jackson, in common with others, who were 
made victims of the "Spoils" system. The 
maternal grandfather, James Donevan, 
fought in Napoleon's famous Irish Legion, 
and later came to the United States, settling 
on a farm in Erie county. Pa. His wife, 
who bore the maiden name of Stanley, was 
of Pennsylvania Dutch stock. 

Francis Bone was a carpenter by trade, 
^and about 1849 he moved to Illinois, living 
at Waukegan. Later he went back to Erie, 
Pa., where he died in 1852. His widow- 
married Samuel E. Eerguson, and they 
moved in 1854 to Neillsville, Wis., which 
was then twenty-five miles from a postoflice. 
At that place both died. 

In October. 1861, Charles E. Bone en- 
listed in Company I, 14th Wis. V. I., and 
was mustered out Oct. 9, 1865, as a corpor- 
al. He participated in twenty-four engage- 
ments, and was shot through the right ear 
at Vicksburg, but otherwise escaped with- 
out injury. At the close of the war he 
learned the printer's trade, and in 1874 lo- 
cated at Rice Lake, where he was employed 
on the ChroHOtypc. of which he became edi- 
tor, and so continued for nine years. Then, 
in the fall of 1887, he bought the Rice Lake 
Times, and is still conducting same. This- 
well-know'n newspaper was founded in 1883 
by C. W. Angel, but was later owned by the 
Times Publishing Company. It is a Demo- 
'cratic organ, and is conducted along lines 
which make it an excellent local paper. Mr. 
Bone has always taken a prominent part in 
local affairs, and before the city of 
Rice Lake was incorporated was chairman 
■of the town for four years. In 1890 he was 
elected its mayor and gave his people a clean 
business administration. 

On April 26, 1877, Mr. Bone married 
Annie M. Pettit. daughter of Lemuel Pettit, 
of Barron township, Barron county. Two 
children have been born of this marriage : 
Harry L., connected with the Times and 
also treasurer of the city ; and Elorence, a 
most charming young lady. 



.MATTHEW C. BURKE, senior part- 
ner of the firm of Burke Bros., railroad and 
paving contractors of West Superior, was 
born in Grant county. Wis., Oct. 10, 1861, 
a son of James and Anna (Mullen) Burke. 
The parents, natives of Limerick and Gal- 
way, Ireland, respectively, came to this 
country about 1847, and after living for a 
few years in New York decided to try the 
West. They migrated to Wisconsin and set- 
tled at Cassville, where Mr. Burke at first 
engaged in mining, and later was in the 
employ of ex-Governor Dewey. He died at 
the age of fifty-eight, in 1865, while his 
wife lived to the age of seventy-four, pass- 
ing away in 1901. Each had several broth- 
ers and sisters who also came to the United 
States. Their six children all survived 
them. 

Matthew C. Burke acquired his educa- 
tion in the public schools of Cassville, and 
when eighteen years old began the business 
which he has followed ever since, that of 
contracting for public works. In company 
with his brother James he has filled many 
contracts for street paving in different cit- 
ies, including Chicago and St. Paul, and 
since the firm located in West Superior, in 
1888. they have taken many of the contracts 
for the original street improvements of that 
city. They have also done much railroad 
construction on some of the principal lines 
of the northwest and southwest, such as the 
Canadian Pacific, the Missouri Pacific and 
the Southern Pacific. They employ a large 
number of men. For three years after com- 
ing to West Superior Mr. Burke conducted 
the "Commercial Hotel," one of the leading 
hotels of the city. He has also made a 
number of investments in real estate, some 
of which he has improved. He enjoys the 
reputation of being one of the most reliable 
business men of the city. 

On Sept. 29, 1891, Mr. Burke was mar- 
ried, by Bishop Cotter, to Alice May, 
daughter of Thomas and Bridget May, of 
Winona, Minn. Thomas May settled on a 
farm in Winona in 1862, and spent the rest 
of his life tliere. He died Dec. 8. 1893, 
aged seventv-four vears, while his wife sur- 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



20 = 



vived until Nov. lO, 1S97, reaching tlie age 
of seventy-se\en years. Both were born ni 
County Shgo, Ireland, and came to Ameri- 
ca in 1847, '^l^c voyage taking six weeks. 
Mrs. Alice ( ^lay) Burke has borne her 
husband three children : Ruth, Helene and 
Matthew. The members of this family are 
connected with the Catholic Church, and 
they mo\'e in the best circles. 

DAVID WILLIAM .MALOXEY. edi- 
tor of the Glen Flora Star, was born near 
Whitehall. Wis., July 12. 1868, son of 
David and Margaret ( Warner ) }iIaloney, 
natives of County Cork, Ireland. They 
came to America about 1849, settling in 
South Hadley, ;\Iass., where they subse- 
quently were married, and they resitled 
there for a few years. In 1855 they re- 
moved to Wisconsin, settling in Adams 
county, and engaged in farming. This re- 
mained the family home for twelve years, 
when in 1867 the father settled near W'hite- 
hall and continued farming. He was a man 
of public spirit, enterprising and progressive, 
and for fourteen years was township treas- 
urer and held other offices. Success came 
to him. both as a farmer and stock raiser, 
he being the most e.xtensive sheep raiser in 
the county. In politics he was somewhat 
liberal, being controlled more by principles 
than party lines. His death occurred in 
1898. when he was sixt3'-eight years of age, 
but his widow survives. 

Editor Maloney was one of se\'en chil- 
dren born to his parents, and sixth in the 
order of birth. Growing up upon the farm 
his educational advantages were poor, but 
at the age of twenty years he entered the 
River Falls State Normal School, where, in 
1 89 1, he completed an elementary course of 
two years. During 189 1 and 1892 he was 
principal of the W'hitehall graded schools, 
but not being satisfied with his educational 
attainments, in the fall of 1892, he entered 
the State University at Madison, W-^is.. tak- 
ing the regular course, and was graduated 
therefrom in 1896, receiving special honors 
in economics. For the following two years 
he was principal of the graded schools of 



Ettrick, Wis., and during the same time 
read law, and by examination, was admitted 
to the Bar in December, 1900. 

in 1 90 1 he came to Chippewa county, 
now Rusk, and located at Glen Flora. Real- 
izing that e.xcellent opportunity existed for 
a newspaper in this locality, he established 
The Star, a month after settling here, which 
is in a flourishing condition and is the organ 
of the people for this portion of Rusk coun- 
ty. iMr. Maloney is a fluent, easy writer, 
and furnishes a highly appreciated local 
paper, in addition to editnig and publish- 
mg his paper, he has dealt largely and suc- 
cessfully m real estate, having purchased 
and still owning a half section of excellent 
land. 

Mr. Alaloney practices in the county and 
circuit court, and has proved himself a 
forceful and eloc^uent attorney. One branch 
of his business is the making of loans on 
real estate, and in every respect he is a man 
of affairs. Politically he is a Republican, 
and he takes an active interest in public 
aitairs. In 1902 he was elected chairman 
of the town board, and after one term was 
re-elected in the spring of 1904. He is sec- 
retary of the Glen Flora Creamery Com- 
pany, a co-operative institution. Needless 
to say he is called upon to represent his 
party at county and assembly conventions. 
Fraternally he is a member of the Alodern 
Woodmen of America. 

In 1895 Mr. ilaloney was married to 
Ethilda E. Brice, Ridgefield, Wash., and 
they have two children, Gerald and Eunice. 
Mr. Maloney is a studious, scholarly gentle- 
man, conservative in his views, and practi- 
cal, methodical and deliberate in his actions. 
In his paper he wields a trenchant, forceful 
pen, and is always logical in his deductions. 
He has faith in the future of Rusk county, 
and is earnestly working for its further de- 
velopment. 

SANDS VAN W^\G>JER. engineer on 
the Northern Pacific Railroad, residing at 
Duluth, ■Minn., and one of the highly re- 
spected men of that city, was born in No- 
^•ember, 1862, in Lapeer county, Michigan. _ 



2o6 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



His father, Sands Van Wagner, of New 
York State, a lumberman, resided in his na- 
tive State a good many years. He married 
Phoebe Woodman, of New York State, and 
they had five children : George, of Ii'on 
Ri\er, Mich., manufacturer of carriages 
and wagons; John, a farmer of Iron River, 
Mich. ; Addie, living at Bay City, Mich. ; 
Sands; and Andrew W., who is on the 
Northern Pacific Railroad, and is located at 
Uuluth. 

Sands Van Wagner, the subject proper 
of this sketch, was educated in the common 
schools, attending until 1885, when he be- 
gan working for the Michigan Central Rail- 
road at Bay City, Mich., as fireman, and con- 
tinued with that road until Aug. 31, 1886, 
when he accepted a position as fireman for 
the Northern Pacific, at Brainerd, Minn. 
Thus he continued two and one-half years, 
when he was promoted to the position of en- 
gineer. For a few months he did yard 
work and was on the list of extra engineers 
until 1897, when he obtained his regular 
run, and now runs from Duluth to St. Paul, 
from Duluth to Staples, and from Duluth to 
Ashland, on freights, also doing extra pas- 
senger work, in every case proving his fidel- 
ity and thorough trustworthiness. 

In 1888 Mr. Van Wagner was united in 
marriage with Miss Maggie Lillian McDer- 
mott, of Kingston, New Brunswick; they 
have no children. 

Mr. Van Wagner is a member of the 
B. of L. E., No. 395, Duluth; he is a Mason, 
belonging to the Blue Lodge, Chapter, Com- 
mandery and ]\lystic Shrine, Osman Tem- 
ple, St. Paul; to the K. T.. of Duluth, and 
the A. O. U. W., Rice's Point Lodge, No. 
80. He and his wife are connected with the 
Congregational Church and are highly es- 
teemed in that body. 

Coming to Duluth in 1893 Mr. Van 
Wagner has made himself very popular. He 
has a beautiful home at No. 1819 Piedmont 
avenue, Duluth, where he and Mrs. Van 
Wagner dispense a most gracious hospital- 
ity. In addition to this home Mr. Van Wag- 
ner owns other valuable real estate through- 
out the city, and Mrs. Van Wagner has 
property interests in the East. 



JOHN E. BYRNS. Among the many 
concerns operating successfully and exten- 
si\ely in northern Wisconsin none, perhaps, 
has wider interests than the Rittenhouse & 
Embree Company, of Chicago. This com- 
pany owns a large sawmill in Washburn, 
and others in Polk county. Wis. ; owns large 
timber tracts and has camps at Sioux River, 
Bayfield Co., Wis. ; Ironwood, Mich. ; and 
Two Harbors, Minn. ; and has mills and a 
camp at Warner, Ark. To be put in sole 
charge of large and scattered properties is 
a flattering responsibility, given only to a 
specially able man, une with marked power 
in financial matters, and still more in execti- 
tive lines. This trust has been committed to 
John E. Byrns. 

Mr. Byrns was born in Buffalo, N. Y., 
Nov. 22, 1866. He attended the public 
schools of Buffalo, and then entered St. 
Joseph's College there, from which he was 
graduated in the commercial course in 1883. 
He at once entered the employ of a lumber 
firm in Buffalo, and though he began in a 
minor position he immediately won pro- 
motion. In 1889 he went to Bay City, 
Mich., and was engaged for seven or eight 
years in a commission business, shipping 
lumber, etc. In 1896 he was sent to Ash- 
land to take charge of the affairs of the Rit- 
tenhouse & Embree Company, in which po- 
sition he has about a thousand men under 
his direction in all the various camps and 
mills owned by the company. 

Mr. Byrns was married Dec. 17, 1902, 
to Miss Frances Bailey, daughter of Samuel 
W. Bailey, a prominent pioneer of Ashland. 
Politically Mr. Byrns supports the Republi- 
can party, but the extensive interests in his 
charge, scattered over so large an area, pre- 
vent his taking a special activity in politics. 

WARNER S. CARR. The power of 
the press is veiw great in America, and the 
influence wielded bv one who occupies an 
editorial chair is not to be lightly regarded. 
One of the men who help to form public 
opinion in Douglas coimty is ^^'arner S. 
Carr, the publisher of the Nebagamon En- 
terprisc. e'^tablished in 1898, the first news- 
paper in that place. 



COAaiEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



207 



The forefathers of the Carr family set- 
tled in Rhode Island before the Revolution, 
and ., various members took part in that 
struggle. Some of them later moved to 
Vermont, and it was in that State that the 
.grandfather of Warner S. Carr died, lack- 
ing only five years of being a centenarian. 

Warner C. Carr, father of Warner S., 
was born before his father left Rhode Is- 
land, but passed his early manhood in Ver- 
mont, where he was in business in Brandon 
as a clotiiier. In 1837 he went to Ohio, lo- 
cating first in the ^^"estern Reserve, later in 
Licking county. For thirteen years he lived 
in that State, and then, as the farther west 
■was gradually opened up, he followed in the 
paths of the pioneers, and about 1850 set- 
tled in Iowa county. Wis., among the early 
residents. Thence he went to Winnebago 
county, and later to Waupaca, in which lat- 
ter county he died in 1883, aged eighty-six 
years. In politics he was a Democrat, but 
he was nevertheless elected to the Wisconsin 
Assembly in 1858-59 as an independent can- 
didate. 

Mrs. Polly C. Carr, the wife of Warner 
C, was a native of Vermont, born in 
Woodstock in 1801, and she died in Wau- 
paca county two years after her husband's 
death. She was of Scotch descent, and her 
father, Capt. Spencer, was an ofticer of the 
Continental army. 

Warner S. Carr was born in Brandon, 
Vt., Sept. I, 1833. By the time he was old 
enough to go to school the family had 
moved to Ohio, and he secured his educa- 
tion in the public schools of that State and 
Wisconsin. From student life he passed 
naturally into that of a teacher, although as 
he was brought up on a farm and stayed 
there till he was grown he was also fully 
conversant with the practical side of fann- 
ing. He taught in Waupaca county, re- 
maining seven years in one school. In the 
fall of 1871, just after the great fire. Mr. 
Carr went to Chicago, and at first was bus- 
ied as a carpenter. Later he became inter- 
ested in real estate in that city, and was a 
member of a firm which also handled prop- 
erty in northern Wisconsin, along the line 



of the Wisconsin Central railroad. Al- 
though he was in Chicago a number of years 
his home was still in Waupaca county, and 
he finally returned there for a time before 
moving to Antigo, in 1888. After a year 
there, in a harness store, he moved again, 
and spent several years in West Superior as 
a real estate dealer. In 1892 he went to Iron 
River, where he followed the same line and 
also assisted in platting the north side of the 
village. He served also as justice of the 
peace. 

Mr. Carr"s connection with Lake Ne- 
bagamon began in 1898, when he began the 
publication there of the Enterprise, with 
which he is still identified. Only a year after;' 
his establishment in the work his ofiice was 
bumed down, being almost a total loss, but 
he immediately resumed publication, and a 
couple of years afterward put up a substan- 
tial building, the first story aft'ording quar- 
ters for the postoffice and the printing con- 
cern, while the second floor is occupied by 
the Odd Fellows hall. 

Mr. Carr was married in 1857 to Miss 
Eunice M. Randall, who was born in Schen- 
ectady, N. Y., Feb. 7, 1837, daughter of 
Samuel and Gertrude (Pruyn) Randall, of 
Waupaca county. She was brought by her 
parents to Racine, Wis., and was there edu- 
cated. Her mother belonged to the famous 
Pruyn family of Albany, N. Y. To Mr. and 
Mrs. Warner S. Carr were born two chil- 
dren, viz. : Douglas, a painter, a resident 
of W'aupaca county; and Addie M., now 
Mrs. E. Raymond, of Antigo, Wis. Mrs. 
Carr died in Waupaca. Feb. 22, 1887. 

Mr. Carr joined the Masonic fraternity 
in 1864, at Waupaca, and now is a member 
of Diamond City Chapter. No. 65, West 
Superior ; he also belongs to Superior Com- 
mandery. No. 25, K. T. During the Civil 
war he followed his country-'s flag as a 
member of Company G, 21st W'is. V. I., and 
after being discharged, in November, 1864, 
was employed in the quartermaster's office 
at !\Iadison until the close of the conflict. 
Like so many old soldiers !\Ir. Carr is a Re- 
publican in his views. In 1900 he received 
the appointment of postmaster at Lake Ne- 



208 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



baganion, Wis., and under his ei^cient man- 
agement, by April i, 1902, the office became 
a third-class office, while in Jvdy of the same 
year it was given an international money 
order department. Mr. Carr has also served 
as justice of the peace since living in Lake 
Neijagamon and in all his various capacities 
has proved himself Ixith capable and popular. 

ENOCH W. B. HARVEY, who fills a 
responsible position at Le Clair, Douglas 
Co., Wis., springs from an old New Eng- 
land family famous for patriotism, physic- 
al vigor and longevity. He was born in the 
town of Atkinson, Piscataciuis county, 
Maine, June i, 1831, and is the only surviv- 
ing son of Rev. Nathaniel and Sarah 
(Burnham) Harvey, natives of Notting- 
ham, New Hampshire. 

An ancestor of the Harvey family came 
from England in the colonial days, settling 
at Nottingham, where members of that 
family still live, and all of that name in 
the United States who spell it "Harvey," 
are supposed to belong to the posterity of 
this one immigrant. Several members of 
the family served in the Revolutionary War, 
as well as in every war since in which the 
nation has been engaged. 

Nathaniel Harvey, Sr., grandfather of 
E. W. B. Harvey, reached the age of 105 
years, sprightly and vigorous to the last. He 
lived and died in Nottingham, N. H. He 
had eighteen children, one of whom was 
Levi Harvey, grandfather of Prof. L. D. 
Harvey, at one time superintendent of pvib- 
lic instruction in Wisconsin. His son, Na- 
thaniel Harvey, went to Maine when a young 
man and settled on a farm. Educated 
chiefly by home study, he yet accomplished 
so much that about 18 10 he was ordained a 
Baptist minister and preached many years 
in Piscataquis and other counties through- 
out the State of Maine. In 1845 he went to 
Wisconsin, settling at Fulton, Rock county, 
where he lived on a farm and preached in 
adjacent places until his death, which occur- 
red in 1870, in the eighty- fourth year of his 
age. 

His wife, Sarah B. Harvey, died in 
1854, aged sixty- four years. Her father 



died in Burnham. N. H. ; his brothers, ,\sa 
and Jesse, were Baptist ministers, and the 
latter died in Rock county, Wis. Both were 
able men, though their early advantages 
were quite limited. 

Nathaniel and Sarah Harvey had seven 
sons and three daughters, viz. : Jonathan, a 
tanner, who died in Sebec, Maine; Eben- 
ezer B., who died at Brodhead, Wis., a tan- 
ner and teacher as well as a farmer ; John, 
a farmer by occupation, who with two sons 
served throughout the Civil war, was a 
member of a Wisconsin Cavalry regiment, 
served under CJen. Curtis, and died in Ne- 
braska; Israel, whose death occurred at Ful- 
ton, Wis. ; Betsy, who is Mrs. J. F. Bean, of 
Princeton, Maine; William A., deceased, a 
physician in Chicago; Nathaniel, who died 
at Fulton, W'is. ; Sarah, the wife of P. F. 
Cutts, of St. Paul, Minn. ; Enoch W. B. ; 
Melissa J., Mrs. Horatio Houlton, who died 
at Elk River, Minnesota. 

E. W. B. Harvey after leaving the dis- 
trict school went to Milton College at Mil- 
ton, Wis., where he finished the scientific 
course at the age of twenty- four years ; he 
had previously taught, and after graduation 
he continued in that profession about twenty 
years. In 1862 he went to Minneapolis, 
where he was made principal of the East 
Side schools, a position in which he was 
maintained ten years. In 1873 ^^^ gave up 
the profession of teaching and took a posi- 
tion as bookkeeper and cashier at his broth- 
er-in-law's mill in Elk River, Minn. After 
some ten years there he went to Glendive, 
Mont., where he dealt in general merchan- 
dise about ten years more. Since then Mr. 
Harvey has been employed by the Lake Su- 
perior Piling Company at Le Clair and has 
charge of the camp and general store of the 
conipany at that place. 

From the foundation of the Rejiuljlican 
party Mr. Harvey has been an enthusiastic 
supporter of its principles, though he takes 
an independent stand in local affairs. For 
six years he served as a member of the 
board of education in Minneapolis, and has 
always been interested in educational af- 
fairs. 

In i860 Mr. Harvey was married to 



CQMMEMORATR^E BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



209) 



Caroline Hilton, of ^Minneapolis, a daughter 
of William and Mary Hilton. ]Mr. Hilton 
came to Minneapolis in 1855 with his fam- 
ily, and only lived seven years after the 
change. Airs. Caroline Harvey died in 
Montana in 1889. aged tifty-eight years, 
leaving no children. 

Mr. Harvey is a member of the ^lasonic 
fraternity, which he joined in 1863. Since 
1870 he has also belonged to the Knights of 
Pythias. In 1881 he was grand chancellor 
of Wisconsin ; the next year he was made 
delegate to the Supreme Lodge, K. P., of 
the World, which was held at Detroit. He 
is a man popular not only in these societies, 
but among his acquaintances, who respect 
and admire him greatly. 

MARSHAL SERGEANT, sheriff of 
Rusk county. Wis., residing at Ladysmith, 
is one of the pioneers of the county, having 
settled, in 1885, in what is now known as 
the town of Marshal, named in his honor. 
He took up his homestead at the same time 
that W. Sergeant, George Sergeant, C. E. 
Carman and Mr. ^lann took up theirs. Dur- 
ing the Civil war he was a gallant soldier, 
fighting in defense of his flag and country, 
and since then has served equally well as a 
private citizen and public official. As sheriff 
he has demonstrated how such a position can 
be filled conservatively, honestly and with 
fidelity toward the State, and his many ex- 
cellent qualities have made him widely 
known and popular. 

Mr. Sergeant was born in Chemung, 
McHenry Co., 111., Feb. 2, 1846, and is a 
son of David R. and Mary Ann Sergeant, 
natives of Pennsylvania, who settled for a 
time in McHenry county. 111., and in 1853 
removed to \\'alworth county, \Vis., where 
they settled upon a farm. There they died 
in 1886 and 1892. respectively. Our sub- 
ject is one of eight children, and sixth in the 
order of birth. His boyhood was spent upon 
the farm, and he received a good common 
school education. On Nov. 28, 1861, al- 
though then less than sixteen years of age, 
he enlisted in Company I. nth Wis. V. I., 
and was mustered in as a private. Later he 

14 



was transferred to the W estern army, then 
operating in Wisconsin, and he was in active 
service from the beginning. Still later he 
was transferred to Grant's army, then oper- 
ating before Vicksburg. He engaged in the 
fighting at Port Gibson, Jackson, Champion 
Hills and Big Black River, and was in the 
siege of "Vicksburg which followed. During 
that campaign his regiment engaged in in- 
cessant fighting for fifty-six days. After 
the fall of X'icksburg Mr. Sergeant was 
transferred to the X'eteran Reserve Corps, 
because of an injury he had received, and m\ 
this capacity he did patrol duty, guarding': 
prisoners at various places, and was in the." 
city of Washington for five months. Al-t 
though he had been injured he served until 
the expiration of his term, in November, 
1864, when he was honorably discharged at 
Washington and returned home. 

Locating once more in Walworth county, . 
\\'is., he engaged in farming until 1873.". In ' 
the meanwhile, in 1866, he was married in 
Green Lake, Wis., to Miss Sophia A. Chap- 
pell. In 1875, when he made a change, he 
moved to Eau Claire, Wis., and embarked 
in the manufacture of pumps, but after, two 
years he resumed farming in Dunn county, , 
Wis. L'pon this farm he remained, until 
1885, when he was attracted to what was 
then Chippewa county, now Rusk, and took 
up a homestead of 160 acres, settling there 
with his family. He improved this home- 
stead and resided upon it until 1902, when 
he was called upon to leave his plow for the 
cares of a high office by the Republicans of 
his county. However, this was not the first 
public position he had filled, for he had been . 
first chairman of the town of Marshal, and 
\vhen the town was organized he was elected 
to the office he had hitherto held by appoint- 
ment. From the time of his settlement in 
this vicinity '.e has taken a deep interest in 
the growth and prosperity of the county, 
and IS a patriotic citizen and stanch Republi- 
can. His party has recognized his ability 
and special fitness for convention work, and' 
he has been sent upon numerous occasions 
to represent its principles antl candidates, in 
both countv and State conventions. No 



210 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



member of the G. A. R. is more entliusiastic 
than he, and his connection with James 
Comerford Post, of Cliippewa Falls, is a 
very pleasant one. 

To Mr. and Mrs. Sergeant seven chil- 
dren have been born, all living : Grace, 
Fred, Ray, Harry, Chester, Agnes and 
Cla3'ton. 

Mr. Seregant was not the only member 
of his family to serve during the Civil war, 
for two brothers, Samuel S. and David P. 
also enlisted, David P. in the same company 
as Sheriff Sergeant ; he served a year and a 
half, participating in all the battles of his 
regiment. He is now deceased. The other 
brother, Samuel S., enlisted in the 9th Illi- 
nois Cavalry, and ser\-ed nine months, when 
he was disabled and honorabh' discharged. 
At present he is residing in California. 

ALEXANDER. A. CAMPBELL, an 
influential citizen of West Superior, Dou- 
glas county, was born in Cimnty Glengarr)-, 
Ont., March 25, 1858. 

Mr. Campbell is a son of Alexander and 
.Margaret (Sinclair) Campbell. His father, 
,a native of Perth. Scotland, came to Amer- 
ica in 1817, at the age of six years, his par- 
ents. Malcolm and Mary Campbell. Ijeing 
pioneer settlers of County Glengarry. ]\IaI- 
j:olm Campbell was a stonemason and a 
farmer, and lived to the ripe age of ninety- 
two. Alexander Campbell spent his life on 
a farm in County Glengarry, where he died 
in 1893, aged eighty-two years. He was a 
leading member of the Baptist Church ami 
a Liberal in politics. He ser\ed several 
years as justice of the peace. Mrs. Marga- 
ret ( Sinclair) Campbell was born in County 
Glengarry and died in 1862, at the age of 
thirty-nine. Her father, Findlay Sinclair, 
was a farmer of Inverness-shire, Scotland, 
and died, aged eighty-se\en years. Alexan- 
der and Margaret ( Sinclair) Campbell 
•reared a family of eight sons to useful citi- 
zenship. [Malcolm. Findlay and Duncan 
still live in County Glengarry; John, who 
spent four years in the gold fields of Bur- 
larraya. South Africa, is now a successful 
miner at Dawson City, Canada; Peter S. is 



professor of classics at AIcMaster Universi- 
t}', Toronto ; Donald S. was a leading physi- 
cian in Detroit, who died Dec. 18, 1901 ; Ar- 
chibald is a contractor in Vancouver, Brit- 
ish Columbia. 

Alexander A. Campbell spent his boy- 
hood in his native county and received 
a high school education in the town of Corn- 
wall. When he was fifteen he became a 
clerk in a dry goods store. In 1877 he went 
to Point Edward, Ontario, where he began 
to learn the drug business. He spent some 
time in Hamilton, and then attended the 
Ontario College of Pharmacy in Toronto, 
from which he was graduated in 1882 with 
honors, taking the degree of Ph. C. Mr. 
Campbell was employed in a drug store at 
\\'iarton about three years, after which, in 
the autumn of 1886. he opened a drug store, 
which he carried on for several years. Dur- 
ing this time he served as alderman ; had 
the government appointment to issue mar- 
riage licenses; was sessional writer of the 
Ontario Parliament for the County of Glen- 
garry, and served as secretary of the Wiar- 
ton Liberal Association. 

After selling out his business in 1888 
Mr. Campbell spent a year in Winnipeg as 
manager of a drug store. He was then em- 
])l(.)yed as relief clerk in a drug store in St. 
Paul and in January, 1891, came to Super- 
ior. He was employed by various drug 
firms until February, 1898, since which time 
he has carried on a business of his own, 
dealing in drugs, paints and sundries on 
Iowa avenue. In 1898 Mr. Campbell was 
appointed by Mayor Deitrich a member of 
the public library board, of which he was 
elected secretary the following year. Early 
in 1900 he opened a personal correspond- 
ence with Andrew Carnegie concerning the 
location of one of his libraries at Superior. 
Mr. Carnegie's first letter in regard to this 
matter is dated August, 1900, and his prop- 
(«ition was formally accepted by the library 
board Feb. 2, 1901. Mr. Campbell was a 
prime mover in securing from the citizens 
of Superior the donations of a building site. 
He has also been active in the Ninth Ward 
Improvement League and other public un- 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



211 



<Iertakings and is treasurer of the One Hun- 
dred Thousand Chib. 

Since becoming a citizen of the United 
States Mr. Campbell has been a Republican. 
He has been a delegate to numerous conven- 
tions in Douglas county; he was a delegate 
to the Congressional district convention in 
1900 which elected delegates to the national 
convention, and was a prominent candidate 
for alderman of the Ninth ward before the 
convention in September, 1901. In 1902 he 
was a candidate before the 2d Assembly dis- 
trict convention for member of the Assem- 
bly. Fraternally Mr. Campbell is a mem- 
ber of the A. F. and A. M., the I. O. O. F., 
and of the local camps of M. W. A., R. N. 
and the I. O. R. Ai. Mr. Campbell is a 
member of the Presbyterian Church. 

In 1888 Mr. Campbell was married to 
Elizabeth Dale, a daughter of John and Bar- 
bara (Campbell) Dale, born in Brampton, 
Out. Mr. Dale, a miller by trade, was born 
in Canada, of English parents. Mrs. Dale 
was born iir Edinburgh, Scotland. She is 
now living in Mitchell, Ont., where her hus- 
band died Nov. 22, 1879, at the age of fifty. 
Mrs. Dale's mother was a member of the 
Bruce family and lived and died in Scijtland. 
Mr. and Mrs. Campbell have one son, Wil- 
fred Gladstone Campbell. Upon the estab- 
hshment of postal station No. i, in August, 
1902, Wilfred Campbell was appointed 
postmaster in charge of the same, and in 
June, 1904, he was appointed by Mayor 
O'Hare, a member of the city board of edu- 
cation for the Ninth ward for the term of 
three years. 

L. A. POTTER, M. D., a popular phy- 
sician of Superior, has been located in that 
section of the town formerly known as 
South Superior, almost from its inception, 
and his practice has kept pace with its 
growth. 

Dr. Potter was born in 1857 '" the town- 
ship of Grant, St. Clair Co., Mich., where 
his father, Cyrus Potter, settled in 1848. 
The father is a native of Bangor, Franklin 
Co.. N. Y., but now, at an advanced age, is 
living with his son in South Superior. In 



the family were ten children, nine sons and 
one daughter, of whom one son died in in- 
fancy, 'idle daughter, Agnes, is the wife of 
William Dudley, assistant librarian at the 
State University. The doctor received his 
early education in the public schools, and in 
1877 began the study of medicine. He was 
graduated in 1881 from the Detroit Medi- 
cal College and for a short time practiced in 
his native State, but in the following year 
he went to South Dakota and located at 
Hitchcock. He remained there nine years 
and had an extensive practice, but as it was 
largely rural and covered a wide territory, 
necessitating long and tedious rides, he was 
anxious for a change and as South Superior 
promised well for the future, he decided in 
the spring of 1891 to locate there. 

The -doctor is the only physician in the 
eighth ward of the city, and, owing partly 
to that fact and partly to his own skill and 
popularity, he has built up with unusual 
rapidity a most satisfactory and constantly 
increasing practice. He is a member of the 
Douglas County Medical Society, the Inter- 
urban Academy of Medicine, the Wisconsin 
State Medical Society and the American 
Medical Association. He is in every respect 
a highly competent and progressive physi- 
cian, and as a citizen takes an intelligent in- 
terest in public affairs and is deservedly pop- 
ular. In the spring of 1903 he was appoint- 
ed a member of the city board of education 
by Ma3'or O'Hare. 

Dr. Potter was married in 1885, at 
Hillsdale, Mich., to Miss Lucy I. Johnson, 
like her husband a native of Michigan. 
They have had two children : Lester A., 
born Oct. i, 1893; and Erwin, born Jan. 
28. 1899. The doctor belongs to the I. O. 
O. F., and the Masonic Order. 

ROBERT L. TYLER, who settled at 
Glen Flora Feb. 18, 1900, buying consider- 
able town property at that time, has later 
made such other investments in land as to 
make him a very extensive land-holder, and 
he has occupied himself with inducing peo- 
ple to locate in Gates (now Rusk) and Polk 
counties, which he considers two of the 



212 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPEIICAL RECORD 



most desirable and productive portions of 
the State. In this work of settlement Mr. 
Tyler has met with a very gratifying suc- 
cess, and can point with pride to the many 
now permanent settlers of the above coun- 
ties, whom he induced to come to this local- 
ity. In addition to his farm property "Six. 
Tyler is deeply interested in village prop- 
erty, and he was one of the organizers of 
the Creamery Company, and active in the 
erection of tiie building to be used for 
creamery purposes. In every way he has 
proved himself a public-spirited and enter- 
prising man, capable of dealing with large 
affairs. 

Mr. Tyler was born in 1843 i" Cayuga 
county, X. Y., and until he was seven was 
a resident of that locality. At that time, 
however, his parents, S. W. and P. ^I. 
(Brundage) Tyler, the former a farmer in 
both Connecticut and Vermont, settled in 
Milwaukee county. Wis., in 1850. This 
was a new country and offered many oppor- 
tunities to the new settlers, but not many 
educational advantages. Here the father 
died. Our subject was educated at the pub- 
lic schools and at the Bryant and Stratton 
Business College of Milwaukee. 

At the outljreak of the Civil war Mr. 
Tyler enlisted in November, 1861, in Com- 
pany B, 7th Wisconsin Battalion, Light Ar- 
tillery. He saw active service in this com- 
pany in the Army of the Cumberland, oper- 
ating in Tennessee and Kentucky, and he 
participated, among other engagements, in 
the battle of Island No. 10 and the battle 
of the Cross Roads, during which latter he 
was injured. He was honorably discharged, 
and returning home regained his health in a 
few months, so he re-enlisted, this time in 
Battery B. ist Wisconsin Heavy Artillery, 
Capt. W. S. Babcock, of Milwaukee, com- 
manding. His time was principally spent in 
guarding the Louisville & Nashville railroad, 
keeping it open, and in this work he had 
manv daring contentions with bushwhack- 
ers. ' Mr. Tyler then successfully passed the 
special department established by President 
Lincoln, to inquire into the fitness of men to 
command colored troops, and w-as given a 



commission as tirst lieutenant and assigned 
to duty under Capt. H. F. Potter of "B" 
Battery, uth United States Regiment, who 
was later detached to become chief ordnance 
officer. This gave Mr. Tyler his promotion 
to captain, which rank he retained until the 
close of the war, being chiefly detailed in 
Kentucky, keeping open the lines of com- 
munication. He was continued in this work 
until Jan. 21, 1866, when he was honorably 
discharged with the rank of first lieutenant. 

Retunfing to Alilwaukee, Mr. Tyler 
went soon after to the vicinity of Des 
Moines, Iowa, where he bought land, but 
he finally sold his property, and returning 
to ^Visconsin was married to Miss Etta M. 
Durgin. On Jan. i, 1867, he went to the 
neighborhood of Hampton. Franklin Co., 
Iowa, buying land, and there began farming. 
In addition he did carpenter work, and thus 
continued for almost thirty years. For the 
subsequent fi\'e years he lived in Washing- 
ton, and at Vancouver, Seattle and Dayton. 
Returning to Franklin county, he resided 
there until he located at Glen Flora in 1900. 

Ten children have been born to Mr. and 
;\Irs. Tyler: Robert, ^label. Clyde, Lula, 
George, Ollie, Chester and Glenn, as well 
as two deceased, L. D. and Myrtle. Those 
living are all residents of Glen Flora, and 
are \txy prosperous and responsible citi- 
zens, taking an active part in the develop- 
ment of their locality. 

In every walk of life ^Ir. Tyler has dem- 
onstrated his sterling worth of character, his 
trustworthiness in every respect, and is very 
justly esteemed. He is a member of the G. 
A. R. post at Hampton, Iowa, and is a 
Blue Lodge i\Iason. 

WILLIAM F. BOLAND. a widely 
known and prominent lawyer and capitalist, 
of Superior, and withal a successful man of 
the world, was born at Hoosick Falls, N. 
Y., in 1850. In 1852 his parents moved to^ 
Wisconsin, where his father took a sub-con- 
tract on what was known as the Sheboygan 
and Fond du Lac plank road. After he had 
completed his portion of the construction 
according to the specifications of his con- 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



213 



tract it was found there was no cash on 
hand to hquidate his claim. Accordingly 
the State of Wisconsin turned over to him 
a ti-act of land on the borders of the Winne- 
bago reservation, in Calumet county, in set- 
tlement thereof, and on this land Mr. Bol- 
and settled with his family in the spring of 
1853, having been preceded thither by but 
two other white families. Other settlers 
came in slowly and began laying the foun- 
dation for the future development of the 
■country. Forests were leveled, roads were 
built, school houses erected, and ere long the 
forest was transformed into cultivated 
fields, and comfortable houses marked the 
site of the wigwams that for centuries had 
been the habitation of poor "Lo." 

In such an environment William F. Bol- 
and passed his boyhood, and in the primi- 
tive schools of that early day in Wisconsin 
by dint of effort he obtained the rudiments 
•of an English education. Meager as were 
the opportunities afforded for obtaining an 
education, he succeeded in acquiring suffi- 
cient knowledge to qualify him for teaching, 
and when he was sixteen years of age he 
was master of the school in which he had 
acquired his education. He had a higher 
ambition than to spend his life in the slow- 
work of the farm, and craving more learn- 
ing he attended the Fond du Lac high 
school, where, after four years of hard 
work, interspersed with a few short terms 
of teaching, he succeeded in rounding out 
his education. Teaching, however, Mr. 
Boland regarded as only a stepping stone to 
the profession of the law, for which he had 
a great admiration. Accordingly he entered 
the law office of Hon. James Coleman and 
Thomas W. Spence, who were his precep- 
tors for two vears, and so diligently did he 
apply himself to the intricacies of Black- 
stone that at the end of that time he passed 
an examination and was admitted to prac- 
tice in the courts of Fond du Lac county. 
The following year, when only twenty-five 
years old. he was elected comptroller of the 
city of Fond du Lac. being the youngest 
man ever called to fill that position, but he 
xnost acceptably discharged its responsible 



duties, and was reelected over one of the 
most popular young men of that city. Dur- 
ing this second term he entered into a co- 
partnership with John J. Jenkins, of Chip- 
pewa Falls, the present Congressman from 
that district, and in the spring of 1877 moved 
to that city. In 1885 he formed a new law 
partnership with Hon. L. J. Rusk, son of 
one of the most popular governors Wiscon- 
sin ever had, which partnership continued 
f(jr several years. 

Upon his entrance into the legal profes- 
sion Mr. Boland became more or less iden- 
tified with the political questions of the day, 
and was for a number of years one of the 
local leaders of his party. He served as 
district attorney of Chippewa county, and 
was for several terms chairman of the Dem- 
ocratic county committee. He was a mem- 
Ijer of the board of education for many 
years. 

In the legal profession ^Ir. Boland met 
with no little measure of success, and his 
accumulations he invested in newspaper 
[iroperties, in partnership with Hon. T. J. 
Cunningham and the late Gen. H. H. Early. 
Prominent among these publications was 
the Daily Independent, of Chippewa Falls, 
a paper that exercised wide influence in the 
State. In 1880, when Mr. Cunningham was 
elected secretary of State, it became neces- 
sarv for Mr. Boland to take charge of their 
various publications, in which work he was 
eminently successful, his versatility and tact 
being displayed to good advantage. Two 
vears later, seeing, as he thought, a wider 
field, he moved to Superior and purchased 
the Superior Daily Call, which he successful- 
Iv conducted till 1893, when he sold it and 
retired from the newspaper field. Since 
then he has been principally engaged in real 
estate and law. and the large success which 
has attended his enterprises has added ma- 
teriallv to his fortunes. At present Mr. 
Boland is one of the vice-presidents of the 
Hundred Thousand Club, an organization 
eft'ected for the purpose of building up the 
citv in which he has such great faith. 

Mr. Boland was united in marriage with 
]\rav E. Eldred, of Clarence, N. Y., only 



214 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



child of H. B. Eldred, a wealthy farmer and 
merchant of that place and a warm personal 
friend of ex-President Cleveland. Air. and 
Mrs. Boland have one son, a promising 
young man of twenty years, who is now be- 
ing educated at the University of Wisconsin. 

CHARLES KAUPPI, a prominent 
merchant of Duluth, and county commis- 
sioner for the Fifth district, St. Louis coun- 
ty, is a native of Finland, born in Uleaborg, 
in 1869, son of Matthew and Elizabeth 
Kauppi, natives of that place. 

Aiatthew Kauppi left his family in Fin- 
land in 1871, coming to America to prepare 
a new home for them. He was at first em- 
ployed by a Mr. Haward. a prominent citi- 
zen of Duluth, and as soon as he had saved 
enough from his earnings he bought a place 
on Lake avenue, where he kept a boarding 
house, and also carried on fishing. After- 
ward he filed a claim for a homestead in the 
town of Midway, St. Louis county, made it 
into a good home, and, proving up on it, 
lived there until his death, in 1895, at the 
age of sixty-nine years. On the night of his 
death his wife was stricken with paralysis, 
and after living for nearly a year passed 
away, aged seventy-one. Both were mem- 
bers of the Lutheran Church. Alatthew and 
Elizabeth Kauppi were the parents of five 
cnildren, two of whom came to Duluth : 
Charles, and Matthew, who is a sailor by 
profession, but now lives on the family 
homestead. The sons came to Minnesota in 
1879, eight years after their father arrived. 

Charles Kauppi was brought up on the 
farm in Finland and was given a good prac- 
tical education in the schools there. Upon 
reaching Duluth he entered the public 
schools of that city, but after some weeks" 
attendance he had an accident, falling 
through the ice one day, and the consequent 
wetting and exposure resulted in an illness 
that ended his school days. On recovering 
he worked with his father for a few years, 
later assisting in developing the family 
homestead at Midway. Mr. Kauppi's busi- 
ness career began in 1882. when he entered 
the employ of ex-AIayor Henry Trulsen, a 



general merchant doing the largest business 
m Duluth. During his two years there Air. 
Kauppi lived in his employer's family. His 
next enterprise was a general contracting 
business, in which he was engaged for a 
year and a halt, doing a great deal of work 
on the First National Bank building, the 
Ingalls block, and others. The next six 
years were mainly spent on the homestead, 
lour of them continuously. For two years 
tluring this period he acted as town clerk of 
Alidway, and as assessor of the town. 

In 1888 Mr. Kauppi settled in West Du- 
luth, which was then just in its infancy, 
and invested in real estate. He also en- 
tered into a partnership with John Isaacson, 
under the firm name of Isaacson & Kauppi. 
They put up a building and began a mercan- 
tile business which was carried on until 
1896, when the firm was dissolved, and Mr. 
Kauppi was out of business for four years. 
It was a year of great financial depression, 
and as the firm had large credits outstand- 
ing, but could make few collections, the con- 
cern was turned over to the trustees, who 
conducted it in the interests of tlie creditors 
until all claims were paid. For the past year 
Mr. Kauppi has been associated with O. S. 
Olson, under the firm name of Olson & 
Kauppi, largely engaged in the grocery, 
light hardware and meat business. 

Mr. Kauppi is a Republican and has 
done his share in the work of the party, 
holding various offices and acting as dele- 
gate to city and county conventions. In 
1 89 1 he was elected an alderman of the vil- 
lage of West Duluth, the only Republican 
elected in the village council that year. The 
next year West Duluth was annexed to the 
city of Duluth. In 1896 he was Republican 
nominee for county commissioner in the 
5th district, and triumphantly elected, as he 
was again at the expiration of his four 
years' term. The first two years he was 
chairman of the Claims and Accounts com- 
mittee, and the succeeding two of the com- 
mittees on Purchases and Supplies. He 
was also a member, of various other com- 
mittees, including that on Roads, in which 
he was very active, believing it to be advan- 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



21 = 



tageous to the county to develop the farm- 
ing country adjacent to the city. 

Fraternally Mr. Kauppi helongs to the 
Modern Samaritans and the M. W. A. He 
and his wife are members of the Finnish 
National Lutheran Church. He has been 
an eminently successful man, and has won 
the confidence and respect of the public. Mr. 
Kauppi has been married for the last twenty 
years and has three living children : Charles, 
George William Rutolf and Selena. 

In 1903 Mr. Kauppi was one of the lead- 
ing promoters in establishing a Finnish Na- 
tional College at Duluth. The institution 
is located at Spirit Lake, one of the suburbs 
of the city, and began with thirty-two stu- 
dents. In addition to theology and other 
advanced studies, special attention is given 
to teaching the English language. It is the 
only institution of its kind in the United 
States. 

ADOLPHUS P. NELSON, cashier 
and director of the First Bank of Grants- 
burg, Grantsburg, Wis., and secretary and 
treasurer of the Grantsburg Loan, Title & 
Realty Co. (Incorporated), and general 
manager of both companies, was born in 
1872 in Alexandria, Douglas Co., Minn., 
son of Nels A. and Stena Nelson, natives of 
Sweden. 

Nels A. Nelson came to America in boy- 
hood with his parents and located in Good- 
hue county, Alinn. Mrs. Nelson came to 
America at the age of twenty-five years, lo- 
cating in Douelas county, Minn., where she 
met Mr. Nelson, who was sheriff of Dou- 
glas county at that time, and also followed 
farming and hotel keeping. Mr. and Mrs. 
Nelson now reside at Cyrus, Minn. They 
are members of the .Augustana Lutheran 
Church. He has held the office of super- 
visor and has been school director, and has 
filled a number of minor offices. Politically 
he is a Republican. I\Ir. and j\Irs. Nelson 
have children as follows : Mary, who mar- 
ried August Max, and died in 1901 : Adol- 
phus P.: Oscar S., a merchant at Alexan- 
dria, Minn; and Emil F., at home. 

Adolphus P. Nelson was educated in the 



home schools and took his course at the 
high school at Alexandria, Minn., in seven- 
teen months, working his way through by 
cutting wood. After his graduation, in 
1892, he engaged in bookkeeping at the 
Douglas County Bank for two years. He 
took charge of the bank at Hamline, of which 
he was cashier for four years, at the same 
time taking his full college course, graduat- 
ing in 1897 with the degree of B. A. from 
Hamline University. In 1897 Mr. Nelson 
located in (irantsburg to accept the position 
of cashier and manager of the First Bank 
of Grantsburg, with which he is still con- 
nected. He is secretary and treasurer of the 
Hickerson Rolling Mills; treasurer of the 
Fanners' Starch Co., of Grantsburg; presi- 
dent of the Business Men's Association o£ 
(jrantsburg ; treasurer of the village school 
board ; secretary and treasurer of the Grants- 
burg Loan, Title & Realty Co. ; cashier of 
and director in the Midway State Bank of 
St. Paul, organized April i, 1903; secre- 
tary-treasurer of the Journal Publishing 
Company, and a director in the North 
American Casualty Co., of Minneapolis. 

Politically Mr. Nelson is a staunch Re- 
publican. He is a member of the M. E. 
Church, and since locating in Grantsburg 
has helped Iniild the Central M. E. Church, 
and is superintendent of its Sunday school : 
president of the Epworth League ; president 
of West \\"isconsin Lay Association; secre- 
tary and treasurer of the board of trustees 
and board of stewards. As a recognition of 
his services for the church. Mr. Nelson was 
sent to the general conference at Los An- 
geles, in 1904, as a delegate. 

j\Ir. Nelson was married Aug. 4. 1897. 
to Lulu E. Strang, of Alexandria, Minn., 
daughter of Hon. G. J. Strang, member o£ 
the State Legislature of Minnesota. ■Mr. 
and Mrs. Nelson had one daughter, Con- 
stance Elva, who was killefl in an elevator 
accident at Duluth. Minn., in 1902. Fra- 
ternally Mr. Nelson is a Mason, belonging 
to the Blue Lodge of Grantsburg, and is also 
connected with the Woodmen of the World, 
M. \Y. A. He is a man of recognized abil- 
ity, and has achieved his phenomenal busi- 



-2l6 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



ness success througli his individual efforts. 
He is a man of excellent character, and has 
■many staunch friends throughout the county 
and State. He is a recognized leader and 
an orator of marked ability, and is always 
in demand for addresses and speeches for 
public occasions. 

MAJOR HUBERT VICTOR EVA is 
probably best known in Duluth as the sec- 
retary of the Duluth Commercial Club, one 
■of the foremost social organizations of the 
>city, which gives much attention to local 
.business and civic affairs. He is a native of 
Cornwall, England, born Aug. 8, 1869, son 
■of James Richard and Addison E. (La- 
Nyon) Eva, and comes of a family promi- 
nent in Cornwall for many generations. His 
mother was bom in London, and her ances- 
tors were prominent as ship owners, inter- 
■ested in the Australian trade. The family 
came to the United States in 1883, settling 
in Duluth, and there Mr. James R. Eva still 
resides. His wife died in the city March 
15, 1898, at the age of fifty-eight years. 

Hubert Victor Eva received the greater 
part of his education in his native land. 
Shortly after coming to the United States 
he became engaged as a bookkeeper, for 
about sixteen years acting as secretary for 
the Silberstein & Bondy Co., one of the 
leading mercantile estalDlishments of Du- 
luth. On May i, 1903, he resigned this po- 
sition to enter upon his duties as secretary 
of the Duluth Commercial Club, which re- 
quire the greater part of his time. He has, 
at different times, been interested in var- 
ious business enterprises in the city, and is 
well and favorably known in commercial 
circles. 

Since 1889 Hubert V. Eva has been con- 
nected with the Minnesota National Guard, 
in which he has become quite prominent. 
He acquired a captain's commission in Com- 
pany A, 3d Regiment, and with his company 
entered the LTnited States service at the 
breaking out of the Spanish-American war, 
the Minnesota troops being the first volun- 
teers sworn into the Federal service. He 
■commanded his company during the war at 



Chickamauga and Knoxville. They have 
several times been called out to quell Indian 
disturbances and riots. On July 2, 1900, 
the company left Duluth under his com- 
mand for Koochiching, which they reached 
July 5th, having been delayed twenty-four 
hours at Rainy Lake, waiting for a steamer. 
Their route overland was over almost im- 
passable roads. They remained three weeks, 
returning to Duluth after the Indians be- 
came c^uiet. In 1898 they saw service at 
Cass Lake. On June 12. 1901, Capt. Eva 
was promoted to the rank of major and is 
still serving as such. In 1903 he was hon- 
ored with election to the presidency of the 
^Minnesota National Guard Association and 
discharged his duties with efficiency and fi- 
delity. 

Major E\'a has become well known as a 
hearty advocate of all measures tending to 
promote the welfare of his city or State, 
working for all such energetically, and with 
due appreciation of the needs of his com- 
munity. He has always been a stanch Re- 
publican in political connection. 

On Aug. 4, 1896. Major Eva was mar- 
ried to !kliss Laura Forbes, daughter of 
Daniel Forbes, of ^Montreal, Canada, and 
they have had one child, Victor Forbes. The 
major and his wife are members of the 
E]jiscopal Church. Fraternally he is a 
thirty-second degree Mason. 

R. E. KENYON is the editor and pro- 
prietor of the Superior Sn)i, a weekly paper 
established July 21. 1891. 

The Snii is published by Mr. Kenyon 
and his son, and has a circulation of over 
600 copies. The publishing plant was at 
first located in a one-story building on 
Tower avenue, after the first year was re- 
moved to the bank building on Tower and 
Central avenues and finally, in 1898, 
changed into its present commodious quar- 
ters, a building erected by Mr. Kenyon at 
John and Central avenues. A new engine 
has been added, operated bv gasoline power, 
and there are all the facilities of a first-class 
office; job printing is made a specialty and 
a larsre amount of such work is done. 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



>i7 



Mr. Keiiyon was Ijoni in Allegany coun- 
ty, N. Y., in 1857. His father, J. E. Ken- 
yon, with his family, went West the next 
year to Randolph, Columbia Co., Wis., and 
they were among the early settlers of that 
place. In 1882 they moved again, this time 
to South Dakota, where the father died in 
1890. Mrs. Kenyon is still li\-ing and re- 
sides with her son in Superior. They were 
the parents of six children, of whom the fol- 
lowing four are still living: Frank J., the 
deputy city treasurer of Superior; Grant B., 
a resident of Southwestern Missouri ; R. E. ; 
and a sister, now Mrs. S. W. Johnson, of 
Juneau county, Wisconsin. 

R. E. Kenyon was educated in the pub- 
lic schools of Portage, Columbia Co., Wis., 
and in that same town learned the printer's 
trade, beginning it at an early age. He went 
with his parents to South Dakota and there 
worked at printing for Frederick Brown for 
ten years, publishing for nearly all that time 
the Frederick Free Press. From that posi- 
tion he came to Superior. 

Mr. Kenyon married for his first wife in 
1884 Hattie M. Wilde, of Randolph. She 
died in South Dakota in April, 1891, leav- 
inging one son, W^arren J., born in 1885. 
For his second wife, Mr. Kenyon married 
M';ss Jennie Coats, of Neenah, Wis., but in 
1897 he was again left a widower. The only 
child of this marriage, a si^n, lived only five 
months. Air. Kenyon is a member of many 
fraternal orders. He is a strong advocate 
■ of temperance, and is noted for his earnest 
work along that line. He and his son, 
Warri»n J., are both members of the Metho- 
• dist Church. The son has been an officer of 
the Stite Grand Lodge of Good Templars, 
and ha,s taken the International Supreme 
Degree of Good Templary. being, with one 
■exceptic;i. the youngest boy who has ever 
taken tint degree. 

PETER LIBERTY, a farmer residing 
near Stetionville, Taylor county, is one of 
the original settlers of the county, and to 
him more 'ihan to any other one man is due 
the influx of French Canadians and Ameri- 
cans, which has transformed the wilderness 



inti;> a region of well-cultivated and flourish- 
ing farms. 

2\lr. Liberty was born in Canada, in 
1842, and was educated in the public 
schools. He came to the United States in 
1857, and consequently was not yet a citi- 
zen when the war broke out. He had been 
in New England long enough, however, to 
become imbued with the patriotic feeling of 
that section, and alien though he was, he 
enlisted in April, 1861, in Company E, ist 
iMass. Heavy Artillery, under Col. Green. 
By June he was in active service, beginning 
at Ball's Bluff. He was a brave and in- 
trepid soldier, and fought in many of the 
liloodiest battles of the war, including the 
second Battle of Bull Run, Gettysburg, 
Fredericksburg, South Mountain, and the 
campaign about Petersburg and Richmond. 
On June 22, 1864, Mr. Liberty was taken 
prisoner at Petersburg, and was imprisoned 
at Andersonville for five months, and in 
Libby prison one week before he was ex- 
changed. In December, 1864, he returned 
to his regiment, and in the following April 
received his first serious wound before Pe- 
tersburg. That seemed a fatal spot to all 
of the family, as, in the preceding year, a 
brother, Joseph, had been killed there and a 
nephew and cousin were both wounded near 
that city. ]Mr. Liberty was discharged from 
the United States service July 15, 1865. 

Mr. Liberty's connection with Taylor 
county began in the early part of 1873, 
when he took up a homestead of 160 acres, 
put up a cabin 12x12 feet, and in the fall of 
that year settled there with hii family. He 
was prominent in local matters from the 
very beginning, for in that first year he took 
an active part in the movement which re- 
sulted in having Taylor county set off from 
Clark. The county constituted one town- 
ship, Medford by name, and IMr. Liberty 
was elected the first assessor, a position 
which he filled, in all, ten years. In 1880 
he was elected chairman and served four 
years. Under President Garfield he was 
appointed postmaster of Stetsonville and 
discharged the duties of that office two 
years. 



2l8 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



Mr. Liberty was always a Republican, 
and still enjoys telling how his first vote was 
cast for Abraham Lincoln. At the time of 
the election he was imprisoned at Anderson- 
ville and the prisoners held an election 
among themselves, casting 15,000 votes for 
Lincoln and 3,000 for McClellan. Mr. Lib- 
erty has been no less devoted to his party 
ever since, and has regularly been a dele- 
gate to county and congressional conven- 
tions. He took the government census of 
the township in 1900. With all his public 
duties Mr. Liberty has done well in his own 
business. He has developed the greater 
part of his farm and now has 100 acres 
under cultivation ; the little cabin has been 
replaced by a good house; barns have been 
built, and various improvements added, 
until his is now one of the best farms in the 
county. Of late years he has paid some at- 
tention to breeding fine cattle. 

In August, 1865, Mr. Liberty was mar- 
ried to his first wife. Miss Cleophe Roy, a 
native of Canada, who died in 1880, leaving 
seven children: Henry E., Joseph, Peter, 
Mary, Ulysses, Louis and Charles O. D., 
who died in 1882, aged four years. His 
present wife, to whom he was married in 
1881, was a Miss Elodia JNIatt, who was 
born in Montreal, Quebec. • 

Mr. Liberty is a member of Bryan post. 
No. 290, G. A. R., and is prominent in its 
councils. His life has been an admirable 
object lesson to all around him. for he is up- 
right and honorable in every relation of 
life, and has won the unstinted respect of 
all. With keen preceiJtions and good judg- 
ment his material success in life also has 
been an assured fact. 

GEORGE W. KANE is a popular busi- 
ness man and public official of Superior, at 
present serving as a member of the city 
council. His birth occurred near Lake City, 
Wabasha Co., Minn., July 9, 1865, his par- 
ents being James and Sarah (Eggleson) 
Kane. James Kane, a native of County 
Antrim, Ireland, came to Canada as a young 
man, lived later in New York State and 
about 1855 settled on a farm near Lake 



City, Minn., where he died about 1870. He 
was one of the pioneers in Wabasha county. 
Mrs. Sarah (Eggleson) Kane died at Sault 
Ste. ]\Iarie, Mich., in March, 1900, at the 
age of seventy-seven. She was Ijorn in Ot- 
tawa, Canada, daughter of P. Eggleson, a 
native Irishman, and one of the pioneer 
merchants of Ottawa. Her brother, P. A. 
Eggleson, was one of the original founders 
of the city of Ottawa (then called Bytown). 
He acquired several farms there, which he 
afterward platted into city lots. 

When George W. Kane was about sev- 
en years old, the accidental death of his 
father caused the removal of the family 
from the farm to Lake City, and later to 
Stillwater, ]\Iinn., in both of which places 
the lad attended school. At the age of six- 
teen he went to [Minneapolis and learned the 
trade of harness maker. In 1885 he came 
to Superior and opened the first harness 
shop at West Superior, on Banks avenue 
and Sixth street, and later was at the corner 
of Ogden avenue and Seventh street. Tw.3 
years after coming to Superior ^Ir. Kare 
sold out his business, and for three yeai's 
served as deputy sheriff of Douglas county. 
After this he was for several years in the 
police department and was city detective for 
a year. In 1900 he opened a harness s'lop 
at Superior, or Oldtown, which he still car- 
ries on. 

On ]\Iarch 27. 1900, Mr. Kane was nar- 
ried to Inez V. Rose, a native of Barron 
county, Wis., daughter of Henry Rose, 
now a resident of Butte, Mont. Mr. and 
Mrs. Kane are communicants of the Cath- 
olic Church. Fraternally Mr. Kane is a 
member of the Eagles, is Great Prophet of 
the Wisconsin I. 6. R. M., and bebngs to 
the M. W. A.. Knights of the Miccabees. 
and the Catholic Order of Fores;ers. In 
politics he has always been a Democrat, and 
in the spring of 1902 he was elected a mem- 
ber of the city council from the Pirst ward, 
although that ward is strongly Republican. 
In the spring of 1904 he was reelected. 

AXEL BERGER, farmer and justice 
of the peace of Big Bend township. Rusk 



CO^IMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



Co., Wis., is a native of Sweden, and was 
born Oct. 24, i860. He is a son of Svan 
Gabrielson and Kattrina Eriksson, natives 
of Sweden. 

The early life' of ]\Ir. Berger was spent 
in his native land, where he attended the 
public schools, acquiring his elementary 
education. Later he received an appoint- 
ment to the National ^lilitary School at 
Gothenburg, where he remained seven 
years, and was graduated in 1886, being im- 
mediately stationed at Fort Carlsburg. 
There he remained in active service about 
two years, when, desiring to enter upon a 
different life, he resigned. From 1888 to 
1892 ]Mr. Berger acted as engineer on a 
steamboat. 

In 1893, Mr. Berger decided to immi- 
grate to America, believing this country of- 
fered better opportunities. Accordingly, 
leaving his family, he came to the United 
States with a view of looking for a suitable 
location. In September of the same year, 
he came to Apollonia, Wis., which then was 
little more than a logging camp, and ob- 
tained employment with the Weyerhauser 
Co. in the capacity of lumber grader, and 
he was put in charge of their retail lumber 
yard. He was also associated with County 
Surveyor Kirk, of Chippewa Falls, and as- 
sisted in laying out the streets of the town 
of Apollonia. Since engaging with the Wey- 
erhauser Co., Mr. Berger has retained his 
responsible position and has always evinced 
business capacity, being regarded as one of 
their trusted men. 

In 1899 Mr. Berger bought eighty acres 
half a mile from the village. Upon this he 
has erected a comfortable home and has a 
number of acres under cultivation. His 
worth as a citizen and neighbor has lieen 
fully recognized, and he has been placed in 
the position of justice of the peace, while 
for one year he has been a member of the 
side board of Big Bend township; he is a 
stanch Republican. At all times he has been 
active in furthering the interests of his com- 
munity, and is one of its intelligent repre- 
sentative men. 

In 1888 ^Ir. Berger married ]\Iiss Chris- 



tina Swenson and they became the parents 
of Gunnar, Alma, Helen, Arthur, Alabel 
and Hilma Lilly. ]Mr. Berger is a man of 
highest educational attainments, having 
been scientifically and thoroughly educated, 
and has not allowed himself to grow rusty, 
but is a great reader, and thoroughly con- 
versant with current topics. He is a lover 
of his adopted country, and realizes the 
grandeur of Republican institutions. 

ROBERT LANE HURD, the register 
of deeds for Price county, and for many 
years an important factor in the politics of 
the county, was born June 19, 1858, during 
the brief residence of his parents in Sutton, 
Ont., Canada. He was the son of Lane and 
Harriet (Nichols) Hurd. 

Lane Hurd came from an old New Eng- 
land family, and was born in New Hamp- 
shire, but lived for the greater part of his 
life in New York. He learned the trade of 
a blacksmith in Essex county, that State, 
and made that his principal occupation. 
Later in life he read law at intervals and 
practiced in a small way. His trial of life in 
Canada lasted only a few years and he re- 
turned to New York, whence in 1863 he 
went west to Wisconsin. He worked at his 
trade there in Ripon, in Waushara county, 
and in Eureka, Winnebago county, and was 
living in the latter place at the time of his 
death in 1876. Politically he was a Republi- 
can. His wife, wdio was a native of New 
York, died in 1872. She was a sister ot 
Nathan Nichols, a sheriff of St. Lawrence 
county, N. Y., for over four years, and also 
United States Revenue Collector. 

Robert L. Hurd attended the public 
schools of Eureka until he was twelve years 
old, and then began working in a stave mill. 
A few vears later he became clerk in a store 
at INIanawa, and remained there three years. 
In 1883 he went to Fifield and entered the 
employ of Roberts, Dirimple & Co., for 
whom he worked until 1895, and then be- 
came sealer and overseer for F, D. Lindsay. 
He is also interested in logging to some ex- 
tent. 

Mr. Hurd has always found politics an 



220 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



absorbing subject, and has been influential 
in the local Republican ranks for a long 
time. He has been a delegate to every 
county convention for years, and in 1896 
was sent to the State Republican convention. 
In 1.898 the party put him upon its ticket for 
register of deeds for Price county and in 
■that and the two following campaigns he 
was the successful contestant. 

In 1895 occurred the marriage of Mr. 
Hurd to Minnie Brosnan, daughter of Tim- 
othy and Hannah Brosnan. Mrs. Hurd was 
born in St. Lawrence county, N. Y., and 
there her father's death took place. He was 
a native of Ireland, and by profession a 
bookkeeper and farmer. Mrs. Brosnan, 
after her husband's death, removed to Fi- 
field, and is now living there at the age of 
sixty. Three children have been born to 
Mr. and Mrs. Hurd, namely: DeW'itt, 
and Phyllis and Phillipa, twins. The fam- 
ily is connected with the Catholic Church. 

PETER CRASSER, one of the well- 
known miners of Minnesota, who dates his 
■connection with Duluth from 1880, is a na- 
tive of the Grand Duchy of Luxemburg, 
bom in 1846. 

John and Susan Crasser, his parents, 
brought their family to America in 1847, 
^nd settled in Ozaukee county. Wis., on a 
farm which they bought soon after their ar- 
rival. The father was a carpenter and ar- 
^chitect. Peter Crasser was brought up on 
the farm and was sent to the public schools, 
where he received a good practical educa- 
tion. As a young man he worked first on 
the farm, but later began working in the 
mines, and spent fifteen years in the copper 
mines at Keweenaw county, Mich. While 
thus engaged he learned engineering. The 
life in the mining and lumbering regions 
was full of hardship and danger, but the ex- 
perience was of great value to him. A short 
time after Mr. Crasser first left home the 
Civil war broke out, and his employer of- 
fered ten dollars to every one of his men 
who would enlist. Mr. Crasser was one of 
the volunteers, Init was rejected because of 
Iiis age. The ten-dollar bill which was given 



liim was the first greenback he had ever 
seen. In 1862 he became ill and had to re- 
turn home. He remained in Wisconsin two 
years and then went to JNIinnesota, where 
lie worked during the summer at harvesting, 
near Hastings. Reports from the copper re- 
gions attracted him, and he spent the next 
year there, afterward returning to Hastings. 
It was on this trip that Mr. Crasser met two 
sharpers in the St. Paul depot, who endeav- 
ored to rob him of three hundred dollars. 
He was c|uick enough with his revolver to 
prevent them from doing so. 

After going to Duluth. in 1880, Mr. 
Crasser first secured employment at the 
blast furnace, where he worked until 1881, 
after which he was engaged in locating 
camps, etc., and then for two years was a 
packer for Capt. John Alalmen, of the Min- 
nesota Iron Company. This was a life of 
constant exposure, there being no protection 
in winter except the tents. Finally he aban- 
doned that and adopted the Indian fashion 
of taking the windward side of a windfall, 
and sleeping by the fire. He continued this 
work until 1885, and spent the next fall in 
a lumber camp, where he worked for Mr. 
Sargeant. That year, 1886, he went to 
British Columbia, on the Canadian Pacific, 
at the time of the gold excitement. He 
stayed there several months, but found no 
gold, and so returned. Of late years he has 
been employed at various lines, in different 
places. 

In 1887 Mr. Crasser was married to 
:\Iiss Kate Pickart, of Duluth. After his 
marriage he bought two acres of land at 
Bay View Heights, which he still owns. 
Later he bought in West Duluth, and built 
on the land, but finally made his permanent 
residence on another piece of property, on 
which there were two houses. 

^Ir. Crasser served at one time as gov- 
ernment guard and pilot for a government 
detective. He fell in with the man while 
out on the Range, and was employed by him 
in helping trace a man accused of selling 
whisky to the Indians. They traced the 
man to Duluth. took him prisoner and car- 
ried him to St. Paul. ]\Ir. Crasser was de- 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



22t 



tained there by the affair for more than a 
month, and was given great praise by the 
newspapers for his important share in the 
capture. The man, however, was tinally 
cleared of the charge, in 1892 Mr. Crasser 
was put in charge of the West Duluth jail, 
a trust which he faithfully discharged. 

Mr. Crasser is a man of powerful phy- 
sique, and on one occasion carried a man on 
his back twenty-se\'en miles in three days. 
The man weighed 190 pounds and was too 
crippled with rheumatism to walk, and so 
Mr. Crasser came to his relief — a feat few 
men would have been equal to. He has 
had a most varied experience and has made 
many friends during his wanderings. He is 
a member of the Catholic Church, and in 
politics is a good Republican, of the Abra- 
ham Lincoln persuasion. His knowledge of 
mining enabled him to foresee many years 
ago the development of the iron region, and 
he predicts from it millions in the future. 

LEWIS P. CHARLES, editor and bus- 
iness manager of the Chetek Alert, made his 
advent into the journalistic field less than a 
year ago, when he assumed the position on 
the Alert, which he has since ably filled. ]\Ir. 
Charles was born in Watsontown, North- 
umberland Co., Pa., July 9, 1876, son of 
Henry C. and Permelia (Potter) Charles, 
both of whom were born in the "Keystone" 
State. His father was a gallant soldier in 
the Civil war, in which arduous service he 
contracted disabilities which eventuated in 
his death, in 1881. The mother, a woman 
of heroic courage and true motherly devo- 
tion to her fatherless children, of whom 
there were four, resolutelv undertook to 
provide for their maintenance and elemen- 
tary education. With devoted zeal to laud- 
able purpose, she, unaided, achieved all that 
she set out to gain. Lewis P. is the only son 
of the family, and with the natural interest 
in an only boy, she carefully and wisely 
planned for his future usefulness. 

By the time Lewis P. Charles was 
twelve years old he had acquired a fair 
knowledge of the rudimentary English 
branches. At this period of his career he 



became an inmate in the home of an uncle, 
a farmer living near Harrisburg, where the 
succeeding two years of his life were spent, 
luuing the advantage of attending the high 
school durmg this tmie. Subsequently he be- 
came apprenticed to J. C Orth, of Steelton, 
a manufacturing baker, where he learned 
every detail of the business. In all he was 
engaged in the baker business five years, his 
last position being that of foreman in one of 
the large establishments in Harrisburg. He 
liked his work and had succeeded so well 
that before he was twenty years of age he 
was filling a responsible position. It was at 
this period he got the "Western fever," as 
he expresses it, the contagion having been 
communicated to him by relatives in north- 
ern Wisconsin. In September, 1896, he 
reached Superior. Times were dull there 
then, and positions were wholly wanting. 
In consequence thereof the young man wor- 
ried through several idle months. His moth- 
er, always watchful and solicitous for his, 
welfare, and with an ambition to see her boy 
filling a higher place in the world than his 
trade promised, urged him to take a colle- 
giate course, preparatory to a professional 
career. This he was reluctant to do. It sa- 
vored too much of surrender, of bowing 
down to defeat, and was galling to his pride. 
In the end he assented to his mother's wish, 
and in Eeljruary, 1897, he entered the State 
Normal School at Superior, booking for the 
four-year German course, and for fourteen 
weeks diligently pursued his studies without 
intermission. The question of revenue pre- 
sented itself then, and to raise same neces- 
sitated a temporary abandonment of study. 
Securing a certificate to teach he engaged a 
district school at Pratt, Wis., which he suc- 
cessfully taught during two school years. 
The succeeding year he had charge of the 
graded school at Mason, Wis. Having by 
this time replenished his exchequer, he re- 
turned to the State Normal and resumed his 
studies at the breaking off place, three years 
before. Applying himself to his studies with 
renewed energv he completed the studies of 
the four years' course at the end of this 
school vear, in a length of time unexcelled 



222 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



by any other student of the college — two 
years and fourteen weeks — and was grad- 
uated in June, 1902. For the following aut- 
umn he was called to accept the principal- 
ship of the Chetek high school, in which po- 
sition he so creditably acquitted himself thar 
he was chosen to succeed himself, but he 
declined the honor of the appointment to ac- 
cept a position with the Home Life Insur- 
ance Company, of New York, with which 
he remained six months and was eminently 
successful. His resignation therefrom was 
induced by an advantageous opportunity 
presenting itself for a journalistic career, for 
which work he long had a predilection, and 
in March, 1904, in co-partnership with J. 
W. Bell, bought the Chetek Alert, ]\Ir. 
Charles assuming the duties of editor and 
business manager. He has the qualification, 
both natural and acquired, that makes the 
successful newspaper man. To be great in 
any calling one must instinctively know 
something of that calling, and editor Charles 
has the genuine newspaper instinct. He has 
made the Alert one of the best newspapers 
in Barron county, each issue being replete 
with an abundance of local news, and its 
editorial page has the merit of a striking in- 
dividualism which is the impress of his own 
commanding personality. He had made the 
Alert the exponent of every social, commer- 
cial and industrial interest that in any way 
affects its many readers, and is of almost in- 
calculable benefit to the community. 

Mr. Charles is a member of the Repub- 
hcan county central committee and is also 
secretary of the Press Association of Barron 
county. Fraternally he affiliates with the 
Masons, the Maccabees and the Woodmen. 

JAMES S. HUMMER, a popular drug- 
gist at South Superior, was born at High 
Bridge, Hunterdon Co., N. J., July 16, 
1847. His parents were Johnson and Sophie 
Hummer and he was one of ten children, 
four sons and six daughters. Johnson Hum- 
mer died at Highbridge, N. J., Feb. 14, 
1872, at the age of fifty-nine years, while 
the wife and mother survived until May, 
I go I. 



Although a mere youth when the Civil 
war broke out and below the required age, 
James Hummer was mustered Sept. 17, 
1862, in Company K, 31st N. J. V. I., and 
served through some of the most stirring 
events of the war. He was under General 
Burnside at Fredericksburg, and was also at 
Chancellorsville and in Gen. Hooker's sub- 
sequent campaign, and then after seeing 
much active service, was discharged June 
24, 1863. 

After leaving the army, Mr. Flummer 
returned to New Jersey, but after five years 
went West and settled at Shell Rock, Butler 
Co., Iowa ; for a number of years he re- 
mamed in that State, residing at various 
points, -Waverly in Bremer county, Marion, 
in Lmn county, Vinton in Benton county, 
and in Fort Dodge, and then in February, 
1892, he brought his family to South Supe- 
rior, where they have since lived. He es- 
tablished himself there as a druggist and has 
gained a constantly increasing patronage. 

On Oct. 4, 1 87 1, Mr. Hummer was mar- 
ried to Clara La Bonta Fulton, of Shell 
Rock, Iowa, and their union has been blessed 
with three children, Levi, Ora and Ruby. 

Mr. Hummer is a member of Alonzo 
Palmer Post, G. A. R., and both fraternally 
and in business circles has won the esteem 
of his associates. 

ANTON M. ANDERSON, junior 
member of the firm of Nelson & Anderson, 
dealers in groceries and general merchandise, 
secretary of the Grantsburg Starch Co., and 
one of the organizers of the First Bank of 
Grantsburg, was born in Christiania, Nor- 
way, March 23, 1866, son of John C. and 
Matilda (Michaelsen) Anderson. 

John C. Anderson was a blacksmith in 
his native country. He came to America in 
1869, locating at Racine, W^is., where he 
worked at his trade for three years, and 
tlien went to Chicago, III, working at his 
trade there for four years. Then he was at 
Manitowoc and Two Rivers, where he had 
charge of the shipyards for about two years. 
]\Ir. Anderson next went to Beloit, Wis., 
in 1878, whence he came on to Burnett coun- 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



tv. openin.sf a blacksmitli shop tliere which 
lie conducted until the fall of igo2. when he 
sold and bought a home at Falun, Burnett 
county. He had six children, five of whom 
are still living: Josie, wife of E. C. Bangle, 
of Deer River, Minn. : Annie, married to 
H. M. Hilgerson. of Chicago. 111. ; Anton 
M.. our subject: Oscar W., a merchant on 
Milwaukee avenue. Chicago : Lillie. who 
married Andrew Nissen. cashier of the Pull- 
man Co.. at St. Louis; and Olga, unmarried, 
at home. 

Anton M. Anderson's educational ad- 
vantages were somewhat limited, as he at- 
tended school but a short time. He remained 
at home until nineteen years of age, when he 
took up railroad work as agent for the Du- 
luth Short Line, with which he remained 
nine years, at Rush City. Pine City. Wyom- 
ing, Taylors Falls and Grantsburg. In 1891 
he operated a real estate office at East Port- 
land. Ore., in 1892 returning to Grantsburg. 
and then going to Minneapolis, where he was 
in business six months. He then purchased 
the Burnett Co:nity Sentinel, of which he 
was editor and proprietor for seven years, 
at the end of which time he sold out and 
went into the mercantile Inisiness with a Mr. 
Hickerson. under the firm name of Hicker- 
son & Anderson, this partnership continuing 
for one year. This he sold to go to Chicago. 
-III. to take charge of the document room at 
the Republican National Convention held in 
that city during the 1900 campaign. He re- 
mained there during the entire campaign, 
and was then elected sergeant at arms of the 
Wisconsin Legislature, for 1901 and 1902. 
and was re-elected to that office in 1903. be- 
ing the youngest man ever to hold that office, 
and the first man to be re-elected to the 
honor. Just previous to his re-election Mr. 
Anderson had gone into partnership with 
Clance Nelson, under the firm name of Nel- 
son & Anderson, and as such they have con- 
tinued since, dealing in a general line of gro- 
ceries and merchandise. Mr. Anderson is 
secretary of the Grantsburg Starch Co.. and 
was one of the organizers of the First Bank 
of that city, being a stockholder and director 
in the same. For the past two years he has 



been president of the Burnett County Agri- 
cultural Society. 

Mr. Anderson was married June 2-/. 
1894, to Miss Alice Hickerson, of Grants- 
burg, and to this union came one daughter, 
Arlene May, born May i. 1895. Mr. An- 
derson is prominent in Masonic circles, be- 
ing a member of Blue Lodge, No. 244. of 
Grantsburg; of Consistory No. 2, at Min- 
neapolis, and of the order of the Eastern 
Star, being Grand ]\Iarshal of the O. E. S. 
for the State of Wisconsin. He also be- 
longs to the I. O. O. F. Lodge. No. 255, 
Grantsburg. and the Modern Woodmen. 
Mr. Anderson has always been identified 
with tlie workings of the Republican party 
in his section, and has been a member of the 
Republican State Central Committee for 
three years. 

TRUMAN VAN ORXUM. The life 
of this prominent citizen of Medford. Tay- 
lor county, who passed from this world Feb. 
23. 1900. was one whose value to others was 
not limited to his days of activity, but was 
an object lesson of even greater worth after 
he was compelled to drop out from the ranks 
of the workers. Often in pain, and dis- 
abled from an active life for a number of 
vears before his final release, the wonder- 
ful patience and fortitude which Mr. Van 
Ornum displayed under suffering, was only 
equalled bv the faithfulness and untiring 
de\-otion with which his wife ministered to 
his needs. 

Truman \^an Ornum was born in La- 
colle. Canada. July 11. 1825. son of Jacob 
and Sarah (Lewis) Van Onium. natives of 
that same place. The father was a carpenter 
In' trade, and passed most of his life in 
Canada, but spent his later years on a farm 
near Detroit. Mich. The son was educated 
in the public schools, and after completing 
the course of study learned his father's 
trade, which he followed at intervals the 
greater part of his life. For many years he 
operated a sawmill at Lacolle. He left 
Canada in 1880. and settled in Medford, 
where he gave up his former occupation, 
and began to deal in general merchandise. 



224 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



He continued in this several years, but grad- 
tially gave more and more of his attention 
to contracting and deahng in railroad ties, 
while he also returned to his earlier employ- 
ment, and erected a number of buildings. 
To a considerable extent he speculated in real 
estate and other property, meeting with al- 
most uniform success. 

In 1892 Mr. Van Ornum fell from a 
building whicli he was putting up, and he 
was so injured that he was never after able 
to do anv active business, but for the remain- 
ing eight vears of his life was a great suf- 
ferer. Then, even more than in the nreced- 
ing years of their long married life, his wife, 
Cynthia C. Bartlett, whom he had married 
Dec. 17, TS40, showed herself a helpmeet in- 
deed, and did everything possible to make 
his last davs comfortable. ^Trs. Van Or- 
num was a daughter of Dr. Georee C. and 
Martha fLewis") Bartlett. natives of Ver- 
mont and Odelltown, Quebec, respectively. 
Dr. Bartlett was educated at Fairfield, Vt., 
and practiced for manv years at Lacolle. 
Mrs. Van Ornum continued to reside in 
Medford, where a widowed daughter lives, 
and there she died in July, 1905. Of the 
six children born to her and her husband, 
five are living, but the family is scattered, 
Emma Amelia, tlie oldest, is now Mrs. Jo- 
seph Lanphear, and li\'es in Tower, Minn. ; 
Willard Oscar is in Chicago; Ida I., Mrs. T. 
B. Cowles. lives in Madison. AVis. ; Florence 
Evaline is the widow of S. C. Smith, of ]\Ied- 
ford; and Cora Winifred married J. S. Mc- 
George, and resides in Hayward. Wis. ]\Irs. 
Van Ornum had six living grandchildren. 

Mr. Van Ornum during his active life 
was a regular attendant of the Methodist 
Church, of which his wife was a member. 
For manv vears he had been a member of 
the Masonic fraternity. Politically he was 
always a Republican, and was elected to sev- 
eral local offices, which he filled with the 
same careful attention and ability, which he 
manifested in all his own private operations, 
thereby winning the confidence and respect 
of his associates. 

WILLIA:\I PENN, senior partner of 
the firm of William Penn & Co., manufac- 



turers of cut stone, at West Superior, Doug- 
hs county, is a native of England, born at 
Ludington, near Stratford-on-Avon, AVar- 
wickshire, June 24, 1861. His parents were 
Charles and Sophia (Dyke) Penn, both 
natives of Warwickshire. 

Grandfather William Penn had cxten- 
si\-e interests in the blue stone quarries at 
Shotoff, W^ar\\ ickshire, and his son Charles 
became a cut stone contractor, and is now 
living in retirement at AA'indsor, Enehnd. 
Frederick Dyke, father of* Mrs. Sophia 
TDyke) Penn. was a prosperous farmer of 
Ludington, where he met his death bv sun- 
stroke, at the age of seventv-four. Of his 
family of thirteen children several are still 
living. To Charles and Sophia fDvke) 
Penn were born nine children, of whom 
seven are living. Se\'eral of the sons are 
in the employ of the Britisli government ; 
the onlv ones in the United States are 
George Frederick and AVilliam, both of West 
Superior. 

William Penn learned his trade in 
AA'indsor, England, under the celebrated 
architect. Sir Gilbert Scott, becoming famil- 
iar with tlie artistic features of stone archi- 
tecture. He was employed on work on 
Chester Cathedral, St. George's Cathedral, 
AA'indsor Castle, and Albert ^Memorial 
Chapel, which last, originally built by Cardi- 
nal AA^'olsey, was rebuilt and given its present, 
name by Oueen Victoria in memory of her 
husband. Mr. Penn while at work on the 
chapel had the pleasure of frequently seeing 
the queen during her daily walks. In 1887 
he came to the L^nited States, spending a 
year in New York City, going from there 
to St. Paul, and a few months later, in the 
fall of 1888, taking contracts for cut stone 
at Duluth. In 1888 and 1889 he furnished 
cut stone, brought from Lake Superior, for 
the court house at AA^inona, ]\Iinn. ; in the 
latter year he located at AA''est Superior, 
where he has ever since been engaged in 
the furnishing of cut stone. The firm, 
since 1897 l<nown as the AA'illiam Penn & 
Company, has shipped stone as far east as 
New York City and as far west as Montana, 
and to many intermediate points, the busi- 
ness having become one of the most im- 




#^p 



c-i-yt^X, 



- .•■ YORK 
PU DUG LIBRARY 



ASTOR, LENOX 
TILDEN f OUIJDAirONS 



COMAIEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



22 = 



portant industries at the Head of the Lakes. 
In 1889 Mr. Penn married Ellen Bryan 
Siddon, of London, England, and they have 
a family of three sons and three daughters, 
Charles Thomas, William Alfred, Alice Em- 
ily, Florence, Sidney and Dorothy. The 
family are members of the Episcopal 
Church. For fourteen years past Air. Penn 
has been a member of the Alasons, and of 
the B. P. O. Elks. He is a Republican in 
politics, although not an active party man. 
He has accumulated quite a library, which 
uici'^des some standard reference works 
th?!t beloK^ed to his grandfather, William 
Penn. Mi^, Penn is a gentleman of culti- 
vated tasles and pleasing manners, and has 
many triends throughout the Northwest. 

C PI A R L E S D R E L I X C O U R T 
HAVEN, a well known citizen of Superior, 
comes of a New England family noted fur 
its longevity and patriotism. He was born 
in Moriah, Essex Co., N. Y., Oct. 17, 1824, 
a son of Allen and Mary (Hanford) Haven. 

The Havens in the L%ited States are de- 
scended from an English family which set- 
tled in Connecticut in early Colonial days. 
Nathaniel Haven, grandfather of Charles 
Drelincourt, moved to Brattleboro, Vt., 
where he lived to be over eighty years of 
age. His wife, whose maiden name was 
Schneider, was born while her parents were 
on the voyage from Holland to America. 
Samuel Haven, a son of Nathaniel, was in 
the battle of Lake Champlain, during the 
war of 181 2. 

Allen Haven, son of Nathaniel, was born 
in Brattleboro, and went to Essex county, 
N. Y., when a lx)y. There he learned tlie 
blacksmith's trade, and followed that call- 
ing in various places in New York State un- 
til he was seventy-five years old. He died on 
a farm in Omro, \W\s.. when he was eighty- 
five, having enjoyed good health almost to 
the day of his death. Mrs. Mary (Hanford) 
Haven lived to be ninety-one years old, and 
also died in Omro. She was a native of 
Massachusetts, daughter of Shubael Han- 
ford, an English mechanic, who built the 
first fullino- mill at Pittsfield. Alass. Samuel 



Hanford, a relative of Shubael, was a soldier 
in the French and Indian war, and was for 
some time a prisoner at Fort Ticondcroga. 
When Charles Drelincourt Haven visited 
Ticonderoga, in 1844, he found the name of 
Samuel Hanford carved in the ruins of the 
old fort. Shubael Hanford's wife, Polly 
Leonard, was a very zealous churchwoman ; 
her mother, Polly Sillick, who lived to be 
neai ly one hundred years old, came of a pious 
nld Dutch family, and her prayer-book is 
still preserved as one fif the family treasures. 
Charles Drelincourt Haven was named by 
his grandmother, Polly (Leonard) Han- 
ford, in honor of the famous French author. 
Jesse Hanford, father of Shubael, was one 
iif the Connecticut minutemen, and was 
killed while in action during Arnold's raid 



aldug the shore of Long Island. 

When Charles Drelincourt Ha\en was.ai 
small boy the family moved to the vicinity 
(if Rochester, N. Y.. where the lad made the 
most of the opportunities afforded by the 
frontier district school. Later he attended 
Brockport Collegiate Institute,, where he 
afterward taught mathematics for two years. 
Air. Ha\-en then studied law at Aloriah, N. 
Y., and was admitted to the Bar in 1849, '^^'^ 
ov.ing to ill health gave up his practice and 
went West. At the time he reached Milwau- 
kee there was not a mile of railroad in Wis- 
consin, and he soon entered the engineering, 
department of the Alilwaukee & Waukesha 
Railroad Company (which later became the 
Alilwaukee & Mississippi, and is now the 
l^rairie du Chien division of the Chicago, 
Milwaukee & St. Paul Railroad Company), 
remaining with this road twenty-four years. 
Mr. Haven then resigned his position and 
mo\-ed to Alinneapolis, where he was a man- 
ufacturer and dealer in lumber for seven- 
teen vears. In 1891 he came to West Su- 
jjcrior, where he bought the business of a 
wholesale commission house dealing in hay, 
grain and feed; since 1900 the firm has been; 
known as Haven, Larkin & Co. 

Mr. Haven married (first), in 1850. 
Catherine Van Valkenburg, a native of 
Prattsburg, Steuben Co., N. Y., daugliter of 
Jacob and Mary (Higgins) Van Valken- 



15 



•26 



COMiAIEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



burg, and a descendant of a prominent 
Knickerbocker family. Mrs. Catherine Ha- 
ven died in 1870, at tlie age of forty-seven, 
the mother of four children : Allen, who 
died in infancy ; George, a wholesale lumber- 
man of Waterloo, Iowa; Frank, who is a 
grain dealer in Minneapolis; and Catherine, 
who died in 1882, at Thomasville, Ga., when 
twenty years old. In 1872, Mr. Haven 
married (second) Sarah Higgins, who was 
born in Bath, Steuben Co., N. Y., daughter 
of the late Dr. John D. Higgins, of Bath, 
and v.'as a cousin of the first Mrs. Haven. 

Since the Republican party came into 
existence Mr. Haven has been one of its ad- 
herents, but he has neither sought nor ac- 
cepted office. 

DAVID A. STOUFFER, a farmer and 
stock raiser of Washburn county, now serv- 
ing as county treasurer, located on his pres- 
ent place in 1887. When he ran the line of 
road north from Shell Lake to his present 
location, with the aid of a pocket compass, 
the only other settler in the valley was Ed- 
ward Hart, a pioneer who kept a tavern for 
teamsters, on the Yellow river. Mr. Stouf- 
fer's first purchase was eightv acres of land, 
on which he put up a small frame house and 
moved his family there in the fall of 1887. 
He began developing his farm, working for 
several winter seasons in the logging camps 
in order to earn a little money with which to 
meet current expenses. He was very suc- 
cessful, his work bringing in good results, 
and enabling him to make further purchases, 
so that he now owns 200 acres, of which 120 
are under cultivation, and his improvements 
are equal to those of any farms in the county. 

Mr. Stouffer was born in Franklin coun- 
ty. Pa., June 21, 1854, his parents being 
John Elias and Barbara Lesher Stouffer, the 
former born in Pennsylvania, and both of 
German descent. His maternal grandpar- 
ents, were John and Eliza Lesher. His pa- 
ternal grandfather was John Stouffer. Mr. 
Stouffer has three brothers : Abraham Lin- 
coln, a blacksmith in the railroad shops at 
Hudson ^Vis. ; Charles, also a blacksmith, 
living in St. Croix county, Wisconsin ; and 
Isaiah J., in the general merchandise busi- 



ness at Mowersville, Pa. Two sisters live 
near Chambersburg, Pennsylvania. 

Mr. Stouffer was brought up on a farm 
and educated in the public schools, remain- 
ing in Pennsylvania until he came of age. 
He then went to Pierce county. Wis., at 
that date just emerging from the wilderness, 
where for a year he worked as a farm la- 
borer. He saved money, was married to 
Eliza Brannen, and rented a farm in Pierce 
county until 1887, when he moved to Shell 
Lake. He is the father of the following 
children : Mary, Mrs. Charles Todd, for 
three years a successful teacher in the pub- 
lic schools of the county; Edward Albert, 
a graduate of the Shell Lake high school, 
class of 1902 ; and David Russell. Dora 
Irene died in infancy. Mr. and Mrs. Stouf- 
fer are members of the Episcopal Church, 
with which they have been connected for 
many years. 

Mr. Stouffer has always been a Repub- 
lican, and is a representative man in local 
politics, having held the office of chairman 
of supervisors five terms, and being at pres- 
ent in his third term of office as town clerk. 
Pie was nominated for county treasurer by 
the Republican county convention held in 
Shell Lake in 1902, was elected at the ensu- 
ing election, and was re-elected in 1904, hav- 
ing proved himself most competent. He has 
been much interested in educational matters, 
has worked wisely and efficiently for the es- 
tablishment of schools, and has been a close 
student of current topics of interest and of 
various lines of modem thought. Frater- 
nally he is a member of the I. O. O. F., uni- 
ting with Spooner Lodge. 

ALBERT KNOOP, of the firm of Bauer 
& Knoop, proprietors of a sawmill, is one of 
the pioneers of Ashland county, and was the 
first settler in the present town of Butter- 
nut. He was born in Germany, Dec. 17, 
1847, was reared in the Fatherland, and re- 
ceived a good education in the public schools. 
When the Franco-Prussian war broke out 
Mr. Knoop entered the German army and 
was in the service four years, until after the 
close of hostilities. He was in many of the 
more serious engagements, took part in the 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



siege of Paris, \vas twice wounded, both at 
Aletz and Gravelotte, and was injured some- 
what on other tields. 

After being discharged from the army, 
Mr. Knoop, in March, 1872, came to Amer- 
ica, landing in Baltimore, Md. He went at 
once to Neillsville, Wis., where he lived with 
relatives for two years, working meantime. 
In 1874 he accepted a position as foreman 
with the Wisconsin Central Railroad Com- 
pany, wdiich was then building its lines, and 
Mr. Knoop remained with the company in 
that capacity for twenty-five years, on the 
Butternut section. At the end of that pe- 
riod he went into the sawmill business with 
Mr. Bauer at Butternut, and they have been 
very successful. The output of the mills is 
about 25,000 feet a day. 

Mr. Knoop was united in marriage with 
Miss Alvina Kruner, of Butternut, a native 
of Germany. In their family are seven chil- 
dren, Ida, IMartha, Albert, Rudolph, Ernest, 
\\'illiam and Amanda. The whole family 
are Lutherans in their religious belief. 

In his political principles Mr. Knoop is a 
Republican and is a good citizen, conserva- 
tive in his views and working for the good of 
the community wherever he may, but not 
taking an active part in general politics. He 
is one of the substantial men of Ashland 
county, and has established himself by his 
own untiring efforts and wisely directed la- 
bor. In his domestic circle he is a good hus- 
band and indulgent father, and in the com- 
numity at large commands genuine respect. 

JOHN THOIMAS McDOUGAL, city 
electrician of Superior, Douglas county, is 
a native of County Glengarry, Out., where 
he was born March 3, 1861. His parents 
were John A. and Clara (Gravely) McDou- 
gal, the former also a native of Glengarry. 

Great-grandfather Alexander McDougal 
came from Scotland and engaged in the 
lumber business in County Glengarry, wdiere 
he lived to a great age. He had been a 
Loyalist in Scotland. His son Alexander 
continued his business, and his grandson. 
John A., was born in the original home- 
stead, which he still owns. John A. AIc- 



Dougal is still actively engaged in farming, 
although more than sixty-rive years of age. 
He has filled several local positions of re- 
sponsibility, is an influential citizen and a 
Liberal in political belief. His wife, a year 
of two his junior, was born in ]\Iartintown, 
Out., of Scotch and English descent. Her 
father, Aaron Gravely, was a shoemaker, a 
native of Liverpool, England. 

John Thomas McDougal attended the 
grammar and high schools, completing the 
course when he was eighteen years old. In 
1880 he came to the United States, but soon 
returned to Canada and took a course at 
Belleville Commercial College. In 1882 he 
went to the Northwest Territory and carried 
mail for a year or two on the Canadian Pa- 
cific Railway line, then in course of con- 
struction, being obliged to drive long dis- 
tances. He then spent a year with the engi- 
neer corps, engaged in extending the rail- 
way line through British Columbia. After 
spending a winter at home, he went to Port 
Arthur, Ont., and for a vear was engas-ed 
in freighting on the Canadian Pacific. He 
then returned once more to his native place 
and began fitting himself to become an elec- 
trician, a profession which he has since fol- 
lowed. He was employed at Cornwall, 
Brockville and Ottawa, Canada, before com- 
ing to West Superior in September, 1890. 
He was employed for eighteen months by 
the City Water, Light & Power Co.. then 
for a year by the Great W^estern Electric 
Co., of Chicago, in the northwest, putting 
in lighting plants in various places. Since 
1894 he has been electrician of the city fire 
department and police telegraph system, 
with headquarters at the Eighteenth street 
Fire Hall, and he also has charge of the fire 
alarm system throughout the city. Since 
1899 ^^^''- McDougal has been electrical in- 
spector for Superior, having supervision of 
all electrical appliances in the citv, this work 
occupying much of his time. 

In April, 1896. I\Ir. McDougal married 
Alice Spink, daughter of William and Ag- 
nes Spink, of Summerstown. Ont. To tliis 
union have been born four children : Law- 
rence Royden, Clara Agnes, Kenzie Clar- 



228 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



ence and Juhn .\lexander. The family is 
cunnecteJ with the Presbyterian Church. 
Mr. AIcDougal is a member of Superior 
lodge. No. 338, I. O. O. F., and of tlie 
Knights of -Malta. In poHtics he is a Re- 
publican. 

L. J. BISCPIEL, the tirst practicing 
lawyer to locate permanentl}^ at Ladysmith, 
Rusk Co., Wis., was born at Chippewa 
Falls, Wis., in 1876, son of Lawrence and 
Kate (Weiner) Bischel, pioneers of Chippe- 
wa Falls. They settled there in 1858, where 
the fatlier has spent a busy life, and where 
he still lives. 

Mr. L. J. Bischel was one of ten chil- 
dren born to his parents and the eighth m 
order of birth. His boyhood days were 
spent at Chippewa Falls, where he received 
his education in the parochial and public 
schools, graduating from the Chippewa 
Falls high school in 1894. By this time 
young Bischel had decided upon his career, 
and in 1895 entered the State University at 
Madison, Wis , there taking a year's literary 
course; in 1896 he entered the law depart- 
ment, from which he was graduated in 
1897. Having been, by virtue of his grad- 
uation from the Law Department of the 
university, admitted to the Bar of the State, 
in September, 1897. Mr. Bischel opened an 
office at Chippewa Falls and remained there, 
successfully engaged, until 1901. when he 
removed to Ladysmith. which was then just 
coming into prominence. When he opened 
his law office he had the distinction of being 
the first and onlv lawyer in the place. Since 
then he has built up a large and lucrative 
practice, which extends to the adjoining 
counties. 

Since locating at Ladysmith, 'Sir. Bis- 
chel has taken a deep interest in the public 
school and has served earnestly as secretary 
of the school board since the incorporation 
of the village. He is also one of the board 
of visitors of the State Normal School, hav- 
ing been appointed by State Superintendent 
C. P. Carey, and he is well qualified to fill 
the position. Not only is Mr. Bischel a suc- 
cessful man of affairs, but he possesses the 



qualities which make him a popular and suc- 
cessful lawyer. In the practice of his pro- 
fession he IS enthusiastic and carefully pre- 
pares his cases, being painstaking, persistent 
and aggressive in defending the interests of 
his clients. He is a student, not only along- 
professional lines, but in the standard litera- 
ture of the day as well. Socially, he is 
agreeable and courteous, and he enjoys the 
confidence of friends and acquaintances, 
who thoroughly appreciate the sterling qual- 
ities of the man, his ability as a lawyer, and 
his worth as an honorable and progressive 
citizen. 

T. A. CHARRON, M. D. Rice Lake, 
Barron Co., Wis., is particularly blessed in 
the matter of physicians, there being within 
its contines a number of distinguished rep- 
resentatives of the medical calling, among 
whom Dr. T. A. Charron is one of the most 
popular, although he is still a young man. 

Dr. Charron was born at St. Hubert. 
Chambly Co., Quebec, Sept. 29, i860, of 
French origin, son of John B. and Delphine 
(Daigneault) Charron, both natives of 
Chambly comity. John B. Charron was a 
farmer who lived to be seventy-three years 
of age. His father attained the advanced age 
of eighty-nine years, and was killed by a 
fall. Twelve children were born to John B. 
Charron and his wife, eight sons and four 
daughters. 

Dr. Charron had excellent advantages 
for securing an education, having been sent 
to the Montreal College, from the Medical 
Department of which college he was grad- 
uated in 1887. Immediately thereafter he 
came to Rice Lake and commenced what has 
grown into a very large and lucrative prac- 
tice. In addition to his labors as a physi- 
cian. Dr. Charron owns 312 acres of land 
in the vicinity of Rice Lake, on which he 
has a fine dairy, and makes a specialty of 
breeding Poland China swine and Short 
Horn cattle. He is also the proprietor of 
two creameries, one being located at Rice 
Lake and the other at Dobie. Dr. Charron 
has been active in politics, and for four 
vears has served as mayor of Rice Lake, 



. 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



229 



conducting the atlairs of the town w ith the 
same keen foresight he has used in his pri- 
vate atTairs, and becoming thereby still mure 
popular. 

Dr Charron is connected with the Al. 
W. A., the A. O. U. W. and the Catholic 
Knights, for all of which he is medical ex- 
aminer. Ele is also a member of the Amer- 
ican Medical Association and the Inter- 
County Medical Association, and is much 
valued in these professional organizations. 

In 1886 Dr. Charron married Cecilia 
Dorris, daughter of N. Dorris, of Montreal, 
and granddaughter on the maternal side of 
Painsonncault Louis, one of the patriots in 
the Rebellion of 1837 in Canada. This re- 
markable old gentleman reached the ad- 
vanced age of ninety-three years. One 
daughter has been born to Dr. and Mrs. 
Charron, Marie Irene, now a student at the 
Convent of the Holy Name of Montreal. 

SIDNEY EUGENE TUBES is one of 
the best known citizens of Superior, Dou- 
glas county, wdiere he has been a resident 
since 1881. He comes of a family famous 
from the early days of our country for its 
patriotic services. The Tubbs family is of 
English origin, and many generations have 
been identified with the life of New Eng- 
land. Grandfather Hazel Tubbs enlisted at 
Boston in the Continental army, .and later 
lived at Saratoga, N. Y. Maternal grand- 
father Jonathan Paul was a cabinet maker, 
Avho came from Vermont to Canton, St. 
Lawrence Co., N. Y., and died Aug. 19, 
1837. His widow, Betsey (Sanford) Paul, 
afterward lived near Elgin. 111., where she 
married Dr. John Hubbard: her death oc- 
curred at Decorah, Iowa, Eeb. 13. 1880. 
She was a great-niece of Gen. Jeremiah 
Greene, of Revolutionary fame. Her par- 
ents, Zacariah and Lvdia Sanford, lived to a 
\erv old age, and died near Elgin, Illinois. 

Sidnev Eugene Tubbs was born Jan. 10, 
1846, in Chemung, McHenry Co.. 111., son 
of Sidney B. and Lydia (Paul) Tublxs, the 
latter a native of Vermont, and the former 
nne of the pioneer farmers of Chemung, 
•where he located al)out 1842. dying there a 



few years later. As his parents died during 
his boyhood, a few years were spent with 
his maternal grandfather, and July 5, 1862, 
Mr. Tubbs enlisted at Decorah, Iowa, being 
enrolled Aug. 5, 1862, in Company E, 38th 
I. V. I., afterward consolidated with Com- 
pany K, 34th Iowa. Most of his service 
was with the Department of the Gulf, and 
he recei\-ed his discharge Sept. 16, 1865. 
He was in the siege of V'icksburg, of Fort 
Morgan and of Fort Gaines, and with Gen. 
Banks in two campaigns up the Red river 
and in Texas. Although escaping wounds 
and capture. Mr. Tubbs was the victim of 
sunstroke at \'icksburg. where his regiment 
lay under fire in the trenches for thirty-two 
(lavs. While in that vicinity thirty-twi3 per 
cent of his regiment was unfitted for duty, 
and at one time only eleven men of his com- 
pany were able to be in the field. After the 
fall of Vicksburg, Mr. Tubbs was much of 
the time on detached duty. At the close of 
the war he returned to Decorah, where he 
lived for some years, during which time he 
served as clerk and deputy clerk of court. 
In 1 88 1 he came to Superior to take charge 
of the office and supplies of the construction 
companv of the Chicago, St. Paul, Minne- 
apolis & Omaha Railroad, then in course of 
construction to Superior, remaining in that 
position two years. In 1883 he was ap- 
pointed by President Arthur postmaster at 
Superior, serving as such about three years. 
He served two terms as clerk of court for 
Douglas county, and was the first secretary 
of the Iioard of education of the city of Su- 
perior. From 1899 to 1902 he was secre- 
tary of the board of health and manager of 
the Dailv Morning Leader of Superior. Mr. 
Tubbs has always been an active Republi- 
can and has been a delegate to many local 
and State conventions. For some years he 
dealt in bonks and stationery at Superior, 
and for a numlier of years past he has been 
engaged in compiling a history of his regi- 
ment, which is now readv for publication. 

On Dec. 2.1. 1867, Mr Tubbs married 
Map-p-je T. INTcKay, daup-hter of .\mos J. and 
Elizabeth rTodon"! McKav, enrlv settlers in 
Decorah, Iowa. The ancestors of tlie Jodon 



230 



cOALME:\10RATivE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



faniil)- were French Huguenots, who came 
to this country with La Layette and settled 
in Maryland, after servhig through the Re\- 
olutionary war. iirs. iihzabeth (Jodon) 
McKay was also a descendant of Commo- 
dore Perry. Col. McKay, father of Amos 
J., was a Scotch-Irishman who came to the 
United States and gained his title in the In- 
dian wars and in the AIe.\ican war. He was 
a tailor by trade and a prominent, pioneer 
citizen of Waterford, Pa., where many of his 
posterity still live. Amos J. McKay and his 
only son, Alfred M., served in the Civil 
w'ar in Company D, 6th Iowa Cav., being en- 
gaged in the Sioux campaign imder Gen. 
Sully in jMinnesota and Dakota. Mr. and 
Airs. Tubbs are the parents of two daught- 
ers: Lydia I., clerk in the postofhce depart- 
ment of the city; and Elizabeth E., a teach- 
er in the public kindergarten of Superior. 
The family are members of the Methodist 
Church, as their ancestors have been for 
generations. Mr. Tubbs is a charter mem- 
ber of Alonzo Palmer Post, G. A. R.. at 
Superior, in which he has filled many offi- 
cial positions, among which was that of 
commander for several terms, and of junior 
vice of the Department of Wisconsin ; a 
number of times he was honored with posi- 
tions on the staff, and was department and 
national commander of that organization. 

JAMES A. MATCHETTE (deceased) 
was a very highly esteemed citizen of Rusk 
county. Wis. Mr. Alatchette was born in 
1852 in Canada, and was reared there until 
the age of ten years, when his parents moved 
to New York, and later to Wisconsin. They 
settled in Jackson county, where the late 
James A. Matchette grew to manhood and 
obtained his education in the public schools. 

Mr. Matchette made his home principal- 
ly in Jackson and Monroe counties until 
some thirty-two vears ago, when he lived 
several years in Chi]ipewa county. In i8q6 
he came to Rusk township. Rusk countv, 
then Chippewa, and settled on a farm where 
he made his home during the balance of his 
life. Here he dpvelor"^d a firm of ii.o 
acres. Tn looi Mr. Matchette w^as elected 



chairman of the town of Rusk on the farsL 
board of the county, and so well did he dis- 
charge his duties tnat he was reelected twice 
subsequently, serving continuously. Lie was 
a Republican in politics, was a delegate to 
conventions and took an active interest in 
local matters. He was an honored member 
of the Masonic and Odd Fellow fraternities, 
holding a membership by demit in the Alys- 
tic Tie lodge at Ladysmith, and also, by 
card, in the Ladysmith Odd Fellows lodge. 

The death of Mr. Matchette occurred 
Jan. I, 1904, and he was survived by his 
six children: A. L., register of deeds of 
Rusk county; Paulina, Grace, Mina, Ruth 
and Clarence. 

A. L. Matchette, eldest son of the late 
James A., was born in 1872 in Chippewa 
county. Wis., and was educated for a teacher 
in his native county. For several years he 
followed the profession very successfully in 
Chippewa and Rusk counties, but settled in 
Ladysmith in 1901, after being appointed 
deputy register of deeds, under Dr. W. F. 
O'Connor, who was register. In 1902 Mr. 
Matchette received at the hands of the Re- 
publican party the nomination for register 
which resulted in his election. 

Mr. Matchette was married to Aliss 
Alarj' Clark, of Jackson county. Wis., and 
they have five living children: Lvman. 
Lois, Gladys, Fay and Doris. Mr. Mat- 
chette is a member of Mvstic Tie Lodge at 
Ladysmith, A. F. & A. M. : the I. O. O. F., 
at Ladysmith, and the Royal Purple En- 
campment at Ladysmith. He is a zealous 
member of the Republican party, and on 
many occasions has been selected as delegate 
to important conventions. 

SILAS POTTER OAKES, one of Su- 
perior's highly esteemed citizens, is a native 
of the State of ^\'isconsin, born in New 
Richmond, Oct. 8. 1858. 

The Oakes family is of combined 
French and English lineage. Levi Jeft'erson 
Oakes, father of Silas P., was a native of 
ATnine, but located in Wisconsin about 185:0. 
He was emploved in logging around Green 
P.av for several ve?rs and then took up gov- 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



eminent land near New Richmond, where 
he has a finel}^ improved farm. He is now 
about eighty-five years old, a man of quiet, 
unostentatious nature, who has never wished 
to stand prominently before the eyes of the 
public. Mr. Oakes was twice married, first 
to Mary Potter, Iw whom he had four chil- 
dren : Silas P.; Charles, of Superior; Wil- 
liam and Frederick, both of New Richmond. 
Mary (Potter) Oakes died in 1872, at the 
age of thirty-seven, and Mr. Oakes took for 
his second wife Mrs. Mary Morgan. By 
her previous marriage she was the mother 
of four children : Mrs. D. D. Sally, of St. 
Croix Falls, Wis. ; Mrs. M. Rockestad, of 
Rockestad. Minn. : Mary Amelia, the de- 
ceased wife of Silas P. Oakes; and Hall 
Morgan. 

Silas P. Oakes attended the public 
schools during his boyhood, and also took 
the elementary course at River Falls Nor- 
mal School. He taught for two terms, and 
in 1882 settled in Superior. He had pre- 
viously learned the carpenter's trade and 
followed that for some years, but since 1890 
he has given most of his time to contracting, 
pile-driving and house moving, and has a 
number of men in his employ. Four years 
after locating in Superior he built his home 
on ^^'est Se\-enth street, where he has since 
resided. He also owns more or less other 
real estate. 

In 1882 Mr. Oakes married Mary 
Amelia Morgan, the daughter of his step- 
mother. Mrs. Oakes was born in Hudson. 
Wis., in 1862, but died while yet a young 
woman in 1894, leaving three children : >Ti!- 
dred, Jennie and Frank. By her first mnr- 
riage she had one son, George Grimes, who 
has iust completed a three-vear term of ser- 
V\ce in the United States army. Two years 
later Mr. Oakes married again, choosing as 
his bride Christine, dnughter of Michael and 
Carrie Johnson, of Deer Park. Wis. Mrs. 
Christine J. Oakes was horn in Norway Ijut 
came to this country with her parents when 
only five years old. 

Mr. Oakes is a member of two fraternal 
ord^r-,. the A. O. U. W. and the I. O. O. F., 
and has passed all the chairs in l)oth socie- 



ties. In his politics he has alwa^'s been a 
Rei)ubHcan, although taking no active part 
in campaign work. With his family he at- 
tends the Presbyterian Church, and all are 
most highly esteemed in the community. 

\V O. STRANDBERG, an enterpris- 
ing Scandinavian-American citizen of Hur- 
ley, Wis., and for several years editor of 
the Iron County Rcpnblican, is now a mem- 
ber of the printing firm of Strandberg & 
Lennon. His father, E. G. Strandberg, was 
a native of Sweden, where he was educated 
in a military school, and also learned the 
trade of car])enter. He entered the Swedish 
armv in which he served for many vears as 
an officer. He finally left the army, and in 
1870 came with his family to the United 
States, settling in New York City, He was 
connected with various business enterprises, 
but was chiefly engaged in railroad contract 
work. Among the contracts which he filled 
was that for the work on the New York 
Central railroad between Spuyten Duyvil 
and New York City. In 1888 he bought 
and settled on a fann near Antigo. Wis., 
where his death occurred the same vear. His 
wife, who was formerly Anna L, Erickson, 
is still living, making her home witl: her 
son, W. O. Strandbere. They had a family 
(A four children as follows ; Mary, wife of 
John Mitchell, of Jersey City, N. J. ; Anna, 
deceased; W. O.. mentioned below; and 
Charles, deceased. 

W. O, Strandberg was born in Carlstnd. 
Sweden, wSeot. 28, 1862. and came to the 
United States with his parents in 1870, He 
was educated mainly in the Drew Seminary 
of New York City, and after completing his 
studies there learned the trade of printer. 
He worked at his trade in New York City 
for a time and then found employment as a 
printer in various parts of the country, going 
in t88^ to Bessemer. Mich.. v>-here he and 
his broth.er Charles worked in the mines. 
After a sliort time thev both came to Hurley 
and became connected with the Iron Co-nify 
RcMihlican. This paper had been started 
under th.e management of W. PI. Bridge- 
man, the present owner of the Sfanlry Re- 



232 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



porter, of Stanley, Wis. Charles Strand- 
berg was associated with Mr. Bridgeman na 
the new enterprise, and after a few years 
bought out the latter's interest. F. B. Hand 
then came in as a partner and they jointly 
conducted the Iron County Republican and 
the Montreal Miner until the death of 
Charles, April 21, 1901. After Dec. 11, 
1901, W. O. Strandberg was sole owner of 
the Iron County Republican as long as it was 
printed. He then became senior member of 
the firm of Strandberg & Lennon. 

Mr. Strandberg has never married. He 
is a member of the F. & A. M., Blue Lodge, 
No. 24, of Euclid, North Dakota. 

CHARLES GUTEKUXST, senior 
member of the firm of Gutekunst & Hein, 
furniture dealers and undertakers in Hurley, 
was born in the Black Forest, in Germany, 
Sept. 17, 1848, son of John G. and Marga- 
retta (Kinzlin) Gutekimst. John G. Gute- 
kunst was a blacksmith by trade and fol- 
lowed that occupation for some years. Later 
he was employed for a few years as a watch- 
man in the Black Forest, and then for twen- 
ty years was an alderman. His wife died 
in 1853, but he lived in his native country 
until January, 1903, dying at the age of 
eighty-five. They were the parents of sev- 
en cliildren, of whom Charles was the 
fourth. 

Charles Gutekunst attended the com- 
mon schools in his native place imtil he was 
fourteen years old. He then learned the 
trade of cabinetmaker and worked at that 
occupation in Germany until 1868, when he 
came to the United States. He settled in 
Coldwater, Mich., where he worked at cab- 
metmaking for five years, and then moved 
to Sebewaing, Mich., where he remained 
until June. i8Sg. At that time he came to 
Hurley, and was in the employ of difi^erent 
furniture dealers tmtil 1895, when he and 
John Hein went into partnership, opening 
a furniture store and undertaking establish- 
ment. The business is still conducted by 
this firm. They carrv a large and varied 
stock of furniture, and do the only undertak- 
ins: business in Flurlev. 



I\lr. Ciutekunst married, Oct. 24, 1871, 
Mary M. Denner, of Coldwater, Mich., 
daughter of Leonard and ^Marguerite ( My- 
ers j Denner, both natives of Germany. ^Ir. 
Denner was for manv years a railroad man 
in Coldwater, where he died in 1902, aged 
eighty-seven years. Mrs. Denner died at 
the home of a daughter in Toledo, Ohio, in 
1903, aged eighty-three. They had a fam- 
ily of four children, Mrs. Gutekunst being 
the third. To Mr. and Mrs. Gutekunst the 
following children have been born : Eliza- 
beth, wife of Michael Krusbach, of Bessem- 
er, Mich. ; Carl J., a Lutheran minister, of 
Washburn, Wis. ; Anna, deceased ; and 
]\Iary M., wife of George Proscheck, of 
Hurley. The family belongs to the German 
Lutheran Church. Mr. Gutekunst is a Re- 
publican in politics and filled the oflice of 
town treasurer for a year. 

JOHN HEIN, of the furniture house of 
Gutekunst & Hein, has been a resident of 
Hurley since 1S88. He was born on a farm 
near Hartford, Wis., Sept. 18, 1862, son of 
Matthew and Mary (Snyder) Hein, both 
natives of Alsace Lorraine, France. When 
a boy of twelve Matthew Hein came 
with his parents from France to the United 
States, where they settled on a farm at 
Hartford. He lived the life of a farmer, 
and he died in 1880 in Hartford. His wife 
died at the home of her son John, in Hurley, 
June 21, 1904, aged eighty-six years. Mat- 
thew Hein and his wife had a family of 
seven children, John being next to the 
youngest. 

John Hein was brought up on the home 
farm, where he remained until he was four- 
teen years old. He then went to work in 
the lumber regions, being employed there 
for seven years, after which he secured a po- 
sition as street car conductor in Milwaukee, 
continuing thus for two years. Returning 
to Hartford he bought a farm, which he 
carried on until 1888. In that year he came 
to Flurley and was emploved for seven years 
as a car repairer by the Northwestern Rail- 
wav Companv. at that time known as the 
Lake Shore. In 1895 he went into partner- 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



233 



ship -.vith Cluirles Gutekunst in the furniture 
and undertaking business. Tlieir store is 
the largest furniture house in Hurley, and 
they have the only undertaking establish- 
ment in the cit)'. 

Mr. Hein married, July 28, 1880, Mag- 
gie Thill, of Port Washington, Wis., 
daughter of Jacob Thill, who was for many 
years a contractor in Port Washington, and 
now lives retired on one of his farms near 
that town. His wife died in 1899. ^'-'^ 
children have been born to Mr. and Mrs. 
Hein : Nicholas, a brakeman on the North- 
western railroad; Julia, Josephine, Adolph 
and Freda, all at school ; and Lawrence. 
The family are members of the Catholic 
Church. ]\Ir. Hein is a member of the Cath- 
olic Order of Foresters, Court No. 274. at 
Hurley, and of the Catholic Knights of Wis- 
consin, Council No. 91, of Hurley. In poli- 
tics he is a Republican. 

i\AT. ADELBERT KENT, one of the 
oldest settlers in the vicinity of Shell Lake, 
Washburn county, is well known as an in- 
telligent and public-spirited citizen. He was 
born in Onondaga county, N. Y., Nov. 13, 
1837, son of Ira and Lucretia (Chittenden) 
Kent, the former a native of Massachusetts. 

The ancestors of Ira Kent came from 
England in early Colonial clays, one of them 
being a captain in the Continental army, 
from Massachusetts. Ira Kent became a 
forwarding commission merchant, with 
headquarters in Rochester, N. Y., his goods 
being transported by the Erie Canal. He 
was a prosperous and highly esteemed citi- 
zen; his death occurred during the early 
"boyhood of his son Nat. Adelbert. Mrs. Lu- 
cretia (Chittenden) Kent, a native of Ver- 
mont, was an active, well-preserved woman 
until her eighty-ninth vear. when she died 
at Jordan, Onondaga Co.. N. Y., in 1879. 
Of her eleven children the only living ones 
are Asher, a farmer in Jordan ; and Nat. 
Adelbert, mentioned below. One of her an- 
cestors was the first from that State to fall 
in the Revolutionan' war. and a monument 
lias been erected to his memorv. 

The bovhood of Nat. Adelbert Kent was 



passed in his native place, where he received 
a good common school education. On Sept. 
30, 1862, he enlisted in Company G, 154th 
N. Y. V. 1., serving until discharged June 
26, 1865. Until 1864 he was in the Army 
of the Potomac, when the nth Army Corps, 
to which his regiment belonged, was trans- 
ferred to the West, becoming part of the 20th 
Army Corps, and taking part in Sherman's 
Atlanta campaign, in the famous march to 
the sea, and subsequently across the Caro- 
linas to Washington. A.mong the principal 
engagements in which Mr. Kent partici- 
pated were Chancellorsville, the chief en- 
gagements of Sherman's army from Chat- 
tanooga to Atlanta, Bentonville and Golds- 
boro. N. C. He was present at the surrender 
of Gen. Johnston, and at the Grand Review 
in Washington, being mustered out at Blad- 
ensburg, Md., and discharged at Elmira, 
N. 1.. escaping without capture or serious 
wounds. After the war Mr. Kent went to 
Red Wing, Minn., and from there to Still- 
water, where for three years he was clerk for 
Walker, Judd & Veazie, lumbermen, who 
were operating a huge logging camp on the 
Totogatic river, in Washburn county, at a 
])lace since known at Veazie. In 1876 he 
took up a homestead claim in the Basliaw 
valley, in Burnett county. Section 24, Town 
38. Range 14. six miles west of the present 
village of Shell Lake. In 1881 he was ap- 
pointed a railway mail clerk by Hon. Thad- 
deus C. Pound, of Chippewa Falls, and held 
this position until May i. 1901, when he 
resigned. His route was first between St. 
Paul and Elroy, then between St. Paul and 
Ashland, and then for ten years between 
Eau Claire and Ashland. Mr. Kent is with 
one exception, the oldest resident in the vi- 
cinitv of Shell Lake, and continues to live 
on liis farm of 200 acres, which is improved 
with first-class buildinsfs. etc. He served 
a number of vears as chairman of the town 
of Bashaw.. Burnett county, which at that 
time comprised all the present cnuntv of 
Washburn. Later he was chairman of the 
town of Rusk. Burnett countv. He has 
rdwavs been a stalwart Rennblicnn. and has 
taken part in many conventions. 



234 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



On July 2, 1879, Air. Kent married 
(first) Ivibbie Shinawa, a native of iiurnett 
county, who died March 25, 1898, aged for- 
ty years. He married (second) Oct. 10, 
1898, Mary Thayer, also a native of Bur- 
nett county. Mr. Kent has been identified 
since 1885 with the Masonic order, and is 
at present a memlier of Shell Lake Lodge, 
No. 36, Eau Claire Chapter, R. A. 1\L, and 
Eau Claire Commandery, No. 8, K. T. Tie 
is also a member of Crescent Chapter No. 
17, O. E. S., at Shell Lake. 

LOREN W. BEEBE, M. D. First a 
pharmacist, and later a physician, Dr. 
Beebe, of Superior, Douglas Co.. Wis., has, 
by the adoption of the latter profession, fol- 
lowed the footsteps of his father, who was 
a successful practitioner of the Northwest. 

Constantine Beebe, the grandfather of 
our subject, a native of the State of New 
York, married Miss White, and in his early 
life was a farmer in Genesee county, Mich. 
For thirty years he was a druggist in Ovid, 
Clinton Co., Mich., where he died in i8q6, 
aged seventy-nine years. Casper V. Beebe, 
the father of Loren W.. was born in Gen- 
esee county, Mich., in 1844. He there mar- 
ried Maria C. Dickinson, a native of the 
same county. In his youth he had attended 
Flint (Michigan) high school, and the L^ni- 
versity of Michigan. He studied medicine 
with a physician at Grand Blanc, Mich., and 
in 1870 was graduated from the medical 
department of the University of Michigan. 
For ten years he was a practitioner at Ovid, 
Mich., and for the ensuing five vears he 
practiced at Howell, in the same State. He 
was tlien at Manistee until 1887, when he 
removed to Superior. Wis., and there con- 
tinued in practice until In's death in Febru- 
ary, 1896. His widow is still a resident of 
Superior. Their children were Loren W. ; 
Tessie B., wife of I. P. Lord; Pauline, wife 
of Theodore J- Worthman ; and Frankie C. 
v.. all of West Superior. 

Loren W. Beebe was born March 7, 1865, 
in Genesee county. He received a thorough 
education in the Manistee high school, and 
for a time was a student at the University 



of Michigan. He then became a druggist 
and pharmacist at Ovid and Flint, xMich. 
His choice of a life work, however, was 
medicine, and in 1887 he entered the medi- 
cal department of the University of Michi- 
gan, remaining one year, and then entered 
Rush Medical College, Chicago, from which 
school he was gi-aduated in 1891. In that 
same year he located for the practice of his 
profession at West Superior, where he is 
engaged in general practice, and is meeting 
with gratifynig success. He has since sup- 
plemented his previous training by a lecture 
course at Rush Medical College. 

At Stillwater, Minn., in 1894, Dr. Beebe 
was married to Miss Lillian Denton Pen- 
nington, a native of that State. In politics 
he is a member of the Republican party. 
Among the social organizations with which 
he is identified are the A. O. U. W., the 
Modern Wooilmen, Foresters, Maccabees, 
Knights of Pythias, I. O. O. F., and the 
Knights of the Loyal Guard. 

ROBERT C. MITCHELL, editor and 
publisher of the Weekly Tribwial in Duluth, 
was bom in Bloomingburg, Ohio, Sept. 16, 
1832, son of William and Lydia Mitchell. 

After completing a common school edu- 
cation, Mr. Mitchell entered Wabash Col- 
lege in Indiana, and was graduated from 
that institution with the class of 1861. Even 
before lea\'ing college he had decided upon 
adopting the legal profession, and in 1862 
he was admitted to the Bar. Before settling 
in Duluth, in i86g, he resided for sometime 
in Anoka cotmtv. Minn., where he was act- 
ively connected with local political work, 
and where he for four years held the office 
of county attorney. Afterwards circum- 
stances led him into daily journalism, and 
for two years he was the editor and propri- 
etor of the Daily Union at St. Joe. Mo. 
Upon coming to Duluth he e<;tablished the 
IVecklv Tribune, which in 1880 he changed 
to a daily and he published the Tribune for 
twenty-one years. The Tribune finally ab- 
sorbed the Daily N'ezi.'S and is now published 
as the N ews-fribwie . Mr. Mitchell held 
the office of Register of the United States 



COALAIEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



235 



land office from 187O to 1S80. In 1894 he 
again entered the held of journalism and 
established the Weekly Tribunal, of which 
paper he is still the editor and proprietor, 
and it is generally considered as one of the 
ablest ana most intiuential weekly papers in 
the Stale. It is Republican in its political 
bias. 

Air. Alitchell was united in marriage in 
1862 to Miss Erances L. iiulburd, daughter 
of E. S. and Lorinda Hulburd. To this 
marriage four sons have been born : Horace 
El., Harold E., Robert C, and Alax R. 

Mr. Alitcheli has been deeply influenced 
bv the advanced thought of the day and in 
religious matters holds the views of the 
Agnostics, and he has had many a battle 
with the clergy in defense of his religious 
beliefs. 

JA:\IES H. cannon, a hotel man of 
many years' experience, well-known as the 
proprietor of the "Burton House," at Hur- 
ley, Wis., and the "Curry Hotel," at Iron- 
wood, Mich., was born in Ireland, Dec. 3, 
1840. When he was seven years old he 
came with his parents, Dennis and Nancy 
(Sweeney) Cannon, to Wilmington, Del., 
where his mother died within a year. Den- 
nis Cannon was a stationary engineer by 
profession, but after living a few years in 
the East, he came out West and became en- 
gaged in farming at Portage City, Wis., 
where he remained until his death, in April. 
1902. in his ninety-third year. By his first 
wife he was the father of four children. 
James H. being the eldest. He married 
(second) Cecelia AlcCurty. also a native of 
Ireland, who died at Portage in 1896. To 
this union were born eight children, all liv- 
ing. 

James H. Cannon had little opportunity 
for schooling, and when he was twelve 
years old he went to work in a hotel in \^'il- 
mington, Del. Two vears later he accom- 
panied his father to Wisconsin, remaining 
at home on the farm until i860. He then 
became steward in the 'Towa Central" hotel 
at Clinton, Iowa, and in the fall of i8(Si, 
took the position of steward at the "01d 



Berks House," and then at the "Le Clair." 
ill this same year he enlisted for service m 
the Union army, but was never sworn in. 
In 1864 he opened a bakery, having a gov- 
ernment contract to bake for the Union sol- 
diers, and for Confederate prisoners. After 
a year he gave up this business and moved 
to Lebanon, Wis., on account of his health. 
There he cleared a farm on which he re- 
mained until 1869, when he went to Ford 
River, Mich., to take charge of a large 
boarding house for the Eord River Lumber 
Company. He remained in that place until 
1876, going then to New London, Wis., 
where he carried on a restaurant for three 
years. At the end of that time he secured 
the contract for supplying food to the con- 
struction gang and track layers, at work 
between Clintonville and Gogebic on the 
Milwaukee, Lake Shore & Western railroad 
— now the Northwestern road. He gave up 



this contract in i^ 



to assume charsfe of 



the railway eating houses for the same com- 
pany, of which he continued to have the 
management until 1900. In that year he 
came to Hurley, where he opened the "Bur- 
ton House." and soon after the "Curry 
Hotel," of Ironwood, Mich., both of which 
he owned and conducted. At New London 
he helped to establish the fair grounds, and 
there he also built the race track. He owns 
a stock farm at New London, where he 
breeds fancy catttle and race horses. Among 
other record horses he raised Morine, a 
pacer, with a record of 2 : 13^. 

Mr. Cannon married Feb. 11, 1863, El- 
len Hawkins, daughter of Peter and Bridget 
(Duffy) Hawkins, both natives of Ireland, 
who came to the United States in 1848. 
Mr. Hawkins was a farmer in Lebanon, 
W'is., where he died at the age of seventy- 
eight. His wife lived to be seventy-seven 
vears of age. Four of the nine children born 
to ]\Irs. and Airs. Cannon, are living, as 
follow? : Alargaretta. Mrs. B. Johnston, of 
Bessemer, Mich., mother of four children: 
James H.. Jr.. engaged in the hotel business 
with his father: Mamie, Mrs. B. D. Stim- 
son. of New London, "^^^is. : -'prl Nettie, at 
home. The familv are members of the 



.236 



CO:\LME.MORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



Catholic Church. Air. Cannon is independ- 
ent in politics and was the first township 
treasurer of Ford River, Mich. Fraternally 
he is a member of the Catholic Knights of 
Wisconsin, No. 16, of New London; and of 
-the Knights of Columbus, No. 669, of Hur- 
ley. 

CAPT. JOHN C. BECKWITH, who 
is the efficient and well-known clerk of the 
Circuit court of Barron count)', is a native 
of the Empire State, having been born in 
Livingston county Aug. 13, 1841. He is 
descended from New England parentage, 
being a son of John G. and Mary A. (Gar- 
rison) Beckwith, the former of whom was 
born in the historic city of Hartford, Conn., 
the latter in Saugerties, N. Y. Capt. Beck- 
with's paternal grandfather. John Beckwith, 
was a scion of a Colonial family, members 
of which served in the patriot army during 
the Revolutionary war which gave inde- 
pendence to the American colonies. About 
1840 he moved to Ohio, where his death oc- 
curred. The Captain's maternal grandfa- 
ther, Henry Garrison, was likewise descend- 
ed from a Colonial family, and during the 
Revolutionary war was impressed by the 
British and forced into the ranks of the 
Royal army to fight against his compatriots. 
A family tradition has it that his wife, upon 
the occasion of his being taken away by the 
King's soldiers, ran after them and offered 
as a ransom for his liberty a number of gold 
pieces carried in her apron, which were re- 
iected. He however, remained loyal to his 
country, and when an opportunity came de- 
serted and joined himself to Washington's 
army, with which he remained until the end 
of the war. Capt. Beckwith's father was 
reared in Hartford. There in his early life 
he Avas employed in an axe factory. Later 
lie removed to the State of New York and 
followed the trade of painting in Albanv. 
He came to Wisconsin in 1871. and died in 
Barron at the age of seventy-four years. 
AVhile l